Catarina Bombshell Gown

$38 to buy
$495 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Look drop dead gorgeous in this Carlos Miele black vixen gown. Pair with Kenneth Jay Lane's Jet Drop Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Brazilian French Sizing.

BUST: Great for any cup size - bust area has a good amount of stretch
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - fitted at hips with slightly flared skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Brazilian French Sizing.

BUST: Great for any cup size - bust area has a good amount of stretch
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - fitted at hips with slightly flared skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black jersey. Halter neckline. Ruched body. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
57 reviews
Fit
Large30
True to Size26
Small0
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 13, 2012
Of the 3 dresses I ordered, 2 worked perfectly. I've never had such success trying on clothes!
This was the most comfortable dress ever, and it was the perfect height for my 3" heels. The only disappointment was I wished the waste did more cinching. I guess that's the tradeoff for comfort. Either way, it was really great. This was my first experience with RTR, and I don't think I'll ever buy a new dress again!
LauraOctober 29, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. Was the dress not as tight fitting as you'd hoped?
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
October 10, 2012
Back Up Dress
This was my backup dress and even though I didn't wear it, it is now on my "next time" list. It fit very well, was flattering but would need dress tape to keep it in place. Must be worn with a strapless bra. Very comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SL
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
October 10, 2012
Classic Black Dress
The dress is very comfortable and great if you want a classic look. I thought it could of fit a little bit tighter. If they had an x-small that would of been great. Defiantly needed the LONG length with my heels on. Also, I could wear a bra but I needed to use the fashion tape to hold the dress down or else my bra would of showed.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 106lbs
October 4, 2012
Elegant dress.
Dress ran too big and long. The fabric was not what I expected, but somehow still looked nice on.
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
September 24, 2012
I felt amazing in it!
It was somewhat big on the top but I got it to work.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126lbs
September 20, 2012
Gorgeous dress for a Black Tie event.
The dress ran large, but I carefully pinned the neck back, and with my hair down, no one could tell.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SL
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
September 19, 2012
Looks terrible and did not fit
The dress looks stunning in the photo but unfortunately looked horrible on me. My body type is similar to the models in the photo, I thought the dress would fit in a similar fashion but instead it looked like I was drowning in it. The top was entirely way too big, so much that if I wore the dress my entire breasts would have been exposed. Even with a miraculous bra that gives 2 cup sizes I could not fill out the top, and even if I did, the waist area was not fitted at all. The material also looks cheap in person. It's a shame because I was so excited about this dress, I was forced to run out and buy a dress 2 hours before the event. **Take their advice and make sure you get the dress the day before the event. I got mine the day of and was in a bind with nothing to wear. **
WendyJune 4, 2013
I have the same body type (36B though) and this was exactly my worry when I looked at it. Do you think a bigger rib cage would hold it up better, or is the cup size just overwhelming? It definitely looks fabulous on the model, but I'm not sure how they pulled it off!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
September 19, 2012
RTR was very prompt with delivery.. and the ordering process was much easier then expected!
This dress was very beautiful but unfortunately it is a bit too sheer from the waist down therefore i was unable to wear it! Such a shame because it really was pretty!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 155lbs
September 14, 2012
This dress was a show stopper. I went to a wedding and even my mother in law told me I looked "hot"!
The fit is clingy and form fitting (shapewear is definitely a must). I'm a small B cup and had to use a strapless push up and some tape but it still enhanced my chest well without looking trashy. Length was perfect with 4" platform stilettos (I'm 5'9").
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
September 7, 2012
A little big.
This dress was beautiful, but I had to pin it behind my neck. The small ran a little large on me, I would have liked for it to been a tiny bit tighter, but all in all it was a great dress for a formal event.
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 3, 2012
Beautiful!
Fit was beautiful! Very flattering. 5 stars!
Size worn:
LL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 56
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
July 9, 2012
A Night in San Diego
I rented this dress for a formal attair company event I was working. I needed to be comfortable but also wanted to look sexy while being appropriate for an office event. I fell in love with this dress the moment I tried it on. I'm 5'8" and was able to wear 3-1/2 heels and the dress still covered my shoes perfectly. You must wear Spanx with this dress or the Fashion Police should arrest you. I also wore a halter bra. I highly recommend this dress. Thank you Rent the Runway! I can't wait to use you again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
ML
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
June 14, 2012
So easy and the best compliment I received was "You look like you're getting ready for the Miss Universe pageant!"
This dress was gorgeous! If you have a large bust you will need a bra thought. The material is really comfortable and soft which makes for a very relaxing evening. I got soooo many compliments- plus you can dress it up with any type of accessory or purse!
AlexisJanuary 23, 2013
What kind a bra do you use? I'm big chested as well and am always looking for tips.
crystalNovember 1, 2013
I wore a normal bra and converted the straps to go around my neck.
ShannonFebruary 17, 2014
It looks like it hits the floor in the pic.. was curious about your shoes...what type of shoe did you wear? how high of a heel? I'm six feet.. and usually wear a 3 inch heel.
crystalFebruary 18, 2014
Hi Shannon. I wore about a 2-3" heel. It was pretty low. With the heels I was about 6' -6'1".
View photos (1)
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
May 13, 2012
Prom
I wore this dress to prom, it was great! Light weight and easy to move around it. The only down fall to this dress was the chest area, I kept having to pull it over to cover my bra. I suggest a hairpin to a bra, that would really help to keep it from sliding down. Other than that i thought it was great! Made of jersey like material so that was great! It was really hot in in the room.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 138lbs
May 2, 2012
Too stretched out
I normally wear a 4 or 6 in a dress and felt confident that a small would be suited for my shape. But this was completely falling off me. I have an above average cup size but this hung completely loose at the bust. I had to run out and buy a very expensive adhesive pushup bra and tape the dress to it using fashion tape--which gave it a sloppier look than I intended. I got nice compliments through the night, but it was a far more stressful and expensive experience than I had bargained for. I was pretty lucky in that I didn't have to walk very far, otherwise there could have been a total wardrobe malfunction. Also, the material is very sheer--this wasn't necessarily a problem for me, but it's not at all evident from the picture
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 51
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
April 23, 2012
Large on top
My biggest issue with this dress was the top. I ordered both ML and the LL. Only tried on the ML. The halter is fixed, so you can't adjust it and it is very large and very unconstructed. The fabric is a fairly thin jersey and offered zero support with out a bra. With a strapless bra, the top was still too big and would have required a lot of pinning and taping. The rest of the dress was perfect and very flattering. If only the top had more to it and was adjustable I would have worn this.
LauraJune 5, 2012
How was the height on you?
RTRJune 6, 2012
Hi Laura, if you are a similar height to Lyly we recommend the long length if you're going to wear a heel. It measures 61'' from shoulder to hem.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
April 16, 2012
HUGE
Cute dress, but the size SR was appropriate for somebody who is size 8, and I usually wear size 2. Runs very, very large.. I looked like a 6 year old trying on her mother's dresses. The length would be good for somebody 5'7" and above, or a petite girl wearing 6-inch heels.
See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×