Black Halo

Cut Out One Shoulder Dress

$49 rental
$400 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Attending a bachelorette party? This one shoulder cut out detail dress by Black Halo will stop traffic. Girls night out never looked so good!

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - cut-out detail is difficult to wear with a standard strapless bra
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout - cut-out detail shows off midsection
HIPS: Very fitted - runs narrow at hips, curvy women should size up one or two sizes
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra or no bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'8". )

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - cut-out detail is difficult to wear with a standard strapless bra
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout - cut-out detail shows off midsection
HIPS: Very fitted - runs narrow at hips, curvy women should size up one or two sizes
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra or no bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'8". )

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black polyamide crepe. One shoulder neckline with seaming detail. Cut out detail on side of bodice. Skirt hits at 18" from natural waist. Model's height is 5'8".

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

74 reviews

Fit
Small 34
True to Size 34
Large 4
Photos 26
Giselle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 1, 2010

Overall fit: Small
Loved this dress on a friend, but it ran small on me :( Definitely not for the busty gal as it runs tight around the rib cage. Rock it with crazy jewelry, because it truly is just a little black dress despite the cut-outs. Nothing spectacular unless you can rock it
S
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36AA
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 8, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
Edgy and fun - I loved it! Not quite as short as pictured - it hit me a few inches above the knee and it's definitely small at the bust.
Callie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Nov 20, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
This was awesome, but if you are small-chested, get some of those sticky gel pads; I ran out of time and couldn't buy some, and the chest on this dress has what I would call built-in "cups" so they just looked sad on my tiny chest. Otherwise a great dress and fit very true-to-size (I wear a 4 and the 4 was right-on). I will consider renting again for parties but will get some kind of chest going on first!
Blaire
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Dec 20, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
Wore this dress for a birthday party. It was sexy and fun. Definitely runs snug around the bust and rib cage area.
NJL
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 93 lbs
Feb 3, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Sadly I had to send this dress back because it was too big. The cut out hung funny on me. This dress is hard for short girls because the length is a little too long. I'm sure it looks sexy on a woman with amazing curves. I couldn't do the dress justice.
Jamie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Jun 28, 2011

Overall fit: Small
This dress is soooooo small! I ordered a size 10 which is my actual size and it didn't fit me. When i let my friend who wore a size 4 try the dress on it fit her perfectly. don't rent this dress if you have hips or boobs.
akurd
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Body type: Athletic
Oct 25, 2011

Overall fit: Small
I'm not quite sure how this dress could fit anybody well... Several of my friends and I tried it on, and it looked awkward on all different body types. It was long and the cutout was very unflattering. You have to be very tall for this to fit.
Kays
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 121 lbs
Nov 3, 2011

Overall fit: Small
I'm always between XS and S in clothing and definitely could not zipper the 0 on me. The 2 fit, in theory, but the upper half was not flattering on me at all. I am an A cup, and the dress flattened me out. The bottom fit nicely though, but overall, the dress didn't make me feel sexy enough to wear on a night out.
Alex
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Nov 16, 2011

Great dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I absolutely loved this dress! I'm usually a 6, but the hips were a little tight in this dress, so I sized up to the 8 for a perfect fit (I'm a hippy girl so this wasn't unexpected.) I got compliments all night! Def recommended for a sassy LBD
Gloria
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Dec 1, 2011

Great Dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for my 21st birthday party in vegas, I had two dresses. I wore this dress and it fit great. I am 5'3 and 110 and I rented a size 0 and a 2 just in case. Because I am shorter, the dress length hit below my knees, alittle longer than I would have likes, but it was still a cute dress.
meghan
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
Dec 5, 2011

WAYY SMALL!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Great dress and design but the style does not allow for anyy movement. the bottom was tight, the cutout was tight, and the way it fit on my body was not flattering at all. don't rent this unless you can't find another LBD, it isn't that special.
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 7, 2011

fun dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I was overall pleased with the dress. I'm 5'9" so I was a little surprised that it went to my knees, but it was still cute. I am usually between a 6 and an 8, and I ended up wearing the 8 since it was a little tight through the hips (the fabric is not stretchy). I received a lot of compliments that night and think that this dress is great.
Emily
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 22, 2011

Great form-fitting LBD w edge

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress and got many compliments. Beware that it runs at least one size small and is a bit smaller than average in the bust. The fabric is mid-weight with a very slight stretch. I usually wear a 2-4 and I ended up wearing my backup size (6). The fit on me did not allow the side cutout to show quite as much as shown on the model but it was still cute. Overall a great rental.
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 29
Body type: Athletic
Jan 8, 2012

Fantastic, phenomenal dress!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for my birthday and could not have been happier! It was very supportive, comfortable, and sexy and I received a lot of compliments on it!
mimi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128 lbs
Mar 9, 2012

large chest look elsewhere!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this for my BF's military semi-formal. Ihave a tiny waist and large chest. I ordered a 2 & 4 and while the waist fit perfect in both- my chest was overflowing on top. it looked SO bad, which is a shame because it's a quality made dress. Cut-out dresses are tricky for busty ladies
Laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Aug 2, 2012

perfect LBD

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
this dress was so fun and unique. definitely a RTR fav of mine. i'm glad i listened to past reviews because it does run smaller. i am normally a 4 but the 6 worked perfect. you can't wear a bra, so if you're not comfortable with that i'd steer clear.
Joanna
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 139 lbs
Aug 16, 2012

I was surprised I didn't get that many compliments on my dress since I did think it looked great.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
The slit on the side looks much better on the model than in person. I had to adjust quite a bit so it didnt look like my dress was poking out. The material does not hug the skin like I hoped so it affected the overall fit of the dress. Other than that it looked great.
Sam
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116 lbs
Aug 20, 2012

nice dress not for me

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
great dress---I ordered to small and it made me look bigger than I actually am. I didnt end up wearing it
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 4, 2012

Very Vegas!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress for a bachelorette party in Vegas- i felt like it was sexy without being tacky. The cutout was sexy and the length felt good for me but it might be a little long for someone shorter. There is no stretch to the dress so i would recommend going up 1 size as your back up. It's tough to wear a bra with so i went without but if you have a larger chest this dress might not be good for you.
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 2, 2012

Super Cute Dress

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Super Long. I did not wear this dress because of the length. Fit was true to Size length was very long.
Rachelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123 lbs
Nov 2, 2012

Great summer party dress....with a twist!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I didn't end up wearing this dress because it was my back up dress and I opted for another RTR Herve dress instead. I felt like this dress was a little more casual and would have been great for a night out during summer. The fabric is thick but in the cotton family. Very sexy...this one remains on my list for the perfect ocassion. Although it fit fine, I have hips so it was a little snug in that area.
Julia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Nov 12, 2012

Felt fancy for a nice date with my husband

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Good choice given the last minute rental. Nice quality fabric and the dress is lined, which makes it easy to wear underwear. I wore a cup-only stick-on bra for this (not the one RTR sells, a different one). I am not sure a strapless bra would have worked, would depend on the cups & strap width. Could probably have done no bra. I liked that it was not too short, since it was already revealing on the back & side. But the fabric is not stretch, so it did not fit as well as I'd hoped. The top was nice and snug as it should be, but the waist left a little pooch of extra fabric that just hung there. The backup size (8) was too small, so I went with the 10. But, husband thought I looked nice & overall I felt good in the dress.
Andrea
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 26, 2012

Gorgeous dress, sexy but not too revealing. Loves It Would definitely wear it again or recommend it!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It was a little loose around the top but I am a small chested woman. But overall great dress!
Katie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 28, 2012

Great dress, felt good in it!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved this dress but it was too long. I'm 5'10' and it was still too long. It hit close to my knees and I wanted a more mini fit. Ended up pinning it up and it was fine and it fits great up top!
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116 lbs
Nov 29, 2012

Customer Service!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I am a fairly true size 0, so got this in a 0 and the free size 2. Unfortunately, neither of them fit at all! Usually things are snug on my butt, but the fabric wasn't forgiving enough and so I couldn't wear either dress and had to improvise. Thank goodness for RTR's great customer service - I was refunded the cost of the dress. I'll definitely be using RTR for another event!
diva lady
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 14, 2012

This is a great dress, very comfortable and sexy.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I received lots of compliments on this dress. its very easy to wear. works good with a strapless bra.
Karin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 137 lbs
Dec 27, 2012

Awesome Dress but Runs Small

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I rented this as a backup and loved it but unfortunately it didn't fit! I would suggest sizing up since it really is form fitting.
Johna
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 147 lbs
Jan 16, 2013

Unfortunately, I did not wear the dress on my trip to Las Vegas

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Vacation
The fit was small - I choose two sizes for this one based on the measurements and what others had to say and thankfully I ordered the size I thought I would wear and one size up. The one size up fit but was snug. The top of it fit well but the bottom part was snug. I think if I tried a size 10, the top would have been too big.
Caroline
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
Mar 25, 2013

This dress fit perfectly! I was so sad when I sent it back.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Woluld recommend ordering two sizes because the material does not stretch.
Lynn
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 130 lbs
May 12, 2013

sexy and fun!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
i wore this dress for a bachelorette party, and I loved it! comfortable and sexy. the top was a little looser on my body, but it was very snug in the hips. I ended up safety pinning the top so that i was more comfortable.
Taylor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 146 lbs
May 14, 2013

DAYUM I LOOKED FURCE

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
IT WAS TIGHT AS HELL BUT I LOOKED SEXY AS A MOFO FO MAH MAN. TOTALLY RECOMMEND IT.
Melissa
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Aug 7, 2013

Wore this dress in Vegas and it was amazing!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fits true to size. The cut out is a good size on the body, keeps it sexy without looking trashy or cheap. Got so many compliments! Loved everything about it.
Kyoko
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 8, 2013

didnt fit so didnt wear it

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
my bust was too small for the dress
Erika
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 17, 2013

RTR Customer service is amazing!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Sadly, I did not get to wear this dress due to it being damaged when I received it. However, I called RTR and they handled the situation perfectly. If I didn't already appreciate this company, I really do now. As for the dress, it fit true to size, but I would definitely not recommend for large chested women.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×