Carlos Miele

Magenta Orchid Gown

$70 rental
$995 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Stand out in style at the gala wearing this gorgeous magenta colored Carlos Miele goddess gown. You'll float across the dance floor while the crowd stares at your style and beauty. Shown here with kate spade new york accessories’ Hot Pink Statement Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Brazilian French Sizing 34-44.

BUST: Great for any cup size - built in padded cups add support at bust
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at empire waist
HIPS: Not fitted - skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Floor length - One length available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'7'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or strapless bra; dress has built-in padded cups for support
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Bump Friendly, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Silk Chiffon (100% silk). Sleeveless with asymmetric strap. One shoulder neckline. Long, A-line skirt. Boning in bodice. Hidden side zipper. Lined. Imported.

Share
175 reviews
Fit
Large
(1)
True to Size
(98)
Small
(73)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
June 8, 2014
Gorgeous color with a light, breezy skirt and tight bust
I wore this gown to an Army ball and received many compliments. The color is vibrant and beautiful in person. The skirt is flowy and comfortable (though very sheer, so definitely go with simple nude underwear!). As other wearers have suggested, the dress does run small up top. I reserved the 40P and the 38R three months before my event; Rent the Runway contacted me two days before my event to tell me that the 40P came back from its previous wearer in disrepair, and would no longer be available. I ended up being able to squeeze into the 38R. I have a 25" waist and my bust is a full 32D; it took a while to get the dress zipped, and it was quite constricting and uncomfortable on my ribcage. However, the petite size would likely have been too short--at 5'2", I wore 2-inch heels with the regular length, and it was perfect. My biggest complaint was a very visible pucker near the hip on the skirt caused by both the zipper seam and the tags, which I was only able to partially remedy with fashion tape (and that's why you see my hand or arm on my hip in all my pictures). Additionally, there was a small dark stain near the strap, and a deodorant stain on the strap that I was able to hide thanks to the way the fabric is gathered. RTR ended up letting me choose two additional gowns to have sent due to the snafu, but the first eight dresses I requested were not available. Of the two backups I was sent, one did not fit. The other was a tiny bit big, but very beautiful and would have worked in a pinch had I not had my heart and accessories set on the magenta gown. This experience will definitely discourage me from using Rent the Runway for important events in the future (like for a bridesmaid dress or recital), though I will likely still be renting for military balls or similar events. The customer service reps/stylists I spoke with were all helpful, calm, and accommodating.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
34R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 98lbs
June 10, 2014
Gorgeous Dress! Received multiple compliments
The color of this dress is absolutely beautiful. I am very petite, so the fact that this dress runs small was a pro for me. Like other reviewers have said, it was a bit difficult to zip up, however once I was able to zip it the fit was snug (in a good way). I also ordered the 36R, which fit, but I thought the 34 looked better. The only con was that this didn't come in petite. At 5'2" in 4 inch heels the dress was still very long. The double layer of fabric made hem tape too difficult, so I just ended up tucking some of the fabric under the waistband to shorten it. Overall, great first experience with RTR. I didn't want to give this dress back!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 122lbs
June 20, 2014
Pretty Color and Easy to Wear
I rented this dress for a military formal dinner. As other ladies have mentioned, it runs small, simply because of the top portion (around the ribs). The zipper is also tricky, so plan on having someone help you. The color is beautiful and the fabric is light and doesn't cling to any unwanted lumps or bumps. No shapewear needed! The bodice has some padding and structure, so that is also a plus. Overall, it was another fabulous dress from RTR. I would recommend to anyone who needs a light, unique summer gown that is low-fuss.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40P
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
July 13, 2014
The bride told me I looked gorgeous. That's enough for me!
I was very happy to find a long dress that fit my petite frame. Although it was a little short for really tall heels, it worked out well for walking and dancing. With the side boning and sewn in bust I was able to go bra-less, a definite plus. The dress felt bright and cheery, but elegant. Very happy with my choice.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
36R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
July 16, 2014
Too small I could not wear it!!!
I loved the vibrance in the color of this gown, but it ran so surprisingly small that I couldn't even get it zipped. I would for sure size up!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38P
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 149lbs
July 29, 2014
Best color!
Amazing color and fabric! The right side of the dress fit a little loose on me even though the left side was a good fit but otherwise it was perfect!
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
August 3, 2014
My sister was able to wear this instead!
This fits small. Unfortunately I wasn't able to wear it. The length was perfect, but bust runs small.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
36R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
August 5, 2014
Couldn't wear it because it ran small
Gorgeous dress - just a little small in the chest with not even a teeny bit of stretch. So it would be better to order a size up. I normally would wear a size2 or 36R but I should have ordered the 38R.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
36R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105lbs
September 22, 2014
Beautiful Dress, perfect for a black tie wedding!
This dress is gorgeous! I wore it to a black tie wedding in Colorado. The color was so perfect for the early fall outdoor setting up in the mountains. I would definitely say that the dress runs small. I got the 34R and 36R as backup and ended up wearing the 36R. I could not even get the zipper half-way up my chest on the 34R (and I consider myself pretty flat-chested) so I would 1) recommend this for someone who does not have a big chest and 2) get a size up from what you normally would wear (the sizes are European so it was a bit different from what I am used to) Overall, this dress was great! very light-weight and easy to dance in! I got many compliments & would suggest this dress to any of my friends!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
40P
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136lbs
October 2, 2014
The dress runs a bit small on the bust area, but it is a beautiful dress, very flattering.
Unfortunately, the dress was about 1' too small for me, in the bust area. I had to use a back up dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
36R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 102lbs
October 29, 2014
Extremely long with nearly impossibly zipper. Size up!
Once I finally managed to get this dress on, it was beautiful. Since I am usually a size 0, I ordered the smallest size (34) with a 36 as backup. The 34 was not even close to zipping, despite having a 32A bust! I must have a larger rib cage than most(?). It took my husband 10 minutes of pulling on the zipper to get the 36 on. I am 5'2, wore 5 inch heels, and the dress was still dragging on the ground by 1-2 inches. I should have ordered the short size, because even at 5'7 it was still way too long.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
38R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 116lbs
March 1, 2014
great dress.
Runs VERY small. especially across the chest. go for a larger size. Couldn't zip my normal size and even the size up was very fitted. Loved the overall design and received many compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
42R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Apple
Weight: 138lbs
December 29, 2014
I wore this for a Mardi Gras ball.
The top of this dress definitely fits tight, and I am small in the bust. I ordered a size up from what I usually wear, and it barely zipped. It had to zip because it was a replacement for a different RTR dress that did not fit as well. Even though I felt like I couldn't breathe the color of this dress is absolutely gorgeous, and the fabric makes you appear as though your gliding when walking. I received many compliments, and I would definitely rent this dress again...just a size up!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
August 8, 2014
Fun and Elegant
This dress is so light-weight, which made it a blast to dance in at a summer wedding! The color popped and the fit was very comfortable. I wore 4.5 inch heels and the dress just touched the floor, so I did not need to hold up the skirt.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
36R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
January 24, 2013
Much smaller than expected
I ordered a size 2 in another dress, which fit. This one was way smaller. I wouldn't even get it close to zippering. If you order this dress I would recommend ordering two sizes bigger than what you wear in your everyday life.
funsizedJanuary 24, 2013
What other dress did you get?
Top Contributor
Size worn:
44P
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
May 21, 2015
Gorgeous Color!
Tight in the rib cage. Beautiful color that will make you stand out at a black-tie affair
Top Contributor
Size worn:
34R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
October 4, 2015
Beautiful dress for a black tie wedding
I love this dress! Make sure to pay attention to the foreign sizing, it was a bit hard to zip up but once it was on I was very comfortable all night. The length was perfect for 3 inch heels. Beautiful color, I received many compliments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117lbs
August 24, 2015
Wore for a gala.
Very tight in the chest!
Size worn:
38R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
July 22, 2013
Absolutely Gorgeous
I rented this dress in two sizes. I usually wear a 4P, but I ended up wear a 38R. I was difficult getting it zipped by the bust area. It was a little long, even with 4 1/2 heels, and a 1 inch platform shoes. However I made it work. I just didn't walk as much. This dress is definitely gorgeous. It was a great first experience with Rent the Runway.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
38R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
February 3, 2014
Beautiful gown in 2014 Pantone color of the year!
I normally wear a size 0 or 2, however followed the sizing based on reviews and ordered a 36R(2) and a 38R (4). I am glad I did, I could not even zip the 36, it was very small for my torso. the 38 fit perfectly. I am flat chested so I needed to fill in with some silicone "filets" but it did the trick. As for length, I went off reviews and ordered the R and not the L since I did not want to wear 3-4" heels. The dress brushed the floor in 2" heels. I got many compliments and was a stand out in the beautiful orchid amongst the room of LBD's. Have some static guard or a dryer sheet handy for the fine silk. This was my first RTR order, and I WILL use RTR again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
August 17, 2014
Loved the color!
Gorgeous dress, few accessories needed. Worn to a military ball and the color was definitely a stand out. Wish I had been able to try on the 40, but it was unavailable. Agree with other reviews, the bodice is very tight in the chest, that and a small snag in the chiffon are the only reasons this was not a 5 star. I was able to stuff myself into the 38, with good results (but after dinner I was ready to unzip). I'm 5'6" and wore 3.5 inch heels, and thought the length was fine. Definitely recommend renting, but consider getting one size up if it's available.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 145lbs
November 2, 2014
Great Feel and Flow, Beautiful Color, Amazing Dress!
I would agree with the other commentators the dress runs a bit small at the bodice. I went up a size because of it. But, that was the only issue. The dress has a beautiful color and a great feel. I would definitely rent it again. I got compliment on it all night. Also, I wore it with 3 inch heels and had no issue with the length which I was pleasantly surprised with since I'm 5'2.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 40C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
December 3, 2012
Couldn't wear this one, but wanted to
I tried and tried to get this to zip up. I'm always and 8/10 and I took this in 10 regular. It wouldn't zip past my ribcage. I tried everything because the dress seems like it would be perfect. So sad.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
36R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
December 20, 2012
Beautiful color
The top is very snug around the ribcage so I would recommend going up a size, and I needed help zipping it up. I didn't need a bra because the top is structured and stays put. The length is long so I wore 5" heels and I still stepped on the hem a few times, but the material is chiffon and flowy which made it easier to walk in. I felt so feminine and pretty.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
March 11, 2013
Wish it fit
Beautiful dress and color, but didn't fit my ribs.
Size worn:
42L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
March 25, 2013
LOVED this dress! i wore it to a wedding and received so many compliments.
I'm 5'10 and had to wear a size 10L and it was still long on me with 3.5inch heels. This dress is very small in the bust. I usually wear a 6 and I couldn't even get the 8 to zip. The 10 was a little big so I ended up having to wear a bra just to help keep it up. Overall, it was a wonderful dress and would definitely wear it again! For some reason I couldn't upload a pic. sorry!
Size worn:
34R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
May 27, 2013
100% recomended!
RUNS SMALL!!! get this a size bigger, my dress didn't fit me :( to small
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
July 1, 2013
Small in the bust
The color is beautiful! The bust was tiny and I am not big at all and i couldn't get it zipped up all the way! It was my backup look so it wasn't a big deal. Oh! This look is a trending cut for bridesmaids dresses. I am glad it didn't fit because the bridesmaids at the wedding I went to had the same style!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
36R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
July 21, 2013
Runs small - Order up!
I ordered this dress for a wedding and unfortunately could not wear it because it was very, very tight around the chest and tight through the torso. The material was beautiful, but for the price I was paying to rent it, I would expect no snags (there were snags). I was pleased with the dress and would have been satisfied if it actually fit. My frame is very petite and I was absolutely astonished that this would not fit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
36R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
August 14, 2013
Not being able to fit into this dress.
This dress runs really, really small in the chest. I don't even have large boobs, but it was nowhere close to zipping up. Thankfully, I had rented a different back up dress (same size, different designer) which actually fit. If you're thinking of renting this dress, go two sizes up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
34R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
August 30, 2013
Stunning Dress - Unfortunately, couldn't wear
This dress is beautiful! The color, fabric and style are all flawless. This was a back-up dress for my original order that didn't have my back-up size available upon shipment. I typically wear a 0 or a 2 but the 34R (2 in US size) did not fit my rib cage, I have a pretty wide rib cage apparently. Although the zipper was tough to zip, I knew it wasn't going to zip up all the way. I am 5"2' and the length would have been perfect with a 3-4 inch heel. I was pretty bummed when the dress didn't fit...I will order again for a future event and try the 36R.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
October 9, 2013
too small
SO beautiful but too small on the bust. i have a small frame and wide shoulders. fit everyone except the bust!
Size worn:
42R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
February 19, 2014
I felt gorgeous, my husband was blown away, and I received compliments all evening!
This dress runs a little small - be sure to get the next size up as a backup. There is no "give" in the material, and the boning is slightly uncomfy....you have to pay a price to be stunning right! I would recommend this dress for any formal affair - when I walked around the ballroom, all eyes on we're on me :-). NOTE: I wore a strapless corset underneath - it helped to smooth everything out and keep the "girls" lifted :-)
Size worn:
34R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
February 25, 2014
Beautiful dress but too small.
The dress is beautiful in person. Unfortunately, it runs very small and I was unable to wear it. I couldn't even begin to zip it up; it was that small! Hopefully, I can order it again but will definitely size up. I waited too long to order and all that was left was a size 34R (0). I'm usually a size 0. Next time, I will definitely order a 36R and 38R.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
March 21, 2014
Short!
I ordered the long, and the size was too big. I received a smaller size but in the regular length and it looked comically short. A beautiful color! just not the right dress for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
July 5, 2014
Too short to wear
Unfortunately, this dress turned out to be too short to wear. I am 5'8 and the38R was a few inches too short.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
34R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
September 22, 2014
Pretty dress but runs small.
I am pretty petite and wear a size zero so I ordered the 34R but could not get the top zipped at all. Definitely order a size up if you have a larger bust.
Size worn:
40R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
October 7, 2014
Fit snug but beautiful color
I did not need to wear a bra with this dress because it fit so snug. So that was a perk! But it was tight through the rib cage. I had had a baby 6 months prior so I was not a slim as I wished and this dress hid all of that nonsense. I got a ton of compliments on the color and the dress. It was a hit but I sort of wished I had had one size bigger. It was very long on me and I wore 4.5 inch platform heals.
Size worn:
36L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
May 27, 2016
These were my bridesmaid gowns and they looked ABSOLUTELY GORGEOUS! They photographed so well.
Absolutely beautiful dress. Everyone loved the dresses and my bridesmaids really popped in the photos.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
34R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
September 20, 2016
Stand-out color with a flattering fit!
I wore this dress to a military ball... it was one of my favorite RTR dresses to date! The fuchsia gave it a wow factor, and the fit was very flattering for a smaller chest. I'm quite narrow on top, but this dress fit perfectly. Highly recommend!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×