Rent the Runway

Carlos Miele

Catarina Bombshell Gown

$105 rental
$495 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Look drop dead gorgeous in this Carlos Miele black vixen gown. Pair with Diane von Furstenberg's Zebra Tonda Pony Clutch and Kenneth Jay Lane's Jet Drop Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Brazilian French Sizing.

BUST: Great for any cup size - bust area has a good amount of stretch
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - fitted at hips with slightly flared skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Brazilian French Sizing.

BUST: Great for any cup size - bust area has a good amount of stretch
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - fitted at hips with slightly flared skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black jersey. Halter neckline. Ruched body. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

56 reviews

Fit
Small 0
True to Size 25
Large 30
Photos 26
HB
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Apr 16, 2012

HUGE

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Cute dress, but the size SR was appropriate for somebody who is size 8, and I usually wear size 2. Runs very, very large.. I looked like a 6 year old trying on her mother's dresses. The length would be good for somebody 5'7" and above, or a petite girl wearing 6-inch heels.
Lyly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 50
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Apr 23, 2012

Large on top

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
My biggest issue with this dress was the top. I ordered both ML and the LL. Only tried on the ML. The halter is fixed, so you can't adjust it and it is very large and very unconstructed. The fabric is a fairly thin jersey and offered zero support with out a bra. With a strapless bra, the top was still too big and would have required a lot of pinning and taping. The rest of the dress was perfect and very flattering. If only the top had more to it and was adjustable I would have worn this.
Kristina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 138 lbs
May 2, 2012

Too stretched out

Size worn: SR
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I normally wear a 4 or 6 in a dress and felt confident that a small would be suited for my shape. But this was completely falling off me. I have an above average cup size but this hung completely loose at the bust. I had to run out and buy a very expensive adhesive pushup bra and tape the dress to it using fashion tape--which gave it a sloppier look than I intended. I got nice compliments through the night, but it was a far more stressful and expensive experience than I had bargained for. I was pretty lucky in that I didn't have to walk very far, otherwise there could have been a total wardrobe malfunction. Also, the material is very sheer--this wasn't necessarily a problem for me, but it's not at all evident from the picture
Kat
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155 lbs
May 13, 2012

Prom

Size worn: MR
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to prom, it was great! Light weight and easy to move around it. The only down fall to this dress was the chest area, I kept having to pull it over to cover my bra. I suggest a hairpin to a bra, that would really help to keep it from sliding down. Other than that i thought it was great! Made of jersey like material so that was great! It was really hot in in the room.
Donna
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 55
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
Jul 9, 2012

A Night in San Diego

Size worn: LL
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for a formal attair company event I was working. I needed to be comfortable but also wanted to look sexy while being appropriate for an office event. I fell in love with this dress the moment I tried it on. I'm 5'8" and was able to wear 3-1/2 heels and the dress still covered my shoes perfectly. You must wear Spanx with this dress or the Fashion Police should arrest you. I also wore a halter bra. I highly recommend this dress. Thank you Rent the Runway! I can't wait to use you again.
Dani
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 3, 2012

Beautiful!

Size worn: SR
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit was beautiful! Very flattering. 5 stars!
Betsy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Sep 7, 2012

A little big.

Size worn: SR
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was beautiful, but I had to pin it behind my neck. The small ran a little large on me, I would have liked for it to been a tiny bit tighter, but all in all it was a great dress for a formal event.
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 155 lbs
Sep 14, 2012

This dress was a show stopper. I went to a wedding and even my mother in law told me I looked "hot"!

Size worn: SL
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit is clingy and form fitting (shapewear is definitely a must). I'm a small B cup and had to use a strapless push up and some tape but it still enhanced my chest well without looking trashy. Length was perfect with 4" platform stilettos (I'm 5'9").
sasha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155 lbs
Sep 19, 2012

RTR was very prompt with delivery.. and the ordering process was much easier then expected!

Size worn: MR
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was very beautiful but unfortunately it is a bit too sheer from the waist down therefore i was unable to wear it! Such a shame because it really was pretty!
Sylvia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 19, 2012

Looks terrible and did not fit

Size worn: SL
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
The dress looks stunning in the photo but unfortunately looked horrible on me. My body type is similar to the models in the photo, I thought the dress would fit in a similar fashion but instead it looked like I was drowning in it. The top was entirely way too big, so much that if I wore the dress my entire breasts would have been exposed. Even with a miraculous bra that gives 2 cup sizes I could not fill out the top, and even if I did, the waist area was not fitted at all. The material also looks cheap in person. It's a shame because I was so excited about this dress, I was forced to run out and buy a dress 2 hours before the event. **Take their advice and make sure you get the dress the day before the event. I got mine the day of and was in a bind with nothing to wear. **
Christina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126 lbs
Sep 20, 2012

Gorgeous dress for a Black Tie event.

Size worn: SR
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress ran large, but I carefully pinned the neck back, and with my hair down, no one could tell.
Vaughn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 106 lbs
Oct 4, 2012

Elegant dress.

Size worn: SR
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Dress ran too big and long. The fabric was not what I expected, but somehow still looked nice on.
Kristen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 10, 2012

Classic Black Dress

Size worn: SL
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
The dress is very comfortable and great if you want a classic look. I thought it could of fit a little bit tighter. If they had an x-small that would of been great. Defiantly needed the LONG length with my heels on. Also, I could wear a bra but I needed to use the fashion tape to hold the dress down or else my bra would of showed.
Sandy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 10, 2012

Back Up Dress

Size worn: MR
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was my backup dress and even though I didn't wear it, it is now on my "next time" list. It fit very well, was flattering but would need dress tape to keep it in place. Must be worn with a strapless bra. Very comfortable.
Veronica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 19, 2012

Great customer service.

Size worn: SR
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was advised by my stylist to order a long in small and medium. I wore 3 inch heels but both were too long for my 5'5 frame. I called and spoke with customer service, they apologized profusely for misadvising me and rushed me a small regular, which fit well except that the front was a little too low cut for my comfort- the tape that was provided by RTR worked perfectly. I felt amazing in this dress. Oh- forgot to mention that I was 4 months pregnant at the time. The jersey material hugged my curves well and I felt amazing despite the pregnancy
Diane
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 52
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Oct 24, 2012

Dallas Country Club GALA 2012

Size worn: ML
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Diane Sparks and Bob have a wonderful time.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×