Black Halo

Cut Out One Shoulder Dress

$49 to buy
$400 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Attending a bachelorette party? This one shoulder cut out detail dress by Black Halo will stop traffic. Girls night out never looked so good!

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - cut-out detail is difficult to wear with a standard strapless bra
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout - cut-out detail shows off midsection
HIPS: Very fitted - runs narrow at hips, curvy women should size up one or two sizes
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra or no bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'8". )

Product Details

Black polyamide crepe. One shoulder neckline with seaming detail. Cut out detail on side of bodice. Skirt hits at 18" from natural waist. Model's height is 5'8".

Share
76 reviews
Fit
Large
(4)
True to Size
(35)
Small
(34)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
July 26, 2014
Great dress! I got compliments all night. Sexy yet classy.

I am tall and it was still a modest length on me. May be long on someone if you are on the shorter side! Definitely runs a little small so I recommend going up a size for the backup!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
October 3, 2016
The sexy little black dress you've always wanted in you closet!

It wasn't forgiving since the material wasn't stretchy at all, and your skin might pop out of the side while seated poorly, BUT it forced you to sit upright and have good posture! Definitely a classy and sexy dress without being too over the top and inappropriate for a wedding.

Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
November 20, 2010

This was awesome, but if you are small-chested, get some of those sticky gel pads; I ran out of time and couldn't buy some, and the chest on this dress has what I would call built-in "cups" so they just looked sad on my tiny chest. Otherwise a great dress and fit very true-to-size (I wear a 4 and the 4 was right-on). I will consider renting again for parties but will get some kind of chest going on first!

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
December 20, 2010

Wore this dress for a birthday party. It was sexy and fun. Definitely runs snug around the bust and rib cage area.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 93lbs
February 3, 2011

Sadly I had to send this dress back because it was too big. The cut out hung funny on me. This dress is hard for short girls because the length is a little too long. I'm sure it looks sexy on a woman with amazing curves. I couldn't do the dress justice.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
November 30, 2011
I got so many compliments and I can't wait to have an excuse to rent this dress again!

This dress fit me more perfectly than I was expecting. I absolutely loved the exposed side and back - it took a little getting used to (it's weird to feel the breeze on your rib cage), and I got a few scandalous looks from the more conservative girls, but it was worth it because I looked and felt amazing. Because of its simplicity, I went with a big gold necklace (that I also rented here).

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
December 14, 2011
Everyone commented on the unexpected peek-a-boo skin moment and through it was tasteful yet sexy.

Ran true to size and was a fun party dress. It was perfect for the 80s-themed event I was attending but I'd wear this to any party.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
January 8, 2012
Fantastic, phenomenal dress!

I rented this dress for my birthday and could not have been happier! It was very supportive, comfortable, and sexy and I received a lot of compliments on it!

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
January 23, 2012
A mutual friend told me I was the best dressed at the party.

Loved it. I ordered it in my actual size forgetting that designer dresses tend to be a size smaller. If it had been my size, I would've loved it even more. The compliments were plentiful.

StephanieJanuary 23, 2012
Thank you! Good to know. I'm thinking about renting it and I think we're the same size all around. I will definitely rent a 10 with a backup size 12 then!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
August 13, 2012
Best of Detroit and Best Dress

This was a great dress for a Best of Detroit party! I got tons of compliments on it, and the fit was pretty standard. It was easy to wear a strapless bra with it too!

KatieAugust 13, 2012
You. look. hot!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
August 25, 2012
I loved feeling sexy and classy!

I rented this dress for a bachelorette party, it was a hit. The dress is sexy and classy at the same time. I was a bit worried everything wouldn't stay in place but the dress fit perfect. The dress is comfortable and easy to move in. Great dress to rent!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
September 4, 2012
Very Vegas!

I loved this dress for a bachelorette party in Vegas- i felt like it was sexy without being tacky. The cutout was sexy and the length felt good for me but it might be a little long for someone shorter. There is no stretch to the dress so i would recommend going up 1 size as your back up. It's tough to wear a bra with so i went without but if you have a larger chest this dress might not be good for you.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
September 11, 2012
Loved this cut out dress!

I wore this dress to the RTR anniversary party and loved it. The cut out is in a flattering spot and adds a little edge- definitely try this dress!

JustineSeptember 11, 2012
what a fun cut out style! You rocked it Brooke :)
KatieSeptember 11, 2012
Did you wear a strapless bra?
RTR CustomerSeptember 11, 2012
Hi Katie! This dress should be worn with a NuBra or no bra!
BrookeSeptember 11, 2012
Hi Katie- I actually didn't wear a bra because the dress was tight enough to hold everything in, but you could wear a strapless bra.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
October 2, 2012
Super Cute Dress

Super Long. I did not wear this dress because of the length. Fit was true to Size length was very long.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
November 28, 2012
Great dress, felt good in it!

Loved this dress but it was too long. I'm 5'10' and it was still too long. It hit close to my knees and I wanted a more mini fit. Ended up pinning it up and it was fine and it fits great up top!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
December 14, 2012
This is a great dress, very comfortable and sexy.

I received lots of compliments on this dress. its very easy to wear. works good with a strapless bra.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
February 8, 2013
Never before in my life have I been hit on by so many guys in one night. Thanks, RTR!

I was attending the launch party for a dating app. This is by far the sexiest dress I have ever worn in my life. You can size up if you want lots of space to shimmy around in, but because of the large cutout, I suggest making sure you go for the snugger fit so the left side doesn't let your breast pop out. I wore a pushup NuBra for the first time with this, and it stuck on me very well. I was dancing for several hours in this ensemble, and never once did I need to adjust anything.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 25
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 195lbs
March 19, 2013
Great cut out detail BUT

my waist is much narrower than my hips, so I had trouble getting the bottom half of the cut out to sit right on my waist, but other than that, I was able to wear it without a bra no worries and was able to move easily in it all night

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 130lbs
May 12, 2013
sexy and fun!

i wore this dress for a bachelorette party, and I loved it! comfortable and sexy. the top was a little looser on my body, but it was very snug in the hips. I ended up safety pinning the top so that i was more comfortable.

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
August 7, 2013
Wore this dress in Vegas and it was amazing!

Fits true to size. The cut out is a good size on the body, keeps it sexy without looking trashy or cheap. Got so many compliments! Loved everything about it.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
August 17, 2013
RTR Customer service is amazing!

Sadly, I did not get to wear this dress due to it being damaged when I received it. However, I called RTR and they handled the situation perfectly. If I didn't already appreciate this company, I really do now. As for the dress, it fit true to size, but I would definitely not recommend for large chested women.

Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
January 23, 2014
Very sophisticated, gorgeous dress. Excellent service from RTR

This dress fits beautifully, true to size. The color and silhouette are simple, The cut out is hot, but length makes the dress very classy and v stand-out. I'm pretty waif-ish but it looked great. Highly recommend. I rent frequently from RTR and they always provide such convenient, professional service especially if you rent from NYC.

Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
May 8, 2014
I did not wear this dress..... I got it for Las Vegas .. So bummed

The dress is way too long... I got it for Vegas and it went mid knee. Not what the picture showed at all . I am also 5. " 7.. So that is odd! The length is not right.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 4' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 146lbs
February 5, 2014
LOVE! Great Dress for a Vegas Show

My Fiancé and I went to a show in Vegas. Dress was amazing and received a bunch of compliments!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36AA
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
November 8, 2010

Edgy and fun - I loved it! Not quite as short as pictured - it hit me a few inches above the knee and it's definitely small at the bust.

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
February 16, 2012
Duh...the dress!

Oh my gosh! If I could rate this dress a 6, I would. This and one other dress were my first RTR dresses and can't wait to order my next one. I'm going to have to open a savings account just for my monthly budget :). All the reviews say this dress ran small but it absolutely ran true to size. I have an athletic body type and am not too curvy but this dress gave me just enough. It was ultra sexy and I would rent it again.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 5, 2013
Perfect NYE!

Loved this dress. Had to use some tape to make sure my Nubra did not show, but overall a fantastic dress with VERY strategically placed cutouts.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
August 16, 2014
Sexy!

I chose this dress to wear out on my birthday dinner date. I wish this was permanently in my closet because I would wear it a lot. It's the perfect amount of sexy, a nice spin on the little black dress!!I felt secure enough up top that I did not have to wear a bra with it (as suggested). I highly recommend, just keep in mind this dress runs true to size and there is no give if you've got hips!!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 1, 2011
Great Dress!

I rented this dress for my 21st birthday party in vegas, I had two dresses. I wore this dress and it fit great. I am 5'3 and 110 and I rented a size 0 and a 2 just in case. Because I am shorter, the dress length hit below my knees, alittle longer than I would have likes, but it was still a cute dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
November 12, 2012
Felt fancy for a nice date with my husband

Good choice given the last minute rental. Nice quality fabric and the dress is lined, which makes it easy to wear underwear. I wore a cup-only stick-on bra for this (not the one RTR sells, a different one). I am not sure a strapless bra would have worked, would depend on the cups & strap width. Could probably have done no bra. I liked that it was not too short, since it was already revealing on the back & side. But the fabric is not stretch, so it did not fit as well as I'd hoped. The top was nice and snug as it should be, but the waist left a little pooch of extra fabric that just hung there. The backup size (8) was too small, so I went with the 10. But, husband thought I looked nice & overall I felt good in the dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 26, 2012
Gorgeous dress, sexy but not too revealing. Loves It Would definitely wear it again or recommend it!

It was a little loose around the top but I am a small chested woman. But overall great dress!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 149lbs
March 25, 2013
This dress fit perfectly! I was so sad when I sent it back.

Woluld recommend ordering two sizes because the material does not stretch.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
November 18, 2013
Very hot dress

Material didn't stretch and wasn't forgiving--definitely be in shape for this one! Cut-out hit in the right place.

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
December 15, 2014
Classic looking LBD with a twist.

Tight around the hips, with not much stretch. Good for a smaller bust, as there's a built in bra.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
February 7, 2014
Not for a full chest

I rented this dress but wasn't able to wear it. The top on the 6 was too small. I could almost fit into the top of the 8, but that made the rest of the dress too large. Definitely a great dress for someone more proportionate, but not goof for a large chest. Not enough give to the material.

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
March 12, 2014
No regrets! Loved wearing this dress! Felt like a million bucks!

Absolutely LOVED this dress!

See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×