BCBGMAXAZRIA

My Soulmate Dress

$116 to buy
$348 retail
Stylist Notes

He'll fall in love when you arrive at the party wearing this sexy BCBGMAXAZRIA red lace dress.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - dress has boning and built in padded cups for support
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Fitted - fitted at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or no bra due to padded cups
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Red lace(77% cotton; 23% nylon). Strapless sweetheart neckline. Inner boning. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
154 reviews
Fit
Large
(7)
True to Size
(83)
Small
(52)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 106lbs
September 20, 2016
A stand out dress!

I wore this to a wedding and I was worried thinking it'd be red from other reviews. It was definitely a perfect shade of pink! Since I felt it was a stand out dress I kept my accessories very minimal with just stud earrings and a simple ring. It came to just above my knees so I'm glad it wasn't too short for being as tight as it was. I definitely was pulling it up while I was on the dance floor all night but that's to be expected while wearing strapless with a larger chest. I didn't have to wear a bra with it as there is boning and lining sewn into the inside of the dress. I received many compliments on the dress and was overall happy with my rental.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Age: 30
February 17, 2017
Flirty and fun-perfect for a Valentine's Day wedding!

Loved this dress! It was super comfortable, great for dancing in! I loved that I didn't have to wear a bra. The tulle detail made it feel a little more formal. The red was perfect for a Valentine's Day wedding!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
December 4, 2014
Sexy but classy

Gorgeous dress! For perfect. Unfortunately I didn't go to the party I rented it for.

Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
March 2, 2015
First time using RTR was successful!

Great dress and true to size. The bust has padding so be ready for an extra lift if you wear a bra or you don't have to wear one.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Formal Affair
March 23, 2015
Great night with friends for my last college formal

Fit was perfect only complaint was having to pull it up several times. Wish I would have used the dress tape to tape it up.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Wedding
June 8, 2015
Process is so easy, quality is great, loved the dress!

This dress is a showstopper! Though like the other reviews said, it does run small. I am typically a 10 or 12, and I was glad I got the 12.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 116lbs
July 27, 2015
The entire process is a breeze! My first RTR experience was a success!

The color is absolutely GORGEOUS, extremely comfortable and felt amazing on. I ordered a 4 and a 2 as a back up, I'm 5'4", 34D, 119lbs, so I wasn't sure which size would work. I ended up wearing the size 4, bc of my late bust, it was super tight at the top to wear the 2. I wore it to a brunch style wedding at a winery/vineyard. The Cons of the dress were that the stomach part was pushed out and the fabric was stretched a little. I'm thinking someone before me must've had a little bit of a belly showing and that's why, but I just stood up straight to avoid looking like I had a pouch lol another thing was that the dress seems worn too many times, the color was a bit faded in person and the slip part that comes out on the bottom you could see some of it, not just the lace part that is supposed to be shown, so that was menacing. But other than that, the dress worked out perfect! Vi was extremely happy with it.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
March 19, 2016
Amazing color!

I loved wearing this dress so much that I later purchased it. The bodice is very short, but it worked well with my small chest, and the skirt length made it classy, not too revealing. The dress is the perfect shade of lipstick red, making it appropriate for any season. I felt beautiful wearing it!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
March 27, 2016
Too small

Loved the color but the quality of the dress wasn't good. It was also way too tight and I wear s size 6. They didn't have the 8 available as a back up.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
June 28, 2015
It fit like a glove.

Form fitting. Hugged my rib area which was flattering (sounds weird, ha). Didn't need a bra. It was short enough to be fun but not too short. I also loved the color and received many compliments. This is my third RTR experience, and it's always good!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
March 28, 2016
Stunning for bachelorette party!

It was the perfect dress to show off curves for the bachelorette party! I ended up not wearing a bra and had no issues. Love the vibrant color and the neckline shape!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 136lbs
September 6, 2017
Loved this dress!

This dress was so fun to wear! I got many compliments on it and I felt very unique wearing it to a wedding. Only thing I didn't care for but didn't influence much was the fabric around the bottom.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Body type: Athletic
April 2, 2013
Nice dress

Color was a little different than pictured.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 105lbs
January 14, 2014
Such a pretty dress!

The only issue was that the inner lining had stretched out so that it showed down at the bottom of the hem line, making the mesh hem hang down much farther than advertised. Also was slightly large on me.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
June 10, 2015
Cute and sexy

Loved the red color, the lace isn't itchy at all. My only gripe is that the top fell down often. I bought tape but even with that it fell down pulling the tape down with it. Maybe if I had tried an even smaller size or had a bigger bust it may have stayed. So other then pulling it up all night I did really like the dress. Appropriate length for a wedding, didn't ride up at all.

View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
September 20, 2012
This would have been a lovely dress if it would have fit!

I was very excited to wear this dress. However, it hit me right at the knees and the overall fit was too loose. I don't recommend this dress for girls under 5'2''. I had to send it back and wore a backup dress for my event.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
April 5, 2013
Nothing bad, nothing amazing

It was just mediocre, didn't end up wearing it for the even I ordered it for because it was just boring.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
July 26, 2013
comfortable fit, great color

The dress ran only slightly larger than size but was not a problem. Even though it's a fitted silhouette the dress was incredibly comfortable. The hemline fell a little lower on me than what's seen on the model (just above my knees) because i'm only 5'2" - but it turned out better that way since i wore it to a wedding. Strongly recommend!

Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
September 8, 2013
graduation dress

the 0 fits a petite women my size well except for the bust area which runs a little large

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
August 9, 2012
Gorgeous Dress - Runs Small

This dress is a gorgeous color. I'm a full C cup and the top of this dress fit well. However, I gave the dress 3 stars because the bottom ran small and it was slightly too tight to wear to the wedding I was attending. I have an hourglass shape - this dress would look smashing on a girl with a more narrow figure.

Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Body type: Full Bust
August 29, 2012
loved it

got lots of compliments!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
December 24, 2012
Great dress, too bad I didn't get to wear it :(

This was actually my backup dress and I really wish I had an excuse to wear it. It does run a little small, especially across the waist, but it was gorgeous. Perfect for date night but it wasn't quite right for my holiday party.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 24
Body type: Petite
Weight: 101lbs
December 28, 2012
Not what I was expecting...

I was expecting this dress to fit like a glove and work perfectly for this wedding. I had both a 2 and a 0 sent to me just to make sure that I could wear the dress. Unfortunately, neither the 2 nor the 0 fit me properly. The 0 was too tight through the hips, and the 2 was much too big all over. I am sorry to say that this dress just didn't fit my body type. It is a gorgeous dress, I just wish that it fit me the way it was supposed to.

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
January 15, 2013
I Loved this dress, I felt like Cinderella!

I LOVED this dress it fit perfectly and I received complements all night long! I also rented a Badgley Mischka necklace and earrings, they were breath taking. The dress fit very snug around the torso so there was no pulling up the dress all night long, which was great! I was timid thinking the strapless dress was going to be a little too revealing for a wedding but it was perfect. The length is a couple of inches above the knee and the lace made the look so elegant. I highly recommend this dress!!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
February 13, 2013
More pink than red

I didn't end up wearing this dress. After wearing a gorgeous silver Tracy Reese dress for another event, I thought I'd rent this one since it's a similar style. I was disappointed that it didn't fit nearly as well and that the color was more dark pink than the bold red I was hoping for. Normally I wear a size 4. The size 4 and size 6 are very similar but the size 6 worked better for me. I didn't think there was anything that special about this dress and felt that it was much too informal for the event I was going to.

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Body type: Full Bust
September 21, 2014
Def stands out and people will comment.

Pro nicely fitted. Con very short.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
April 8, 2013
Classy, but Red Hot!

I loved this dress. Its the perfect balance for a formal occasion where you want to be able to look sophisticated but still have fun and dance. The sweetheart neckline is super flattering and the length is great. I am tall and the dress still hit at a nice length. I ordered a 4 and a 6 and I wore the 6. The 4 was way to tight in the bust, and my chest is by no means large. The 6 was actually very lose through the hips (which I liked for dancing). It was perfect!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
May 13, 2013
Great dress!

Very comfortable and flaterring dress. Was appropriate for a wedding. The size zero fit well in the bust, but was too tight in the hips! I'm glad I ordered two sizes!

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
May 29, 2013
This Dress Made Me Feel Incredible!

Luckily I ordered 2 sizes for this dress. I usually wear a size 6, but I couldn't even get the size 6 over my hips, so I went with the 8. The 8 was still a little snug, but I would prefer that with a strapless dress. I got loads of compliments all night long and felt beautiful, sexy and confident. Would definitely recommend this dress!

Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 124lbs
June 22, 2013
Unable to wear the dress, but great customer service.

This dress was beautiful! I ordered a size 4 and a size 6. Unfortunately neither fit, and the size 6 actually felt tighter than the 4. So that was interesting, but customer service was great about it and was able to give me credit for a future purchase. I expected the credit to appear on my account once they received the dress. After a few days of my account not being credited I contacted customer service with my concern and right away the credit was applied to my account. Although I was not able to wear the dress, I really appreciate the quick, great customer service.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Body type: Hourglass
June 26, 2013
Fun dress, great color

For me this dress definitely ran small, so I would recommend ordering a larger size than you normally wear. It's a tight fit but it looks good- it does not bunch up awkwardly in any places. The material is more casual-looking than it appears on the site, but with the right shoes and accessories you can easily dress it up. This dress is light enough that you could also wear it in the summer. I think it would benefit from a more enhanced waistline or maybe a belt to go around the waist to help define it a little better- that would really give it a good hourglass shape. The color is fantastic and flattering.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
July 14, 2013
First time RTR user, so easy and convenient to use

I thought the dress was beautiful, but seriously thankful for the two sizes option. I am usually a 0, ended up wearing the 2 and that was still a little snug. It was mainly tight around the chest/upper abs area. it stayed on easily though and I never felt uncomfortable after first putting it on.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
August 4, 2013
Lots of compliments all night!

Dress was perfect for a summer wedding and the necklace worked so well with it. Tons of compliments all night! Only problem was that it does run small (I had to go up 2 sizes!) but thankfully Rent the Runway has amazing customer service and the new size was shipped to me the next day! So so grateful for their help with everything!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
August 14, 2013
Flattering, classy, and comfortable!

I usually wear a dress size 2, but the size 4 fit perfectly. The fabric is a bit stretchy, so it was super comfortable and easy to dance in all night. Flattering color for any skin type!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
August 19, 2013
didn't fit :(

I didn't realize i could call when the dress didn't fit, my fault .. it was my first rental. Not a good dress for large busts!!

Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
September 24, 2013
RTR's customer service was outstanding even thought I did not get to wear the dress.

THIS DRESS HAS SEEN BETTER DAYS. I rented this dress for a wedding and was very excited because I loved the color red it appeared to be in the photos. I was sorely disappointed when it arrived and it was so faded and had a terrible smell. I ordered both the 4 and the 6 and both were in poor shape. I did not get to wear it so I emailed RTR and they promptly got back to me telling me they would either send me another or refund my money.

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
October 21, 2013
Super cute but ran small

Ran small, super tight in the chest and hips area and was pretty short but got a lot of complements on the dress it was super cute! Sorry about the blurry pic!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
October 28, 2013
Didn't live up to the photo

Rented the dress for my daughter's Homecoming Dance. After reading the reviews I ordered a size up (she usually wears a size 6). The size 8 fit but the fabric was very heavy and had no stretch. She looked great but was uncomfortable with the weight of the dress. The fabric also pulled across her hips and did not lay flat. (You can see it on the model.) The color is a beautiful vibrant red. However, this is not the dress for someone who is curvy.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Body type: Pear
October 31, 2013
Classy with a little bit of sass.

This dress was a very cute option for my friend's October wedding. I was worried that it would be too summery, but it ended up working perfectly paired with black satin heels and a black wrap. The hem ended up hanging awkwardly so I tucked it under. This worked perfectly and wasn't too short (I am 5'7"). I really appreciated the other reviewers' tips regarding size. I have a pretty large rib cage and am fuller on the bottom, so going up a size really made all the difference! Thanks to the other reviewers, and thanks to RTR for another great experience!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
January 9, 2014
Nice Dress...but runs small

Nice dress...but small!

See more reviews:
1 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×