Carmen Marc Valvo

Lady Lace Sequin Gown

$135 to buy
$1,275 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Stun the crowd in this Carmen Marc Valvo gown. You'll exude classic red carpet elegance at your next black tie event- get ready to strike a pose! For the ultra starlight look go with the Whiting & Davis' Silver Mesh Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust and can not be worn with a standard strapless bra due to exposed back
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - fitted at hips with flared skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'1''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'6''-5'11''.

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra due to exposed back
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

.

Product Details

Black lace over nude silk with patterned beading(100% nylon; lining: 100% silk). Cowl neckline. Cowl back. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
81 reviews
Fit
Large
(6)
True to Size
(65)
Small
(5)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
December 19, 2013
Gorgeous dress but SHORT

this dress was gorgeous. The front neckline fit a little higher on me than the model picture. Unfortunately it was SHORT!! i am only 5'3.5" and it was at least an inch from the ground barefoot. So disappointing!!

Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
January 25, 2014
Even prettier in person!

The stock photos do not do this dress justice! It was elegant and striking all at once. The dress was comfortable very easy to wear!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 108lbs
February 15, 2014
Sexy, comfortable and easy to dance in!

This dress was sent as a replacement for the dress I ordered, since that one was apparently too damaged to be worn again. I felt lucky! It has enough weight to feel well made, but not so much to weigh you down. Perfect length with 2 1/2 inch heels (I am a shade over 5'4"). It's a really special (conservative + hot) black formal & I got tons of compliments. Shows off your shoulders, arms and torso; not as fitted as I like in the waist.

Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
February 18, 2014
I had on a great dress for my figure.

This dress arrived fast and ready to wear. I had been considering using Rent The Runway before but was nervous. I recently had a baby and had nothing in my size or the time to find a gown for a formal affair. I was please from start to finish with my decision. Great company I will certainly be using them again.

Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
April 1, 2014
This dress was perfect for the Gatsby themed wedding i went to! The detail was fantastic!

I'm 5' 6" and ordered the regular at first since I wasn't going to wear heels. The long was definitely necessary. If you are above 5' 5" I would say order the long. The fit was so comfortable, form fitting but not constricting. The beading on the sides/underarms also was not scratchy (which i always worry about). The beading is absolutely wonderful and pictures don't do justice. The back cut is also fantastic and a little sexy, while still being appropriate or a family event. A backless bra is necessary.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
April 19, 2014
Pretty

This dress is lovely, but I didn't like the way it looked once I put it on. It has a short hemline and the overlay is longer than the actual dress. This looked somewhat awkward, especially with my shoes. I ended up wearing a dress from my closet instead. Service from RTR was excellent and I will definitely rent again in the (near) future.

Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
May 5, 2014
The dress was perfect for a 1920s party.

The dress was a little tight in the arms but not uncomfortably so.

Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 65
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
May 28, 2014
Stylist Brian Lonagan chose this dress for our Roaring 20's Shower. Loved the dress and RTR!

The dress is elegant and beautiful. It fit beautifully and the lace covers any flaws.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 53
Bust size: 36AA
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
June 13, 2014
Too short for me

I wound up wearing a different dress because this one, although it was the right size generally, did not fit me well. It just seemed like it would have been better for someone closer to 5'-5" than my height. The dress, although sized "L" was far too short for my 5'-10" frame (and the underskirt fell well below the dress, so would have needed to be tacked up) and the cut of the top didn't accommodate the length of my torso well.

Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
June 29, 2014
Incredible customer service!

Classic style. Needs special bra - drops low in the back. Easiest to step into the gown, not pull over. Stilettos caught the lace in the back.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 53
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
July 6, 2014
In 24 years of marriage, this was our first black tie event. Perfect dress for a perfect night!

When my original order arrived, the size that fit best had an issue with the hemline. I called customer service and a replacement was sent and was in my hands in time to dress without stress :)

View photos (1)
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
July 12, 2014
RTR was awesome even though I didn't wear the dress I ordered. They gave me a credit in place!

This dress was beautiful, but much shorter than I had anticipated. If you're a taller gal, and are looking for something long and flowy that covers your shoes, this may not be ideal.

Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
July 24, 2014
I loved the classic look yet comfort of the dress. I got complimented on it and I felt great!

I ordered both the size 8 long and 6 long. I was expecting I'd wear the 8 since I got a big booty but the 6 was actually very comfortable. It was a little more snug but I think the dress looks better that way. The 8 was just loose. I am 5'8" and the dress (in a long size) was slightly too short with flats. I was perfectly comfortable nonetheless, but I'd recommend a long to anyone a little bit taller, or else a different dress if you want to wear heels. Also, if I could do it again, I would invest in a better stick on bra. Mine was the incorrect size and oddly shaped and was just unflattering. The dress was heavy enough that it didn't show that bad. However with an open back a strapless bra wasn't going to cut it.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 38
August 21, 2014
It made me feel best dressed!

Big chests aren't meant for no back dresses so I wore a strapless bra and hid it by wrapping the back of the bra in a black material so you couldn't tell.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
December 16, 2014
Beautiful gown, but too short

Fit is to size, though I can imagine women with a larger bust may have a snug zip. I ordered the 6L, got the 6R and it was too short for my shoes :( . I'm 5'6" and rarely require a long in anything, so keep in mind when you are ordering. It could just be the style, but the 6R was not floor length for me with a 2" heel.

Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
December 28, 2014
Not a great choice for us tall ladies...

The beading on the dress was absolutely beautiful and the quality of the material was great. It was a bit heavy but I did not experience any chaffing under my arms due to the beading which I was worried about. My only complaint would be with the length. The 4L fit my waist and hips perfectly however it was just way too short! Therefore I was left to wear the 6L and although a bit loose, it thankfully touched the floor when I wore my 1inch heels (I would have liked to have worn taller ones but this would have been impossible with the length). It is quite low in the back which I loved but would make it really difficult to wear a bra underneath. I'm not busty so I went braless and found the fabric and beading thick enough to cover any glimpse of nips. Overall a beautfiul dress that I would recommend only for shorter ladies (or if you are average height, get the long!).

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 14, 2015
Beautiful elegant dress

Perfect fit, came and came as scheduled. I called customer service with a question and they were terrific

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
February 20, 2015
The event was a 1920s themed New Years Eve party.

First off I think I may just not have the right body type for this dress. I knew it would be a little looser as its the 1920s style but it was weirdly baggy in the stomach and fitted on the chest and very fitted on the waist and thighs. Im a smaller chested girl with a larger bottom half so I would imagine this would work for someone with more narrow hips and thighs. Still it looks nice and elegant however the dress was damaged. It was missing the weight in the front so it didnt hang right, beads were coming off and the bottom hem was messed up. Also Im 5'7 and the Regular was way too short even with flat shoes on it was higher than I wanted. I think this dress is probably good for parties but not for formal affairs as it just looks like its seen better days.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
March 9, 2015
The dress fit perfectly. It was so comfortable.

I ordered the 2L and the 4L. I'm normally a 4 but sometimes fit in a 2. Based on the previous feedback from this dress, I thought the 2L would be the one I was going to wear, but it was just a bit tight and short. The 4L was just perfect and and great length. Everyone was dressed in costumes for the "roaring 20's"...I felt so beautiful in a designer gown...looked like 1920's Hollywood Glam...it was a hit at the party!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 49
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 157lbs
May 14, 2015
This dress was fabulous. I received so many compliments on how elegant the dress was.

The dress was definitely true to size and I was lucky I didn't need the size up. It was very elegant and I loved the back on this dress. I did wear some heels so if you're taller, you may need the length as I am 5 6.5 and I could have used either a smaller heel or increased length. Everyone complimented me on how elegant the dress was, and I could not stop singing the praises of Rent the Runway! Total smash!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 68
August 4, 2015
This was such a comfortable dress to wear all night.

I had been in a serious accident and lost a lot of weight, and unable to get to a store. Based on the comments, I chose the size 6R and IT WAS PERFECT!!! The dress was crazy comfortable to wear. The back is very low in the back so I opted for those sticky push-up things instead of trying to hide a bra in the back. I am 5'4" and wore one inch heals, and the although the dress was inches too long (practically a train) I didn't mind holding it up when I walked. This is a great dress, and I felt totally glamorous wearing it. I'm over 60 and it the perfect dress for me to wear; in the comments, it looks good on everyone.

Size worn:
12P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 0"
Bust size: 38D
September 20, 2015
It fit great

The fit was great but the lace overlay had some beading missing and the slip underneath the bottom was too short other than that I loved it and no one even noticed the beading or that it was a bit short and you could see my shoes.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
November 27, 2015
Great dress for a wedding/black tie!! Very classy

Very comfortable for a long semi-fitted dress. True to size. I'm usually a 4/6. Flattering for people with and without curves. Lining had some give/stretch so it was good for dancing. I ordered the shorter length (i'm 5'4") was able to wear it with lower 1" heels and not be tripping over my dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
February 29, 2016
Very comfortable wore well, unfortunately lace on bottom of dress kept getting stuck on my shoe.

Fit true to size, very comfortable

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 37
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 127lbs
November 26, 2012
this dress has a beautiful low back cut

This dress was perfect for the fundraiser that I attended. It looked classic, yet sensual due to the low back cut. The only thing that I did not like is the length, it was a little to short on me and the shoes with the close toe did not look good at all. I ended up wearing nude 4" Jimmy Choo sandals, which sealed the deal.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
April 30, 2013
Beautiful, elegant, classy

I had a baby 3 weeks ago and was in the groom's party of a formal wedding, so I needed something beautiful that would fit my postpartum body. This dress was absolutely perfect. I am only 5'3 and this dress is cut fairly short compared to other RTR gowns, so it was great for me in the regular length, no risk of tripping as I walked down the aisle. I wore a nursing bra with a bra extender so that the back strap wouldn't show and it was fine, the material is also totally fine for going braless. A great choice if you're looking for something sexy and sophisticated.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
March 28, 2014
I rented this dress for an Aristocrat Ball.

The bead work on this dress was absolutely gorgeous. I also loved the low draping on the back. This dress fit me well but if they had a smaller size, I would've preferred it to fit a bit more snug.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
May 15, 2014
Lovely bead work and incredibly comfortable!

I chose this dress for a 1920s themed birthday party (it was actually my back up-- the other I ordered was the Jill Jill Stuart Lovely Story gown, but didn't have the right cut for a 1920s style). The lace and beading on the overlay is quite beautiful, but the thing I loved about this dress most was how wonderfully comfortable it was! Most gowns are tight in one place or another, or have some pointy or itchy sections; this one was just perfect. It's a classy gown that's easy to wear. You don't need a lot of heel with this dress either, as the bottom is a bit shorter than most gowns, so keep that in mind when thinking about your shoe pairing. :)

View photos (3)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 54
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 158lbs
October 8, 2014
LOVED this dress! Felt like I'd stepped out of Downton Abbey!

Fit perfectly. Felt substantial. Beading and lace were beautiful and I got tons of complements on the dress. It felt very elegant and sexy and dressy but not stuffy. I had ordered the 8L as well as this size. Both fit, but the middle black lining of the 8 (there is a satin taupe lining, then a black sheer lining and then the beaded lace exterior layer) seemed to have shrunk and was asymmetric and about 4" higher in places than the taupe lining--looked odd. The 10R was long enough-there is a very slight fishtail on the back that just dragged on the floor with 2" heels for me. The drape of the dress is fitted but not tight. I was able to eat a (really tasty) big meal without discomfort and was able to dance without restriction in the dress.

View photos (2)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
February 7, 2012
Fabulous gown!!

This dress fit perfectly! The layers fell so nicely over one another, and the lace and sequins beading were beautiful! I received tons of compliments!

Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
February 16, 2012
Stunning

Loved it! It was like it was made for me! Will definately order from you again. I got it to wear at my sons wedding. The most comfortable elegant dress I have ever worn! Thank you so much for making it so easy. I hated to send it back.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
November 27, 2012
This dress was comfortable but made me feel so beautiful.

I really enjoyed wearing this dress. It was perfect for the black tie wedding we were attending. I'm 5'0 and wore 4 inch heals and it draped the ground nicely. It could have been an inch shorter but I was still pleased to wear it. You do have to get a special bra since the back is so low, but it was well worth it to feel so elegant. I received lots of compliments and truly enjoyed wearing it. This was my first time to rent online and was somewhat nervous. I did have a slight complication with my original first choice becoming unavailable, but the RTR customer service dept were so nice in allowing me to choose another dress and overnight it to me. Thank goodness it fit well and it worked out great. The process to return was so easy, I couldn't believe it. It was a lot of fun to Rent the Runway. I'll do it again.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
February 11, 2013
Short!

I read the reviews of many dresses, looking for reviews from other tall women to make sure the dress I chose would be long enough, but when this dress arrived, it didn't even skim the tops of my feet! I was so disappointed because the dress was beautiful and it fit well everywhere else. The beading is truly gorgeous and the dress was in great shape, just short.

Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 51
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
March 6, 2013
This was a fabulous dress. I felt like a million dollars! Beautiful neckline.

I wore 5 inch heels and the dress was exactly the right length. I rented a set of crystal bangle bracelts and wore a small diamond and pearl necklace with it. If I had to do it over again I would have rented a more sparkly necklace like the one on the model.. The dress can definitely handle it.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
April 8, 2013
Elegant with gorgeous detail

This dress was perfect for a black-tie ball. The detail doesn't come out well in the pictures - it really is beautiful with all of the beading! It felt almost "heavy" to put on, and so luxurious. A great dress!

Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 68
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
May 14, 2013
The dress fit perfectly and was comfortable.

The fit was true to size and very comfortable. I had to tape the lining which showed below the lace hem. The length was fine with 3" heels.. I had the dress sent directly to the hotel and took along every pair of heels I own.. just in case! The dress arrived on time.

Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 150lbs
June 25, 2013
Gorgeous dress but not long enough.

I ordered both the 6 and the 8. The 6 was a perfect fit, and while technically long enough the tan lining was a few inches longer than the black lace overlay so it was just unwearable. I ended up wearing the 8 because I had no other choice but unfortunately it was little short and with only 2 inch heals was a good 2 inches of the ground, luckily I was sitting for a good portion of the night. Beautiful dress, but even with the long not meant for tall people.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
October 22, 2014
It's a beautiful dress and very classy.

I liked this dress a lot and it's true to size but I did not end up wearing it in the end. I knew I would be cold at the gala and wanted to wear a dress that looked good with a black beaded jacket on top. The way this dress hangs in the back would have made it look weird under the jacket. Otherwise, it's a lovely dress.

Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 60
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 157lbs
January 27, 2015
Beautiful dress that fit very well and I received lots of compliments.

I have a pot belly so I wore a girdle and I have a full bust and so the top was so tight that I could not wear a bra if I wanted to. It did not matter though, because of the cut of the dress it was not apparent to anyone. I loved the dress!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
December 9, 2015
The dress was just perfect!

I loved the dress. It was very comfortable and pretty. The details in the beading and the lace layer makes the dress look extra special. I am 5'2'', so the dress was a wee bit long for me.

See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×