Rent the Runway

Black Halo

Sultry Cut Out Dress

$104 to buy
$345 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Show off some shoulder with this sexy Black Halo dress. To make a real statement, add on Nicole Miller's Black Crinkle Clutch, AV Max's Gold Dome Bangle and Crislu's Crystal Tear Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted at natural waist with seam
HIPS: Very fitted - stretch cotton cinches in hips and backside
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear- wear SPANX to cinch in waist
FABRIC: Fabric
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted at natural waist with seam
HIPS: Very fitted - stretch cotton cinches in hips and backside
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear- wear SPANX to cinch in waist
FABRIC: Fabric
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black stretch gabardine. One shoulder neckline with cut out detail at strap. Cutout detail on back. Front vent. Hidden side zip.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

223 reviews

Fit
Small 90
True to Size 127
Large 2
Photos 107
Ames
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 18, 2012

Sexy, but runs smaller than other Black Halo dresses.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I was unable to wear this dress b/c it was too small. I did not get a second size as I have rented Black Halo before and wore a size 2, but the size 2 for this dress looked and felt much smaller.
Indy
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 18, 2012

Amazing customer service!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was the perfect dress!!! Loved the fit and even considering buying the dress. The dress does run true to size and fits like a glove.
Girlcook
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 40
Body type: Straight & narrow
Nov 23, 2012

Stunning, showstopper piece that was well worth the money!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Dress fit perfectly. No flaws at all.
Kimberly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 24, 2012

Black Halo dresses fit beautifully!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Rented this dress in a 2 and a 4. After reading the reviews I was concerned that this brand runs small. It fit perfectly in the 2, slightly tight in the chest but still flattering. This is a very sexy dress, yet sophisticated. I would rent again.
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Dec 16, 2012

Many many compliments!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This was a great LBD for a holiday party. The fit was on the small side - I usually wear a 2, and the 4 was snug for me. It showed the perfect amount of skin - not too much, but enough to be interesting. I wore it with black tights and booties for warmth, a great black cuff bracelet and dangly earrings. No need for a necklace as the neckline is really beautiful on it's own.
Ellen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
Dec 17, 2012

Super sexy

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Fits like a glove, zero wiggle room, I wish I had the size 4. Not the best for a large bust.
Kelly
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Dec 19, 2012

Lots of compliments

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I didn't LOVE this dress, but I did get lots of compliments on it. There was some plastic pieces in the bodice that poked out through the top of the dress and made me uncomfortable. For me the dress was not super forgiving in the belly area, so go for spanx if you have any doubts.
Regan
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 138 lbs
Dec 27, 2012

Not a good experience. Do not know if I will rent again.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Due to weather the delivery was delayed. Upon tracking the package it was stated that it would arrive two days after the event. I called and customer service was helpful and would credit my account once the dresses were returned. The package then shows up 5 minutes after departing. I turn around to pick up the package. Both dresses fit in the waist and hips. The size 6 fit waist hips and bust. However was too small aroudn the rib cage. I ended up wearing an old dress of my own.
cookiemonster
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 27, 2012

Smokin' hot

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This is a fantastic dress. Random strangers were stopping me all night to tell me how fabulous I looked. What an ego boost! The slit is a little dangerous when seated but otherwise, it was easy to wear with just the right amount of pizzazz. It's classy but sexy at the same time. The fit is a little on the small side so plan on sizing up. I absolutely loved this dress and plan to rent this one again. On a side note, RTR customer service was fantastic in getting this dress to me overnight when the first one I ordered didn't fit. RTR customer service ROCKS!
Vaughn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 106 lbs
Jan 4, 2013

Looked better on than expected. It was a hot, fun party dress.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The fit was perfect for my petite body and was able to move about easily; despite its form fitting.
Theresa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 126 lbs
Jan 9, 2013

gorgeous- rented this as my back up dress.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
size 4 fit EXACTLY. almost little to tight in the chest area and I am not curvy by any means. Fit like a glove. A bustier woman would want to def go up a size. Didn't wear to event due to flu but looked stunning when I tried it on. I was very torn which dress out of the 2 I rented.
Nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 173 lbs
Jan 10, 2013

I was not impressed.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am really glad I ordered a back up style! I normally wear a size 8 but could not even get this to zip. The 10 didn't fit much better! The cut out was very low and exposed a lot of my chest and I thought the materail felt cheap. If you have the slightest of curve to your body, I would not choose this dress.
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 19, 2013

Great dress!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
This dress fit very well and was very flattering, but I decided to go with my 2nd style! I would definitely rent this dress again though.
Jessica
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 27, 2013

n/a

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I thought this dress was so beautiful and simple. Sadly, the dress in both sizes I tried on did not work. It bunched in odd places. I ended up buying a dress at a department store in Dallas.
AH
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 138 lbs
Jan 30, 2013

Perfect fit. Especially with a full chest.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Wore for a black tie optional event. Perfect fit perfect dress!
Kristen
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 30, 2013

Loved the dress! Runs a little small so would order 1 size larger.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was beautiful and fit perfect. The cut outs above the bust were deeper then expected but it gave it a sexy but sophisticated look.
Ruth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Feb 5, 2013

The dress was very nice

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I was not able to wear the dress due to the straps bulging and having an ill fit over the shoulder.
Annette
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Feb 24, 2013

The compliments are abundant in this dress.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress for my 25th high school reunion. I have rented it before and it is my go to dress. The slit is not as high as the picture depicts but, that is a good thing. It's allows you to pop on a pair of spanx. Which you need if you have any sort of curve to you. The dress is very well made and lays beautifully but be forewarned it runs small and narrow. I ordered the 2 and 4 and wore the 4 even though I am typically a 2. I may next rent the 6 next time bc I do a crazy amount of squats weekly. The curvier my butt is the tighter the dress is on the hips. I used a piece of body tape to keep the shoulder in place. Love it and will rent it again.
Debbie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 59
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 8, 2013

Didn't get to wear this beautiful dress. It fits skin tight in hips. Tried 3 dresses! Order up!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Order both your two dresses bigger than you normally wear. I would have needed a10, and I normally wear a 4 or 6. The 4, 6 and 8 were all too tight. I am 5' 7" and weigh 125 lbs. But the customer service was great and they overnighted another dress so I still wore a great dress and would do this again.
Lori
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 13, 2013

Beautiful, sexy dress but didn't fit my body properly

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
The dress is very small in the bust & rib cage area. I ordered a size 6 (which I normally wear) but unfortunately I couldn't get it zipped.
Holly
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 26, 2013

Was unable to wear, runs small and didnt fit.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Slit high, too small
Corinne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 30, 2013

Lots of great comments, though the dress has a tendency to ride up in the hips.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I loved the cut of the dress. I rented it for a recital performance and cast party and tons of great compliments, despite the riding of the skirt. Boning in the dress eliminates the need for nipple covers, and the fabric has nice stretch for movement. I recommend ordering a second dress a size larger than what you think you will wear to prevent a rising hemline (especially with that slit).
Felicia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 29, 2013

Beautiful dress

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
if you are busty - you MUST size up!
christin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
May 15, 2013

Didn't end up wearing; was just a pinch too snug but is a really cool dress.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Slit is a pinch higher than in the picture if you have shorter legs.
wos
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
May 19, 2013

Gorgeous dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Over-all fit was ok. The outer sling (I don't know how else to describe it) kept falling off my shoulder however. I'm 5'2, the dress fell right at my knees but the slit was high enough to make my legs look longer. You can wear a strapless bra with this dress. Very comfortable, hugs your body. Received tons of compliments with this dress.
Courtney
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
May 23, 2013

Hot dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Vacation
This was a great dress- I felt like Joan from Mad Men in all the possibly good ways about it. The dress from the waist down fit like a glove. (I had gotten a 4 and a 6 and when I pulled the 4 out of the bag, it looked so impossibly tiny, I knew my curves would not get into it). The top fit well, but the shoulder straps kept slipping. I definitely suggest tape to keep them in place! I wore this in Vegas with a bunch of impossibly shapely girls. I felt like I could hold my own against them in this!
Paula
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
May 23, 2013

Snug fit

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
It was great it fit nice in the hips but kept riding up, I kept having to pull the bottom back down and I am a bit fuller in the chest so the straps kept moving even with the double sided tape. The seams were a bit off in the chest but overall was smokin hot and my husband loved it!
Rachael
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Jun 3, 2013

The neckline is gorgeous.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The sizes I rented (0 and 2) were missing size tags so I'm not sure which size I wore, but they both seemed to be about the same. This dress doesn't have much room to give, but is beautiful on. I received lots of compliments and the neck line is gorgeous.
Marisol
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 118 lbs
Jun 17, 2013

Amazing!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress fit like glove. However, I think it would be a bit long for shorter women.
April
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Jul 31, 2013

My husband's jaw dropped when I walked in the room wearing this dress.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This is NOT a boring little black dress! Super sexy, fits like a glove and runs true to size. The leg slit and one shoulder slit give this dress that little something special. My only complaint was the outside strap on the dress felt like it wanted to fall down off my shoulder, so I had to use fashion tape to keep it in place.
Carrie
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Jul 31, 2013

Definitely turned some heads!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved the dress! Slit a little high for my comfort but was a great dress. Lots of compliments.
Katherine
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124 lbs
Sep 4, 2013

I wore this dress to my undergraduate award ceremony at Marquette University.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
It was a perfect fit dress for the occasion. It made me fee, sexy,....but not overl sexy.
Lee Sandra
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 5, 2013

Tons of compliments

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
None
Jasmine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Sep 26, 2013

Little Black Dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress here has sexy written all over it. With it being my night, the dress took my shine. Simple, eye turning, sexy, black dress. Cant go wrong with it. IT does rise with the split but not too much. I do have thick muscle thighs so that could been the little of the problem. But i would definitely order this dress again if need to be for a sexy event.
Ally
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 4, 2013

Great dress, even better site!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
A nice black dress with a cool twist. I'm 5'5-5'6 and it hit me at my knees so, if your shorter it will be even longer on you. One thing I noticed is that it rides up so I had to pull it down through-out the night-not a big deal though. I got a lot of compliments; I would recommend this dress and this site. Awesome service!
Vanessa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 7, 2013

Interesting dress, but not fancy enough for my event!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit was great, tailored close to the body and fit typical to Black Halo - runs small so the size 6 fit perfectly. My problem with the dress was just the neckline was a bit overwhelming and the slit was totally not appropriate for the black tie event I was attending. Probably would work better for an edgy cocktail event...I didn't end up wearing it.
Nicole
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 23, 2013

Getting two dresses and not having to worry about any drycleaning fees! drop in mailbox and go!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit through the bust, waist and hips. Just slightly long (to the knee) for my liking. Still everyone was asking where I got the dress from!
jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117 lbs
Dec 19, 2013

Loved this dress. So many compliments.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Vacation
Snug fit, which is nice for this dress. Used tape to hold it together on the top.
elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Dec 22, 2013

Great dress

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore it to my office holiday party. It was long enough to be appropriate. It was form fitting with a little stretch. I wore one of those sticky bras that worked great with some rock and roll jewelry. I am long waist-ed and it fit nicely. It was a 4 star dress. I do have to say the dress that I got was definitely rented out more times then it should be. It had a small fray hole by the butt that I didn't notice until I was at my party :/
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 30, 2013

Great fit - felt sexy and classy at the same time.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for my husband's company Christmas party and it was perfect for the event. The dress was the perfect mix of sexy and classy; I got a ton of compliments while wearing it. The only thing that the picture doesn't portray is how low the bust goes - it wasn't inappropriate, it just shows more clevage than on the model. Overall, LOVED it!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×