Rent the Runway

Black Halo

Red Jackie O Dress

$52 to buy
$350 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This Black Halo style offers a simple silhouette in a gorgeous glamorous red dress. Great for a work event or every day sophistication.

Also available in black.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted and belted at natural waist; dress hugs midsection - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Very fitted - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model) - dress hits knee length or just below knees

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra and seamless underwear - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10". )

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted and belted at natural waist; dress hugs midsection - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Very fitted - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model) - dress hits knee length or just below knees

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra and seamless underwear - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10". )

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Red Ponte jersey. Asymmetric cowl neckline. Origami detail on shoulder. Includes leather belt. Hidden back zip. About 42" from shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'10".

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

119 reviews

Fit
Small 37
True to Size 80
Large 0
Photos 39
Abigail
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 4, 2010

So many compliments. Beautiful color!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I got so many compliments on this dress all night! The architectural top is really stunning. Color is gorgeous, sexy and classy. I am pear shaped and the skirt was a little narrow so I had to go up a size, but that is not unusual with my shape and a straight skirt.
Dani
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Nov 20, 2011

This process was so simple & hassle-free, the price is right, and the reactions at the event were worth all of it! From dress comparisons on the site, to ordering, to receiving all four dresses on-time and in great shape, to the Fit Guarantee, to the prepaid return envelopes.... who WOULDN'T use RTR for their next big moment?!? :)

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I had seen this dress on many celebs, so imagine my excitement when I found I could rent it for a single-wear occasion for an excellent price! As soon as it arrived in the mail (right on time!) I couldn't wait to try it on. It was snug in all the right places, and I was stoked! I ordered an 8 and 10, and the 8 fit well, but the 10 allowed me to breathe... and eat dinner. ;) Still, it looked like a 6 on me, and made me feel like I was breaking necks when I walked into a room! Will definitely rent this one again... different occasion, different color? (Gonna be hard to top the man-eater red!)
rebecca
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 23, 2012

all eyes stayed on me while we dined. huge ego boost!! thanks RTR!!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Total knockout!! Color, retro cut, simple, stunning. You'll completely channel MadMen. True to size. Wiggle fit but comfortably movable - holds it's skim perfectly. I was running late & wanted to switch out to skinny leopard belt & pumps, but wore bk ralph lauren heels & a red badgley mischka clutch. dress was uber comfortable & femme fatale. it will add a wiggle to your swagger!!
Mindy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 23, 2012

I rented this dress for my bridal shower, which was 60's themed. I felt great in it and everyone said it was perfect for the theme.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for my bridal shower, which was 60's themed. I felt great in it and everyone said it was perfect for the theme.
Susie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Jun 3, 2012

Wearing something so amazing made my confidence even higher, so I had no problem leading, speaking in front of the group, and feeling more comfortable, because I knew I looked fantastic :)

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress to my sister's bridal shower that I hosted- it was such a hit and I felt confident and gorgeous! I normally wear a size 2, however, the size 2 was a little too tight in my hips, so I went with the 4. If I was going to wear this out for a date with my boyfriend, I would probably have worn the 2 for a bit tighter look on the rearend ;) I really would love to own this!!!! So hard to send it back :(
Julie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Jun 10, 2012

It was very exciting waiting for the dress to arrive in the mail. I am happy it fit and will definitely be renting again soon, very soon.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this for my college graduation ceremony and party. It was a fantastic dress!!! I received compliments all night. The dress was very form fitting, and comfortable; definitely great for girls that want to show off their curves :) It was a very complimenting dress.
Danni
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 13, 2012

Felt comfortable and confident at an important work event

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
This dress is great for a work event. I have rented it in multiple colors and especially like it in red for that pop of color. The neckline is conservative but a little edgy
NC Girl
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Aug 16, 2012

*

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I have been coveting this dress ever since I tried it on at Saks a year ago. I told myself that my reward for losing weight before my wedding (in addition to looking great in the photos) was that I could rent this dress for my rehearsal dinner. Well I did and it was great - so figure flattering though I did need a little fashion tape to keep my bra from showing under my arm.
kiki
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 103 lbs
Aug 17, 2012

Everything from the on time delivery to the easy return.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was absolutely perfect. The fit, color and style won high praises at the event that I attended.
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 30, 2012

All night I was asked to be photographed by several local media, professional photographers and fashion bloggers. I was on a first date so my squeeze couldn't help but be impressed at the splash we made!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Wore this to a Mad Men party and it was a total hit! It was quite snug so be prepared to pour yourself into it if you're hour glassy - but the result is spot on. Very flattering shape! I was complimented and photographed all night - even for some fashion blogs!
Nicole
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127 lbs
Sep 4, 2012

My husband loved this dress.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fit like a glove. It didn't have a lot of stretch, but was comfortable to wear. I originally purchased the Spanx Simplicity Open-Bust slip to wear under it, but was unable to because you could see it in the arm holes. However, I didn't have any problems wearing my regular bra. This was my first experience with RTR and it was so easy. Can't wait to rent again!
Jennifer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Sep 19, 2012

Stole the show at the Convention!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I rented this for the Republican National Convention in Tampa in August. I wore it for the final night and received MANY compliments! Everyone had something to say about the "red dress" ;) A friend said she saw me on TV many times, she said the dress was eye catching.
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Body type: Petite
Oct 20, 2012

Perfect for a work event!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this Black Halo dress for a party to celebrate my organization receiving a Tony Award. This was the perfect mix of conservative and fun -- ideal for a work event!
Ames
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 18, 2012

Sexy yet elegant

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The dress is snug through the waist and hips. The color is vibrant and the dress structure is classy.
Priscilla
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 137 lbs
Dec 13, 2012

Loved it!!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I got the size 6 and 8 just to be safe, since the reviews that I read mentioned the dress being true to size. The size 6 was actually a little loose, and it was longer than I expected. Overall, I loved the dress and received many compliments throught the evening. I actually wanted this dress for a holiday party in 2011, but it was unavailable. I ordered this dress in early October this year just so I could have it for my holiday party this year!!
Taryn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Dec 15, 2012

Exquisite dress. The material, fit and unique neckline made for a stellar RTR experience.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress to wear to my office holiday party. I had tried it on at Nordstrom before renting it so I knew a sz 10 would work best. Normally I wear a sz 8 pant and in a former Badgley Mischka rental I wore a sz 6. Safe to say, this dress definitely runs small. However, the material is TO DIE FOR. I wore spanks to smooth out imperfections in my bum and tummy area. The skinny belt accentuated my waist and I received many compliments throughout the night.
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 146 lbs
Jan 29, 2013

Classy in red

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I loved this dress! You definitely need some Spanx if you're not super fit, but it is beautiful. It's very classy and the neckline is so unique.
Caroline
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Mar 4, 2013

I wore this dress to my company's Product Launch Party, it was a huge hit!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
After reading the reviews on this dress I decided to wear it to my company's Product Launch Party. The dress was a perfect mix of sexy and business ( aka a very rare thing ). I ordered a size two and size four, planning on wearing the four. Unfortunately, the size four was to big around the waist but fit my upper body/chest perfectly. I ended up wearing the size two which fit great in the waist but was a little snug up top. If you are thinner girl with a larger chest I would recommend getting a size smaller along with your normal size just in case. Overall, the dress was a complete hit! I received so many compliments that I ordered another "for keeps" this time in navy blue. It is a great dress to have for any business event.
Traci
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 21, 2013

Gorgeous Color!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
Perfect fit, gorgeous color. This dress is a steal at this rental price!
Charlene
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
May 2, 2013

Great, fitted dress, runs mega small though!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This is truly beautiful dress, I felt like a Joan from Mad Med with it. Hugs all the right places but the length keeps it professional. However, and this is a big but, the dress runs incredibly small. Previous reviews say it runs true to size but that was not the case for me. I'm a standard size 6 and the 6 felt more like a 2. The size 8 took a bit of hustling to get into (two spanx, a day of fasting and my roommate), but it looked amazing. Got a ton of compliments and generally just felt amazing. Beware of the size, the dress is stretchy enough that a larger size won't sag, also be weary of the arm holes, the cut is a bit low and your bra (or spanx!) could be showing at any moment! All that aside, I don't regret the rent.
Melissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Jun 3, 2013

Perfect balance between business and party

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I ordered this dress for my office fundraiser event and it was a huge hit!! compliments all evening. fit like a glove and was professional yet sexy and fun!!! size was tight but true to size, the belt was not included in first shipment but when i called RTR's 1800 number they shipped it overnight and i received it at 9am the day of my event!! PERFECT!!!! thank you!!!!
Eroica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Aug 28, 2013

So Classy!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I ordered this dress as a back up for my engagement party and ended loving this one the most. This was such a gorgeous dress in person and so flattering. Wish I could have kept this dress forever!
Lena
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 11, 2013

This was my second time renting from RTR and once again they came through.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress for a fund raiser. I received allot of compliments and was asked where I purchased the dress. I ordered two sizes, 2 and 4. I got a call from RTR saying that the size two had returned to them damage beyond compare and that I was allowed to pick another dress of my choosing at no additional cost. So they sent me the Rachel Roy / Pencil Me In Sheath black dress in size two. Turns out that the size two was two small for me anyway and I had wore my first choice dress after all in size 4. I loved how it felt and was glad that it came just below my knees. I bought a black patent leather belt to match my shoes and that was it. The cut at the top of the dress draws attention in a positive way. It makes people ask who the designer is and where was the dress purchased. Over all, it was perfect. Thanks RTR! I will be seeking you guys again for future events.
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 19, 2013

I LOVE this dress. It's my go-to interview outfit

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
This has been my go-to interview outfit for a few pageants that I have been in. It's very flattering and eye-catching but still incredibly classy. I always get so many compliments on it!
Dani
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Jan 4, 2014

I was the bombshell of the night!!!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fit like a glove....glad I got the 10 though because the 8 would've been far too small in the hips and bust area. Also, if you've got a big bust like I do, its a tad small on the armpits over the bust area....even fashion tape couldn't help cover my bra :( But the boat was dark and nobody seemed to notice! Loved this dress; wanted to keep it!!!
Brittany
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 136 lbs
Jan 16, 2014

The fit was perfect but be warned.... mine did not come with the black belt! Thankfully I had one.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore it to my boyfriend's work party. The perfect combination of sexy and classy. It's great for tall girls because it was actually knee length on me and I am very tall (hard to find these days). The material had a right amount of stretch so even though it's a tight fit all the way down to the knees I could still walk and sit just fine. Goes well with a red Ferrari :)
Suhaill
Usually wears: 4
Age: 30
Mar 18, 2014

It was perfect for our engagement pictures. Classic and chic

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
It was a little tight. But with a pair of spanx fit perfectly. I wore this dress recently for my travel themed engagement pictures and absolutely loved it.
Nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 128 lbs
Apr 26, 2014

Great dress - was complimented by many strangers! Wish they had a six though..

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Gosh, I wish they had this dress in a 6.. the 4 was just a touch too small/tight in the upper waist/bust.. and the 8 was just a touch too big/loose. The fitted look of the 4 was stunning, but my bust was just a big too big for it, as a six this would have been five (or six) star review! Luckily, this was not a dancing affair, just dinner and an award ceremony. I really liked the dress and will keep my eye on if they get a 6 back in stock!
ellen
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 55
Body type: Straight & narrow
May 9, 2014

Everyone loved it!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
true to fit
T
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
May 14, 2014

Had several compliments on the dress.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress does not come with a belt, but does have the loops for a belt.
sarah
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Body type: Hourglass
May 27, 2014

The belt was accidentally not included and RTR gave me a partial reimbursement :)

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was awesome! It fits really well, the material is very nice with a little stretch. I got so many compliments and felt so classy in this dress!
KRYSTAL
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 10, 2014

Classic dress for any occassion

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I initially rented this dress for a speaking engagement, but was told last minute that participants were to wear blue. I loved the look of the dress so much, I still decided to keep the rental. The rental arrived on time and in perfect condition except for a very musky smell. The dress was clean, but the smell was very obvious. I didn't have time to return to RTR as I'm sure they would have remedied the situation. Since I needed to wear the dress that evening - I aired it out all day hoping the smell would dissipate. Luckily the smell did go away and I was able to wear the dress. I added a thin black belt since one did not come with the dress. I received multiple compliments on the dress and felt very professional yet classy and sexy at the same time. The dress is beautiful and fit true to size. I LOVED the dress and wished I could have kept it!
RTR Customer
Jun 14, 2014

Too small

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I typically wear a size 8 but both the 8 and 10 were way too small.
Julia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Aug 4, 2014

loved it with a black throw and black heels

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Can't remember what size I wore though
Frankie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 103 lbs
Aug 17, 2014

This Dress was a Hit at Work!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I loved this dress so much that I had to buy it. I rented the size 0 and it was just a little tight in the bust other wise it was a perfect fit. If I would have ordered the size 2 I think it would have been to loose all around. The beauty of this dress is how it curves with your body. It was elegant, sexy and work appropriate. It was feminine without having to be to revealing. I would definitely recommend all to rent this dress.
Bianca
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 26, 2014

Never felt better!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Everything about this dress was PERFECT! The color, the fit, the material- from start to finish. It was conservative enough for a night with co-workers and families of the individuals I support but I still felt incredibly sexy :)
darlene
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 1, 2014

Did not wear, but cute dress

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
Too small, suggest going up a size.
Jessica
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 142 lbs
Dec 14, 2014

The dress was perfect in every way.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress for the interview portion of a pageant I competed in. I wanted a power color and the dress delivered. It had the perfect mix of class and sexy all wrapped into one. I normally wear a dress size 6, but the 4 was the last option and it fit like a GLOVE. The material is so comfortable and has SOME stretch to it. Unfortunately, the dress did not come with the belt due to previous renters not returning the belts, however customer service was outstanding with communication and luckily I had a belt of my own that did the trick. I would rent this again in a HEARTBEAT!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 17, 2015

Fit like it was made for my body

Size worn: 8
Rented for: Other
I loved loved loved this dress. I rented it for part of a boudoir/glam photo shoot and everyone adored it. I originally rented the black version but there was a problem with it so I ended up with the red and I'm so glad I did. It was perfect.
Mar
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Petite
Weight: 90 lbs
Jan 21, 2015

So ladylike!

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Other
I absolutely loved this dress. A little long for a petite, but I kind of liked the modest mid calf length even if it was inadvertent. I'd buy this if the top wasn't so roomy and the straps weren't just a little bit too long. So pretty though!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×