Carlos Miele

Catarina Bombshell Gown

$38 to buy
$495 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Look drop dead gorgeous in this Carlos Miele black vixen gown. Pair with Kenneth Jay Lane's Jet Drop Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Brazilian French Sizing.

BUST: Great for any cup size - bust area has a good amount of stretch
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - fitted at hips with slightly flared skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Black jersey. Halter neckline. Ruched body. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
57 reviews
Fit
Large
(30)
True to Size
(27)
Small
(0)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
MR
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
February 23, 2015
This dress was super sexy yet comfortable.
I usually wear a 6 and this dress fit a tad loose but wearable except the top. I wear a 34DDD and the top was super loose. The halter isn't adjustable and was too long. But I just pinned it to adjust it and it fit. I have long hair do it wasn't noticeable. I wore 4 inch heels which made the length perfect as well. I think a small would have fit better. All around this dress was gorgeous and got loads of compliments.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148lbs
October 4, 2014
Formal events for me are few and far between but I was glad to be able to have a nice dress to rent.
This dress was made of a much thinner material than I expected.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
April 16, 2012
HUGE
Cute dress, but the size SR was appropriate for somebody who is size 8, and I usually wear size 2. Runs very, very large.. I looked like a 6 year old trying on her mother's dresses. The length would be good for somebody 5'7" and above, or a petite girl wearing 6-inch heels.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 52
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
April 23, 2012
Large on top
My biggest issue with this dress was the top. I ordered both ML and the LL. Only tried on the ML. The halter is fixed, so you can't adjust it and it is very large and very unconstructed. The fabric is a fairly thin jersey and offered zero support with out a bra. With a strapless bra, the top was still too big and would have required a lot of pinning and taping. The rest of the dress was perfect and very flattering. If only the top had more to it and was adjustable I would have worn this.
LauraJune 5, 2012
How was the height on you?
RTRJune 6, 2012
Hi Laura, if you are a similar height to Lyly we recommend the long length if you're going to wear a heel. It measures 61'' from shoulder to hem.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
ML
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
June 14, 2012
So easy and the best compliment I received was "You look like you're getting ready for the Miss Universe pageant!"
This dress was gorgeous! If you have a large bust you will need a bra thought. The material is really comfortable and soft which makes for a very relaxing evening. I got soooo many compliments- plus you can dress it up with any type of accessory or purse!
AlexisJanuary 23, 2013
What kind a bra do you use? I'm big chested as well and am always looking for tips.
crystalNovember 1, 2013
I wore a normal bra and converted the straps to go around my neck.
ShannonFebruary 17, 2014
It looks like it hits the floor in the pic.. was curious about your shoes...what type of shoe did you wear? how high of a heel? I'm six feet.. and usually wear a 3 inch heel.
crystalFebruary 18, 2014
Hi Shannon. I wore about a 2-3" heel. It was pretty low. With the heels I was about 6' -6'1".
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
September 7, 2012
A little big.
This dress was beautiful, but I had to pin it behind my neck. The small ran a little large on me, I would have liked for it to been a tiny bit tighter, but all in all it was a great dress for a formal event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
September 19, 2012
RTR was very prompt with delivery.. and the ordering process was much easier then expected!
This dress was very beautiful but unfortunately it is a bit too sheer from the waist down therefore i was unable to wear it! Such a shame because it really was pretty!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SL
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
September 19, 2012
Looks terrible and did not fit
The dress looks stunning in the photo but unfortunately looked horrible on me. My body type is similar to the models in the photo, I thought the dress would fit in a similar fashion but instead it looked like I was drowning in it. The top was entirely way too big, so much that if I wore the dress my entire breasts would have been exposed. Even with a miraculous bra that gives 2 cup sizes I could not fill out the top, and even if I did, the waist area was not fitted at all. The material also looks cheap in person. It's a shame because I was so excited about this dress, I was forced to run out and buy a dress 2 hours before the event. **Take their advice and make sure you get the dress the day before the event. I got mine the day of and was in a bind with nothing to wear. **
WendyJune 4, 2013
I have the same body type (36B though) and this was exactly my worry when I looked at it. Do you think a bigger rib cage would hold it up better, or is the cup size just overwhelming? It definitely looks fabulous on the model, but I'm not sure how they pulled it off!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126lbs
September 20, 2012
Gorgeous dress for a Black Tie event.
The dress ran large, but I carefully pinned the neck back, and with my hair down, no one could tell.
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
September 24, 2012
I felt amazing in it!
It was somewhat big on the top but I got it to work.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 106lbs
October 4, 2012
Elegant dress.
Dress ran too big and long. The fabric was not what I expected, but somehow still looked nice on.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SL
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
October 10, 2012
Classic Black Dress
The dress is very comfortable and great if you want a classic look. I thought it could of fit a little bit tighter. If they had an x-small that would of been great. Defiantly needed the LONG length with my heels on. Also, I could wear a bra but I needed to use the fashion tape to hold the dress down or else my bra would of showed.
Size worn:
LR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 56
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
October 19, 2012
I wore this for a black tie event. It was perfect!
I liked this dress. It was very comfortable. Definately need support!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
ML
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 54
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
October 24, 2012
Dallas Country Club GALA 2012
Diane Sparks and Bob have a wonderful time.
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 114lbs
November 2, 2012
Very sexy, low cut dress.
The dress was very low cut in the front so needed to buy a special bra. The dress might have been a little more flattering if the mid-section area was a little more fitting. Overall it looked good!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SL
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
December 24, 2012
good thing this was my back-up
i chose this dress as a back up in case my first pick didn't look right. good thing. the dress was HUGE. even a size small was way too big and I would normally where at least a medium. its a good thing I had another option or I would have been really frustrated. other renters must have had similar problems because there were pin marks in several places on the dress I received making me thing other people must have tried to pin it up to get it to fit.
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 123lbs
December 27, 2012
Super sexy comfortable dress
Should have worn the S - it seemed a bit small in the house, so I wore the M, but had to pin it behind my neck. I think it stretched a bit over the evening - and would probably have been better off in the S. Also had a hard time getting fashion tape to stick to the dress to keep it in place - eventually gave up and took off the tape, which meant it was gaping a bit in the front - but nothing too bad.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 147lbs
January 18, 2013
I didn't end up wearing this dress.
It was a bot stretched out and you could see the tag through the material. The ruching was flattering though.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
February 4, 2013
Nice dress but ended up not wearing.
I ordered this as my backup dress but it was very loose around the bust line and waist for me. Had I not had such a great dress as my first choice I would have pinned the back of the halter neck and gone with it. A sexy dress just a little too roomy to be a really flattering fit for me.
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
August 6, 2013
Did not wear this dress.
Beautiful dress but I did not wear because it was too see through and was too lose on me and just did not look good.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
LR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 42
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 180lbs
October 11, 2013
Fit like a glove. Very comfortable. Felt sexy and beautiful
Very happy with my rental . Light and flowy. Got lots of compliments all night!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
November 15, 2013
I looked amazing in the dress and everyone was commenting on it all night long!
The fit was overall very good except for the chest. A quick look for a broach and I was good to go in making sure the girls were covered up. The length was a tad longer than I was expecting, but a good pair of 3" heels and I wasn't worried about tripping on the hem of the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
ML
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
February 9, 2014
Drop dead sexy
This was my back up dress and I ended up wearing it because my main choice was not long enough. I am 5'10" and it is very hard to find a dress long enough to hit the floor while wearing heels. This dress hit the target in that category. I wore 3" heels and it just brushed the floor. Felt very sexy in it and received many compliments (mainly from women, oddly enough). Now for the "not so great" for this dress. it is just like every other review says: 1) the top is large (thank goodness I have a DDD bra size), I wore it with one of those stick on bras but could have gone braless honestly. Otherwise, pinning it up behind the neck works well if your hair is down to hide it. 2) The material is VERY see through. Not a big deal in low lighting situations but it did show through in photos with flashes. Bottom line: if I owned this dress, I would definitely wear it again after getting the top altered.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 19, 2012
Great customer service.
I was advised by my stylist to order a long in small and medium. I wore 3 inch heels but both were too long for my 5'5 frame. I called and spoke with customer service, they apologized profusely for misadvising me and rushed me a small regular, which fit well except that the front was a little too low cut for my comfort- the tape that was provided by RTR worked perfectly. I felt amazing in this dress. Oh- forgot to mention that I was 4 months pregnant at the time. The jersey material hugged my curves well and I felt amazing despite the pregnancy
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
April 17, 2014
My backup dress that didn't work for me
This is a beautiful dress but please be aware that it definitely is low cut and there isn't any way to tighten the halter to lift it up. I chose this as a backup for a wedding rental and there is no way that it would have been appropriate for a wedding without actually tying the halter to tighten the top. It was way too revealing for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 132lbs
May 2, 2012
Too stretched out
I normally wear a 4 or 6 in a dress and felt confident that a small would be suited for my shape. But this was completely falling off me. I have an above average cup size but this hung completely loose at the bust. I had to run out and buy a very expensive adhesive pushup bra and tape the dress to it using fashion tape--which gave it a sloppier look than I intended. I got nice compliments through the night, but it was a far more stressful and expensive experience than I had bargained for. I was pretty lucky in that I didn't have to walk very far, otherwise there could have been a total wardrobe malfunction. Also, the material is very sheer--this wasn't necessarily a problem for me, but it's not at all evident from the picture
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
December 10, 2012
RTR makes everything so easy!
I saw that this dress ran a bit big so I got both the small and the medium. I ended up wearing the medium because the small felt a little tight, but it fit in the top and the length was right. I had to pin the halter back so it would fit and even with 4in heels the dress was still long. Despite the minor adjustments I had to make I loved the dress and the whole RTR experience. The night was amazing and I looked beautiful.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SL
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
December 15, 2012
Everyone tell me how gorgeous I looked!
This is a great dress. Very flattering and slimming. The material was great and so comfortable. The halter needed to be pinned a bit in the back to make it fit - but that wasn't a big deal. I wore it with a deep plunging bra and spanx. The long length was perfect with my heels. I got many amazing compliments. I definitely recommend this dress.
Size worn:
36L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 59
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 150lbs
September 21, 2014
Comfortable, but runs large. I had to tie the halter at the neck to take in the slack at the neck.
The fit was large, and very roomy. I recommend going down one size at least.
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
April 23, 2015
I wore this to a military ball- so many handsome men in uniform!!
This dress was gorgeous! The style was very flattering, and the dress itself was very comfortable. I'm a large busted woman, and but this dress covered while still being quite sexy. I am short, and short in my torso (I have issues sometimes with swimsuits), so the halter part was a bit long, but I was able to pull it up and secure with a hairband in the back. I used a halter bra- the strap showed a bit in the back, but I was wearing my long hair down, so it was fine. My measurements put me right at the cusp between medium and large size, but I wore the medium and it wasn't tight at all- this dress does seem to run a bit big, so as the other reviewers say, order smaller than usual.
Size worn:
LL
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
April 27, 2015
The easy rental and return process made getting a great dress for the event so easy. Thank You!
This dress fit perfect. Definitely gave my body great curves because of the design and fit. I was very happy with the length and overall look of the dress.
Size worn:
ML
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
June 7, 2014
What a sleek, sexy, yet comfortable dress!!!!!
I LOVED this dress! I was looking for a dress super last minute and all of the other RTR dresses I wanted were gone, so I reluctantly ordered this dress and another black one. I got the other one first and it was alright but I wasn't too impressed. When I got this dress, I was so happy. It fit my body perfectly, accentuating all of the right curves and made my huge bust look good but not too trashy! It's such a comfortable dress, as it's made out of spandex and is a very light and breathable fabric which was perfect for dancing. The ruching on the butt and around the hips really made my butt look good and my hips look smaller. I'm 5'9 and the medium fit me perfectly. The only problem was that the strap was slightly too long, but I just safety pinned it back and it was fine! Highly recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
May 13, 2012
Prom
I wore this dress to prom, it was great! Light weight and easy to move around it. The only down fall to this dress was the chest area, I kept having to pull it over to cover my bra. I suggest a hairpin to a bra, that would really help to keep it from sliding down. Other than that i thought it was great! Made of jersey like material so that was great! It was really hot in in the room.
Size worn:
LL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 57
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
July 9, 2012
A Night in San Diego
I rented this dress for a formal attair company event I was working. I needed to be comfortable but also wanted to look sexy while being appropriate for an office event. I fell in love with this dress the moment I tried it on. I'm 5'8" and was able to wear 3-1/2 heels and the dress still covered my shoes perfectly. You must wear Spanx with this dress or the Fashion Police should arrest you. I also wore a halter bra. I highly recommend this dress. Thank you Rent the Runway! I can't wait to use you again.
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 3, 2012
Beautiful!
Fit was beautiful! Very flattering. 5 stars!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 155lbs
September 14, 2012
This dress was a show stopper. I went to a wedding and even my mother in law told me I looked "hot"!
The fit is clingy and form fitting (shapewear is definitely a must). I'm a small B cup and had to use a strapless push up and some tape but it still enhanced my chest well without looking trashy. Length was perfect with 4" platform stilettos (I'm 5'9").
Top Contributor
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 50
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
October 10, 2012
Back Up Dress
This was my backup dress and even though I didn't wear it, it is now on my "next time" list. It fit very well, was flattering but would need dress tape to keep it in place. Must be worn with a strapless bra. Very comfortable.
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 13, 2012
Of the 3 dresses I ordered, 2 worked perfectly. I've never had such success trying on clothes!
This was the most comfortable dress ever, and it was the perfect height for my 3" heels. The only disappointment was I wished the waste did more cinching. I guess that's the tradeoff for comfort. Either way, it was really great. This was my first experience with RTR, and I don't think I'll ever buy a new dress again!
LauraOctober 29, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. Was the dress not as tight fitting as you'd hoped?
View photos (2)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
December 21, 2012
RTR was great but dress was inadequate for nice affair.
Way too cheap looking - Material is a cheap polyester -- did not wear. Fit fine --
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
January 2, 2013
This dress was classy and sexy and worked beautifully for a gala I attended.
I am 5'2 and wore three inch heels and found the dress a hint too long but it actually was the length as seen in the photo--it just requires you to walk with care or lift the front of the dress with your hand so you don't trip. Great dress!!!
See more reviews:
1 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×