BCBGMAXAZRIA

Color Block Perfection Dress

$140 to buy
$398 retail
Stylist Notes

Walk the streets in style with this fashion forward BCBGMAXAZRIA color block dress. Great for a girl's dinner or party! Pair with a bold cuff to complete your look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS - L

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist with adjustable tie belt
HIPS: Fitted - slip is fitted on hips and backside - consider sizing up in backup size for full hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Product Details

Taupe and navy silk with red contrast (100% polyester). Crew neckline. Pleated body. Belted waist with tie back. Asymmetric hemline. 40'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
88 reviews
Fit
Large
(17)
True to Size
(68)
Small
(2)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
May 22, 2013
Unique and comfortable
This dress was amazing. I didn't get to wear it because the sash was not included in the box, and it really needs a sash or belt and I didn't have time to buy one. However RTR's customer service was amazing, and I will definitely be renting from them again. This dress is so comfortable and flattering, and it is made so that your size doesn't have to be dead on in order for it to look nice. Love it!
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
July 10, 2013
A great alternative to a LBD
I wore this to an evening charity event. I knew the crowd would be a little older/conservative, so this was the perfect dress - classy, yet still true to my style. I received a lot of compliments and it really stood out in the see of black dresses. My only complaint was that I ordered the S & XS and they came with different belts. I believe the belt with the XS was the correct one (which is what I ended up wearing) but I'm not sure. The top runs large, so be sure to order a size down.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 137lbs
July 18, 2013
Not as cute in person
This dress was just alright. I rented it for a work dinner and even though I wasn't in love with it, I wore it anyway because I didn't bring a back up and I still received some compliments on it. On my six months pregnant body, I didn't feel the dress was very flattering. Even though I found this dress in the bump friendly section, it was not particularly good at either hiding or highlighting my bump. That being said, the dress definitely runs true to size and it should be noted that the darker color is navy - not black! I probably won't be renting this dress again, but I always love RTR and will continue to be a devoted customer!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 118lbs
September 13, 2013
Very Flattering Shape
This is a really cute dress that was incredibly flattering for my figure, but I didn't end up wearing it. I didn't have any navy or pink shoes, and when I tried it with nude heels, it was just way too much tan color going on. If you have the right shoes, give it a shot!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
October 30, 2013
Fun to pair with bright red lipstick!
Perfect fit. Fun to dance in. Did not receive the red belt but the dress looked great without it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
November 7, 2013
Great dress for lots of events!
Very figure flattering and comfortable! I wore this to a dinner party for my husband's office. Got compliments from all the women! The length was perfect and appropriate for the event. Even though I'm 6 feet tall It still it at my knees :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 45
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Pear
November 8, 2013
Easy way to feel pulled together!
This was missing the belt. The dark color is NAVY-it looks black in the photo
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
November 15, 2013
Worn for a contemporary violin solo with orchestra and it matched the occasion perfectly!
XS fit me like a glove at the waistline and it didn't look baggy at all! Because my legs are short, it hung a little longer, but that was fine too. Overall, a very comfortable dress that I was very happy with! It didn't come with the belt (so be sure to check with the stylist about that) so I just went to a fabric store and got some pink fabric and my grandma made a quasi-cummerbund! I thought that the seam at the waist looked a little rough without it. NYC folks - Mood Fabrics in the garment district has every color and material imaginable!! I wore some plain black flats (I don't like to play in heels!) and I thought it looked fine! Would definitely recommend to anyone that's a musician looking to not play a solo in a ridiculous prom dress (I guess that's fine if you like that, though....)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
December 26, 2013
I want to own this.
This is a top 5 rental for me. Not only did it look great but it was SO COMFORTABLE and easy to wear. I received compliments all night from friends and strangers. I'm 5'9 and normally wear a 10/12 in dresses. This dress seemed to run slightly big but the belt helps give it shape. Amazing dress. Hope to find it on sale somewhere so I can buy it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
January 20, 2014
Great dress...didn't work for me though
This dress was not for ! a shorty It looked funny due to the length on one side. It is a beautiful dress though, great fabric. Unfortunately I wore a different dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170lbs
February 20, 2014
Great color for a paler skin tone, like me!
Large in the chest and length was on the longer side. I wore it to a rehearsal dinner so it was appropriate level of conservative!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
April 16, 2014
Many compliments!
So many people came up to me and complimented me on this dress. It didn't come with the belt pictured though, so I ended up using a black leather belt. But this dress was beautiful and I would think about renting this for a wedding or bridal shower.
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
May 5, 2014
Nice dress but bad sash.
I ended up not wearing this dress at all due to the sash not matching and not having time to go buy one that matched. Be cautious, the sash that came with mine obviously was not meant to go with it. It was hot pink and the color on the shoulders is red.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
May 15, 2014
felt great in the dress!
This dress was PERFECT for my family event. I loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
May 29, 2014
loved the dress, buttttt
it didn't come with the belt! the dress didn't really work without it. i wish i didn't listen to the other reviews and i wish i was more handy to whip up something on my own. i am disappointed i didn't get to actually wear it out :( customer service was awesome (as usual!) and got me a back up dress asap! the dress fit like a glove and runs true to size. it was elegant but modern. if i could figure out a backup plan for the belt, i would absolutely rent this dress again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
May 30, 2014
Got a ton of compliments!
It's quite a drapey dress so the fit was easy and hid imperfections quite a bit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
June 3, 2014
Icing on my birthday cake
I rented this dress to wear for my birthday dinner. The colors were perfect for fall. I loved the asymmetrical hem and the pop of color with the sash.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 37
June 28, 2014
This dress is very forgiving and really comfortable. A lot of compliments!!
After reading other reviews I got the medium and it was perfect! I was nervous I wouldn't get the sash with it but I was relieved when it was in the box. I really think it makes the dress. I wore a strapless bra and started with spans but removed them after I realized I really didn't need them. I received a lot of compliments on how 'daring' it was (which I don't think it really is). It was very comfortable to dance the night away in. I never had to adjust or shift it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36D
Weight: 130lbs
August 13, 2014
Ended up wearing another dress from RTR
This was my first choice for my daughter's wedding rehearsal, but I ended up choosing the other dress bc I liked the way it looked on me better. This dress was cute , though. It runs big bc the medium fit me perfectly. Flattering for my body type
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
August 31, 2014
So comfortable
The belt makes the dress. I loved the navy and nude combo. The neckline is high so no need for a necklace.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 159lbs
September 14, 2014
So many compliments!! Very comfortable! Great for spring or early fall wedding!!
Fit we'll with strapless bra. Easy to dance it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 34
September 25, 2014
I have rented two dresses so far and this is my favorite out of the two! Very comfortable!!
The fit is true to size and very comfortable. I know some reviews stated they did not receive the belt but I did and didn't have any issues. Received tons of compliments and the pink color really pops. Would definitely rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 190lbs
October 5, 2014
Great for tall women
This dress is nice and long for tall women, and a great fit for those with a pear shape. I got tons of compliments on this, and felt great! Love it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
October 8, 2014
Didn't wrinkle and the belt made it just right!
I had a world-wind day of work in DC in the morning and a rehearsal dinner in Massachusetts that night; I had to find something that would work all day and not wrinkle on the plane. This dress was perfect; I unfortunately didn't take any pictures cause of all the running around but I would highly recommend. I even got some of the wedding guests turned onto RTR! :)
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
October 16, 2014
Received many complements on the dress -- it was unique and perfect for an outdoor wedding.
Dress fit well - I had a baby 4 months prior to wearing the dress and it helped camouflage the areas that are still not back to pre-baby shape. Dress runs big especially in the chest. Ribbon was included in the shipment and made the dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
January 8, 2015
Super cute!
Unfortunately I wasn't able to wear this dress because it was too small for me but I knew that it was a possibility going in. I rented an XS and a M since there were no smalls and the XS was a tad snug, but wearable, and the M was just too big. Had a S been available it would have been perfect! It was very comfortable and really unique; that's what I love about the BGBGMAXAZRIA dresses. I would definitely recommend this dress for any kind of event.
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 150lbs
January 22, 2015
I attended an amazing baby shower for one of my dearest friends.
I received tons of compliments! I loved that is was chic, unique and light weight.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
February 22, 2015
Love this dress! Wore at a wedding rehearsal dinner. Would definitely recommend it!
Fit well.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
July 24, 2012
Everyone loved my dress!
I rented this dress for my company's sales meeting and it was such a hit. I rented both a M and L, and wound up going with the M. It is a little big in the bust area so be aware that it is definitely going to make you look larger. If you are really top heavy I would stay away. I normally hate halters because they make my shoulders look wide, but this one was great. Awesome material, super comfortable, and very on trend. Got tons of compliments!! Would be perfect for a summer wedding.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105lbs
September 12, 2012
Perfect dress!
This is my second time renting from you.I wore this dress at a wedding, and my son was a bible bearer. It's simple and sophisticated. Thanks RTR for your good service.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
September 19, 2013
I loved the presentation of how the dresses come...I will be renting often!
The top (around the bust and arms) is a little bit bigger, but dress/modesty tape works well. Overall, I felt it fit true to BCBG size which is just a tad bigger than average.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
June 27, 2014
Perfect Event Dress!
Got both Large & Medium and I ended up wearing the Medium. It was a flattering fit and the Pink ribbon was a perfect accent. The light material made it perfect for a June wedding!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
January 8, 2012
Head-turner
Rent this dress if you want to be noticed (& complimented) all night. I loved this dress and wanted to rent it and so found an excuse to for a semi-formal night! The top puffed out a little on me (34C) when the belt was tied but not in an at all unattractive way. The dress is great quality and just really beautiful. The magenta is bright enough- I rocked bright red shoes with it and it worked. The dress is too noticeable to own (no one would forget it), but I would buy it!
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 43
Body type: Petite
February 19, 2012
Fantastic Dress!
I am petite at 5'0" and this dress still looked great because of the assymetric hemline. The color combo and patterns stood out and I received compliments all night!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 51
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
April 22, 2012
Great Dress!!
Loved this dress! I love the pop of pink on the sash and straps. The dress itself fit like a dream, but the lining was a tiny bit snug around my hips. Although my husband said it looked fine, I felt a self conscious and kept pulling it down. If you have narrow hips, this is the dress for you! I wore it with camel patent Louboutin pumps.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38DD
Body type: Pear
April 30, 2012
Classy and chic!
I rented this dress for a friend's wedding, and I thought that it would actually run pretty long since I am only 5'5, but the length was perfect. The bright pink sash adds a fun pop, and I received many compliments. I paired these with nude pumps. I would definitely rent this again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
August 8, 2012
Art deco fashion
I rented this for a business event - This was such a fun & easy dress to wear! I thought it was totally art deco. I think this would be flattering on many figures. I did secure the sash with a bit of fashion tape to keep it from riding too high/low (there are no beltloops). There is a slit on the leg, but it was very low & not obvious - fine for business. Note that the sash/shoulder straps are hot pink, not red. I had several people stop me & ask me where I got the dress - always good!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
August 13, 2012
Bcbg beautiful
I've had my eye on this dress for almost a whole year, went to Newport for a long weekend and decided I had to have something simple but chic for a dinner date. When the dress arrived it was missing the belt/sash that is supposed be attached and as soon as I made the phone call the staff at RTR was nothing but helpful and overnighted one for me. The dress is Navy and Nude not as dark (black) as the picture gives off and that's the only deceiving part, otherwise the dress is perfect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 64
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 110lbs
August 28, 2012
great choice
loved this dress and felt great in it. great dancing dress. i did need to pin the fushia straps to line up with the bra straps but other than that i was very happy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 35
Body type: Hourglass
October 8, 2012
Cute, a little smaller
Belt was a looked worn
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×