Rent the Runway

Black Halo

Red Carpet Dress

$21 rental
$325 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Black Halo takes a simple silhouette and gives it a bold makeover.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS-L. Size XS=0,2; Size S=4,6; Size M=8,10; Size L=12.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout and ruched fabric conceals abdomen
HIPS: Fitted
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra and seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS-L. Size XS=0,2; Size S=4,6; Size M=8,10; Size L=12.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout and ruched fabric conceals abdomen
HIPS: Fitted
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra and seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Red shiny jersey. V neckline with draping detail at shoulder. Side ruching detail on body. Draping detail on skirt. Hidden side zip. 36" from shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'10".

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

116 reviews

Fit
Small 28
True to Size 68
Large 20
Photos 27
Rae
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 28, 2010

Great Party Dress

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I LOVE THIS DRESS! Very flattering, and the ruching on it hides any little bumps and bulges but shows off my figure. Great for any curvy girl out there! The dress has no stretch, so make sure you dont order it small. I may buy this dress, I LOVE it!
olivia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Body type: Pear
Jan 4, 2011

the dress came and was better than i expected!! i felt beautiful:)

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
absolutely loved this dress! while it did make me look a little big, it was because i ordered a large like i usually wear, but i should have ordered the medium. eitherway, the entiree night i got so many compliments and my confidence was through the roof (a rarity for me). the color was just stunning, and even though i am pretty pale it still looked vibrant and did not wash me out. especially for the price, this dress is definitely definitely a hit. if someone is skeptical about buying this, then i hope the best for you and if this dress boosts your confidence like it did mine, then i'm sure you are going to be a happy girl for w/e occasion this is for. loved it
Morgan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Body type: Pear
May 12, 2011

Dancing the night away in San Diego!!!!!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this to a fraternity formal and I have never got so many compliments on a dress in my life. I looked amazing, felt amazing and the pictures turned out amazing. I am looking into buying this dress for my own personal collection because of how great it was and I would highly suggest this for anyone!!
Laura Lu
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 11, 2011

I felt comfortable and sexy in this dress!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Vacation
I loved this dress and had many compliments. I have a curvy figure, this was perfect and comfortable. It is a bit short so be careful! Beautiful shade of red and showed up great in photos.
Stephanie
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 3, 2012

I loved this dress for NYE... made me feel like a million bucks!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress and got so many compliments on it! It was perfect for NYE and draped on my curves like a charm. The only thing was that the draping on the right should have been pinned to the side... It kept moving itself so the draping over the breasts weren't even. Could possibly fit better on someone with a smaller chest.
Ang
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165 lbs
Feb 16, 2012

Very comfortable...

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The drapes seem a lot better on the model. Around the bust area, one of the drapes wouldn't stay in place, but the color on the dress was beautiful and the back of the dress as well. It was for a Valentines dinner with my husband.
Jen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Jun 20, 2012

I felt beautiful in this shiny cocktail dress, it really shows off your legs!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered this dress becuase I was working the DC Emmy awards (I'm a cheerleader for a DC sports team) and was told I needed to wear a short, red cocktail dress. For the most part, it looked great. However, I agree with other reviews that the back can get a little short and the draping looks a little funny at times. I've got some curves but also a small waist and unfortunatly this dress doesn't flatter the waist. It made me look "boxy" with loose material hanging at my sides. I fit into both the S and XS (I usually wear mediums). If you aren't trying to show off your waist, this is a great dress. It flatters curves in a great way. But if you have an hourglass, beware! It'll make you look like you don't.
Rosa
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Sep 16, 2012

My birthday started out crappy but this dress fit so well and made it all better :D

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I used the double-sided tape that came with the dress for the shoulders because the material slips at the shoulders. Overall a great dress, I loved it and the color was perfect!
Amy
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 23, 2012

I wore this dress for my sorority's recruitment.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I loved the way it flattered my body shape. Many people gave me compliments. It was a true red color too which I was happy about. The only problem I had was the one piece on top didn't stay in place very well.
Jennifer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Sep 24, 2012

Was very easy to rent wear and return!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved the color, very bright and stand out. It felt a little short however I think I'm just not used to wearing the style of dress. The material was great. The fit was true to size, came on time and very easy to return!
Jennifer
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 28, 2012

RTR made the process so simple!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I did not like the fact that the fabric was shiny. This dress would have been to die for if it was just a matte jersey. Felt too 'holiday-like' for an April wedding.
Jordi23
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 5, 2012

This dress is vibrant and super soft. I was comfortable the entire night while looking great in red.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
The small was too small and the medium left me with a little wiggle room. I think that the dress may hang better on someone with a larger bust. The material is reall soft and slinky.
Dana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 22, 2012

The dress was such a bright red - it really made you pop and stand out!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Everything fit me true to size (XS) except for the length. I have a bigger butt, so the length on me was a lot shorter than on the model. Other than that, the bust, waist and everything else fit perfectly! I really liked the layering of the dress, it added some interest. I rented this dress for a charity event, so I covered my shoulders up with a little gold shrug.
Nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 25, 2012

Great for a night partying with my girlfriends.

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this to a bachelorette party in NYC's Meatpacking District. It was perfect. The dress was very flattering. I am about two sizes larger in pants than I am in tops (I usually wear a 0-2 in tops and a 4-6 in bottoms) and the XS fit well. It was very short, but I am tall and that was fine for spending a night out partying.
courtney
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Dec 6, 2012

Nice dress

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Love the color and style. Note: it is short (the model in the picture is 5'5")
Christine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 9, 2012

This color really made the dress.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The rouching wasn't my favorite but I loved the color of this dress. Also a little on the shorter side but it did an alright job of staying in place all night. Might be better for girls who aren't too curvy.
Irene
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Dec 12, 2012

Small on the chest if busty- other than that fun and sexy!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
I truly enjoyed wearing this dress. I wore it for my fiancé's 30th Birthday. The fabric was beautiful, the color was vibrant, and the style was great. However, it was a little too short for my comfort so I wore it with black stalkings. I have a large bust for my height and body size, so it was a little too tight on the bust area. It wasn't that noticeable, but I felt a little uncomfortable with it. I usually wear an XS, but I had to go with the Small for this one just because of the bust and the length.
Mackenzie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 119 lbs
Dec 16, 2012

I love RTR and will rent again, just not this designer.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I ended up not wearing either size. Poorly constructed dress already ripping at the seam when I took it out of the bag. The dress is extremely short and if you are busty this is not a good dress for you. The empire waistline did not leave much room for my boobs. Would not recommend this dress.
Lisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Dec 27, 2012

I was complimented on how I looked from behind as much as from the front

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I read the reviews and ordered my usual - M - and an S for the free backup as previous reviews indicated this ran large. For a true hourglass shape, however, I'd say this is just the right amount of material. But with any dress I run the risk of not enough give in the hips or bust. Plenty of room in the bust with an M, barely enough for the bottom. The dress is extremely short - which was very fun for this night but something to be aware of especially for big bottomed girls like myself. There's gorgeous gathering in all the right places but a seam down the back, which meant I was pulling on it all night to make sure the seam lined up correctly. That said, when it did line up it was super sexy and gorgeous. Husband was told by many that I'm getting more beautiful as I age and that kind of compliment can't be beat. I wouldn't order this dress again and am glad I didn't purchase it, but that's what is great about renting! The red was more orange than expected (but looks pink in these photos) so beware. I felt beautiful all night!
Katelyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 137 lbs
Jan 2, 2013

Wasn't able to wear it

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
While the dress is cute and looks adorable on the model I didn't end up wearing this to my family Christmas party. I ordered the small based on all of the reviews with the medium as my backup size. The medium was unavailable for my date but I ordered anyway. The dress that came did fit. However it was tighter than I was comfortable with for a family event. I'm only ft tall and the dress was short even on me and quite tight on my backside. Had I been going out for a night on the town it probably wouldn't have bothered me but for a family gathering it just didn't feel right. Overall the dress is cute but it just wasn't right for my event.
Yogamamma
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Athletic
Jan 10, 2013

SHORT.

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
My backup size was suddenly unavailable for a dress I rented, so RTR kindly suggested I try a different dress as a backup. Thankfully, the dress I ordered fit. This dress was incredibly short (I'm 5'10"). I was not wild about the hand of the fabric either. It felt very polyester-y. The drape in the back was unflattering. Not for me.
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Jan 16, 2013

Standing out in photos because of the vivid red dress shade!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fit true to size, possibly even a little on the roomy side, most notably in the bust. Very comfortable and cute dress; I got a lot of compliments.
Ren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117 lbs
Feb 2, 2013

I get to wear the dress

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
I'm 5'2" and weigh 115-118lbs with 36C top, this dress was too small for me. The dress is also a silky shiny dress so it didn't look to classy to me. Wasn't one of my favorites at RTR
Beverly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 15, 2013

Runs small and short; better for thin framed person without curves.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
I was disappointed with this dress--I usually run a size 6/8 and the medium was way too small. The bust area was not designed for someone with greater than an A sized cup, and I am 5'5" and the dress length was so short it fell perhaps 2 inches below my hips and if I sat down would not have had enough coverage at all. I was surprised because in the past I have worn a size 6 in Black Halo and the dresses have been designed for a completely different type of fit model.
Emily
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 3, 2013

I liked it, but the material was jersey and diffrent than i expected.

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore it to a semi formal.
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 21, 2013

Would have been lovely if the skirt was longer

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Did not end up wearing this dress, had rented for a romantic Valentine's evening with my boyfriend and when it arrived and tried it on I realized any stares I would receive would be due to the extreme amount of leg (if not more) showing. Beware for taller women, I'm nearly 5'10 and it was much too short to wear in public. The draping is nice, though a bit boxy around the waist, probably a beautiful fit on curvier bodies I just didn't have the but to fill it out as well.
Gabriela
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Apr 9, 2013

Great color!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Vacation
The fit was great. Fabric was very forgiving and comfortable. The length was perfect.
Erika
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 10, 2013

Droopy, not drapey.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I ordered this dress as a backup style for a holiday office party, and while the size was slightly too large, I could also tell that even the XS would have been droopier and longer than I had imagined. My chest looked saggy, which is definitely not what you want! RTR has some fantastic red dresses available -- go check them out instead :)
Amy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 17, 2013

Stunning red, but short

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Gorgeous red dress-has a slight stretch in the fabric, but this dress is not forgiving. It is quite short and my current baby bump definitely made it too short for a formal event. Loved the dress-would be great for petite girls or those looking for a daring statement dress.
Laura
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 27, 2013

arrived on time, and i love rent the runway! even though this was just a bad dress.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
it fit loose and the color was more of a dark red. the material was like basketball jersey shorts. i didn't end up wearing it because it looked a little cheap.
Traci
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132 lbs
Jun 5, 2013

Eh..

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I was not crazy about this dress. It was super comfy but it just reminded me of something you would buy in Joyce Leslie.
Queenruby81
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Sep 7, 2013

Great dress. Wore for work Christmas party.

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fit well, however, the folds around the middle can make it look like you have more belly than you do, so be sure to stand up straight!
Carin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Sep 8, 2013

Not for me

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This was just not a dress I would wear. It was really short and the material felt cheap to me. I think the shape is nice and I was sad to not love it, but this one went back unworn...and before I knew you could sent them back right away if they weren't right, so I paid full price...my fault but still sad!
ElleS
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Jun 24, 2014

Lady in red!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit runs a bit large and I ended up wearing the S. It was very comfortable and loved that I could wear a bra with straps. The style of the dress was very flattering to my body type and camouflaged my flaws. I dressed it up with a statement necklace and peep-toe black heels.
Jade
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175 lbs
Jun 26, 2014

i received so many compliments and the red just popped.

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
the dress fit perfectly, especially a woman with curves.
Alexis
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Jul 14, 2014

So sexy!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
The draping makes this dress SO flattering, and you can actually breathe!
Katelin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 2, 2014

Fire Engine Red at the Fire Fighters Ball! Really drew everyones attention.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was red hot. It ran a little small in the body, so I went a size up, even though it gave the bust more of a gaping hang, I just kept that in mind if I bent over. The legnth was great, and it sat very nice on the body.
marina
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Nov 4, 2014

Lots of compliments!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Very pretty dress, I usually am about and 8/10 dress size depending on the material and such so I took a Large in this dress. I think it ran a bit small. I had 2 complaints the slip part was very short and tight and it kept riding up when i sat down; and the draping over the right top on the chest wasn't attached to the dress so when I would move it would bunch up and look kind of funny. But other than that it looked great was comfortable and I got a lot of compliments on it.
Valerie
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 10, 2014

Everyone said I looked HOTT

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The biggest problem is that I have a very muscled butt. I do crossfit and I run and cycle so the dress was extremely short on the backside. Otherwise, a beautiful dress. Make sure to wear a bra. The rouching hides a lot of imperfections so there's no need to worry about not having six-pack abs, which I don't have.
MK
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 12, 2015

Fit is not flattering

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Did not end up wearing this dress in either the M or the S as the fit was very, very unflattering. It was too tight in some areas and too looser in all the wrong areas. Would not recommend this dress.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×