Rent the Runway

Carmen Marc Valvo

Golden Leaf Gown

$185 rental
$1275 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Make your moment unforgettable in this oh so glamorous Carmen Marc Valvo gown! Add a hint of green to this look by adding the Badgley Mischka Jewelry's Entrancing Emerald Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable fit at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - fitted at hips with flared skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable fit at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - fitted at hips with flared skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Gold and black lace (40% rayon, 40% nylon, 20% metallic, 20% metallic). Sleeveless. V-neckline. V-back. A-line skirt. Hidden back center zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined (100% acetate). Imported. See size and fit tab for lengths.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

174 reviews

Fit
Small 19
True to Size 121
Large 30
Photos 106
Renee
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122 lbs
Dec 7, 2012

Everyone loved the dress and gave compliments all night! The perfect dress!!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I probably could have worn a 2 but the size wasn't available. The 4R was loose but still fit well enough, allowed for more dancing!
Lissete
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138 lbs
Dec 14, 2013

Perfect dress! Looked and felt beautiful! Received so many compliments!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit and length were perfect for me. I was little concerned about the neckline because I am a 32DD but it was perfect, nothing at all to worry about. The dress photographed great too!
Dessire
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155 lbs
Feb 20, 2014

The deliver was quick. The dress was packaged well.

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fit really nicely I received compliments all night. Only thing was the top fit me kind of big.
Kates
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
Feb 27, 2014

Pretty lacy, but a bit big for me.

Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my 4th backup dress (long story) and i wore it to a black tie gala. It was very pretty, but not my favorite. It was too big all over, but the only dress that was kind of long enough. I wore 2 inch heels and it was off the ground more than i would've liked. The streps also were too loose, but they didn't have my size since it was so last minute. I liked it, but would not get it again. Plus i got no compliments on it. every other Rent the Runway dress i've rented, i've received tons of compliments.
Lindsi
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Mar 17, 2014

Perfect for fundraising gala - felt fabulous, received many compliments!

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I note in my profile that I typically wear a size 4 dress and now I know why - usually there's a little give/stretch. Not in this one. And that was just fine. The 6L was long enough for my 5'8" frame and provided just enough give to comfortably sit down and dance, dance, dance!
Audrey
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 31, 2014

I loved this dress! I got compliments from strangers all night. Was perfect for the gala.

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This is a very form fitting dress, really shows off your assets. However, it was way too short for being a long dress. Other than the length it was true to size, maybe a tad too tight.
Elle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 5, 2014

Got a lot of compliments, but not my fave

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress material is GORGEOUS and definitely a show stopper...but the material is a little heavy with not much structure so it kind of "hangs." I definitely shouldve sized down to the 8R instead of the 10 but I had just returned a 10 in a different dress for being a little snug so I was nervous. Anyways, I wore this to a military ball and got a lot of compliments. It seems more seasonally appropriate for somewhere around the holidays, Nov-Jan. The dress was lined so that was nice. The straps were very long and the v was very deep. I had to pin the straps up. This might have been better if I wouldve sized down.
Shan
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 15, 2014

The dress was GORGEOUS. Stunning fit, but still comfy enough to dance and eat like a normal person.

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress is cut down to sin, but its still comfortable enough to dance the night away. The best part of the dress is the fishtail hem, so be sure to take full length photos. The 4L was just long enough to wear 2" inch heels, so if you're taller than 5'7, take note!
Mabry
Age: 19
Apr 16, 2014

My experience wasn't he greatest, but I still look forward to renting in the future.

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wasn't overly impressed- my 2R ran too big and my 2Long ran too small! So neither dress worked perfectly. I ended up wearing the 2Regular, pinning it up, and wearing flats. It worked, but I definitely wouldn't say I was blown away.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Apr 26, 2014

Compliments all night definitely stole the room in this glowing gown.

Size worn: 14L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Great fit overall
Janie
Usually wears: 14
Age: 44
Body type: Pear
Apr 27, 2014

Compliments even from strangers!!!

Size worn: 14R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Dress fit like a glove! Runs very true to size! I'm 5'2" and I got regular length and it just touch the ground with heels! So if ur taller get a taller length! Got many complements even from strangers! Got looks and smiles as well! Did show a lot of cleavage but I have a very long neck line a very little boobs :) I feel sad having to pack it up this morning and ship it back! Definitely made be feel stunning!!! Thanks RTR!!
Brittany
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 19
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
May 4, 2014

The dress fit my Great Gatsby themed Senior Prom and it flattered my curvy body shape.

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to my Senior Prom. I had gotten another dress but because I was a size 8 in the top, and a 10 in the bottom, it just didn't work out. I got this dress in a 10 and it fit, although I did have to pin the straps a little tighter due to the low neckline. Overall, the dress fit the Gatsby Theme and I did get compliments on it. I got this in a 10L and I'm 5'5; I wore short heels due to the length of the dress.
RTR Customer
May 5, 2014

Being at the dress in the best dress!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I had to get this dress last minute but it worked out perfectly! It fit very well and I got compliments on it all night. Definitely renting again!
Valarie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 148 lbs
May 15, 2014

Cute but..whoa! Low-Cut!

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was beautiful and well made, but SO low-cut! I was not prepared for that level of plunge! Fashion tape was helpful but I still felt a little uncomfortable since this was a work event. Not a modest dress!
A
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Jun 15, 2014

Fit well and photographed beautifully. Lots of compliments. I will use RTR again!

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered 4L and 6L (I usually wear 4-6) and ended up wearing the 4L, though would have preferred it 1-2" longer. It was still a great dress that showed off curves at the hips, bust, etc. Very comfortable with a normal black bra; there were snaps to hold your bra strap under the dress's shoulder straps so no issues with bra showing. Reason it didn't get 5 stars: There were some long, stray strings that needed trimming along the seams and hem (probably from being dry cleaned a few times) and one of the seams was split on the thigh about 1" apart (and starting to in a few other spots), though it looked like part of the pattern so i wore it anyway. Overall it looked like it'd been dry cleaned a few times and probably needed to be pulled out of the rotation. RTR would do well giving these gowns a good look over before they send them out.
Janelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Jun 29, 2014

Never had so many complements!

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit liked a glove! Very lightweight and comfortable
Christina
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Jul 16, 2014

I loved this dress for the military ball I attended with my husband!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The top of this dress was really loose. I used fashion tape but it really didn't stay in place. The rest of the dress fit perfectly and was very flattering.
Amy
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133 lbs
Jul 26, 2014

I got so many compliments!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for a military ball, and it was perfect! I do recommend going down a size for your backup. I checked the designer's website for sizing, and by my measurements, I should have fit perfectly in a size 6. However, the 6 was way too big, so I wore a 4.
Leila
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 10, 2014

Amazing dress! It was the perfect dress for a black tie wedding!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fits great but very true to size and NO STRETCH. I got so many compliments on this dress! The material is a gold lace overlay which is some what heavy but it gives the dress amazing dimension and it looks great in pictures. The dress was some what hard to move in because there was no stretch but overall I didn't have any problem dancing.
Hillary
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Aug 18, 2014

I have never received so many compliments! More stunning in person...unlike any other dress.

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore the 6R and it fit through my midsection perfectly. The dress is very low cut so be prepared to show off some skin! Even though the straps were a bit big for me it didn't matter...everybody loved it. The gold sequin is so beautiful and it truly is a dress that puts you in the center of attention. Highly recommend!!
Marina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 31, 2014

The perfect dress for a perfect evening!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was incredibly beautiful! I wore it to the Creative Arts Emmys, and I received compliments all night. The pattern on the dress and the material made it breathtaking. The quality of the dress was outstanding; it made you look and feel like a million bucks! It was also very comfortable. I ate and danced all night with no trouble! Again, great material!
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 129 lbs
Sep 11, 2014

I wore this dress to my rehearsal dinner.

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I felt like I was going to the academy awards. This dress was a definite showstopper. The material is VERY forgiving and even though it was tight I felt comfortable eating and drinking all night. Winner!
Abby
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 183 lbs
Sep 14, 2014

I felt so beautiful and elegant in this dress!

Size worn: 14L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fit very well. It was a little difficult to find a bra that worked with it because the back was low cut and showed a little of the strap. Overall, I loved the dress. The material was light and very comfortable too. I am not skinny by any means and most might think that this dress would not look great on a fuller figure, but it only flattered my best parts while hiding my not so flattering parts. Love, love, love!
Desiree
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 15, 2014

Classic, Elegant, and Sexy

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I originally ordered a different dress but was informed that it had been returned in such terrible shape that I would not be able to wear it. Rent the Runway let me then choose any dress that was available to compensate for the problem. This dress was amazing. The fit was almost perfect. It was a little loose in the bust but fit nicely in the bottom. I felt amazing in the dress and I was getting looks from everyone. I didn't want to give it back.
Amira
Age: 26
Oct 6, 2014

The whole experience.. Perfection!

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
A little low cut in the front, but loved the look and fit of this dress! Got several compliments on it.
Sheila
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 56
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 24, 2014

Terrific dress. I wore it for an "Old Hollywood" themed party.

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fit well not too tight. I am usually between a 4 and a 6. I received many compliments on the dress!
Lindsay
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Body type: Athletic
Oct 25, 2014

LOVE LOVE this dress! (wore for a Gatsby-theme, but great for many events!)

Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I absolutely loved this dress! I wore it to a Gatsby-themed formal event at my law school. It's just like all the reviews say - the fabric is amazing, it's comfortable, but thick & slimming with a slight stretch. About the height: I debated whether I should get the R or the L and I'm 5'5". In the end I choose the L and I wish I didn't. I wore 5 inch heels and the R would have been the perfect length. But the dress was so beautiful, it's definitely 5 stars!
Nuri
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160 lbs
Oct 25, 2014

Got lots of compliments on the dress!!

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit was great. Loved it. Everything was perfect about this dress!!
Julianne
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Oct 29, 2014

Got so many compliments! Very elegant and doesn't like prom-y at all! Thank you!

Size worn: 2P
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Nice body hugging, slimming fit.
sam
Age: 29
Nov 2, 2014

Great ordering process, quick delivery, and awesome return process

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Great for a black tie wedding!
brittney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 17, 2014

It was my first choice

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress did not fit. It was not tight or flattering. It fit my hips nicely, but left a large amount of material in the back. Not a choice when you are trying to show off your waist.
Angela
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 151 lbs
Dec 1, 2014

Classic and memorable dress for any black tie affair.

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I'll start with the bad because this dress was awesome otherwise... Cons: The shoulders were a little big and this dress was a little bit difficult to walk in with pointy heels because of the taffeta underneath. Pros: Everything else! It fit like a glove, looked beautiful in photos and presented a sense of elegance. Would definitely recommend. Many people asked about the dress and I was glad to pass on the good word of RtR!
Mandy
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 4, 2014

Wonderful, elegant dress!

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
It's amazing how this dress is both figure conscious but also very flattering--a rare and valuable combo. I would definitely recommend it! I got a ton of compliments, and felt like a bombshell. The long was a just right; I wore about 3.5" heels. As for fit: I generally can wear between a 4-8 in dresses depending on where the tight bits are. My waist/ribcage is fairly small, while hips and bust sometimes need a larger size. This dress fit in both the 6L and 8L, but I decided to go with the 8L because it was more comfortable on the hips. In hindsight, maybe wish I'd worn the 6, because the straps on the 8 were fairly long and the dress tended to stretch out a bit as the night went on (which did make it easier to walk in). I attempted to pin the straps, but that was a no-go, so I embraced the extra cleavage. If your hips are larger than your waist, expect to need the true size of your hips. Like I said, both sizes fit, so it'll probably come down to a matter of personal preference.
Hannah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 105 lbs
Dec 7, 2014

Gorgeous PETITE sized dress!

Size worn: 2P
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress has been on my radar for a while now and I finally rented it for my work holiday party. The dress is gorgeous (picture, of course, does not do it justice). I was REALLY happy to find a petite long dress. As a 5'2" lady who hates wearing heels, but loves long dresses this was a dream come true. I wore 2 inch wedges with the dress and that made it barely skim the floor. The fit over all was really nice, but it wasn't quite as tight fitting as I would have liked it to be around my true waist. Overall, a gorgeous dress that should definitely be considered for any formal affair you might be attending.
Maggie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 7, 2014

A good fit, nice fabric, but lots of cleavage

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was my back-up dress for a black tie Winter wedding. I thought it fit nicely overall, I am 5"7 and normally a size 4, and the 4L fit well with 3" heels. I didn't end up wearing the dress because I wasn't comfortable with the amount of cleavage it shows... if that doesn't bother you then I would go ahead and rent it. The gold and black lace fabric had a really cool texture, but didn't make the dress heavy. It was ornate and fancy-looking up close.
Lassandra
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 124 lbs
Jan 2, 2015

Simply stunning!

Size worn: 4R
Rented for: Formal Affair
It fit well. It wasn't as clingy as I prefer . The glow it gave me was everything! I felt like a million bucks. I love this site cause that dress is so memorable I could never wear it again. I left a lasting impression . I can't wait to order again
Kelly
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 8, 2015

Nice weight to the dress makes it feel glamorous and it flows beautifully.

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Ordered a 4R and a 6R after reviews noted that it ran small. I actually ended up wearing the 6R with fashion tape along the v-neck and back to hold it in place. The 4R was actually a little tight and short too, after I put on 3" heels (I'm 5'4"). I felt so very glamorous for a "Dress to Impress" NYE event.
Elizabeth
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 27, 2015

The color of this dress is stunning in person.

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is awesome but it definitely isn't skintight and in retrospect I wish I'd gone for a 4. The neckline is oddly baggy and extremely revealing but if you tape it, it can become a little more tasteful (I clearly didn't tape it enough). This dress was a backup but when I saw the gold accents in person I had to wear it, despite the weird fit. It looks dim in the picture but the dress is more gold than it looks. Even though it ran big it was easily fixed with a couple safety pins and was the perfect length with 4" heels. The neckline is clearly designed for taller people so if you're my height expect to either flaunt a lot of cleav or do some adjusting. Due to the back and the low front, a bra really isn't doable. I probably would rent this dress again.
Stephanie
Age: 28
Mar 13, 2015

This dress stands out and hugs the body in all he right places!

Size worn: 10L
Rented for: Wedding
The dress itself fit beautifully and I got tons of compliments throughout the night. The lining of the dress was tight around my hips and made it a little difficult to sit comfortably, but when I tried on the 12L, it was way too big. The lining did not bother me at all while I was standing and the dress was comfortable to dance in all night (this wedding was over 7 hours long and I was comfortable dancing all night!) The length of the dress was a little shorter than I expected, especially because it was the long size. The hem of the dress was right below my ankles, but it made it really easy to change into flats later on because my dress was not dragging on the floor. I would definitely recommend this dress to anyone attending a formal event!
joy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 166 lbs
Apr 19, 2015

Tons of complements, very Gatsby glam!

Size worn: 10R
Rented for: Formal Affair
The neckline was a bit of a challenge--the back was too low for a regular bra, so I ordered a backless brace with adhesive. I was a little self conscious with the cleavage, but it seemed to be a hit. Snug fitting and clingy in all the right places.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×