Major Moment Gown

$70 rental
$745 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Go with this stunning one shoulder ruffle gown by Carmen Marc Valvo. You'll be the center of attention as you'll look radiant at the black tie formal. Go with a classic bracelet like the Crislu's A Girls Best Friend Bracelet.

Also available in red and black.

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''). Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs large. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''). Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Navy crepe(100% polyester). One shoulder neckline with ruffled shoulder strap. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
319 reviews
Fit
Large136
True to Size155
Small9
Size worn:
16L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Body type: Pear
May 24, 2016
Dress was beautiful, very comfortable.
Was not as long as I would have liked.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140lbs
May 11, 2016
Classic and elegant dress
The dress fit well. It drapes beautifully and I loved how it moved. I am 5'4" tall and with 3" heels the length was perfect. It just skimmed the floor. I felt that the dress worked well for my body type. I carry weight in my middle and this dress was very flattering. Loved it!
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
April 27, 2016
Very comfortable dress!! Everyone liked it!
Very flattering, not too hot, runs larger through abdomen
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
April 26, 2016
Gorgeous, slimming, amazing!
I rented this dress to wear to a gala I attended and I absolutely loved it! I'm always nervous about getting a full-length gown, being that I'm not even quite 5 feet tall, but this dress worked out beautifully. It was just a BIT wide in the waist, so I used a long string of pearls as a belt, which complimented the rich navy hue very well. I loved the one-shoulder aspect of the dress, and the shoulder ruffle gave it that little something "extra". I paired it with gold accessories and nude heels. I loved this dress so much!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
April 19, 2016
Runs very large!
I ordered this as a back-up dress for my law school formal event but unfortunately could not wear it because it was entirely too big. I ordered 3 total dresses: two were size 10R (including the one I ended up wearing) and this one I ordered in an 8L based on all the reviews I read that suggested sizing down because the dress ran big. Well, I did size down but apparently not enough--the 8 was just way too big...so Yes, the other reviewers are right--definitely order this in at least 1 or 2 sizes down from your normal size. Other than that, it was a great material and gorgeous style dress. Just wish it would've fit!
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 180lbs
April 4, 2016
This one shoulder look was different yet still classic!
This dress felt amazing on and fit perfectly. It hid the lumps and made everything look great!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 37
Body type: Pear
Weight: 230lbs
April 3, 2016
Classy and understated
This dress fit very nicely with a simple long-line smoother underneath- surprisingly roomy through the hips even though it comes across as form fitting. The strapless side is cut high enough, so I never had any moments where I worried about needing to pull it up or adjust it. Very comfortable and lined, which I love. Only problem is what others have mentioned, that the zipper side is very bunched up all along the seam; I suppose the fabric and zipper are just too bulky to lay flat and flow nicely. Overall, I didn't feel that it ruined the line of the dress or felt strange/annoying. Lots of compliments on the style and found it to be a flattering dress that allowed a little sexy with good coverage on a larger size girl. ;)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124lbs
March 28, 2016
Beautiful dress, but I didn't wear it because it was too big and too long.
Great dress! I decided to go with a different dress after trying this one on. The smaller back up sizes wasn't available so I actually ended up wearing a different dress in a sizes 0. I am 5'7 and ordered a long. I wish I had ordered a regular length as well because I do not wear more than 3 inch heels. Overall, my RTR was great, and I would do it again :)
Size worn:
12L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 180lbs
March 23, 2016
I got so many compliments on this dress! It was perfect for the Red Shoe Gala.
I was able to wear a size down and it fit like a glove. The only negative is that it puckered a lot along the zipper area and was somewhat unflattering on the left side. I'm glad I ordered a long because it was the perfect length with and without a 3'inch heel. The regular would have been way too short.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
March 20, 2016
Gorgeous dress for a black tie wedding!
Loved this dress! I got so many complements at the wedding we attended. It definitely runs big, I typically wear a 2 but would have wanted to wear a 0. I'm about 5'5 and wore flats and the length was perfect.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 34
March 20, 2016
Glamorous dress
I normally wear an 8 but easily fit into the 6. I felt very glamorous in this dress and received so many compliments. The color is classic and the fabric/cut was flattering.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
February 23, 2016
Easy pick up/drop off at my local store
Dress ran a little big but the length was perfect for my height.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 21, 2016
I felt like a million bucks!
Loved the dress. It was described very well on the site, so I ordered appropriately.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
February 18, 2016
Elegant and Beautiful!
I LOVED this dress- perfect for a February wedding in Houston with incredible friends! The fabric was beautiful, the cut was elegant, I LOVED the color. The dress was perfect with flats... it hit the floor perfectly with a romantic little train in the back. The dress itself was a little big, but made it perfectly comfortable for dancing ALL night and snacking on candy during the roadtrip.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 42
February 15, 2016
Rented as back-up since black was not available in 8R. Didn't try dress on so not sure on sizing.
Color is not nearly as bright as pictured. It's navy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Weight: 185lbs
February 14, 2016
This was my original dress, but I ended up not wearing it.
As others said, this dress runs small. I usually wear a 14, but ordered the 12 as my backup because of the other reviews. While the 12 would have fit, the bust was not big enough to fit my nursing mother's chest (38F), and the 14 was FAR to big on me. My other issue was the zipper. As other reviews suggested, the zipper created a weird ripple effect when zipped (on BOTH sizes!). This dress was beautiful, it just didn't work for me.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 26
February 12, 2016
This dress was gorgeous! I got a ton of complements. Very elegant.
This was my backup size (a size down) but it ended up fitting well. The armhole was a bit snug but it didn't bother me. Because of an order mishap my original size was unavailable and the replacement dress they sent did not fit me at all. Luckily I still got the size 2R for this gown, because it (1) was my first choice anyway and (2) it was gorgeous. I'm usually a size 4 but this still fit perfectly.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 175lbs
February 6, 2016
Dress was noticeably worn and way too short. The backup size was a long but it wasn't sent.
The dress was large in the hips.
Size worn:
16R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 34
February 3, 2016
Such a comfortable design.
The fabric on this dress was so luxurious. It fit extremely well and I got many compliments.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
January 18, 2016
The perfect "guest of the wedding" dress
I was really worried about this fitting correctly. I, like others I'm sure, based my sizing off of other reviews that were built like me. I wanted to rent the 8, with a 10 as my backup, but the 10 was already not available, so I rented the 6 as my backup. Good thing I did, because that's what ended up fitting... YAY!!! I loved this dress, and had quite a few compliments. I also was worried about shoes, as I'm 5'2", but I was able to wear 2.5" heels, and it put the dress at just the right length. I also had to safety pin the top to my bra, so there was a bit of room there as well.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
January 16, 2016
This was a night that my husband and I went to a Nurses Ball to help raise money for scholarships!!!
This was a great dress. I had just had a baby so I was nervous about the size and it fit perfectly!! It hid the areas that I'm not proud of really well and I felt great all night!!
RachelFebruary 9, 2016
Do you think it would work if I was 24 weeks pregnant (with my first)?
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 45
January 13, 2016
Beautiful dress
The dress was beautiful and the 6R fit perfectly. I normally wear a size 8 but most of the previous reviewers said it ran large so to order a smaller size as a back up. Glad I did, because the 8 was too large. I have a big bust (34DD) so I was worried how it would fit on top - worked great. Only issue is that the 6 arrived wrinkled (the 8 was perfectly pressed) and it had a tear at the zipper seam. I wasn't allowed to have it repaired, and there wasn't another 6R available or another dress that I liked, so I ended just using fabric tape to hold it together. Worked out fine - but it was stressful to figure it out!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 25
January 9, 2016
Comfy and simple.
I wear normally size 6 but usually they run a bit small, that is why I try to go one size up. This dress as slightly large on me. Seems it is perfect for those who have some curves, makes you butt look good!
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 29, 2015
This dress was elegant and comfortable for a black tie welcome winter wedding - runs a little big!
Runs a little big, but ordered my size and it was fine. Very comfortable and elegant. I wore a strapless bra with it and it worked great.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Body type: Full Bust
December 21, 2015
The dress was perfect!
The fit was just as described and very flattering. I'm short with an hourglass figure and it looked great! It was a little long, but my heels were only 2.5 inches and I'm on the shorter side. The material was thicker than I expected which made it hotter than I'd want for a spring/summer or outside wedding. If you're busty and don't want to show a lot of cleavage, it's a perfect dress for you!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
December 17, 2015
This dress is elegant and incredibly comfortable! I felt amazing in it all night!
The top was a little big so I just pinned it to my bra so it wouldn't gape and the length was perfect
Size worn:
12L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Body type: Pear
December 14, 2015
This was my first RTR experience and I couldn't be more pleased and excited to RTR again!
As noted in the other reviews, this dress fits pretty true to size with it running a tad on the large side. The length was perfect with about 3" heels and the material was very forgiving. I did safety pin the strapless side to my strapless bra to give a bit more security. I absolutely loved this dress and would purchase it if I could! While it looks black against the backdrop, the deep navy is a beautiful color and just needs a few accessories to complete the look. I would absolutely rent this dress again! Two thumbs WAY up!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 11"
Bust size: 34A
Weight: 135lbs
December 13, 2015
Understated and comfortable elegance
I wore this dress to a winter wedding in New York City. I am 5'11", and I wore the size 2L. I wore low (<2 inch) heels, and the dress landed perfectly for me. Gorgeous dark navy, sturdy fabric that is forgiving. I paired the dress with a beaded belt for extra waist definition (this probably shortened the overall length a bit as well). Very comfortable for a long night of dancing. The picture of this dress may not grab your attention immediately, but it is beautiful in real life with a simple elegance.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
November 30, 2015
Wonderful everyone asked if I had lost weight/ very glamorous
Great color very classy. The fit was very forgiving, wonderful a woman with curves. I could've have worn a 6L, but it was unavailable and the 8R was suitable.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 28
November 29, 2015
Great fit through the body and very flattering.
Order long if you're average height or taller! I was working a formal event and needed to be on my feet all over the venue, so it was flats for me and that worked out well in the regular length. Had I wanted to wear heels, I would have been in trouble. Love this dress, though. I received so many compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
November 22, 2015
Beautiful and comfortable
This dress was so beautiful and made me feel glamorous but comfortable enough to dance all night. The 6R fit perfectly through the hips, but was too large in the bust. I ordered the 4R as a backup, which fit great, but was way too short. The 4R fell to my ankle when I wore 3 inch heals. I ended up using some fashion tape to secure the top of the 6R, and it turned out great! I loved this dress and would definitely recommend it to someone who likes a classic look.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 37
November 12, 2015
Beautiful dress, perfect for a formal occasion!
I wore this dress to a black tie gala to support the cancer center where my husband is an oncologist. I was a little skeptical because this dress does not photograph that well - it is dark so the details are blurred- however in person it is stunning. The material is very high quality and the bottom flares out a bit so it flows beautifully when you walk. I have never had so many nice compliments on a dress before.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
October 22, 2015
1
The fit of this dress was perfect for a black tie optional event! I wore it to my graduate school Alumni event . It was loose enough in the stomach to look flattering without being too tight. The dress was so comfortable, professional and classy. I would recommend this to a petite frame as it lengthens the body.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
October 21, 2015
Classic & elegant dress. I received lots of compliments.
I usually wear a size 6 but for this dress size 4 would have been perfect.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
October 18, 2015
Lovely!
Dress was gorgeous! I'm 5'6" and wore it with a 2" heel, and it was just right. I'm a 36DDD and found that the top was just a little bit big, but other than that, no complaints.
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 38
October 13, 2015
I felt beautiful and sophisticated at an Evening Under The Stars event.
The dress fit beautifully! I am 5'11" tall and wore 3" heels and it was still able to touch the ground (that never happens). The color is a dark ink blue that is almost black. I wore with silver heels and sparkly earrings (a necklace would be too much).
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
October 8, 2015
I received so many compliments on the dress. It fit great. And I felt fancy AF.
Fits true to size and was the perfect length with 4 inch heels and my tall height. It was very comfortable and flattered my figure. I'm small chested and the ruffles on the sleeve played up my upper half—a rarity for me with evening wear
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 33
September 21, 2015
Beautiful dress! Lots of compliments, felt great in it.
I am 5'4" so I need to wear 3.5-4" heels to get it off the ground. Strapless bra was best undergarment option as well. Heavy weighted fabric so dancing all night long was pretty hot. Would definitely choose this gown again if I selected all over again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
September 4, 2015
The dress is beautiful and I was so comfortable!
I rented this dress to wear to a formal wedding at a waterfront location. My normal size is an 8, so I ordered 8R and 6R. I was able to wear the 6 because there is plenty of room through the hips in this dress. If you are smaller on top, I would definitely order a size down for your backup size, the 8 was much too large for me. I wore 4" heels and the dress just skimmed the floor, but I was not worried about tripping. The dress was very comfortable for dancing, and I felt great about how I looked. My only caution would be that my legs were very hot when I was standing in the sun because of the weight of the material. It was about 80F on the day that I wore it, I would not recommend wearing this in the heat of summer unless you will be in air conditioning all night. I loved everything about this dress and would definitely rent it again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 64
Body type: Full Bust
September 4, 2015
This dress was beautiful. I got so many compliments throughout the night.
The dress was true to size. The puddling in the back made dancing a little difficult but not impossible. I will definitely rent this gown again if I have the occasion to wear it.
See more reviews:
1 / 8

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×