BCBGMAXAZRIA

Color Block Perfection Dress

$140 to buy
$398 retail
Stylist Notes

Walk the streets in style with this fashion forward BCBGMAXAZRIA color block dress. Great for a girl's dinner or party! Pair with a bold cuff to complete your look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS - L

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist with adjustable tie belt
HIPS: Fitted - slip is fitted on hips and backside - consider sizing up in backup size for full hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Product Details

Taupe and navy silk with red contrast (100% polyester). Crew neckline. Pleated body. Belted waist with tie back. Asymmetric hemline. 40'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
88 reviews
Fit
Large
(17)
True to Size
(68)
Small
(2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
February 22, 2015
Love this dress! Wore at a wedding rehearsal dinner. Would definitely recommend it!
Fit well.
View photos (1)
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
August 30, 2011
I rented this dress for a wedding and it was amazing. I got so many compliments. I usually wear a small but I know that BCBG often runs large, so I got the XS and it fit perfectly. Definitely needs spanx or a slip underneath though, as it is a bit see through.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 130lbs
January 5, 2012
Lovely dress, awkward fit
I loved the edgy style of this dress, which I paired with over-the-knee suede boots for a New Year's Eve party. Taller girls beware: the torso is cut for a much shorter person, so even if the bottom half is the perfect size, you might feel constrained at the arms, and the fit can look a bit awkward.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 12, 2012
March Wedding
Tons of compliments- even from the waitstaff! It does run slightly big. The underskirt is a bit on the short side with the slit, if you are tall.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
May 31, 2012
I had been looking forward to wear this dress since I first saw it, without rent the runway that wouldn't have been possible, thanks!
This dress is amazing. It accentuated my hour glass shape and it's so unusual I looked super stylish. Got so many compliments all night and I really didn't want to take it off.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
August 23, 2012
Loved the Color Contrast
I wore this dress to a rehearsal dinner, but honestly it looks nice enough on to wear to a wedding. It was very comfortable, definitely runs a little large so size down.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Body type: Pear
October 5, 2012
Fantastic dress! I got so many compliments. First experience with RTW = awesome!
It was so easy...dress arrived as expected, ready to wear, in a nice garment bag. I ended up wearing the second size I ordered (M) because the dress runs large. I got so many compliments and I really felt confident! Emails kept me updated on my order and how to handle the return. Postage Paid Envelope...return couldn't have been easier! This was my first experience with Rent The Runway and I am totally impressed...I highly recommend it! And I have been spreading the word :-)
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
December 13, 2012
I got several comments on how cool this dress was. Introduced a couple of friends to RTR!
I wore the size Large, because that was the first one I tried on and it felt slightly tight in the hips, so I didn't try the Medium. Later, after the party, I finally tried on the Medium, and it fit better than the Large--I should have worn it instead!!! The only real difference was, the top fit better, less billowy, on the Medium than the Large. The skirt felt the same on both sizes. Arg, lesson learned: try on both dresses, regardless of how you think the other size will fit. I've got a fairly large chest, and the Medium fit perfectly. I wore a long-line strapless bra, but no other special undergarments. The comments about the color are right on: navy and beige, with fuchsia accents. Not black and red. When I got the dresses, the skirt was not ironed pleated, as in the model picture, but was loose. Not wrinked, but not pleated either. The pleats on the bodice were also loosely, rather than crisply, ironed. Think it would be better if it were more crisply pressed.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
July 10, 2013
A great alternative to a LBD
I wore this to an evening charity event. I knew the crowd would be a little older/conservative, so this was the perfect dress - classy, yet still true to my style. I received a lot of compliments and it really stood out in the see of black dresses. My only complaint was that I ordered the S & XS and they came with different belts. I believe the belt with the XS was the correct one (which is what I ended up wearing) but I'm not sure. The top runs large, so be sure to order a size down.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
November 15, 2013
Worn for a contemporary violin solo with orchestra and it matched the occasion perfectly!
XS fit me like a glove at the waistline and it didn't look baggy at all! Because my legs are short, it hung a little longer, but that was fine too. Overall, a very comfortable dress that I was very happy with! It didn't come with the belt (so be sure to check with the stylist about that) so I just went to a fabric store and got some pink fabric and my grandma made a quasi-cummerbund! I thought that the seam at the waist looked a little rough without it. NYC folks - Mood Fabrics in the garment district has every color and material imaginable!! I wore some plain black flats (I don't like to play in heels!) and I thought it looked fine! Would definitely recommend to anyone that's a musician looking to not play a solo in a ridiculous prom dress (I guess that's fine if you like that, though....)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
December 26, 2013
I want to own this.
This is a top 5 rental for me. Not only did it look great but it was SO COMFORTABLE and easy to wear. I received compliments all night from friends and strangers. I'm 5'9 and normally wear a 10/12 in dresses. This dress seemed to run slightly big but the belt helps give it shape. Amazing dress. Hope to find it on sale somewhere so I can buy it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
January 20, 2014
Great dress...didn't work for me though
This dress was not for ! a shorty It looked funny due to the length on one side. It is a beautiful dress though, great fabric. Unfortunately I wore a different dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170lbs
February 20, 2014
Great color for a paler skin tone, like me!
Large in the chest and length was on the longer side. I wore it to a rehearsal dinner so it was appropriate level of conservative!
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36D
Weight: 130lbs
August 13, 2014
Ended up wearing another dress from RTR
This was my first choice for my daughter's wedding rehearsal, but I ended up choosing the other dress bc I liked the way it looked on me better. This dress was cute , though. It runs big bc the medium fit me perfectly. Flattering for my body type
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
October 16, 2014
Received many complements on the dress -- it was unique and perfect for an outdoor wedding.
Dress fit well - I had a baby 4 months prior to wearing the dress and it helped camouflage the areas that are still not back to pre-baby shape. Dress runs big especially in the chest. Ribbon was included in the shipment and made the dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
July 24, 2012
Everyone loved my dress!
I rented this dress for my company's sales meeting and it was such a hit. I rented both a M and L, and wound up going with the M. It is a little big in the bust area so be aware that it is definitely going to make you look larger. If you are really top heavy I would stay away. I normally hate halters because they make my shoulders look wide, but this one was great. Awesome material, super comfortable, and very on trend. Got tons of compliments!! Would be perfect for a summer wedding.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105lbs
September 12, 2012
Perfect dress!
This is my second time renting from you.I wore this dress at a wedding, and my son was a bible bearer. It's simple and sophisticated. Thanks RTR for your good service.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
October 2, 2013
complete stand out, thoughtful dress - when you don't want to wear black.
fit is sexy but not tight - very flowy and feminine.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 19, 2012
Great design, perfect for the wedding rehearsal dinner
The size small fit tightly - and the fabric does not "give" so a Medium might have also worked for me. I received compliments - someone called it a "work of art". I jumped off a 3 hour plane ride with two cranky kids, no time for a shower, but slipped this dress on and felt "done up". Wore gold earrings and tan heels. The dress is modest, but not boring!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Body type: Hourglass
October 8, 2012
Cute, a little smaller
Belt was a looked worn
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
August 3, 2011
Great date night with the fiancee - very classy all around!
SO CUTE!!! Size down if you have a small bust, it generally fit me loosely. I'm 5'5" and it fell to my knees
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
August 13, 2011
Cute dress comfortable and fits well. I ordered the small and xs and the small fits fine. The only bit that is off is the color of the "red". It is more of a dark hot pink or fuchsia. I was planning to wear with red shoes....thank goodness I brought a pair of navy peep toe sling backs which matches much better.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Body type: Hourglass
October 16, 2011
AMAZING!! Saw this at BCBG and loved that runway has current items! It was loose and VERY comfortable, order a normal and down a size even though it isn't suppose to be a form fitting dress. Fell to my knees, there is a small slit where the longer panel hangs. It is navy and hot pink. LOVED this dress!!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
October 27, 2011
I was concerned about the length due to my height but the XS was a perfect fit for me. Lots of compliments about looking fashion forward! The unconventional hemline was a nice change of pace from my usual short cocktail dresses. However, I could never quite decide if the darker color block was black or navy. I just wore nude heels and didn't worry any further about it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
November 30, 2011
Great dress to stand out in
I rented this along with another dress for a wedding weekend (a black one for my bridesmaid dress and this one for the rehearsal dinner). This dress was just perfect. Very comfortable, and I got a lot of compliments. Be sure to wear a strapless bra and nude undergarments. The fabric is sheer, but not see-through.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
December 16, 2011
Long and lean
Love this dress.
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Body type: Hourglass
December 27, 2011
Great dress!
This dress was so comfortable and easy to wear. It runs true to size and allows room for a fuller bust and wide hips. The pink belt is great for comfortably accentuating the waistline with a fun pop of color. Loved this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
January 6, 2012
My boyfriend and I have very different taste (I'm flashier than him), but he loved this dress as much as I did.
I rented this dress in both the XS and the S for a semi-formal New Year's party we hosted. The XS was just a big too snug across the hips/thighs on my pear shaped frame, but the S fit perfectly. If you don't like strapless bras (mine always fall down), I was able to finagle the clear straps on mine so that they were invisible under the pink part of the neckline. Against the nude and navy parts of the dress, the hot magenta really popped! Great dress and I highly recommend it.
malloryJanuary 14, 2012
What color shoes did you wear?
RTRJanuary 27, 2012
Hi Stacey! I would suggest wearing a nude heel with this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 53
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 150lbs
January 23, 2012
Wish I owned it!
This dress is wonderful - flattering and chic! I wore it for a luncheon at which I had to make a presentation - I received so many compliments! If it goes on sale, I will buy one, for sure! Note navy blue and PINK - not black and red, so shoes needed to be considered...
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
January 30, 2012
The BF said it was the best dress I had ever rented for myself - the magenta really popped on stage.
Wore this for a pageant judging event; the perfect blend of "wow" factor as the dress's off-center and unique prints stand out (along with the magenta on the neck halter and belt), yet it is "not overly formal". Paired this with my burnish gold Manolo Blahnik sandals (can be seen in picture) and magenta clutch and had so much fun in the outfit. Highly Recommend this dress for events where you need to be formal/noticed but not overdone.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 53
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 138lbs
February 17, 2012
Pretty...but
I wore this to NYFW one day to the shows. This dress is better suited to someone who has a bit of thighs and tush to hide. I have straight hips and I thought the pleats added about 8lbs that I dont have! The fabric sash is very high waisted and does not really lay flat.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
April 10, 2012
Great dress!!
First time renting a dress- so much fun and so easy! I got this dress for a day time family party and it was perfect-wore simply gold hoops, bangles, and nude patent pumps. Would be great for night too! I normally wear an 8, sometimes 6 in dresses- but just had my third child and am still nursing-still the M fit with room to spare and fit very comfortably. I would say for most people order your normal size and one down-esp if you are petite or have a small chest. I wore it the next day too for another party and even with my two kids and a baby all over me for both events-the dress looked as great at the end of the second day as when I took it out of the bag! really great dress!
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
May 9, 2012
Amazing Dress!!
I rented this dress for a spring wedding. I don't know that I have ever gotten so many compliments on a dress- it was ridiculous!! I ordered both a small and medium, as I am a small on top and medium on bottom. I ended up wearing the small- I thought it fit better on top, and the bottom was more forgiving, so I was able to pull it off. I wore nude shoes and had a nude clutch.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
May 18, 2012
The manager of the restaurant we went to asked me where I got this dress because "you don't see a dress like this just anywhere". Also, I got engaged in it, so that must count for something too! :)
I was concerned about the length since I am so short, but it worked great with heels. Loved it and will probably rent again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
August 1, 2012
Exception service
This was my first rental with RTR. RTR completely surpassed my expectations. The dress was true to fit, nicely packed in a garment bag, and free of any imperfections of misuse. Had a great time in the dress, wish I could own it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
August 17, 2012
a sleek statement
this was a great move to wear to an out-of-town week-end getaway for dinner. it makes your shoulders look fab. most of all, the red accents of the dress were really eye-catching to others.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Pear
Weight: 134lbs
August 20, 2012
Wow - you're looking great!
Only size S was available so I did not have a back-up size, but I had tried on the same dress in stores this summer (in a different color), so knew how it would fit. Since this was my first RTR experience, I also had my own BACK-UP dress. Dress was sent to my hotel complete with emails informing me of delivery, but imagine my disappointment when I arrived @ my hotel on 8pm Friday night (for a 1pm Saturday wedding) to find the pink belt was missing! Otherwise, it fit beautifully, and is incredibly flattering. I called the number listed but got voice since it was outside hours. I also sent an email and was hoping a belt could be sent out in time, but alas, there was no response until the following Monday (though I did not call back the next morning as I was in the shops trying to find a matching belt). I got a nude belt which looked OK but not as great as the original pink one would have looked. Got many compliments about the dress and felt very comfortable in it. Colors are fuscia, navy and beige. I matched with nude patent pumps. I did not receive a phone call back about the belt issue, but instead got a complete refund and 25% of my next order (communicated via email), so I guess I am (somewhat) satisfied, though have concerns about items being sent out without vital accessories such as belts. I think some oversight / investigation into which dry cleaning company is being used to clean / repair and ship dresses is warranted, as I also found a repair on the neckline that was done in color mis-matched thread (barely noticeable but still this should have been repaired properly especially for such an expensive dress). Despite the belt problem, I was satisfied and will try RTR again……though a back-up is ALWAYS prudent!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Body type: Petite
September 19, 2012
BEST DRESS EVER!!!
I wish I could buy this dress! It was so comfortable and flowy. I wore it for a wedding and received countless compliments. The Medium fit me and I usually wear a 6/8 in dresses. I felt so amazing and beautiful in this dress! The best part is that I had a back up dress for free. I LOVE Rent The Runway :) :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 44
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 153lbs
October 12, 2012
Fantastic, Energizing, and Easy
Love this dress! Super flattering, comfortable, with great movement. Wonderful colors. The dress is lined, so doesn't need a slip. A strapless bra is helpful for support. I wore the large (the medium was not available, so I cannot compare the different sizes). I paired it with a light brown cardigan for the church service and part of the evening, so I tied the belt in the front, to the side. I usually accessorize with abandon, but this dress did not need any additional sparkle. Navy round-toe stilettoes finished the look with elegance and simplicity. The dress was terrific for dancing. I received many compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
October 24, 2012
Super comfortable. Had a ton of compliments.
Fit true to size on bottom, perhaps a little roomier up top. The pink belt and shoulder straps pack a punch. I paired with nude heels and wore a strapless bra.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×