You are masquerading as ! (switch back)
| REVIEWS |
 
| MY BAG
 

FREE SHIPPING + INSURANCE
What's this?

Rent like a PRO all year long! One year of
free shipping & insurance. Plus, we'll throw in
a free birthday dress. Learn More

Our Runway
What's New
Dresses
Accessories
Occasions
Designers
Stores
Blog
Sultry Cut Out Dress
Rental $45 Retail $345
info
  • Stylist Notes
  • Product Details
  • Size & Fit
Show off some shoulder with this sexy Black Halo dress. To make a real statement, add on Nicole Miller's Black Crinkle Clutch, AV Max's Gold Dome Bangle and Crislu's Crystal Tear Earrings.
Chat with a Stylist
Black stretch gabardine. One shoulder neckline with cut out detail at strap. Cutout detail on back. Front vent. Hidden side zip.
Chat with a Stylist
This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted at natural waist with seam
HIPS: Very fitted - stretch cotton cinches in hips and backside
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear- wear SPANX to cinch in waist
FABRIC: Fabric
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Chat with a Stylist
  • Enter your shipping zip code
  • Select size
    Select free 2nd size
  • Select the day you'd like your dress to arrive
    We recommend you select a rental start date 1-2 days before your event.
    Renting for Thanksgiving weekend? Enjoy an extended rental on us! Rent for 11/27 and return 12/1.
    • Start Date
    • Mail Back
    • Unavailable
    • *No delivery on Sundays
Got A Minute? Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.
Fit
Small
True to Size
Large
Photos73

0 Reviews from women like you:

Enter more for better results

shonte
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6543
Oct 13, 2012
Super Sexy Black Dress!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
i got a size 6 and a size 8 but the 6 fit my bust line much better than the 8. I received many compliments and i cant wait to rent again:-)
Mel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4431
Aug 20, 2012
Got lots of compliments in this dress!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I really liked this dress! I got a lot of compliments in it. I agree with some of the other reviewers that it was a little tight around the rib cage, but it was still comfortable. The slit was higher than I thought it would go, but it never caused a problem. I'd highly recommend renting this dress!
Katherine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5444
Aug 15, 2012
I was complimented all night on how classy and sophisticated this dress was
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I wore this on a date to the Four Seasons for a birthday party and it was perfect! Very chic and sexy at the same time.
Judy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5623
Aug 6, 2012
The on-time shipping and the ability to rent two different sizes for the price of one. I think that's the best part of what you offer.
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress is stunning! Looks great on someone like me who has curves. It's classy and elegant, with a touch of sassy. Comfortable and easy to wear. I recommend it to anyone.
Melia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2423
Jun 22, 2012
Getting to tell everyone about RTR after they commented on my dress!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is perfect for a classy evening when you still want to feel sexy. It did run a bit small (I wore the 2 even though i'm usually a 0), but the bigger size fit really well. I didn't notice in the picture, but the dress is a bit long (well, for a short person like myself), but I still loved it!
anny
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4533
May 21, 2012
The dress received many comments!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is very simple yet so elegant! Its my second time renting it and I would rent it again!
Trang
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2433
May 29, 2012
I really wasn't expecting this dress to flatter my body as much as it did, but I was delightfully surprised!
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Can I just say... for the price of this rental, WOW. This dress = style + class meets sexy. You really don't see as much leg when you are wearing it dress, unless your stance is like the one pictured on the RTR model or if your legs are crossed. The length is great and I would really recommended it if you have a thin frame. Also, since it's plain black, you can add a pop of color through your shoes and accessories. I am 5'5" and 105-107 lbs., and this dress was able to allude to my assets without showing too much skin!
rebecca
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5634
Feb 21, 2012
My date stopped mid-sentence when he saw the dress, to tell me I looked beautiful..
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Based on other reviews, I thought this was big on top, small on bottom. I experienced the opposite. I usually wear a 4 & the 4 fit through the hips, but too tight to zip on top. The 6 was loose in the hips & still quite tight on top, but I got them in LOL. I kept fidgeting with the neckline, as it seemed to have extra length on the straps that slipped off shoulder, but tight around chest. I think I noticed it more than anyone, as I received several compliments - the dress is lovely, I just felt very chest conscious at the event, but after dinner drinks at HRH it was more appropriate.
Kali
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 137 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6433
Jan 5, 2012
Exciting when box arrives!!! Arrived at 8 am delivery day & packaged nicely
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Wore to a NYE wedding & had guests tell me they liked it! Not sure how it would look on a shorter person because of the very high leg slit. Wore w/ a nubra b/c of the back. Wore with black tights & short gray boots. I did have to keep pulling it down b/c it was so fitting, but I think the material is high-quality and flattering. Order a bigger back-up size. VERY happy with my first RTR purchase!!!!
Cara
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4433
Jan 3, 2012
I will always think of RTR for my special occasions now. Everyone who saw the dress said it looked amazing. Thanks!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I absolutely loved this dress. This was my first rent the runway experience and I have been promoting the website ever since to all my friends. I received a ton of compliments. The dress was elegant but beautiful. I rented a size 4 ( the 6 was sold out) and was a little nervous because of other reviews saying it fit tight. The 4 fit just fine luckily :).
Kim
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4543
Dec 23, 2011
Feeling and looking amazing
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for my boyfriends holiday party. It is absolutely amazing. Just the right amount of sophistication and sexiness! I am usually a size 4, so I ordered a 4 and a 6. I'm glad I ordered up because the size 4 was too tight on my hips (which are 40") but perfect on my torso and chest! The size 6 fit my hips perfectly and a padded strapless bra helped make the top less big. The slit was a lot higher than it looks in the photo, and it took a little while to get used to, but I would rent this dress again!
Meg
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5534
Dec 1, 2011
great dress, fab friends!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
loved this dress. a great twist on the LBD. really sexy but not too much. Only reason I didn't give 5 stars was because the zipper seam kind of popped out in this one spot, in both the size I wore and my back up which was a size bigger. Loved it overall though!
CD
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4443
Oct 4, 2010
The wedding was out of town, and the ease of having the dress delivered to the out of town location and not having to pack it or worry about wrinkles made the experience 20x better!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I absolutely loved this dress and got soo many compliments. I wore it to a wedding and my date said I outshined the bride, oops! The slit is a little high. I wore a slip and had to constantly pull that up and the dress down. But it wasn't anything vulgar, just make sure to cross your legs like a lady! Very form fitting and comfortable, I would recommend it to everyone!
Ivy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 118 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3533
Apr 15, 2014
Perfect LBD!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I felt fabulous in this dress and received so many compliments. I had hoped to find it during a RTR sample sale but have not been lucky thus far. I will say though, if you have a small bust it can fit a little loose in the bodice. But overall, a complete hit!
Leann
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5543
Apr 15, 2014
Sophisticated, sexy dress.
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was perfect for my friend's bachelorette party. Sexy yet comfortable and easy to dance in. I was glad I sized for my second size because if you have larger hips like I do the bigger size will be needed.
christine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 122 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3434
Apr 14, 2014
Sexy and Classy
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
Amazing dress, I would consider renting this again! Usually I am a size 2, but ended up wearing the 4 in this. I got a lot of compliments and felt great in this dress. It's definitely the perfect combination of sexy and classy!
C
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4632
Apr 7, 2014
LOVE LOVE LOVED it - Sexy and classy - Stunning dress. Very tight in all the right spots.
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Its tight - so if there are any areas you don't want to highlight the negative - this dress may not be for you I was comfortable in it all night - sexy and classy at the same time. Perfect lil LBD
Natasha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4534
Apr 5, 2014
Great Party Dress
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This was my backup dress that I didn't end up wearing. A little fashion tape did wonders to keep the strap secured.
Fisher's Mom
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 35
Body type: Straight & narrow
Canonical User Type: 5541
Mar 24, 2014
This dress is cool and sexy, but doesn't make you look like you're trying too had.
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
My husband isn't one to go on and on about a dress, but he loved this one so much that he told me I should buy it. I can't justify buying it, but I definitely plan to rent it again. People literally came across the room to tell me how much they loved it. It was the first cocktail dress I'd worn since having a baby six months before, and this was absolutely perfect.
KaseyK
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3623
Mar 9, 2014
was my back up
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered this dress for back up. I sized up as recommended which is the right choice if you want to rent this dress. Overall I didn't like it for me because I am petite and I found the straps just didn't lay right on my shoulders. I believe this dress is best for ladies who are taller than I. It's a super sexy dress, but just didn't work for me.
Beth
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5633
Mar 6, 2014
Amazing dress!! I wore it for a charity event and it was perfect.
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I usually wear a 6 but Black Halo always runs small. Both the 6 and the 8 fit, but I went with the 8 because it fit a bit better in the hips and thighs. Unfortunately the strap kept falling off my shoulder because it was a tad big on top (I am a typically pear shape). I doubt it would have happened with the 6 but I felt much more comfortable and confident in the 8.
Bailey
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 112 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2433
Feb 13, 2014
This dress is simple and classy but makes a great statement...
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It fits true to size. I ordered a 2 and a 0. I went with the 0 which is my normal size.
elash5
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5524
Jan 27, 2014
Terrible dress for me, but RTR is amazing
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit, fabric and construction were terrible for this dress. Design wasn't as edgy in person as it appeared in all the photos. FIt = INCREDIBLY small. I'm usually a size 6, but am 34DD so the chest can be challenging to fit. This dress runs a full 2 sizes too small, IMO. I rented 6 and 8, but couldn't even zip up the size 8. Terribly deflating. Size 10 may have worked, but jeez... Fabric = Flat. Matte. Thin. Boring. Blah. Construction = Lining pokes out, even when hanging - worse when I tried it on (although too small for me anyway). Design = Was just "ok" in person. Does NOT have a "wow" factor in person, although I thought it was stunning in the pictures. Was incredibly disappointed in this dress all the way around.
Mindy
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3533
Jan 13, 2014
Not for Short Girls
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress fit oddly and was really difficult to zip. It was a back up, fortunately, and I ended up wearing my first choice. I'm curvy for my height and size, and this dress is clearly cut for someone put together less curvy. The length was really odd on my, I think if I were a couple inches taller, the dress would have been nice. It's not a very formal material, but a very pretty dress on the right person.
Amanda
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5434
Dec 30, 2013
Great fit - felt sexy and classy at the same time.
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for my husband's company Christmas party and it was perfect for the event. The dress was the perfect mix of sexy and classy; I got a ton of compliments while wearing it. The only thing that the picture doesn't portray is how low the bust goes - it wasn't inappropriate, it just shows more clevage than on the model. Overall, LOVED it!
elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2533
Dec 22, 2013
Great dress
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore it to my office holiday party. It was long enough to be appropriate. It was form fitting with a little stretch. I wore one of those sticky bras that worked great with some rock and roll jewelry. I am long waist-ed and it fit nicely. It was a 4 star dress. I do have to say the dress that I got was definitely rented out more times then it should be. It had a small fray hole by the butt that I didn't notice until I was at my party :/
jennifer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4622
Dec 19, 2013
Loved this dress. So many compliments.
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Vacation
Snug fit, which is nice for this dress. Used tape to hold it together on the top.
Nicole
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4433
Oct 23, 2013
Getting two dresses and not having to worry about any drycleaning fees! drop in mailbox and go!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit through the bust, waist and hips. Just slightly long (to the knee) for my liking. Still everyone was asking where I got the dress from!
Vanessa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4434
Oct 7, 2013
Interesting dress, but not fancy enough for my event!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit was great, tailored close to the body and fit typical to Black Halo - runs small so the size 6 fit perfectly. My problem with the dress was just the neckline was a bit overwhelming and the slit was totally not appropriate for the black tie event I was attending. Probably would work better for an edgy cocktail event...I didn't end up wearing it.
Ally
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3333
Oct 4, 2013
Great dress, even better site!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
A nice black dress with a cool twist. I'm 5'5-5'6 and it hit me at my knees so, if your shorter it will be even longer on you. One thing I noticed is that it rides up so I had to pull it down through-out the night-not a big deal though. I got a lot of compliments; I would recommend this dress and this site. Awesome service!
Jasmine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5433
Sep 26, 2013
Little Black Dress
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress here has sexy written all over it. With it being my night, the dress took my shine. Simple, eye turning, sexy, black dress. Cant go wrong with it. IT does rise with the split but not too much. I do have thick muscle thighs so that could been the little of the problem. But i would definitely order this dress again if need to be for a sexy event.
Lee Sandra
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5524
Sep 5, 2013
Tons of compliments
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
None
Katherine
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4534
Sep 4, 2013
I wore this dress to my undergraduate award ceremony at Marquette University.
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
It was a perfect fit dress for the occasion. It made me fee, sexy,....but not overl sexy.
Carrie
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6534
Jul 31, 2013
Definitely turned some heads!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved the dress! Slit a little high for my comfort but was a great dress. Lots of compliments.
April
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 3533
Jul 31, 2013
My husband's jaw dropped when I walked in the room wearing this dress.
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This is NOT a boring little black dress! Super sexy, fits like a glove and runs true to size. The leg slit and one shoulder slit give this dress that little something special. My only complaint was the outside strap on the dress felt like it wanted to fall down off my shoulder, so I had to use fashion tape to keep it in place.
Marisol
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 118 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3534
Jun 17, 2013
Amazing!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress fit like glove. However, I think it would be a bit long for shorter women.
Rachael
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3533
Jun 3, 2013
The neckline is gorgeous.
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The sizes I rented (0 and 2) were missing size tags so I'm not sure which size I wore, but they both seemed to be about the same. This dress doesn't have much room to give, but is beautiful on. I received lots of compliments and the neck line is gorgeous.
Paula
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6524
May 23, 2013
Snug fit
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
It was great it fit nice in the hips but kept riding up, I kept having to pull the bottom back down and I am a bit fuller in the chest so the straps kept moving even with the double sided tape. The seams were a bit off in the chest but overall was smokin hot and my husband loved it!
Courtney
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4633
May 23, 2013
Hot dress!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Vacation
This was a great dress- I felt like Joan from Mad Men in all the possibly good ways about it. The dress from the waist down fit like a glove. (I had gotten a 4 and a 6 and when I pulled the 4 out of the bag, it looked so impossibly tiny, I knew my curves would not get into it). The top fit well, but the shoulder straps kept slipping. I definitely suggest tape to keep them in place! I wore this in Vegas with a bunch of impossibly shapely girls. I felt like I could hold my own against them in this!
wos
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2522
May 19, 2013
Gorgeous dress!
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Over-all fit was ok. The outer sling (I don't know how else to describe it) kept falling off my shoulder however. I'm 5'2, the dress fell right at my knees but the slit was high enough to make my legs look longer. You can wear a strapless bra with this dress. Very comfortable, hugs your body. Received tons of compliments with this dress.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×
×
Save at least $14.95 on every order and rent like a pro all year long. Details
  • free shipping
  • free insurance
  • free birthday dress