Black Halo

Red Jackie O Dress

$52 to buy
$350 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

This Black Halo style offers a simple silhouette in a gorgeous glamorous red dress. Great for a work event or every day sophistication.

Also available in black.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted and belted at natural waist; dress hugs midsection - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Very fitted - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model) - dress hits knee length or just below knees

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra and seamless underwear - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10". )

Product Details

Red Ponte jersey. Asymmetric cowl neckline. Origami detail on shoulder. Includes leather belt. Hidden back zip. About 42" from shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'10".

Share
119 reviews
Fit
Large
(0)
True to Size
(80)
Small
(37)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
January 17, 2015
Fit like it was made for my body
I loved loved loved this dress. I rented it for part of a boudoir/glam photo shoot and everyone adored it. I originally rented the black version but there was a problem with it so I ended up with the red and I'm so glad I did. It was perfect.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Petite
Weight: 90lbs
January 21, 2015
So ladylike!
I absolutely loved this dress. A little long for a petite, but I kind of liked the modest mid calf length even if it was inadvertent. I'd buy this if the top wasn't so roomy and the straps weren't just a little bit too long. So pretty though!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 4, 2010
Wore this to a co-worker's wedding in October. The color shown on the website has much more of an orange tone to it; when the dress arrived it was a scarlet red (which I preferred!). I have an athletic build, 5'6 1/2" with measurements 36,28,37 and weigh around 135. I had to go with the size 6, the dress was more of a snug fit than most RTR dresses I rent (I typically end up wearing size 4 than the 6).
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
May 8, 2012
Power Dress
Loved wearing this dress to work for a women's charity luncheon. Ordered the 8 and the 10, went with the 10, which was pretty snug and a lot more fitted around my hips than I normally wear, but I got compliments left and right, from women and men alike, which put my worries to rest. Not a lot of room to spare, though - if you have hips, definitely size up! RTR did call me a few days in advance to let me know they did not have a belt for the dress, and offered to send a free backup, which was great. I ended up not really liking the backup I chose, but luckily I had a skinny black belt that worked perfectly with this one.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
June 3, 2012
Wearing something so amazing made my confidence even higher, so I had no problem leading, speaking in front of the group, and feeling more comfortable, because I knew I looked fantastic :)
I wore this dress to my sister's bridal shower that I hosted- it was such a hit and I felt confident and gorgeous! I normally wear a size 2, however, the size 2 was a little too tight in my hips, so I went with the 4. If I was going to wear this out for a date with my boyfriend, I would probably have worn the 2 for a bit tighter look on the rearend ;) I really would love to own this!!!! So hard to send it back :(
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
July 20, 2012
Love it!!
I loved this dress! It is so cute and comfortable! I think it runs slightly small---not drastically. If in doubt go up one size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
August 13, 2012
Felt comfortable and confident at an important work event
This dress is great for a work event. I have rented it in multiple colors and especially like it in red for that pop of color. The neckline is conservative but a little edgy
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 100lbs
August 18, 2012
Tons of compliments!!
Dress fit great and I felt great in it!! Wore to a business dinner and got lots of compliments. I would definitely wear again!!! Runs small through rib cage, which was helpful to me!! Love!!!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
September 4, 2012
My husband loved this dress.
This dress fit like a glove. It didn't have a lot of stretch, but was comfortable to wear. I originally purchased the Spanx Simplicity Open-Bust slip to wear under it, but was unable to because you could see it in the arm holes. However, I didn't have any problems wearing my regular bra. This was my first experience with RTR and it was so easy. Can't wait to rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 152lbs
September 14, 2012
Super cute, and sexy! Very form fitted
I was going to wear this to a rehearsal dinner on a Friday evening; coming straight from work. I am a financial advisor, and felt the dress would be too sexy to wear not only to work that day, but also to the dinner. I wasn't comfortable with the degree of tightness, but that could be my own issue. I rented a 10 but 12 probably would've been preferable. I thought it would come with the cute black belt, but my shipment didn't ?? Anyway, I would recommend. If I could lose about 10lbs or get the 12 it would've been a go! That said I did not wear the dress, but would recommend to confident and sexy women!
KristyNovember 19, 2012
As a professional (psychologist) appreciated your feedback.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
September 19, 2012
Stole the show at the Convention!
I rented this for the Republican National Convention in Tampa in August. I wore it for the final night and received MANY compliments! Everyone had something to say about the "red dress" ;) A friend said she saw me on TV many times, she said the dress was eye catching.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
September 19, 2012
The color of this dress is amazing!!
The fit of this dress runs really really slim around the waist. I would recommend going up a size or maybe even two sizes. Also if you are shorter than 5'5" this dress will definitely go past your knees.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 49
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
October 10, 2012
Great dress, very flattering with my hourglass figure.
This dress was perfect for a not so formal wedding. Based on the prior reviews dress is a tight fit so went up on size, normally a 6 or 8, some people could wear the 8 but I like to breath while Im out, had to wear a 10. The belt was a bit old and may be time to exchange. Got tons of compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 18, 2012
Sexy yet elegant
The dress is snug through the waist and hips. The color is vibrant and the dress structure is classy.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 53
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
December 13, 2012
Dress is a lovely style and can be work for work as well.
Although this dress is very pretty - it was a little snug. I ended up purchasing this dress from Black Halo, because I loved it so much, and when I got the size 6 from the manufacturer - it fit perfectly! Definitely a dress to rent if you want to be noticed - I wear it to work conferences.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 15, 2012
Exquisite dress. The material, fit and unique neckline made for a stellar RTR experience.
I rented this dress to wear to my office holiday party. I had tried it on at Nordstrom before renting it so I knew a sz 10 would work best. Normally I wear a sz 8 pant and in a former Badgley Mischka rental I wore a sz 6. Safe to say, this dress definitely runs small. However, the material is TO DIE FOR. I wore spanks to smooth out imperfections in my bum and tummy area. The skinny belt accentuated my waist and I received many compliments throughout the night.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 27, 2012
I was so excited to rent this for a work event, but sadly, I never got to wear it.
After reading reviews, I decided to rent up a size. Regrettably, the size 2 was still too snug to wear to a professional function. I will definitely try it again in the size 4.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
January 27, 2013
Wonderfully sophisticated and chic
I wore this dress for a semi-formal work dinner, and it was perfect. It is seriously tight, so don't expect it to cover any flaws. Spanx were a must.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
February 19, 2013
It did not fit :(
I was soooo dissapointed I usually fit a 6 no problem, I even got an 8 as a back up and could NOT zip it up. I had to return it. :(
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
April 17, 2013
VERY form fitting...but FANTASTIC!
Literally didn't stop getting compliments the ENTIRE day. Cannot say enough good things about this dress. Holds you in, creates a gorgeous feminine shape, and is a beautiful color!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
April 19, 2013
Best dress at the wedding
I rented this dress in red for a yacht wedding. Holy smokes it was gorgeous. I received a ton of compliments and was actually told by several folks there that it was the classiest/best dress of the night. It is a little longer than cocktail length if you are short like me (I'm 5'3) but with some heels it works. Unfortunately RTR didn't have the back-up size 6 available and they sent the dress without the belt. I asked them if they would send the 6 in the black version and they refused. Anyhow, the dress came and I had eaten a burger the night before the event and could not zip up the dress. However, the next morning, it fit, barely with some spanx. It is very body hugging so I recommend going a size up. I ended up fitting in the 4 but would have been happier in the 6. I have since tried on this dress in the 6 to buy (because it really is that great of a dress) and it fit much better. I wish I had a full body shot of the dress, but unfortunately I wasn't thinking and only have neck up shots, not worth sharing to help others see the fit. But...even in those shots, people have commented about the stunning neckline. Rent this dress ASAP.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
May 2, 2013
Great, fitted dress, runs mega small though!
This is truly beautiful dress, I felt like a Joan from Mad Med with it. Hugs all the right places but the length keeps it professional. However, and this is a big but, the dress runs incredibly small. Previous reviews say it runs true to size but that was not the case for me. I'm a standard size 6 and the 6 felt more like a 2. The size 8 took a bit of hustling to get into (two spanx, a day of fasting and my roommate), but it looked amazing. Got a ton of compliments and generally just felt amazing. Beware of the size, the dress is stretchy enough that a larger size won't sag, also be weary of the arm holes, the cut is a bit low and your bra (or spanx!) could be showing at any moment! All that aside, I don't regret the rent.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
September 19, 2013
Lady in Red!
Perfect for a work function that will transition into the night. Loved this dress, unfortunately it was a little tight so I highly recommend that you order up a size. Other than that, gorgeous :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
December 12, 2013
Nice color
Dress was not flattering unfortunately.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
April 1, 2014
Awesome dress. Didn't have the size I needed.
I own this dress in another color and was so excited to wear the red one to a luncheon in February. Unfortunately, the 0 came & was way too tight, didn't have a 2 & the 4 I ordered was not returned/was unavailable. I ended up wearing Zac Posen & got tons of compliments. As usual, RTR team was right on it & had the substitute here the next day!
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36DD
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
June 14, 2014
Too small
I typically wear a size 8 but both the 8 and 10 were way too small.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
November 19, 2013
I LOVE this dress. It's my go-to interview outfit
This has been my go-to interview outfit for a few pageants that I have been in. It's very flattering and eye-catching but still incredibly classy. I always get so many compliments on it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 128lbs
April 26, 2014
Great dress - was complimented by many strangers! Wish they had a six though..
Gosh, I wish they had this dress in a 6.. the 4 was just a touch too small/tight in the upper waist/bust.. and the 8 was just a touch too big/loose. The fitted look of the 4 was stunning, but my bust was just a big too big for it, as a six this would have been five (or six) star review! Luckily, this was not a dancing affair, just dinner and an award ceremony. I really liked the dress and will keep my eye on if they get a 6 back in stock!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 41
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
April 23, 2014
Super Cute but did not fit could not get past hips, but this was the back up dress so it worked out
Sorry no pics could not fit past hips. But it looks super cute and sexy. Hot little number for sure.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
June 10, 2014
Classic dress for any occassion
I initially rented this dress for a speaking engagement, but was told last minute that participants were to wear blue. I loved the look of the dress so much, I still decided to keep the rental. The rental arrived on time and in perfect condition except for a very musky smell. The dress was clean, but the smell was very obvious. I didn't have time to return to RTR as I'm sure they would have remedied the situation. Since I needed to wear the dress that evening - I aired it out all day hoping the smell would dissipate. Luckily the smell did go away and I was able to wear the dress. I added a thin black belt since one did not come with the dress. I received multiple compliments on the dress and felt very professional yet classy and sexy at the same time. The dress is beautiful and fit true to size. I LOVED the dress and wished I could have kept it!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
August 1, 2011
Beautiful color! The top of the dress definitely runs bigger than the bottom of the dress, which definitely hugs every curve you've got. Overall- a very sexy but still chic dress.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 3, 2011
I'm 5'5" about 120-125 with a tiny waist and a bit of a booty. I ordered the dress in a 4 and while it fit, it hit just below the knee which felt awkward and matronly. I would have worn it but the length was just not right.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Body type: Hourglass
November 22, 2011
A Little Snug...
I rented this dress to wear to work on my birthday to make me feel special. Although I did receive lots of compliments, the dress was a little snug in the hips area and too big in the chest area. The arm holes left the side of the bra exposed so fashion tape was needed. I ordered the 8 and 10 and went with the 10. This dress is meant for women with very tiny hips. Curvy girls stay away!
CharityApril 9, 2012
Really... stay away if I'm curvy??? No video vixen derierre huh? :-(
JulieJune 10, 2012
This dress is perfect for curvy girls. I am curvy and it fit great!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145lbs
December 17, 2012
Great color but go up a size or two!
I rented this dress for a wedding and was so excited to wear it but when it showed up, neither of the sizes I ordered (6 and 8) fit. I should have ordered 2 sizes up, at least. I ended up having to find something else to wear in my closet because the lower section of the dress was too snug.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Body type: Pear
March 14, 2013
Adorable!
Wore for bachelorette party, got LOADS of compliments. A little snug, but a great dress overall.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 165lbs
May 2, 2013
classy and beautiful
This dress is so cute and classy. It's comfortable to wear, though it does run small. I usually wear a 4 or 6 and had to get an 8 and it was still snug, but not uncomfortable. Paired with some black heels and a little clutch and it looked amazing.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
June 9, 2013
Show Stopper!
The fit was amazing. Runs small so order a size larger. Wore this to a work function. The color is vibrant and stands out. Received lot's of compliments. I would buy this dress to own it. Seems to be a popular dress; the one I received looked slightly worn, but only I could tell looking at it up close.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 38
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 168lbs
June 14, 2013
Runs small
I own and have rented several other Black Halo dresses and have had perfect fits before. Unfortunately this dress ran quite small and I was unable to wear it to my event. Should have sized up. Beautiful color and nice fabric quality though.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
October 1, 2014
Did not wear, but cute dress
Too small, suggest going up a size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
October 4, 2010
So many compliments. Beautiful color!
I got so many compliments on this dress all night! The architectural top is really stunning. Color is gorgeous, sexy and classy. I am pear shaped and the skirt was a little narrow so I had to go up a size, but that is not unusual with my shape and a straight skirt.
lynnFebruary 13, 2012
Hi Abigail, i want to rent this dress, but afraid it may not fit. May I ask what size you went with? I too am 5'6" and pear shape
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×