Black Halo

Red Carpet Dress

$21 rental
$325 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Black Halo takes a simple silhouette and gives it a bold makeover.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS-L. Size XS=0,2; Size S=4,6; Size M=8,10; Size L=12.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout and ruched fabric conceals abdomen
HIPS: Fitted
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra and seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS-L. Size XS=0,2; Size S=4,6; Size M=8,10; Size L=12.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout and ruched fabric conceals abdomen
HIPS: Fitted
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra and seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Red shiny jersey. V neckline with draping detail at shoulder. Side ruching detail on body. Draping detail on skirt. Hidden side zip. 36" from shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'10".

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

116 reviews

Fit
Small 28
True to Size 68
Large 20
Photos 27
Kat
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Mar 22, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress is amazing. It fit perfectly and was incredibly flattering. Got tons of compliments on it, definitely a show stopper!
KK
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Body type: Full Bust
Apr 10, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Very disappointed in this one. It looks great on the model but when I tried it on the ruching was not as pictured- I almost thought RTR sent me the wrong dress. It was very droopy and the overlay on the bust area would not lay flat. The fabric, in my opinion, was of poor quality and the dress was way too short on me.
Jenest
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Petite
Apr 23, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Not pretty in person. The fabric looks cheap and the dress has a lot of bulk to it. I didn't wear it. : (
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
May 13, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Dress was very cute in every aspect except the length. Both sizes (XS, S) were SO short that I couldn't even wear the dress--bummer.
hated it!
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
May 27, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I do not know what everyone is raving about. I have never put a dress on and had it look worse. The moment I took it out of the bag I hated the material. It felt cheap. When I put the dress on it did not look like the picture at all. I am usually a size 4 or 6 and I got a small and medium. The small had a sports bra effect up top (I am a 34D, so that sometimes happens), but even so both sizes just looked terrible. It seemed like the draping was not doing what it was supposed to because the material was so awful.
sonia
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Body type: Straight & narrow
May 29, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I had my senior prom last night, and this dress was quite the show-stopper! the fitting was remarkable. the only "bad" part about it is that it stretched out...ALOT. by the end of the night i was able to fit another person in my dress along with me. So that made it loose its shape, but then again I was dancing for 4 hours straight with the dress. In general, this dress was very beautiful, and the color is just perfect
danes
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
May 31, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress was awesome! I am a little round around the stomach area, but the ruching covered it perfectly. A push up bra and a thong does underwear perfectly. Very comfortable because of the jersey material. My only complaint is that it came with lots of wrinkles.
Rian
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
Aug 2, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I rented this and ended up wearing my back up. Didnt look like the dress on the model to me at. It was a pretty color though, and it was my first time renting, and I thought the whole process was very streamlined and easy.
Platinumtraveler
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 13, 2011

Overall fit: Small
The color of the dress is the only positive aspect for me. As reviewers have stated the shiny jersey is very shiny and does show as not a great quality. The skirt is WAY TOO SHORT. I am 5'3" and ordered a medium and let's just say i could never drop anything, sit down, or stretch my arms wearing this. Definitely made more for a straight & narrow as the ducting is not at all flattering in front or in back. As others have said the criss cross on top is too high over the left side and looks awkward. I have rented from Black Halo before and loved the dresses. This one did not fit at all. I am usually a 6/8 in BCBG and would never have thought I would have to consider a 12(L) in this dress. Plus the description says there is a hidden side zip which there isn't as it is a pullover.
Britt
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 13, 2011

Overall fit: Small
This dress looked awful on my body type. It is also very very short.
Christina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Sep 21, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I really did not like this dress - the fabric was clingy and cheap and the rouching on the back was unflattering. I did not wear it.
Jenny
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Body type: Athletic
Sep 24, 2011

Overall fit: Large
I rented an xs and it was actually slightly big on me. In fact, it made me look like I had a stomach when I don't. Love the dress itself and style. I just needed about an 1 - 2 good inches removed from the dress in the waist to compliment my figure, give me a bit more definition in the waist and not bulge out in front.
RolaLola
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 28
Body type: Pear
Sep 28, 2011

Overall fit: Small
I agree with another reviewer that it made me look like I had a stomach when I don't. Love the dress itself and style this may not be true for all the copies of this dress they have available but at least the ones I received, the 2nd layer was so stretched that the rouching looked like extra skin not a cute flirty detail. The inner layer was tight, and slightly uncomfortable, and the dress was rather short, even on myself.
shanz
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 19
Body type: Petite
Oct 2, 2011

Overall fit: Large
I didnt like the way this dress draped over my body. it felt and looked like a curtain. this dress, however, would look great on someone more curvy
Des
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Body type: Straight & narrow
Oct 17, 2011

Overall fit: Large
The draping on this dress did not fit my body type properly. In the photo, it appears that the draping is secured, however its the curves of the body that hold the draping in place, as my bust and waist is smaller than this woman's, the draping did not drape properly but hung unusually. I ended up not wearing this dress at all.
Roni
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Body type: Apple
Oct 19, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress was perfect. I wore it to a wedding and received tons of compliments. Glad I got two sizes because I was actually smaller than the size I expected. Doesn't necessarily run big, just felt better in the smaller size. Great color too!
Ann
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 64
Body type: Straight & narrow
Oct 19, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
The color is great, however, it was extremely short. This would be better for a person shorter than five feet nine.Both sizes were very short I tried the dress with black nylons but the dress was just too short. Luckily I ordered another nichole miller dress and it fit perfectly.
Mrs.Cellers
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118 lbs
Oct 20, 2011

Overall fit: Small
I ordered an xs which is typically my size but it was too small in the bust. The drapes did not lay right and I was unable to wear it. It is a beautiful dress but if you have a larger bust, I would order a size up.
Amy
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 21
Body type: Petite
Oct 21, 2011

Overall fit: Large
This dress was way too big. I ordered a small and a medium and the layers on the small were literally hanging off my body. I'm usually a 2 or a 4 so I thought that the small would fit me but it didn't and I ended up not wearing it for the event.
Emily
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 22, 2011

Overall fit: Large
I looked at the other reviews and ordered my dress a size smaller than usual-I'm so glad that I did. This dress is really flattering on hourglass figures, although if you have a fuller bust, you might need to use dress tape to help keep the front together. Also, the dress is dark red, rather than the bright cherry red shown in the picture.
MissPrettyName
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Oct 24, 2011

Overall fit: Small
This dress did not fit at all like I had hoped. I have a large bust and broader shoulders, so the draping pulled in an unflattering way. Also, the dress was way shorter than it looks on the model. I loved the RTR service, I just wished I had called and spoke to a stylist before ordering this one.
Gabby
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 23
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 1, 2011

Overall fit: Small
it was too short :-( i was so sad i didn't get to wear it. the material didn't have a lot of stretch. large in the waist, the material was hanging off
Chris
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 2, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress is not very flattering for those with a butt or hips--it drapes very obviously on those areas. The fabric is also pretty heavy, and the color is a bit lighter than in the photo, and rather cheap looking.
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 14, 2011

Wouldn't recommend

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I rented this for my birthday party, and the fabric is much shinier and a much darker red than it appears in the picture, it felt cheap. I tend to wear a 4-6, and the small was too large. I can see this flattering curvier types, but the way it hung on me made me look shapeless.
stefanie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 22, 2011

Awkward top but overall good.

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
The top drapes a little funny. Though the XS had a higher seam I managed to shimmy it down lower so it looked like the picture. I was able to get 2 sizes in this which was GREAT because I read a lot of reviews and they were mixed with either fit is too large or too small. Overall fit in my opinion runs relatively large. I wear anywhere from a 0-4 depending on brand but definitely a size 26 waist and I felt the XS was not tight by any means but it does run pretty short. BTW, I think it photographs well too.
Lisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 13, 2012

Had to return it

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
It looks a lot different than what I expected. And the fit was way off, so I had to return it and had to wear a dress that I already had. I am 5'9" and 130 lbs, so I thought that the length would be similar to the models, but it was extremely short. The fit up top was a little awkward too. The draping was not as flattering as it shows on the model, but not in a way that should be expected. It didn't hang naturally and kind of hiked up over my chest. As for the condition, the dress was very clean and was what I would expect for a dress that has been worn before. Overall, I think the first time for ordering a dress from this site, it was a good one despite the fit issues.
Beach girl
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 114 lbs
Feb 16, 2012

Valentine Ball

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress fit well. I wasn't sure about the "folds" of fabric but it looked good. The color was great - a true red. As you walked, the dress got shorter - and it was pretty short to begin with. Was a little uncomfortable sitting because it became very short. It is a great dress for standing and socializing.
E
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Mar 2, 2012

Didn't work for me

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Like others have said, the draping was all wrong and looked nothing like the photo. I have a large chest, though, so maybe it's just made for someone with a smaller chest. I wish it had worked, though, because the color was gorgeous and it looked so sassy before I put it on!
WaityKaty
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Jul 18, 2012

Runs large

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was very comfortable and was made with very forgiving fabric. The draping around the midsection can make you look thicker, so I wore a size down.
Dina
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
Aug 6, 2012

Not good

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Perhaps because I'm petite, but this dress was huge on me and I rented the smallest size. I do not recommend this dress for shorter women.
Samantha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170 lbs
Aug 11, 2012

Hot little number

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this on my bachelorette party weekend and it received a ton of compliments.
Julia
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Aug 14, 2012

awkward...

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
the fabric felt very inexpensive, and the whole dress fit me very poorly. it's definitely not made for tall girls, but i wouldn't recommend it for anyone. i didn't even end up wearing either of the sizes that i rented.
AKE
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 112 lbs
Aug 14, 2012

Cheap fabric in real life

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I was extremely disappointed in this dress. I thought it would be a fun, bright red dress to wear in Vegas. Unfortunately, the fabric is kind of shiny and did not look classy in real life. I usually love Black Halo, but this is not one of their best.
Britt
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 23, 2012

It was WAY too short for me

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
I rented this to wear out on a date with my husband. I rented both the S and the M, but they were both way too short to wear in public.I am only 5'2", so this is not usually an issue for me. I was unable to wear the dress.
Keena
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 26, 2012

Great at first...

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I felt that it looked fabulous in the picture but when I put it on, it just seemed cheap on me. It fit well but the fabric was not what I expected.
Andrea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Aug 28, 2012

Flattering and a great color

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I must say this dress is very forgiving in the stomach area. However, it runs large so I felt like I was swimming in it. Despite the dress being too big I still got tons of compliments on it.
Ann Marie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Aug 30, 2012

No love for this Vday dress

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for a Valentine's party. Way too much fabric to really show off your figure. The color was more orange-red than true-red. Not a fit for me.
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Aug 30, 2012

terrible

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I loved the picture of this dress, but it looked very trashy in person. I got a M and L and both of them did not fit, it would snag in weird places, and it was extremely short.
Anna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 19, 2012

The dress was beautiful but I was unable to wear it.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The dress runs small and I was unable to wear it for the occasion for which I rented it.
Adrienne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 21, 2012

I rented this dress to wear to a wedding... my husband would not let me out of the house in it !

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is SUPER short. I am only 5'4 & my husband said it was inappropriate. Is a def rent for maybe a bachelorette party or something where no family members would be around. This dress is def for a busty person. If my chest was not this large it would be droopy in the front. Gorg dress, wish I could have worn it !!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×