BCBGMAXAZRIA

School Girl Gone Bad Dress

$38 to buy
$258 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Win best dressed at the party while wearing this insanely chic BCBG MAXAZRIA cut out dress. No one will forget this flirty style! Shown here with the Alexis Bittar's Dune Dust Necklace.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-6.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust and can not be worn with a standard strapless bra due to exposed back
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at empire waist with adjustable sash at back
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Knee to tea length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra due to exposed back
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Colorblock (Navy, Red, and Gray) jersey. V neckline. Cut-out bodice. Open back with tie closure. Pleated skirt. 40'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
106 reviews
Fit
Large
(37)
True to Size
(67)
Small
(2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
August 10, 2012
It was perfect for my sister's bridal shower! Thanks Rent the Runway!

I wish i got a size smaller. Nonetheless, it's a great dress for any body type.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
August 29, 2012
Sexy, eye-catching

I wore this for my bachelorette party and felt amazing! The girls all loved it and it made me feel like the center of attention. The skirt portion of the dress is a bit long but otherwise, it is super flattering and I'd highly recommend it!

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 19, 2012
This dress was very comfortable and fun to dance in.

I wore a size 6 in this dress. I would've preferred a size 4 but this was my second option so I only got one size. The dress does run a bit big if you don't have a full bust. Overall the dress was very comfortable and lightweight. The details on the side and back of the dress were also nice and a twist on something new. Would recommend for a party.

ShannonSeptember 19, 2012
Hi Victoria, did you think the cutouts were tight enough to pull up and stay there? I'm afraid of renting it and finding that I can't adjust it so that the cutouts are smaller. You're the only girl whose body type I most match + I appreciate your help :).
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
September 21, 2012
Loved it!

I really loved wearing this dress; if I saw it in a store I would definitely have bought it. The color combo is really unique and fun. The cut-outs hit in the right place and are really flattering if you have a smaller waist. The back is totally open so if you like your back this is a great choice... because the waist is at the natural waist it hides love handles while showing off the rest. The length is a midi length but not even as long as it looks on the model. The only con is that the fabric is really stretchy and thin (think about a ice skating uniform) which made the skirt comfortable but there is zero support for your chest. You have to be confident about going braless (or use bathing suit pads like I did)... even those gel strapless and backless bras look weird because they have nowhere to sit in the top.

View photos (2)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Body type: Athletic
October 1, 2012
Loved this dress so much plan on buying it! Really comfortable and fit great!

Ran a little large, but pretty true to size.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 123lbs
October 5, 2012
Fun dress.

I liked the dress and got compliments on it from 2 random strangers.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
October 27, 2012
first time using RTR and it was great. dress was such a statement, love love love!

This dress does run a little big just in the bottom half, the skirt is full and fun though. I needed double stick take to keep the back part up so not to show too much skin but the top portion fit perfectly. Overall a winner.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 142lbs
December 3, 2012
It was a really great dress that made me stand out at the wedding!

I like that it had a hidden slip in the skirt portion. I went down a size for the dress and still could have gone down one more size but the fit was still great.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
December 24, 2012
Flirty + fun!

Runs a little large, but this dress is a fun and flirty shape and the longer length strikes the perfect balance gown the open top

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
January 14, 2013
Absolute BEST night of dancing!

New Year's Eve, and my guy loved twirling me around in this dress! I really appreciated the tip from another RTR-er in wearing a bra, but covering it with the extra fabric from the back bow. It made me feel safer to dance as hard as we did. The fit: I couldn't tell the difference in the fit at the waist between the 4 and the 6, but wore the 6 thinking it would have more fabric on top to keep my bra from showing. LOVED this dress!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 117lbs
January 22, 2013
Great for the beach wedding I went to. Perfectly "beach chic". Super fun to dance in.

The dress was a bit stretched out and especially since I am small chested, I had to tie the top tightly. It didn't cause any problems throughout the night but I probably could have worn a size smaller.

gayaJanuary 22, 2013
WOW! you and your date look gorgeous!!
JenniferJanuary 22, 2013
We have the exact body type (though I'm 2 inches shorter) and you've totally helped me decide on this dress with this pic! You look amazing! What other dresses have you rented and loved recently so I can check those out too? Going on a three-day gala and need an arsenal of outfits. Thanks!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 64
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 142lbs
March 4, 2013
I ordered this for my 36th wedding anniv.

I ordered the 4, but should have ordered the 2. The dress runs large. Wish it would have fit, my husband loved it on, but I felt it was to big.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107lbs
May 4, 2013
LOVED this dress!

Wore it to a rehearsal dinner in Aruba for a wedding. Received so many compliments - the dress was perfect for the beach weather! The dress ran a bit larger than expected...the 0 was a bit loose on me, but it worked out fine. The slits on the sides are a bit larger than in the picture shown, but also was fine! Have been searching online to purchase the dress!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
June 12, 2013
I had so many compliments! It was just the right amount of skin exposed, and just the right colors!

This dress needs a bra with it if you are busty. Maybe I got a size too big, but I really had to tie it tight to keep it from not being too loose. Otherwise it was gorgeous and vibrant!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
August 13, 2013
So many compliments!

I loved this dress from the moment I saw it on the website and it was just as good in person. I got compliments all night. The only issue was that it felt like it had either been stretched out or ran big because it was hanging off me a little. I was able to tie up the top tight, but it didn't have any of the color showing the way that the model did.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
August 14, 2013
Loved it - got tons of compliments!

I really loved wearing this dress, I feel like it was the perfect amount of pretty and somewhat sexy (but not too sexy for a wedding). I got tons of compliments. The only issue I had was that I had to tie it super super tight in order for it to feel comfortable and it wasn't going to slip off. The back did not look like it did on the model since mine was tied way tighter. It still looked good, but I would have rather had it fit better, I'm not sure if that was just the fit or if it had been stretched out. Overall, a great dress!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
August 19, 2013
All the rage at the bbq

I rented this dress for fun for a bbq. I honestly don't know if it runs large normally wear a size 6-8 but I've recently lost some weight and I do have a small ribcage. For the most part since I do have a large chest, this dress offers no support in that area. I could have gone braless but It looked much better with a bra. Also, being that my ribcage is small, the top part was too big to tie it the way the model has in the photo so I ended up wraping the straps around to tie in the front (then hiding the ends in the skirt), which actually works out because the back panels overlapped enough to cover my bra strap. Overall though, this dress really showed off my body in a flirty way and not a dirty way. I was complimented all night long. If I could own this dress. I would a worthy investment too bad it's seasons old and impossible to buy but thanks for the lovely night rent the runway ;)

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
August 21, 2013
The look on my boyfriend's face when he saw me wearing it.

I felt super sexy and comfortable in it! If you are a petite like me, you're going to want to wear heels with it.

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 152lbs
August 31, 2013
Received many compliments all night!

It was a bit loose for the upper part but I managed to make it work with double sided tape. Could've gone for a size 2 though :)

View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 119lbs
February 11, 2014
Not only is this dress stunning it is extremely comfortable! Great dress for dancing.

I'm a true size 0. This dress fit well but could have been a little tighter. The tie in the back helps make the dress a perfect fit. I tied it tightly which changed the look of the back slightly, but it still looked great.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
March 5, 2014
Cute and Comfortable

I rented this dress for my bachelorette party, and loved this dress for the most part. It was very comfortable, and I got a ton of compliments. It did run a bit big in the chest area though, and the fabric didn't really stay in place. I had to keep adjusting so my bra wouldn't show.

alishaMarch 5, 2014
I'm 5'0 tall also and was a little worried that this dress would be too long on me. Did use any hem tape or is this the natural length of the dress on you?
StaceyMarch 5, 2014
This is the natural length of the dress. As long as you have heels on, the length looks fine. Without heels, it's a bit too long.
alishaMarch 5, 2014
Great! Thank you!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 108lbs
April 26, 2014
My FAVORITE RTR dress by far!!!!!

I wore this dress for a bridal shower and loved it so much. My only negative is that it ran slightly larger than I expected or it was slight worn/ stretched and I had to keep adjusting myself. Other than that, the dress was beautiful and I received compliments from practically every single one of the 75 people who were at the shower. I was able to wear a regular bra with it and just tied it really tight in back and wore my hair down. The dress is stunning and super flattering!!!! Perfect for a spring occasion and not too revealing at all!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 26, 2014
Very saggy in the waist. Seemed to be worn out a but. I'm normally a 4, but even the 2 didn't fit

Dress was saggy in the back and waistline. Beautiful dress, but didn't fit well

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
May 4, 2014
This wedding was perfect for a Spring, garden wedding. I got SO many compliments on it!

The fit was a little large. I normally wear a 6 and I wore a 4 perfectly. The back needed to be pinned to my bra so that it wouldn't ride up over it, and I would also recommend using Hollywood tape to keep the back on the bra.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 108lbs
May 23, 2014
Comfortable and classy

It ran true to size for the most part ... Dressed seemed a little stretch out from multiple wears

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
June 21, 2014
Sexy and classy

Wore this for a friend's wedding. Received tons of compliments from everyone including the bride! You definitely need tape, couldn't wear a regular bra with this dress. It also ran a little large. Overall loved this dress!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
October 2, 2012
Comfortable showstopper

I loved dancing in this dress - it was so comfortable and easy to move in. The dress did not fit me like the model - maybe it was a little stretched out but I had to tie it very tightly in the back to fit properly and the ribbon did not extend across my back the way it did for the model. Really loved the dress though and got a million compliments. Great experience and I am totally hooked on RTR now - it was such an easy, great experience.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
April 3, 2013
This is a GREAT spring or summer dress. It could work for multiple occasions. I wore it just because

I wish I could buy this dress! It would work for any woman who has an hourglass figure or a smallish waist. The cuts are right under your breasts, so if you like your rib-cage you are going to be strutting your stuff--your tummy does not have to be flat because it skims away from the part of your body. Between that and my other rental I had to beat my husband off me with a stick! I wear a 34C and my girls are neither perky or sad. I did not have to wear a bra with this dress although I rarely go bra-less these days--the tie in the back was enough to keep them secure and provided enough lift. What appears reddish online is more coral in person but I wore this with skinny black patent leather heeled sandals and it worked. I will probably rent this again even though that defeats the entire point of renting the runway--it was that awesome.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
September 29, 2013
Loved this dress, but the fit was not quite right.

The dress was amazing - interesting, with great colors and SEXY cutouts (all that hard work at the gym was front and center)! I wish I could give it 5 stars, but I just can't. The bottom of the dress was not put together very well. The dress has a short "slip" type thing in it that kept riding up. And the zipper kept jutting up---I felt like I had to keep pulling the "under" skirt down all night. :( The top leaves room for a skimpy bra at best - just FYI. Other than that, I loved it!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
August 11, 2012
Felt Naked

I thought the cut outs would be cute but overall I felt kind of naked. The skirt was also huge on me.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
September 19, 2012
Unique, but not especially flattering

Rented this as a "wild card" option for a dressy (not black-tie) wedding. I was disappointed in the material (thin stretch jersey)...a more substantial fabric would have made the cut look more like a dress rather than an apron. The length counteracts the very open back somewhat, but it's definitely a 'naked' dress...even the skirt lining is very short!

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
September 30, 2012
The dress was comfortable and when my usual size was big I was able to put the other one on.

Pros awesome for people with hips! Con by the end of the night the middle had stretched and dress felt a bit loose.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 29, 2013
Such a fun dress!!!

So fun and my boyfriend loved it. I'm glad I read the other reviews for sizing, it definitely runs big. Not sure I'd bust this one out around the family or at a mixed event due to the mid drift exposure but perfect for a fun night out.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
June 21, 2013
Fun!!

When I first tried on this dress I was a little skeptical because I'm not used to showing so much skin (especially in the front). It may run slightly big but you can hide that by tying the back tighter. However, that still meant that more skin showed in the front from the dress hanging longer. I actually rented this for a Welcome dinner for a wedding in Martha's Vineyard but was too scared to wear it because I thought it may be too scandalous - especially since I was attending with my boyfriend and his parents. However, I wore the dress for the Sunday brunch after the wedding and my boyfriend's parents LOVED it and didn't think it was too sexy at all. In fact, they thought it was pretty and cute and great for and mini getaway island wedding. I wish I wore it for the pre-wedding dinner, but am glad it got some use. My favorite part is the way it flows and spins! So fun for dancing.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
August 13, 2013
Wish it worked out but ended up too big...

Definitely order a smaller size for this one. it was too bad that it didn't work out because i really liked all the pictures posted by others.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
August 18, 2013
Fun and flirty

Wore this for a day out in the city with my girlfriends and it was gorgeous and comfortable. The only downside is that the liner under the skirt rode up as I walked, I had to tug on it quite a bit. If I went a size up the whole dress would've been too big, so I'm not sure if this problem would be more unique to someone with a small waist and bigger butt like me. Never the less, the dress made me feel pretty and girlie and I loved being in it.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
October 28, 2013
Didn't work... unfortunately

LOVED the dress online. Ordered a 0 and it was still a little loose. It was also much more revealing than I am used to. Felt like it was not appropriate for an engagement party. This would be fun for something daytime and more casual.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
June 12, 2012
Not great for larger busts.

I think this dress would be flattering on a woman with a small bust. I did not wear this dress because it did not fit and I was spilling out of it with and without a bra. The top half is a super stretchy jersey material with little structure. I am not a fan of jersey because I think it looks so cheap. The bottom half of the dress is beautiful. It is different and fun. As other reviewers mention, it looks significantly more risque then on the model because the cutouts seem larger. Too bad it did not work with my body type.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 150lbs
January 31, 2013
Beautiful dress!

Ran just a bit small I think. Beautifully made, perfect for a date or other formal event when you wanna show a little skin.

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 33
March 13, 2017
Tons of compliments!

I was worried that it would be too revealing, but it showed just the right amount of skin.

See more reviews:
1 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×