Black Halo

Sultry Cut Out Dress

$43 to buy
$345 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Show off some shoulder with this sexy Black Halo dress. To make a real statement, add on Nicole Miller's Black Crinkle Clutch, AV Max's Gold Dome Bangle and Crislu's Crystal Tear Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted at natural waist with seam
HIPS: Very fitted - stretch cotton cinches in hips and backside
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear- wear SPANX to cinch in waist
FABRIC: Fabric
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Black stretch gabardine. One shoulder neckline with cut out detail at strap. Cutout detail on back. Front vent. Hidden side zip.

Share
227 reviews
Fit
Large
(2)
True to Size
(130)
Small
(90)
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
May 31, 2016
Beautiful !
Even the bride was complimenting this dress! Fun cut outs make this LBD perfect!
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
February 12, 2015
I felt so pretty
I want to buy this dress
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 1, 2014
Stunning
Form fitting. Love the slit and the one shoulder double strap detail. So many compliments all night
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
December 15, 2014
Process was easy and fast!
This dress is absolutely worth renting over and over! This was my second time renting it and it did not disappoint! Received compliments the entire evening. Will probably rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
July 14, 2015
Not for me
This dress was way too tight in all the wrong places. Not what I was looking for for the event I had to attend
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
October 25, 2012
Gorgeous dress! Sexy yet classy!
I ordered the dress in a 6 and an 8 for a dinner I was attending. The 6 fit perfect on the top but a bit too fitted on the bottom. The 8 was perfect in the bottom and a little large on top. I wore the size 8. The straps kept moving around and shifting making me show a little more cleavage than I needed. I ended up putting a safety pin to join the straps together and it works. I think if I was a D cup the 8 would have fit better. I'm 5'4 and the dress reached the bottom on my knee which was perfect. I woke my hair down and some nude pumps. Loved the dress I might have to buy it!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
May 19, 2013
Gorgeous dress!
Over-all fit was ok. The outer sling (I don't know how else to describe it) kept falling off my shoulder however. I'm 5'2, the dress fell right at my knees but the slit was high enough to make my legs look longer. You can wear a strapless bra with this dress. Very comfortable, hugs your body. Received tons of compliments with this dress.
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Body type: Petite
October 2, 2010
LOVED!! how this dress was not over revealing, but was very form fitting and sexy at the same time. I was a little snug-- good thing I got TWO sizes cause it was challenging to get that zipper up! Really sophisticated.
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 22, 2010
Although this is very cute dress, it is NOT meant for anyone with a bust size of regular B or larger. I rented both a 6 and an 8, and although both sizes fit well over the hipline, they were extremely tight over the bustline, and I'm a 36B. (I typically wear anything from a size 4 to 6 jean/pant, so I didn't really expect to not be able to wear the size 6 dress.) As commented by another reviewer, the slit is also a little high, so wearing shapewear to smooth out a hipline or butt is almost impossible unless you're looking to wear a spanx panty shaper. The shoulder cut outs are cute, but can be difficult to wear; the strap closest to your shoulder can slip, and I had to keep adjusting mine all night. Other than that, it's a cute dress. I just wouldn't recommend it for anyone with a "full" chest. (If you take a look at the picture, the model wearing the dress is a pretty obvious "A" cup size.)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
April 12, 2011
I thought the dress ran a little small - but it is 98% Spandex so it is obviously meant to be form-fitting. It is very sexy and figure-flattering. If you have a large chest (I'm a 32DD), you definitely should go up a size. I was, however, able to go without a bra in this dress (which is good because of the back of it).
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Body type: Petite
April 19, 2011
I loved this dress! Sexy but still appropriate (I wore it to a wedding). I thought it ran small and wore the larger of my two sizes. Also, just so you know- the slit up the front is pretty high when you sit down.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
April 29, 2011
I felt SEXY in this dress, and I'm not normally a sexy type of girl. I'm a size 4 and I did wear the 4 but it was definitely snug
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
April 29, 2011
This dress is great if you are petite and small chested. It really fit me well and I am 5'2 with a barely B bust. Even though I frequently wear a 2, I ended up wearing the 4 cause the bodice was a little tight and the material does not have much give. I really liked this dress, it's fashionable and funky... definitely recommend it.
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Body type: Athletic
September 6, 2011
I loved the look of this dress, but it ran small. I have an athletic build and broad shoulders and the cut out straps didn't rest correctly on my body. I also have a small bra size so it seemed the top was slightly big on me and the body was tight. If you have a leaner athletic build this will look awesome on you.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
September 28, 2011
This dress was pretty tight around my bust but fit well over the rest of my body. And the biggest challenge for me is the length of dresses since I'm short. It was too long (past my knees) and was not flattering. If I was tall and skinny it would have fit perfectly and I would have loved to wear it but I opted with something else.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
September 28, 2011
This dress is absolutely stunning! I wore it to a cocktail party and got so many compliments. It definitely runs small. I typically wear a size 2 or 4 in designer dresses, but actually wore this one in a size 6.
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Body type: Pear
October 3, 2011
Loved the feel and look of this dress. Unfortunately I felt that it ran a bit small and was unable to wear either sized shipped. The slit on the side was very high as well...So not great for a conservative church wedding I was attending. Although I didnt get to wear this dress - I still loved RTR service. They shipped me two new dresses overnight just in time for the wedding.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 13, 2011
Loved this dress, even if it wasn't my final choice for the wedding I attended. Plan to rent it again for a date night since it lives up to its "sultry" title! The form fitting was perfect, and I suggest sizing up for your 2nd option. Also recommend a body shaper since this is so form fitting around the waist line. Will rent again!
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Body type: Straight & narrow
November 2, 2011
Dress runs small. Quality fabric.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
November 11, 2011
Not as classy as you'd want...
I got this dress after reading the reviews about how fantastic it looked and, I must admit, it wasn't as showstopping as I hoped. I ended up wearing a friends dress after my backup didn't work out either and I must warn you - the slit is much higher than it looks on the model. But I will admit the cut on the back is awesome...
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
November 14, 2011
Seriously Sexy & Flattering
This dress is amazing. Definitely size up, as I am a petite 4 and wore the 6. It looked so good, I rented it twice and got so many compliments. Really sleek and sexy.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138lbs
December 23, 2011
Feeling and looking amazing
I rented this dress for my boyfriends holiday party. It is absolutely amazing. Just the right amount of sophistication and sexiness! I am usually a size 4, so I ordered a 4 and a 6. I'm glad I ordered up because the size 4 was too tight on my hips (which are 40") but perfect on my torso and chest! The size 6 fit my hips perfectly and a padded strapless bra helped make the top less big. The slit was a lot higher than it looks in the photo, and it took a little while to get used to, but I would rent this dress again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
December 31, 2011
Totally Rocked it!
AMAZING dress! I wore this for a wedding, and I was the envy of every girl in the room. I even outshined the bride! (whoops) Perfect LBD - its unique, classy, and subtly sexy... and comfortable to boot! I danced the entire night. Runs a little snug in the hips, so I had to size up. The slit is quite high, so I tended to sit with my jacket over my lap at the church and dinner. I paired with red 4" heels and a red clutch to spice it up a bit too.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 8, 2012
Perfect LBD!
I rented this dress for a NYE party and absolutely loved it! The dress is gorgeous on! I received a lot of comments on the dress and everyone wanted to know where I bought it. Of course mentioned RTR and told everyone to check the website out. I would highly recommend this dress to anyone that is looking for a very sexy and very classy look. Just remember to size up because the dress does run small.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 136lbs
February 21, 2012
My date stopped mid-sentence when he saw the dress, to tell me I looked beautiful..
Based on other reviews, I thought this was big on top, small on bottom. I experienced the opposite. I usually wear a 4 & the 4 fit through the hips, but too tight to zip on top. The 6 was loose in the hips & still quite tight on top, but I got them in LOL. I kept fidgeting with the neckline, as it seemed to have extra length on the straps that slipped off shoulder, but tight around chest. I think I noticed it more than anyone, as I received several compliments - the dress is lovely, I just felt very chest conscious at the event, but after dinner drinks at HRH it was more appropriate.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
June 22, 2012
Getting to tell everyone about RTR after they commented on my dress!
This dress is perfect for a classy evening when you still want to feel sexy. It did run a bit small (I wore the 2 even though i'm usually a 0), but the bigger size fit really well. I didn't notice in the picture, but the dress is a bit long (well, for a short person like myself), but I still loved it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
June 25, 2012
My fiance loved me in the dress!!
Edit: Rented this for a second event bc my first dress didnt work. Size 6 fits perfect and I received lots of compliments. Sexy and classy, you can go wrong! This dress was so fun! I wore to a very upscale wedding in Beverly Hills where celebs were present, and this made me feel glamorous! This dress does run small though, I normally wear a size 2, but ordered the 4 and backup 6 due to other reviews recommending the same. I am so glad I went up a size, as I ended up wearing the 6. The 4 barely fit around my ribcage. Would not recommend for women with large busts bc it was def snug on my smaller bust. This dress hugged my booty and boobs haha!
JulieDecember 5, 2014
Totally agree. I am 105 pounds and ordered the 0 and the 2 and both were WAY TOO SMALL. :( I'm having another dress overnighted. So sad this one didn't work. I'd order 2 sizes up!!!!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
August 13, 2012
Cut-outs fall in strange place
This dress runs small compared to other dresses by this designer and the cut-outs fall in all the wrong places for someone with a big bust.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 46
August 14, 2012
pretty, but way off
this dress is really pretty, but, unfortunately, it runs way too small. i am typically a size 4 and ordered a 6 as a back-up. neither fit, and i'd be hard-pressed to believe that an 8 would even fit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
August 20, 2012
Nice in theory...
I didn't end up wearing this dress but I wanted to so bad because it is just so beautiful and modern. Unfortunately the cutouts just didn't work with my body. The leg opening was very high (even though I am fairly short) and the shoulder opening was so low in the back that I would not have been able to wear a bra. The shoulder strap was also too long for my torso. Had I worn this dress I would have needed the bigger size but it just didn't work for my body type. I do not recommend this dress for shorter and curvier women, it would have been better on a taller and straighter body.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
September 26, 2012
This dress is a perfect combination of classy and sexy in a LBD, with just enough standout details!
The fabric is fairly heavy and not super stretchy, and was quite fitted through the chest and waist. I normally wear a 4 but went with the 6 in this one, to feel more comfortable around the chest with breathing room, which then left it a little loose around the hips. It's probably pretty true to size if you are perfectly proportioned, but definitely tight if you're the slightest bit bigger on top. It also hit at the knee instead of above, which I usually don't like, but it worked well with the side slit and the cut to be very flattering and elongating.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 165lbs
October 9, 2012
Cute dress, but could of been better
The straps did not fit on my shoulders right! :(
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
October 22, 2012
This dress made me feel runway ready!
As mentioned by others this dress does run on the small side. I normally run between a 6 and an 8. Even though both fit I went with the 8 because it was more comfortable on my hips. It made sitting definitely more comfortable. The top was a little loose but nothing that caused an issue and the waist was a perfect fit. This dress was a showstopper and received many raves from friends.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
October 22, 2012
Absolutely fabulous!
This dress was such a hit! Like others said, it was a little tight in the rib area...but I also feel I have wider-than-average rib cage. Honestly, this was one of my most favorite dresses I've ever worn! The wedding was formal but it wasn't black tie. This dress made me feel like I was the best dress person there (other than the beautiful bride of course!)
LaurenDecember 28, 2013
Were you able to wear a bra with this dress?
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 18, 2012
Sexy, but runs smaller than other Black Halo dresses.
I was unable to wear this dress b/c it was too small. I did not get a second size as I have rented Black Halo before and wore a size 2, but the size 2 for this dress looked and felt much smaller.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
December 16, 2012
Many many compliments!
This was a great LBD for a holiday party. The fit was on the small side - I usually wear a 2, and the 4 was snug for me. It showed the perfect amount of skin - not too much, but enough to be interesting. I wore it with black tights and booties for warmth, a great black cuff bracelet and dangly earrings. No need for a necklace as the neckline is really beautiful on it's own.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
December 21, 2012
Perfect dress for NYE!
I wore this dress for NYE last year and it was absolutely perfect for the occasion. However, the dress is very form fitting and rides up and shifts quite a bit. You can definitely get yourself into some trouble with that slit if you are not careful. All in all I really liked this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 138lbs
December 27, 2012
Not a good experience. Do not know if I will rent again.
Due to weather the delivery was delayed. Upon tracking the package it was stated that it would arrive two days after the event. I called and customer service was helpful and would credit my account once the dresses were returned. The package then shows up 5 minutes after departing. I turn around to pick up the package. Both dresses fit in the waist and hips. The size 6 fit waist hips and bust. However was too small aroudn the rib cage. I ended up wearing an old dress of my own.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 27, 2012
Smokin' hot
This is a fantastic dress. Random strangers were stopping me all night to tell me how fabulous I looked. What an ego boost! The slit is a little dangerous when seated but otherwise, it was easy to wear with just the right amount of pizzazz. It's classy but sexy at the same time. The fit is a little on the small side so plan on sizing up. I absolutely loved this dress and plan to rent this one again. On a side note, RTR customer service was fantastic in getting this dress to me overnight when the first one I ordered didn't fit. RTR customer service ROCKS!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
January 7, 2013
I LOVED this dress- hot, yet sophisticated. Great New Year's Eve dress!
I normally wear a size 4, which was what I ordered (with a 6 as my back-up). I ended up wearing the 6 to give me a little more breathing room. There were 2 things that bothered me about the dress: 1) when I went up to the size 6, the shoulder strap fit loose; 2) there's a waistline horizontal crease that I didn't care for... I essentially wore a long jeweled necklace around my waist to cover it up (to look like a sparkly belt). But all and all- I felt great in the dress and recieved a ton of compliments. Sorry about the bad photo- this was from NYE, and my husband and I clearly had TOO much fun:)
View photos (2)
See more reviews:
1 / 6

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×