Carlos Miele

Catarina Bombshell Gown

$38 to buy
$495 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Look drop dead gorgeous in this Carlos Miele black vixen gown. Pair with Kenneth Jay Lane's Jet Drop Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Brazilian French Sizing.

BUST: Great for any cup size - bust area has a good amount of stretch
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - fitted at hips with slightly flared skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Black jersey. Halter neckline. Ruched body. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
57 reviews
Fit
Large
(30)
True to Size
(26)
Small
(0)
Size worn:
ML
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
June 7, 2014
What a sleek, sexy, yet comfortable dress!!!!!
I LOVED this dress! I was looking for a dress super last minute and all of the other RTR dresses I wanted were gone, so I reluctantly ordered this dress and another black one. I got the other one first and it was alright but I wasn't too impressed. When I got this dress, I was so happy. It fit my body perfectly, accentuating all of the right curves and made my huge bust look good but not too trashy! It's such a comfortable dress, as it's made out of spandex and is a very light and breathable fabric which was perfect for dancing. The ruching on the butt and around the hips really made my butt look good and my hips look smaller. I'm 5'9 and the medium fit me perfectly. The only problem was that the strap was slightly too long, but I just safety pinned it back and it was fine! Highly recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148lbs
October 4, 2014
Formal events for me are few and far between but I was glad to be able to have a nice dress to rent.
This dress was made of a much thinner material than I expected.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
April 16, 2012
HUGE
Cute dress, but the size SR was appropriate for somebody who is size 8, and I usually wear size 2. Runs very, very large.. I looked like a 6 year old trying on her mother's dresses. The length would be good for somebody 5'7" and above, or a petite girl wearing 6-inch heels.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 52
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
April 23, 2012
Large on top
My biggest issue with this dress was the top. I ordered both ML and the LL. Only tried on the ML. The halter is fixed, so you can't adjust it and it is very large and very unconstructed. The fabric is a fairly thin jersey and offered zero support with out a bra. With a strapless bra, the top was still too big and would have required a lot of pinning and taping. The rest of the dress was perfect and very flattering. If only the top had more to it and was adjustable I would have worn this.
LauraJune 5, 2012
How was the height on you?
RTRJune 6, 2012
Hi Laura, if you are a similar height to Lyly we recommend the long length if you're going to wear a heel. It measures 61'' from shoulder to hem.
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
May 13, 2012
Prom
I wore this dress to prom, it was great! Light weight and easy to move around it. The only down fall to this dress was the chest area, I kept having to pull it over to cover my bra. I suggest a hairpin to a bra, that would really help to keep it from sliding down. Other than that i thought it was great! Made of jersey like material so that was great! It was really hot in in the room.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
ML
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
June 14, 2012
So easy and the best compliment I received was "You look like you're getting ready for the Miss Universe pageant!"
This dress was gorgeous! If you have a large bust you will need a bra thought. The material is really comfortable and soft which makes for a very relaxing evening. I got soooo many compliments- plus you can dress it up with any type of accessory or purse!
AlexisJanuary 23, 2013
What kind a bra do you use? I'm big chested as well and am always looking for tips.
crystalNovember 1, 2013
I wore a normal bra and converted the straps to go around my neck.
ShannonFebruary 17, 2014
It looks like it hits the floor in the pic.. was curious about your shoes...what type of shoe did you wear? how high of a heel? I'm six feet.. and usually wear a 3 inch heel.
crystalFebruary 18, 2014
Hi Shannon. I wore about a 2-3" heel. It was pretty low. With the heels I was about 6' -6'1".
View photos (1)
Size worn:
LL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 57
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
July 9, 2012
A Night in San Diego
I rented this dress for a formal attair company event I was working. I needed to be comfortable but also wanted to look sexy while being appropriate for an office event. I fell in love with this dress the moment I tried it on. I'm 5'8" and was able to wear 3-1/2 heels and the dress still covered my shoes perfectly. You must wear Spanx with this dress or the Fashion Police should arrest you. I also wore a halter bra. I highly recommend this dress. Thank you Rent the Runway! I can't wait to use you again.
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 3, 2012
Beautiful!
Fit was beautiful! Very flattering. 5 stars!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
September 7, 2012
A little big.
This dress was beautiful, but I had to pin it behind my neck. The small ran a little large on me, I would have liked for it to been a tiny bit tighter, but all in all it was a great dress for a formal event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 155lbs
September 14, 2012
This dress was a show stopper. I went to a wedding and even my mother in law told me I looked "hot"!
The fit is clingy and form fitting (shapewear is definitely a must). I'm a small B cup and had to use a strapless push up and some tape but it still enhanced my chest well without looking trashy. Length was perfect with 4" platform stilettos (I'm 5'9").
Top Contributor
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
September 19, 2012
RTR was very prompt with delivery.. and the ordering process was much easier then expected!
This dress was very beautiful but unfortunately it is a bit too sheer from the waist down therefore i was unable to wear it! Such a shame because it really was pretty!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SL
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
September 19, 2012
Looks terrible and did not fit
The dress looks stunning in the photo but unfortunately looked horrible on me. My body type is similar to the models in the photo, I thought the dress would fit in a similar fashion but instead it looked like I was drowning in it. The top was entirely way too big, so much that if I wore the dress my entire breasts would have been exposed. Even with a miraculous bra that gives 2 cup sizes I could not fill out the top, and even if I did, the waist area was not fitted at all. The material also looks cheap in person. It's a shame because I was so excited about this dress, I was forced to run out and buy a dress 2 hours before the event. **Take their advice and make sure you get the dress the day before the event. I got mine the day of and was in a bind with nothing to wear. **
WendyJune 4, 2013
I have the same body type (36B though) and this was exactly my worry when I looked at it. Do you think a bigger rib cage would hold it up better, or is the cup size just overwhelming? It definitely looks fabulous on the model, but I'm not sure how they pulled it off!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126lbs
September 20, 2012
Gorgeous dress for a Black Tie event.
The dress ran large, but I carefully pinned the neck back, and with my hair down, no one could tell.
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
September 24, 2012
I felt amazing in it!
It was somewhat big on the top but I got it to work.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 106lbs
October 4, 2012
Elegant dress.
Dress ran too big and long. The fabric was not what I expected, but somehow still looked nice on.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SL
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
October 10, 2012
Classic Black Dress
The dress is very comfortable and great if you want a classic look. I thought it could of fit a little bit tighter. If they had an x-small that would of been great. Defiantly needed the LONG length with my heels on. Also, I could wear a bra but I needed to use the fashion tape to hold the dress down or else my bra would of showed.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 50
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
October 10, 2012
Back Up Dress
This was my backup dress and even though I didn't wear it, it is now on my "next time" list. It fit very well, was flattering but would need dress tape to keep it in place. Must be worn with a strapless bra. Very comfortable.
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 13, 2012
Of the 3 dresses I ordered, 2 worked perfectly. I've never had such success trying on clothes!
This was the most comfortable dress ever, and it was the perfect height for my 3" heels. The only disappointment was I wished the waste did more cinching. I guess that's the tradeoff for comfort. Either way, it was really great. This was my first experience with RTR, and I don't think I'll ever buy a new dress again!
LauraOctober 29, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. Was the dress not as tight fitting as you'd hoped?
View photos (2)
Size worn:
LR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 56
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
October 19, 2012
I wore this for a black tie event. It was perfect!
I liked this dress. It was very comfortable. Definately need support!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
ML
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 54
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
October 24, 2012
Dallas Country Club GALA 2012
Diane Sparks and Bob have a wonderful time.
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 114lbs
November 2, 2012
Very sexy, low cut dress.
The dress was very low cut in the front so needed to buy a special bra. The dress might have been a little more flattering if the mid-section area was a little more fitting. Overall it looked good!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
December 21, 2012
RTR was great but dress was inadequate for nice affair.
Way too cheap looking - Material is a cheap polyester -- did not wear. Fit fine --
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SL
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
December 24, 2012
good thing this was my back-up
i chose this dress as a back up in case my first pick didn't look right. good thing. the dress was HUGE. even a size small was way too big and I would normally where at least a medium. its a good thing I had another option or I would have been really frustrated. other renters must have had similar problems because there were pin marks in several places on the dress I received making me thing other people must have tried to pin it up to get it to fit.
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 123lbs
December 27, 2012
Super sexy comfortable dress
Should have worn the S - it seemed a bit small in the house, so I wore the M, but had to pin it behind my neck. I think it stretched a bit over the evening - and would probably have been better off in the S. Also had a hard time getting fashion tape to stick to the dress to keep it in place - eventually gave up and took off the tape, which meant it was gaping a bit in the front - but nothing too bad.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
January 2, 2013
This dress was classy and sexy and worked beautifully for a gala I attended.
I am 5'2 and wore three inch heels and found the dress a hint too long but it actually was the length as seen in the photo--it just requires you to walk with care or lift the front of the dress with your hand so you don't trip. Great dress!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 147lbs
January 18, 2013
I didn't end up wearing this dress.
It was a bot stretched out and you could see the tag through the material. The ruching was flattering though.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 137lbs
January 27, 2013
Love how easy RTR is
I've used RTR 5 times now, and this was my least favorite rental. I'm not sure if the chest part was just stretched out from previous rentals, but I wouldn't have been able to wear it if I didn't pin a brooch to hold the chest opening together more (I'm a 34C). It was also a bit sheer, it ended up not being an issue but at first I thought it was too sheer. I'm also 5'7", and I don't like wearing huge heels, but needed to so that it didn't drag on the floor (wore regular). I think there's better black dresses to choose from on here.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
February 4, 2013
Nice dress but ended up not wearing.
I ordered this as my backup dress but it was very loose around the bust line and waist for me. Had I not had such a great dress as my first choice I would have pinned the back of the halter neck and gone with it. A sexy dress just a little too roomy to be a really flattering fit for me.
Size worn:
LR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
February 8, 2013
This dress was AWESOME!!!
This dress made my boobs look amazing!!
ShannonFebruary 17, 2014
was curious about your shoes...what type of shoe did you wear? how high of a heel? I'm six feet.. and usually wear a 3 inch heel.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
January 11, 2013
Loved it. Great for hourglass figures.
Note: I had to use some fashion tape around the chest area to make it fit just right.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
34R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
April 26, 2013
elegant LBD
comfortable and perfect fitting!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
June 24, 2013
Classy and Sexy
the dress was just amazing you don't even feel it. it fit like a glove totally recommend this dress.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
July 22, 2013
This dress was perfect, my first RTR and i'll be getting more!
This dress was the right length and sat very nicely. The material is a little sheer so plan to wear a slip, definitely needed the fashion tape, not really cut for a bra. I felt really glamourous in this dress.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
August 6, 2013
Did not wear this dress.
Beautiful dress but I did not wear because it was too see through and was too lose on me and just did not look good.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
ML
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 198lbs
September 10, 2013
Loved this dress!
It's low cut, so be prepared with good bra to hold the girls up. I loved this dress though, very comfortable and flattering.
Size worn:
34R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 134lbs
September 29, 2013
This was my first Air Force ball
Had to tape down the top to my bra but didn't have any other problems
Size worn:
36L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 52
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
September 30, 2013
Looked great on.
The halter top wasn't adjustable and my boobs would have hung out. I tied the neck into a knot and then it looked great.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
LR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 41
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 180lbs
October 11, 2013
Fit like a glove. Very comfortable. Felt sexy and beautiful
Very happy with my rental . Light and flowy. Got lots of compliments all night!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
November 15, 2013
I looked amazing in the dress and everyone was commenting on it all night long!
The fit was overall very good except for the chest. A quick look for a broach and I was good to go in making sure the girls were covered up. The length was a tad longer than I was expecting, but a good pair of 3" heels and I wasn't worried about tripping on the hem of the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
LL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 52
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 180lbs
January 3, 2014
My unforgettable moment was when my husband said how beautiful I looked as we rang in the New Year!
The dress fits fabulously It hugs the curves in the right places. I will agree with past reviews it is a bit sheer on the top in the back and it does work better with SPANX, especially if you are going to be in a well lit environment, I highly recommend something underneath. It is definitely a dress that encourages the girls to be front and center at the party! Would rent it again !
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×