Carmen Marc Valvo

Lifetime Love Gown

$80 rental
$745 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Feel like a celebrity in this gorgeous Carmen Marc Valvo gown. Classic accessories like Kenneth Jay Lane’s Polished Crystal Drop Earrings are all you need to top off that glam look!

Also available in red and navy.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size, yet runs slightly short in length. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Size 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - very loosely fitted in bodice
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted on hips and backside; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in waist and back
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 3 lengths (Petite, Regular, Long): Petite measures 56" from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5'1'' woman in 3" heels; Regular measures 58” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’3” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size, yet runs slightly short in length. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Size 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - very loosely fitted in bodice
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted on hips and backside; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in waist and back
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 3 lengths (Petite, Regular, Long): Petite measures 56" from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5'1'' woman in 3" heels; Regular measures 58” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’3” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black crepe(100% polyester). One shoulder neckline with ruffled shoulder strap. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

375 reviews

Fit
Small 5
True to Size 226
Large 133
Photos 170
Becca
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 118 lbs
Nov 30, 2011

I received so many compliments on my attire that I felt like a 'marketing rep' for RTR for the evening! I had such a wonderful experience with my first time renting, I can't wait to do it again!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this gown for a black tie wedding and absolutely LOVED wearing it. I felt so fabulous and got a ton of compliments on my attire. I'd highly recommend this gown for a nice wedding or black tie event. Add the Gerard Yosca Emerald Eye Chandelier Earrings for some added bling! **One thing to note, I am 5'4 and the size 4 gown length worked fine for a small heel, however, if you are taller, I recommend getting a larger size as the length might be too short on you.
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 16, 2012

One of my friends at work told me to wear the dress to work EVERY day because she loved it so much!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Simple but elegant! I wore this to a black-tie gala that I hosted for a charity fundraiser. It was a little big in the waist but still looked great! I loved it. I'm renting another fun dress for a formal party on Oscar night. LOVE RTR! So easy to wear and return!
Michelle
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Apr 1, 2012

The ease of selecting, renting and returning a beautiful gown without the expense of purchasing a gown to wear once and add to the collection in my closet that I will never wear again. Great experience

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my first time renting from RTR and I must say, they are AWESOME! This dress is stunning! I received so many compliments and felt as if I was the best dressed there. I will definately be renting again.
Sierra
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 20
Body type: Athletic
Apr 25, 2012

It was perfectly on time and the dresses were in perfect condition.

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I LOVED this dress! It was so classy, simple, and elegant! I added small red accents just to spice up the dress a little. I definitely recommend this dress to those considering ordering it!
Julie
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 54
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
May 4, 2012

Went to a very fun event and felt completely confident in my RTR choice!

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to the White House Correspondents' Dinner and felt very glamorous among all the celebrities and media present. The dress runs true to size, is made of a nice, substantial material and the long size was great because even with my height I was able to wear heels. I would highly recommend this dress. In the photo, my daughter is also wearing a RTR dress!
Jacqueline
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 20
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
May 14, 2012

I absolutely adore this dress! It fit perfectly and I got tons of compliments on it! I felt so confident and glamorous!

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to my prom and I loved it! It was elegant and years down the line I will look back knowing I made the perfect choice! It slimmed my body and fit like a glove! I couldn't have asked for a better dress!
Hilary
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Jul 12, 2012

amazing RTR customer service getting this dress replaced with hours to spare!

Size worn: 0L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Originally I rented the navy version of this dress, but it arrived damaged and RTR was able to replace it overnight with the black version. For some strange reason, the black run significantly shorter than the navy. Not awful, but something to think about if you're debating between the two. Otherwise, I loved this dress and found it to run a bit large (I normally wear a 2 but had to wear the 0) Got tons of compliments and loved having a black dress that still stood out from the crowd.
shea
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 19
Body type: Athletic
Aug 24, 2012

Prom 2012.

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Such an awesome dress! It's true to its size and absolutely wonderful. Can't complain one bit about it!
Peggy
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 19, 2012

Feeling regal and like a salsa dancer with the ruffles!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was super comfortable. The one shoulder was not constricting at all, and I received tons of compliments. The ruffles were the perfect amount of mature, and not too girly. Also, the ruffle extended down around my underarm - which was a flattering feature. The skirt was surprisingly flowy - yet contained - so it was SO fun to dance in!!
Alice
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 3, 2012

Gorgeous dress!

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a high-society wedding. While browsing for options I was hesitant at first because I thought it was maybe a little too plain, but it was just perfect – the fabric is heavenly, flows beautifully (the tourists at St Patrick’s Cathedral were thrilled), and the ruffle detail is stunning. Super comfortable, which you wouldn’t necessarily expect. For a little sparkle I accessorized with Jimmy Choo navy glitter heels and mini-tube clutch - I was complimented all night long. The dress is chic without being overkill – you cannot go wrong with it!
Paige
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Oct 4, 2012

Perfect NYC Engagement Moment!

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress for my engagement photos and paired the dress with cowboy boots to pay homage to my Texas roots. Dress fit great. I am 5'11" and it was a little short, but nothing I couldn't live with. The fit is amazing!
Mary
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 12, 2012

It really made me feel glamorous- I wore it to an advertising awards party and it was a hit!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It was a little loose around the waist, but ended up being a good length for me with heels (I'm on the shorter side at 5'3." It was different enough from other long dresses that women were wearing to make
Julie
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
Oct 21, 2012

Dress fit so comfortably! Felt Gorgeous!

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Dress was so comfortable! My only complaint was the hanger loops, to help hang the dress, kept coming out of the top of the dress...not a huge deal though! I felt so great in this dress! I loved the earrings they sent with my dress! I cannot wait to rent another dress with RTR!!!
Kathryn
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 22, 2012

Classy, sophisticated and easy to wear.

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to a black tie function with co-workers so I wanted something formal and sophisticated, but safe and professional. This dress proved to be the perfect combination of all of the above. I received a ton of compliments, and the fit was flattering but forgiving, so I felt entirely appropriate around my boss and colleagues. I am 5'4", but with heels around 5'8". I should have probably ordered the 6L, as the 6R was slightly short in the front (in the back the dress is longer and the hem fell right at the floor).
Shelley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 142 lbs
Nov 4, 2012

Total Elegance

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Had my heart set on a completely different gown that I wasn't able to receive due to Hurricane Sandy. Rented this one because it was available...and I'm glad I did. This dress is so simple and elegant at the same time...I felt 100 ft tall in this dress! You don't always need to have beading, sequins and so forth. The simplicity of this dress made it speak volumes. Absolutely stunning! This fit is very forgiving, slightly body consicous but not so much that it shows all your imperfections. If you are tall, you must get the Long size, especially if you like 4+ inch heels like myself. I will surely rent this dress again!
Jill
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 5, 2012

Very Pretty Dress! If you have curves and a chest this dress is for you!

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress runs big. I usually wear a 6 in David Meister and Bagley Mischka but the 6L was way too big on me. Probably need at least a size 4. However my sister who is 6 foot, usually wears a size 12, 36D chest had this dress in a 8L and looked stunning! So for all you girls with a chest and curves this dress is what you need! (Wish I had that because I love this dress.)
Riley
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 23
Body type: Petite
Nov 9, 2012

Usually you have to compromise between beauty and comfort, but this dress was the best of both!

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was worried the dress would be too long, but in 2.5 inch heels, it just barely touched the floor.
katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 14, 2012

Felt like a million bucks for a black tie affair!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Great cut for women who are large on top. Did not feel like I was going to pop out while dancing the night away. Fabric is forgiving and the cut is not fitted through the bodice. Great with 3" heels! Elegant and stunning with a unique one-shoulder ruffle. I ordered a 2 and 4 to be sure and I was super comfy with the 4. Order a size smaller for your second option.
Michelle
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 14, 2012

Great Dress!

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fit great. I wore it for a wedding. I got tons of complements. It fit perfect!
Kelly
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 108 lbs
Dec 18, 2014

The dress was beautiful! Very formal, fit perfectly!

Size worn: 0R
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was perfection! I was able to wear a strapless bra with an extra side shoulder support which was great! Always have a hard time finding dresses that work with my full bust size! Length was perfect with a mid-sized heel (2-1/2 to 3") any higher heel I would have needed the tall version. Very classic silhouette and feel very formal, definitely a black tie type of dress.
Cindy
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 57
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 175 lbs
Dec 24, 2014

Mother of the groom and I felt like a million bucks.

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The quality of the dress was spectacular and it fit true to size.
Natalie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165 lbs
Dec 30, 2014

Dress is fabulous - tons of compliments. Fit well too!

Size worn: 10R
Rented for: Wedding
Pros of fit is that it's true to size and is really elegant! Cons of fit is that It kind of cramped my larger breasts (they're always soooo annoying). I am an size 8 and a size 10 (10 up top always) and 8 everywhere else...this dress squished them a little and was a little loose fitting elsewhere, but overall the 10 was good! Perfect length as well (10R).
Mollie
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 4, 2015

This dress was perfect, very slimming.

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was wonderful, and Rent the Runway has the best customer service I've ever experienced!
Erin
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Jan 7, 2015

This was an amazing dress, I had to wear 4inch heels.. I'm on 5'2. Lots of compliments though!

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This fit well and true to size.
Maria del Rosario
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 44
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 10, 2015

Very elegant and made me look great!!

Size worn: 6R
Rented for: Formal Affair
Perfect fit!!!
Kiks426
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 11, 2015

Gorgeous dress - very chic!!!

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was very comfortable and perfect for a black tie wedding. The dress fit a little large over all, particularly in the waist and hips, but was the perfect length for a 3 inch heel. I used tap to make sure the shoulder strap stayed in place.
Erin
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Jan 17, 2015

This dress was perfect!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was perfect! I recently had a baby and was unsure about the size. It fit perfectly. I am also not a very tall person. I thought it would drag on the ground but it went right to my shoe. I LOVE this dress. I highly recommend it!
Ashley
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 115 lbs
Jan 17, 2015

This dress was way to short. It was not a long

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I would have loved it if it had been long enough
paige
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 133 lbs
Jan 20, 2015

I liked the dress alot!

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was supposed to recieve the dress in two sizes and only got the one size. Luckily it fit but if it hadnt i would have been out of luck.
Febra
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 44
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Jan 26, 2015

Most Elegant, great fitting, complimenting crown pleasing dress to wear. LOVE IT!

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Moveable, sleek, slimming and stunning.
Magan
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 30, 2015

I really liked the dress.

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
fit great and the length was perfect!
Elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Feb 8, 2015

Perfect for curvy bodies!

Size worn: 10R
Rented for: Party
This dress is perfect for curvy body types! I am 5'2", size 8/10 dress, pear shaped. Normally, I opt for dresses with fuller skirts or A line styles. This dress made me feel glamorous and I was confident with the fit. The top was big but I needed the 10 for my hips. Overall, great memories in this dress!
B
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 16, 2015

The dress looked amazing!

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
True to size and perfect length with heels.
Caitlin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 17, 2015

The dress is fabulous!

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered the 6L and 8L. The 8 was the perfect length, but the 6 fit much better. I went with the 8 because the correct length was more important that it being a little large on me. I received compliments all night!
Kristen
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Feb 24, 2015

PERFECT for a Black Tie wedding

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am only 5'4" on a good day and this dress runs SHORT! If you plan on wearing heels, even 2 inch heels, definitely rent this dress in the long. The fit was pretty good. The dress stretches, so by the end of the night it was baggy in the hips from dancing. If you want it super tight, I would recommend sizing down. The only thing I didn't like was that the zipper on the side pouches in weird places but it didn't bother me enough not to wear it.
Katie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Feb 26, 2015

Great dress, got lots of compliments.

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Great dress, got lots of compliments but Runs BIG. I could grab a handful of dress at each hip.
Betsy
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Mar 2, 2015

Great dress, tons of compliments!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It was a great dress. I ordered the 4 and 6R. The 4 fit perfectly but the zipper was a little warped. I ended up wearing the 6R for a smoother look. It was a little big but I was the only one who could tell. I got a ton of compliments on it all night. I wore gold shoes with it and think it would have looked better with a black pair. Overall, great, classic dress. I am already looking to rent my second.
Amy
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 15, 2015

Perfect for moving around all night at a black-tie event, received many compliments!

Size worn: 10P
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore the 10P back-up size, and I'm glad I had it (12 would've been too big in size and length). 10P was perfect -- I wore 2.5 inch heels and the dress was definitely off the floor, but when I switched to flats later in the evening I didn't have to worry about the dress dragging on the ground. I was working a black-tie event, and it was very comfortable to wear the entire night. Great dress!
Meghan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Apple
Mar 15, 2015

Easy black tie gown

Size worn: 12L
Rented for: Formal Affair
This is a very elegant and classy gown that fit right in at the black tie event I attended. I wore the 12L with two or three inch heels and had to pick up the hem while walking. Not a huge problem, and the dress was otherwise very comfortable. Based on the reviews and comments from others, I went a size down for my back-up. Normally, this is probably good advice unless you have broad shoulders. I wore my normal size of 12L because the 10L was tight across the shoulder, and its zipper would not lay flat, causing a weird wrinkle effect on my side. So I wore the 12L, though it hid my shape/curves more than the smaller size.
Cara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 17, 2015

I felt beautiful in the dress and got so many compliments.

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Pros: Cut is very flattering, makes you feel elegant Cons: Even the Long size was too short. Ran big, definitely get a size down.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×