Red Carpet Dress

$21 to buy
$325 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Black Halo takes a simple silhouette and gives it a bold makeover.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS-L. Size XS=0,2; Size S=4,6; Size M=8,10; Size L=12.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout and ruched fabric conceals abdomen
HIPS: Fitted
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra and seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS-L. Size XS=0,2; Size S=4,6; Size M=8,10; Size L=12.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout and ruched fabric conceals abdomen
HIPS: Fitted
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra and seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Red shiny jersey. V neckline with draping detail at shoulder. Side ruching detail on body. Draping detail on skirt. Hidden side zip. 36" from shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'10".

Share
117 reviews
Fit
Large21
True to Size68
Small28
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 112lbs
August 14, 2012
Cheap fabric in real life
I was extremely disappointed in this dress. I thought it would be a fun, bright red dress to wear in Vegas. Unfortunately, the fabric is kind of shiny and did not look classy in real life. I usually love Black Halo, but this is not one of their best.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
August 14, 2012
awkward...
the fabric felt very inexpensive, and the whole dress fit me very poorly. it's definitely not made for tall girls, but i wouldn't recommend it for anyone. i didn't even end up wearing either of the sizes that i rented.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
August 11, 2012
Hot little number
I wore this on my bachelorette party weekend and it received a ton of compliments.
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
August 6, 2012
Not good
Perhaps because I'm petite, but this dress was huge on me and I rented the smallest size. I do not recommend this dress for shorter women.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
July 18, 2012
Runs large
This dress was very comfortable and was made with very forgiving fabric. The draping around the midsection can make you look thicker, so I wore a size down.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
June 20, 2012
I felt beautiful in this shiny cocktail dress, it really shows off your legs!
I ordered this dress becuase I was working the DC Emmy awards (I'm a cheerleader for a DC sports team) and was told I needed to wear a short, red cocktail dress. For the most part, it looked great. However, I agree with other reviews that the back can get a little short and the draping looks a little funny at times. I've got some curves but also a small waist and unfortunatly this dress doesn't flatter the waist. It made me look "boxy" with loose material hanging at my sides. I fit into both the S and XS (I usually wear mediums). If you aren't trying to show off your waist, this is a great dress. It flatters curves in a great way. But if you have an hourglass, beware! It'll make you look like you don't.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
March 2, 2012
Didn't work for me
Like others have said, the draping was all wrong and looked nothing like the photo. I have a large chest, though, so maybe it's just made for someone with a smaller chest. I wish it had worked, though, because the color was gorgeous and it looked so sassy before I put it on!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 56
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 114lbs
February 16, 2012
Valentine Ball
The dress fit well. I wasn't sure about the "folds" of fabric but it looked good. The color was great - a true red. As you walked, the dress got shorter - and it was pretty short to begin with. Was a little uncomfortable sitting because it became very short. It is a great dress for standing and socializing.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
February 16, 2012
Very comfortable...
The drapes seem a lot better on the model. Around the bust area, one of the drapes wouldn't stay in place, but the color on the dress was beautiful and the back of the dress as well. It was for a Valentines dinner with my husband.
AngMarch 14, 2012
I couldn't post the other pictures with a full view of the dress. The website didn't allow me to..
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
February 13, 2012
Had to return it
It looks a lot different than what I expected. And the fit was way off, so I had to return it and had to wear a dress that I already had. I am 5'9" and 130 lbs, so I thought that the length would be similar to the models, but it was extremely short. The fit up top was a little awkward too. The draping was not as flattering as it shows on the model, but not in a way that should be expected. It didn't hang naturally and kind of hiked up over my chest. As for the condition, the dress was very clean and was what I would expect for a dress that has been worn before. Overall, I think the first time for ordering a dress from this site, it was a good one despite the fit issues.
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
January 3, 2012
I loved this dress for NYE... made me feel like a million bucks!
I loved this dress and got so many compliments on it! It was perfect for NYE and draped on my curves like a charm. The only thing was that the draping on the right should have been pinned to the side... It kept moving itself so the draping over the breasts weren't even. Could possibly fit better on someone with a smaller chest.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
December 30, 2011
Not what I expected
I was super excited to rent this but when I tried it on, it was not flattering on me at all! On the model it looks super fitted and ruched all over. In all actuality it looks like there are 2 drapes of fabric over a regular short red dress. One drape over the breast and the other draping on the other diagonal across the stomach. I'm curvy and it made me look shapeless and wide. Super disappointed :(
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
December 22, 2011
Awkward top but overall good.
The top drapes a little funny. Though the XS had a higher seam I managed to shimmy it down lower so it looked like the picture. I was able to get 2 sizes in this which was GREAT because I read a lot of reviews and they were mixed with either fit is too large or too small. Overall fit in my opinion runs relatively large. I wear anywhere from a 0-4 depending on brand but definitely a size 26 waist and I felt the XS was not tight by any means but it does run pretty short. BTW, I think it photographs well too.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
December 11, 2011
I felt comfortable and sexy in this dress!
I loved this dress and had many compliments. I have a curvy figure, this was perfect and comfortable. It is a bit short so be careful! Beautiful shade of red and showed up great in photos.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 14, 2011
Wouldn't recommend
I rented this for my birthday party, and the fabric is much shinier and a much darker red than it appears in the picture, it felt cheap. I tend to wear a 4-6, and the small was too large. I can see this flattering curvier types, but the way it hung on me made me look shapeless.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
November 2, 2011
This dress is not very flattering for those with a butt or hips--it drapes very obviously on those areas. The fabric is also pretty heavy, and the color is a bit lighter than in the photo, and rather cheap looking.
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 24
Body type: Hourglass
November 1, 2011
it was too short :-( i was so sad i didn't get to wear it. the material didn't have a lot of stretch. large in the waist, the material was hanging off
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
October 24, 2011
This dress did not fit at all like I had hoped. I have a large bust and broader shoulders, so the draping pulled in an unflattering way. Also, the dress was way shorter than it looks on the model. I loved the RTR service, I just wished I had called and spoke to a stylist before ordering this one.
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
October 22, 2011
I looked at the other reviews and ordered my dress a size smaller than usual-I'm so glad that I did. This dress is really flattering on hourglass figures, although if you have a fuller bust, you might need to use dress tape to help keep the front together. Also, the dress is dark red, rather than the bright cherry red shown in the picture.
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 22
Body type: Petite
October 21, 2011
This dress was way too big. I ordered a small and a medium and the layers on the small were literally hanging off my body. I'm usually a 2 or a 4 so I thought that the small would fit me but it didn't and I ended up not wearing it for the event.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
October 20, 2011
I ordered an xs which is typically my size but it was too small in the bust. The drapes did not lay right and I was unable to wear it. It is a beautiful dress but if you have a larger bust, I would order a size up.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 65
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 19, 2011
The color is great, however, it was extremely short. This would be better for a person shorter than five feet nine.Both sizes were very short I tried the dress with black nylons but the dress was just too short. Luckily I ordered another nichole miller dress and it fit perfectly.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Body type: Apple
October 19, 2011
This dress was perfect. I wore it to a wedding and received tons of compliments. Glad I got two sizes because I was actually smaller than the size I expected. Doesn't necessarily run big, just felt better in the smaller size. Great color too!
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 17, 2011
The draping on this dress did not fit my body type properly. In the photo, it appears that the draping is secured, however its the curves of the body that hold the draping in place, as my bust and waist is smaller than this woman's, the draping did not drape properly but hung unusually. I ended up not wearing this dress at all.
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 20
Body type: Petite
October 2, 2011
I didnt like the way this dress draped over my body. it felt and looked like a curtain. this dress, however, would look great on someone more curvy
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 29
Body type: Pear
September 28, 2011
I agree with another reviewer that it made me look like I had a stomach when I don't. Love the dress itself and style this may not be true for all the copies of this dress they have available but at least the ones I received, the 2nd layer was so stretched that the rouching looked like extra skin not a cute flirty detail. The inner layer was tight, and slightly uncomfortable, and the dress was rather short, even on myself.
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Body type: Athletic
September 24, 2011
I rented an xs and it was actually slightly big on me. In fact, it made me look like I had a stomach when I don't. Love the dress itself and style. I just needed about an 1 - 2 good inches removed from the dress in the waist to compliment my figure, give me a bit more definition in the waist and not bulge out in front.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
September 21, 2011
I really did not like this dress - the fabric was clingy and cheap and the rouching on the back was unflattering. I did not wear it.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
September 13, 2011
This dress looked awful on my body type. It is also very very short.
RTR CustomerOctober 23, 2015
I'm petite like you, but did you find the sleeves overwhelming? Some comments say they are huge. Also it looks as though the dress hits you right above the knee?
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
August 13, 2011
The color of the dress is the only positive aspect for me. As reviewers have stated the shiny jersey is very shiny and does show as not a great quality. The skirt is WAY TOO SHORT. I am 5'3" and ordered a medium and let's just say i could never drop anything, sit down, or stretch my arms wearing this. Definitely made more for a straight & narrow as the ducting is not at all flattering in front or in back. As others have said the criss cross on top is too high over the left side and looks awkward. I have rented from Black Halo before and loved the dresses. This one did not fit at all. I am usually a 6/8 in BCBG and would never have thought I would have to consider a 12(L) in this dress. Plus the description says there is a hidden side zip which there isn't as it is a pullover.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Body type: Petite
August 2, 2011
I rented this and ended up wearing my back up. Didnt look like the dress on the model to me at. It was a pretty color though, and it was my first time renting, and I thought the whole process was very streamlined and easy.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
May 31, 2011
This dress was awesome! I am a little round around the stomach area, but the ruching covered it perfectly. A push up bra and a thong does underwear perfectly. Very comfortable because of the jersey material. My only complaint is that it came with lots of wrinkles.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Body type: Straight & narrow
May 29, 2011
I had my senior prom last night, and this dress was quite the show-stopper! the fitting was remarkable. the only "bad" part about it is that it stretched out...ALOT. by the end of the night i was able to fit another person in my dress along with me. So that made it loose its shape, but then again I was dancing for 4 hours straight with the dress. In general, this dress was very beautiful, and the color is just perfect
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
May 27, 2011
I do not know what everyone is raving about. I have never put a dress on and had it look worse. The moment I took it out of the bag I hated the material. It felt cheap. When I put the dress on it did not look like the picture at all. I am usually a size 4 or 6 and I got a small and medium. The small had a sports bra effect up top (I am a 34D, so that sometimes happens), but even so both sizes just looked terrible. It seemed like the draping was not doing what it was supposed to because the material was so awful.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
May 13, 2011
Dress was very cute in every aspect except the length. Both sizes (XS, S) were SO short that I couldn't even wear the dress--bummer.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Body type: Pear
May 12, 2011
Dancing the night away in San Diego!!!!!
I wore this to a fraternity formal and I have never got so many compliments on a dress in my life. I looked amazing, felt amazing and the pictures turned out amazing. I am looking into buying this dress for my own personal collection because of how great it was and I would highly suggest this for anyone!!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Petite
April 23, 2011
Not pretty in person. The fabric looks cheap and the dress has a lot of bulk to it. I didn't wear it. : (
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Body type: Full Bust
April 10, 2011
Very disappointed in this one. It looks great on the model but when I tried it on the ruching was not as pictured- I almost thought RTR sent me the wrong dress. It was very droopy and the overlay on the bust area would not lay flat. The fabric, in my opinion, was of poor quality and the dress was way too short on me.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
March 22, 2011
This dress is amazing. It fit perfectly and was incredibly flattering. Got tons of compliments on it, definitely a show stopper!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
March 12, 2011
I hate to say it but I DID NOT like this dress. :( I'm a petite person and it made me look HUGE. Also, I rented this item before the more elaborate product details portion of the website so I did not realize it was shiny jersey. It was not suitable for the daytime event I was attending. I think this dress would be great for women with beautiful curves! :)
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×