Carmen Marc Valvo

Major Moment Gown

$50 – $70 rental?
$745 retail
Stylist Notes

Go with this stunning one shoulder ruffle gown by Carmen Marc Valvo. You'll be the center of attention as you'll look radiant at the black tie formal. Go with a classic bracelet like the Crislu's A Girls Best Friend Bracelet.

Also available in red and black.

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''). Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Navy crepe(100% polyester). One shoulder neckline with ruffled shoulder strap. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
360 reviews
Fit
Large
(144)
True to Size
(172)
Small
(10)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
May 21, 2017
Perfect fit, so comfortable and gorgeous!
Wore this to a military gala and loved wearing this dress! You can't tell by the photo but when you walk in this gown, it flows so beautifully. You feel like you're walking down a runway. I normally wear an 8 and the 6 felt better. It was form fitting and I didn't need to wear a bra. I thought about getting a petite bc I'm only 5'4, but my heels were 2-3inches so the regular was the better choice. I danced a ton at this gala and this dress held up in comfort :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
May 21, 2017
Felt wonderful in this dress
Loved the fit and style, very comfortable and elegant #runwaytohope2017
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Body type: Full Bust
May 17, 2017
so great for second trimester at a formal event
comfortable material and forgiving for a maternity dress alternative
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
May 10, 2017
Bridesmaid dress for brothers wedding
I'm a true size 6 and felt I could have worn the 4 but the one should sleeve was very tight around my arm in both dresses. I wouldn't consider my arms large for my body frame. I went with the larger dress because it was more comfortable on the arm but the 4 fit better everywhere else.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
May 9, 2017
Elegant dress that was perfect for a black tie event! A ton of complements!
The dress is perfect! The dress does run bigger in the waist and top - the arm hole or one shoulder part is true to size so it doesn't fall down or slip off. The waist is cut a little bigger than usual.
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
May 2, 2017
The dress was very comfy and easy for me to move in!
The stomach area was loose which made me photograph like I had a pooch but it was so comfortable I didn't mind it to much. The main cons were the strings that are on it for the hangers!! I was constantly having to tuck them back in...also the dress I ordered was navy but it was basically black.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 37
May 2, 2017
Black tie ready!
This dress was stunning, and wish that it had not been so hot so i could wear this one to a wedding. Definitely perfect for a formal or black tie affair.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
May 1, 2017
It was a black tie charity gala. Fun evening with dinner and dancing.
This dress was beautiful in person! Fit like a glove. I'm 5'7 and with regular size heels wasn't too long. Loved it!
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 114lbs
April 30, 2017
Compliments all night long!!
This dress was beautiful!! The length was perfect with 3.5 inch shoes - didn't need to hold it up when walking. Fit okay around the top, but there was definitely some forgiving fabric around the waist. Could have used a belt to give it a bit more shape, but I ended up going without. Blue color was beautiful, and the shoulder gave it a sophisticated touch. Definitely will rent again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 45
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148lbs
April 30, 2017
NYS Police Gala
Love love this dress. The material is wonderful and doesn't cling. Would definitely rent again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
April 27, 2017
Very comfortable dress!
Although it was a perfect fit in the bust, it was a bit baggy in the abdomen area, which was great for me! (I didn't have to wear my shapewear!) It was very comfortable as a whole, although it was a bit long in the back with only wearing 2 inch heals; I'm 5'4". Photographs more as a black than navy.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 46
April 26, 2017
Great dress! Is navy in color. Wore the 4P versus 4R as I am 5-2" and wore 3 inch wedge heels.
Was a little loose in the waist but I preferred it that way. It was a very comfortable dress. Loved it and received a lot of compliments. Thank you!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 174lbs
April 23, 2017
I didn't love it.
This dress wasn't bad. But I just didn't feel like it did anything for me. I also felt like the zipper fell kind of funny on the side, and as a result the dress wasn't smooth. I chose not to wear the dress, but think that it could look better on someone else.
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 168lbs
April 18, 2017
Made me feel like a queen 4 months postpartum.
First time renting the Runway. Can't believe how easy and beautiful the gown was. Came to the rescue for my dad's wedding. True to size, wore w/o bra and with shape wear.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 168lbs
April 17, 2017
Wearing this dress at a NYC Wedding was great!
Pros: Very comfortable and flattering Cons: Should have gotten petite as the dress dragged a bit for me because I dont like to wear high heels
Size worn:
8P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
April 14, 2017
Having a dress delivered right to me in time for the event was a life-saver!
I ordered this dress as a backup after the first two dresses I ordered didn't work out. It arrived exactly when they said it would arrive the day of the event so I had no idea if this would work out. To my surprise it fit like a glove! Added benefit - I unfortunately got a sunburn on my right arm earlier in the day that this dress perfect covered up! Being only 5'2" I needed to make sure I wasn't tripping over my dress all night and this was a great length for me. I only had 2.5" shoes so the dress came about 3" off the ground which was a little higher than I wanted but it wasn't detrimental to the whole outfit. I got so many compliments on this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
April 12, 2017
It was a beautiful wedding
This was my back up dress for a wedding I planned to attend. I did not wear this dress for a number of reasons. I'm 5'8", 36C, 166 lbs, and a pear shape. Unfortunately, this did not drape across my hips the way I would have preferred as there were creases and a horrible side zip seam that distorted the appearance of my hips. The dress was also too big in the top. I also found the dress to be a little too short (without shoes on). I imagine this flatters more straight body types. I wouldn't recommend this for pear shapes.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 190lbs
April 9, 2017
The perfect dress!
This dress was a back up to my back up, which was unavailable at the last minute. I picked this dress on a whim, and I'm so glad I did! It fit like a glove! The cut of the mid section is very flattering. I ended up wearing a corset underneath to give me a better profile, but honestly it would have been fine with regular spanx. I'm a little small up top, but a VS bombshell bra filled it out fine. If you're very chesty, this may not be the dress for you. I loved the color, which is a dark navy. My only very minor complaint is that I wish it were slightly longer. I'm 5'6" and wore a 1 1/2 inch heel and it was about an inch too short in the front. Very comfortable, no slipping on the top. Was able to mingle and dance all night without having to constantly readjust the dress. Overall, great first experience with RTR!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
April 1, 2017
Showing up in this dress to an Oscar Gala was an unforgettable experience!
This dress is gorgeous on and off the hanger. It's elegant and comfortable. It's a deep, rich navy color. I normally wear a size 6 but ended up wearing the size 4 with no problems. It definitely fits a little looser through the mid section. I have that mom tummy and this dress was very flattering. I'm 5'1" and with 2.5 inch heels, the dress hung perfectly. The fabric has a silky feel so it feels as luxurious as it looks.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 43
March 31, 2017
The dress was gorgeous and so comfortable!
I'm 43 years old and wore this dress to a black-tie gala for a charity. The dress was so comfortable and I received so many compliments. I loved the color too. I would definitely rent this dress again. I ordered the 8R and wore the back-up size 6R. I'm 144 lbs, 34DDD and 5'6" tall. I wore 3.5 inch heels and the length was perfect. I thought the dress was slimming too. The specialist I worked with too was very helpful in helping me choose the right size dress to order and the previous reviews that I read through. Thank you for a great experience!
Size worn:
16R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 207lbs
March 26, 2017
Great dress: Simple and Stylish
I received many compliments in this dress. More importantly, I felt comfortable and very at ease in it. It does run large but while the top was big it stayed up beautifully! The dress runs large so if you're ordering a second size, go down a size. I danced all night with no concerns and very happy....so happy that I didn't even notice I didn't take a single photo until this morning!
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
March 26, 2017
Stunning dress. Received tons of comments.
Wore this to a NYC ballet gala, and received compliments from everyone. Super slim and fitting. Really shows off curves. I'm 5'4 and had to wear 4" heels with this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
March 25, 2017
Fancy
Too fitted for me around my hips and stomach area but cute dress
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 17
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
March 20, 2017
Perfect for the occasion
This dress was so pretty and I'm perfect condition. I ordered the 6 and 8 regular. The 6 fit great, just a little roomy in the waist. I wore this to a St. Patrick's Day ball. I got compliments all night. Great first experience and I will definitely rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105lbs
March 19, 2017
Perfect fit
I could not have asked for the dress to fit any better. It was perfect. This was my fist time to rent and I will be doing it again soon.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 119lbs
March 13, 2017
I wore this for a black tie optional charity gala and it was perfect!
I LOVED THIS DRESS! Beautiful, classy--it is super flattering and because it's not too fitted across the stomach, it was very comfortable all night. I wore 3 in heels with it and they were a good height for the length of the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
March 2, 2017
This dress was comfortable, beautiful, and flattering! I got compliments all night! It is a classic!
The fit was great, however there was a little bit of room in my ribcage/stomach area (which truthfully was nice!). I loved the deep navy color and the shoulder accent was just the right amount of detail without being too much. The look is very classic and the fit is comfortable!
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 42
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
March 1, 2017
Mardi Gras 2017
I selected this dress at the last minute. It's not my typical style; I am a bit more "flashy" and with it being the Mardi Gras season here, I usually like something with flair. I liked the style of this dress but was unsure that it would work for Mardi Gras. When the dress arrived, I tried both sizes on and they fit relatively the same; although the 12 was probably the better fit, I decided to go with the 14 for the night of the ball. (There's lots of dancing, drinks and food at a Mardi Gras ball and I wanted to make sure I had enough "wiggle room" to last through the evening!). I chose correctly! This dress was comfortable and very pretty. I received lots of compliments. When I put it on, I noticed that it was "understated" but the ruffle on the one shoulder gave it just enough "flair". Since the dress was flat and the color was dark, I paired it with some sparkly jewelry and a sequined clutch so I'd have the shine I'm used to having for Mardi Gras. This was a perfect dress and I enjoyed wearing it and how I looked wearing it. I wish I was able to upload pictures; I will try to do so at a later time, if possible.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 132lbs
February 19, 2017
Beautiful dress.
I ordered the 4R and the 6R. I typically wear 6-8. The 4R fit best. Only thing was I had to go buy shorter heels. Typically wear 3 1/2 -4" but with the 4R I could see too much of my shoes. I would rent this dress again.
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 19
February 8, 2017
This event was so amazing! I was celebrating a friend being introduced into society.
The dress fit true to size. I was comfortable dancing in it, and I loved the way it fit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 145lbs
February 6, 2017
Elegant
The color was darker in person than I expected (true navy). I'm 5'3 and with 3.5 inch heels - length was perfect.
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 6, 2017
Loved the dress! Could have downsized.
I thought the dress was elegant and beautiful. I wore it for Barrister's Ball at my law school and it was my first rental at rent the runway. I am glad that I ordered a backup size 2P because the 4P (which I thought was my size) was wayyy too big. I could have sized down for a tighter fit (the dress was a little loose around the midsection, but normal at the bottom). The dress is a lot darker than the the photo online - I would describe the dress as being a dark navy blue. Either way, I thought that, for my event, the darker blue was nicer. I would recommend this dress and I will definitely be ordering from here again! My measurements are: 5ft 2.5 inches; 34B; pear shaped (smaller top/ midsection and bigger bottom); 128lbs.
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 5, 2017
Great dress for a work gala
I rented this dress for my work Christmas gala. It was true to the size, though it did bunch around the zipper. I really didn't notice it though. It's made of a great material and I would definitely rent it again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 46
Weight: 185lbs
November 21, 2016
I wore this dress to a ball and I loved it.
We rented the Navy Tuxedo and paired with this dress was perfect. I am 5'4 and I wore 3 inch heels which was perfect. This dress allowed me to dance the night away with our tugging the top because there is good coverage if you are a little more modest. My back up size was a 12 and it fit better but seem to be made different and that caused a bulk in the back so I went with the 14 because it laid better. I loved the comfort and class that this dress gave me . I was 100% happy with this choice.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 41
Weight: 155lbs
November 10, 2016
Classic sophistication in comfort
Dress was perfect length! I'm 5'9'' and wore heels. Fabric is nice mid-heavy weight, so no pantylines! Comfy enough for sit-down dinner and dancing. Will definitely order again.
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
October 12, 2016
Elegant
I originally ordered was another dress with a backup size. A couple of days before the dresses were to arrive, RTR emailed me saying that one of the dresses was no longer available. I was able to order another dress and I choose this one which I ended up wearing! I received so many compliments. My only Con about this dress is that it wasn't long enough for me. From the model in the photos, it shows the heim doesn't go straight, but with an angle. It was still up too high for my liking.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12P
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 34
September 25, 2016
Perfect fit!
First time trying Rent the Runway and I couldn't be happier. This dress was sent to me after my original dress became unavailable at the last minute. This dress was super flattering as the material drapes beautifully due to the satin liner. Received so many compliments and danced the night away as it was so comfortable. The petite size was about an inch too short (I'm 5'4") and I didn't wear a bra. Can't wait to rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
August 22, 2016
Classic & Elegant!
I wore this amazing dress for formal wedding and got nothing but compliments on it!! It is a classic dress and fit a formal wedding to a tee without taking attention away from the beautiful bride!! I absolutely loved this gown (and so did my husband)! I ordered an 8R, but I may have been able to get away with a 6R. I had some extra room, especially is the waist and chest area (which is a surprise because I'm a 34DD). However, with the one shoulder style, no one noticed it being a tab bit big besides me. The fabric laid so smooth on the body and moved with me throughout a night full of dancing! I'm 5'5" and wore 3" heels and probably had about a 1/2" to spare. I got caught under a couple of people's heels during the night, but it's a small price to pay for my feet not killing me all night long. The one big annoyance with this dress is that the loops sewn on the inside of the dress on the strapless side are sewn at the top seam so it was almost near to impossible to keep them tucked in. I even safety-pinned them down and they still made several appearances throughout the night. I will definitely rent this dress again and will more than likely being trying the red one for another black tie wedding in a couple of weeks.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128lbs
August 1, 2016
The dress was SO COMFORTABLE! It was sleek and classic.
I tend to wear a 6P in everything, but the 4P fit like a glove.
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
June 26, 2016
Husband couldn't stop with the compliments!
LOVED this dress. Felt so comfortable and super sexy at the same time. Dress was a little shorter than I thought (I am 5'6" and a 34DDD) so I should have rented the long and not the regular. I also rented the Lulu Frost Nicandra drop earring so add a little edge to the outfit. Overall this was a WINNER!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 9

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×