Black Halo

Red Carpet Dress

$21 to buy
$325 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Black Halo takes a simple silhouette and gives it a bold makeover.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS-L. Size XS=0,2; Size S=4,6; Size M=8,10; Size L=12.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout and ruched fabric conceals abdomen
HIPS: Fitted
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra and seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Red shiny jersey. V neckline with draping detail at shoulder. Side ruching detail on body. Draping detail on skirt. Hidden side zip. 36" from shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'10".

Share
117 reviews
Fit
Large
(21)
True to Size
(68)
Small
(28)
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
December 10, 2014
Everyone said I looked HOTT
The biggest problem is that I have a very muscled butt. I do crossfit and I run and cycle so the dress was extremely short on the backside. Otherwise, a beautiful dress. Make sure to wear a bra. The rouching hides a lot of imperfections so there's no need to worry about not having six-pack abs, which I don't have.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
January 12, 2015
Fit is not flattering
Did not end up wearing this dress in either the M or the S as the fit was very, very unflattering. It was too tight in some areas and too looser in all the wrong areas. Would not recommend this dress.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
December 27, 2010
This dress did not work with my bust line. The fabric looked cheap and did not hang as it shows in this photo. I would never rent it again. I didn't even wear it.
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Body type: Hourglass
February 27, 2011
Runs small on taller people and thus is extremely short. It was unwearable without risking arrest. Size up appropriately.
SariAugust 3, 2015
Thanks for such specific advice! I have never had luck w/ fashion tape but I am ordering topstick tape now! :)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
March 22, 2011
This dress is amazing. It fit perfectly and was incredibly flattering. Got tons of compliments on it, definitely a show stopper!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Petite
April 23, 2011
Not pretty in person. The fabric looks cheap and the dress has a lot of bulk to it. I didn't wear it. : (
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
May 13, 2011
Dress was very cute in every aspect except the length. Both sizes (XS, S) were SO short that I couldn't even wear the dress--bummer.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
September 21, 2011
I really did not like this dress - the fabric was clingy and cheap and the rouching on the back was unflattering. I did not wear it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
December 30, 2011
Not what I expected
I was super excited to rent this but when I tried it on, it was not flattering on me at all! On the model it looks super fitted and ruched all over. In all actuality it looks like there are 2 drapes of fabric over a regular short red dress. One drape over the breast and the other draping on the other diagonal across the stomach. I'm curvy and it made me look shapeless and wide. Super disappointed :(
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
June 20, 2012
I felt beautiful in this shiny cocktail dress, it really shows off your legs!
I ordered this dress becuase I was working the DC Emmy awards (I'm a cheerleader for a DC sports team) and was told I needed to wear a short, red cocktail dress. For the most part, it looked great. However, I agree with other reviews that the back can get a little short and the draping looks a little funny at times. I've got some curves but also a small waist and unfortunatly this dress doesn't flatter the waist. It made me look "boxy" with loose material hanging at my sides. I fit into both the S and XS (I usually wear mediums). If you aren't trying to show off your waist, this is a great dress. It flatters curves in a great way. But if you have an hourglass, beware! It'll make you look like you don't.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
November 25, 2012
Great for a night partying with my girlfriends.
I wore this to a bachelorette party in NYC's Meatpacking District. It was perfect. The dress was very flattering. I am about two sizes larger in pants than I am in tops (I usually wear a 0-2 in tops and a 4-6 in bottoms) and the XS fit well. It was very short, but I am tall and that was fine for spending a night out partying.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
December 12, 2012
Small on the chest if busty- other than that fun and sexy!
I truly enjoyed wearing this dress. I wore it for my fiancé's 30th Birthday. The fabric was beautiful, the color was vibrant, and the style was great. However, it was a little too short for my comfort so I wore it with black stalkings. I have a large bust for my height and body size, so it was a little too tight on the bust area. It wasn't that noticeable, but I felt a little uncomfortable with it. I usually wear an XS, but I had to go with the Small for this one just because of the bust and the length.
View photos (2)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
October 1, 2010
Sexy and beautiful! This dress is a gorgeous color and made me feel very confidant wearing it. The draping is forgiving and the ruching up the back very flattering. My only complaint is that even without a bra, the sash on the right side kept wanting to 'pop up' instead of drape flat. Not for full bust figures. Still I received many compliments!
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
October 13, 2010
I was not impressed with this dress at all. When I put it on for one the draping on the top was messed up and the pleating design on the skirt was completely gone so the dress overall looked strange and poorly made. The ruching does help a lot though overall with any flaw that might occur, I ended up not wearing this dress, but I did try it on to see how well it appeared. The photo does way more justice than in person though.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Body type: Athletic
November 8, 2010
You will definitely stand out in this dress. I wore this dress to a black tie event although most of the women wore cocktail dresses. I had many people come up and complement me on the dress. Although this dress is fairly true to size, make sure your second dress is one size up. I am usually a 10, but thought the medium was too snug and ended up wearing the large. I did not have any problems with the bust area being too loose. I loved this dress and would likely rent again!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
November 23, 2010
Unfortunately didn't have any success with this dress. I ordered both a M and L, but neither were very flattering. I am very curvy and the draping made my hips even wider, and cameflogued my waist. My experience seems to be unique as many other reviewers were pleased with their dress.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
December 5, 2010
The color, style and material are great. I agree with the other comments about it not being great for people with larger busts, as I did have to adjust the sash a bit. I also think this dress is better for longer torso ladies, because I felt that all of the ruching around the middle was a little much on my very short torso. Overall, the look is stunning, and I can't complain about the complements that I got when I wore it.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Body type: Petite
December 14, 2010
This dress is beautiful in peron BUT maybe because I am short, I felt it layed better on the model in the picture. I ordered a size small and medium as a backup and I fit into both just fine but ended up wearing the small. This dress is fun and very classy, I wore it to my husband's military ball and I got many compliments on this dress. The color is also very true to the picture its a bright fire engine red. I wore it with 5 in black velvet heels, pearls, and rd lipstick. Although I am short I still managed to wear this dress well. It is also very forgiving especially after a 3 course meal, the ruching on this dress is incredible and is tucked in all the right places.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
February 6, 2011
It was really cute, but I couldn't wear it. I have a large chest (32 DD) so the seam that is supposed to run under the bust ran straight through mine, If I pulled it down to where it should have been it made it super low cut. So... with it being so short and having to pull it down in oder for the seam to be where it should have been, I didn't look very "respectable". I would have loved it if I had a smaller chest!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
February 7, 2011
I didn't love this dress- I wore it to an event I planned, so I picked this dress because of the thick straps and because the material looked like it would give a little. First off, it's actually a pretty heavy dress, and there isn't really any stretch to it. The drapping around the bust made it a bit awkward (but I'm a larger 34C so that could've been it), and it wouldn't have stayed in place if it wasn't for dress tape! It's also a bit awkward on the side of the dress, I think it's probably better for someone super tall or a bit shorter.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
February 16, 2011
I was so excited to wear this to a friend's rehearsal dinner but then was so disappointed when it arrived. This dress would be perfect for a night out in Vegas, but was not appropriate for a nice sit down dinner. It is very short, you could get away with the front but the gathering on the back makes it uncomfortably short. If you're looking for a get up for clubbing or the Jersey Shore- this is your dress. If you want to be classy or even classy with a bit of an edge- choose something else.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
March 12, 2011
I hate to say it but I DID NOT like this dress. :( I'm a petite person and it made me look HUGE. Also, I rented this item before the more elaborate product details portion of the website so I did not realize it was shiny jersey. It was not suitable for the daytime event I was attending. I think this dress would be great for women with beautiful curves! :)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Body type: Straight & narrow
May 29, 2011
I had my senior prom last night, and this dress was quite the show-stopper! the fitting was remarkable. the only "bad" part about it is that it stretched out...ALOT. by the end of the night i was able to fit another person in my dress along with me. So that made it loose its shape, but then again I was dancing for 4 hours straight with the dress. In general, this dress was very beautiful, and the color is just perfect
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 36
Body type: Petite
August 2, 2011
I rented this and ended up wearing my back up. Didnt look like the dress on the model to me at. It was a pretty color though, and it was my first time renting, and I thought the whole process was very streamlined and easy.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
August 13, 2011
The color of the dress is the only positive aspect for me. As reviewers have stated the shiny jersey is very shiny and does show as not a great quality. The skirt is WAY TOO SHORT. I am 5'3" and ordered a medium and let's just say i could never drop anything, sit down, or stretch my arms wearing this. Definitely made more for a straight & narrow as the ducting is not at all flattering in front or in back. As others have said the criss cross on top is too high over the left side and looks awkward. I have rented from Black Halo before and loved the dresses. This one did not fit at all. I am usually a 6/8 in BCBG and would never have thought I would have to consider a 12(L) in this dress. Plus the description says there is a hidden side zip which there isn't as it is a pullover.
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 31
Body type: Pear
September 28, 2011
I agree with another reviewer that it made me look like I had a stomach when I don't. Love the dress itself and style this may not be true for all the copies of this dress they have available but at least the ones I received, the 2nd layer was so stretched that the rouching looked like extra skin not a cute flirty detail. The inner layer was tight, and slightly uncomfortable, and the dress was rather short, even on myself.
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
October 24, 2011
This dress did not fit at all like I had hoped. I have a large bust and broader shoulders, so the draping pulled in an unflattering way. Also, the dress was way shorter than it looks on the model. I loved the RTR service, I just wished I had called and spoke to a stylist before ordering this one.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
March 2, 2012
Didn't work for me
Like others have said, the draping was all wrong and looked nothing like the photo. I have a large chest, though, so maybe it's just made for someone with a smaller chest. I wish it had worked, though, because the color was gorgeous and it looked so sassy before I put it on!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
August 26, 2012
Great at first...
I felt that it looked fabulous in the picture but when I put it on, it just seemed cheap on me. It fit well but the fabric was not what I expected.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
August 30, 2012
terrible
I loved the picture of this dress, but it looked very trashy in person. I got a M and L and both of them did not fit, it would snag in weird places, and it was extremely short.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
September 19, 2012
The dress was beautiful but I was unable to wear it.
The dress runs small and I was unable to wear it for the occasion for which I rented it.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 151lbs
September 28, 2012
RTR made the process so simple!
I did not like the fact that the fabric was shiny. This dress would have been to die for if it was just a matte jersey. Felt too 'holiday-like' for an April wedding.
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
December 6, 2012
Nice dress
Love the color and style. Note: it is short (the model in the picture is 5'5")
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117lbs
February 2, 2013
I get to wear the dress
I'm 5'2" and weigh 115-118lbs with 36C top, this dress was too small for me. The dress is also a silky shiny dress so it didn't look to classy to me. Wasn't one of my favorites at RTR
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
March 3, 2013
I liked it, but the material was jersey and diffrent than i expected.
I wore it to a semi formal.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
June 5, 2013
Eh..
I was not crazy about this dress. It was super comfy but it just reminded me of something you would buy in Joyce Leslie.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
September 8, 2013
Not for me
This was just not a dress I would wear. It was really short and the material felt cheap to me. I think the shape is nice and I was sad to not love it, but this one went back unworn...and before I knew you could sent them back right away if they weren't right, so I paid full price...my fault but still sad!
See more reviews:
3 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×