You are masquerading as ! (switch back)
| REVIEWS |
 
| MY BAG
 

FREE SHIPPING + INSURANCE
What's this?

Rent like a PRO all year long! One year of
free shipping & insurance. Plus, we'll throw in
a free birthday dress. Learn More

Our Runway
What's New
Dresses
Accessories
Occasions
Designers
Stores
Blog
Lifetime Love Gown
Rental $80 Retail $745
info
  • Stylist Notes
  • Product Details
  • Size & Fit
Feel like a celebrity in this gorgeous Carmen Marc Valvo gown. Classic accessories like Kenneth Jay Lane’s Polished Crystal Drop Earrings are all you need to top off that glam look!

Also available in red and navy.
Chat with a Stylist
Black crepe(100% polyester). One shoulder neckline with ruffled shoulder strap. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.
Chat with a Stylist
This dress runs true to size, yet runs slightly short in length. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Size 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - very loosely fitted in bodice
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted on hips and backside; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in waist and back
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 3 lengths (Petite, Regular, Long): Petite measures 56" from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5'1'' woman in 3" heels; Regular measures 58” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’3” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Chat with a Stylist
  • Enter your shipping zip code
  • Select size
    Select free 2nd size
  • Select the day you'd like your dress to arrive
    We recommend you select a rental start date 1-2 days before your event.
    Renting for Thanksgiving weekend? Enjoy an extended rental on us! Rent for 11/27 and return 12/1.
    • Start Date
    • Mail Back
    • Unavailable
    • *No delivery on Sundays
Got A Minute? Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.
Fit
Small
True to Size
Large
Photos106

0 Reviews from women like you:

Enter more for better results

Julie
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 53
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6643
May 4, 2012
Went to a very fun event and felt completely confident in my RTR choice!
Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to the White House Correspondents' Dinner and felt very glamorous among all the celebrities and media present. The dress runs true to size, is made of a nice, substantial material and the long size was great because even with my height I was able to wear heels. I would highly recommend this dress. In the photo, my daughter is also wearing a RTR dress!
Sierra
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 19
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 2231
Apr 25, 2012
It was perfectly on time and the dresses were in perfect condition.
Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I LOVED this dress! It was so classy, simple, and elegant! I added small red accents just to spice up the dress a little. I definitely recommend this dress to those considering ordering it!
Michelle
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Canonical User Type: 6633
Apr 1, 2012
The ease of selecting, renting and returning a beautiful gown without the expense of purchasing a gown to wear once and add to the collection in my closet that I will never wear again. Great experience
Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my first time renting from RTR and I must say, they are AWESOME! This dress is stunning! I received so many compliments and felt as if I was the best dressed there. I will definately be renting again.
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4534
Feb 16, 2012
One of my friends at work told me to wear the dress to work EVERY day because she loved it so much!
Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Simple but elegant! I wore this to a black-tie gala that I hosted for a charity fundraiser. It was a little big in the waist but still looked great! I loved it. I'm renting another fun dress for a formal party on Oscar night. LOVE RTR! So easy to wear and return!
Becca
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 118 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3531
Nov 30, 2011
I received so many compliments on my attire that I felt like a 'marketing rep' for RTR for the evening! I had such a wonderful experience with my first time renting, I can't wait to do it again!
Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this gown for a black tie wedding and absolutely LOVED wearing it. I felt so fabulous and got a ton of compliments on my attire. I'd highly recommend this gown for a nice wedding or black tie event. Add the Gerard Yosca Emerald Eye Chandelier Earrings for some added bling! **One thing to note, I am 5'4 and the size 4 gown length worked fine for a small heel, however, if you are taller, I recommend getting a larger size as the length might be too short on you.
erin
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Canonical User Type: 6534
Apr 9, 2014
Overall, this dress was perfect! Great fit, comfortable and easy to wear.
Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Have just had a baby and the black was forgiving. I was comfortable, didn't have to pull or adjust it at all during the event. I felt good in it.
Amy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Canonical User Type: 4644
Apr 7, 2014
Very comfortable & fabric was high quality. The cut is very slimming too!
Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I have a larger chest and had room to spare with the dress. So you will likely need a bra for support.
Andrea
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5634
Apr 6, 2014
Gorgeous dress and well made!
Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fits very true to size and is very comfortable. I was able to wear a bra with it, which made me very happy. Tons of compliments!!
Jena
Age: 31
Canonical User Type: 1511
Apr 4, 2014
The dress was just absolutely outstanding.
Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for our annual company awards banquet. I received the 10R and 12R the 12 was a little big and too long even for 6 inch heels. (I am 5'3"). The 10 was perfect in fit and in length and I was told how fabulous the dress was. I loved it and felt like a movie star.
Shannon
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4632
Apr 1, 2014
This dress was beautiful!
Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was beautiful! The quality was great and it was very elegant. I thought the length was perfect with 3inch heels. I have another event to go to and I will definitely use RTR again!
Jessica
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3432
Mar 31, 2014
Classic look for a black tie event. Flattering, comfortable, would definitely rent it again.
Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I felt great in this dress. The dress is a bit loose in the waist and hips but in a flattering way. I always have to get shoulders altered since I have a small chest but I was able to pull this off without it draping too much up top. I like how this dress is a bit longer in the back. I ordered it in a 2R and 2L and went with the 2R. I'm 5'6" and was still able to wear 3" heels with it. The dress would have dragged if I wore the long. I highly recommend this dress.
PJW
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3533
Mar 25, 2014
Perfect dress!
Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved this dress and received so many compliments. I'd definitely rent it again.
michelle
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2523
Mar 22, 2014
Getting the dress and the little goodies totally made my day!
Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Beautiful gown!
Katie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5443
Mar 18, 2014
Great dress for formal black tie wedding!
Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I typically wear a 6 or 8 depending on the fit, but ordered a 4L as back up after reading reviews that the dress runs large. I am very glad I did, because the 4L fit perfectly. Very flattering and long enough to wear 3 inch heels (I`m 5'9). I would highly recommend this dress for a formal event.
Alise
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7534
Mar 10, 2014
Formal nighttime event - wonderful dress to dance and enjoy the night!
Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was a great dress and I received lots of compliments! I wore a Spanx Minidress underneath and didn't need to wear a bra. The fabric is thick and I didn't feel like it highlighted anything that I didn't want! The should detail makes this dress pop and eliminates the need for special jewelry. I added personal drop earrings and a simple bracelet. A great clutch is good with this dress, too! The only drawback to this dress - I was tucking in the ribbons that hangs the dress on a hanger. 100% recommend this dress!
Angela
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2523
Mar 8, 2014
Amazing!
Size worn: 0L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was perfection! I rented it for a black tie event for my work & I received so many compliments! I am 5'3" 115lbs 34B and originally rented the 0R but ended up wearing a 0L. Since I'm on the short side, I thought a regular length would be ok, but I wanted to wear 4" platform heels and the 0L was the PERFECT length! The ruffle detail at the top is so pretty & the way the bottom flows when you walk is beautiful. I seriously can't say enough about how much I loved this dress! I hope I have another event soon where I can rent it again! :)
TXlady08
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 6624
Mar 4, 2014
This dress made me feel like I was a celebrity!
Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was simple but elegant for a Mardi Gras ball! I would rent this dress again. I chose to wear the 8L due to my shoe height because the 8R showed the front of my shoes. Love, love, love this dress!!
Stephanie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3423
Mar 3, 2014
Short
Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I'd previously rented and worn the 2R in the navy blue and it fit perfect with 3" heels (I'm 5"3'). When I was invited last minute to a charity ball, I decided to go with the black because at least I knew it'd fit and I wouldn't have anything to worry about. However, when the dress came, it was probably 4-5" shorter! This wasn't a problem for me because I had some formal flat studded sandals that worked perfectly (and I was frankly happy to be in flats), but this could have caused major problems for someone else. With my flats, it barely skimmed the floor. I checked the labels to make sure they weren't actually the "short" lengths, and they definitely were labeled as regular. Not sure if this was an error?
Liz
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 6533
Mar 2, 2014
The dramatic sleeve is what make this dress. Simple, yet bold.
Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress was pretty long, even with 4 inch heels. Super comfortable.
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2533
Mar 1, 2014
This dress was perfect for a black tie fundraiser.
Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Beautiful dress! I'm just between petite and regular sizes, and I found that the size 0R fit well in the arms (no gaping armholes) but was just a tad long (I had 4.5 inch heels and it just grazed the ground). If a petite size was available that probably would have been better as far as the length. There is a little bit of a train, but not so much that it gets stepped on. The material is thick and weighty; enough to keep warm in an over air-conditioned ballroom, but not so heavy that you couldn't wear it in the summer. Overall a great experience, would definitely rent again.
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5643
Feb 26, 2014
The dress was simple but classy. Fit perfectly, and was super comfortable. Would rent again
Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit beautifully!
Asha
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 21
Body type: Apple
Weight: 117 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4321
Feb 25, 2014
simple and classic
Size worn: 4P
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
petite is shorter for heels
nan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 56
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 141 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6634
Feb 25, 2014
Compliments all night
Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was sent to me after my original choice was not available. I didn't try it on until the afternoon of the event. It fit PERFECTLY! What a classy, elegant selection. I received numerous compliments. It was true to size, and the length was perfect. I am 5'6" and wore 3 inch heels. It has a bit of a train, so you have to be careful that it isn't stepped on. I can't say enough about RTR!
Julie
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6543
Feb 24, 2014
This dress was fabulous! I'm a first-timer when it comes to RTR and I'm a copmlete believer!
Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress quality and fabric was amazing! I have an athletic build and it ran a bit big on the size 8. Length was great. I can't wait for my next rental and event!
Marta
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4533
Feb 24, 2014
Classic and Elegant.
Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I usually wear a 4, but the 2L fit me perfectly, and was comfortable to dance and move in. Simple and elegant!
Tif
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3524
Feb 22, 2014
Sent as a replacement dress
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was sent as a replacement for a dress that was damaged. It is a beautiful gown, but runs big in the torso area so I felt frumpy in the tummy region with this. The gown itself is stunning...if you could find a great sash to tighten up the tummy it would be a beautiful statement dress. I didn't wear it, but if the tummy region was tighter on the dress it would have been a knock out!
KLHatesFun
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5434
Feb 21, 2014
Gorgeous dress, but the long was definitely needed!
Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to a white tie affair in January. After reading the other reviews I opted to get a 4L and a 6L. Ive never ordered a long before but was glad that I did. I'm 5'7' and wore the 6L with 3 1/2" heels which was perfect. The model pictures don't really show that the front is a bit shorter than the back, hence the long. Both the 4 and 6 fit but I felt like I could dance and drink a bit better in the 6. I loved this dress and got many compliments on it. Very classic!
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5534
Feb 21, 2014
Felt like a million bucks
Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Love love love this dress and would buy in a heartbeat. It's just a great dress to wear for black tie when you aren't quite sure how dresses up people are going to get. Very classy and font too tight though it still shows off curves. Sexy but restrained.
Leslie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5524
Feb 18, 2014
Fit like a glove and I got so many compliments
Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Not too many exciting features, however it looked good on me and fit perfect
Robin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 156 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7524
Feb 15, 2014
n/a
Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
RTR sent this dress to me as a replacement for one of my chosen dresses, which was out of stock. This dress is gorgeous! Great material and the ruffle is beautiful. I'm sure it looks gorgeous on - if you're not me. Unfortunately RTR picked the wrong style element to copy when they sent this dress (one shoulder wasn't what I had rented the other dress for). A dress which emphasizes waist/hips is the last thing I would ever rent, but I gave it a shot when it arrived because one never knows! It did not hang well on my body - apples, stay away! RTR's service is OUTSTANDING! When my substitute dresses weren't a substitution as they had intended, they went above and beyond to make sure I had a substitute that did meet my needs. LOVE RTR!
Sarah
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 160 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6543
Feb 6, 2014
Felt so sleek and classic!
Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was fabulous - the fabric was a bit heavier (read: more forgiving) than some other formal dresses I've worn in the past. The shoulder ruffle was just the right amount of drama without being overwhelming. Looked great with statement earrings. Perfect for a black tie dinner. Fit was true to size.
Charlotte
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 5434
Feb 5, 2014
I wore this to a black tie wedding
Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was my last choice. It is pretty, but nothing special, you need to make a statement with your makeup/hair/earrings etc. It would have fit much better in a 6r. The 8 was fine, but the seams around the hips were a little bunchy. I am only 5'4 and wore 3 inch heels and the length was nice
Barbara
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 142 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5643
Feb 1, 2014
Beautiful and love the fabric!
Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am 5'9" and still had to wear low heals with the long.
Meg
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2522
Jan 23, 2014
2
Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
runs large in the hips and waist... i'm 5'1 and ordered a regular and the tops of my shoes were visible.
Ann
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4533
Jan 7, 2014
comfortable w/ a 'bump'
Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I recently wore this dress to a winter wedding - it was very nice, received lots of compliments and no one knew that i was 6mo's pregnant! Overall it is comfortable and like other reviews say, it is a stretchy fabric so plenty of breathing room. The size 4 fit and so did the size 6 (slightly loose). My only complaints (which is why i didn't give it 5 stars) is that the side zipper had a wave/ bump to it, it wasn't all that noticeable, but definitely not right - maybe it's been worn a lot and this happens over time ...?
Jill
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 146 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6633
Jan 6, 2014
It was a stunning dress, and I received compliments. Lovely.
Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit well. I am 5'6" and wore 3.5" heels. The length worked well.
Emily
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 110 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3324
Dec 18, 2013
The customer service was great and I loved wearing this dress!
Size worn: 4P
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I waited until the last minute to order a dress, so this one is my fault. I usually wear a 2P, but since that wasn't available, I got a 4P and a 2R. The R was wayyy too long and the 4P was a little big, but I still decided to go with the 4. The great thing about this dress is that the material is a little bit thicker which is good for the winter, but also is a little more flattering - no need for spanx! It was super comfortable and I felt great in it! Wish i had more pictures in it!
Cristina
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 139 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4434
Dec 17, 2013
Dress was gorgeous - very flattering and was complimented all night!
Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Dress ran true to size - I had tried it on in the showroom so only ordered my normal size. Recommend no necklace, but instead wear fun long earrings (which I rented from RTR as well) Also recommend wearing hair up to show off the shoulder of the dress. Length is perfect for my height + heels. Wore 3.5 inch heels. Amazing dress for a very formal event! Comfortable and danced all night long.
Kimberly
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4633
Dec 15, 2013
Amazing dress and the process couldn't be easier!
Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my first time using Rent the Runway. The dress was absolutely amazing - comfortable, true to size and elegant.
Marsha
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4333
Dec 13, 2013
Although I was unable to wear the dress, a friend lent me her dress which fit perfectly.
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress did not fit. It was too big.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×
×
Save at least $14.95 on every order and rent like a pro all year long. Details
  • free shipping
  • free insurance
  • free birthday dress