Black Halo

Red Carpet Dress

$21 to buy
$325 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Black Halo takes a simple silhouette and gives it a bold makeover.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS-L. Size XS=0,2; Size S=4,6; Size M=8,10; Size L=12.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout and ruched fabric conceals abdomen
HIPS: Fitted
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra and seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Red shiny jersey. V neckline with draping detail at shoulder. Side ruching detail on body. Draping detail on skirt. Hidden side zip. 36" from shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'10".

Share
117 reviews
Fit
Large
(21)
True to Size
(68)
Small
(28)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 14, 2011
Wouldn't recommend
I rented this for my birthday party, and the fabric is much shinier and a much darker red than it appears in the picture, it felt cheap. I tend to wear a 4-6, and the small was too large. I can see this flattering curvier types, but the way it hung on me made me look shapeless.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
December 11, 2011
I felt comfortable and sexy in this dress!
I loved this dress and had many compliments. I have a curvy figure, this was perfect and comfortable. It is a bit short so be careful! Beautiful shade of red and showed up great in photos.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
December 22, 2011
Awkward top but overall good.
The top drapes a little funny. Though the XS had a higher seam I managed to shimmy it down lower so it looked like the picture. I was able to get 2 sizes in this which was GREAT because I read a lot of reviews and they were mixed with either fit is too large or too small. Overall fit in my opinion runs relatively large. I wear anywhere from a 0-4 depending on brand but definitely a size 26 waist and I felt the XS was not tight by any means but it does run pretty short. BTW, I think it photographs well too.
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
January 3, 2012
I loved this dress for NYE... made me feel like a million bucks!
I loved this dress and got so many compliments on it! It was perfect for NYE and draped on my curves like a charm. The only thing was that the draping on the right should have been pinned to the side... It kept moving itself so the draping over the breasts weren't even. Could possibly fit better on someone with a smaller chest.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
February 13, 2012
Had to return it
It looks a lot different than what I expected. And the fit was way off, so I had to return it and had to wear a dress that I already had. I am 5'9" and 130 lbs, so I thought that the length would be similar to the models, but it was extremely short. The fit up top was a little awkward too. The draping was not as flattering as it shows on the model, but not in a way that should be expected. It didn't hang naturally and kind of hiked up over my chest. As for the condition, the dress was very clean and was what I would expect for a dress that has been worn before. Overall, I think the first time for ordering a dress from this site, it was a good one despite the fit issues.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
February 16, 2012
Very comfortable...
The drapes seem a lot better on the model. Around the bust area, one of the drapes wouldn't stay in place, but the color on the dress was beautiful and the back of the dress as well. It was for a Valentines dinner with my husband.
AngMarch 14, 2012
I couldn't post the other pictures with a full view of the dress. The website didn't allow me to..
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 58
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 114lbs
February 16, 2012
Valentine Ball
The dress fit well. I wasn't sure about the "folds" of fabric but it looked good. The color was great - a true red. As you walked, the dress got shorter - and it was pretty short to begin with. Was a little uncomfortable sitting because it became very short. It is a great dress for standing and socializing.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
July 18, 2012
Runs large
This dress was very comfortable and was made with very forgiving fabric. The draping around the midsection can make you look thicker, so I wore a size down.
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
August 6, 2012
Not good
Perhaps because I'm petite, but this dress was huge on me and I rented the smallest size. I do not recommend this dress for shorter women.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
August 11, 2012
Hot little number
I wore this on my bachelorette party weekend and it received a ton of compliments.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
August 14, 2012
awkward...
the fabric felt very inexpensive, and the whole dress fit me very poorly. it's definitely not made for tall girls, but i wouldn't recommend it for anyone. i didn't even end up wearing either of the sizes that i rented.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
August 14, 2012
Cheap fabric in real life
I was extremely disappointed in this dress. I thought it would be a fun, bright red dress to wear in Vegas. Unfortunately, the fabric is kind of shiny and did not look classy in real life. I usually love Black Halo, but this is not one of their best.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
August 23, 2012
It was WAY too short for me
I rented this to wear out on a date with my husband. I rented both the S and the M, but they were both way too short to wear in public.I am only 5'2", so this is not usually an issue for me. I was unable to wear the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
August 28, 2012
Flattering and a great color
I must say this dress is very forgiving in the stomach area. However, it runs large so I felt like I was swimming in it. Despite the dress being too big I still got tons of compliments on it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
August 30, 2012
No love for this Vday dress
I rented this dress for a Valentine's party. Way too much fabric to really show off your figure. The color was more orange-red than true-red. Not a fit for me.
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
September 16, 2012
My birthday started out crappy but this dress fit so well and made it all better :D
I used the double-sided tape that came with the dress for the shoulders because the material slips at the shoulders. Overall a great dress, I loved it and the color was perfect!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34DDD/E
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
September 21, 2012
I rented this dress to wear to a wedding... my husband would not let me out of the house in it !
This dress is SUPER short. I am only 5'4 & my husband said it was inappropriate. Is a def rent for maybe a bachelorette party or something where no family members would be around. This dress is def for a busty person. If my chest was not this large it would be droopy in the front. Gorg dress, wish I could have worn it !!
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
September 23, 2012
I wore this dress for my sorority's recruitment.
I loved the way it flattered my body shape. Many people gave me compliments. It was a true red color too which I was happy about. The only problem I had was the one piece on top didn't stay in place very well.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
September 24, 2012
Was very easy to rent wear and return!
I loved the color, very bright and stand out. It felt a little short however I think I'm just not used to wearing the style of dress. The material was great. The fit was true to size, came on time and very easy to return!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
October 5, 2012
This dress is vibrant and super soft. I was comfortable the entire night while looking great in red.
The small was too small and the medium left me with a little wiggle room. I think that the dress may hang better on someone with a larger bust. The material is reall soft and slinky.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
October 22, 2012
The dress was such a bright red - it really made you pop and stand out!
Everything fit me true to size (XS) except for the length. I have a bigger butt, so the length on me was a lot shorter than on the model. Other than that, the bust, waist and everything else fit perfectly! I really liked the layering of the dress, it added some interest. I rented this dress for a charity event, so I covered my shoulders up with a little gold shrug.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 9, 2012
This color really made the dress.
The rouching wasn't my favorite but I loved the color of this dress. Also a little on the shorter side but it did an alright job of staying in place all night. Might be better for girls who aren't too curvy.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 119lbs
December 16, 2012
I love RTR and will rent again, just not this designer.
I ended up not wearing either size. Poorly constructed dress already ripping at the seam when I took it out of the bag. The dress is extremely short and if you are busty this is not a good dress for you. The empire waistline did not leave much room for my boobs. Would not recommend this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
December 27, 2012
I was complimented on how I looked from behind as much as from the front
I read the reviews and ordered my usual - M - and an S for the free backup as previous reviews indicated this ran large. For a true hourglass shape, however, I'd say this is just the right amount of material. But with any dress I run the risk of not enough give in the hips or bust. Plenty of room in the bust with an M, barely enough for the bottom. The dress is extremely short - which was very fun for this night but something to be aware of especially for big bottomed girls like myself. There's gorgeous gathering in all the right places but a seam down the back, which meant I was pulling on it all night to make sure the seam lined up correctly. That said, when it did line up it was super sexy and gorgeous. Husband was told by many that I'm getting more beautiful as I age and that kind of compliment can't be beat. I wouldn't order this dress again and am glad I didn't purchase it, but that's what is great about renting! The red was more orange than expected (but looks pink in these photos) so beware. I felt beautiful all night!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 2, 2013
Wasn't able to wear it
While the dress is cute and looks adorable on the model I didn't end up wearing this to my family Christmas party. I ordered the small based on all of the reviews with the medium as my backup size. The medium was unavailable for my date but I ordered anyway. The dress that came did fit. However it was tighter than I was comfortable with for a family event. I'm only ft tall and the dress was short even on me and quite tight on my backside. Had I been going out for a night on the town it probably wouldn't have bothered me but for a family gathering it just didn't feel right. Overall the dress is cute but it just wasn't right for my event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Athletic
January 10, 2013
SHORT.
My backup size was suddenly unavailable for a dress I rented, so RTR kindly suggested I try a different dress as a backup. Thankfully, the dress I ordered fit. This dress was incredibly short (I'm 5'10"). I was not wild about the hand of the fabric either. It felt very polyester-y. The drape in the back was unflattering. Not for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
January 16, 2013
Standing out in photos because of the vivid red dress shade!
The dress fit true to size, possibly even a little on the roomy side, most notably in the bust. Very comfortable and cute dress; I got a lot of compliments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
February 15, 2013
Runs small and short; better for thin framed person without curves.
I was disappointed with this dress--I usually run a size 6/8 and the medium was way too small. The bust area was not designed for someone with greater than an A sized cup, and I am 5'5" and the dress length was so short it fell perhaps 2 inches below my hips and if I sat down would not have had enough coverage at all. I was surprised because in the past I have worn a size 6 in Black Halo and the dresses have been designed for a completely different type of fit model.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
March 21, 2013
Would have been lovely if the skirt was longer
Did not end up wearing this dress, had rented for a romantic Valentine's evening with my boyfriend and when it arrived and tried it on I realized any stares I would receive would be due to the extreme amount of leg (if not more) showing. Beware for taller women, I'm nearly 5'10 and it was much too short to wear in public. The draping is nice, though a bit boxy around the waist, probably a beautiful fit on curvier bodies I just didn't have the but to fill it out as well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
April 9, 2013
Great color!
The fit was great. Fabric was very forgiving and comfortable. The length was perfect.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
April 10, 2013
Droopy, not drapey.
I ordered this dress as a backup style for a holiday office party, and while the size was slightly too large, I could also tell that even the XS would have been droopier and longer than I had imagined. My chest looked saggy, which is definitely not what you want! RTR has some fantastic red dresses available -- go check them out instead :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
April 17, 2013
Stunning red, but short
Gorgeous red dress-has a slight stretch in the fabric, but this dress is not forgiving. It is quite short and my current baby bump definitely made it too short for a formal event. Loved the dress-would be great for petite girls or those looking for a daring statement dress.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
April 27, 2013
arrived on time, and i love rent the runway! even though this was just a bad dress.
it fit loose and the color was more of a dark red. the material was like basketball jersey shorts. i didn't end up wearing it because it looked a little cheap.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
September 7, 2013
Great dress. Wore for work Christmas party.
Fit well, however, the folds around the middle can make it look like you have more belly than you do, so be sure to stand up straight!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
June 24, 2014
Lady in red!
The fit runs a bit large and I ended up wearing the S. It was very comfortable and loved that I could wear a bra with straps. The style of the dress was very flattering to my body type and camouflaged my flaws. I dressed it up with a statement necklace and peep-toe black heels.
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
June 26, 2014
i received so many compliments and the red just popped.
the dress fit perfectly, especially a woman with curves.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
July 14, 2014
So sexy!
The draping makes this dress SO flattering, and you can actually breathe!
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 22
Body type: Petite
October 2, 2011
I didnt like the way this dress draped over my body. it felt and looked like a curtain. this dress, however, would look great on someone more curvy
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
October 2, 2014
Fire Engine Red at the Fire Fighters Ball! Really drew everyones attention.
This dress was red hot. It ran a little small in the body, so I went a size up, even though it gave the bust more of a gaping hang, I just kept that in mind if I bent over. The legnth was great, and it sat very nice on the body.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
November 4, 2014
Lots of compliments!
Very pretty dress, I usually am about and 8/10 dress size depending on the material and such so I took a Large in this dress. I think it ran a bit small. I had 2 complaints the slip part was very short and tight and it kept riding up when i sat down; and the draping over the right top on the chest wasn't attached to the dress so when I would move it would bunch up and look kind of funny. But other than that it looked great was comfortable and I got a lot of compliments on it.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×