You are masquerading as ! (switch back)
| REVIEWS |
 
| MY BAG
 

FREE SHIPPING + INSURANCE
What's this?

Rent like a PRO all year long! One year of
free shipping & insurance. Plus, we'll throw in
a free birthday dress. Learn More

Our Runway
What's New
Dresses
Accessories
Occasions
Designers
Stores
Red Carpet Dress
Rental $60 Retail $325
info
  • Stylist Notes
  • Product Details
  • Size & Fit
Black Halo takes a simple silhouette and gives it a bold makeover.
Chat with a Stylist
Red shiny jersey. V neckline with draping detail at shoulder. Side ruching detail on body. Draping detail on skirt. Hidden side zip. 36" from shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'10".
Chat with a Stylist
This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS-L. Size XS=0,2; Size S=4,6; Size M=8,10; Size L=12.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout and ruched fabric conceals abdomen
HIPS: Fitted
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra and seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types

Chat with a Stylist
This style is currently unavailable.
Shop all dresses
Got A Minute? Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.
Fit
Small
True to Size
Large
Photos25

0 Reviews from women like you:

Enter more for better results

AKE
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 112 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2534
Aug 14, 2012
Cheap fabric in real life
Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I was extremely disappointed in this dress. I thought it would be a fun, bright red dress to wear in Vegas. Unfortunately, the fabric is kind of shiny and did not look classy in real life. I usually love Black Halo, but this is not one of their best.
Julia
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4343
Aug 14, 2012
awkward...
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
the fabric felt very inexpensive, and the whole dress fit me very poorly. it's definitely not made for tall girls, but i wouldn't recommend it for anyone. i didn't even end up wearing either of the sizes that i rented.
Samantha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170 lbs
Canonical User Type: 8534
Aug 11, 2012
Hot little number
Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this on my bachelorette party weekend and it received a ton of compliments.
Dina
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Body type: Petite
Canonical User Type: 3521
Aug 6, 2012
Not good
Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Perhaps because I'm petite, but this dress was huge on me and I rented the smallest size. I do not recommend this dress for shorter women.
WaityKaty
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6543
Jul 18, 2012
Runs large
Size worn: M
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was very comfortable and was made with very forgiving fabric. The draping around the midsection can make you look thicker, so I wore a size down.
E
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Canonical User Type: 3434
Mar 2, 2012
Didn't work for me
Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Like others have said, the draping was all wrong and looked nothing like the photo. I have a large chest, though, so maybe it's just made for someone with a smaller chest. I wish it had worked, though, because the color was gorgeous and it looked so sassy before I put it on!
Beach girl
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 54
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 114 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3634
Feb 16, 2012
Valentine Ball
Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress fit well. I wasn't sure about the "folds" of fabric but it looked good. The color was great - a true red. As you walked, the dress got shorter - and it was pretty short to begin with. Was a little uncomfortable sitting because it became very short. It is a great dress for standing and socializing.
Lisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5543
Feb 13, 2012
Had to return it
Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
It looks a lot different than what I expected. And the fit was way off, so I had to return it and had to wear a dress that I already had. I am 5'9" and 130 lbs, so I thought that the length would be similar to the models, but it was extremely short. The fit up top was a little awkward too. The draping was not as flattering as it shows on the model, but not in a way that should be expected. It didn't hang naturally and kind of hiked up over my chest. As for the condition, the dress was very clean and was what I would expect for a dress that has been worn before. Overall, I think the first time for ordering a dress from this site, it was a good one despite the fit issues.
stefanie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 3433
Dec 22, 2011
Awkward top but overall good.
Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
The top drapes a little funny. Though the XS had a higher seam I managed to shimmy it down lower so it looked like the picture. I was able to get 2 sizes in this which was GREAT because I read a lot of reviews and they were mixed with either fit is too large or too small. Overall fit in my opinion runs relatively large. I wear anywhere from a 0-4 depending on brand but definitely a size 26 waist and I felt the XS was not tight by any means but it does run pretty short. BTW, I think it photographs well too.
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5443
Nov 14, 2011
Wouldn't recommend
Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I rented this for my birthday party, and the fabric is much shinier and a much darker red than it appears in the picture, it felt cheap. I tend to wear a 4-6, and the small was too large. I can see this flattering curvier types, but the way it hung on me made me look shapeless.
Chris
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5342
Nov 2, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
This dress is not very flattering for those with a butt or hips--it drapes very obviously on those areas. The fabric is also pretty heavy, and the color is a bit lighter than in the photo, and rather cheap looking.
Gabby
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 22
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 1341
Nov 1, 2011
Overall fit: Small
it was too short :-( i was so sad i didn't get to wear it. the material didn't have a lot of stretch. large in the waist, the material was hanging off
MissPrettyName
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Canonical User Type: 7524
Oct 24, 2011
Overall fit: Small
This dress did not fit at all like I had hoped. I have a large bust and broader shoulders, so the draping pulled in an unflattering way. Also, the dress was way shorter than it looks on the model. I loved the RTR service, I just wished I had called and spoke to a stylist before ordering this one.
Emily
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 1331
Oct 22, 2011
Overall fit: Large
I looked at the other reviews and ordered my dress a size smaller than usual-I'm so glad that I did. This dress is really flattering on hourglass figures, although if you have a fuller bust, you might need to use dress tape to help keep the front together. Also, the dress is dark red, rather than the bright cherry red shown in the picture.
Amy
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 20
Body type: Petite
Canonical User Type: 1321
Oct 21, 2011
Overall fit: Large
This dress was way too big. I ordered a small and a medium and the layers on the small were literally hanging off my body. I'm usually a 2 or a 4 so I thought that the small would fit me but it didn't and I ended up not wearing it for the event.
Mrs.Cellers
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Body type: Petite
Canonical User Type: 3521
Oct 20, 2011
Overall fit: Small
I ordered an xs which is typically my size but it was too small in the bust. The drapes did not lay right and I was unable to wear it. It is a beautiful dress but if you have a larger bust, I would order a size up.
Ann
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 63
Body type: Straight & narrow
Canonical User Type: 1641
Oct 19, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
The color is great, however, it was extremely short. This would be better for a person shorter than five feet nine.Both sizes were very short I tried the dress with black nylons but the dress was just too short. Luckily I ordered another nichole miller dress and it fit perfectly.
Roni
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Body type: Apple
Canonical User Type: 4431
Oct 19, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
This dress was perfect. I wore it to a wedding and received tons of compliments. Glad I got two sizes because I was actually smaller than the size I expected. Doesn't necessarily run big, just felt better in the smaller size. Great color too!
Des
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Body type: Straight & narrow
Canonical User Type: 1431
Oct 17, 2011
Overall fit: Large
The draping on this dress did not fit my body type properly. In the photo, it appears that the draping is secured, however its the curves of the body that hold the draping in place, as my bust and waist is smaller than this woman's, the draping did not drape properly but hung unusually. I ended up not wearing this dress at all.
shanz
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 18
Body type: Petite
Canonical User Type: 1221
Oct 2, 2011
Overall fit: Large
I didnt like the way this dress draped over my body. it felt and looked like a curtain. this dress, however, would look great on someone more curvy
RolaLola
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 27
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 1421
Sep 28, 2011
Overall fit: Small
I agree with another reviewer that it made me look like I had a stomach when I don't. Love the dress itself and style this may not be true for all the copies of this dress they have available but at least the ones I received, the 2nd layer was so stretched that the rouching looked like extra skin not a cute flirty detail. The inner layer was tight, and slightly uncomfortable, and the dress was rather short, even on myself.
Jenny
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 1521
Sep 24, 2011
Overall fit: Large
I rented an xs and it was actually slightly big on me. In fact, it made me look like I had a stomach when I don't. Love the dress itself and style. I just needed about an 1 - 2 good inches removed from the dress in the waist to compliment my figure, give me a bit more definition in the waist and not bulge out in front.
Christina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3431
Sep 21, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
I really did not like this dress - the fabric was clingy and cheap and the rouching on the back was unflattering. I did not wear it.
Britt
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 1531
Sep 13, 2011
Overall fit: Small
This dress looked awful on my body type. It is also very very short.
Platinumtraveler
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4623
Aug 13, 2011
Overall fit: Small
The color of the dress is the only positive aspect for me. As reviewers have stated the shiny jersey is very shiny and does show as not a great quality. The skirt is WAY TOO SHORT. I am 5'3" and ordered a medium and let's just say i could never drop anything, sit down, or stretch my arms wearing this. Definitely made more for a straight & narrow as the ducting is not at all flattering in front or in back. As others have said the criss cross on top is too high over the left side and looks awkward. I have rented from Black Halo before and loved the dresses. This one did not fit at all. I am usually a 6/8 in BCBG and would never have thought I would have to consider a 12(L) in this dress. Plus the description says there is a hidden side zip which there isn't as it is a pullover.
Rian
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Body type: Petite
Canonical User Type: 1521
Aug 2, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
I rented this and ended up wearing my back up. Didnt look like the dress on the model to me at. It was a pretty color though, and it was my first time renting, and I thought the whole process was very streamlined and easy.
danes
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Canonical User Type: 5333
May 31, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
This dress was awesome! I am a little round around the stomach area, but the ruching covered it perfectly. A push up bra and a thong does underwear perfectly. Very comfortable because of the jersey material. My only complaint is that it came with lots of wrinkles.
sonia
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 21
Body type: Straight & narrow
Canonical User Type: 1331
May 29, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
I had my senior prom last night, and this dress was quite the show-stopper! the fitting was remarkable. the only "bad" part about it is that it stretched out...ALOT. by the end of the night i was able to fit another person in my dress along with me. So that made it loose its shape, but then again I was dancing for 4 hours straight with the dress. In general, this dress was very beautiful, and the color is just perfect
hated it!
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 1531
May 27, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
I do not know what everyone is raving about. I have never put a dress on and had it look worse. The moment I took it out of the bag I hated the material. It felt cheap. When I put the dress on it did not look like the picture at all. I am usually a size 4 or 6 and I got a small and medium. The small had a sports bra effect up top (I am a 34D, so that sometimes happens), but even so both sizes just looked terrible. It seemed like the draping was not doing what it was supposed to because the material was so awful.
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4443
May 13, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
Dress was very cute in every aspect except the length. Both sizes (XS, S) were SO short that I couldn't even wear the dress--bummer.
Jenest
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Petite
Canonical User Type: 5524
Apr 23, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
Not pretty in person. The fabric looks cheap and the dress has a lot of bulk to it. I didn't wear it. : (
KK
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Body type: Full Bust
Canonical User Type: 1531
Apr 10, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
Very disappointed in this one. It looks great on the model but when I tried it on the ruching was not as pictured- I almost thought RTR sent me the wrong dress. It was very droopy and the overlay on the bust area would not lay flat. The fabric, in my opinion, was of poor quality and the dress was way too short on me.
Kat
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3433
Mar 22, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
This dress is amazing. It fit perfectly and was incredibly flattering. Got tons of compliments on it, definitely a show stopper!
Amberlee
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3423
Mar 12, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
I hate to say it but I DID NOT like this dress. :( I'm a petite person and it made me look HUGE. Also, I rented this item before the more elaborate product details portion of the website so I did not realize it was shiny jersey. It was not suitable for the daytime event I was attending. I think this dress would be great for women with beautiful curves! :)
Tina
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 24
Body type: Petite
Canonical User Type: 1321
Mar 11, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
Because of previous reviews, I thought this dress would be a knock out. However, this was not the case. The fabric seemed and felt cheap. Ended up NOT wearing it at all. Pretty disappointed.
Summit
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 1541
Feb 27, 2011
Overall fit: Small
Runs small on taller people and thus is extremely short. It was unwearable without risking arrest. Size up appropriately.
Elle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5433
Feb 25, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
The dress was ill-fitting, to put it nicely. The draping looked more like saggy material and the draping was so thick it added size to my ribcage, which was the OPPOSITE effect I would have expected based on other reviews. Overall, this dress was a FAIL to me.
Jenn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4544
Feb 23, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
This is a beautiful dress. But I agree with some of the other reviewers...the right side strap/sash does not lay down flat. I had to keep pulling it down all night. Maybe my chest was too big for it. I wore this for a weekend away with my husband. He loved it. The dress fits true to size. I wore the 4. I loved that you could wear a regular bra with it. It was definitely short on me though!
lizbe
Height: 4' 6"
Age: 21
Body type: Apple
Canonical User Type: 1321
Feb 20, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
smith6al
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4444
Feb 16, 2011
Overall fit: Small
I was so excited to wear this to a friend's rehearsal dinner but then was so disappointed when it arrived. This dress would be perfect for a night out in Vegas, but was not appropriate for a nice sit down dinner. It is very short, you could get away with the front but the gathering on the back makes it uncomfortably short. If you're looking for a get up for clubbing or the Jersey Shore- this is your dress. If you want to be classy or even classy with a bit of an edge- choose something else.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×
×
Save at least $14.95 on every order and rent like a pro all year long. Details
  • free shipping
  • free insurance
  • free birthday dress