French Quarter Batik Gown

$70 to buy
$1400 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Change up your typical formal look with this lady like gown from Carlos Miele. Wherever you go, you'll be sure to bring a vibe of elegance.

Size & Fit

This dress runs small. We recommend sizing up. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Brazilian French Sizing.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fuller busted women should consider sizing up due to fitted sweetheart neckline; padding in bust area as well
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at empire waist
HIPS: Not fitted - skirt works well for full hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'1''-5'6''). Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'6'' and above).

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or strapless bra; dress has built-in padding for support
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

.

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs small. We recommend sizing up. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Brazilian French Sizing.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fuller busted women should consider sizing up due to fitted sweetheart neckline; padding in bust area as well
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at empire waist
HIPS: Not fitted - skirt works well for full hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'1''-5'6''). Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'6'' and above).

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or strapless bra; dress has built-in padding for support
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

.

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Blue printed silk(100% silk). Strapless sweetheart neckline. Ruched bodice. Tiered skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
66 reviews
Fit
Large10
True to Size36
Small19
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
October 22, 2012
I've rented it twice and would rent it again!
This dress is just plain gorgeous. The first time I rented it was for a Sorority formal. I felt gorgeous and in my opinion, I had the best dress there! The second time was just recently for the Navy Ball in Florida. It went perfect with my husband's dress whites and was perfect for the location. I got thousands of compliments! It's extremely comfortable and easy to move in. It's not restrictive, and is extremely flattering. I'd say it overall runs small, but as I have large hips and small breasts, the top was a little big on me. I'd recommend this dress to everyone I know of all shapes and sizes!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
36R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
October 15, 2012
GORGEOUS!!! A perfect gown for a breezy, waterside affair.
I rented this gown for my rehearsal dinner, held at a venue on Miami's Biscayne Bay. I thought I would need the 34R (size 2) as I usually wear a size 2, but the 36R (size 4) fit like a glove. I wore tall, 4 1/2" heels. I received so many compliments throughout the evening, many commenting that I looked like I was floating/gliding as I walked.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
36R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
October 3, 2012
The dress is beautiful but uncomfortable
The bust is not a good fit for chesty girls. I would have worn a 34 but had to size up, which was then too big and required a good amount of double-sided tape to prevent "wardrobe malfunctions." Also, the side boning sticks out at the ends, which hurts after a few hours of wear.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
October 1, 2012
i felt amazing
fits true to size. i am 5'11 and the long size just hit the ground. i was expecting the long size to give more length so i could wear heels. if you are 5'8 to 5'10 definitely order the long size so you can wear heels!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
36R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 100lbs
September 22, 2012
Want. Need. Stat.
Love this dress - fits like a glove. Warning for all the short ladies – this dress is a little long even with 3" heels, so if you plan on dancing, this dress might not be your best choice.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
44L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
September 21, 2012
LOVE LOVE LOVE
Wow was this dress just perfect. I tried it on right when I got the mail, just feel in love with the material. A a wonderful dress! Would rent again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
September 9, 2012
Makes you feel like a princess and it moves beautifully when you walk!
This was a gorgeous dress for a city wedding in the winter! I'm very tall and like when dresses cover my feet and this did just that and the L length worked very well! It is a unique dress that will make you stand out! Loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
34R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 116lbs
September 7, 2012
great, but TINY around ribcage
it's beautiful, and i so wanted it to work, but it's absolutely tiny in the ribcage. a shame because it fit so beautifully everywhere else. i guess that's why, in a perfect world, you'd buy a size up and have it tailored. if i only i could've bought it. but truly, for the itty bitty, it's gorgeous!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 6, 2012
best dress ever.
I want to buy this dress. This is how much i loved it. Everyone at the wedding that I went to complimented me on this dress, even the bride! I didn't bother wearing a strapless bra, and I didn't have to pull the dress up the whole night, even with all the dancing and running around. I love love love this dress. I wore pretty 4" heels with this dress, and I'm 5'7. My boyfriend couldn't keep his eyes off of me. It looks the best when you're twirling around on the dancefloor. This is my most favorite dress from RTR! hands down!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
42R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
September 6, 2012
Gorgeous Dress
Wore this to a NYC wedding over Labour Day and even the bride was telling me she loved my dress! Felt amazing in it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
42R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
September 5, 2012
This gorgeous, sophisticated dress was perfect for a Black Tie wedding at the Peninsula.
I was sort of between sizes in this dress so I went up to the 42R, since I didn't want to be uncomfortable all night in the 40R. It was too big in the bust which was slightly problematic, and the very top kept rolling down, which irked me, but it was still a beautiful, romantic dress and I had a lovely night in it! It was borderline too long....worked well with my heels, but when I switched into flip flops at the end of the night I felt like I was going to get stepped on.
RTR CustomerMay 8, 2013
You look fabulous in this gown. And your necklace rocks. Where did you get it?
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
36R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
September 4, 2012
mixed feelings
This dress is gorgeous ... and while I did get several compliments during a beach wedding (layers are perf for this) .. I have to say some of the details made it not fun to wear all night. As other reviewers noted - it ran extremely small in the rib cage at one point. The 34 would have been perfect but I couldn't zip it. The 36 was then too big/loose in the top and the top of the dress rolled over (so the inside showed) and I kept on pulling up the dress all night. The boning was also not right on the non-zipper side of the dress causing it to do this weird pucker. It was fine but not perfect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
34R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
August 21, 2012
Amazing!!
I figured this dress would be beautiful (and it is!) but I was really surprised by how FLATTERING it is! Really emphasized my hourglass shape. Becuase I'm shorter than the model, the waist hit lower on my body (closer to my natural waist . . .the model looks like the dress is a bit more of an empire waist) that really highlighed the smallest part of me. The ruffles are light and fall gracefully, I was a bit worried the extra fabric might make me look bigger, but not the case at all. The dress strikes the perfect balances between looking dressed up but effortless all at the same time. I will DEFINITELY rent this one again!
Size worn:
36R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
Weight: 94lbs
August 7, 2012
THIS DRESS WAS AMAZING! I wish I could keep it. I got stopped by people just to tell me how great I looked, and I'm sure a large part of that was the dress!
I loved this dress, it had definitely been my favorite of all the rental so far, and one of the most amazing dresses I've ever worn! Strangely, though, the 34R was too snug (as in, I couldn't bend for fear the zipper would break) around the rib cage/boob area which never happens to me (I don't have big boobs and I'm under 100 lb!!), so for comfort's sake, I wore the 36R! Everywhere else, the dress is very generously sized, and the tiered layers are both flattering and would hide anything from a baby bump to eating too much wedding cake. You don't need a bra in this if you choose a snug-fitting dress up top, it has molded cups that are padded and comfy. I wore a Nu-bra just because the 36 was a little loose. I was able to move and dance in it freely. Word of caution to fellow shorties--I am 5' 1'' and I wore 4'' heels, and it was still SUPER long, probably about a foot too long without heels, and I was so scared I would get grass stains or tear the dress. Solved the problem by using several strategically placed safety pins in the polyester-like underlayer of the dress to hike it up about a foot. Granted, the dress didn't look as pretty, but as I was hiking all over a golf course for wedding photos and doing lots of dancing, it worked out. If you are just standing and sitting around, it would be fine at normal length. The silk, the cut, the print and everything else truly makes you feel glamourous and I got so many compliments on the dress. The blue print is actually darker than it appears in the photo, but I liked it better that way. Also, I attended an outdoor wedding at night, it was pretty chilly, and all the silk layers kept me warm with just a little shrug (added bonus). You definitely want to rent this!!! And, I was so glad I took advantage of the free second size. Thanks, Rent the Runway!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
36R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
August 6, 2012
Gorgeous, light dress
Fit perfect. Wore to an outdoor wedding on a 90-degree day and was cool the whole evening. Very light. The dress hangs just right - no awkward bulges even with all the flowing layers. I would rent this dress again. Also, the regular length with a 3" inch heel was perfect for me (5'3").
Top Contributor
Size worn:
34R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
July 9, 2012
Beautiful!
I rented this dress for a July wedding (106 degree day). I had read the dress was much better in person and it did not disappoint. The blue is a deep blue and the material is silk with a very flattering fit. My only complaint was the zipper was difficult to zip and being larger chested (took an extra 10 min just to get it to finally zip) did not fit well in the top (the back up size was not available). However, this is a very comfortable and flattering dress choice!
Size worn:
34L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
July 9, 2012
I wish I owned this one!
I wore this dress to a friend's wedding and wanted something nice and flowy. I was a little nervous that it would be too big and fall down because I usually wear a 32. When I tried it on, it actually took some work to zip up, which was great because there wasn't even a chance of it falling down. It hugs your ribs very tightly! If you have a bigger chest, I'd recommend getting a size up! I got the longer version because I wore really high heels - it perfectly covered my shoes, so if you're planning on wearing 4/5 inchers, definitely go with the long. I 100% recommend getting this one if you're going to a formal event/wedding, trust me, you will look stunning.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
36L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
June 17, 2012
The dress fit, it arrived on time, and the mystery bling the staff picked out matched perfectly! I felt like a princess
I wore this dress to an outside wedding at a Zoo. I was very nervous about the sizing, but it fit like it was made for me! One small side note, it does have a side zipper, so if you are hoping to squeeze in, it can present some challenges. I ordered the 36L and the 38R and both fit, but I went ahead with the 36L since it was a bit longer (but either would have worked for my height). The fabric is absolutely gorgeous!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
36R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
May 20, 2012
this dress is beautiful
This dress was super comfortable and pretty. I could eat in it and had no problem dancing. It was a great pick, but I had to pull it up every so often
View photos (1)
Size worn:
36L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
April 26, 2012
I LOVED IT! 5 Stars!!
I wore this to my high school prom! I was originally planning on ordering a size 4L (38L), but they only had the size 2L (36L) available. I was a little hesitant but it fit PERFECTLY. The dress is much more vibrant in person! In the web ad photo, it looks more grey-ish blue, but in person its more of a deep royal blue. Absolutely gorgeous. I would even consider purchasing this dress because of how gorgeous it was. Definitely recommend it!!!!!!!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
April 25, 2012
Beautiful, flattering dress
I rented this dress for a black tie Mardi Gras themed party and loved it! It looked just like it looks on the model. I normally wear a size 6 and wore the 40R. It was a little big, but worked just fine. I think the 38R would have been perfect, so this dress runs a little large. I'm 5'6", wore a 4 inch heel, and the R length was perfect - L would have been way too long for my height. It is such a beautiful dress with a unique print, and I got compliments all night long. The ruffles are very flattering and have a slimming effect, especially if you are trying to hide any tummy flaws. And I totally agree with the other reviewer that you can eat whatever you want at the event and still feel very comfortable in this dress. My husband loved it and I was sad to send it back!
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 50
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
April 15, 2012
Paisley gown
This dress moves beautifully and is very flattering!
Size worn:
38R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
March 1, 2012
Loved this dress
I loved this dress; it was absolutely beautiful. I was surprised that it ran on the large side because I ordered a 38 and 40 assuming I would be fine, but I wish I ordered the 36 and 38. I was so happy I rented the dress.
Size worn:
38L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 47
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
January 29, 2012
xoxoxo RTR!
I wore this to a semi-formal work event and could not have been happier. This dress is very flattering and you can even consume a meal while wearing it and not feel self-conscious all night afterwards! Full disclosure - I did find myself hiking it up every once in a while whenever standing/walking around, but I figure that is probably the case with every strapless dress. You can't go wrong with this dress - I received lots of compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
34R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
December 13, 2011
I felt like a celeb
The dress is soft, beautiful, delicate and glamorous. It was a bit long but I expected that since I am short. (I had to hold it up all night thats the only reason I took off a star) The fit was precise... leaning a little on the constricting side but I thought it was worth it instead of risking a wardrobe malfunction. I received many compliments. Short girls be prepared to wear a tall heel!
MeganJanuary 27, 2012
how long was the dress on you? i'm 5'3'' how high of heels do you think i would need?
JoyceJanuary 27, 2012
same question for me! except i'm 5'2"
RTRJanuary 27, 2012
Hi ladies If you are 5'2"-5'5" you are able to wear any of R length gowns with a 3-4 inch heel!
HelenMarch 3, 2012
What height shoes should a 5'7" girl wear with this dress?
RTRMarch 9, 2012
Hi Helen! You could wear a 2-3 inch heel with this dress!
VanillalatteMarch 20, 2012
I'm 5'5" 34-24-34 and will wear 4 or 5 inch heals. Long or regular?
DebbieMarch 26, 2012
Definitely, regular.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
November 15, 2011
Feeling like a princess!
I wore this dress to a black tie wedding in Los Angeles. I received compliments from every person I spoke to. The gown moves beautifully, and I really felt like a celebrity (or princess!) sashaying around in a sea of ruffles. It was a really flattering fit which created an hourglass figure and was easy to dance in. I usually wear an 8, and the 6 was a touch large, I would go with a smaller size unless you have a very large bust. You will not regret this gown girls...
EveDecember 16, 2011
I love this dress so much, but do you think it would be way too formal for my sister's garden wedding in march? Thank you!
LorenaDecember 29, 2011
I think this dress is perfect for a garden or beach wedding, you should get it!
AliceJanuary 22, 2012
Agreed, I would totally wear this to an outdoors wedding!
TaraJanuary 28, 2012
What type of shoes did you wear with this dress? I'm 5'9" and I'd like the dress to touch the floor or cover my shoes. Thanks!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×