Carmen Marc Valvo

Major Moment Gown

$70 rental
$745 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Go with this stunning one shoulder ruffle gown by Carmen Marc Valvo. You'll be the center of attention as you'll look radiant at the black tie formal. Go with earrings like the Rodrigo Otazu's Sapphire Crystal Stunner Earrings and a classic bracelet like the Crislu's A Girls Best Friend Bracelet.

Also available in red and black.

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''). Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs large. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''). Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Navy crepe(100% polyester). One shoulder neckline with ruffled shoulder strap. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

259 reviews

Fit
Small 8
True to Size 129
Large 117
Photos 126
Katie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Mar 4, 2014

Very comfortable. Perfect length.

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Beautiful dark navy gown. Not too form fitting. Cn wear strapless bra. Could use some sparkle around the waist. Perfect for a black-tie affair!
Caitlin
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 17, 2014

Great dress and great color!

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It was a great dress, and the ruffles on the one shoulder made it really stand out! I also loved the little flare out at the bottom that swished when I walked. I'm 5'7, and 6R was too short for heels but just a bit too long for flats so I wore the 6L with 3 inch heels. It was about an inch above the floor, but with the way the dress flows out at the ends, you couldn't tell that it was an inch shorter than I wanted it. It did pinch a bit at the top which had the unflattering side effect of squishing things, including my arms when I held them at my side, but other than that I'd rent it again.
rmbr
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Body type: Pear
Mar 24, 2014

Beautiful and comfortable - I received so many compliments!!

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered this dress for a black tie event for the charity I work for. I received this dress in a 6r and 8r, since the reviews said it ran large and I hoped to be able to wear flats or low heels. The 6 fit perfectly and the 8 was way too big. Beware -- the dress is significantly shorter in the front than the back ( you could see my ankles!) so I called RTR in the hopes they would have a 6L they could swap for me. They had one and sent it and it was perfect! It did stretch a little at the top and by the end of the night was less snug but I was happy with my purchase!
Lilla
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 134 lbs
Mar 31, 2014

Dress was ill-fitting and too short. Would not recommend.

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I have had great luck on renting dresses from RTR before, but this was my first bad experience. The dress was tight on the best (I am average chested) and way to loose in the waste/hips/butt. It was so bad, i didn't end up wearing it. At 5'8 and with 3 inch heels the long was too short. I thought the dress was ill-fitting and I would not recommend it for rental. Shame, because I have had such great experiences with RTR before.
Jacqueline
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110 lbs
Apr 2, 2014

Lovely dress but a little big

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
First I want to emphasize two things other customers said that are really very very true: 1. This is dress is so dark blue it really does almost look black in pictures and 2. The inner hanging strap on the side without the shoulder tends to pop out all the time so make sure to tape or pin it or something so it isn't bothersome. I am normally a 0, with varying success, and this dress was very large on me - enough where I could pull out the side and have over 1-2 inches of free space. That being said, the material is not very stretchy so don't overestimate that when sizing either. I think another factor for me was that the strap was a little long on my short torso. However, I wore it anyway and overall it was a good experience. I even recommended RTR to a stranger who asked where my dress was from. ;)
Jo
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138 lbs
Apr 11, 2014

Didn't wear this dress

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I selected this as my backup dress but wound up wearing my original selection. This dress didn't do anything for my figure it just hung straight down.
Lina
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 153 lbs
Apr 12, 2014

Lovely dress, but didn't fit like I would have liked it too.

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
It's a gorgeous dress. I usually wear a size 8 regular, but there were no dresses of my size for the date I needed it by so I rented the 6L and 10R. Both fit me but not in the way I would have liked it too. The dress is very forgiving meaning that it will hide things you want it to hide but for me it was too loose. I wanted something a little tighter. I would have wore it if I didn't have another dress. The other thing was that the back is longer than the front so you have to be careful with stepping on the back. It is darker than it looks in the picture but it's really elegant.
Anna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Apr 14, 2014

It was a last minute dress, but it saved the day!

Size worn: 16R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I didn't actually wear this dress for my event; there was a mix up with my order and RTR was AWESOME and sent this dress as a back up. My original dress came in on time, and was better suited for my event, but I still tried this dress on just in case. It fit like a dream, and looked incredible on my body! Even without Spanx, it smoothed over my curves and give me an incredible hourglass figure. I would definitely rent it again for a formal event! It was flattering, timeless, and beautiful. I felt like it was a very sophisticated dress that would be even more of a showstopper with the right jewelry!
Mari
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 15, 2014

This was my backup dress and was beautiful, I decided against wearing it.

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I would highly recommend planning in a belt if you're more slender. The fabric is pretty thick, and the dress wasn't very fitted. It just didn't work with my body type!
Karen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 18, 2014

Very comfortable, but short!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
It worked just fine, but it was big in the waist, and just short enough that 4inch heels made it fall at a weird length.
Kelly
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Apr 21, 2014

A perfect formal dress

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Best dress I've ever rented on RTR. Comfortable, beautiful fabric, conservative enough for a donor event but still made me feel beautiful. I wore this with big drop earrings and it was perfect. I can't handle bracelets but it if you're into those, that one would have been perfect.
Ro S.
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 136 lbs
Apr 25, 2014

Wore this to a formal wedding and felt great in it!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I usually wear a size 6 sometimes a size 8 because of my hips, so I ordered a size a 6R and a 8R for back up. I wish I would have ordered a 6R and the 4R for backup. While the 6 fit well, I think the top was just a little loose. However, the elegance, weight of the fabric and cut of the silhouette more than made up for it! If you don't have a large chest I suggest sizing down or ordering the the smaller backup. Loved the dress and have already considered ordering it again!
Kirsten
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Body type: Pear
Apr 28, 2014

Classic dress!

Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was a nice fit. I'm 5'10 and rented the Long length, it was plenty long enough. Fabric was a little on the heavy side. The layering on the neckline added that something extra the dress needed.
K
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 30, 2014

Excellent dress for a black tie event!

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this to a black tie wedding in April and it was great!! I rented both the 2L and the 4R (2R was unavailable), and the length was the only problem I had. I am right under 5'5" and even with high heels on, the L length was a bit too long. 4R was too big and ill fitting. The size 2 fit perfectly though, so I just went with the longer length. Found myself holding up the train in the back to keep people from dancing on top of it, but it all worked out just fine.
Kathryn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 30, 2014

Great option

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Wore this to a black tie event with colleagues. I didn't want anything revealing or flashy and this dress was perfect. Very understated and elegant. Flattering fit
Margaret
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
May 4, 2014

Classy

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is really nice - it is a bit of a heavy material, but it's pretty. My only 2 complaints: the dress runs really large; the 2 was actually too big, so I didn't end up wearing it. The zipper was also strange on the side, and it folded in a weird way, but that could be possibly due to the fact that the dress was too large. It's not as form fitting as I would have liked either, but again, the dress runs large. I usually wear a 2, sometimes a 4, and the 2 was still too big.
Jordyn
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
May 20, 2014

Flattering and wonderful dress, runs large

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a black-tie wedding I attended in January. I am always nervous to order a size down but did based on the other reviews. I ended up wearing the smaller size and I probably could have even worn the next size down but the 6 fit pretty well. I would recommend this dress to anyone. It is a great material, thicker so it was nice for the winter when i wore a shawl for my shoulders but I would definitely wear this dress in the spring/summer as well. I would rent it again in a heartbeat!
Rachael
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
May 24, 2014

This dress is great

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for my cousins wedding and because I am both busty and hippy I was a bit skeptical of the fit, but the dress worked out fine. It was a bit big in the bust but it still worked out well. My only regret is that it doesn't come in petites, being that I am a petite curvy woman it would have helped tremendously had the dress been available in petite, but I loved it all the same. Great rental, great time.
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180 lbs
Jun 4, 2014

Felt like a movie star.

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was incredibly flattering on an hourglass figure and made me feel super special for my friend's black tie wedding.
Tiffany
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Jun 7, 2014

Great basic dress

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was true to size and is a great classic fit. It was a little baggie in the stomach area but otherwise a great dress.
Deyanira
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Jun 9, 2014

Pretty color

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Did not wear it, because it fit awkwardly. The zipper created a bulge. Very heavy fabric. I and 5'5 and ordered the R and it was too short for my taste. I could not have worn any size heels with it.
Lizi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 200 lbs
Jun 10, 2014

Gorgeous

Size worn: 14L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wanted something comfortable and flattering and this was the perfect dress. Unlike strapless dresses where you spend the night pulling your dress up, this one shoulder look rested comfortably enough that the end of the night we were playing cornhole at a local bar and I felt just as beautiful as I did at the ball. Overall fit was perfect, simple elegant lines, would rent again.
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Jun 15, 2014

Compliments all night

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my first RTR experience, and wore this to a black tie wedding. I was a little nervous, as my package didn't arrive until almost 7:00 on delivery day, but that was the only issue, and not RTR's fault. The 6L was too big, but the 4L fit almost perfectly. It tugged slightly to the side with the one-shoulder style, but I was the only one who noticed. There is no stretch to the fabric, but the fit is very flattering. Definitely more navy than it appears in pictures, it was nice to not wear the typical black. I wore 3" nude heels, and the length was perfect. I received compliments all night long- I was sad to return it. I would absolutely rent this dress again, and will be using RTR in the future!
DCFEG
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Jun 18, 2014

Beautiful formal gown!

Size worn: 16R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I attended a wedding that was black-tie. This was my backup dress but when I wore it I felt totally glamourous. This gown was gorgeous and hung beautifully, although it was a tad big in the hips. However, if it had been any smaller it probably would have been uncomfortable. My favorite part besides the beautiful neckline was the train - really upped the wow factor. I have no waist, so it's difficult finding dresses that work on me, would definitely rent this again. Make sure you fashion tape as the hanger straps were a pain.
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160 lbs
Jul 15, 2014

meh!

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I order this as a back up and thank God I didnt need it. It was unflattering and looks like a bridesmaid dress. It defently did not fit my body type. Since I am fuller in the mid section it was not forgiving!
Rebeckah
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 190 lbs
Jul 25, 2014

non-profit awards dinner (black tie, high $) had to be elegant, comfortable but not frumpy

Size worn: 14L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit very well - nice color dark blue but a nice change from black. flattering fit, nice drape and hangs well. Tons of compliments
Elisabeth
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 4, 2014

Rented this for a bridesmaid dress is august loved it!

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
fit is true to form, but you must order long if you are on the taller side.
Meghan
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 47
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 5, 2014

Didn't end up wearing this one but it was a beautiful gown!

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Overall fit was great but I'm 5'5 and the Regular was a bit too short. I would go with long next time.
Holly
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 7, 2014

Gorgeous, classy MOH dress - Absolutely perfect

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was absolutely perfect for my best friend's wedding in Chicago. It was perfectly feminine and classy. I was nervous that all of my less favorable aspects would show through, and this dress hid everything beautifully. It was roomier than I expected as well. Being shorter, I needed some higher than normal heels for this dress and then it was totally fine. Cannot say enough good things - I adore this dress and wish I could rationalize purchasing it permanently! :)
Britt
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Aug 15, 2014

Great dress but it runs very large I ordered a 6 and I really needed a 4 if not a 2.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
It was beautiful but it runs very large so I went with my 1st choice.
Kennedy
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 16
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Aug 17, 2014

Elegant and Flattering Dress

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was a little last minute reserving my dress so I didn't get my first pick. However, this dress was phenomenal and I was so excited receiving the box with my dress and the extra size. The stomach area was a little big and that's why I sized down but that wasn't really a big concern. My biggest issue was with how small the shoulder opening was. I could feel myself getting red and agitated later into the night. This might be because my arms are fairly muscley so someone with daintier arms would be fine.
Michellarooni
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 4, 2014

Stunning dress.COMPLIMENTS! great color, great length, MUST RENT THIS DRESS

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
so glad i rented a LONG. I'm barely 5'8'' but glad I wore the long because I wore 3'' heels and needed the length of the dress. wasn't too long to wear with flats though, just a tad long. gorgeous dress. perfect fit, especially my concern with my larger chest. it's ideal! it's slimming and elegant without being over-the-top. I already recommend RTR. my first RTR experience and I'm so so grateful!!! GREAT FANTASTIC DRESS!
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 100 lbs
Sep 7, 2014

Pretty Dress

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented several options for a gala I had to attend, and this was a backup dress. I didn't end up wearing it. I am very petite, and the length actually worked great with 4-5" heels, but the dress itself was too loose. The bust area wasn't really fitted, or the body, and the zipper kind of jutted out from the side awkwardly. It just wasn't very flattering and I decided to wear a different dress. I wouldn't recommend the dress for someone who is petite, but it is a beautiful gown, and I loved the color!
Kristan
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Sep 14, 2014

Received compliments all night

Size worn: 16R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was sent as a rush backup when my first choice was way too small. It was shipped and arrived with plenty of time before the event. It has a slight train and does run a bit short. I am 5'6" and even with flats, my shoes were still visible just slightly. The dress is very sophisticated and I received compliments all evening.
Ashley
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 16, 2014

Fit well and looked good on me.

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The color is A LOT darker than in the picture, that was a huge disappointment because the color really mattered to me. It looks more black than anything and I was hoping for the blue in the picture!!
Ashley
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 3, 2014

One word: STUNNING

Size worn: 14L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I can't say enough about this dress! I wore this in a friend's wedding and I could literally hear gasps as I walked down the aisle. I'm normally a size 14 and I rented the 14 and 12 as backup. I could have worn either, but went with the 14 just for a little more comfort for the reception.
Natalie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Body type: Pear
Oct 5, 2014

I received tons of compliments on this dress

Size worn: 14L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I found this dress very forgiving. I just had a baby and wasn't really too excited about attending an event, but this dress ended up being perfect. Very comfy and elegant.
Alex
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Oct 21, 2014

Look very nice on. I received so many complements when I wore it. Very comfortable too!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Good for a black tie affair. Runs big.
Natalie
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 22, 2014

This is the most flattering dress I've ever worn!

Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress it absolutely wonderful! The fit was perfect and the color was beautiful. It was an excellent choice for the occasion of a formal wedding and I felt very comfortable wearing this into the night.
Jessica
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110 lbs
Oct 28, 2014

The dress was HUGE!

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I traditionally wear a size 0 but the dress was huge.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×