School Girl Gone Bad Dress

$38 to buy
$258 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Win best dressed at the party while wearing this insanely chic BCBG MAXAZRIA cut out dress. No one will forget this flirty style! Shown here with the Alexis Bittar's Dune Dust Necklace.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-6.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust and can not be worn with a standard strapless bra due to exposed back
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at empire waist with adjustable sash at back
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Knee to tea length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra due to exposed back
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-6.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust and can not be worn with a standard strapless bra due to exposed back
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at empire waist with adjustable sash at back
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Knee to tea length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra due to exposed back
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Colorblock (Navy, Red, and Gray) jersey. V neckline. Cut-out bodice. Open back with tie closure. Pleated skirt. 40'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
105 reviews
Fit
Large37
True to Size66
Small2
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
September 19, 2012
Unique, but not especially flattering
Rented this as a "wild card" option for a dressy (not black-tie) wedding. I was disappointed in the material (thin stretch jersey)...a more substantial fabric would have made the cut look more like a dress rather than an apron. The length counteracts the very open back somewhat, but it's definitely a 'naked' dress...even the skirt lining is very short!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
September 19, 2012
Great dress, perfect for a outdoor summer wedding. Lots of complements.
Lightweight and airy. Love the pop of red and open back. Great for a small bust, very flattering.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 112lbs
September 19, 2012
so many compliments!
The dress has way bigger gaps in the front and back than in the picture. If you go down a size, it'll fit more like what's shown here, because the top is adjustable (it's a jersey-like material, and the orange tie can accommodate your bust) and the skirt waistband is a big loop. The tighter the skirt fits, the smaller the gaps will be in the cutouts. I'm pretty small and ended up needing to pin the skirt in a little, but it ended up looking just like the picture (I didn't want to show tons of skin, since I wore it to a rehearsal and my friends' families were there). And since my bust is small, the tie came all the way together so I could wear a normal bra. I've never gotten so many compliments...all my friends, random people in the bathroom...everyone loved it. I loved wearing it, I felt gorgeous. Highly recommend!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
September 17, 2012
Soo many compliments!
I wore this dress for a beach wedding and it could not have been more perfect for the occasion. The material was light and soft which allowed me to move around comfortably the whole night. The cut outs on the side led to an open back that tied, which was sexy without being inappropriate. Everyone loved this dress and asked me questions on where I had found it, my response of course was renttherunway.com(even the bride told me how much she loved the dress). I will be using rentherunway.com from now on, I could not be more happier with the service (and free gifts).
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 44
Body type: Hourglass
September 15, 2012
This dress is feminine, sexy, and absolutely unique!
I wore this dress for an early September wedding, and I received compliments as soon as I walked in the door. It's a nice combination of elegance and sexiness. I am normally a 0-2, and I wore the 0 to make sure I had a snug fit around the bust. It has a deep neckline and is basically backless, so you need to feel comfortable with some exposure (but it's not inappropriate!) The skirt is a little sheer in the gray section, but there is a little "miniskirt" liner underneath, so you're covered. This is a fabulous dress!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 143lbs
September 12, 2012
Perfection!
Fabulous fit. Everyone wanted to know where I got it. I told EVERYONE about your website and they thought the idea was fabulous! I may have even looked better than the bride, but that will be my little secret.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
September 9, 2012
First date of many...
This dress was absolutely astounding. I rented it as a back up for a trip wine tasting. However, the trip got canceled so I wore it on a first date instead. My date was absolutely wowed by it and we've been seeing each other ever since. I even had other patrons at the restaurant stop me to compliment the dress. One of them even worked for Gucci. I wish I had a picture, but we were so caught up in our evening we never got around to taking pictures. If I had the money I would buy this one and I may even rent it again or save up to buy it later.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123lbs
September 8, 2012
I wanted to keep it!
This dress is everything I expected it to be - and more! I'm pretty tall, so I was concerned the length would be awkward, but it looked pretty much like it does in the picture. The cutout was bigger than expected - but it didn't look over the top. I don't think I've ever had so many women compliment a dress in my life. I got more compliments over this dress than I did my wedding dress! So, although the dress was nearly perfect and I never ever wanted to take it off - the one thing that I didn't care for was the lining under the skirt. It's actually a tight, spandexish skirt that is attached and it rode up at times. Not a huge deal, but not my favorite part of the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
August 30, 2012
Old lady: "OH MY GOODNESS I love your dress. Where did you get it?" Me: "Actually it's a Rent the Runway BCBG - I'm just borrowing it for the weekend." Old Lady: "Darling, don't tell anyone that! I love it, simply love it."
I wore this dress for an outdoor wedding, and was overall happy with it. However, the skirt isn't as full as the photo may lead you to believe, and i had a difficult time with the peekaboo in the front showing a little too much skin for my taste. I'm a small C and felt like my boobs looked a little saggy, but I got a billion million compliments on the dress and still felt great.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
August 29, 2012
Sexy, eye-catching
I wore this for my bachelorette party and felt amazing! The girls all loved it and it made me feel like the center of attention. The skirt portion of the dress is a bit long but otherwise, it is super flattering and I'd highly recommend it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 25, 2012
I literally received compliments from every guest at the party!
I can not say enough good things about this dress. Not only did i get compliments all day, but i loved how feminine it made me feel. Its fun and flirty dress. I wish i could buy it! You cant wear bra with it because the beauty of the dress is the open back. But pasties work!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
August 22, 2012
Perfect!
Everything about this dress was beautiful! The fit and colors were amazing for a summer wedding :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
August 18, 2012
Amazing fit!
I wore this dress for my wedding Rehearsal Dinner. We had the dinner on a boat in the middle of summer in Montana so it was hot! The fit of this dress is super flattering, especially if you are smaller on top like me. The cut outs show an appropriate amount of skin. I would highly recommend this dress!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128lbs
August 15, 2012
Everyone loving my dress!!!!!
The dress was SUPER cuteand a hit at the wedding. My only surprise is I thought it was the gray and black with red... It's actually navy blue gray and orange.. So I didnt match the requested colors of the wedding :( Finding a bra was a challenge... 2 thumbs up though!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
August 15, 2012
Comfortable dress!
Awesome dress! It is flattering to any body type. The fit is very comfortable and true to size. If you must wear a bra with it - note that the top piece may move around, showing edges of your bra. I had problems with my bra showing at the base of the vneck, and if I pulled it up, the cut-outs would show the bottom edge of the bra. My fault for not bringing a better one along on my trip!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
August 11, 2012
Received a ton of compliments - and a lot of 'where did you get that dress?!' it was so fun to wear!
This dress was amazing - loved everything about it :) I did buy a Nubra to wear with it but ended up going without and was comfortable the entire night. Received a ton of compliments all night and would def recommend!!
gayaMarch 2, 2013
That dress looks so good!!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
August 11, 2012
Felt Naked
I thought the cut outs would be cute but overall I felt kind of naked. The skirt was also huge on me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
August 10, 2012
It was perfect for my sister's bridal shower! Thanks Rent the Runway!
I wish i got a size smaller. Nonetheless, it's a great dress for any body type.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
July 31, 2012
Super Sexy
I have to admit, based on the photo, I didn't think the panels on the side were open, I thought it was just a sand colored fabric. I was a little shocked when I pulled out the dress to see that was, in fact, the models flesh! Luckily, I had been doing a few extra crunches and I don't know that I have received so many compliments on a single dress I have rented from RTR. It was super fun and flirtatious. Perfect summer dress.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
July 16, 2012
The way this dress moved is unforgettable and furthermore, it photographs great!
I love this dress. I wore it to an evening wedding and recieved so many compliments. It's super sexy and classy. I minimized the jewelry, wearing only earings. This dress is a stunner for sure. I wear a 0 and ordered a 0. The fit was very comfortable.
LindsayAugust 8, 2012
Looks so nice on you! Did you wear a bra with it?
RTRAugust 8, 2012
Hi Lindsay, this style is made of a thicker jersey material and you adjust the tightness of the top so a bra is not necessary. However, we recommend a NuBra for more support.
LindsaySeptember 10, 2012
Thanks!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122lbs
June 18, 2012
The incredible fit of this dress!
I rented this for a party, and it has been my favorite rental to date! The material was a jersey fabric so it was extremely comfortable. It ran true to size. I would wear a nu bra because of the interesting back. The length was to my knee when I was wearing 3" wedges. I highly recommend wearing this dress!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
June 12, 2012
Not great for larger busts.
I think this dress would be flattering on a woman with a small bust. I did not wear this dress because it did not fit and I was spilling out of it with and without a bra. The top half is a super stretchy jersey material with little structure. I am not a fan of jersey because I think it looks so cheap. The bottom half of the dress is beautiful. It is different and fun. As other reviewers mention, it looks significantly more risque then on the model because the cutouts seem larger. Too bad it did not work with my body type.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
June 4, 2012
LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS DRESS!
I absolutely LOVE this dress! I wore it to an alumni party, and I received so many compliments! It fits very true to size, and it is very comfortable! I wore a NuBra with it since the back is open! It hit me on my mid calf. I loved that it was such an interesting and different dress that was so easy to wear! I would highly recommend this dress. I will definitely be renting it again!
JenniferJune 8, 2012
Do you think this dress is appropriate for a wedding in September?
RTRJune 11, 2012
Hi Jennifer, this dress would be fun for a September wedding as long as the attire is relatively casual. The dress is a jersey cut-out so we don't recommend it for a cocktail event.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
June 4, 2012
I wore this dress to a party I threw for my boyfriend who just graduated with his MBA. I was getting compliments all night & it is the perfect combination of classy, feminine and sexy. LOVE!
I absolutely love this dress! The material is very well made, and the overall fit was great. I wore this to a Mad Men themed party and I got TONS of compliments. The little cut outs were larger than they appear on the model. I think this dress would compliment many different body types! If I had to pick a negative it would be the lining under the skirt. It was a short lining that kept riding up the whole night. It just hit right below my bottom so I kept pulling it down. BUT the skirt wasn't see through at all so it wasn't a huge deal. Other than that this dress was amazing! I wish I could keep it!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
June 4, 2012
Awesome Dress
Rented this dress for a wedding. Definitely loved it, the ribbon in the back even allows you to wear a regular bra since it hides the strap if done right. Was different and fun and the cutouts are at a good part of the body. Definitely recommend if you want something different and are into the cutouts in a dress.
See more reviews:
3 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×