Stylist Surprise

Mystery Bling

$15 to buy
Stylist Notes

It's the item you never knew you needed, but must have. One of our stylists will complete your look with a bag or piece of jewelry.

Product Details

Your accessory will be jewelry or a bag with a rental price of up to $100. Because you're opting in to have a stylist select your accessory, we are unable to allow returns or exchanges.

Share
1093 reviews
Fit
Large
(101)
True to Size
(771)
Small
(63)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
August 16, 2013
The anticipation of the secret jewelry was so fun!
I loved the earrings- a total bonus for only $15! They went perfectly with my dress and I would definitely do surprise jewelry again!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
August 15, 2013
Great idea, not sure if I would do it again
I received the CHAMAK BY PRIYA KAKKAR Ultimate Bling Bangle Stack, I really liked it but I'm not sure I would do this again. I love the idea, I just thought it was going to be more than item.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
August 14, 2013
Amazing Every Time!!
I've used stylist surprise a couple times now and I have yet to be let down by what I've received. The accessory chosen usually is a pair of earrings or a bracelet, but I have received a purse once (since I'd already rented a pair of earrings). I'll definitely continue using this service since I'm always indecisive and the stylist will keep my look current.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
August 9, 2013
Gold teardrop earrings
these earring complimented the dress perfectly! It was much easier to have the sytlist surprise rather than worrying about buying something to match. I thought the earring were clean and well maintained, as well.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
August 9, 2013
Everything was styled impeccably! I didn't have to think a bit!
Great jewels!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
August 5, 2013
wouldn't do it again
Unfortunately, I didn't like the bracelet that was sent to me. I couldn't slide it over my hand comfortably so it ended up unworn. Big bummer dude. I also couldn't have imagined paying what was the "retail" price for this one- some parts of it looked cheap. Overall, unimpressed. I'll choose my own accessories from now on!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
August 5, 2013
Great option -- but "Mystery Bling" missing some important aspects during order/review
The stylist surprise was something that I added to my order on a whim. The price was right so I figured why not. The downside is that they don't really ask for enough info when going with a "stylist surprise." I understand you're rolling the dice as to what they have in stock, but it would be nice, when you choose this, if they asked if you have pierced ears (or not), or what your shoe color is going to be, etc. My problem was that my surprise was a gold bracelet, but my shoes were silver, so I didn't even wear it since I hate the silver/gold mish-mash combo in a single outfit. A waste of money on that front -- but in the future, if I could add a note that said "wearing silver shoes with this dress" -- then I would have taken any silver tone necklace/bracelet/earrings/purse/etc. I hope that makes sense and something they consider adding to this feature in the future. Heck, even JUST being able to choose between a yellow/gold tone vs. a silver/white gold tone would be a HUGE improvement! As for the item itself, I have small wrists and it was beautiful. Just the wrong color to match my shoes.
JaydeSeptember 20, 2013
I agree with you 100%. I had wanted to purchase the Stylist Surprise but was unsure for the same reason you stated above. Although I trust the taste of the stylists, it'd be nice if there is a note section for customers. I'd really not want to receive silver accessaries to go with my gold-color chain bag. I hope RTR sees our suggestions :).
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
August 5, 2013
Beautiful! looked great with the dress.
I ordered the surprise accessories on a whim, and it worked out great!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
August 1, 2013
Great pick for my dress!
Added just the right amount of sparkle to my Z Spoke dress. They definitely know how to style you for an unforgettable evening
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
July 30, 2013
Such a great deal!
This was my first time to rent from RTR and I love this site! This is a great option since I had no idea what to put with the dress I ordered. Go RTR stylists!!!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
July 30, 2013
So easy!
I love getting some Mystery Bling- the stylists always pick something I would have never thought of! The Kate Spade earrings I got once were a big hit!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
July 26, 2013
Stunning Bracelet! Perfect piece that I never would have chosen on my own.
I have smaller bony wrists and always worry about bracelets either hurting my wrist or sliding around too much. This bracelet fit very well and didn't slide around too much. It was absolutely gorgeous with just the right amount of bling without being too much! I loved it!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
July 24, 2013
"Surprise" Value Keeps Decreasing
I've rented the $15 "Stylist Surprise" 3 times. The first time I received a beautiful necklace (regularly $40 rental) that complimented my dress beautifully. The second time I recieved a pair of earrings (regularly $25 rental) that weren't really my style - but that's the risk you take. This last time, I recieved another pair of earrings ($15 to rent - the same cost as the "surprise") that are, again, underwhelming. As I scroll down the reviews on this page, it seems most girls get rather inexpensive earrings as their "surprise"; very few necklaces or bags are reviewed. The photo advertises savings of "up to $200," but it seems the value of the selected accessory continues to go down. Next time, I'll just pick my own $15 rental - at least I'll be able to select something I actually like.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
July 22, 2013
I recommended that you do this option anytime when renting! The earrings matched perfect!
I will always pick this option whenever I am renting. 1) It's fun, it's like a birthday present with your dress 2) It matches perfectly and 3) It's something I wouldn't have thought to try
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
July 18, 2013
Thought I would have some fun, take a chance, and see what I got!
I was renting a dress for my bachelorette party, and didn't want to break my bank. The minute that I saw the Stylist Surprise I knew it was for me! So I took a chance ordered two pieces, and the day that everything arrived I was very pleased!! I was surprised with Kate Spade New York Hot Pink Statement Earrings ($15) and the Whiting & Davis Black Mesh Glam Clutch ($25). Totally made my outfit, and I'll definitely be using this option again. Saves you a headache, and may save you money!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
July 15, 2013
Fun suprise
I used this service for a wedding when I was having a hard time deciding what jewelry to go along with my dress. I got the Alexis Bittar Glass Slipper Earrings, which were not something I would have chosen, but they worked well!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
July 15, 2013
I LOVED my dress, but was very unimpressed with the "grab bag". Too heavy and not my style at all.
I didn't expect too much, because I knew the grab bag would be a surprise, but I didn't even wind up wearing. They were earrings that I didn't feel went with the dress and were extremely heavy.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
July 14, 2013
Nailed it!
Had to switch my dress at the last minute due to a mix up in availability, so I was happy to have RTR choose accessories to match. The bracelet they sent was beautiful and matched perfectly. I would definitely use this service again. Trust the experts to style your look!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
July 13, 2013
It was just OK...
I gave the earrings themselves a great review, just because they WERE almost $300 earrings, and the rental was about $25 normally. They didn't really go with the dress I got, so that was what bummed me out. but the earrings were beautiful!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
July 10, 2013
Got some great BLING
Needed something with sparkle to match the dress I ordered on RTR, I put in for this hoping for a bracelet or earrings and ended up getting earrings that usually cost over $150 for just $15! It was great and they got TONS of compliments, definitely trust the stylists!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
July 10, 2013
Earrings were beautiful!
The earrings were perfect for the event with the dress I rented. Couldn't have been better, thank you!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 127lbs
July 8, 2013
I loved the bracelet I got! It went perfect with the dresses I got!
Fit was great! Looked awesome with the dress I wore!! I would definitely do the Stylist Surprise again!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
July 3, 2013
I didn't end up wearing the earrings because I didn't like them.
The dress came with large clear earrings that didn't look good.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
July 1, 2013
A great surprise!
Stylist surprise was a fun way to accessorize an outfit for a wedding. If you don't have a certain look in mind, I would certainly recommend doing this. I received a beautiful pair of earrings that perfectly complimented my dress!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 184lbs
June 30, 2013
Awesome!
I will definitely try the mystery bling again. I received the Kate Spade green chip necklace and it matched my outfit perfectly!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 112lbs
June 26, 2013
Perfect jewelry pairing for a summer wedding
The RTR team picked out a great necklace to go with my dress rental. The Nicole Miller Star Light Star Bright necklace was beautiful, and truly a great pairing with the dress. Thanks ladies!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
June 26, 2013
Rented the dress, chose the stylist surprise for the accessory. They did great!!
The bracelet looked great! I was worried it would be too much since I was not choosing the accessory but they matched what I wanted perfectly. The only drawback was the bracelet kept snagging the lace on my dress. I would use the stylist surprise again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
June 25, 2013
Super fun!
I'm totally doing this again for all of my rentals. They sent me fun jewelry for cheaper than the regular cost, and it was something I never would have otherwise chosen for myself.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
June 24, 2013
Perfect earrings to match my gorgeous dress
I rented the Hervé Léger Temptation Rising Dress for a recent wedding. I decided to try the mystery bling and was pleasantly surprised. RTR picked out the Ben-Amun Deco Crystal Earrings and they complimented the dress perfectly.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
June 24, 2013
Fun surprise!
I decided to go for the Stylist surprise, and I'm glad I did! I received the really cute Alexis Bittar Escher Step Cuff. It went perfectly with my dress. I had planned to wear some sort of necklace but this was a nice surprise to change the look. Thank you for picking out such a cute piece! I received a lot of compliments.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
June 24, 2013
Great choice thank you RTR
perfect
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
June 21, 2013
Not having to worry about accessorizing my outfit!
The mystery bling was a great experience! I got the Lulu Frost Crystal Cruz Pyramid earrings, which added the perfect amount of sparkle to my outfit! The whole experience was great!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
June 19, 2013
Big drama for a formal affair, but looked a little cheap!
I got the Alexis Bittar Pyrite Cave Earrings... I would do mystery bling again but looked a little cheap! My BF's words - not mine and I still wore them because I needed a statement piece!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 113lbs
June 18, 2013
Stylists picked a beautiful necklace to go with my dress rental
I was hoping there would be maybe a necklace and bracelet to "style my look" but the necklace was beautiful and I received many compliments on it.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
June 18, 2013
Nice to have a personal stylist even if its just jewelry!
I have done this twice and will probably continue to rent this with every dress. Whenever I first see them I am usually confused as to why they would pick this for my dress, but I always end up falling in love with them!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
June 17, 2013
Great choice!
Thanks for the gorgeous earrings! They were a gorgeous addition to my rental Kate Spade!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
June 17, 2013
What a pleasant Surprise
I had visited the NYC showroom so I had a chance to see some accessories in person. The ones the stylists suggested were fabulous but I could not afford to rent a bracelet for $50. When I received the email for mystery bling I decided to do it because the stylists had proven to me that they could pick out good accessories that I would like. The bracelet I received has bling but is a little understated. It's a piece I would personally choose/wear but I expected something more. It ended up not being such a deal because I could have picked it out and rented it for the same price. It would make me feel a little better to have received something that normally rents for $20+ to feel like I'm actually saving something and getting a good deal. Other than that, it was a good pick by the stylists.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
June 17, 2013
Surprised...in a good way!
The whole point of "Renting the Runway" is to try something new and different! There are so many dresses to choose from - when you finally make a decision on what to wear, choosing an accessory can be overwhelming. This allows you to take the guess work out of getting dressed up, get a professional opinion on what to pair with an outfit and to try something a little outside your comfort zone. I'm not a big bracelet person, and would not have picked this out for myself, but was really pleased! One suggestion for RTR would be to allow you to choose what kind of accessory you would like to pair with your dress (necklace, bracelet, earring, etc.). I was really hoping to get a pair of earrings with this rental, but was really pleased with the whole experience!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 155lbs
June 13, 2013
I love RTR!
I rented a lot of dresses for my bachelorette weekend, and added a few stylist surprises. We got the Alexis Bittar Silver Pave Teardrop Earrings, the Lulu Frost CRystal Cruz Pyramid Earrings, and the Lulu Frost Silver Drift Cuff. Loved them all, the girls wore them all weekend, and it was fun getting a surprise! :)
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
June 12, 2013
Great concept, poor execution
I love RTR and rent a dress for most of my special occasions these days. I am not a big jewelry person, so I had never used the accessory option before, but was excited when the promotion ran to "finish my outfit" for only a few more $. However, when the accessory arrived, it was earrings. I dont have pierced ears. I let my sister borrow them (and they looked fabulous), but I wish there had been an option to at least choose what type of accessory was sent. I would have been thrilled with a necklace or cuff or clutch.
See more reviews:
14 / 28

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×