Black Halo

Sultry Cut Out Dress

$43 to buy
$345 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Show off some shoulder with this sexy Black Halo dress. To make a real statement, add on Nicole Miller's Black Crinkle Clutch, AV Max's Gold Dome Bangle and Crislu's Crystal Tear Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted at natural waist with seam
HIPS: Very fitted - stretch cotton cinches in hips and backside
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear- wear SPANX to cinch in waist
FABRIC: Fabric
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Black stretch gabardine. One shoulder neckline with cut out detail at strap. Cutout detail on back. Front vent. Hidden side zip.

Share
227 reviews
Fit
Large
(2)
True to Size
(130)
Small
(90)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 122lbs
April 14, 2014
Sexy and Classy
Amazing dress, I would consider renting this again! Usually I am a size 2, but ended up wearing the 4 in this. I got a lot of compliments and felt great in this dress. It's definitely the perfect combination of sexy and classy!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
April 15, 2014
Sophisticated, sexy dress.
This dress was perfect for my friend's bachelorette party. Sexy yet comfortable and easy to dance in. I was glad I sized for my second size because if you have larger hips like I do the bigger size will be needed.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 118lbs
April 15, 2014
Perfect LBD!
I felt fabulous in this dress and received so many compliments. I had hoped to find it during a RTR sample sale but have not been lucky thus far. I will say though, if you have a small bust it can fit a little loose in the bodice. But overall, a complete hit!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 118lbs
April 16, 2014
Loved the dress had many compliments!
dress fit great. i loved the neckline.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 113lbs
April 18, 2014
Dress did not fit me right
I think this dress is made for a taller person. The straps did not fit right and kept sliding off, and the body of the dress was way too tight...lots of bulges here and there on me. The size 2 was definitely too tight, and the size 4 was a bit better although it was a little longer at that point, which was not flattering to my petite frame.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 134lbs
April 24, 2014
Nothing worked at all with this dress
I read all the reviews and ordered a size larger than I normally wear. The straps were too long on my shoulder which left me exposed on the side. The waist fit but I couldn't wear the dress and had to go buy something fast. The four which is normally my size was too small in the waist but my straps fit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
May 2, 2014
This LBD was a great fit for a small chested gal like myself, lot's of compliments!
I ordered a Size 2 & 4 - ended up wearing the 2. The dress fit really well - I did not even have to wear a bra or body shaping undergarments. It was comfortable and I got a lot of compliments on the fit and neckline.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
June 5, 2014
Fabulous LBD!
I wore the four which was a little tough to zip up but worth the effort. The six was just a little too big, with the straps being a little long and the length a little too long. I dressed it up with the Ultimate Bling Bangle Stack and the Silver Pave Weave Earrings which dressed it up enough for a black tie event. Love this dress!
teriJune 12, 2014
Did you get the bangles and the earrings through RTR? If so, is that the name of them on RTR?
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
June 10, 2014
This was going to be my back-up dress but it looked so much better than my first choice.
Great fit and fabric, looks very classy and elegant. It stretches just a bit throughout the time you wear it so don't worry if it looks tight at first. Got a ton of compliments wearing it, beautiful dress.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 47
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
June 24, 2014
Unusual Cut, Very Form Fitting
This dress is beautiful, and I wanted to like it, but I couldn't quite get there. The style is great and I love that the cut is unusual, so that it is more than just a simple LBD. It doesn't hide any imperfections, however, and it isn't possible to wear smoothing undergarments because of the slit (I guess you could do something only around the waist, but I only had the kind that is shorts). Go for it, if you don't have much to hide in the midsection!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
July 2, 2014
My favorite RTR dress so far!
This dress is definitely a head turner! Wore it for a formal fundraising event and got lots of compliments and I felt great in it. Fits snug and holds you in, perfect length for a formal affair. My only complaint was that the straps were a lil loose and I had to keep fixing the top of the dress. There was definitely some side boob action going on at some points but nothing crazy. I ordered a size 6 and 8 but there was an issue with the size 6 and RTR offered me another dress at no extra charge. Luckily, the 8 fit fine. I will definitely rent this again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
July 6, 2014
I wasn't a fan of this dress for my body style
I liked this dress but it did not suit my body style. I think this dress looks fabulous on women who have more up top. It was not flattering on my smaller chest I have slightly wider hips so I went with the two for comfort. This was actually my back up dress and I ended up not choosing it
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
October 16, 2014
It was the perfect dress for a wedding.
it was very form fitting and comfortable. Definitely recommend
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
January 7, 2014
Super sexy
This dress fit perfectly! It hugged me in all of the right place,I felt sexy and comfortable the entire night. Highly recommend this style for a night out
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
October 8, 2011
This dress was amazing! I weigh around 115 and I got the dress in a size 2 and it fit really well. It was classy, yet sexy at the same time.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
August 6, 2014
Sexy and Covered - Perfection
This dress was so sexy yet I didn't feel exposed. The material is lightweight with very little sheen so it can be dressed up or down. As mentioned in other reviews, the straps were long in comparison to the fit. Great for a flat chested long torso. The material was perfect, straps were perfect, slit was perfect, length was perfect, skin but no cleavage. My only negative is that it rode up as I walked and we did a lot of walking. I wouldn't want to dance in it but it was perfect for cocktails and theater. I was stopped on the street 2x and turned a lot of heads =)
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34D
August 6, 2014
The compliments all night. Perfect for a edgy cool charity event
Runs small. Went a size up. First time renting. Will not buy another dress again. Excellent experience
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
August 15, 2014
This dress is a hit! Classy and sexy!
This dress fits perfectly and was a hit! A classy sexy dress all the way round. Highly recommend it! I would rent it a couple days before the event to ensure that no pressing is needed to ensure that the seams of the split in the dress is in the right place (not visible).This will give you time to take it for a quick press at the laundrette before your event. I had many compliments and it was perfect for the formal event. I highly recommend this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 111lbs
August 17, 2014
My event was a TV show wrap party in Hollywood. Dress was comfortable and flattering.
I ordered the 0 and 2 sizes. Needed help from the husband to zip the 0. It fit great, really snug and holding everything in it's place. But I wore the 2 which may not have flattered as much but I felt good in it. The hem was a little messed up--it needed a good pressing which I didn't have time to do. I counted on the party being dark enough to hide that. It did ride up a bit and needed downward tugging from time to time. But I even got compliments on my dress from people who do tv/film costume, which was really nice. I also used fashion tape to stick the strap to my shoulder--maybe that will help someone else. I had ordered a 2nd style of dress to be a backup but they didn't have 2 sizes available and the one I got didn't fit me. So I learned my lesson about reserving well in advance. Overall, a good 1st RTR experience.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
August 18, 2014
Petite girls beware
I rented this dress for my bachelorette party and so wanted to love it. Sadly, it just didn't work for a short girl like me. The proportions in the top were off so that the side strap bowed out in an unflattering way. Just needed to be on someone more elongated than me. Too bad so sad!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 48
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
August 24, 2014
Great dress.
Wore to a formal event. Received many glowing compliments. My Godson said I looked pretty. Normally a 4/6, but the 6 would not zip up, so I wore the 8 using a lot of 2-sided tape and safety pins to keep the top up. I am a 32F, so the 6 was a little too tight in the bust area.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122lbs
September 3, 2014
Great Date night in NYC!
I rented this dress for a NYC date (dinner and broadway musical) w/ my husband. I rented the 4 and the 6. They fit really similar, but the 6 looked weird around my waist when I moved, so I wore the 4. It's pretty reveling in the chest area (it was on me, and I'm 32DD) therefore, I won't recommend it if u are shy or conservative. It's stretchy, sexy and different... I didnt wear a bra, but it wasn't needed. One of the straps was weird and I wish I had fashion tape, cause it keep falling. The length is perfect, as is sexy on the top, so the midi length balanced the dress. I recommend it.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
September 9, 2014
Perfect LBD! Classy & sexy!
It fits like a glove so it was a little tight getting on. It took 2 girls to zip me! Once it was on it was perfect. I got so many compliments & it was comfortable enough to dance in all night. Loved this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
September 24, 2014
I loved this dress! Comfortable and true to size.
This dress was easy and comfortable for a long night of dancing at a wedding. A lot of people thought it ran small, so I got a 2 and a 4 when usually I'd get a 0 and 2, but I thought it ran very true to size and the 2 fit wonderfully. The great thing about the cut of the dress is you don't need much jewelry; I just wore small earrings and a cocktail ring. The slit was a little high, but it wasn't too inappropriate for a Catholic church. I'm also very tall, so on a shorter girl the slit would be no big deal. I will say that if I didn't have a long torso and broad shoulders that the straps would've probably been too long; I don't know if they would fit a petite girl properly. Overall, I loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
December 1, 2011
great dress, fab friends!
loved this dress. a great twist on the LBD. really sexy but not too much. Only reason I didn't give 5 stars was because the zipper seam kind of popped out in this one spot, in both the size I wore and my back up which was a size bigger. Loved it overall though!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
October 2, 2014
Great fit, great shape!
Very cool shoulder strap that fit well. The zipper was a bit hard to zip.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
October 3, 2014
Elegant and pretty
Loved this. I am short so the slit wasnt too high and very subtle. I just felt very chic
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 113lbs
August 12, 2013
The dress is amazing! Great look if you want to embody sophistication and sex appeal.
The fit is true to size. I was worried about whether it would be too large in the waist but it fit perfect. If you're slender, this dress elongates your frame even more. The slit in the front is definitely what makes the dress!
erinFebruary 5, 2014
loooove your lipstick! you are gorgeous!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
September 2, 2014
This classic dress is so sexy and I received countless compliments. I am trying to find it to buy!
It fit on the smaller side. I am between a 4/6 and wore the 6. I think it's best for a curvy or athletic figure, as I can see where the top would be too large on a small bust. Would rent again or buy in a second. Highly recommended.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
January 2, 2014
I LOVED this dress! Classy but interesting sums it up. So many compliments on New Years Eve.
I normally wear a size zero or two and the 2 was a little snug in the bust line. Other than that, great a fabulous dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 6, 2014
LBD with a twist
I thought the fabric was going to have more of a satin shine to it, but this dress is more matte than the model phote portrays. I don't think the dress was flattering on my body, but the dress itself is very interesting and unique. I wore this to a black tie optional wedding and felt it perfectly appropriate.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 108lbs
October 7, 2014
Classic with a sexy modern edge
This dress fit true to size and was comfortable once on the body. Slightly difficult to secure the zipper due to the angles of the dress. Enlist a personal valet if you are not a natural contortionist! Loved the dress in any case. This is a dress that I would love to own.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
October 17, 2014
Gorgeous Dress! Got a lot of compliments
I loved everything about this dress, but i wish i ordered a size 2 and a size 4 (instead of a 0 and a 2). it was very fitted, but complimented my body on every curve. It was a bit more snug then I expected, so i suggest you rent a size up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
October 22, 2014
Very sexy with great support!
You can't wear a bra with this dress it is too open in the back. Fortunately there is great boning in the dress to provide shape and support without a bra. Great dress with compliments all night. I will rent this one again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
October 27, 2014
Great service from RTR.
Great dress, very comfortable! Everyone complimented it throughout the night. I am very curvy, apple shape - the dress was very form fitting in the back, if you aren't comfortable having a dress accentuating you're booty then this isn't the dress for you! Loved it and would rent it again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 95lbs
October 22, 2014
Sexy and yet a classy dress.
I wore this dress to my high school reunion. This dress was my back up dress. The dress i initially rented was too big and the ladies from Rent the Runway were terrific and sent out this dress to me right away and just in time for my reunion. The fit was great. The length was just a little long only because i am petite. It was very comfortable and i didn't have any issues. The dress is sexy, and yet classy. I would definitely would recommend renting this dress.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
October 31, 2014
Would have been beautiful...had it fit.
It's a really lovely dress. A little fancier than I expected. But god it was so tight. I normally wear a 6 and rented a size up based on the reviews. Could barely zip up the 6, and while I could zip the 8, the fabric was so tight and unforgiving that you can see a noticeable pouch in my stomach. Not even Spanx could help. It looks really pretty from the front, but it's totally unforgiving from the side. The slit is definitely high, even for someone with long legs. So you gotta love your legs to wear this. I wish it had worked, but I just felt really really uncomfortable, and ended up wearing something else. Disappointing...
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 4, 2014
it fit my body like a glove.
Great fit. Classic lines. Many compliments. Very sexy with out overt sexuality. It was perfect. I am a 2 to 4 on the bottom and size 4 to 6 on top. Broad shoulders and athletic build.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 117lbs
November 5, 2014
Sexy!
I was between the size 0 and size 2. For the "sexy" effect I went with the tighter size and squeezed myself into the Size 0. I mean squeezed. It is like a corset dress. I could not wear bra in the smaller size but did not need it. I normally need bra for shape but this has shape built in. On the hangar, when it arrives, it does not look like much. But it is very sexy once on. Received many compliments from men and women. Husband LOVED it. Rented the bracelet shown. Went with black heels and kept it simple as dress makes the statement.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
November 18, 2014
sexy but still classy
This dress is sexy, but without being in your face sexy. I ordered this as my backup and ended up wearing it over the Sachin + Babi abstracting sheath. The dress runs true to size- I am normally between a 6 and 8 given my pear shape. Since this was my backup, I only had the size 6 so I can't compare sizes. If in doubt, I would say size up on this one- the 6 was a bit tight on me but I wore it anyways. The cut of the dress is a simple cut but unique. I really loved it and would definitely consider renting it again!
See more reviews:
4 / 6

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×