Carlos Miele

Olinda Ocean Gown

$70 rental
$884 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Look and feel like a goddess in this breathtaking Carlos Miele sea foam chiffon gown. A beautiful style to walk gracefully into the gala and strut your stuff. Try a different approach with accessories by going with Badgley Mischka's Falling Leaf Earrings.

Also available in red.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Brazilian French Sizing.

BUST: Great for any cup size - built in bustier with cups runs slightly small; size up for fuller bust sizes
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not fitted - fuller skirt allows for room at hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'1''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or strapless bra; dress has built-in bustier for support
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Teal fortuny pleated silk chiffon(100% silk). One shoulder neckline. Ruched bodice. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
222 reviews
Fit
Large
(14)
True to Size
(139)
Small
(66)
Size worn:
38R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
February 25, 2014
Rented it for my first Mardi Gras ball... LOVED IT!
This was my first time using RTR, and I couldn't be happier with my experience! I ordered a 38R and 40R, and ended up wearing the 38R. I was weary since I usually try on every dress-- especially formal sizes since the sizing can be off. I'm usually a 6/8 for dresses. My event was on a Saturday, and I was delivered the dress on Thursday. The bodice was a little tight due to the zipper. As you can see from my picture, the zipper bulged a bit... but wasn't terrible. It's too thick for the delicate fabric. I'm pretty short and was afraid of the length, but wore 3" inch heels and it gracefully skimmed the floor. Incredibly comfortable! I was able to dance and move throughout the night. Very flattering and covered all the parts I was insecure about. Color is beautiful-- got constant compliments! The whole shipping process couldn't be easier. I'm looking forward to my next rental!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
34R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
March 3, 2014
The dress was still beautiful and the color looked great against my skintone.
I wouldn't recommend this dress for lots of dancing because the side without the strap tends to dip. I had a couple minor wardrobe malfunctions, but other than that, it's still beautiful.
rosauraJune 20, 2014
hello!!! I am 5" height,do you think it will be to long on me... Thanks.... or it I rent it can I returned it with not charge?? If don't fix me?
Size worn:
40L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
March 12, 2014
The dress fit almost perfectly, which was more than I could ask for!
This dress was great for my junior prom, the material was not what I expected, but was still classy and elegant. The number of compliments I received was to many to count! I highly recommend this dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
40R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 137lbs
March 16, 2014
I received so many compliments. I felt like I was walking on the clouds in heaven!!!!!
The dress fit very snugged around the waist, but a beautiful and sexy fit otherwise. Perfect for a afternoon wedding the color just glisten in the sun, did I mention this dress was sexy and hot hot hot!!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
36R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 112lbs
March 18, 2014
Perfect prom dress!
I wore this dress to my junior prom, and I'm really happy with my choice. My only complaint that it was a tad big in the bust, and I'm not totally flat chested, especially for this being a size two. It still was perfect for the occasion, I will definitely rent again given the opportunity! I did have some trouble deciding to get a regular versus a long because my height is between the two and I'm glad that I did order the regular because once my heels came off, it was the perfect length and made it easy to dance.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
36R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 121lbs
March 18, 2014
So nice, I rented twice!
I wore this dress for my boyfriend's fraternity formal, and I actually wore the same dress in red for my sorority's formal the weekend before! This dress, in both colors, is absolutely stunning. I would recommend squeezing into the smaller size they send you because it'll cinch you in at the waist like a dream and make you look like you have a bust even if you don't! It's the most elegant dress, and so flowy and beautiful!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
34R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
March 23, 2014
Beautiful color, amazing dress, highly flattering.. I wore this to my prom and it was perfect
The dress was amazing. It fit perfectly and looked great on! The color is absolutely beautiful in person. I wore gold accessories with the dress. The only thing was that it did not reach the floor- At the time the only sizes available were the 34R and 36L. The 36L was too big but the perfect length, and the 34R was the perfect length but too short on me (I'm 5'7" and was wearing heels with the dress). It looked fine, you just could partially see my shoes. The 34L would've been perfect. Regardless though, the dress was amazing.
Size worn:
36R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
March 25, 2014
Fit like a glove! Gorgeous, airy fabric.
I LOVED this dress, and got a lot of compliments on it. The top was comfortable but structured, and provided a lot of support (I didn't even wear a strapless bra). I'm 5'5" and I wore this with 3 inch heels, which was perfect. The bottom of the structured top part, near the waistline, was a tiny bit tight, but I forgot about it as the night went on. The fabric is very lightweight, and the color is a beautiful bright turquoise, but it IS the kind of fabric that shows sweat/water stains!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
March 26, 2014
gorgeous color, soft and luxurious fabric.
I absolutely loved this dress. I wore it to a spring black tie optional wedding, The color was just as rich and bright as in the photos and model online. I rented both the 36R and 38R but the 36 was too tight around the bust. The 38 fit and zipped well and it could be worn with or without a strapless bra. The flowy chiffon material was great, not clingy but very flattering. Definitely a dress for a bustier girl up top so you can fill out the molded cups. I am 5'7 and the R was the perfect length with my 3 inch heels. Do not get the long unless you're at least 5'9 or have sky high heels. I got tons of compliments all night and felt comfortable dancing, eating, no wrinkle problems or anything. Would totally rent again.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
34L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
March 27, 2014
I wore this dress for a pageant at my university.
The color and fit are gorgeous! Great for small busted women. I'm glad I went with the long length, though I was wearing 3-4" heels. The fabric was different than I expected... almost like gauze! The only thing I didn't like was that it was so static-y! Overall a very nice dress in a great color.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
40R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
March 30, 2014
The dancing!
Great fit! It's so light and very comfortable, which is really nice for being in Florida. Everyone loved the dress! I was a little nervous for this being my first time using Rent the Runway, but I was very impressed! I'm definitely renting again :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
March 30, 2014
Beautiful color and fit! Great for any spring event.
Runs true to size. I'm 5'7 and wore a 4L… with 4 inch heels, the length was perfect.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
42L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 175lbs
April 2, 2014
Purrrrrfect dress. Wore it in California for a wedding on a boat. Blows in the wind beautifully.
This dress is long which is wonderful if you are tall. Light weight and great for an outdoor wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
36P
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
April 15, 2014
Was a great dress for an all day event/parade. Not too dressy, but dressy enough to be noticed.
Great color and perfect length (I'm 5'4") however the bust was very tight (I'm a 34 B) Ended up wearing the larger size for comfort/breathing room. Overall great dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
April 18, 2014
Gorgeous color, with a wonderful light weight wear!
This was worn to a military ball in California. I chose it for the simple styling and bright spring like color. The dress was much lighter than I expected which was a plus for such a hot destination. The length was perfect on me, as it was not too long in flats but covered just enough in my 4 inch heels. I received compliments the entire night! The only down side I can think of for this dress was the boning in the sides was a bit uncomfortable while dancing. That may be because it's a bit bent from previous wears. Overall wonderful rental!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
36P
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 102lbs
April 21, 2014
beautiful formal dress for a wedding.
The color on this dress is amazing. It definitely stands out in the crowd. I typically fit well in a size 2/36 but this one was a bit on the tight side. I'd order a size up for backup just in case. It zipped and was fine, but as the night went on and I ate more, the dress became a bit more tight. Unfortunately, they didn't have the size up to overnight to me so I stayed with the 36P. Otherwise, stunning dress. The petite length was perfect for me. I'm 4'11 and wore 4-inch heels and it was about a 1/2 inch off the floor which was perfect. If you're taller and/or plan on wearing tall heels, I'd recommend getting the regular size. I look forward to renting another Carlos Miele dress in the future.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
34R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 20
May 4, 2014
My favorite color and the perfect fit!
This dress for perfectly. It was beautiful in person and in pictures! I got so many compliments and felt great in it. Having a dress I loved made my senior prom even more special! My first RTR experience was great.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
May 5, 2014
Pretty dress, not for small-busted girls
I got this as my backup dress for a wedding, and it was really beautiful in person. It fit through the waist and the strap fit fine, but the bust was really large - it needed to be at least an inch smaller. So if you are on the small-busted side, this might not be the best dress for you. I also agree with other posters, the fabric seemed very delicate but still beautiful.
Size worn:
34L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 100lbs
May 5, 2014
Overall the dress was great, I couldn't have chosen a better dress!
The dress was slightly greener than I expected from the picture. There were lots of little snags on the dress, and although they weren't very noticeable I expected the dress to be in better condition. Some of the fabric had loosened up over time and I had to use fashion tape to secure it. I'd definitely order the dress again!
Size worn:
44R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
May 12, 2014
Beautiful color, fit, everything!
I wish I had more photos to show how beautiful this dress is! The color is phenomenal and it was so comfortable to wear all night
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 18, 2014
My backup dress, very pretty!
This was my backup dress that I did not end up wearing. I'm a pretty consistent size 4 but sometimes a 6 in dresses is more comfortable. This dress in the size 40 zipped but was a struggle to get closed on my rib cage. My boobs are small and in no way filled out the cups, but the sweetheart neckline and cut still managed to be very flattering. The fabric is gauzy and had minor frays that were not really noticeable. The boning on the chest was slightly visible but not a huge deal. The dress photographed beautifully and the color was true to what is shown here! It did also appear to be less formal than expected in person. Overall a gorgeous dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
May 27, 2014
The dress was a great color and worked perfect for the occasion!
The dress was great. Part of the material was a little snagged probably because of so much wear but I only noticed it. The top part of the dress was tight because of the structure-Luckily I got a bigger size so the top fit well. I got so many compliments because of the bright color, the material of the dress, and how unique the top looked! I would definitely recommend this dress to wear to a wedding or formal occasion. Also super easy to rent and send back! I live in NYC and sent the dress to CA ( where the wedding was) and returned it once I got back to NYC; very easy and convenient! FYI If you are in between sizes I would size up because the top part of the dress runs small.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
34R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
May 31, 2014
I loved the dress! It fit very well and the color and flow were gorgeous!
The dress fits a little small around the ribs. The flow was perfect and I loved how it looked in person and in pictures.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
36R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
June 4, 2014
The dress was everything I hoped for!
The dress was perfect for the occasion and the color really really compliments dark and tan skin. The shoulder straps were a little too big for me so the dress kept slipping down but besides that it was super comfortable and gorgeous! I would really recommend this dress to anyone and would definitely rent it in the future.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
June 16, 2014
The color was beautiful! I received so many compliments!
The fit was great. I rented both the 4 and 6. I went with the 6. I did use double sided tape for the strapless side which helped out a good bit, but no worries nonetheless. My only issue with the dress was that on one side the piping was broken, so that side stayed bunched up a bit. It wasn't too bad considering my arm covered it. Overall, great rental and super fun!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
June 27, 2014
I didn't end up wearing this dress
I didn't end up wearing this dress because it was too similar to the bridesmaids' dresses and I liked the other dress I rented more anyway.
Size worn:
34R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
June 27, 2014
The color was stunning!
The regular was a tad short Iin heels but the dress fit like a glove.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
34R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 105lbs
July 18, 2014
Perfect for Prom!
The dress was definitely NOT what I expected from RTR...first of all, the color on the sight was brighter than in person. Secondly, my dress had a broken wire in the bust area. Thirdly, the dress ended up being too long for me even though reviews from other women my height said it fit (a reason could be that they wore heels and I didn't). Lastly, the whole top part of the dress sagged and looked too big on me. Aside from those issues, the dress was great. People couldn't tell any of those flaws, so everything worked in the end. I plan on using RTR again, but i am going to be much more careful about what I rent...
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
36L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
July 23, 2014
Wedding in New Orleans
Tight around ribcage.. gorgeous dress, compliments all night.
Size worn:
44R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Age: 21
July 28, 2014
I loved this dress and so did everyone else. I felt so pretty!
This dress is gorgeous in person. The color really pops and the fit is true to size. I'm a size 10 but my lower half is bigger and my upper half could probably fit a 6 or an 8... if you're smaller up top and your hips are wider, don't worry! Once it pulls in at your waist, it flows out everywhere else- no clinging and no showing anything you don't want to see. The only thing is that I am 5'9" and with a higher heel, it comes up a bit short. I should've gotten a long in that respect... but other than that, it was extraordinary! I got it to wear for a pageant and it really popped on stage :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
44L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Body type: Apple
August 8, 2014
The dress was gorgeous and clearly stood out in a good way. I felt like a movie star!
The dress fit true to size and was very flattering in how it pulled in at the waist. I ordered the smaller size as well but it was a little snug. The fabric was light and airy, perfect for a Summer wedding in San Diego. The dress stood out, in a great way. I received many compliments on this dress from women and men at the event. It clearly is a fantastic dress when guys are complimenting fashion! The color was perfection. I highly recommend this dress. Just rent it already! I also rented another gown from RTR for this event, which was also fantastic. It was very hard to choose between the two. I ended up going with this gown because of the color and it fit the event more closely then the gold, sequin gown I rented.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
44R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 32
August 19, 2014
I was nervous about receiving the dress on time, but it came and fit true tonsize
Overall it was a good pick. The fabric wasn't what I expected, but it still was a fabulous dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
42R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
September 3, 2014
Beautiful dress!
I loved this dress. The length was perfect for me with about 3.5 inch heels. The top was a little big so I had to wear a strapless bra with it. I got tons of compliments all night! Great color to wear with a tan!
Size worn:
40P
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
September 7, 2014
I loved the color of the dress and the flow of the skirt.
The dress was really beautiful but since I am smaller chested I needed to supplement to make the bra fit right. That being said the rib cage area felt snug. The length of the dress was perfect. I am 5'2" and wore 3" heels and the dress barely grazed the floor.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
34R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
September 10, 2014
Beautiful fit!
I chose the smallest size I could find, worried that my 5' frame would be stepping on the hem all night. I was mistaken! With my 3" platform heel wedges I was able to comfortably walk and dance without stepping on the dress- the hem just barely kissed the ground. I got compliments from other guests at the Indian wedding we went to, and while I was not wearing a sari I definitely was glad I was just as colorful as the other women there! The fit is snug, and if you eat heavy it'll be a tight fit at the ribs at the end of the night, but your mid-section and hips will be masked well by the draping of the fabric.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
40R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Weight: 135lbs
May 5, 2014
Fun dress beautiful color
Definitely runs small!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Body type: Pear
March 4, 2014
Beautiful dress
Runs to small
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
September 26, 2014
Actually did not get to wear this as I ordered a size too small (and a size even smaller than that!)
The fit is definitely on the small end. Especially in the chest and rib cage area. I ordered a size 2 (my usual size. I sometimes wear a size 0) and since the fit suggestions say to order a size down for the extra, I also ordered a 0 as backup. The 2 didn't fit me at all in the rib cage area. The length of the dress was perfect in regular for me (even with 3 inch heals) and the fabric was super lightweight and comfortable. The few seconds I tried this dress on in the fitting room, I absolutely loved. Too bad they didn't have it in my size for me to wear to the actual event!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 139lbs
October 20, 2014
Material wrinkles easily and runs very short
I didn't wear this dress, it was way too short and I'm 5'8"
Size worn:
44R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
November 4, 2014
Amazing dress! Beautiful color and perfect fabric!
This dress is amazing! I was a little worried about how the sizing and fitting would go at first (it was my first RTR experience) but it turned out great! This dress has a great weight to it, light and flowy, but what is hard to see from the pictures is that it actually has a light sheath layer on top. It makes for a great texture, but I had some static cling issues that had to be resolved with a dryer sheet before leaving the house. The top is nice and flattering and hit me just above the waist and then flowed loosely. I happened to be wearing this to a formal Halloween party and it was perfect for my Statue of Liberty costume. I rented some jewelry too to flair it up. I would definitely recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
4 / 6

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×