Stylist Surprise

Mystery Bling

$15 rental
$15 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

It's the item you never knew you needed, but must have. One of our stylists will complete your look with a bag or piece of jewelry.

Product Details

Your accessory will be jewelry or a bag with a rental price of up to $100.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

939 reviews

Fit
Small 58
True to Size 719
Large 96
Photos 194
Mara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 210 lbs
Mar 20, 2013

The stylist picks were surprising but fun.

Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fun to use.
Mary
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 21, 2013

Interesting

Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I was given a really large pair of earrings that didnt quite suit the dress I had chosen. They seemed a bit cheap and tacky looking. I love RTR, but I think that choosing your own jewelry is the best way to go here.
ahblbb
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 45
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Athletic
Mar 21, 2013

Nice bling.

Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Oscar De La Renta earrings sent were a nice touch.
Merry
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Mar 26, 2013

Perfect add on

Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I added the mystery bling and received a pair of Badgley Mischa earrings. To be honest, I never would of thought to wear such big earrings but I loved the way they completed the outfit. I will more than likely add mystery bling again. They were out of my norm and so perfect.
lyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 55
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155 lbs
Mar 27, 2013

I let the runway pick for me and they sent me a great bag that complimented my other selections!

Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Perfect accessory for both my dresses!
Emilia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 27, 2013

Great chosen bling!

Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I ordered the mystery bling to go with a very sequiny badgley mischka dress for New Years. The ring chosen to accompany it was very pretty but most importantly, greatly chosen and very tasteful!
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 18
Bust size: 34D
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 27, 2013

Unexpected, but Gorgeous

Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I received a pair of dangly feather earrings to go with my sparkly champagne, strapless homecoming dress. I would have never picked them out on my own, but they were absolutely adorable. However, they were not as light as actual feathers, and I had to take them out 5 minutes in to the dance! I think that there should be some way of telling the stylists details about the event. (If your arm is in a cast, I don't think a cuff would work too well...) That being said, I am very happy with this genius idea, and will definitely be using it again!
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Mar 29, 2013

What a treat: a perfect bracelet to go with my dress!

Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I thought I'd give the Stylist Surprise a try to see what RTR would come up with for my Trina Turk Gold on the Rocks dress rental. It was so fun to open the box and find a perfect pairing: the House of Harlow 1960 Gold Textured Cut Out Cuff. Fantastic match, RTR! I wouldn't have been brave enough to pick it myself, but it made the outfit.
Courtney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128 lbs
Mar 30, 2013

I got a bracelet I loved.

Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
The bracelet was a very nice piece that would have gone well with multiple dresses
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Mar 31, 2013

So fun and unexpected!

Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Mystery bling is the best. The stylists know what they're doing and it's fun to try something I might not normally have picked out. I wore the earrings they sent and they went perfectly with the dress I rented.
Jacqueline
Usually wears: 10
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Apr 1, 2013

I received so many compliments on my necklace!

Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered two style surprises and one was a GORGEOUS bib necklace that was a rental value of around $50 and one was a bracelet that was a $15 rental. I didn't wear the bracelet, but it was still beautiful. I just didn't have a need to wear it.
Hannah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 2, 2013

It was a great surprise and while I only saved $10, it was well worth the surprise!

Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This surprise was picked perfectly for the dress that I rented.
Liz
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122 lbs
Apr 3, 2013

Nice little surprise

Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Perfect bag, I'm even considering buying it to always have in my collection
Elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 3, 2013

The necklace was beautiful!

Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
For my mystery bling, they ended up just using the necklace I had already rented and just charged me less. I love the necklace so it was fine. I would definitely use Mystery Bling again!
Carrie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170 lbs
Apr 5, 2013

Looking great at my Bridal Shower

Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
These earrings were the perfect compliment to my Nicole Miller dress. A great pop of color.
Michele
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 47
Body type: Athletic
Apr 8, 2013

Bought the accessory as a mystery deal email through Rent The Runway.

Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Earrings came. They were pretty but very large. I have short hair so these would have overtaken my ears. Maybe for somebody with long hair that wants peek-a-boo earrings but definitely not short hair to a formal affair. Maybe for the mystery deals a couple questions should be asked (i.e. long/short hair, type of affair, preference of item - necklace, earrings, ring, etc.).
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Apr 8, 2013

Good deal if you are specific. Be specific!

Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I ordered this as a special offer. I received a pair of huge ugly gold earrings. I was not thrilled as I don't wear gold or earrings. When I contacted RTR they told me I could specify things like color and area (neck,ear,hand,etc.). I said I'd like black,white,and/or silver and anything but earrings. I got a set of black,white, and silver bangles that I absolutely loved! The only other major downfall is if young know what you are going to get then you don't know what acc you need to get for yourself.
Betina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 8, 2013

Great surprise!

Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
A nice little clutch that perfectly matched the dress! Would definitely get a Stylist Surprise again!
Devin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 9, 2013

A wonderful surprise!

Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The cuff bracelet was a lovely addition to the Herve' Leger' dress. Perfectly chosen by your stylist and it looked great on my daughter for her prom. The piece was elegant and fun. It was worn beautifully by my 17 year old and could have just as easily been worn my an adult. Loved the $15 surprise stylist choice!
JENNIFER
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Apr 9, 2013

Good value for the service!

Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I was anxious to see what the stylist would pick for my outfit and they hit it spot on! Well done RTR! keep up the good work! Had a wonderful 1st experience!
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165 lbs
Apr 10, 2013

Cute Clutch!

Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I thought the clutch I received in this Stylist Surprise was super cute, but it was silver and I had my heart set on wearing gold accessories with my dress, so I didn't use the bag. BUT I'd still highly recommending using the Stylist Surprise if you're looking to rent an accessory but have no idea where to start. I only wish I could've kept the bag a couple of days longer, I know I would've found an occasion to use it.
Alli
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Apr 10, 2013

Genius idea! Would do it again for any rental I get

Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
What a genius idea to add to a rental. You all k own what you're doing, so I knew a "surprise" accessory would go great with my gown. The bangle was perfect. I am doing this again for the gown I rented today!
Christen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 10, 2013

Great option when you don't have time to shop!

Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered two "stylist surprise" with my rental of a dress & purse. I loved that the stylist looked at the other items I had rented & picked the perfect bangles & earring to go with them. I debated over picking something myself or just ordering the stylist surprise & I am glad I went with the surprise!
Stunna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 10, 2013

Great surprise!

Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
They did a great job!!
Stephanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 10, 2013

This was my first RTR experience.... and I will be back!!

Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I selected the Stylist Surprise with my very first RTR experience.. and it was great. I LOVE Alexis Bittar pieces so I was thrilled to see it in my package! I wore the bracelet to work the day before the event and I even wore it to sleep that night! LOVED IT!! Thanks RTR!!
Danielle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 11, 2013

Nice little surprise

Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
My mystery bling were the Alexis Bittar crystal orbit earings. It was nice to have a stylist pick an accessory out to go with the dress. I was happy with the earings and they went with the dress perfectly. The stylist surprise is well worth it for only $15. Highly recommend it.
Macall
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Apr 11, 2013

gorgeous earring I would not had picked for myself, but they went perfect with the dress!

Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was sent earrings that went perfect with the dress I rented! I received so many compliments.
emm
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Apr 14, 2013

was expecting a bit more

Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Got a purse as the mystery bling . I liked the purse well enough, but I would have preferred some earrings or a necklace.
Sidney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Apr 15, 2013

Pretty earrings but did not match my dress!

Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I decided to do a stylist surprise because I thought it was a good deal to get a MATCHING piece of jewelry for my dress. Unfortunately, I rented the Milly Sara Lace Shift (http://www.renttherunway.com/shop/designers/milly_dresses/saralaceshift), which is black with a gold underlay (pretty easy to match right?), and they sent me silver earrings as my stylist surprise (http://www.renttherunway.com/shop/designers/pierced_jewelry/nouveaudrops). And they did not just have a bit of silver on the outline--they were silver drops, so the silver was VERY noticeable. The earrings were beautiful statement earrings, but there was a lot of silver. I would have been embarrassed to wear them with a gold dress. I tried them on hoping that it would not be noticeable. It was. I won't be renting a stylist surprise again, that's for sure!
Lori
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160 lbs
Apr 15, 2013

Not what I expected

Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
While I ultimately liked the bracelet that they sent to me, I could have rented it for the $15 it cost to get the Stylist Surprise. The way that I read it I had expected that I would get more than one piece and that the value of what I got would be over the $15 it cost. The challenge is that with only getting one piece and not knowing what you are getting it is hard to plan the rest of your jewelry. If they were going to send me multple pieces so that I barely had to supplement it would have been way better. Ultimately, didn't seem worth it to me even though I liked the piece I got.
Alli
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Body type: Pear
Apr 15, 2013

Pretty

Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Too big so I couldn't wear it
Monica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 15, 2013

Okay choice

Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This is the second time doing a mystery bling, first time was better, these were quite heavy and I wish you could choose whether or not you want gold-tone. Being blonde and fair skinned it usually gets lost.
A
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Apr 16, 2013

It was a surprise! Cute bag

Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
It was fun to open it up and see what the picked
Liz
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145 lbs
Apr 18, 2013

Ordering the 'stylist surprise' at two different times and received the same exact bracelet for both

Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
A bit annoyed.
Colleen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 44
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Apple
Apr 20, 2013

it sparkle so much!

Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
it was perfect bracelet to go with the dress!
Carolyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Apr 21, 2013

Perfect idea for the accessory-impaired

Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I'm awful about going out of my comfort zone to find flattering accessories, but this is a great idea! I never would've picked out the earrings that were sent on my own, but they looked great with the dress and I got tons of compliments.
Kathryn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Apr 21, 2013

LOVED!! I strongly recommend people to order a stylist surprise.

Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The necklace matched beautifully with my dress and was something I would've never thought of picking out myself.
YM
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 118 lbs
Apr 22, 2013

Great choice for the indecisive!

Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
When I chose my dress I had no idea which piece of jewelry to choose or what would match. The stylists chose something that matched perfectly and looked good style-wise.
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 22, 2013

Complete surprise that I LOVED!

Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I received a pair of earrings as my mystery bling - they matched perfectly with my dress and sparkled the whole night!
jillian
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 24, 2013

Earrings were great, could have picked them myself

Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I liked these earrings, they were light and just sparkly enough. As it is, the transaction is $15, plus the cost of whatever rental they choose for you. If the complete "mystery" experience cost $15, then that would be a sweet deal.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×