Black Jackie O Dress

$53 to buy
$350 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This dress from Black Halo is great for work, an interview, or any classy event.

Also available in red.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted and belted at natural waist; dress hugs midsection - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Very fitted - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model) - dress hits knee length or just below knees

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra and seamless underwear - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted and belted at natural waist; dress hugs midsection - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Very fitted - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model) - dress hits knee length or just below knees

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra and seamless underwear - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black Ponte jersey. Asymmetric cowl neckline. Origami detail on shoulder. Includes leather belt. Hidden back zip. About 42" from shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'9".

Share
98 reviews
Fit
Large1
True to Size67
Small29
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Weight: 110lbs
April 12, 2016
Definitely a Jackie-O dress! I loved it. Would rent again as an LBD! Great silhouette!!
Fits tight- I definitely wore spanx underneath but this dress is absolutely classic! I wore it to my best friends rehearsal dinner and it was definitely a winner! It looks so simple but it has an elegance about it! LOVED IT!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
April 29, 2015
Broker Open House for a brand new, expensive, listing.
Fits well. It was a little loose in the top, but I am also lacking in that area! Perfect length.
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 19, 2015
Fabulous dress for any occasion!
I snagged this dress on clearance during the RTR sale, and it has been worth every penny! The dress hugs curves and slims the midsection, it can be dressed down or up.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
December 9, 2014
Sexy dress!
Awesome dress! I would have preferred to wear a size larger since it is pretty tight in the waist but this one was ok.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 104lbs
November 30, 2014
Amazing fit
I wore this dress for my sorority's preference round my senior year of college. It fit like an absolute dream and was a great and appropriate length for the event. It's completely stretchy and great!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 58
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 122lbs
October 22, 2014
This ran very small.
I usually wear a 4 or 6 and I could barely zip the zipper!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
October 6, 2014
Love this neckline!
This dress was perfect for a formal work event - and transitioned to an after event party beautifully. I felt stylish and still conservative enough for the professional setting.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
September 15, 2014
Strong, svelte, yet professional little black dress was perfect for a museum opening.
I really loved, loved, loved this dress. I felt chic and sophisticated but still young and trendy. This fit like a glove. I'm really long waisted. I often cannot wear a sheath for that reason, but this one worked.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
August 29, 2014
Amazing Dress
Wore this dress for a big work presentation and it was perfect. The all black made me feel powerful and it fit like a glove.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Weight: 150lbs
August 26, 2014
The dress made me feel sexy, yet professional at my work's big annual fundraiser.
I'm glad I got the size up from what I normally wear because this dress is TIGHT, especially through the hips and stomach. Once I got it on, though, it felt great. The little details make the dress - the unique cap sleeve, the elegant neck draping, the perfect length. I got compliments all night! This was my first RTR experience, and everything went smoothly!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 137lbs
August 6, 2014
Sexy yet elegant
Loved this dress! Rented three Rtr dresses for a work conference, this one was my favorite. The dress was very snug, but in a good way. Made me feel like it was holding me in, while simultaneously accentuating the good curves. It was comfortable, even while sitting. The only bad part was that it did ride up while walking, causing a kind of bunching in the stomach unless I pulled it down every few steps..
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
July 30, 2014
I love this dress!
I have rented this dress twice now - once for a med school graduation party and once for a wedding - I love it. I got tons of compliments about my figure in it - it makes my waist look so much smaller and gives a nice hourglass shape! That being said, it is a tight squeeze to get it zipped and spanx are a must! I probably would have ordered a size up both times if it had been available.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
July 13, 2014
Didnt fit!
I was very disappointed with this dress. I was so excited to get it but neither my regular or back up size order fit me. I am normally between a size 6-8 and the 8 fit but it was tight.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 137lbs
June 25, 2014
Finally available, didn't fit!
I have tried to order this dress a few times now. Finally it was available but only in one size, not the back up size. I took a chance b/c according to other reviews from people of a similar shape and size I should have fit in my typical size. It came and of course it didn't fit. Just a little too tight in the back so didn't zipper all the way. So disappointed. Rent the Runway is shipping me another dress that was similar to try, waiting on that to arrive but I'm hopeful it'll fit b/c they did send both sizes. Will try to order this dress again in the future, I'm determined to wear it to something!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
June 22, 2014
Best rental so far! Amazing LBD!!
I want to buy this one! I actually rented this as a backup for my high school reunion and didn't plan on wearing it because I recently had a baby and am still working on getting my flat tummy back. I was afraid it would make me look fat, but it was very flattering even though my tummy stuck out a little. This dress is very tight so I couldn't wear any Spanx or anything, but it didn't matter. It fit me like a glove, and now I want my own!! One thing I will mention is that I was afraid it would look too business-y, which was not the case. The great thing about this dress is that you could glam it up, dress it up, or make it very professional. Loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
June 19, 2014
Perfect dress to chaperone a formal
I wore this dress as a teacher chaperone for a formal dance. It was conservative enough, but still beautiful. Got tons of compliments from the other chaperones. This dress was shipped because my original choice was out of the size 6. It was tight, but worked, I usually wear a size 8 and I think that would have been perfect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
June 15, 2014
I rented this dress for a head shot/portrait session. It fit like a glove!! Incredible dress!
This dress was amazing. So classy and comfortable. It accentuates your curves and hugs in all the right places! I would definitely recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
May 3, 2014
Perfect fit, ease of shipping return, clean no damage
Great fit, mid calf length, stunning on
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117lbs
May 2, 2014
Great quality. So easy to ship to destination and back.
Great for a professional look. Was pleased with quality and fit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
April 29, 2014
love this dress!
everything fit true to size would order this dress again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 7, 2014
This dress was great! It fit my figure perfectly and I got several compliments on it!
This dress runs a bit on the small side so I ordered it in my size and 1 size up as a backup and the backup fir perfectly.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
March 2, 2014
Great, classy dress! I felt very chic!
Overall, I had a great RTR experience with this dress! I wore this to a formal engagement party and received so many compliments! I am happy that I had a backup size as this dress does run very small. I am normally a true size 6 in dresses and had to wear the 8 in this dress. The dress is very tight. Be prepared for a very fitted bodice and the belt is not included. I loved this dress and had so much fun in it! Thanks RTR!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
December 1, 2013
This dress was great! Perfect for women with not many curves
was great!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
November 14, 2013
Great-looking LBD
What a great dress! I wore this to a "mom's night out" fundraiser for my daughter's school. Definitely runs small. I'm between a 4 and a 6 in most dresses and was squeezed into this within an inch of my life. The arm holes are a bit big, so the fact that I was sausaged into it accentuated some baggy fat on the backside of my arms/shoulder. And the previous renter neglected to return the belt, but RTR let me know before it shipped and made good on it by crediting me back the cost of the dress, so YAY for their customer service. I had my own skinny black belt already, so I was good to go.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
September 23, 2013
nice fabric and drape
I only had rented the size 6 since the 8 was not available. The dress was classy and stylish, but it was not a good fit for my body type. I tend to carry weight in my belly, and the dress made me look like I was expecting. I was unable to wear the dress.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
July 13, 2013
Too small, didn't get the opportunity to wear this dress.
The dress arrived as pictured, minus the belt that is in the photograph, on the date promised. The dress was beautiful quality and was exactly like I thought it would be like. I should have heeded the warnings about size better, because even with Spanx, the dress was too small for me. I needed the next size up, and that was not available. I purchased a similar style dress in a hurry instead. I wish I could have worn the dress, as it was really beautiful.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
June 17, 2013
The perfect combination of class and sexy
Thank god this dress runs small because they only had a six but it fit perfectly! Wore it to a work event and have never felt so beautiful/sexy and still felt comfortable talking to my boss. First dress I'm probably going to purchase.
LaVonSeptember 16, 2013
Does the dress have a good amount of stretch for sitting? Does it run small? Are the exposed armpits annoying after a while? Thanks!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
June 16, 2013
Super chic evening dress
The Halo dress fits perfectly, true to size. Timeless and elegant. You can dress it up with some killer heels for an all evening look.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
June 7, 2013
Perfect for a work event when you want to look a little sexier than usual
I loved this dress. It transitioned perfectly from work to going out for weekday drinks.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
June 4, 2013
Looks great on! Very flattering
This dress fits true to size. I am 5'8 and it went just below my knees. I receive alot of compliments and it really looks nice on. Easy to dress up if needed!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
April 3, 2013
Classy and chic!
I typically wear a size 4, but since they didn't offer this size, I went up to a 6 (thanks to the previous reviews). It fit perfectly in the rib area - but below that, there was a little more material than I think should have been there. After I ate a lot at the party, it was perfect though :) I got compliments from everyone and my sister is even looking into buying it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
April 1, 2013
All the compliments!
I ended up wearing this to work and was amazed by the number of compliments that I got! The sleeves fit a bit shorter than what they look like in the photo. The dress was a bit longer on me, going a bit past my knees.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117lbs
March 30, 2013
Going away dress for my wedding!
This dress in unbelievably classy, yet sexy. It fits like a glove. This is my all time favorite dress! Since renting I have bought 3 of these dresses because of their unbelievable fit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
March 16, 2013
Subtle + Sexy = an unforgettable RTR experience!!
I wore this dress to prom as a chaperone in 2012. I received many compliments from students and staff. As a petite woman the dress fell just below my knee. This is a phenomenal dress - would ABSOLUTELY recommend this dress to others. Anticipating the rental for prom 2013.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
March 15, 2013
Beautiful and conservative. From the moment I took off my jacket, I was receiving compliments!
I wore this to a professional networking event, and it was perfect. Just be careful about the slit in the back if you are wearing Spanx. When you walk, people behind you will be able to see them! I fixed this problem by folding/rolling the legs up.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
February 19, 2013
Wore for my thesis presentation! Classic would rent again!
Great dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
February 16, 2013
One word "AWESOME" two words "FREAKIN' AWESOME"
Firstly i am a proud owner of three RTR garment bags. (yes i save them) I wore this dress for my son's christening. I felt so gorgeous, my husband loved it on me ....I got tons of compliments but most importantly I felt great inside which ultimately showed on the outside.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
February 13, 2013
Perfect graduation dress!
Absolutely loved this dress! May be purchasing it for myself soon. It's super classy, perfect for a professional event!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
January 23, 2013
PERFECT DRESS!!! Cannot wait to rent it in red!
Wore this to a photo shoot for a charity I am working with. Great dress, perfect fit would definitely rent again!I normally wear a size 4 but they only had a 6 available so I took the chance. Great fit, not too loose or too snug. Was worried the length would be too long but it hit at the perfect spot.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
January 21, 2013
The dress is timeless. It was the perfect dress for a formal award show (black tie optional).
The dress is VERY form-fitting but has stretch. It looked beautiful with the Kate Spade black chandelier earrings!
See more reviews:
1 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×