Carmen Marc Valvo

Major Moment Gown

$60 – $90 rental
$745 retail
Stylist Notes

Go with this stunning one shoulder ruffle gown by Carmen Marc Valvo. You'll be the center of attention as you'll look radiant at the black tie formal. Go with a classic bracelet like the Crislu's A Girls Best Friend Bracelet.

Also available in red and black.

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Floor length, three lengths available. Petite measures 56" from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights under 5'2"), Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Navy crepe(100% polyester). One shoulder neckline with ruffled shoulder strap. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
387 reviews
Fit
Large
(147)
True to Size
(186)
Small
(11)
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Age: 36
November 16, 2017
Great dress! Fit wonderful!
Wore to a gala... perfect!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 50
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 106lbs
November 12, 2017
gala
I rented this dress for a gala, but didn't wear it. I am a true 0, this dress ran large, also extra long for a 0R. Wouldn't have been able to wear it so luckily I paid for options with a 2nd dress style. The other dress was perfect!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
November 10, 2017
A simply elegant, dark blue gown appropriate for an awards event.
Wore with a 2.5" heel. Comfortable and form fitting. The bow on the shoulder was a beautiful touch to the dress.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
November 1, 2017
Son's wedding
Dress fit perfectly Gorgeous navy blue Many compliments on how beautiful the dress was
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
October 19, 2017
All the many compliments I received and how comfortable the dress was.
Fit is true to size. I’m 5’5”, 145 lbs athletic build. This dress fit in all the right places. The length was perfect, as I wore 2.5-3in heels. The dress is much darker than in the original photo, but I still received many compliments. If you’re going for an elegant look, this dress definitely will work for you!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 129lbs
October 18, 2017
Simple, elegant, beautiful color & fabric!
This dress fit my small frame well, 6P length was just right (3in heels). Nice fabric with just enough structure - strapless or stick on bra works best - still enough room below the waist for hips (39in) and athletic thighs!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 151lbs
October 7, 2017
On time and two sizes to try
Dress is cute fit well but two sizes dresses has some issue with The side zipper . Good thing was dark blue and it is not that obvious
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
October 6, 2017
It was amazing to wear this beautiful dress! It fit perfectly, and I received many compliments!
Fit like a glove. Very dark blue, almost appears black. Wore with a VS bra that allowed me to have one strap.
Size worn:
14R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38F
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 195lbs
October 4, 2017
Great quality
Short than I would have liked
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 65
September 20, 2017
Perfect dress...many compliments.
Exactly as described...fir perfect. I will use Rent the Runway again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
September 18, 2017
Classic, comfortable and a show stunner.
Wore this for a centennial gala. It is super comfortable and thick enough that you don't have to worry about undergarment lines. You could also easily wear a bra with one strap if you need extra support because the one shoulder covers a lot of area. I would say this dress is true to size..it is a little shorter in the front because the back goes into a tiny bit of a train so keep that in mind with your heel height. Would absolutely rent this dress again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
September 10, 2017
This dress was lovely, I felt very glamorous during the evening!
I normally wear a size14. After reading the reviews I ordered a size 12 as a backup. The 14R dress ended up not being available at the last minute and fortunately the 12R fit. It was a little too short for my taste and I would have preferred a long instead of the regular. I had planned gold accessories and a nude shoe. When I got the dress however, I found that the back of the shoulder ruffle was lines with a black satin. It was still ok with the gold accessories but I ended up getting a last minute pair of black shoes instead of the nude.
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
August 23, 2017
Great dress for a wedding
Fit was very flattering!
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 51
August 21, 2017
Dress was gorgeous and return was seamless!!!
Runs a little big in the torso but nothing I couldn't deal with.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 50
August 21, 2017
Black tie wedding and this dress was elegant and simple
Beautiful dress but had a weird gather on the side that made th wee zipper not lay flat.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
August 20, 2017
Excellent fit
This dress was a heavy fabric which was perfect for a cool evening formal wedding. I absolutely loved the navy color, and the silhouette of this dress is perfect for someone who is a little hippy with a smaller waist. The one shoulder was just enough, and I received plenty of compliments all night.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Age: 38
August 14, 2017
The dress had a very noticeable flaw
There was a snag on the stomach area of this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 145lbs
August 12, 2017
Comfortable and elegant
I don't often wear long gowns since I don't like super high heels and I'm 5'3". This gown in 10p was the perfect length and the weight of the fabric allowed it to drape nicely. I was comfortable (very important to me) and I felt like I was dressed approximately for the gala I attended without drawing extraordinary attention to myself simply because of my attire (which is my preference.). I paired it with some drop earrings also from RTR and they marched beautifully. Dress was darker than I expected from the pictures - a deep navy color but I liked it a lot. I did feel plenty pretty in this dress and received a number of compliments. This is not my first RTR experience but after this one I did sign up for unlimited!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
July 4, 2017
Absolutely gorgeous dress!
I rented this for a gala and this dress did not disappoint! I am 5'3" and this was the perfect length for me; it cut just over the top of my heels. It is a very dark navy. The dress is slightly form fitting, but loose enough that you can walk, dance, and sit with no issue. The event I was at had a lot of stairs, and I had no issue going up and down in the dress. Would definitely rent again for another formal event.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
June 29, 2017
Regular length was too long for 5'2"
I followed other reviewers suggestions and got the regular length gown even though I'm 5'2". Even with 3" heels, it was too long and dragging on the floor. I sent it back. It was a beautiful dress though with a nice fit in other aspects, bust, waist. I'm glad I had to send it back though because it turned out to be an outdoor wedding ceremony and this dress would have been too heavy for a warm day in the sun. Maybe for an indoor fall/winter event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32F
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
June 26, 2017
So pretty and elegant!
Everything about this dress was perfect, except I am 5'1 and could not get the petite size for my event. I ordered the regular with the hopes it wouldn't be too long with very high heels, but it still didn't work. I will definitely rent the petite size for another event... it fits like a glove and it so elegant!
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
June 14, 2017
It was our Annual Black Tie Gala for work. I had so many compliments on this dress.
I was nervous it was going to be to long because I am only 5'3 but with my high heels it was perfect. I will order from Rent The Runaway again and again.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Wedding
June 14, 2017
Beautiful dress, super flattering!!
This dress fit me like a glove. I am 5'3 and about 140 lbs, with athletic shoulders/arms, and curvy bust (36 C or 34 D) and curvy hips. The 6R fit perfectly. The 8R was too big in the chest for me. This dress was incredibly slimming and elegant. I got a million compliments all night long. I was a bridesmaid and this is the dress the bride chose for me. I couldn't have been happier! It was also very comfortable and fun to dance in. I did not wear a bra, but you easily could wear a strapless if you wanted too.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 200lbs
June 12, 2017
Glamour!
I loved this dress. It was perfect for the black tie wedding I attended. At the time I wore it I was closer to 180lbs. I have an athletic build with hour glass shape. The long is really long so I wore about a 4" heel. The fabric is heavy but that allows for a really nice and elegant lay of the dress. It's a deep navy color that doesn't come across in pictures but looks great in person. I did belt it because there was too much fabric in the waist and I wanted a better defined shape. Overall a very elegant dress. I would definitely rent it again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Age: 19
June 5, 2017
Glamor
Was happy that I fit into the back up size. I think that I could even go down to a 12. I really liked this dress and will rent again. Though it is not for girls with a curvy shape. More athletic build which I am not, but love it still, Is not a mermaid dress so you have a nice flair and a train! Small train.
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36DD
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 165lbs
June 4, 2017
I needed a dress for a formal wedding. I wanted something simple, yet elegant. This hit the spot!
The dress runs a little big, but it made me feel good to wear a smaller size than usual. It fit like a charm! I was able to move around easily. I danced and received compliments all night long. This was my first time using Rent the Runway. Now, I'm hooked!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
May 31, 2017
I wore this for a black-tie wedding and felt wonderful. It was very comfortable and light.
At 5'5", I ordered the regular length and expected to wear heels at least a couple of inches high. I ended up having to wear flats.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 111lbs
May 30, 2017
Dress was excellent quality and perfect fit!
Dress was beautiful and I received many compliments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
May 21, 2017
Perfect fit, so comfortable and gorgeous!
Wore this to a military gala and loved wearing this dress! You can't tell by the photo but when you walk in this gown, it flows so beautifully. You feel like you're walking down a runway. I normally wear an 8 and the 6 felt better. It was form fitting and I didn't need to wear a bra. I thought about getting a petite bc I'm only 5'4, but my heels were 2-3inches so the regular was the better choice. I danced a ton at this gala and this dress held up in comfort :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
May 21, 2017
Felt wonderful in this dress
Loved the fit and style, very comfortable and elegant #runwaytohope2017
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Body type: Full Bust
May 17, 2017
so great for second trimester at a formal event
comfortable material and forgiving for a maternity dress alternative
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
May 10, 2017
Bridesmaid dress for brothers wedding
I'm a true size 6 and felt I could have worn the 4 but the one should sleeve was very tight around my arm in both dresses. I wouldn't consider my arms large for my body frame. I went with the larger dress because it was more comfortable on the arm but the 4 fit better everywhere else.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
May 9, 2017
Elegant dress that was perfect for a black tie event! A ton of complements!
The dress is perfect! The dress does run bigger in the waist and top - the arm hole or one shoulder part is true to size so it doesn't fall down or slip off. The waist is cut a little bigger than usual.
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
May 2, 2017
The dress was very comfy and easy for me to move in!
The stomach area was loose which made me photograph like I had a pooch but it was so comfortable I didn't mind it to much. The main cons were the strings that are on it for the hangers!! I was constantly having to tuck them back in...also the dress I ordered was navy but it was basically black.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
May 2, 2017
Black tie ready!
This dress was stunning, and wish that it had not been so hot so i could wear this one to a wedding. Definitely perfect for a formal or black tie affair.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
May 1, 2017
It was a black tie charity gala. Fun evening with dinner and dancing.
This dress was beautiful in person! Fit like a glove. I'm 5'7 and with regular size heels wasn't too long. Loved it!
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 114lbs
April 30, 2017
Compliments all night long!!
This dress was beautiful!! The length was perfect with 3.5 inch shoes - didn't need to hold it up when walking. Fit okay around the top, but there was definitely some forgiving fabric around the waist. Could have used a belt to give it a bit more shape, but I ended up going without. Blue color was beautiful, and the shoulder gave it a sophisticated touch. Definitely will rent again!
IritJune 29, 2017
with 3.5 inch heels, did the dress hit the floor or was it shorter than that? Thanks!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 46
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148lbs
April 30, 2017
NYS Police Gala
Love love this dress. The material is wonderful and doesn't cling. Would definitely rent again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
April 27, 2017
Very comfortable dress!
Although it was a perfect fit in the bust, it was a bit baggy in the abdomen area, which was great for me! (I didn't have to wear my shapewear!) It was very comfortable as a whole, although it was a bit long in the back with only wearing 2 inch heals; I'm 5'4". Photographs more as a black than navy.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 47
April 26, 2017
Great dress! Is navy in color. Wore the 4P versus 4R as I am 5-2" and wore 3 inch wedge heels.
Was a little loose in the waist but I preferred it that way. It was a very comfortable dress. Loved it and received a lot of compliments. Thank you!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 10

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×