Black Halo

Sultry Cut Out Dress

$104 rental
$345 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Show off some shoulder with this sexy Black Halo dress. To make a real statement, add on Nicole Miller's Black Crinkle Clutch, AV Max's Gold Dome Bangle and Crislu's Crystal Tear Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted at natural waist with seam
HIPS: Very fitted - stretch cotton cinches in hips and backside
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear- wear SPANX to cinch in waist
FABRIC: Fabric
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted at natural waist with seam
HIPS: Very fitted - stretch cotton cinches in hips and backside
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear- wear SPANX to cinch in waist
FABRIC: Fabric
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black stretch gabardine. One shoulder neckline with cut out detail at strap. Cutout detail on back. Front vent. Hidden side zip.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

219 reviews

Fit
Small 89
True to Size 125
Large 2
Photos 106
Kristie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 31, 2011

Totally Rocked it!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
AMAZING dress! I wore this for a wedding, and I was the envy of every girl in the room. I even outshined the bride! (whoops) Perfect LBD - its unique, classy, and subtly sexy... and comfortable to boot! I danced the entire night. Runs a little snug in the hips, so I had to size up. The slit is quite high, so I tended to sit with my jacket over my lap at the church and dinner. I paired with red 4" heels and a red clutch to spice it up a bit too.
Sherry
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Jun 25, 2012

My fiance loved me in the dress!!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Edit: Rented this for a second event bc my first dress didnt work. Size 6 fits perfect and I received lots of compliments. Sexy and classy, you can go wrong! This dress was so fun! I wore to a very upscale wedding in Beverly Hills where celebs were present, and this made me feel glamorous! This dress does run small though, I normally wear a size 2, but ordered the 4 and backup 6 due to other reviews recommending the same. I am so glad I went up a size, as I ended up wearing the 6. The 4 barely fit around my ribcage. Would not recommend for women with large busts bc it was def snug on my smaller bust. This dress hugged my booty and boobs haha!
Lindsay
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Nov 19, 2012

This dress is classy and sexy! I can't wait to rent it again!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress is long, but the slit does ride up when you sit down. I had a pashmina that I wore, so I was able to cover my legs up in church. Other than that, this dress is so fun to wear!
Meredith
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Jul 24, 2013

Absolutely LOVED this dress! Sexy and elegant!!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to an outdoor afternoon/evening wedding. It was perfect!! I got many compliments on the dress and felt so sexy yet classy in it. I was easily able to dance and party the night away in it. This was truly a dress I wished I didn't have to return. I would rent this one again for any occasion, even a dinner out. I felt amazing in it!! Thank you RTR!
Shann
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 113 lbs
Aug 12, 2013

The dress is amazing! Great look if you want to embody sophistication and sex appeal.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The fit is true to size. I was worried about whether it would be too large in the waist but it fit perfect. If you're slender, this dress elongates your frame even more. The slit in the front is definitely what makes the dress!
Debbie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 123 lbs
Oct 8, 2013

General consensus: "HAWWWT!"

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
First things first, I got compliments all night. I did have a few fit issues. Normally I do fine in a size 4 but really wished I got a 6 instead of a 2 as my second size, as the 4 was mighty snug. But because I have a shorter torso, the shoulder part was loose and if I had gone with a 6, I'd have risked a nip-slip due to the cut-out detail. The hem went slightly below my knee but I found myself tugging the skirt down because of the slit, which was well over my upper thigh.This was my first dress since giving birth & I'm still trying to figure out what works best with my body post-baby. While I had my own issues, everyone else-- thought it looked "smokin hot" on me.
Nina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 7, 2013

Great dress for a wedding & a cool back!!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Good thing I read the other reviews... This dress runs small and the straps are a bit oddly proportioned (too long), so use tape if you are large-busted. That said, other than a minor adjustment or two when putting it on, it was a great dress to wear to an evening wedding & I seriously got compliments all night from friends and other guests. The slit is NOT as high as it appears on the model, so it's classy & classic - but a step above a LBD. I highly recommend this dress!
Yanelis
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Dec 29, 2013

Great dress !!! Great service!! It was a hit !!!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for a Christmas Party. Dress runs small and I ended up wearing the size 2 when i normally wear a 0 . Size 2 felt more comfortable around the bust area (34D). I did use the double sided tape due having to adjust the straps constantly. This dress was classy with a touch of sexy and just what i was looking for.
Danielle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Jan 2, 2014

I LOVED this dress! Classy but interesting sums it up. So many compliments on New Years Eve.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I normally wear a size zero or two and the 2 was a little snug in the bust line. Other than that, great a fabulous dress.
Christine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118 lbs
Jan 7, 2014

Super sexy

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress fit perfectly! It hugged me in all of the right place,I felt sexy and comfortable the entire night. Highly recommend this style for a night out
Rebecca
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Mar 29, 2014

Perfect for work cocktail party in Vegas.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I am between a 4/6 in dress sizes, I wore this in a 6.
Krissy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Apr 16, 2014

Sexy and classy LBD

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress for a wedding and loved it! It was comfortable and it looked great. The cut out detail in the back is really nice also. It runs a little small (I had to have my friend's husband zip me into it). I still ended up in my typical size, but I would order your normal size and the next size up to be safe. I am also pretty short (like 5'2) and it was still a perfect length. A great dress for when you want to look sophisticated, but still sexy!
Nachelle
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 118 lbs
Apr 16, 2014

Loved the dress had many compliments!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
dress fit great. i loved the neckline.
Jen
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
May 2, 2014

This LBD was a great fit for a small chested gal like myself, lot's of compliments!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered a Size 2 & 4 - ended up wearing the 2. The dress fit really well - I did not even have to wear a bra or body shaping undergarments. It was comfortable and I got a lot of compliments on the fit and neckline.
Robin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Jun 5, 2014

Fabulous LBD!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore the four which was a little tough to zip up but worth the effort. The six was just a little too big, with the straps being a little long and the length a little too long. I dressed it up with the Ultimate Bling Bangle Stack and the Silver Pave Weave Earrings which dressed it up enough for a black tie event. Love this dress!
Margarita
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Jun 10, 2014

This was going to be my back-up dress but it looked so much better than my first choice.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Great fit and fabric, looks very classy and elegant. It stretches just a bit throughout the time you wear it so don't worry if it looks tight at first. Got a ton of compliments wearing it, beautiful dress.
Sylvie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Jul 2, 2014

My favorite RTR dress so far!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is definitely a head turner! Wore it for a formal fundraising event and got lots of compliments and I felt great in it. Fits snug and holds you in, perfect length for a formal affair. My only complaint was that the straps were a lil loose and I had to keep fixing the top of the dress. There was definitely some side boob action going on at some points but nothing crazy. I ordered a size 6 and 8 but there was an issue with the size 6 and RTR offered me another dress at no extra charge. Luckily, the 8 fit fine. I will definitely rent this again.
LaurieW
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Jul 22, 2014

Many compliments!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Usually I wear a 4 but thankfully I ordered a 6 as well and that fit perfectly. So I'd say its roughly true to size. The one sided shoulder straps fit awkward. Several times during the night the lower strap slipped down my shoulder. Unless you have absolute perfect posture (which I dont) and stood and sat up perfectly straight the entire time, the fit was slightly awkward sitting on the shoulder and in the back. The other strap seemed to fit tight and high on my neck. Loved the split skirt. Overall a great looking dress though. I received many compliments.
Heather
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Aug 6, 2014

Sexy and Covered - Perfection

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This dress was so sexy yet I didn't feel exposed. The material is lightweight with very little sheen so it can be dressed up or down. As mentioned in other reviews, the straps were long in comparison to the fit. Great for a flat chested long torso. The material was perfect, straps were perfect, slit was perfect, length was perfect, skin but no cleavage. My only negative is that it rode up as I walked and we did a lot of walking. I wouldn't want to dance in it but it was perfect for cocktails and theater. I was stopped on the street 2x and turned a lot of heads =)
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34D
Aug 6, 2014

The compliments all night. Perfect for a edgy cool charity event

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
Runs small. Went a size up. First time renting. Will not buy another dress again. Excellent experience
aroque
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Aug 15, 2014

This dress is a hit! Classy and sexy!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress fits perfectly and was a hit! A classy sexy dress all the way round. Highly recommend it! I would rent it a couple days before the event to ensure that no pressing is needed to ensure that the seams of the split in the dress is in the right place (not visible).This will give you time to take it for a quick press at the laundrette before your event. I had many compliments and it was perfect for the formal event. I highly recommend this dress.
Danielle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 111 lbs
Aug 17, 2014

My event was a TV show wrap party in Hollywood. Dress was comfortable and flattering.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I ordered the 0 and 2 sizes. Needed help from the husband to zip the 0. It fit great, really snug and holding everything in it's place. But I wore the 2 which may not have flattered as much but I felt good in it. The hem was a little messed up--it needed a good pressing which I didn't have time to do. I counted on the party being dark enough to hide that. It did ride up a bit and needed downward tugging from time to time. But I even got compliments on my dress from people who do tv/film costume, which was really nice. I also used fashion tape to stick the strap to my shoulder--maybe that will help someone else. I had ordered a 2nd style of dress to be a backup but they didn't have 2 sizes available and the one I got didn't fit me. So I learned my lesson about reserving well in advance. Overall, a good 1st RTR experience.
Wendy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 24, 2014

Great dress.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Wore to a formal event. Received many glowing compliments. My Godson said I looked pretty. Normally a 4/6, but the 6 would not zip up, so I wore the 8 using a lot of 2-sided tape and safety pins to keep the top up. I am a 32F, so the 6 was a little too tight in the bust area.
Lizzie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Sep 2, 2014

This classic dress is so sexy and I received countless compliments. I am trying to find it to buy!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
It fit on the smaller side. I am between a 4/6 and wore the 6. I think it's best for a curvy or athletic figure, as I can see where the top would be too large on a small bust. Would rent again or buy in a second. Highly recommended.
V
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 3, 2014

Great Date night in NYC!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I rented this dress for a NYC date (dinner and broadway musical) w/ my husband. I rented the 4 and the 6. They fit really similar, but the 6 looked weird around my waist when I moved, so I wore the 4. It's pretty reveling in the chest area (it was on me, and I'm 32DD) therefore, I won't recommend it if u are shy or conservative. It's stretchy, sexy and different... I didnt wear a bra, but it wasn't needed. One of the straps was weird and I wish I had fashion tape, cause it keep falling. The length is perfect, as is sexy on the top, so the midi length balanced the dress. I recommend it.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Sep 9, 2014

Perfect LBD! Classy & sexy!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It fits like a glove so it was a little tight getting on. It took 2 girls to zip me! Once it was on it was perfect. I got so many compliments & it was comfortable enough to dance in all night. Loved this dress!
Ashley
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 24, 2014

I loved this dress! Comfortable and true to size.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was easy and comfortable for a long night of dancing at a wedding. A lot of people thought it ran small, so I got a 2 and a 4 when usually I'd get a 0 and 2, but I thought it ran very true to size and the 2 fit wonderfully. The great thing about the cut of the dress is you don't need much jewelry; I just wore small earrings and a cocktail ring. The slit was a little high, but it wasn't too inappropriate for a Catholic church. I'm also very tall, so on a shorter girl the slit would be no big deal. I will say that if I didn't have a long torso and broad shoulders that the straps would've probably been too long; I don't know if they would fit a petite girl properly. Overall, I loved it!
Julia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Oct 2, 2014

Great fit, great shape!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Very cool shoulder strap that fit well. The zipper was a bit hard to zip.
Julianne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Oct 3, 2014

Elegant and pretty

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved this. I am short so the slit wasnt too high and very subtle. I just felt very chic
Gaila
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112 lbs
Oct 7, 2014

Classic with a sexy modern edge

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress fit true to size and was comfortable once on the body. Slightly difficult to secure the zipper due to the angles of the dress. Enlist a personal valet if you are not a natural contortionist! Loved the dress in any case. This is a dress that I would love to own.
Carol
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 95 lbs
Oct 22, 2014

Sexy and yet a classy dress.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress to my high school reunion. This dress was my back up dress. The dress i initially rented was too big and the ladies from Rent the Runway were terrific and sent out this dress to me right away and just in time for my reunion. The fit was great. The length was just a little long only because i am petite. It was very comfortable and i didn't have any issues. The dress is sexy, and yet classy. I would definitely would recommend renting this dress.
Kelli
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 22, 2014

Very sexy with great support!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
You can't wear a bra with this dress it is too open in the back. Fortunately there is great boning in the dress to provide shape and support without a bra. Great dress with compliments all night. I will rent this one again!
Alexis
Age: 29
Oct 27, 2014

Great service from RTR.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Great dress, very comfortable! Everyone complimented it throughout the night. I am very curvy, apple shape - the dress was very form fitting in the back, if you aren't comfortable having a dress accentuating you're booty then this isn't the dress for you! Loved it and would rent it again!
Rachelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123 lbs
Nov 21, 2014

Great after 5 elegant dress for a Napa wedding in September :)

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Sexy and elegant dress! This is my second time renting this dress!
Cristin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 1, 2014

Stunning

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Formal Affair
Form fitting. Love the slit and the one shoulder double strap detail. So many compliments all night
Ms.Ginna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 118 lbs
Dec 10, 2014

Everything you are looking for in a Sexy dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Sexy dress! Endless compliments! ( My Husband couldn't keep his hands off me!). Hugs the body, so be ready to show some curves. True to size. Great for any important event or date night.
RTR Customer
Dec 15, 2014

Process was easy and fast!

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is absolutely worth renting over and over! This was my second time renting it and it did not disappoint! Received compliments the entire evening. Will probably rent again!
pui
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Dec 20, 2014

Very sexy but loose straps

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Very sexy and shows off shoulders. Very tight in the chest/ribcage (32C/34B), had to move up to a 2 however then the straps were too loose. I had to stand up straight the entire event and I felt like a robot.
E
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 6, 2015

Unique & very fashion

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
pros. Look spectacular. Cons. Terrible to zip!!
Alyssa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Jan 7, 2015

Looking killer.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This is an AMAZING LBD. Rented the 0 and the 2 and I love it so much I'm probably going to buy it on the clearance sale! This runs true to size for me seeing as most zeros tend to fit large on me. I definitely recommend fashion tape with this dress since I have narrow shoulders and I had to tape them to keep the straps from falling down. The back/sides are what makes the dress, so make sure it stays put! I got compliments on this all night at the Xmas party!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×