Black Halo

Sultry Cut Out Dress

$99 to buy
$345 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Show off some shoulder with this sexy Black Halo dress. To make a real statement, add on Nicole Miller's Black Crinkle Clutch, AV Max's Gold Dome Bangle and Crislu's Crystal Tear Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted at natural waist with seam
HIPS: Very fitted - stretch cotton cinches in hips and backside
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear- wear SPANX to cinch in waist
FABRIC: Fabric
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Black stretch gabardine. One shoulder neckline with cut out detail at strap. Cutout detail on back. Front vent. Hidden side zip.

Share
227 reviews
Fit
Large
(2)
True to Size
(130)
Small
(90)
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
May 31, 2016
Beautiful !
Even the bride was complimenting this dress! Fun cut outs make this LBD perfect!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
January 31, 2013
Wearing it made me feel so chic!
1. Fit - Usually i’m nervous when it comes to dresses because i’m petite. So dresses are often too big for me. For example in Macy’s its very hard for me to fit a size 2 petite dress so if I ever find a 0, I run with it! The 0 in this dress fitted me MAGICALLY! I was in awe! 2. Bra - Another thing is that i’m very small chested (32a). So whenever I go out I DEPEND on my Victoria’s Secret bombshell bra to make it look like I have cleavage because it makes me 2 cup sizes bigger! I hate looking flat chested and I was worried that I wouldn’t be able to wear the bra with this dress. WRONG! I had the strapless version of the bombshell bra on and you couldn’t even tell that i was wearing one! 3. Length - Now I LOVE my short dresses because they make me feel like a vixen when I go out, and I usually dress conservatively the rest of the time. So parties are the one time that I can "skank it up a bit". I was also apprehensive becasue i’m already kind of short. But even with its length the dress was SOO SEXY!! I felt even sexier than if I were in a short dress .. its unexplainable. The only negative that I wold say is that the material sometimes hiked up at the hips so you’d have to pull it down. To sum it up, I plan on renting this dress again. I wore this dress for my bday weekend in Vegas and received compliments on it. I tried to search on the internet to buy it but I couldn’t find it :( Every girl deserves a sexy yet classy dress like this in their closet.
View photos (3)
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Body type: Petite
October 2, 2010
LOVED!! how this dress was not over revealing, but was very form fitting and sexy at the same time. I was a little snug-- good thing I got TWO sizes cause it was challenging to get that zipper up! Really sophisticated.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
October 4, 2010
The wedding was out of town, and the ease of having the dress delivered to the out of town location and not having to pack it or worry about wrinkles made the experience 20x better!
I absolutely loved this dress and got soo many compliments. I wore it to a wedding and my date said I outshined the bride, oops! The slit is a little high. I wore a slip and had to constantly pull that up and the dress down. But it wasn't anything vulgar, just make sure to cross your legs like a lady! Very form fitting and comfortable, I would recommend it to everyone!
christinSeptember 27, 2012
Bah! I know the photographer who took this picture! :) Thanks for reviewing this dress! I just rented it for a wedding for Saturday and I hope it fits! Did you wear a strapless bra or spanx or anything with it?
CDNovember 15, 2012
Sorry I just saw your comment now. I did wear a strapless bra along with spanx. It is a very tight dress. So every little thing shows! Hope you had fun at the wedding!
View photos (1)
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 22, 2010
Although this is very cute dress, it is NOT meant for anyone with a bust size of regular B or larger. I rented both a 6 and an 8, and although both sizes fit well over the hipline, they were extremely tight over the bustline, and I'm a 36B. (I typically wear anything from a size 4 to 6 jean/pant, so I didn't really expect to not be able to wear the size 6 dress.) As commented by another reviewer, the slit is also a little high, so wearing shapewear to smooth out a hipline or butt is almost impossible unless you're looking to wear a spanx panty shaper. The shoulder cut outs are cute, but can be difficult to wear; the strap closest to your shoulder can slip, and I had to keep adjusting mine all night. Other than that, it's a cute dress. I just wouldn't recommend it for anyone with a "full" chest. (If you take a look at the picture, the model wearing the dress is a pretty obvious "A" cup size.)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 51
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
November 24, 2010
Fabulous dress. Super comfortable with a bit of a stretch in the fabric. Hugs you in tight to show off curves. Didn't need to wear a bra or any tape since the dress was shaped in a way that gave my bust a lift (I'm a 32C). Got tons of compliments. Great shoulders was a popular comment. Slit does come up high. Wore thigh high stockings and the top showed a bit when I sat down. Would 100% recommend.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Body type: Pear
December 10, 2010
I ordered a 4 and a 6 and wore the 4. Tons and tons of compliments and lots of requests to borrow :) I have a small bust and this dress fit perfectly around the top. My straps did not slide and the slit didn't give me a problem. I wouldn't recommend wearing anything like spanx underneath, the slit is too high. Rent this dress-you won't regret it!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
January 29, 2011
This dress is awesome. I got so many compliments. This was my first time ordering and it came perfect. I'm usually a size 4 but I also ordered the 6 anyways just in case. The size 4 fit great. I think it's cause I have a small bust (34A).
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
March 7, 2011
This dress was perfect! My. 1st time renting and it was a flawless experience. Will def do frequently. Def best for small breast. Fit like a glove. I ordered the 0, crazy! But the 2 fit like it was made for me. I'm 5.21/2, 123, 45yr and have an ass and thighs and it clung nicely because the fabric is so nice. That's the dif between cheap and designer, cut and fabric. The spilt was not at all high as others have said, maybe for taller women. It was elegant & sexy. The room was full of 100+ beautiful women and I had on the best dress. The BD girl kept telling me I wasn't supposed to look beter than her! I got crazy compliments! RTR is my new BF.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 40
Body type: Petite
March 17, 2011
i absolutely love this dress & wish it was available for purchase. All night long i received nothing but compliments on the dress and how stunning I looked in it. I would so rent this dress again and again!!!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126lbs
March 30, 2011
I didnt get to wear this dress b/c it was my back up dress. I tried it on and absolutely fell in love!!! The size 0 fit perfectly!!! I will be ordering again for a wedding I am attending in June.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Body type: Pear
April 4, 2011
Not a good fit for me - too big on top if I wore the size that fit my hips, and too small on the hips if I wore the size that fit my top. Bummer - was a unique cut & I wanted so badly to wear it. I could have worn the smaller size if I weren't self-conscious about my backside being showcased by the tightness of the dress, but I was.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
April 12, 2011
I thought the dress ran a little small - but it is 98% Spandex so it is obviously meant to be form-fitting. It is very sexy and figure-flattering. If you have a large chest (I'm a 32DD), you definitely should go up a size. I was, however, able to go without a bra in this dress (which is good because of the back of it).
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Body type: Petite
April 19, 2011
I loved this dress! Sexy but still appropriate (I wore it to a wedding). I thought it ran small and wore the larger of my two sizes. Also, just so you know- the slit up the front is pretty high when you sit down.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
April 29, 2011
I felt SEXY in this dress, and I'm not normally a sexy type of girl. I'm a size 4 and I did wear the 4 but it was definitely snug
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
April 29, 2011
This dress is great if you are petite and small chested. It really fit me well and I am 5'2 with a barely B bust. Even though I frequently wear a 2, I ended up wearing the 4 cause the bodice was a little tight and the material does not have much give. I really liked this dress, it's fashionable and funky... definitely recommend it.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
May 16, 2011
I wore this dress for a wedding and it was a hit! Sexy yet conservative at the same time.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Body type: Hourglass
May 16, 2011
Overall, a great rental experience. I ordered a 6 and an 8 and the 6 worked great. I felt sexy and classy all at once, which was perfect for the wedding I attended. My one complaint was that being an active dancer, the dress rode up and I had to keep pulling it down. That may be due to my body shape, which is definitely hour glass. That said, the material and structure and comfort of the dress were excellent! I'd rent it again.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
May 11, 2011
This dress was amazing! I wore it for a work event and got a ton of compliments, even from people I didn't know! It is form fitting but runs true to size. I loved it!
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Body type: Athletic
September 6, 2011
I loved the look of this dress, but it ran small. I have an athletic build and broad shoulders and the cut out straps didn't rest correctly on my body. I also have a small bra size so it seemed the top was slightly big on me and the body was tight. If you have a leaner athletic build this will look awesome on you.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
September 28, 2011
This dress was pretty tight around my bust but fit well over the rest of my body. And the biggest challenge for me is the length of dresses since I'm short. It was too long (past my knees) and was not flattering. If I was tall and skinny it would have fit perfectly and I would have loved to wear it but I opted with something else.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
September 28, 2011
This dress is absolutely stunning! I wore it to a cocktail party and got so many compliments. It definitely runs small. I typically wear a size 2 or 4 in designer dresses, but actually wore this one in a size 6.
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Body type: Pear
October 3, 2011
Loved the feel and look of this dress. Unfortunately I felt that it ran a bit small and was unable to wear either sized shipped. The slit on the side was very high as well...So not great for a conservative church wedding I was attending. Although I didnt get to wear this dress - I still loved RTR service. They shipped me two new dresses overnight just in time for the wedding.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 13, 2011
Loved this dress, even if it wasn't my final choice for the wedding I attended. Plan to rent it again for a date night since it lives up to its "sultry" title! The form fitting was perfect, and I suggest sizing up for your 2nd option. Also recommend a body shaper since this is so form fitting around the waist line. Will rent again!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
October 25, 2011
Absolutely LOVED this dress!!! Wore it to a wedding and received many compliments, very sexy without being too revealing. I ordered the size 4 & 6 and the 6 fit like a glove and was very comfortable.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
November 2, 2011
I rented this dress for a wedding having never worn a dress by this designer before. Though the size 4 fit it wasn't flattering. The seam in the middle didn't hit my natural waist, it was too long and the side slit was awkard. It somehow managed to look trampy and frumpy at the same time. Also, the material wasn't very nice. I ended wearing one of my own dresses
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Body type: Straight & narrow
November 2, 2011
Dress runs small. Quality fabric.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
November 11, 2011
Not as classy as you'd want...
I got this dress after reading the reviews about how fantastic it looked and, I must admit, it wasn't as showstopping as I hoped. I ended up wearing a friends dress after my backup didn't work out either and I must warn you - the slit is much higher than it looks on the model. But I will admit the cut on the back is awesome...
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
November 14, 2011
Seriously Sexy & Flattering
This dress is amazing. Definitely size up, as I am a petite 4 and wore the 6. It looked so good, I rented it twice and got so many compliments. Really sleek and sexy.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138lbs
December 23, 2011
Feeling and looking amazing
I rented this dress for my boyfriends holiday party. It is absolutely amazing. Just the right amount of sophistication and sexiness! I am usually a size 4, so I ordered a 4 and a 6. I'm glad I ordered up because the size 4 was too tight on my hips (which are 40") but perfect on my torso and chest! The size 6 fit my hips perfectly and a padded strapless bra helped make the top less big. The slit was a lot higher than it looks in the photo, and it took a little while to get used to, but I would rent this dress again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
December 24, 2011
One of my Favorites!
Great dress! It was perfect for the party and I received numerous compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
December 31, 2011
Totally Rocked it!
AMAZING dress! I wore this for a wedding, and I was the envy of every girl in the room. I even outshined the bride! (whoops) Perfect LBD - its unique, classy, and subtly sexy... and comfortable to boot! I danced the entire night. Runs a little snug in the hips, so I had to size up. The slit is quite high, so I tended to sit with my jacket over my lap at the church and dinner. I paired with red 4" heels and a red clutch to spice it up a bit too.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 3, 2012
I will always think of RTR for my special occasions now. Everyone who saw the dress said it looked amazing. Thanks!
I absolutely loved this dress. This was my first rent the runway experience and I have been promoting the website ever since to all my friends. I received a ton of compliments. The dress was elegant but beautiful. I rented a size 4 ( the 6 was sold out) and was a little nervous because of other reviews saying it fit tight. The 4 fit just fine luckily :).
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
January 3, 2012
Great dress for taller women
I ordered this dress for a NYE party. Unfortunately I had to return it the next day because it didn't fit. While I love the look of this dress.(The cut outs are fantastic!) It just didn't work for my body type. The shoulder straps wouldn't lay correctly, it was too long for me, made me look boxy. I would totally recommend this dress for the taller ladies!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 8, 2012
Perfect LBD!
I rented this dress for a NYE party and absolutely loved it! The dress is gorgeous on! I received a lot of comments on the dress and everyone wanted to know where I bought it. Of course mentioned RTR and told everyone to check the website out. I would highly recommend this dress to anyone that is looking for a very sexy and very classy look. Just remember to size up because the dress does run small.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 136lbs
February 21, 2012
My date stopped mid-sentence when he saw the dress, to tell me I looked beautiful..
Based on other reviews, I thought this was big on top, small on bottom. I experienced the opposite. I usually wear a 4 & the 4 fit through the hips, but too tight to zip on top. The 6 was loose in the hips & still quite tight on top, but I got them in LOL. I kept fidgeting with the neckline, as it seemed to have extra length on the straps that slipped off shoulder, but tight around chest. I think I noticed it more than anyone, as I received several compliments - the dress is lovely, I just felt very chest conscious at the event, but after dinner drinks at HRH it was more appropriate.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
May 21, 2012
The dress received many comments!
This dress is very simple yet so elegant! Its my second time renting it and I would rent it again!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105lbs
May 29, 2012
I really wasn't expecting this dress to flatter my body as much as it did, but I was delightfully surprised!
Can I just say... for the price of this rental, WOW. This dress = style + class meets sexy. You really don't see as much leg when you are wearing it dress, unless your stance is like the one pictured on the RTR model or if your legs are crossed. The length is great and I would really recommended it if you have a thin frame. Also, since it's plain black, you can add a pop of color through your shoes and accessories. I am 5'5" and 105-107 lbs., and this dress was able to allude to my assets without showing too much skin!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
June 22, 2012
Getting to tell everyone about RTR after they commented on my dress!
This dress is perfect for a classy evening when you still want to feel sexy. It did run a bit small (I wore the 2 even though i'm usually a 0), but the bigger size fit really well. I didn't notice in the picture, but the dress is a bit long (well, for a short person like myself), but I still loved it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
June 25, 2012
My fiance loved me in the dress!!
Edit: Rented this for a second event bc my first dress didnt work. Size 6 fits perfect and I received lots of compliments. Sexy and classy, you can go wrong! This dress was so fun! I wore to a very upscale wedding in Beverly Hills where celebs were present, and this made me feel glamorous! This dress does run small though, I normally wear a size 2, but ordered the 4 and backup 6 due to other reviews recommending the same. I am so glad I went up a size, as I ended up wearing the 6. The 4 barely fit around my ribcage. Would not recommend for women with large busts bc it was def snug on my smaller bust. This dress hugged my booty and boobs haha!
JulieDecember 5, 2014
Totally agree. I am 105 pounds and ordered the 0 and the 2 and both were WAY TOO SMALL. :( I'm having another dress overnighted. So sad this one didn't work. I'd order 2 sizes up!!!!
View photos (2)
See more reviews:
1 / 6

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×