Black Halo

Sultry Cut Out Dress

$43 to buy
$345 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Show off some shoulder with this sexy Black Halo dress. To make a real statement, add on Nicole Miller's Black Crinkle Clutch, AV Max's Gold Dome Bangle and Crislu's Crystal Tear Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted at natural waist with seam
HIPS: Very fitted - stretch cotton cinches in hips and backside
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear- wear SPANX to cinch in waist
FABRIC: Fabric
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Black stretch gabardine. One shoulder neckline with cut out detail at strap. Cutout detail on back. Front vent. Hidden side zip.

Share
227 reviews
Fit
Large
(2)
True to Size
(130)
Small
(90)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 129lbs
January 9, 2013
gorgeous- rented this as my back up dress.

size 4 fit EXACTLY. almost little to tight in the chest area and I am not curvy by any means. Fit like a glove. A bustier woman would want to def go up a size. Didn't wear to event due to flu but looked stunning when I tried it on. I was very torn which dress out of the 2 I rented.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 173lbs
January 10, 2013
I was not impressed.

I am really glad I ordered a back up style! I normally wear a size 8 but could not even get this to zip. The 10 didn't fit much better! The cut out was very low and exposed a lot of my chest and I thought the materail felt cheap. If you have the slightest of curve to your body, I would not choose this dress.

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
January 30, 2013
Loved the dress! Runs a little small so would order 1 size larger.

The dress was beautiful and fit perfect. The cut outs above the bust were deeper then expected but it gave it a sexy but sophisticated look.

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 48
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
February 24, 2013
The compliments are abundant in this dress.

I rented this dress for my 25th high school reunion. I have rented it before and it is my go to dress. The slit is not as high as the picture depicts but, that is a good thing. It's allows you to pop on a pair of spanx. Which you need if you have any sort of curve to you. The dress is very well made and lays beautifully but be forewarned it runs small and narrow. I ordered the 2 and 4 and wore the 4 even though I am typically a 2. I may next rent the 6 next time bc I do a crazy amount of squats weekly. The curvier my butt is the tighter the dress is on the hips. I used a piece of body tape to keep the shoulder in place. Love it and will rent it again.

Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 62
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
March 8, 2013
Didn't get to wear this beautiful dress. It fits skin tight in hips. Tried 3 dresses! Order up!

Order both your two dresses bigger than you normally wear. I would have needed a10, and I normally wear a 4 or 6. The 4, 6 and 8 were all too tight. I am 5' 7" and weigh 125 lbs. But the customer service was great and they overnighted another dress so I still wore a great dress and would do this again.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Athletic
March 20, 2013
OMG - The most amazing LBD!!!!

I LOVE LOVE LOVE this dress!!! It does run a smidge small. I am solid size 10 or Large and this was definitely snug. But snug is perfect for Vegas. So I was completely thrilled with my look. Didn't need to wear a bra, even with my DDD chest (which is a huge plus). I am 6"0" tall with an athletic build. The bottom of the dress hit above my knee and the slit added great drama. So sexy and so happy with this one! Highly recommend!!!!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
March 28, 2013
Beautiful Dress, Just Not for Me

Gorgeous dress- stylish, elegant & sexy in a subtle way. Unfortunately, the dress was not cut for someone with my body shape- larger rib cage, hourglass figure, shorter torso & shorter neck. The strap hit my neck at an odd angle & then gaped open in the back. It was also a bit difficult to zip up & the waist line hit me at an odd place due to my larger rib cage & shorter torso. I wish it would have worked for me since it was so darling on the model, but it sadly wasn't meant to be.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
March 30, 2013
Lots of great comments, though the dress has a tendency to ride up in the hips.

I loved the cut of the dress. I rented it for a recital performance and cast party and tons of great compliments, despite the riding of the skirt. Boning in the dress eliminates the need for nipple covers, and the fabric has nice stretch for movement. I recommend ordering a second dress a size larger than what you think you will wear to prevent a rising hemline (especially with that slit).

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Body type: Full Bust
April 30, 2013
I felt great in this dress!

I rented the 4 and 6, and the 4 was just a little too tight. The 6 made for a much more comfortable evening but still looked great! I got lots of compliments on this dress and really liked how it was classy but also very sexy!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
May 15, 2013
Didn't end up wearing; was just a pinch too snug but is a really cool dress.

Slit is a pinch higher than in the picture if you have shorter legs.

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
May 23, 2013
Snug fit

It was great it fit nice in the hips but kept riding up, I kept having to pull the bottom back down and I am a bit fuller in the chest so the straps kept moving even with the double sided tape. The seams were a bit off in the chest but overall was smokin hot and my husband loved it!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 4, 2013
I wore this dress to my undergraduate award ceremony at Marquette University.

It was a perfect fit dress for the occasion. It made me fee, sexy,....but not overl sexy.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 7, 2013
Interesting dress, but not fancy enough for my event!

The fit was great, tailored close to the body and fit typical to Black Halo - runs small so the size 6 fit perfectly. My problem with the dress was just the neckline was a bit overwhelming and the slit was totally not appropriate for the black tie event I was attending. Probably would work better for an edgy cocktail event...I didn't end up wearing it.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
November 7, 2013
Great dress for a wedding & a cool back!!

Good thing I read the other reviews... This dress runs small and the straps are a bit oddly proportioned (too long), so use tape if you are large-busted. That said, other than a minor adjustment or two when putting it on, it was a great dress to wear to an evening wedding & I seriously got compliments all night from friends and other guests. The slit is NOT as high as it appears on the model, so it's classy & classic - but a step above a LBD. I highly recommend this dress!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
March 13, 2013
Beautiful, sexy dress but didn't fit my body properly

The dress is very small in the bust & rib cage area. I ordered a size 6 (which I normally wear) but unfortunately I couldn't get it zipped.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117lbs
December 19, 2013
Loved this dress. So many compliments.

Snug fit, which is nice for this dress. Used tape to hold it together on the top.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 29, 2013
Great dress !!! Great service!! It was a hit !!!

I rented this dress for a Christmas Party. Dress runs small and I ended up wearing the size 2 when i normally wear a 0 . Size 2 felt more comfortable around the bust area (34D). I did use the double sided tape due having to adjust the straps constantly. This dress was classy with a touch of sexy and just what i was looking for.

View photos (2)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
January 13, 2014
Not for Short Girls

This dress fit oddly and was really difficult to zip. It was a back up, fortunately, and I ended up wearing my first choice. I'm curvy for my height and size, and this dress is clearly cut for someone put together less curvy. The length was really odd on my, I think if I were a couple inches taller, the dress would have been nice. It's not a very formal material, but a very pretty dress on the right person.

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
March 9, 2014
was my back up

I ordered this dress for back up. I sized up as recommended which is the right choice if you want to rent this dress. Overall I didn't like it for me because I am petite and I found the straps just didn't lay right on my shoulders. I believe this dress is best for ladies who are taller than I. It's a super sexy dress, but just didn't work for me.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 122lbs
April 14, 2014
Sexy and Classy

Amazing dress, I would consider renting this again! Usually I am a size 2, but ended up wearing the 4 in this. I got a lot of compliments and felt great in this dress. It's definitely the perfect combination of sexy and classy!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 113lbs
April 18, 2014
Dress did not fit me right

I think this dress is made for a taller person. The straps did not fit right and kept sliding off, and the body of the dress was way too tight...lots of bulges here and there on me. The size 2 was definitely too tight, and the size 4 was a bit better although it was a little longer at that point, which was not flattering to my petite frame.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 134lbs
April 24, 2014
Nothing worked at all with this dress

I read all the reviews and ordered a size larger than I normally wear. The straps were too long on my shoulder which left me exposed on the side. The waist fit but I couldn't wear the dress and had to go buy something fast. The four which is normally my size was too small in the waist but my straps fit.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 47
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
June 24, 2014
Unusual Cut, Very Form Fitting

This dress is beautiful, and I wanted to like it, but I couldn't quite get there. The style is great and I love that the cut is unusual, so that it is more than just a simple LBD. It doesn't hide any imperfections, however, and it isn't possible to wear smoothing undergarments because of the slit (I guess you could do something only around the waist, but I only had the kind that is shorts). Go for it, if you don't have much to hide in the midsection!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
July 6, 2014
I wasn't a fan of this dress for my body style

I liked this dress but it did not suit my body style. I think this dress looks fabulous on women who have more up top. It was not flattering on my smaller chest I have slightly wider hips so I went with the two for comfort. This was actually my back up dress and I ended up not choosing it

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
October 16, 2014
It was the perfect dress for a wedding.

it was very form fitting and comfortable. Definitely recommend

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34D
August 6, 2014
The compliments all night. Perfect for a edgy cool charity event

Runs small. Went a size up. First time renting. Will not buy another dress again. Excellent experience

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 48
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
August 24, 2014
Great dress.

Wore to a formal event. Received many glowing compliments. My Godson said I looked pretty. Normally a 4/6, but the 6 would not zip up, so I wore the 8 using a lot of 2-sided tape and safety pins to keep the top up. I am a 32F, so the 6 was a little too tight in the bust area.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
October 2, 2014
Great fit, great shape!

Very cool shoulder strap that fit well. The zipper was a bit hard to zip.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
September 2, 2014
This classic dress is so sexy and I received countless compliments. I am trying to find it to buy!

It fit on the smaller side. I am between a 4/6 and wore the 6. I think it's best for a curvy or athletic figure, as I can see where the top would be too large on a small bust. Would rent again or buy in a second. Highly recommended.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
January 2, 2014
I LOVED this dress! Classy but interesting sums it up. So many compliments on New Years Eve.

I normally wear a size zero or two and the 2 was a little snug in the bust line. Other than that, great a fabulous dress.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
October 17, 2014
Gorgeous Dress! Got a lot of compliments

I loved everything about this dress, but i wish i ordered a size 2 and a size 4 (instead of a 0 and a 2). it was very fitted, but complimented my body on every curve. It was a bit more snug then I expected, so i suggest you rent a size up.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
October 22, 2014
Very sexy with great support!

You can't wear a bra with this dress it is too open in the back. Fortunately there is great boning in the dress to provide shape and support without a bra. Great dress with compliments all night. I will rent this one again!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
October 27, 2014
Great service from RTR.

Great dress, very comfortable! Everyone complimented it throughout the night. I am very curvy, apple shape - the dress was very form fitting in the back, if you aren't comfortable having a dress accentuating you're booty then this isn't the dress for you! Loved it and would rent it again!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
October 31, 2014
Would have been beautiful...had it fit.

It's a really lovely dress. A little fancier than I expected. But god it was so tight. I normally wear a 6 and rented a size up based on the reviews. Could barely zip up the 6, and while I could zip the 8, the fabric was so tight and unforgiving that you can see a noticeable pouch in my stomach. Not even Spanx could help. It looks really pretty from the front, but it's totally unforgiving from the side. The slit is definitely high, even for someone with long legs. So you gotta love your legs to wear this. I wish it had worked, but I just felt really really uncomfortable, and ended up wearing something else. Disappointing...

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 105lbs
December 8, 2014
SO SMALL!!!!

I weigh 105 and couldn't zip the 0 or the 2. Would've loved to wear it, but couldn't get it zipped. I'd go 2 sizes up when you order!!!

Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
December 22, 2014
Gorgeous dress, but runs a bit small.

I wasn't able to wear the dress because it runs a bit small and there were no back up sizes available. The dress is gorgeous on!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 48
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
February 8, 2015
Very classy dress

I should have order a 6. Was able to wear the 4 but breathing was not easy.

Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
December 5, 2010

Loved this dress and received many compliments. I would recommend ordering a size larger than what you normally wear. I was able to make mine work, but it was a tight squeeze.

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 6, 2015
Sexy, sexy, sexy dress!

I wore this for an off broadway premier in NYC. This dress is really original and looks super sexy on. The slit on the side tore and ended up going very far up my leg - that was a little nerve-wracking but I worked it out! I would love to wear this again. Very recommended.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 137lbs
January 5, 2012
Exciting when box arrives!!! Arrived at 8 am delivery day & packaged nicely

Wore to a NYE wedding & had guests tell me they liked it! Not sure how it would look on a shorter person because of the very high leg slit. Wore w/ a nubra b/c of the back. Wore with black tights & short gray boots. I did have to keep pulling it down b/c it was so fitting, but I think the material is high-quality and flattering. Order a bigger back-up size. VERY happy with my first RTR purchase!!!!

View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 6

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×