Black Halo

Sultry Cut Out Dress

$39 to buy
$345 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Show off some shoulder with this sexy Black Halo dress. To make a real statement, add on Nicole Miller's Black Crinkle Clutch, AV Max's Gold Dome Bangle and Crislu's Crystal Tear Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted at natural waist with seam
HIPS: Very fitted - stretch cotton cinches in hips and backside
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear- wear SPANX to cinch in waist
FABRIC: Fabric
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Black stretch gabardine. One shoulder neckline with cut out detail at strap. Cutout detail on back. Front vent. Hidden side zip.

Share
227 reviews
Fit
Large
(2)
True to Size
(130)
Small
(90)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 138lbs
January 30, 2013
Perfect fit. Especially with a full chest.
Wore for a black tie optional event. Perfect fit perfect dress!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
January 30, 2013
Loved the dress! Runs a little small so would order 1 size larger.
The dress was beautiful and fit perfect. The cut outs above the bust were deeper then expected but it gave it a sexy but sophisticated look.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
January 30, 2013
Fun dress with a lot of attitude!
This was my first RTR rental and I was excited when I received my order. I wore this dress for a fundraiser that was held outside in the middle of summer, it was comfortable and light weight. This dress is short and the slit up front is high. Overall this was a fun and flattering dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 46
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
February 14, 2013
Fabulous
I received so many emotional compliments: "Oh my God--you look amazing!" From men, women and my children! ;-) The fit was wonderful. Elegant and sexy without being too much. I thought the slit would be, but it was understated, unless you throw your leg out ala Angelina Jolie, which I did not. I'd rent it again.
A.September 10, 2013
You're 42?! Wow!
KalyshaJanuary 4, 2014
stunning!! :-)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 12, 2012
This dress was great!
This is the perfect date night dress!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 47
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
February 24, 2013
The compliments are abundant in this dress.
I rented this dress for my 25th high school reunion. I have rented it before and it is my go to dress. The slit is not as high as the picture depicts but, that is a good thing. It's allows you to pop on a pair of spanx. Which you need if you have any sort of curve to you. The dress is very well made and lays beautifully but be forewarned it runs small and narrow. I ordered the 2 and 4 and wore the 4 even though I am typically a 2. I may next rent the 6 next time bc I do a crazy amount of squats weekly. The curvier my butt is the tighter the dress is on the hips. I used a piece of body tape to keep the shoulder in place. Love it and will rent it again.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 61
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
March 8, 2013
Didn't get to wear this beautiful dress. It fits skin tight in hips. Tried 3 dresses! Order up!
Order both your two dresses bigger than you normally wear. I would have needed a10, and I normally wear a 4 or 6. The 4, 6 and 8 were all too tight. I am 5' 7" and weigh 125 lbs. But the customer service was great and they overnighted another dress so I still wore a great dress and would do this again.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 47
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 103lbs
March 11, 2013
Great dress for our annual martini party. Our theme was Casino Royale this year.
Dress fit comfortably and movement even for dancing was perfect. I received a ton of complements. I was worried about fit around the breast area but everything stayed in place. I generally run between a 0 - 2. I have a large bust but smaller hips and the 2 fit just fine.
MacheleJanuary 2, 2014
How was the length on you? I am only 4'11" and am afraid it will be too long on me.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
March 19, 2013
All the compliments I got while out
This dress was really nice for a Valentines day date. It fit very well, my boyfriend loved it. It was a little less fabulous than I had in mind when ordering it based on the price. Overall, though, I enjoyed wearing it and thought it was a nice option for a fancy night out.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Athletic
March 20, 2013
OMG - The most amazing LBD!!!!
I LOVE LOVE LOVE this dress!!! It does run a smidge small. I am solid size 10 or Large and this was definitely snug. But snug is perfect for Vegas. So I was completely thrilled with my look. Didn't need to wear a bra, even with my DDD chest (which is a huge plus). I am 6"0" tall with an athletic build. The bottom of the dress hit above my knee and the slit added great drama. So sexy and so happy with this one! Highly recommend!!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
March 28, 2013
Beautiful Dress, Just Not for Me
Gorgeous dress- stylish, elegant & sexy in a subtle way. Unfortunately, the dress was not cut for someone with my body shape- larger rib cage, hourglass figure, shorter torso & shorter neck. The strap hit my neck at an odd angle & then gaped open in the back. It was also a bit difficult to zip up & the waist line hit me at an odd place due to my larger rib cage & shorter torso. I wish it would have worked for me since it was so darling on the model, but it sadly wasn't meant to be.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
March 30, 2013
Lots of great comments, though the dress has a tendency to ride up in the hips.
I loved the cut of the dress. I rented it for a recital performance and cast party and tons of great compliments, despite the riding of the skirt. Boning in the dress eliminates the need for nipple covers, and the fabric has nice stretch for movement. I recommend ordering a second dress a size larger than what you think you will wear to prevent a rising hemline (especially with that slit).
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
April 17, 2013
Great dress, received tons of compliments on it. Classy and comfortable.
If you're planning on doing lots of dancing, I'd go a size up. This fabric does not have much give. Also, the hanging zipper clasp is on the outside, which is a little noticeable. Otherwise, a great dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
April 19, 2013
Wore this dress to a 1920s themed graduate formal and received compliments all night!
The dress is tight and accentuates all the right areas, but is still long enough to look classy when standing. When sitting, be careful since the slit is HIGH. The good thing about it is that it has enough features to look good on its own without a lot of fuss in terms of accessories, but is simple enough that you can jazz it up with a few simple accessories like I did (gloves, 1920s hat) without looking like a Christmas ornament. Enjoy!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
April 22, 2013
Amazing, very flattering, comfortable. I would definitely rent again.
I wore this dress to a fundraiser and it was perfect. It wasn't the typical LBD. I got so many compliments. I never had to adjust the dress through the night. The fabric was soft and movable. I would definitely rent this dress again.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Body type: Full Bust
April 30, 2013
I felt great in this dress!
I rented the 4 and 6, and the 4 was just a little too tight. The 6 made for a much more comfortable evening but still looked great! I got lots of compliments on this dress and really liked how it was classy but also very sexy!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
May 5, 2013
The funkiest little black dress ever!
This was my back up dress and it was FABULOUS! I added a fun belt to complete the look. Runs very true to size but make sure you are comfortable in a dress that shows your shape. I used fashion tape on the shoulder straps to keep them in place, and they did not move all evening. I am 5' 4' and the hem hit just below my knees, but the slit up the front showed off my legs. I received lots of compliments and felt like a million bucks... did not want to send it back!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
May 15, 2013
Didn't end up wearing; was just a pinch too snug but is a really cool dress.
Slit is a pinch higher than in the picture if you have shorter legs.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112lbs
May 19, 2013
More casual than formal
Material was a mat black and looked too casual for my black tie event. The lining also wasn't tacked down properly so it kept peaking through the slit.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
May 19, 2013
Gorgeous dress!
Over-all fit was ok. The outer sling (I don't know how else to describe it) kept falling off my shoulder however. I'm 5'2, the dress fell right at my knees but the slit was high enough to make my legs look longer. You can wear a strapless bra with this dress. Very comfortable, hugs your body. Received tons of compliments with this dress.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
May 23, 2013
Snug fit
It was great it fit nice in the hips but kept riding up, I kept having to pull the bottom back down and I am a bit fuller in the chest so the straps kept moving even with the double sided tape. The seams were a bit off in the chest but overall was smokin hot and my husband loved it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
June 3, 2013
The neckline is gorgeous.
The sizes I rented (0 and 2) were missing size tags so I'm not sure which size I wore, but they both seemed to be about the same. This dress doesn't have much room to give, but is beautiful on. I received lots of compliments and the neck line is gorgeous.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
July 31, 2013
My husband's jaw dropped when I walked in the room wearing this dress.
This is NOT a boring little black dress! Super sexy, fits like a glove and runs true to size. The leg slit and one shoulder slit give this dress that little something special. My only complaint was the outside strap on the dress felt like it wanted to fall down off my shoulder, so I had to use fashion tape to keep it in place.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
July 31, 2013
Definitely turned some heads!
Loved the dress! Slit a little high for my comfort but was a great dress. Lots of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124lbs
September 4, 2013
I wore this dress to my undergraduate award ceremony at Marquette University.
It was a perfect fit dress for the occasion. It made me fee, sexy,....but not overl sexy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
October 4, 2013
Great dress, even better site!
A nice black dress with a cool twist. I'm 5'5-5'6 and it hit me at my knees so, if your shorter it will be even longer on you. One thing I noticed is that it rides up so I had to pull it down through-out the night-not a big deal though. I got a lot of compliments; I would recommend this dress and this site. Awesome service!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 7, 2013
Interesting dress, but not fancy enough for my event!
The fit was great, tailored close to the body and fit typical to Black Halo - runs small so the size 6 fit perfectly. My problem with the dress was just the neckline was a bit overwhelming and the slit was totally not appropriate for the black tie event I was attending. Probably would work better for an edgy cocktail event...I didn't end up wearing it.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 119lbs
October 23, 2013
Getting two dresses and not having to worry about any drycleaning fees! drop in mailbox and go!
Fit through the bust, waist and hips. Just slightly long (to the knee) for my liking. Still everyone was asking where I got the dress from!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
November 7, 2013
Great dress for a wedding & a cool back!!
Good thing I read the other reviews... This dress runs small and the straps are a bit oddly proportioned (too long), so use tape if you are large-busted. That said, other than a minor adjustment or two when putting it on, it was a great dress to wear to an evening wedding & I seriously got compliments all night from friends and other guests. The slit is NOT as high as it appears on the model, so it's classy & classic - but a step above a LBD. I highly recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
November 4, 2011
Va, va, vavoom! Very sexy dress. I weigh 125, the small fit like a glove. Fun dress to wear!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
March 13, 2013
Beautiful, sexy dress but didn't fit my body properly
The dress is very small in the bust & rib cage area. I ordered a size 6 (which I normally wear) but unfortunately I couldn't get it zipped.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117lbs
December 19, 2013
Loved this dress. So many compliments.
Snug fit, which is nice for this dress. Used tape to hold it together on the top.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
December 22, 2013
Great dress
I wore it to my office holiday party. It was long enough to be appropriate. It was form fitting with a little stretch. I wore one of those sticky bras that worked great with some rock and roll jewelry. I am long waist-ed and it fit nicely. It was a 4 star dress. I do have to say the dress that I got was definitely rented out more times then it should be. It had a small fray hole by the butt that I didn't notice until I was at my party :/
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 29, 2013
Great dress !!! Great service!! It was a hit !!!
I rented this dress for a Christmas Party. Dress runs small and I ended up wearing the size 2 when i normally wear a 0 . Size 2 felt more comfortable around the bust area (34D). I did use the double sided tape due having to adjust the straps constantly. This dress was classy with a touch of sexy and just what i was looking for.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 30, 2013
Great fit - felt sexy and classy at the same time.
I wore this dress for my husband's company Christmas party and it was perfect for the event. The dress was the perfect mix of sexy and classy; I got a ton of compliments while wearing it. The only thing that the picture doesn't portray is how low the bust goes - it wasn't inappropriate, it just shows more clevage than on the model. Overall, LOVED it!
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
January 13, 2014
Not for Short Girls
This dress fit oddly and was really difficult to zip. It was a back up, fortunately, and I ended up wearing my first choice. I'm curvy for my height and size, and this dress is clearly cut for someone put together less curvy. The length was really odd on my, I think if I were a couple inches taller, the dress would have been nice. It's not a very formal material, but a very pretty dress on the right person.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 112lbs
February 13, 2014
This dress is simple and classy but makes a great statement...
It fits true to size. I ordered a 2 and a 0. I went with the 0 which is my normal size.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
March 9, 2014
was my back up
I ordered this dress for back up. I sized up as recommended which is the right choice if you want to rent this dress. Overall I didn't like it for me because I am petite and I found the straps just didn't lay right on my shoulders. I believe this dress is best for ladies who are taller than I. It's a super sexy dress, but just didn't work for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
March 29, 2014
Perfect for work cocktail party in Vegas.
I am between a 4/6 in dress sizes, I wore this in a 6.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
April 7, 2014
LOVE LOVE LOVED it - Sexy and classy - Stunning dress. Very tight in all the right spots.
Its tight - so if there are any areas you don't want to highlight the negative - this dress may not be for you I was comfortable in it all night - sexy and classy at the same time. Perfect lil LBD
See more reviews:
3 / 6

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×