Rent the Runway

Black Halo

Ready Rose Dress

$50 rental
$375 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Enjoy some flower power in Black Halo's Ready Rose Dress. A chic silhouette in an elegant floral print, this dress is best paired with a few gold touches.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout; dress hugs midsection - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Very fitted - very fitted throughout hips - curvy women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra and seamless underwear - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout; dress hugs midsection - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Very fitted - very fitted throughout hips - curvy women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra and seamless underwear - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Multicolor floral on dark navy stretch cotton. Asymmetric cowl neck. Cap sleeve with origami detail. Hidden back zip. About 42" from shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'10".

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

64 reviews

Fit
Small 17
True to Size 46
Large 1
Photos 25
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Body type: Apple
Oct 12, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
I LOVE this dress. The fabric is rich and elegant and the cut is superb. It FEELS expensive when you put it on, and it fit me like a glove. I wish I owned this one - I'd wear it again and again.
RTR Customer
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 5, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
Rented this dress to wear to a theater performance, beautifully made and fits well. I am 5'3" 115 lbs & curvy-I rented a 2 and a 4 and wore the 2. The top does not lie flat, unless you are large chested (I am 32D) I usually wear size 2 top and size 4 pants. FYI the background color is navy blue, not black as it appears in the pic. At least I am pretty sure. I wore with a bronze metallic shoe.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Nov 26, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
I rented this dress for a late afternoon work function where I had to MC the event. The dress was amazing - it looked much better on me than the picture on RTR. I had co-workers, family, and friends gushing over it all day. It is also very comfortable to wear. I got both the 0 and the 2, and ended up wearing the 0 (measuremnts: 32,24,35). I was sad to have to send it back.
RTR Customer
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 7, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Oh, goodness, this is a great dress. The material is sturdy and soft, like quality clothes should be. I had just a couple of issues that weren't a huge deal: 1) the arm hole comes down pretty low...pretty much to be even with my bra band...which means I had some bra band pudge that I had to be aware of; 2) the zipper felt like it was about to break (really tough to pull); 3) there were a few loose threads (no holes, though). I'm really glad I got the backup size, because as usual in my life, the waist measurement was accurate, but the smaller size would never have zipped over my bust. I ended up wearing the larger size for a perfect bust and hip fit, and little extra room in the waist. Great Mad Men-esque dress!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128 lbs
Mar 1, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I ordered this dress as my back up to a theme function (Red Rose Ball). I liked it so much, I wore it instead. I was a little nervous, because the style remarks say only for tall gals, but I am so long waisted, I took a chance. It fit like a dream. The neck-line was beautiful. I paired it with vintage navy kidskin gloves, and red peep toe pumps for a 60's feel.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Body type: Petite
Mar 8, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Sadly this dress was not a good fit because it was too long (hit at mid-shin), and was too tight on top (34d chest). It's definitely made for someone 5'5" and taller.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135 lbs
May 3, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress looks really nice on taller people. Although I knew that before renting, I decided to rent anyway. It looked decent on me and the armholes weren't too big of an issue. Definitely a good rental if you are at least 5'5.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Body type: Hourglass
May 9, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
If you are looking for a dress to really accentuate your figure, this is it! I received many compliments on it. Well made, and hugs your curves in just the right places. As noted in other reviews, the color of this dress is definitely a navy/midnight blue. I rented the 4 and the 6 and ended up wearing the 4. it is comfortable, easy to sit in, and I highly recommend it!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115 lbs
Jun 1, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Very fitted but flattering. Slight give in the fabric makes the dress comfortable to sit in.
RTR Customer
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
Jun 5, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
First of all, this dress is NAVY not black. It was beautiful and fit like a dream. I got SO many compliments. The sleeve holes were pretty large, so I actually wore it off the shoulder and it looked fantastic and no one knew the difference.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Jun 21, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I loved this dress. It is definitely a dark navy, but had the perfect bright colors in the roses needed for an outdoor summer wedding. The length is a little longer than I expected and hit a little above my knee. I also got a size 6 which is what size I usually am and it fit like a glove. It was a great mix of classy and sexy. Loved it!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jun 22, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress is beautiful and I will probably rent it again. Flattering and an eye catching pattern. I wore it to a big outdoor work party and it was a hit! :)
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Body type: Straight & narrow
Aug 2, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I returned this dress without wearing it as this navy/print dress with "old lady"ish in person. I got it in a solid color which I wore. The silouette is fantastic.
RTR Customer
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 3, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I rented this for a baby's baptism and the dress was perfect for the occasion. It was conservative and beautiful. The dress hugs all your curves and is ideal for sometime 5'5 or taller.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Sep 21, 2011

Overall fit: Small
This beautiful dress was perfect for the Wedding Brunch I attended. Runs just a little bit on the small side, but the style is very forgiving. The background of the dress is more navy than black, but I wore black pumps that looked great. Very classic dress.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 25, 2011

Overall fit: Small
Beautiful dress! I wore this for my bridal shower and got tons of compliments - everyone thought it was Dolce and Gabanna... I noted runs "small," but just a little bit. For comparison, I usually wear a 4/6 in Banana Republic dresses and I should have ordered the 6 in this dress. Thanks to Spanx, though, it looked awesome! Thanks RTR.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Oct 13, 2011

Overall fit: Small
Overall I thought this dress worked out for the fall wedding that I went to. Positives first: I am really tall so usually things are way too short. This dress fit me just like like the photos and came right to my knee. It is a very classic style dress. It also was perfectly tailored to my shape. If you are curvy at all this is not the dress for you. I normally wear a 2 or 4 in dresses and ended up wearing the 4. I got a lot of compliments about the fit. Negatives: I got 2 sizes in the dress and both were pretty faded. Keep in mind that this dress is NAVY not black. Pick shoes accordingly. You can tell the dress has been laundered time and time again because the folds of the dress are still dark navy but the rest of the dress looks shopworn. One of the two dresses had a large rip in the slit in the back...someone who clearly needed a bigger size must have rented before me. The slit is already pretty high to begin with so make sure you are comfortable with it. This was my first experience with RTR and the whole process was super easy.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 44
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 25, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
the dress is form fitting but with a little help from spanx it was perfect, i felt like amillion bucks and got so many complements!! would love to purchase it!!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 67
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160 lbs
Oct 28, 2011

Overall fit: Small
I am a size 12 and highest size for RTR. The largest of this dress was a 10 but I loved the look so I thought I would take the risk. It didn't fit! I would suggest going up a size. The fabric was lovely with a nice sheen on it. The design is wonderful. Great for a garden party, summer or spring wedding or just a special night out.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Feb 16, 2012

Cute but Runs Small

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
I wore this for Valentine's Day and my husband loved it. It was cute/sexy but also classy. As for the fit, I could've worn the 2 but it was a bit tighter than usual (I usually wear a 2 in all dresses from RTR) so I went with the 4. I'm 5'3" and petite so I feel like I was in between the 2 and the 4 (the torso/waist line hit me better in the 2 compared to the 4).
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 3, 2012

Elegant and cute

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The 8 was too big and the 6 looked great. Spans needed
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Aug 8, 2012

curve-hugging, gorgeous print

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
the reviews are accurate for this dress - spanx are necessary if you've got any sort of hips. the print and the asymmetrical neckline are fabulous, as is the slit and the tailoring of the dress. however i felt that the material and the vividness of the print looks much better online than it did in person. in person, it just looks like a brushed cotton, and doesn't have as glamorous of a feel as i envisioned when ordering. i'm pretty consistently a size 6, and i couldn't even get the 6 over my hips. i wore the 8, which was tight, but figure flattering once i got it on. the armholes are a bit low, so you do have to deal with the bra strap bulge. i liked wearing this dress, as it has a very joan harris mad-men feel, but just be prepared to have your curves on display and have spanx at the ready.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 154 lbs
Aug 11, 2012

Fit fairly well

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this to a wedding, and it fit fairly well. I usually wear between a size 6 to 8 in dresses, and the 8 fit well. I'm six feet tall, and it was a good length. I agree with other reviews stating that it was a little stretched out. I was nursing at the time, and it fit well across the bust.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128 lbs
Aug 13, 2012

Think God I had my own back up

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
This dress is a great dress. It fit perfectly but the one I got looked like its been washed too many times. The dress did not look like the picture. The flowers was washed out. Rent The Runway need to get a new one and throw this one away. It was horrible I can not believe you guys are still renting this dress...Please throw it away that's how bad the dress look
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×