You are masquerading as ! (switch back)
| REVIEWS |
 
| MY BAG
 

FREE SHIPPING + INSURANCE
What's this?

Rent like a PRO all year long! One year of
free shipping & insurance. Plus, we'll throw in
a free birthday dress. Learn More

Our Runway
What's New
Dresses
Accessories
Occasions
Designers
Stores
Red Carpet Dress
Rental $60 Retail $325
info
  • Stylist Notes
  • Product Details
  • Size & Fit
Black Halo takes a simple silhouette and gives it a bold makeover.
Chat with a Stylist
Red shiny jersey. V neckline with draping detail at shoulder. Side ruching detail on body. Draping detail on skirt. Hidden side zip. 36" from shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'10".
Chat with a Stylist
This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS-L. Size XS=0,2; Size S=4,6; Size M=8,10; Size L=12.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout and ruched fabric conceals abdomen
HIPS: Fitted
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra and seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types

Chat with a Stylist
This style is currently unavailable.
Shop all dresses
Got A Minute? Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.
Fit
Small
True to Size
Large
Photos25

0 Reviews from women like you:

Enter more for better results

Ang
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165 lbs
Canonical User Type: 8423
Feb 16, 2012
Very comfortable...
Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The drapes seem a lot better on the model. Around the bust area, one of the drapes wouldn't stay in place, but the color on the dress was beautiful and the back of the dress as well. It was for a Valentines dinner with my husband.
Gabriela
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7443
Apr 9, 2013
Great color!
Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Vacation
The fit was great. Fabric was very forgiving and comfortable. The length was perfect.
Amanda
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2433
Jan 16, 2013
Standing out in photos because of the vivid red dress shade!
Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fit true to size, possibly even a little on the roomy side, most notably in the bust. Very comfortable and cute dress; I got a lot of compliments.
Lisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5524
Dec 27, 2012
I was complimented on how I looked from behind as much as from the front
Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I read the reviews and ordered my usual - M - and an S for the free backup as previous reviews indicated this ran large. For a true hourglass shape, however, I'd say this is just the right amount of material. But with any dress I run the risk of not enough give in the hips or bust. Plenty of room in the bust with an M, barely enough for the bottom. The dress is extremely short - which was very fun for this night but something to be aware of especially for big bottomed girls like myself. There's gorgeous gathering in all the right places but a seam down the back, which meant I was pulling on it all night to make sure the seam lined up correctly. That said, when it did line up it was super sexy and gorgeous. Husband was told by many that I'm getting more beautiful as I age and that kind of compliment can't be beat. I wouldn't order this dress again and am glad I didn't purchase it, but that's what is great about renting! The red was more orange than expected (but looks pink in these photos) so beware. I felt beautiful all night!
Irene
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2423
Dec 12, 2012
Small on the chest if busty- other than that fun and sexy!
Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
I truly enjoyed wearing this dress. I wore it for my fiancé's 30th Birthday. The fabric was beautiful, the color was vibrant, and the style was great. However, it was a little too short for my comfort so I wore it with black stalkings. I have a large bust for my height and body size, so it was a little too tight on the bust area. It wasn't that noticeable, but I felt a little uncomfortable with it. I usually wear an XS, but I had to go with the Small for this one just because of the bust and the length.
Christine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4333
Dec 9, 2012
This color really made the dress.
Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The rouching wasn't my favorite but I loved the color of this dress. Also a little on the shorter side but it did an alright job of staying in place all night. Might be better for girls who aren't too curvy.
Nicole
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4443
Nov 25, 2012
Great for a night partying with my girlfriends.
Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this to a bachelorette party in NYC's Meatpacking District. It was perfect. The dress was very flattering. I am about two sizes larger in pants than I am in tops (I usually wear a 0-2 in tops and a 4-6 in bottoms) and the XS fit well. It was very short, but I am tall and that was fine for spending a night out partying.
Rae
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 7433
Aug 28, 2010
Great Party Dress
Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I LOVE THIS DRESS! Very flattering, and the ruching on it hides any little bumps and bulges but shows off my figure. Great for any curvy girl out there! The dress has no stretch, so make sure you dont order it small. I may buy this dress, I LOVE it!
Dana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 2423
Oct 22, 2012
The dress was such a bright red - it really made you pop and stand out!
Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Everything fit me true to size (XS) except for the length. I have a bigger butt, so the length on me was a lot shorter than on the model. Other than that, the bust, waist and everything else fit perfectly! I really liked the layering of the dress, it added some interest. I rented this dress for a charity event, so I covered my shoulders up with a little gold shrug.
Jennifer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6421
Sep 24, 2012
Was very easy to rent wear and return!
Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved the color, very bright and stand out. It felt a little short however I think I'm just not used to wearing the style of dress. The material was great. The fit was true to size, came on time and very easy to return!
Amy
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6323
Sep 23, 2012
I wore this dress for my sorority's recruitment.
Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I loved the way it flattered my body shape. Many people gave me compliments. It was a true red color too which I was happy about. The only problem I had was the one piece on top didn't stay in place very well.
Rosa
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2424
Sep 16, 2012
My birthday started out crappy but this dress fit so well and made it all better :D
Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I used the double-sided tape that came with the dress for the shoulders because the material slips at the shoulders. Overall a great dress, I loved it and the color was perfect!
Laura Lu
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4533
Dec 11, 2011
I felt comfortable and sexy in this dress!
Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Vacation
I loved this dress and had many compliments. I have a curvy figure, this was perfect and comfortable. It is a bit short so be careful! Beautiful shade of red and showed up great in photos.
Jen
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4433
Jun 20, 2012
I felt beautiful in this shiny cocktail dress, it really shows off your legs!
Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered this dress becuase I was working the DC Emmy awards (I'm a cheerleader for a DC sports team) and was told I needed to wear a short, red cocktail dress. For the most part, it looked great. However, I agree with other reviews that the back can get a little short and the draping looks a little funny at times. I've got some curves but also a small waist and unfortunatly this dress doesn't flatter the waist. It made me look "boxy" with loose material hanging at my sides. I fit into both the S and XS (I usually wear mediums). If you aren't trying to show off your waist, this is a great dress. It flatters curves in a great way. But if you have an hourglass, beware! It'll make you look like you don't.
Morgan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 6421
May 12, 2011
Dancing the night away in San Diego!!!!!
Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this to a fraternity formal and I have never got so many compliments on a dress in my life. I looked amazing, felt amazing and the pictures turned out amazing. I am looking into buying this dress for my own personal collection because of how great it was and I would highly suggest this for anyone!!
Stephanie
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 6433
Jan 3, 2012
I loved this dress for NYE... made me feel like a million bucks!
Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress and got so many compliments on it! It was perfect for NYE and draped on my curves like a charm. The only thing was that the draping on the right should have been pinned to the side... It kept moving itself so the draping over the breasts weren't even. Could possibly fit better on someone with a smaller chest.
olivia
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 21
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 6331
Jan 4, 2011
the dress came and was better than i expected!! i felt beautiful:)
Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
absolutely loved this dress! while it did make me look a little big, it was because i ordered a large like i usually wear, but i should have ordered the medium. eitherway, the entiree night i got so many compliments and my confidence was through the roof (a rarity for me). the color was just stunning, and even though i am pretty pale it still looked vibrant and did not wash me out. especially for the price, this dress is definitely definitely a hit. if someone is skeptical about buying this, then i hope the best for you and if this dress boosts your confidence like it did mine, then i'm sure you are going to be a happy girl for w/e occasion this is for. loved it
Carin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7633
Sep 8, 2013
Not for me
Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This was just not a dress I would wear. It was really short and the material felt cheap to me. I think the shape is nice and I was sad to not love it, but this one went back unworn...and before I knew you could sent them back right away if they weren't right, so I paid full price...my fault but still sad!
Queenruby81
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3521
Sep 7, 2013
Great dress. Wore for work Christmas party.
Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fit well, however, the folds around the middle can make it look like you have more belly than you do, so be sure to stand up straight!
Traci
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4543
Jun 5, 2013
Eh..
Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I was not crazy about this dress. It was super comfy but it just reminded me of something you would buy in Joyce Leslie.
Laura
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4433
Apr 27, 2013
arrived on time, and i love rent the runway! even though this was just a bad dress.
Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
it fit loose and the color was more of a dark red. the material was like basketball jersey shorts. i didn't end up wearing it because it looked a little cheap.
Amy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4533
Apr 17, 2013
Stunning red, but short
Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Gorgeous red dress-has a slight stretch in the fabric, but this dress is not forgiving. It is quite short and my current baby bump definitely made it too short for a formal event. Loved the dress-would be great for petite girls or those looking for a daring statement dress.
Erika
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3324
Apr 10, 2013
Droopy, not drapey.
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I ordered this dress as a backup style for a holiday office party, and while the size was slightly too large, I could also tell that even the XS would have been droopier and longer than I had imagined. My chest looked saggy, which is definitely not what you want! RTR has some fantastic red dresses available -- go check them out instead :)
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4442
Mar 21, 2013
Would have been lovely if the skirt was longer
Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Did not end up wearing this dress, had rented for a romantic Valentine's evening with my boyfriend and when it arrived and tried it on I realized any stares I would receive would be due to the extreme amount of leg (if not more) showing. Beware for taller women, I'm nearly 5'10 and it was much too short to wear in public. The draping is nice, though a bit boxy around the waist, probably a beautiful fit on curvier bodies I just didn't have the but to fill it out as well.
Emily
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 17
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3243
Mar 3, 2013
I liked it, but the material was jersey and diffrent than i expected.
Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore it to a semi formal.
Beverly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 134 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5533
Feb 15, 2013
Runs small and short; better for thin framed person without curves.
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
I was disappointed with this dress--I usually run a size 6/8 and the medium was way too small. The bust area was not designed for someone with greater than an A sized cup, and I am 5'5" and the dress length was so short it fell perhaps 2 inches below my hips and if I sat down would not have had enough coverage at all. I was surprised because in the past I have worn a size 6 in Black Halo and the dresses have been designed for a completely different type of fit model.
Ren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3423
Feb 2, 2013
I get to wear the dress
Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
I'm 5'2" and weigh 115-118lbs with 36C top, this dress was too small for me. The dress is also a silky shiny dress so it didn't look to classy to me. Wasn't one of my favorites at RTR
Yogamamma
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 8544
Jan 10, 2013
SHORT.
Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
My backup size was suddenly unavailable for a dress I rented, so RTR kindly suggested I try a different dress as a backup. Thankfully, the dress I ordered fit. This dress was incredibly short (I'm 5'10"). I was not wild about the hand of the fabric either. It felt very polyester-y. The drape in the back was unflattering. Not for me.
Katelyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 137 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5424
Jan 2, 2013
Wasn't able to wear it
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
While the dress is cute and looks adorable on the model I didn't end up wearing this to my family Christmas party. I ordered the small based on all of the reviews with the medium as my backup size. The medium was unavailable for my date but I ordered anyway. The dress that came did fit. However it was tighter than I was comfortable with for a family event. I'm only ft tall and the dress was short even on me and quite tight on my backside. Had I been going out for a night on the town it probably wouldn't have bothered me but for a family gathering it just didn't feel right. Overall the dress is cute but it just wasn't right for my event.
Mackenzie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5423
Dec 16, 2012
I love RTR and will rent again, just not this designer.
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I ended up not wearing either size. Poorly constructed dress already ripping at the seam when I took it out of the bag. The dress is extremely short and if you are busty this is not a good dress for you. The empire waistline did not leave much room for my boobs. Would not recommend this dress.
courtney
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Canonical User Type: 4533
Dec 6, 2012
Nice dress
Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Love the color and style. Note: it is short (the model in the picture is 5'5")
Jordi23
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4243
Oct 5, 2012
This dress is vibrant and super soft. I was comfortable the entire night while looking great in red.
Size worn: M
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
The small was too small and the medium left me with a little wiggle room. I think that the dress may hang better on someone with a larger bust. The material is reall soft and slinky.
Jennifer
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 9423
Sep 28, 2012
RTR made the process so simple!
Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I did not like the fact that the fabric was shiny. This dress would have been to die for if it was just a matte jersey. Felt too 'holiday-like' for an April wedding.
Adrienne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5534
Sep 21, 2012
I rented this dress to wear to a wedding... my husband would not let me out of the house in it !
Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is SUPER short. I am only 5'4 & my husband said it was inappropriate. Is a def rent for maybe a bachelorette party or something where no family members would be around. This dress is def for a busty person. If my chest was not this large it would be droopy in the front. Gorg dress, wish I could have worn it !!
Anna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 6434
Sep 19, 2012
The dress was beautiful but I was unable to wear it.
Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The dress runs small and I was unable to wear it for the occasion for which I rented it.
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Canonical User Type: 6434
Aug 30, 2012
terrible
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I loved the picture of this dress, but it looked very trashy in person. I got a M and L and both of them did not fit, it would snag in weird places, and it was extremely short.
Ann Marie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6643
Aug 30, 2012
No love for this Vday dress
Size worn: M
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for a Valentine's party. Way too much fabric to really show off your figure. The color was more orange-red than true-red. Not a fit for me.
Andrea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Canonical User Type: 5434
Aug 28, 2012
Flattering and a great color
Size worn: M
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I must say this dress is very forgiving in the stomach area. However, it runs large so I felt like I was swimming in it. Despite the dress being too big I still got tons of compliments on it.
Keena
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 8343
Aug 26, 2012
Great at first...
Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I felt that it looked fabulous in the picture but when I put it on, it just seemed cheap on me. It fit well but the fabric was not what I expected.
Britt
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 5523
Aug 23, 2012
It was WAY too short for me
Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
I rented this to wear out on a date with my husband. I rented both the S and the M, but they were both way too short to wear in public.I am only 5'2", so this is not usually an issue for me. I was unable to wear the dress.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×
×
Save at least $14.95 on every order and rent like a pro all year long. Details
  • free shipping
  • free insurance
  • free birthday dress