Black Jackie O Dress

$53 to buy
$350 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This dress from Black Halo is great for work, an interview, or any classy event.

Also available in red.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted and belted at natural waist; dress hugs midsection - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Very fitted - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model) - dress hits knee length or just below knees

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra and seamless underwear - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted and belted at natural waist; dress hugs midsection - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Very fitted - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model) - dress hits knee length or just below knees

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra and seamless underwear - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black Ponte jersey. Asymmetric cowl neckline. Origami detail on shoulder. Includes leather belt. Hidden back zip. About 42" from shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'9".

Share
98 reviews
Fit
Large1
True to Size67
Small29
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 20, 2013
Perfect fit
I was on the fence about using RTR again. I had used it once before but wasn't sure the cost was justified vs. just buying something for my work party. But this dress was absolutely perfect. The cut is amazing. It made my waist look teeny tiny. I would highly recommend this for any event, particularly something on the more conservative side as the dress doesn't show too much skin. Very elegant and simple. Worth every penny!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
January 3, 2013
the quintessential LBD
this dress is sophisticated, flattering, and comfortable. it somehow manages to be both demure and body-conscious. of the many LBDs i've owned and rented, this one is my favorite. the skirt length is a bit too long for me, but not awkwardly so. went to rent this dress for a third time but it is no longer available in most sizes - it appears the dress is being phased out. RTR, bring it back please!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 21, 2012
Great Dress, tons of compliments
Slightly disappointed because the dress was sent to me without the belt. Since there are belt loops incorporated on this dress, I had to go out and buy a belt for it. 4 stores later, I found one. Other than that, the dress fit like a glove and I got alot of great feedback wearing it!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148lbs
December 7, 2012
Amazing dress! Better in person!
Fabulous dress. Fit was perfect!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
November 6, 2012
Pretty dress, cut small
The cut of this dress was just way too small for my frame, so unfortunately, I wasn't able to wear it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
October 29, 2012
Perfect dress for bridal shower
I have had my eye on this dress for quite some time and was waiting for the right occasion to rent it. My bridal shower was that event. The dress fit perfect and I got compliments all day on the dress. I can't wait for my next event to rent a dress, or rent this one again!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
October 27, 2012
Great fit! I was able to transition this from a work event to a cocktail party.
Flattering on the body
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
October 26, 2012
Work-appropriate but with edge
I wore this to a work event that went day-night, and this was perfect. For day, I also wore a blazer. This is a true sheath - very fitted through the hips. I have an hourglass figure, but I'm a little heavier on bottom than on top -- with spanx, a 6 was still maybe a little tight (for work), but any bigger and the bust would have been too big. All-in-all a very sexy-classy dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 117lbs
October 17, 2012
fit perfectly. nice for fuller bust. only negative was that belt was a little worn out.
fit perfectly. nice for fuller bust. only negative was that belt was a little worn out.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Weight: 122lbs
October 15, 2012
Professional, classy yet sexy!
LOVED this dress! I wore it to a work retirement party - I must say it is the best for a career based party. Was extremely classy, for fitting and the cut out on the chest also gives it a little sexy edge to it as well.I highly recommend this dress.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 47
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
October 9, 2012
love the fit and how I felt in it.
hugged my curves exactly where it should have.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
October 7, 2012
Dress was not up to the quality that I expected
Ran smaller than expected and fabric was very thin.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 131lbs
September 30, 2012
Was perfect for a client launch party I had to work. Sophisticated, polished but still party perfect
.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
September 25, 2012
Wore this dress for my law school interview and felt great!
I wanted to wear something other than a suit to my law school interview so I rented this Black Halo dress. I loved it so much I went to Nordstrom and bought it! I thought I'd be a 6, and the 6 'fit', but it wasn't really interview appropriate...The 8 was perfect and SUPER flattering. This is now my go-to dress anytime I have a presentation or a professional event I want to stand out at.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136lbs
September 19, 2012
One of my favorites
I actually own this dress in red and it is fabulous. I reanted the black for a work event and it was perfect. Endless compliments. It is a very form fitting, flattering, and elegant dress. An all time favorite.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
September 16, 2012
Beautiful dress, but cut very small
I usually wear a 10 in dresses, because I have a larger bust. Unfortunately, the 10 was not nearly large enough for me to be able to zip up all the way. It was a shame I could not wear it, because it's a great looking dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
September 12, 2012
Great dress, but runs small
I ordered this dress for a friend's rehearsal dinner. I ordered the 6 with no back up as the 8 was not available. I was disappointed that the dress was too small when it arrived. The dress is beautiful, and I will definitely try ordering again when the 8 is available.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Apple
August 8, 2010
Super slimming - the dress is sexy without revealing too much. I love how the dress accentuated my curves by nipping in a bit at the waist
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Body type: Straight & narrow
August 8, 2010
This is your classic Audrey Hepburn-type dress with a bit of sophisticated sex appeal. It's my go-to LBD for any after work event, museum openings etc
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 132lbs
September 10, 2012
Feeling stylish & chic even with my kids!
I am a mom of three small kids, and we were headed to a family wedding in La Jolla, California that all my kids were in, so I wanted to look nice, but didn't want to buy something I would never wear again (since I rarely get to dress up as a stay-at-home mom). I loved this dress!! It was simple yet chic, and sexy yet classy enough to wear as a mom with my kids. It ran a little snug (I usually wear a 4 and I got a 6), but it was slightly stretchy and comfortable, and very flattering. I loved the length, too...just long enough to cover my scarred soccer knees! I got tons of compliments...even from the wedding coordinator! I would definitely rent this dress again...thinking of it for my 20th HS reunion this Fall...
MarleenDecember 4, 2012
great family pic!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
September 2, 2012
Super flattering fit
The dress seemed to run a little small, I typically wear an 8 and it was a little tight - def needed spanx! But the other cut and fit of the dress was very feminine and really flattering.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107lbs
September 1, 2012
lbd
love this dress! I wore this very classy dress to a family affair and received a lot of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
August 20, 2012
Perfect, Yet too on Fit
This is such a beautiful dress. I loved the structured design and saw it worn by some of my star favorites (Sandra Bullock / Ryan Reynolds movie), that I thought it would be perfect. Well it was and I would have given this dress 5 stars and it should receive, however my problem was the measurements and fabric. This dress has NO STRETCH, not even a little. I got what I thought was my size and the one larger. I couldn't close either. Now in defense of this dress, I am athletic with, what I feel is, broad shoulders and more of a sports back. This was not the body shape for this dress. So I feel it is more of my body issues versus the dress. I think if we had a true understanding of the capabilities of different fabrics we could better judge what wold work on ourselves. This dress is what sealed my already mental deal with myself to work on my body shape to fit the true designer sizes. Designer sizes seem to be a size smaller then what the mall wants us to believe we are. So if I thought I was an 8, I would be a 10. Prior to this dress I had already planned a new fit plan that would help reduce my athletic back. That is a lot harder then just a diet/exercise plan. But anyways, I don't want to say the dress is at fault, it is just that my body shape was not appropriate, especially since I am at the top last sizes this dress is made in. If I could have gone to a 12 I would have made it (I believe it was unavailable at my time, or it could be that it wasn't made that large). The rest was perfect. It is just the material. I wish the designer used a fabric with just a little give. That would have made this perfect. So due to the designer not thinking of the dramatic slight differences in everyone's shape, requiring a little stretch, I had to knock it down a star. And honestly, due to the fact I have never seen such unrelenting fabric in a dress or any clothing I have worn, I yanked another star. But I wish and still wish I can wear this dress. The shape and design are so beautiful and really give the female form this business/librarian smarts with the feline sexy cut and folds. BTW - I am muscular and that is why my weight may seem odd with the sizes. Plus I wanted to try this dress so badly that I got the 8 even thou at the time it was completely unrealistic. I was still losing from pregnancy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
August 13, 2012
2nd time renting this dress, and I'd rent it again
This is my second time renting this dress, because it is great for work events! It fits great, is conservative but the neckline gives it a little edge.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
August 11, 2012
Classy and feminine
I was very happy with this dress. I wore it to a work "gala" and felt sophisticated and beautiful. I don't know if it's really fair to say that it runs small, but I'm pear shaped so it was a bit snug on the bottom for me.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
August 10, 2012
Great dress!
This dress fits really tight and gives your body a great slimming look.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
July 27, 2012
Hot Mama Dress!
Ya know when you put a dress on and you just feel like a million bucks? Well this is it ladies! I have nothing but great things to say about it. My boyfriend still talks about this dress, even he loved it! IT's one of those dresses that while none of the goodies are on display, it is still sexy!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 102lbs
June 6, 2012
Petite, and fit great
I'm short, 5'1 and I was a little concerned this dress would be too long. It fit like a dream! I had loads of compliments and it was very comfortable. Highly recommend! Did both the 0 and 2, went with the 0.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
May 23, 2012
Nice Dress but.....
This dress is very nice unfortunately I was unable to wear the dress as it was huge on top and very snug on the bottom. Getting a size smaller would be impossible. Other than that the dress was very nice and sophisticated. I contacted Customer Service and was issued a credit!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 144lbs
April 18, 2012
Order a size up....
Definitely runs small.. if ordering 2 sizes.. order a size up for your back up.. wish I would have... because it is a very nice silhouette
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
December 19, 2011
Amazing!!
This dress was perfect. It fit like a glove and felt really sophisticated in it. It's one of those dresses you really want to own.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
November 23, 2011
Best dress ever
Fits perfect, and the lenght is "church" conservative... Was the best looking Godmother this weekend!!! Thanks...
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 17, 2011
Perfect for business event
This dress does run a bit small without much stretch, as others have said, but the size 6 fit me like a glove (I'm 34-29-38). I couldn't eat much or bend over, but it was worth it. It's slimming and very sleek, and perfect with classic black pumps. Wish I could have kept it!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 14, 2011
Law School Interview
I love this dress - unfortunately now that I've worn it and know how amazing it looks on I'm going to have to purchase it. I often wear a size 4 in "high end" clothing items and wear a size 6 in regular to lower end brands. I fit perfectly in a size 6. I fully recommend and can't wait to own my own to wear all the time.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
November 4, 2011
I don't understand what all the hype is about with the Black Halo Jackie Dress. I was very excited to rent it, but ended up not wearing it. I thought it had a number of very unflattering qualities. My main issue is with the arm hole openings and cap sleeves, which I can't understand why Black Halo hasn't redisgned by now. The arm hole openings are unusually large showing unecessary skin under the arm from the front, side and back. It made me look like fat was busting out of the top, when it was actually a bit loose. The model doesn't have this particular issue, but I imagine if you don't have a very narrow back and aren't really skinny then this could be a problem for you too. I am 5'6" about 123 lbs. The cap sleeve things are just all around awful. They're basically pointless, they don't hide anything you'd want them to and don't do anything good for your arms or shoulders. It looked better when I slid them off my shoulders, but then they gaped in the back. It's clearly not meant to be worn that way. I ordered a 6 and 4 expecting designer sizing (I'm normally a 2 at j.crew, 2 at Ann Taylor, 2 or 4 at Club Monaco). The 6 was huge. The 4 was snug in the waist but was a little big in the bust and hips. I would give this 1 or 2 stars but gave it 3 b/c it can't be all bad--it works on some people.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 153lbs
October 30, 2011
So many glowing reviews for this item have already done it justice. I will gladly join in the praise for this fantastic dress. Size 6 fit me well, I felt amazing in it, and received a lot of compliments. I will be renting from this designer again!
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
October 24, 2011
Ordered the 8 and 10 and both did not fit. I was deeply sad about this. Read all the reviews and measured myself but still no luck. I went to WHBM that evening and bought a dress size 8 to wear instead. All my dresses are 6 or 8 and jeans are 8. Shirt size is Medium. For whatever reason ( I think they sent me wrong sizes) the 8 and 10 could not even zipper up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
September 21, 2011
First RTR Rental and was perfect!
I love this dress!! It was my first rental, and I knew I had to rent this dress for my boyfriends Navy Chief Pinning Ceremony. I wore it with Nude Patent Pumps and thought I would wear my peep toe black Patent pumps but the nude looked better.. It is a classic & timeless dress that won't let you down. As for fit, if you are unsure go with the bigger size, I got two sizes and could of worn the smaller size, but felt the larger one looked better. Love this dress & was so sad sending it back.
View photos (1)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Body type: Hourglass
August 14, 2011
I LOVE THIS DRESS!! I wore it for my sister-in-law's wedding and got so many complements! It's extremely sexy, but classic and sophisticated at the same time. I'm a size 8, but I felt like a 2 in it and everybody told me how amazing I looked. BEST DRESS EVER!!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
August 9, 2011
Absolutely loved this dress! It's classy and definitely reminds me of Jackie O. This dress was rented for a baptism and a work event. Runs true to size. Would love to buy this dress!
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×