Carmen Marc Valvo

Major Moment Gown

$70 rental
$745 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Go with this stunning one shoulder ruffle gown by Carmen Marc Valvo. You'll be the center of attention as you'll look radiant at the black tie formal. Go with earrings like the Rodrigo Otazu's Sapphire Crystal Stunner Earrings and a classic bracelet like the Crislu's A Girls Best Friend Bracelet.

Also available in red and black.

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''). Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs large. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''). Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Navy crepe(100% polyester). One shoulder neckline with ruffled shoulder strap. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

262 reviews

Fit
Small 8
True to Size 131
Large 117
Photos 129
Savannah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170 lbs
Mar 12, 2014

So comfortable

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit a little bigger than I planned so it lost a little shape. It was really comfortable and really elegant though!
Meridith
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 17, 2014

Gorgeous color - more royal/navy than dark navy. Color was unique!

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Wore this to my husband's black tie event. So comfortable. Material was heavier (but breathable) so it draped really well and hid my mid section which I think is thick. The 4 fit great but was tighter around my arm - the 6 was perfect. I loved that it had a train - an added detail that made it elegant. Would absolutely rent this again. So glad my 1st choice was too short.
gretchen
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 13, 2014

Simple, but classy.

Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered the 14 and 12L (I read from a few other reviews to go for the long if you're over 5"6) but they didn't have the 14L. Tried both on and the 12L was actually perfect! As much as I'd like to think I'm skinnier than I think, I'm pretty sure it just ran a bit large. It is a little bit of a high-low style (the front is shorter than the back) but not terribly noticeably, but you will definitely see your shoes, so keep that in mind. The style is really flattering. This was my first time using RTR and it was a great experience.
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Apr 16, 2014

perfect and classy for a military formal

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
My Fiance and I attend military formals fairly regularly, and this dress fit the bill! it was classy, fun, and a perfect color! I'm 5'10" and the long was perfect with 3' heels. The bust was right on, size-wise, but the darts were a little bit low for my frame. Overall, it was a very flattering dress, and I receive LOTS of compliments! The fabric was forgiving, but still form fitting. The lining is super comfy!
Caitlin
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 17, 2014

Great dress for a black tie event.

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Like others have said - this dress is NOT blue as it appears in the photo. It is a very dark navy. In reading the reviews, it sounded like I could go down a size, so I rented a 4 and a 6. But, because I have a larger bust, I couldn't get the 4 to hook and zip all the way up. So I would suggest going down a size only if you have a smaller bust! For the length, regular was fine with my 3 inch heels. But if they were any higher, I would have needed a long.
VF921
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Apr 24, 2014

L

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It fit very well, could have been a little tighter but very comfortable for the evening. This was my first rental and I will definitely rent again! I wish the dress had more color, it is a very dark navy.
Meghan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 165 lbs
May 1, 2014

Absolutely loved this dress.

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
So flattering. Material very high end.
Laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 119 lbs
May 5, 2014

Loved it! Great material! Little big in waist and hips

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Great dress and my husband loved it. Overall loved the dress design and material. I hate clingy materials because they are so unforgiving, but this fabric was great. The fit was a bit larger than I would have expected though in the hips and waist. I typically have dresses run tight in that area and loose in the chest, but this dress was the opposite. It fit great in the chest but was really loose on the waist and hips. Would have preferred it to fit a little more snug. GREAT DRESS though overall.
Kalin
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
May 10, 2014

Beautiful Dress

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Great dress, perfect fit! The front runs slightly shorter than the back but it was just long enough.
Allison
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140 lbs
May 14, 2014

Gorgeous Formal Dress that is also comfortable!

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved this dress! Great classic look and it felt super elegant. It ran just a little large through the body, but not in a way that made it look to large, just made it comfortable. Thick fabric also made it pretty warm.
Lindsey
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
May 19, 2014

This dress was fabulous! It was so comfortable. I loved the feel and everything about it!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I did not have to wear a bra with it! Two layers of fabric so you don't feel exposed! Moves with your body. Classy and elegant and did the job!
DOS
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 16
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 116 lbs
May 24, 2014

I wore this dress to prom

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Very nice fit, not too tight.
Emily
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 124 lbs
May 28, 2014

A black tie gala for a wonderful cause.

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress and color were beautiful. My only complaint was that I wished the waist was more fitted. There seemed to be a lot of extra fabric in that area and my waist isn't overly thin. Because of that, I didn't feel like the dress was very slimming. Also, the arm hole for the side with a strap was pretty tight in my arm pit, so I probably wouldn't have been able to fit in a smaller size. I was happy with the way I looked that night, but it's not a dress I would buy due to the fit. The whole experience with RTR was a very positive one and I will definitely be renting again.
Tracy
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180 lbs
Jun 5, 2014

Another work event

Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was most concerned about the 12L fitting my bust (36DDD), but it worked out fine! The dress is a bit heavy, so I would've been hot and uncomfortable if my event had been outside. The dress would be great for winter black-tie events, though.
RTR Customer
Jun 29, 2014

Loved the dress

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The dress could have been a bit more right around my belly. But if I were to go down a size my chest wouldn't fit.
Jeannie
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Jul 1, 2014

SO COMFORTABLE!!

Size worn: 16R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I normally wear a 14, but the 16 was available. However, I made it work once I tried the dress on. It is super, super flattering for a full figured woman. It floated over those problem areas, but also flattered the shoulders and breast area. I received several compliments. The other reviewers are correct, this dress is very, very dark blue (almost black.) It is also roomy, so go down a size. I loved dress so much, though that I made it work with some double sided tape and pins. LOVE LOVE LOVE this dress, not to mention how accommodating RTR was with making my experience wonderful. I will use this for all my formal events in the future.
Ashley
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Jul 7, 2014

Stunning dress! So easy to wear, and glamorous!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Runs slightly large, I normally wear a 4R, and the 2R was a perfect fit. This dress is simple elegance, it is a statement all on it's own.
Sy
Usually wears: 8
Age: 40
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Aug 4, 2014

Everyone loved my dress. I was told by multiple people that I looked "stunning"!

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I was surprised that a one piece dress fit my bust, waist and bottom at the same time. If it were mine, I may or may not have had tiny alterations in the waist but it wasn't an absolute necessity. Also, with heels, the length of the dress was spot on. At 5'4", that's also basically unheard of!
KR
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Aug 30, 2014

Emmy Night Elegance

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was absolutely beautiful. The flow of the material and the small train were elegant and just what I was looking for. A few notes: * I agree with the other reviews that this dress runs large (I typically wear a 6 but ended up using the 4). * I highly recommend getting a belt to accentuate the waist. Before the belt I added, the dress gave me no shape, but the belt added the definition I needed. * As others have said, the color is more of a navy than a vibrant blue. I would absolutely recommend this gown to others. Classic elegance!
Jennifer
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Sep 1, 2014

It was easy and quick and I didn't have any problems.

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I have broad shoulders the 10 was a little tight in the bust area, however, the 12 was too big. I wore the 10 and it was great! Would rent this dress again.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Sep 16, 2014

This dress is just incredible! The fit is just amazing. Definitely get a size smaller.

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
It is long but I wore the size 8 and 3 inch heels and it just barely swept the floor. It is beautiful material and probably the most beautiful dress I've ever worn.
sarah
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Oct 6, 2014

This dress is absolutely stunning!!

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
My sister and I ordered these for our parents' wedding, and I couldn't have been happier with the entire experience! We read up on the comments on this dress and everyone is right, it does run large. I ordered the 0R and the 2L, the 0R was the better fit but was more than a bit too short for my 5'8" height. The material was heavy enough that the 2L only looked obnoxiously baggy when I was sitting down, I threw on a REALLY padded strapless bra and that helped take up some of the extra room I had at the ribcage. People could not stop gushing over these gowns, I received compliments all night long! I would definitely rent this again!
Meg
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 13, 2014

Great dress, runs small

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Overall, I was very happy with this rental. However, it came in a fairly small box and thus was wrinkled. I was at an out of town wedding but luckily a friend had a handheld steamer. The 2R fit well with 3" heels as the 4R was a bit large in the waist area. It was my first time doing RTR and would do it again.
M
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 126 lbs
Oct 19, 2014

Looked great!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this for my husband's work black tie gala so I wanted something that looked professional but elegant. The dress was a touch too big at the waist, but for my pear shape, fit very well on the bust and hugged my hips. The first dress I rented didn't fit and RTR was great about sending me a second dress overnight. This was my first experience with RTR but I will be renting again!
DanielleS
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Oct 21, 2014

Classy dress and perfect for military balls!

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I felt amazing in this dress and like the belle of the ball! It is a classy style which I really like, worked with my curves and wasn't restrictive. After a few hours the fabric by my underarm started rubbing a little but it was manageable, and I forgave it because it looked so great! I am 5'8" so I always get the L's; the length wasn't bad with 3" heels but would've been perfect and touched the ground with ballet slippers (both would've looked great). I'm usually between a 6 and 8 for most RTR dresses but the 6L definitely worked perfectly. Thanks RTR!
Christa
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Oct 28, 2014

Felt like I was walking the runway

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a spring wedding. I lost count of the number of complements I received that evening. I ordered both the 4L and 6L and decided upon the 6L because it fit more comfortably around my arm (the arm hole is tight!) The dress was perfect length with 3 inch heels. The color was a pretty, dark navy (almost black). The fabric was thick, but not hot. Overall, an amazing dress that made me look and feel beautiful.
B
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 15
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 156 lbs
Dec 3, 2014

The Samuel Heyman Service to America Medals in Washington, DC. AkA "the Oscars of the Government."

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this for a formal event my organization puts on every year. I needed something that was classy, yet versatile as throughout the night I was mixing with the guests, ensuring they had what the needed, and also doing some light setup and tear down. I loved how this dress looked in the pictures, and the elegance of it, however it ran very large and long. I am a very full busted woman, and I had to pin up the dress around my bust. All through the night I felt like it was falling down (and I also had to hold it whenever I walked for fear of tripping on it - and i had about 1 1/2 inch heels). It was a gorgeous dress, and I received many compliments on it, but I wished it had fit a bit better. Alas there were no 10s when I ordered it. I would easily say to go a size down on this one.
Rebecca
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Athletic
Dec 8, 2014

Glamorous!

Size worn: 14R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I'm so glad I got this second size as the 16R was huge! The 14 was a little big, but not noticeably. I probably could have gone for a 12 and been comfortable. No hemming required with small heels on my 5'3" frame. Loved this dress!
Chrissey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165 lbs
Dec 10, 2014

Beautiful holiday ball with a elegant dress.

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The 12 fit my bottom half perfectly. I was comfortable all night. It was a little big on my top half but not a big issue. Nice material and length was great!
Aileen
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180 lbs
Dec 16, 2014

Wore it to a wedding, danced all night. Felt super comfortable and loved very elegant,

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit was good, wore 3in heels to keep my toes from poking out.
Zoie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 18
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 23, 2014

Gorgeous! I did not want to take it off!!

Size worn: 4L
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was so great! It hugged me in all of the right places. I really liked the small train that flowed in the back. It was a little loose for me in the hip area, but it was still okay for me. I could have worn a belt with if, but I thought it might take away from its elegance. It was a great rental and I was somewhat sad to take it off! Love, Love,Love!!
Catherine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 61
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 180 lbs
Jan 22, 2015

Fabulous Dress

Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is very flattering. The photo does not do it justice. I got compliments all night long. The color is a navy blue. The weight of the fabric is just right. I think I could have gone a size smaller so size down for your backup size. I had ordered a size 14 for backup (I'd put on some weight over the holidays) but it was not available so RTR got in touch with me and helped me pick out another dress for backup. But this one was better. I cannot imagine anyone who would not be flattered wearing it. It comes in red and black and some day I hope to rent the red one.
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 4, 2015

I wore this for my work gala and it was perfect!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I got compliments all night on the dress and it was super comfortable and fit perfectly. Not a single complaint! (Wore ~2 inch heels and it was just the right length. Anything taller than 3 inch heels and it would have been a bit too short.)
Jessica
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 8, 2015

Perfect for my black tie ball! Simple and stunning!

Size worn: 6R
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is stunning! Photos don't do it justice. Such a flattering fit! This was my first time using RTR and it was such an amazing experience! Will definitely use again.
Lydia
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 16
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Feb 9, 2015

Lots of compliments!

Size worn: 0R
Rented for: Formal Affair
I did select runs large, but I personally did not mind! It created a little bit of a draped effect on the side without the shoulder, and I kinda liked it! It was beautiful and I got compliments at and after my school's formal Sweetheart dance! Lovely dress.
Meg
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148 lbs
Feb 13, 2015

Felt like the belle of the ball.

Size worn: 8R
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress fit like a dream. I'm 5'4" 148lbs. It was the perfect length with 3" heels, it didn't drag on the ground or rose too high. I wore shape wear underneath because I'm self conscious about my stomach. But the dress was easy to sit/dance/eat/drink in. Highly recommend!!!!
Beth
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Feb 22, 2015

This is a beautiful navy blue dress with classic lines and is very comfortable to wear.

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress fit perfectly! The length was just right with 3 inch heels. The dress came in perfect condition. I was on my feet a lot during the event and am glad I did not go with the long length. I would definitely rent another dress by this designer.
Carly
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 26, 2015

Gorgeous dress for a perfect night!

Size worn: 6R
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress for the 2014 submarine ball with my fiancé. It was gorgeous! The fit was very nice, and the length was just right with 4' heels (I'm 5'2) I loved it & was sad to send it back!
xingflo
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 186 lbs
Mar 7, 2015

Perfectly comfortable

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Pro. Fits true to size. Fabric was free flowing which made a perfect fit
Meredith
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Mar 17, 2015

This dress was elegant and comfortable while running around all night!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
As the event planner, I wore flats and this dress hit the ground perfectly.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×