You are masquerading as ! (switch back)
| REVIEWS |
 
| MY BAG
 

FREE SHIPPING + INSURANCE
What's this?

Rent like a PRO all year long! One year of
free shipping & insurance. Plus, we'll throw in
a free birthday dress. Learn More

Our Runway
What's New
Dresses
Accessories
Occasions
Designers
Stores
Blog
Cut Out One Shoulder Dress
Rental $40 Retail $400
info
  • Stylist Notes
  • Product Details
  • Size & Fit
Attending a bachelorette party? This one shoulder cut out detail dress by Black Halo will stop traffic. Girls night out never looked so good!
Chat with a Stylist
Black polyamide crepe. One shoulder neckline with seaming detail. Cut out detail on side of bodice. Skirt hits at 18" from natural waist. Model's height is 5'8".
Chat with a Stylist
This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - cut-out detail is difficult to wear with a standard strapless bra
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout - cut-out detail shows off midsection
HIPS: Very fitted - runs narrow at hips, curvy women should size up one or two sizes
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra or no bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'8". )

Chat with a Stylist
  • Enter your shipping zip code
  • Select size
    Select free 2nd size
  • Select the day you'd like your dress to arrive
    We recommend you select a rental start date 1-2 days before your event.
    Renting for Thanksgiving weekend? Enjoy an extended rental on us! Rent for 11/27 and return 12/1.
    • Start Date
    • Mail Back
    • Unavailable
    • *No delivery on Sundays
Got A Minute? Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.
Fit
Small
True to Size
Large
Photos22

0 Reviews from women like you:

Enter more for better results

Victoria
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 185 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7344
Mar 19, 2013
Great cut out detail BUT
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
my waist is much narrower than my hips, so I had trouble getting the bottom half of the cut out to sit right on my waist, but other than that, I was able to wear it without a bra no worries and was able to move easily in it all night
Steph
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 4' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 146 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5423
Feb 5, 2014
LOVE! Great Dress for a Vegas Show
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
My Fiancé and I went to a show in Vegas. Dress was amazing and received a bunch of compliments!
Anna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4423
Jan 1, 2014
Great way to wear the cutout trend
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Loved this dress for NYE - I usually wear a 4 but the 6 fit perfectly. It's tight all the way down - not like on the model. I was able to wear a stick-on bra and even spanx with this. It's very slimming and the cutout is not revealing - a classy way to wear the cutout trend. And at only $20 it was an awesome rental! Another hit for RTR!
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 136 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5433
Feb 8, 2013
Never before in my life have I been hit on by so many guys in one night. Thanks, RTR!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I was attending the launch party for a dating app. This is by far the sexiest dress I have ever worn in my life. You can size up if you want lots of space to shimmy around in, but because of the large cutout, I suggest making sure you go for the snugger fit so the left side doesn't let your breast pop out. I wore a pushup NuBra for the first time with this, and it stuck on me very well. I was dancing for several hours in this ensemble, and never once did I need to adjust anything.
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4423
Feb 5, 2013
Perfect NYE!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Loved this dress. Had to use some tape to make sure my Nubra did not show, but overall a fantastic dress with VERY strategically placed cutouts.
EMILY
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5543
Dec 7, 2012
Perfect for special night out
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
I rented this for my first Coldplay concert ---love love love Coldplay. I wanted to make the night even more special by ordering from RTR. I ordered in sizes 4 and 6. I went back and forth too many times to count. The 4 seemed a little too snug when seated but otherwise fit nicely. I ended up wearing the 6 which gapped about an inch under my left arm but I was able to fix with the tape included. Normally my biggest concern is the length but the length with this dress was good for my height and comfort level.
Sophie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 4323
Nov 23, 2012
Turning heads with revealing, yet tasteful, cutout dress!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Overall, the dress was a hit! However, it was longer than I expected. I'm 5'3" and it almost hit my knees. I rented it over another Black Halo dress because I thought it was shorter--need to look at models heights a little more closely. The length ended up slimming me though and the cutout was perfect for a Fraternity Semi Formal on Bourbon Street. Definitely runs small, I'm glad I ordered one size up because I ended up wearing the 6. I matched it with yellow Kate Spade earrings for some color!
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5433
Jan 3, 2012
Gorgeous!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress was gorgeous! It definitely shows off your curves and fits snugly. If you are pear shaped (like me) I recommend ordering the size up as your back up. I ended up wearing the 6 as it fit better in the chest region, but was slightly too snug on the lower half. The 8 was better in the hips, but way too loose in the chest. Other than that it looks beautiful on and sure to get compliments!
Kristi
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 5433
Aug 13, 2012
Best of Detroit and Best Dress
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This was a great dress for a Best of Detroit party! I got tons of compliments on it, and the fit was pretty standard. It was easy to wear a strapless bra with it too!
Brooke
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 5533
Sep 11, 2012
Loved this cut out dress!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to the RTR anniversary party and loved it. The cut out is in a flattering spot and adds a little edge- definitely try this dress!
Hannah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 18
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 6243
Sep 3, 2012
Dress was perfect!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Was a little bit baggy at the bottom, but loveeed it and looked great
Kelley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3533
Aug 25, 2012
I loved feeling sexy and classy!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for a bachelorette party, it was a hit. The dress is sexy and classy at the same time. I was a bit worried everything wouldn't stay in place but the dress fit perfect. The dress is comfortable and easy to move in. Great dress to rent!
Alissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3443
Feb 24, 2012
Got my friend and I invited to one of the best tables at the club!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Vacation
I rented this dress for a Vegas vacation and wore it to dinner and the club. i loved the cut out part, it was a little long for my liking but I still like the way it looked on. I think this dress runs a little small....and there is no give in the material whatsoever. So if you're between sizes, Id suggest ordering a size up for back up!
allison
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4443
Feb 16, 2012
Duh...the dress!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Oh my gosh! If I could rate this dress a 6, I would. This and one other dress were my first RTR dresses and can't wait to order my next one. I'm going to have to open a savings account just for my monthly budget :). All the reviews say this dress ran small but it absolutely ran true to size. I have an athletic body type and am not too curvy but this dress gave me just enough. It was ultra sexy and I would rent it again.
alexandria
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7334
Jan 23, 2012
A mutual friend told me I was the best dressed at the party.
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved it. I ordered it in my actual size forgetting that designer dresses tend to be a size smaller. If it had been my size, I would've loved it even more. The compliments were plentiful.
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2524
Dec 14, 2011
Everyone commented on the unexpected peek-a-boo skin moment and through it was tasteful yet sexy.
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Ran true to size and was a fun party dress. It was perfect for the 80s-themed event I was attending but I'd wear this to any party.
Katy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3442
Nov 30, 2011
I got so many compliments and I can't wait to have an excuse to rent this dress again!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress fit me more perfectly than I was expecting. I absolutely loved the exposed side and back - it took a little getting used to (it's weird to feel the breeze on your rib cage), and I got a few scandalous looks from the more conservative girls, but it was worth it because I looked and felt amazing. Because of its simplicity, I went with a big gold necklace (that I also rented here).
Nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4443
Nov 14, 2011
I felt like a show stopper in this dress. The cut out is sexy, without being too revealing.
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress to wear for a Bachelorette party in Vegas. I felt this dress ran small. I could barely breathe, but loved the dress anyway. I would order a size up for your back-up size. I liked where the slit was - it was my favorite part of the dress. For $50, it's a great rental!
Krystal
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5433
Apr 13, 2014
First RTR experience will do it again!
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
It was a cute dress very tight but fit loose in the bust area so had to use fashion tape. It was also long for me but overall I made it work!
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4533
Mar 23, 2014
Great fit, very flattering. Small in the bust.
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Overall fit is tight, but true to size. Small in the bust area.
Laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 6534
Mar 12, 2014
Runs small, order at least a size up.
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Vacation
I am a pretty true 8, and this was way too small around my hips/butt area. Didn't even bring with me on vacation.
Melissa
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 6533
Mar 12, 2014
No regrets! Loved wearing this dress! Felt like a million bucks!
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Absolutely LOVED this dress!
Monica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3422
Feb 21, 2014
Dress is too long for a night out!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Vacation
I rented this dress and returned it the next day. I'm not sure what you would wear this dress for - it's too long for a night out (I'm 5'3" and it went down to my knees) and too risque' (with the cut-out) for a formal affair that requires a knee-length dress. Also I would recommend this for larger chested girls...the left strap (?) over my cleavage was loose even on the size 2 (which fit fine everywhere else...)
laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5534
Feb 7, 2014
Not for a full chest
Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress but wasn't able to wear it. The top on the 6 was too small. I could almost fit into the top of the 8, but that made the rest of the dress too large. Definitely a great dress for someone more proportionate, but not goof for a large chest. Not enough give to the material.
rek
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2522
Jan 23, 2014
Very sophisticated, gorgeous dress. Excellent service from RTR
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress fits beautifully, true to size. The color and silhouette are simple, The cut out is hot, but length makes the dress very classy and v stand-out. I'm pretty waif-ish but it looked great. Highly recommend. I rent frequently from RTR and they always provide such convenient, professional service especially if you rent from NYC.
Emma
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4343
Jan 10, 2014
Cute dress for NYE!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I usually wear between a size 2 or 4 in dresses, but I DEFINITELY needed a size four in this one. I usually wear a size 27 or 28 in jeans and don't exactly have a big bottom, but I found this dress really tight on the bottom, to the point where it was almost a little uncomfortable dancing. However, the cutout got rave reviews and it looked nice when I was standing and was comfortable enough to generally move around in. Overall, pretty good, but not my favorite dress of all time!
Tammy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3422
Dec 11, 2013
Super Sexy!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Date
I wore this for a night on the town with my husband. He LOVED IT! It is comfortable dress. It's not too tight that you can't move but it is still amazingly form fitting! Just got to make sure you have the right bra. I wore a strapless but needed to use bra tape to make sure the bra didn't peek in the cutout.
Madeleine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 123 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3423
Nov 18, 2013
Very hot dress
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Material didn't stretch and wasn't forgiving--definitely be in shape for this one! Cut-out hit in the right place.
Erika
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4534
Aug 17, 2013
RTR Customer service is amazing!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Sadly, I did not get to wear this dress due to it being damaged when I received it. However, I called RTR and they handled the situation perfectly. If I didn't already appreciate this company, I really do now. As for the dress, it fit true to size, but I would definitely not recommend for large chested women.
Melissa
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4442
Aug 7, 2013
Wore this dress in Vegas and it was amazing!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fits true to size. The cut out is a good size on the body, keeps it sexy without looking trashy or cheap. Got so many compliments! Loved everything about it.
Taylor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 146 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5233
May 14, 2013
DAYUM I LOOKED FURCE
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
IT WAS TIGHT AS HELL BUT I LOOKED SEXY AS A MOFO FO MAH MAN. TOTALLY RECOMMEND IT.
Lynn
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5533
May 12, 2013
sexy and fun!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
i wore this dress for a bachelorette party, and I loved it! comfortable and sexy. the top was a little looser on my body, but it was very snug in the hips. I ended up safety pinning the top so that i was more comfortable.
Caroline
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 4343
Mar 25, 2013
This dress fit perfectly! I was so sad when I sent it back.
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Woluld recommend ordering two sizes because the material does not stretch.
Johna
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 147 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5643
Jan 16, 2013
Unfortunately, I did not wear the dress on my trip to Las Vegas
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Vacation
The fit was small - I choose two sizes for this one based on the measurements and what others had to say and thankfully I ordered the size I thought I would wear and one size up. The one size up fit but was snug. The top of it fit well but the bottom part was snug. I think if I tried a size 10, the top would have been too big.
Karin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 18
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 137 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4242
Dec 27, 2012
Awesome Dress but Runs Small
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I rented this as a backup and loved it but unfortunately it didn't fit! I would suggest sizing up since it really is form fitting.
diva lady
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4623
Dec 14, 2012
This is a great dress, very comfortable and sexy.
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I received lots of compliments on this dress. its very easy to wear. works good with a strapless bra.
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2422
Nov 29, 2012
Customer Service!
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I am a fairly true size 0, so got this in a 0 and the free size 2. Unfortunately, neither of them fit at all! Usually things are snug on my butt, but the fabric wasn't forgiving enough and so I couldn't wear either dress and had to improvise. Thank goodness for RTR's great customer service - I was refunded the cost of the dress. I'll definitely be using RTR for another event!
Katie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3443
Nov 28, 2012
Great dress, felt good in it!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved this dress but it was too long. I'm 5'10' and it was still too long. It hit close to my knees and I wanted a more mini fit. Ended up pinning it up and it was fine and it fits great up top!
Andrea
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4433
Nov 26, 2012
Gorgeous dress, sexy but not too revealing. Loves It Would definitely wear it again or recommend it!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It was a little loose around the top but I am a small chested woman. But overall great dress!
Julia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7544
Nov 12, 2012
Felt fancy for a nice date with my husband
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Good choice given the last minute rental. Nice quality fabric and the dress is lined, which makes it easy to wear underwear. I wore a cup-only stick-on bra for this (not the one RTR sells, a different one). I am not sure a strapless bra would have worked, would depend on the cups & strap width. Could probably have done no bra. I liked that it was not too short, since it was already revealing on the back & side. But the fabric is not stretch, so it did not fit as well as I'd hoped. The top was nice and snug as it should be, but the waist left a little pooch of extra fabric that just hung there. The backup size (8) was too small, so I went with the 10. But, husband thought I looked nice & overall I felt good in the dress.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×
×
Save at least $14.95 on every order and rent like a pro all year long. Details
  • free shipping
  • free insurance
  • free birthday dress