Carmen Marc Valvo

Lifetime Love Gown

$60 – $80 rental?
$745 retail
Stylist Notes

Feel like a celebrity in this gorgeous Carmen Marc Valvo gown. Classic accessories like Kenneth Jay Lane’s Polished Crystal Drop Earrings are all you need to top off that glam look!

Also available in red and navy.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size, yet runs slightly short in length. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Size 0-12 & plus 18W-22W.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - very loosely fitted in bodice
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted on hips and backside; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in waist and back
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 3 lengths (Petite, Regular, Long): Petite measures 56" from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5'1'' woman in 3" heels; Regular measures 58” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’3” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Product Details

Black crepe(100% polyester). One shoulder neckline with ruffled shoulder strap. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
588 reviews
Fit
Large
(182)
True to Size
(323)
Small
(8)
Size worn:
18WR
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Body type: Full Bust
June 22, 2017
Perfect gown for a black tie evening
I absolutely loved this dress! I know it was the perfect choice when I didn't want to take it off. The one thing to pay attention to is the length you rent if you are curvy. I'm 5'5" and fit into the 16R, but it was too short. I wore the 18WR because of the length (it was actually too big but it worked.). I will rent this again and go with the L sizing.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
18R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36G
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 230lbs
June 18, 2017
Timeless and elegant
I loved this dress. It was very comfortable. It ran a bit shorter than I had expected. I'm just under 6'7" tall and the 18 only worked because it was too big. I think that the 16 fit better but because of how the fabric is cut it was too short whereas the 18 was too big so it hung longer. I also had to tuck my bra in on the side with the zipper since the dress cut lower than my bra but I was able to contain large chest. The 16 did bunch more on the side than the 18. I wore flats with the 18 and it was about 1/2 inch shorter than I would have preferred.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
18R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 61
May 31, 2017
Looked good therefore I felt good!!!!!
It fit perfect! Loved it, many many compliments!
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 32
May 22, 2017
Beautiful comfortable dress
This dress runs large as everyone has mentioned. I'm a pretty true 6, wore the 4 in this dress but wish I had the 2. Tons of compliments and I didn't want to return it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 230lbs
May 16, 2017
This dress was perfect!
Every year my company hosts a formal black tie dinner for our clients and every year I always need a new dress. I have tried RtR in the past and have had some good experiences and some bad. This year I booked an appointment with a stylist at the Topanga location and it was the way to go! She pulled this dress for me and a few other selections. Since I'm top heavy and curvy sizing is a pain to figure out with these dresses. I originally tried on a 14 in red but it wouldn't zip up all the way so I asked to try on a 16 but that size was not available in the store. The stylist was able to book me a 16L in black for my event and it fit great the day I got it and I got so many compliments on it at the dinner. It was such a relief to not have to stress about the size up to the event! My boss even told me the next day I should invest in the dress and keep it (I did return it) but will be looking for something similar to it to own! Bravo RtR stylist!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
May 7, 2017
Classic and elegant
My sister in law was getting married... I wanted to look formal and classic but also understated and this dress nailed it! So many compliments and dress was so comfortable!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
18R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Age: 18
May 5, 2017
I couldn't upload the picture but this dress was for my daughters prom. She was stunning!
The fit was great a bit loose but I'd rather have it a little large than a lot too small. I'm 5"10 and in heels over 6"0 and the gown was still a little long.
Size worn:
8P
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
May 1, 2017
So elegant... so comfortable!
This was a back-up dress that I ended up having to wear. But I'm so glad it came to that! I loved it... felt beautiful and it was so comfortable! I usually find myself having to tug at/reposition dresses as I wear them... but not this one! It stayed in place and looked great. I probably could have worn a size smaller, but ended up in an 8P because the 6P wasn't available. I am 5' 2.5", and the R was definitely too long. Would definitely rent again, as I got a lot of compliments!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 180lbs
April 30, 2017
Simply sophiscated, easy fit
This was my back up dress but I ended up wearing this one over the other! It was comfortable, a touch big but I think the 10L would have been just a bit too tight so I'm happy I rented the 12. This dress was long enough in the front which was important since I'm 5'9". Would definitely recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
April 26, 2017
Glamorous and a perfect fit! Perfect for a curvy figure
Due to other reviews, I saw that this would be a great fit. I am curvey and was worried that a straight dress would be snug - It was tailored just right. I wore a strapless bra - no gaps in the top. Armpit was perfect too. I took an 8 as a backup but the 6P was perfect. RTR sent me an additional backup dress that was gorgeous, but too sexy for a business event
View photos (3)
Size worn:
18R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 45
April 23, 2017
Elegant and flattering
My daughter decided to go to prom last minute and we were able to order this dress days before the event. It was perfect. It was flattering and tasteful. She received so many compliments!
Size worn:
16L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 31
April 19, 2017
I loved how it appropriately hugged my curves, I literally felt like a celebrity in this gown
No cons for me, the dress was absolutely perfect.
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 10, 2017
I loved the dress! It was packaged well and in perfect shap.
I wish I would've had a size smaller, it was looser fitting than I would have liked. I am 5'2 and the length was perfect!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 215lbs
April 9, 2017
Wore 16R, it was perfect!
Zero cons! I was very nervous about renting, now I will use RTR every time!! The dress was very forgiving in my trouble areas, I felt very glamorous!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
April 9, 2017
Runs a little large
Wore this to a black tie gala and was comfortable all night. I'm normally a size 4 but other reviews suggested it ran large so I got a 2 as my backup size. Glad I did as the 4 was too roomy on the top for me and sagged down. If you have a large bust, it could work but I'm 32DD and it was too big. The 2 was petite, and that worked out well, since I'm only 5'2". I wore 3" heels with it and the length was OK for walking in. Did not care for it coming up above my ankles when sitting down though. It's kind of a high-lo cut on the bottom mermaid flare. On the dress I got, the side seems were off and it just felt like it was sewn crooked to me but no one else could tell. The zipper would not lie flat against my left hip and puckered out but I just posed with my hand on that hip to hide it. Overall, fit was perfect for me. For reference, at the time I wore this dress I was 28" waist 39" hip and overall bust 35". Hope that helps!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
March 27, 2017
Stunning dress
Dress runs very large and very very short-I wore the 4L and am not even 5'7
View photos (1)
Size worn:
18R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 35
March 23, 2017
This was a very beautiful dress!
The top was a little big...I could have worn the 16 back up but since I ordered a petite it was actually too short. Odd because I'm only 5'0...the 18 fit well and I had worn 4in heels so it was perfect.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
March 13, 2017
The dress was perfect for a New Year's Eve formal wedding.
Good fit, true to size. Maybe a little short but made it so you could see my heels.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
March 12, 2017
Classy Dress!!
Dress is very classy!! Actually went with a smaller size since it runs big! Material is a little heavy but honestly fits great and got a lot of compliments!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
March 2, 2017
Gala Night
Dress was stunning in photos. Good fit, however a little big up top.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 240lbs
February 26, 2017
I chose this one!
I ordered 4 dresses in varying sizes. This was my first time using RTR so I wasn't sure what to expect. customer service was amazing! I got my first dress (not this one) on a Friday for a gala on Saturday evening. It arrived early afternoon but did not fit. So, I called customer service and they promptly helped me find 3 more dresses in a range of sizes because I was so unsure after my first pick was so large. Customer services promised I would have them by noon Saturday morning. I was very skeptical. I got a package at 9am! This dress was one of the three alternatives, and the one I ended up wearing to my event. It fit perfectly. I have a midsection and this dress was flattering. I am a 38DD and this dress fit everywhere: my bust, hips, midsection, etc. I almost didn't wear it because we attended a gala and my husband was in a tux, and this dress is NOT floor length (I am 5'8). I did a last minute run to a shoe store and found strappy heals that I could tie up my shin and calf so as to make the length of the dress seem intentional. The dress was dressy enough elsewhere, just wish it had been floor length. Overall I felt great in it, and received a lot of compliments.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
20WR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 30
February 3, 2017
Beautiful dress and I even got a compliment from the wedding photographer!
I wore this dress to a black tie wedding. The top and stomach area ran large, so I wore the smaller size. I felt comfortable and supported in this dress and danced the night away! The dress is shorter in the front and longer in the back, which I did not realize from any other the photos, so I wore some open toe gold shoes that popped against the black. The wedding photographer even complimented my dress, and I told her all about rent the runway!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 112lbs
January 18, 2017
Very pretty and comfortable black dress from Carmen Marc Valvo!
This dress was comfortable and fit me very well. I received lots of positive comments about it during the evening! The petite length worked well with my 1/2" heels (basically flats). The fabric was not prone to wrinkle, so it did not need any ironing/steaming prior to wearing (thumbs up!). The material was not too thin, so it worked well for a chilly December event.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 139lbs
January 14, 2017
New Years Eve + Black tie perfection!
This dress was timeless and very flattering. I loved the simplicity of it and opted for a larger size than usual for added dance floor comfort as it was New Years Eve. I don't usually wear updo's but the structure of this lbd allowed for a more dramatic hairstyle. Overall - loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
January 2, 2017
Fun and versatile
Ran a bit large but I paired with a belt to cinch the waist. It was very comfortable, which was a plus
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
December 21, 2016
Not for a pear
I had to send this dress back and request an overnight shipment for an entirely different dress. The 6L fit my hips but was very large in the bust and mid-section. There was so much extra fabric in the middle that the zipper bulged out making me look much larger in the waist, which is my best feature.
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
December 16, 2016
The dress is holding up very nice.
It's easy and comfortable to wear and hugging the figure well. I can dance all night in this dress. I love this dress a lot and would definitely recommend anyone to rent for a company party.
Size worn:
10P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 31
December 11, 2016
Perfect formal black dress
Stunning dress, super comfortable and not too tight around the midsection. Perfect for a gala.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
December 6, 2016
So many compliments!!
Loved this dress! I'm only 5'3 and I thought it ran pretty short.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
December 5, 2016
Great dress!
Dress fit awesome! I ordered a 4p and 2 p and ended up wearing the 2 p. So comfortable and great fit!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
November 28, 2016
I was postpartum by about 6 months & was worried about the fit. This dress worked perfectly.
The material is super nice and a bit forgiving. Very classy. The best I felt dressed up postpartum.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 26, 2016
Great Dress, maybe a bit big.
I loved this dress that I rented for a formal wedding. Good fabric, thick, but still stretchy. Runs short, and big in my opinion. Wore a 4L (definitely order the L) could have worn the 2 L but they were all out! But I still loved it! Held up to me chasing around my one year old all evening!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 28
November 22, 2016
This dress was beautiful, I felt amazing in this dress!
Fits perfect hugs all the right places and was very comfortable
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
November 19, 2016
Beautiful gown
In my experience with this dress, order early enough to exchange if necessary. It was extremely wrinkled but I had to wear this! Had to have it pressed! Elegant yet sexy! Falls nicely. Keep in mind it was just short of being too big on the side and I'm a 36 bust but a size smaller would have been too small in bodice. Perfect length for me with 3 1/2 inch heels. Received lots of compliments and ended up forwarding lots of RTR referrals and this actual dress. I might actually try to find it to buy it! Love!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
November 16, 2016
Classy and elegant
This dress was great. I loved it and received so many compliments. It was a little big on me and I probably could've used a smaller size because it was heavier and I kept having to twist the dress slightly so that it'd wear properly.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
November 15, 2016
Elegant perfection!
I loved this dress and received many compliments throughout the evening. I was worried it would be too long because I am rather short but it was perfect with a pair of heels. Not sure the height of the heels but probably about 2 inches. The fabric is a bit revealing so I wore the dress with a smoothing shaper and it fit and looked great. This dress was definitely a hit!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
November 14, 2016
Perfect simple black dress
This is the perfect simple black dress if you want understated elegance. Fit was perfect and was super comfortable to wear. First RTR rental was a success!
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 41
November 13, 2016
Great dress. However, I ordered a 4P and a 4R and only the 4R arrived. I think the 4P would have fi
A little long for me but a beautiful dress! I received so many compliments.
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Age: 36
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 12, 2016
Elegant with comfort
Very flattering cut and forgiving in the waist area. Wore to a black tie wedding. Not necessarily a stand out dress but that was good because we didnt know many people there. However, because it is comfortable and hits you in all the right places, you make a statement by wearing with ease. Highly recommend if you are picking a first dress that you are nervous about, this is a great back up. I wore same style in navy last year and knew it was a great go to.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
20WR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 40
November 7, 2016
Loved this dress as soon as I laid eyes on it. Perfect for the gala.
Went two sizes up and it was a little too big. Gorgeous dress, though. Received a lot of compliments.
See more reviews:
1 / 15

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×