Black Halo

Sultry Cut Out Dress

$43 to buy
$345 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Show off some shoulder with this sexy Black Halo dress. To make a real statement, add on Nicole Miller's Black Crinkle Clutch, AV Max's Gold Dome Bangle and Crislu's Crystal Tear Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted at natural waist with seam
HIPS: Very fitted - stretch cotton cinches in hips and backside
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear- wear SPANX to cinch in waist
FABRIC: Fabric
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Black stretch gabardine. One shoulder neckline with cut out detail at strap. Cutout detail on back. Front vent. Hidden side zip.

Share
227 reviews
Fit
Large
(2)
True to Size
(130)
Small
(90)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
August 21, 2012
so sexy

hugged my curves in all the right spots...loved it!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 11, 2012
Perfect backup/

This was my backup from a BCBG dress that sadly couldn't fit. It was OK. Totally safe. I felt comfortable in it, and that's all that matters, cause I was dancing most of the night!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
September 19, 2012
Daring Dress

I rented this dress for New Years and it definetly is for the daring. The straps are very unique but prevent larger chested girls from wearing it as the cleavage pushes the straps from where they should lay on the shoulder, creating a weird bulge. Definetly for ladies B and under. Good as far as length but I ended up not wearing it and buying my own dress.

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
September 20, 2012
A truly sexy dress that is completely true to size!

This dress is great when you need to be conservative but also want to be a little sexy.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
October 1, 2012
Loved it!

Fit perfectly and looked great!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
October 2, 2012
Elegant and sexy.

I loved the dress, elegant but still sexy. It is a little tight in the bust area, Im a 36C so I wore the 8 instead of the 6.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 153lbs
October 8, 2012
Weird Fit

The strap fit awkwardly and the dress was not flattering on my body type.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 113lbs
October 24, 2012
I love this dress!!

I got this dress as a back up and the size 0 wwould of been what I would of worn! I loved this dress but it was a tad bit to long for me and the zipper cinched right at my hips and made the dress look a bit awkward. I would definitly reccomend this dress for someone a bit taller and maybe not so curvy in the hip area!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 112lbs
October 31, 2012
Great dress!!! Sexy but classy

Great dress, got tons of compliments. Based on the reviews I got a S and M but I honestly should have gotten an XS because the S was a little big on me.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 9, 2012
What a stunning dress. Hubby loved it and really made my birthday.

It was true to size, clung to all the right places and was not too revealing but very sexy.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 102lbs
November 11, 2012
This dress fit like a glove and made me feel sleek and sexy!

I wore this dress to a rehearsal dinner before a formal wedding. I loved it. It was comfortable, form fitting (and I am petite so I am always concerned about fit). My boyfriend said he couldn't keep his eyes off me all night!

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 18, 2012
Amazing customer service!

This dress was the perfect dress!!! Loved the fit and even considering buying the dress. The dress does run true to size and fits like a glove.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
November 24, 2012
Black Halo dresses fit beautifully!

Rented this dress in a 2 and a 4. After reading the reviews I was concerned that this brand runs small. It fit perfectly in the 2, slightly tight in the chest but still flattering. This is a very sexy dress, yet sophisticated. I would rent again.

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
December 2, 2012
Phenomenal dress! Got so many compliments.

Definitely form fitting. Could've possibly worn size 4, but the shoulder strap was loose. Dress was comfortable...danced all night. Got all kinds of compliments, even from those who only saw pictures. Felt great in it & would definitely rent it again!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
December 11, 2012
Loved this dress! It is classic yet has a little "edge".

It fits very snug. Smaller women with a larger chest would have to go up a size.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
December 19, 2012
Lots of compliments

I didn't LOVE this dress, but I did get lots of compliments on it. There was some plastic pieces in the bodice that poked out through the top of the dress and made me uncomfortable. For me the dress was not super forgiving in the belly area, so go for spanx if you have any doubts.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 106lbs
January 4, 2013
Looked better on than expected. It was a hot, fun party dress.

The fit was perfect for my petite body and was able to move about easily; despite its form fitting.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
January 19, 2013
Great dress!

This dress fit very well and was very flattering, but I decided to go with my 2nd style! I would definitely rent this dress again though.

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
January 21, 2013
Sophisticated, sexy and flattering!

I rented this for my hubby's work holiday cocktail party. It was a huge success! I actually had a woman approach me and tell me I was "gorgeous, a real knock-out" and then she turned to my husband and said, "Oh, you are one lucky man!" I wore the dress with nude heals and sheer hosiery to keep the emphasis on the collar of the dress, which is the real "wow factor". I ordered a size 4 and a size 6 and the 4 fit well. I may have been able to fit in a 2 but the hip area would have been tight. I'm larger in the hips than in the bust area and because of this I wore a strapless bra with some lift and the top of the 4 fit well. I apologize for the self portrait but my husband was too preoccupied with staring at me to take a picture. This is a perfect dress when you want to be sophisticated and sexy. I'll rent this again!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
January 27, 2013
I wore this to a friend's wedding reception and literally received dozens of comments!

This dress was completely comfortable to wear! I went without a bra & just used petal covers - it fights snugly in the bodice so a strapless bra just added bulk. It is sexy and edgy without being"too much." definetely recommend wearing with your hair up to do the dress justice! I paired it w 'bling' Mui Mui heels (hey, I'm in Texas!) and simple accessories - the dress details are all you need! I received SO MANY compliments wearing this dress - I don't want to send it back! This was my first RTR experience and it coud not have been better!

View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 138lbs
January 30, 2013
Perfect fit. Especially with a full chest.

Wore for a black tie optional event. Perfect fit perfect dress!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
January 30, 2013
Fun dress with a lot of attitude!

This was my first RTR rental and I was excited when I received my order. I wore this dress for a fundraiser that was held outside in the middle of summer, it was comfortable and light weight. This dress is short and the slit up front is high. Overall this was a fun and flattering dress.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 46
Bust size: 32DD
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
February 14, 2013
Fabulous

I received so many emotional compliments: "Oh my God--you look amazing!" From men, women and my children! ;-) The fit was wonderful. Elegant and sexy without being too much. I thought the slit would be, but it was understated, unless you throw your leg out ala Angelina Jolie, which I did not. I'd rent it again.

A.February 14, 2013
You're 42?! Wow!
KalyshaFebruary 14, 2013
stunning!! :-)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 12, 2012
This dress was great!

This is the perfect date night dress!!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 48
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 103lbs
March 11, 2013
Great dress for our annual martini party. Our theme was Casino Royale this year.

Dress fit comfortably and movement even for dancing was perfect. I received a ton of complements. I was worried about fit around the breast area but everything stayed in place. I generally run between a 0 - 2. I have a large bust but smaller hips and the 2 fit just fine.

MacheleMarch 11, 2013
How was the length on you? I am only 4'11" and am afraid it will be too long on me.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
March 19, 2013
All the compliments I got while out

This dress was really nice for a Valentines day date. It fit very well, my boyfriend loved it. It was a little less fabulous than I had in mind when ordering it based on the price. Overall, though, I enjoyed wearing it and thought it was a nice option for a fancy night out.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
April 17, 2013
Great dress, received tons of compliments on it. Classy and comfortable.

If you're planning on doing lots of dancing, I'd go a size up. This fabric does not have much give. Also, the hanging zipper clasp is on the outside, which is a little noticeable. Otherwise, a great dress!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
April 19, 2013
Wore this dress to a 1920s themed graduate formal and received compliments all night!

The dress is tight and accentuates all the right areas, but is still long enough to look classy when standing. When sitting, be careful since the slit is HIGH. The good thing about it is that it has enough features to look good on its own without a lot of fuss in terms of accessories, but is simple enough that you can jazz it up with a few simple accessories like I did (gloves, 1920s hat) without looking like a Christmas ornament. Enjoy!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
April 22, 2013
Amazing, very flattering, comfortable. I would definitely rent again.

I wore this dress to a fundraiser and it was perfect. It wasn't the typical LBD. I got so many compliments. I never had to adjust the dress through the night. The fabric was soft and movable. I would definitely rent this dress again.

View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
May 5, 2013
The funkiest little black dress ever!

This was my back up dress and it was FABULOUS! I added a fun belt to complete the look. Runs very true to size but make sure you are comfortable in a dress that shows your shape. I used fashion tape on the shoulder straps to keep them in place, and they did not move all evening. I am 5' 4' and the hem hit just below my knees, but the slit up the front showed off my legs. I received lots of compliments and felt like a million bucks... did not want to send it back!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112lbs
May 19, 2013
More casual than formal

Material was a mat black and looked too casual for my black tie event. The lining also wasn't tacked down properly so it kept peaking through the slit.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
June 3, 2013
The neckline is gorgeous.

The sizes I rented (0 and 2) were missing size tags so I'm not sure which size I wore, but they both seemed to be about the same. This dress doesn't have much room to give, but is beautiful on. I received lots of compliments and the neck line is gorgeous.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
July 31, 2013
My husband's jaw dropped when I walked in the room wearing this dress.

This is NOT a boring little black dress! Super sexy, fits like a glove and runs true to size. The leg slit and one shoulder slit give this dress that little something special. My only complaint was the outside strap on the dress felt like it wanted to fall down off my shoulder, so I had to use fashion tape to keep it in place.

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
July 31, 2013
Definitely turned some heads!

Loved the dress! Slit a little high for my comfort but was a great dress. Lots of compliments.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
October 4, 2013
Great dress, even better site!

A nice black dress with a cool twist. I'm 5'5-5'6 and it hit me at my knees so, if your shorter it will be even longer on you. One thing I noticed is that it rides up so I had to pull it down through-out the night-not a big deal though. I got a lot of compliments; I would recommend this dress and this site. Awesome service!

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 119lbs
October 23, 2013
Getting two dresses and not having to worry about any drycleaning fees! drop in mailbox and go!

Fit through the bust, waist and hips. Just slightly long (to the knee) for my liking. Still everyone was asking where I got the dress from!

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
November 4, 2011

Va, va, vavoom! Very sexy dress. I weigh 125, the small fit like a glove. Fun dress to wear!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
December 22, 2013
Great dress

I wore it to my office holiday party. It was long enough to be appropriate. It was form fitting with a little stretch. I wore one of those sticky bras that worked great with some rock and roll jewelry. I am long waist-ed and it fit nicely. It was a 4 star dress. I do have to say the dress that I got was definitely rented out more times then it should be. It had a small fray hole by the butt that I didn't notice until I was at my party :/

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 30, 2013
Great fit - felt sexy and classy at the same time.

I wore this dress for my husband's company Christmas party and it was perfect for the event. The dress was the perfect mix of sexy and classy; I got a ton of compliments while wearing it. The only thing that the picture doesn't portray is how low the bust goes - it wasn't inappropriate, it just shows more clevage than on the model. Overall, LOVED it!

Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 112lbs
February 13, 2014
This dress is simple and classy but makes a great statement...

It fits true to size. I ordered a 2 and a 0. I went with the 0 which is my normal size.

See more reviews:
4 / 6

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×