Carmen Marc Valvo

Lifetime Love Gown

$80 rental
$745 retail
Stylist Notes

Feel like a celebrity in this gorgeous Carmen Marc Valvo gown. Classic accessories like Kenneth Jay Lane’s Polished Crystal Drop Earrings are all you need to top off that glam look!

Also available in red and navy.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size, yet runs slightly short in length. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Size 0-12 & plus 18W-22W.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - very loosely fitted in bodice
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted on hips and backside; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in waist and back
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 3 lengths (Petite, Regular, Long): Petite measures 56" from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5'1'' woman in 3" heels; Regular measures 58” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’3” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Product Details

Black crepe(100% polyester). One shoulder neckline with ruffled shoulder strap. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
621 reviews
Fit
Large
(184)
True to Size
(340)
Small
(8)
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Age: 28
November 21, 2015
Beautiful but big

Rented this as my backup but it was too large. I would say size down if you get this dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Bust size: 34A
May 4, 2016
I received lots of compliments!

I am 5'5" and typically wear a size 2. The 2 that I received was significantly shorter and the side zipper would not lay flat. I ordered regular length in both sizes so I'm not sure why there was such a difference in the lengths. The 4 was slightly big around my bust and waist but not too big that I couldn't wear it. I wish the 2 had not had those issues because it definitely was a better fit.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
May 8, 2016
Gorgeous dress and perfect fit!!!

I wore this for a black tie gala and received so many compliments. I'm 5'10 and wore heels and the 12 long was absolutely perfect. This was my first RTR experience and I was very hesitant about this dress because of pear shape and height.... I was pleasantly surprised. The material is also heavy enough that it hides trouble areas well. You won't be disappointed with this dress. I can't wait to get rent again.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 38
May 16, 2016
I was running for woman of the year for LLS and raised 20k for cancer research! so any compliments!

It was the perfect fit. The only thing was the hanger tags popped out a lot. Other than that it was perfect!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
0P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
May 22, 2016
You can always count on your dress to arrive on time.

This dress runs large in the middle.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
June 4, 2016
Elegant!

6L for well but there was room at the waist. Loved this dress - so elegant and sophisticated.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
16R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
June 6, 2016
Great one shoulder dress

Fits great.

Size worn:
0L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
June 7, 2016
Elegant and comfortable to wear

The dress was very comfortable to wear, it fits right to your body which is perfect and gives a very nice silhouette! The picture does no justice, it is really beautiful.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
June 12, 2016
Simple and elegant

This was my back-up dress and I liked it more than my first choice. I would recommend a strapless bra and spanx for a smooth look. I'm 5'7" and the 4L was almost too short with 4 inch heels. If you're not sure go with a longer length

Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 205lbs
June 26, 2016
Life Saver!

This was my 3rd dress after one didn't fit, another the zipper broke then this gem. A little big but comfy! I felt beautiful in it!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
July 9, 2016
Dress was pretty but beware of one shoulder

Dress was very pretty and fabric was comfortable. The only downside was that the arm hole for the one shoulder was very tight and by the end of the night it was digging into my skin. I don't have unusually large arms but I couldn't wait to get it off by the time the wedding was over.

Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
July 11, 2016
AMAZING DRESS

So many compliments. It was so flattering!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4P
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
July 22, 2016
Classic and comfortable!

This dress was perfect for a black tie wedding in Chicago. I'm from Oregon and rented the 4 and the 2. The 4 was slightly big and long, the 2 fit well but was too short. Luckily there was a RTR store in Chicago right next to our hotel so I brought in my dresses and they had me try the 4 Petite which fit PERFECTLY! Awesome customer service. I got soooo many compliments the whole night!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
18WR
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 220lbs
August 14, 2016
Overnighted 2cnd dress that was more amazing than my first pick

I'm so glad my first pick didn't fit. This dress is amazing. I wore the 18 but def could've done the 16, which is my true size. I'm 5'1, 220lbs and the length was perfect with 3" heels. The dress is a very flattering heavier material. This dress made a curvier girl look and feel beautiful all night. Thank you RTR!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
18WR
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 20
October 10, 2016
You want to feel fabulous? Wear this dress!

I loved this dress. I wear size 16/18 jeans so I chose a size 18 dress. I wish I would have gone with a size 16 because the top was a little big. But not so big that it was noticeable. It was very comfy and I felt so skinny! The dress has a lining that makes all your imperfections pretty much disappear (even tho I still wore my spanxx). I was so pleased with RTR, I will order again and again!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Wedding
October 23, 2016
Great dress - wrong size

I ended up wearing the size 12R because Rent the Runway was unable to ship the 10R because it was damaged. While they sent a 10P and another dress in similar style, both were too small and opted for the size 12 which fit ok, but was slightly too big in the bust. Received tons of compliments and it was very comfortable! Just wish I could've tried the 10R as I'm sure I would've ended up wearing that one.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Age: 36
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 12, 2016
Elegant with comfort

Very flattering cut and forgiving in the waist area. Wore to a black tie wedding. Not necessarily a stand out dress but that was good because we didnt know many people there. However, because it is comfortable and hits you in all the right places, you make a statement by wearing with ease. Highly recommend if you are picking a first dress that you are nervous about, this is a great back up. I wore same style in navy last year and knew it was a great go to.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 116lbs
November 16, 2016
Classy and elegant

This dress was great. I loved it and received so many compliments. It was a little big on me and I probably could've used a smaller size because it was heavier and I kept having to twist the dress slightly so that it'd wear properly.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 49
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
November 19, 2016
Beautiful gown

In my experience with this dress, order early enough to exchange if necessary. It was extremely wrinkled but I had to wear this! Had to have it pressed! Elegant yet sexy! Falls nicely. Keep in mind it was just short of being too big on the side and I'm a 36 bust but a size smaller would have been too small in bodice. Perfect length for me with 3 1/2 inch heels. Received lots of compliments and ended up forwarding lots of RTR referrals and this actual dress. I might actually try to find it to buy it! Love!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 26, 2016
Great Dress, maybe a bit big.

I loved this dress that I rented for a formal wedding. Good fabric, thick, but still stretchy. Runs short, and big in my opinion. Wore a 4L (definitely order the L) could have worn the 2 L but they were all out! But I still loved it! Held up to me chasing around my one year old all evening!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
December 5, 2016
Great dress!

Dress fit awesome! I ordered a 4p and 2 p and ended up wearing the 2 p. So comfortable and great fit!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
16R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
December 6, 2016
So many compliments!!

Loved this dress! I'm only 5'3 and I thought it ran pretty short.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
10P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 32
December 11, 2016
Perfect formal black dress

Stunning dress, super comfortable and not too tight around the midsection. Perfect for a gala.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
January 2, 2017
Fun and versatile

Ran a bit large but I paired with a belt to cinch the waist. It was very comfortable, which was a plus

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 139lbs
January 14, 2017
New Years Eve + Black tie perfection!

This dress was timeless and very flattering. I loved the simplicity of it and opted for a larger size than usual for added dance floor comfort as it was New Years Eve. I don't usually wear updo's but the structure of this lbd allowed for a more dramatic hairstyle. Overall - loved it!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38DD
Body type: Apple
Weight: 255lbs
February 26, 2017
I chose this one!

I ordered 4 dresses in varying sizes. This was my first time using RTR so I wasn't sure what to expect. customer service was amazing! I got my first dress (not this one) on a Friday for a gala on Saturday evening. It arrived early afternoon but did not fit. So, I called customer service and they promptly helped me find 3 more dresses in a range of sizes because I was so unsure after my first pick was so large. Customer services promised I would have them by noon Saturday morning. I was very skeptical. I got a package at 9am! This dress was one of the three alternatives, and the one I ended up wearing to my event. It fit perfectly. I have a midsection and this dress was flattering. I am a 38DD and this dress fit everywhere: my bust, hips, midsection, etc. I almost didn't wear it because we attended a gala and my husband was in a tux, and this dress is NOT floor length (I am 5'8). I did a last minute run to a shoe store and found strappy heals that I could tie up my shin and calf so as to make the length of the dress seem intentional. The dress was dressy enough elsewhere, just wish it had been floor length. Overall I felt great in it, and received a lot of compliments.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
16R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
March 2, 2017
Gala Night

Dress was stunning in photos. Good fit, however a little big up top.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
March 12, 2017
Classy Dress!!

Dress is very classy!! Actually went with a smaller size since it runs big! Material is a little heavy but honestly fits great and got a lot of compliments!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
March 27, 2017
Stunning dress

Dress runs very large and very very short-I wore the 4L and am not even 5'7

View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
December 2, 2014
Perfect for a black tie affair

I wore this for a black tie wedding. I received numerous compliments! I just had a baby 8 weeks ago and was nervous about the sizes. Before baby I wore an 8 so I ordered the 10 and 12 to be safe. Much to my surprise the 10 was still a little big on me, but worked well for the evening as I felt comfortable and didn't have to suck it in all night! :) I would have been interested in seeing how the 8 fit! But overall such a great experience, would absolutely use RTR again!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 108lbs
December 18, 2014
The dress was beautiful! Very formal, fit perfectly!

The dress was perfection! I was able to wear a strapless bra with an extra side shoulder support which was great! Always have a hard time finding dresses that work with my full bust size! Length was perfect with a mid-sized heel (2-1/2 to 3") any higher heel I would have needed the tall version. Very classic silhouette and feel very formal, definitely a black tie type of dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165lbs
December 30, 2014
Dress is fabulous - tons of compliments. Fit well too!

Pros of fit is that it's true to size and is really elegant! Cons of fit is that It kind of cramped my larger breasts (they're always soooo annoying). I am an size 8 and a size 10 (10 up top always) and 8 everywhere else...this dress squished them a little and was a little loose fitting elsewhere, but overall the 10 was good! Perfect length as well (10R).

Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 47
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
January 10, 2015
Very elegant and made me look great!!

Perfect fit!!!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165lbs
February 3, 2015
Beautiful dress. Comfortable fit

I borrowed both the 6 and 8. The 8 was too large throughout the body. But comfortable for the bust. The size 6 dress fit better throughout. I usually wear a size 8 dress because of my bust size. I could fit comfortably into the 6. It did smush my breasts a little but for overall comfort I went with the 6. The ruffle in the shoulder I did notice flipped up a few times in pictures which looked funny at times.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
0L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
February 6, 2015
Classy

Lovely dress that ran true to size and was comfortable all night. I was a little hesitant to order the long size at 5'7", but the length was absolutely perfect with my 3" heels.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
February 7, 2015
#1 Stunner!

Perfect dress, my husband loved it. I'm a pear and the 4 long was a great fit. High quality. Would definitely recommend! The photo doesn't do the dress justice.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
February 21, 2015
Perfect Customer Service!

This was actually a back up dress.... But worked great as a bridesmaids dress. I received lots of compliments. The length was perfect with wedges (I was on my feet all day and night and wanted something comfy). You couldn't see them at all. The waist/tummy area was a little loose but that's my only negative. Beautiful dress! I rented another dress that was too short when it arrived. I called RTR, and they helped me pick out this dress and overnight end them to me! This dress worked! I will definitely recommend RTR and can't wait to rent again!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Apple
March 15, 2015
Easy black tie gown

This is a very elegant and classy gown that fit right in at the black tie event I attended. I wore the 12L with two or three inch heels and had to pick up the hem while walking. Not a huge problem, and the dress was otherwise very comfortable. Based on the reviews and comments from others, I went a size down for my back-up. Normally, this is probably good advice unless you have broad shoulders. I wore my normal size of 12L because the 10L was tight across the shoulder, and its zipper would not lay flat, causing a weird wrinkle effect on my side. So I wore the 12L, though it hid my shape/curves more than the smaller size.

Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
May 3, 2015
Great!

Very happy I ordered the tall! Would have been too short otherwise with 3" shoes.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 25
April 21, 2015
Very comfortable dress! Loved the one shoulder detail. I received so many compliments all night!

I rented both the 2R and the 4R not sure which one would fit better. The 2R fit perfectly! The length was right on top of my feet so it was perfect with 3" heels. Definitely a form fitting dress, but the fabric is heavy enough so the dress doesn't cling to your body. Very comfortable dress! I would definitely rent it again!

View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 16

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×