Carmen Marc Valvo

All Eyes On You Gown

$105 – $125 rental?
$745 retail
Stylist Notes

Pair this gown with accessories like Ben-Amun’s Deco Crystal Teardrops and Whiting and Davis’ Silver Mesh Glam Clutch and the red carpet will roll out for you at the party. This breathtaking Carmen Marc Valvo is for sure a showstopper.

Also available in navy and black.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size yet short in length. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12 & plus 16W-22W.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - very loosely fitted in bodice
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted on hips and backside; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in waist and back
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 3 lengths (Petite, Regular, Long): Petite measures 56" from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5'1" woman in 3" heels; Regular measures 58” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’3” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Product Details

Red crepe(100% polyester). One shoulder neckline with ruffled shoulder strap. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. Imported.

Share
694 reviews
Fit
Large
(211)
True to Size
(388)
Small
(8)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
January 4, 2013
This dress was perfect for a red carpet event in which I was receiving an award!
The fit was perfect, and not too tight. I'm only 5'6" but needed a Long and had to buy shorter heels with no platforms so the dress wouldn't be too short. I received compliments all night and was really happy that I rented such a spectacular dress for a fashion awards ceremony.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
January 6, 2013
Great dress for a black tie gala!
This dress is beautiful and very luxurious! I was glad I sized down according to other recommendations. It definitely runs a little big, and I had to wear 4" heels since I'm so short. Probably could have gone with the shorter length. I will definitely use RTR again!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
January 11, 2013
One word- AMAZING!!!
The second I saw this dress I fell in love and had to have it!! The dress arrived a few days early, which is awesome, and from the second I put it on I felt like a million bucks! I ordered the 6R and the 8R, just incase all those holiday cookies caught up to me. The 6 fit perfect and was super comfortable! The 8 looked good but was a bit baggy in the booby area, so I stuck with the 6 and a pair of spanks to streamline everything ;) Ladies, this dress was a compliment magnet, so be prepared to flaunt it! Can't wait to rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
January 13, 2013
Beautiful dress! Stunning color....an absolute showstopper!
Although I didn't end up wearing this dress, I really loved it anyways when I tried it on. I rented this as a back up dress, and it ended up not fitting, so I'm glad it was my back up. I usually wear a size 8, so I ordered this dress in the 8R, and it ended up being fairly large on me. I might order this dress again for another event since I loved it so much, and next time I'll order in a size smaller! This dress is absolutely stunning and very flattering!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Body type: Pear
January 20, 2013
I felt like a million dollars and received numerous compliments!!
I was very worried about this dress being too form-fitting and not working with my hips, but it fit beautifully. It was a little big up top but not so much that I couldn't wear it. It was a little long for me too, but I am short. I might try the petite next time. LOVED this dress!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 121lbs
January 22, 2013
I wore this to a black tie Inaugural Ball in Washington, DC.
Based on other people's reviews, I ordered the 0R and 2R. The 0R fit my body perfectly and hit right at my feet, but the top part (with the ruffle) was tight across the chest - if I bent over it was very constricting. Also, it grazed the floor without heels so I could only have worn my shortest kitten heels. The 2R fit much more comfortably - I had enough room everywhere, and the fit was generous but not baggy. You really do need to wear spanx or some other kind of shapewear though, because the material is heavy, but will still show lumps or other bumps. I also wore a one-shoulder padded strapless bra - and that stayed hidden. I wore 4 1/2'' heels, and the gown barely grazed the floor - I think there is a very slight train in the back since it kept getting stepped on! All in all, I'm really happy with this dress - I got a ton of compliments, and several other ladies at the Ball knew it was RTR and raved about my dress - and theirs.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
January 22, 2013
I didn't wear it because I loved my backup dress, but I will definitely rent it in the future!
This dress is so elegant and the large ruffle over the shoulder gives just the right amount of drama. I like it better in black so when I rent it in the future, I will probably rent in black, but the red is a great color! I decided to wear my backup dress, but this dress is absolutely gorgeous. At 5'1", I should have rented the petite instead of the regular length. I think I still would have been fine with heels in the petite.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
January 23, 2013
Gorgeous gown!!!! Order a size down, have Spanx and high heels handy.
I highly recommend this gown, but would just encourage you to rent one size down. It is classic and absolutely gorgeous in person. I rented this for a formal occasion but sadly, I could not wear my normal size (4) or the next size up (6). If I had ordered one size down, it would have fit perfectly. A few things you should know - The gown has extra room in the stomach and rear area and is (slightly) more fitted at the top. Although I carry my weight in my mid-section and hips, I felt as though I could have fit an extra person in the size 4 (my normal dress size.) Also, the 4R was extremely long (I'm 5'5") even with high heels. The fabric is heavy and flows very nicely but I still felt like Spanx was needed for a smooth finish. Also, the color is a bright cherry red. This gown will not disappoint, I just recommend ordering down instead of up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
January 23, 2013
LOVED!
I wore this to a formal event and received so many compliments! The color is exactly how it is shown in the picture. I would suggest It fits true to size and the long was perfect with 5 inch heels. would definitely rent again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
January 24, 2013
Stunning gown. Loved. Felt like a Valentino. Classic
It was a little short for me... I am just under 5'6 and the 2 hit my ankle. When wearing high heels, it was several inches off the ground. I'd get the long next time.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 59
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 147lbs
January 24, 2013
Beautiful!
Beautiful and elegant! I am between sizes so I chose the larger one and since it was a little loose, then it hides the "bumps" and gives you a beautiful smooth line! With my high heels the length of the dress was perfect, too!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 106lbs
January 27, 2013
It was a great dress!
It wasn't really fit since I wear extremely small sizes, but it was gorgeous and in great quality. Looks very expensive!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
January 28, 2013
Wonderful first experience, RTR was great! Already renting again!
I wish I would have gotten a 6L or even a 4L, the 8 was too big but the 6 was too short. I didn't get a long because I wasn't going to wear high heels but I really needed it. Also the dress stained my chest and arm red from the dress dye, but no biggie. Overall a gorgeous dress and I got a lot of compliments on it. Very flattering and slimming, slight train in the back, very elegant.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 3, 2013
I got so many compliments on the color of the dress! It is a really bright red that is flattering.
I'm 5'8 and got a long, with a 2" heel it was just long enough. I also found the hip area slightly clingy. It hung nicely except for the lower stomach/hip area so Spanx were needed! Other reviews had said the fabric was thick and didn't cling anywhere, unfortunately for me I thought it was a little revealing in the area but the next size up (4) was too large in the back and top.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
February 3, 2013
Great red dress, nice quality.
I felt the fit was very slimming and flattering. Dress was in great condition.
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 46
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
February 4, 2013
People stopped me to flatter my dress
Perfect fit, as if it was made for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 111lbs
February 5, 2013
Pretty dress, but...
The reviews are true...it is shorter than you would imagine. I am 5'7" and had a tough time finding shoes that didn't peak out (or that looked ok with the length). Overall nice dress, got a lot of compliments, BUT the seam where the zipper is, stuck out which made me uncomfortable until I had some drinks and forgot. Photographs well.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
February 6, 2013
I wore this dress to a formal Military Ball.
This dress worked out perfect! I wore about 3"heels, and I felt that the length was just right. The dress was form fitted, but I felt that I had plenty of extra room. The material is thick and durable, with a silky slip under. The red was a really rich color. Such a classy dress!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
February 7, 2013
Beautiful Dress
I really loved this dress. It was very comfortable and I felt great in it. A lot of reviews say this dress runs a bit large, and it does, especially around the mid-section. Luckily, RTR lets you pick two sizes, so I was able to get the best fit. This is the first time I used RTR and I have to say I was very impressed, and would definitely rent from them again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
February 10, 2013
Gorgeous for a pear shape!
I'm an apple so this did not work well at all. Had I ordered a larger size, I would have been swimming in the bottom. The top was too tight for my chest. I was a little concerned about my own body type- so a friend smaller than me tried it on, who is a little more hippy and it was still the same fit issue for her as well. The fabric is so gorgeous!!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 180lbs
February 11, 2013
A++
Wow! Simply put, I loved this dress and felt amazing in it. My husband asked me several times what it would cost to keep it and I got tons of compliments from friends and strangers alike. The fabric is gorgeous and although it does seem heavy on the hanger, it drapes and moves beautifully. I got the 12 L and it was long enough for me to wear 3 inch heels for an effect similar to the model photo - the back of the train swept the floor and my shoes peeked out just a bit in the front. This dress is fully lined which helps give a smooth profile, but I found that a body shaper underneath helped me feel more comfortable with a post-baby belly! I would 100% rent this dress again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
February 12, 2013
What an AMAZING dress!!
I wore this beautiful gown to an intimate wedding and I received compliments on it all night long, even while I was at a convenience store between the ceremony and reception. I'm short (5''2") and the 6R fit me perfectly lengthwise with my 4" heels. It was a little roomier for my taste around the waste area but I've been losing weight so the 4R may have fit better. I LOVE Rent the Runway and I will continue to rent for every occasion I can think of :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
February 13, 2013
This dress is great!!
The fit was incredible. I am about 5'7 and while the regular's length was ideal for me (just above the ground with heels) the fit was not right. I went with the Long because of the fit hitting all the right places, it was a bit long but I just wore higher heels. I got compliments all night and will definately rent again!
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 104lbs
February 17, 2013
beautiful, elegant, well-made dress!!
I rented this for a charity ball and it was beautiful - everyone loved it! Great thick fabric, fully lined, well constructed dress. I usually wear a 0 or a 2 and the 0 in this dress fit but was a little loose, so definitely go down a size for your back up. The fit of this dress is great, glides over your curves without clinging and the thick fabric is perfect for winter events. The length was good - I'm 5'4 and ordered regular length and wore 4 inch heels and it barely touched the floor in the front and had a tiny train in the back. Beautiful dress, I highly recommend it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148lbs
February 19, 2013
Great dress, made me feel very glamorous.
I ordered an 8R & 8P, but I got two 8R instead. It was a little loose, I think the 8P or 6R would have been perfect, but it worked. The dress was very comfortable and flattering. I have never gotten so many compliments on a dress, Thanks RTR!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
February 21, 2013
Elegant dress that allowed me to move freely throughout the evening, receiving compliments all night
I loved this dress! It was surprisingly really loose in the tummy area (which may have been from a previous wearer) but because of that I didn't even need to wear spanx! The dress is comfy and because it makes such a statement in this hot red color there is no need to wear tons of accessories- which was also great for me!
KristellMarch 9, 2013
How long was the dress? I'm 5'2 and was wondering what size heels to wear with this dress so it doesn't look too long on me.
KristellMarch 9, 2013
Also you look fantastic!
RTR CustomerMarch 14, 2013
Hi Kristell! I would recommend wearing a 4-5 inch heel with this dress if you are 5'2!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
February 21, 2013
Christmas Party for Boyfriends Company
Amazing Fit, got so many compliments.
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
February 25, 2013
I wore this party for a Red Carpet Oscar Party and it flowed beautifully and made a great impression
It ran a little larger around the waist but not so much that it was a distraction. It definitely turned heads tonight!
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
March 4, 2013
Really great dress!
Great color, fabric, but it runs a little big
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
March 8, 2013
For a Masquerade Gala, this fun dress was the perfect mix of elegance and danger!
Though I'm a true size 6, I ordered a size 8 just in case. And even though the 6 fit perfectly, for some reason the 8 was about 2" longer; being 5'7", I chose the longer dress even though it was a looser fit... Nonetheless, I loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
March 15, 2013
SO ELEGANT!
Wore this for a Mad Men-themed semi-formal affair (known colloquially as "Law School Prom"). I'm very short and thus often wary of wearing floor-length gowns, but this was amaaaazing! It still felt a little long even though I was wearing four-inch heels, but it seems that is the style? (E.g. in the picture of the model, her hem in the back is dragging a little. This was my problem as well.) But MOST OF ALL, it didn't make me feel short and stubby, which is always my fear. I felt long and slim and elegant. Only complaint is that it was a little tight in the arm. Wore this with a tape-on bra.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
December 27, 2012
everyone said i looked amazing and runway ready it was just great and easy to dance in
the top is a little tight but its loose around the waist, but it still works, the silhouette is quite nice
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 21
Body type: Athletic
February 19, 2013
It made me stand out the most out of all the contestants!
I usually wear a size 4, but had to wear a size 2 and it was still kind of big on me at the top. It wasn't as tight as I had wanted it to be, but overall the red really made me stand out and I loved it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 46
Body type: Pear
March 19, 2013
Simple and elegant
This was my back-up dress to wear for a formal event at which my son was a host. I find it difficult to find formal wear that doesn't look as though you are going to prom or the mother of the bride. Rent the Runway gave me several options. I wanted to look current but also recognize that I was at the event as a mother. This dress fit beautifully and was comfortable. I recomment a one piece SPANX ensemble beneath for a smooth fit. You must know your body and don't try to fool yourself if your RTR experience is to be successful. Listen to your stylist and read all reviews. I did find a stain on the dress that I received on Thursday (it wasn't dirty necessarily, but a stain the dry cleaner did not completely remove). My stylist send another dress and it arrived early on Saturday a.m.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
March 22, 2013
If you are looking for a one shoulder this is the dress. The color was fantastic! THE PERFECT DRESS
I could have done with a size smaller because the long does give you the length you are looking for but it was not difficult to manage the extra length. I would most definitely rent this dress again!!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Body type: Hourglass
March 25, 2013
The color and fabric of the dress was great!
Gorgeous dress! The size 6R was a good fit for me. But usually, I am a size 8 so this dress does run slightly bigger. If you are taller than 5 foot 5, you should get the Long so that the dress is not too short.
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
March 25, 2013
I got complimented all night,
If you are busty, I recommend going up a size.
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 40
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
March 30, 2013
The dress is a show stopper.
The dress fit really well. I am a 34DD and I wore a minimizer with the dress which brought an elegance which sometimes is hard with a large chest. if you are tall and plan to wear heals, absolutely get your size long, it is a must.
RTR CustomerApril 24, 2013
Hi, you look beautiful! I am 5'7" 145 lbs and I also wear a 34DD. I'm not familiar with the minimizer, but is it like a "Spanx bra"? Did you think that wearing the minimizer looked better than wearing a regular bra? Thanks :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 55
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 137lbs
March 30, 2013
This gown fit great and I got so many compliments!
The best thing ever! To be able have your dress arrive, you wear it, stick it in a bag and send it back is wonderful! I will definitely do it again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
April 2, 2013
Great fit! Gorgeous long gown
Unfortunately, I was unable to wear the dress to the event because it was postponed due to Hurricane Sandy. I was able to try it on to test the fit of the dress for future reference. The 6P was way too big and the 4 was still a little big. Although it was a tiny bit loose, it was still a gorgeous gown.
See more reviews:
4 / 18

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×