BCBGMAXAZRIA

Color Block Perfection Dress

$140 to buy
$398 retail
Stylist Notes

Walk the streets in style with this fashion forward BCBGMAXAZRIA color block dress. Great for a girl's dinner or party! Pair with a bold cuff to complete your look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS - L

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist with adjustable tie belt
HIPS: Fitted - slip is fitted on hips and backside - consider sizing up in backup size for full hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Product Details

Taupe and navy silk with red contrast (100% polyester). Crew neckline. Pleated body. Belted waist with tie back. Asymmetric hemline. 40'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
88 reviews
Fit
Large
(17)
True to Size
(68)
Small
(2)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34A
November 20, 2012
Everyone like the dress and I felt very pretty in it.
Very Comfortable dress No need to adjust it during the event Looks great in every angle
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
November 21, 2012
this dress was perfect for a fall wedding and comfortable!
i got tons of compliments. looks very classy and unique. nude heels went very well. the belt is a and neck sash are a little bit more on the magenta side than red as it looks in the pic but it does appear red in pictures i took too. overall i felt very comfortable with it all night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
November 25, 2012
Pop of color
Dress fits great, can be cinched with the sash. I wore for family Thanksgiving. The top is slightly bigger than I'd desire, prefer a little tighter around the armholes. Wore a strapless bra. The color is actually navy, not black, but I wore black shoes and black jewelry. No complaints, BCBG are always solid dresses. (Excuse my husband's Movember mustache.) I am also two months post-partum so the shape is great for hiding less than perfect lower abdominals.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 5, 2012
Love the dress but missing sash!
I had read the reviews that the dress can sometimes come without the sash as seen in the photo but was so eager to try it out anyway as I have had my eye on this dress for awhile. The dress is beautiful, very slimming with the pattern and material but unfortunately the sash makes this dress and it did not arrive. I called RTR and they were very helpful explaining that I could go out and buy a belt and expense it if I liked. It was unfortunately the day before Thanksgiving and I doubted I would find something in time so I returned it and got a full refund.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 7, 2012
I got sooo many compliments on this dress!
Beautiful fabric, colors match the picture.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
December 21, 2012
The Hot Pink is unexpected and Perfection on this Dress!
I actually played stylist for my mom and surprised her with this dress for a Local Fashion week. It was the perfect length for her and she looked stunning! She still raves about this dress! I love the pop of pink and the unique print. Another great one RTR
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
December 25, 2012
Wish I could have worn it :(
Beautiful dress but I never got to wear it, didn't have the sash in the bag. Arrived in town 2 hours before the party and had to find a back up and ship the dress away the next morning. My next dress arrives in a few days for New Years Eve, hopefully my second experience is better than the first.
RTR CustomerDecember 27, 2012
Hi Caroline! I'm so sorry to hear that the dress did not arrive with the belt. I can assure you this is not a typical occurence and we're happy to refund you for the style if you weren't able to wear it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
January 22, 2013
Loved this dress! Lots of compliments and very flattering.
I wore this to my high school reunion and loved . Only complaint was that the sash became bunched and had to keep fixing it. Very different and fun!
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
January 28, 2013
I wore the dress to my birthday dinner and received so many compliments. I want to buy it!!
It is such a flattering cut and fit, even after eating several courses worth of food! the color blocking is gorgeous and the dress flows!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
February 13, 2013
It was a great dress with a great fit. Really fun and flirty and just a blast to wear!
This dress was so beautiful and I got so many compliments on it. I was a little disappointed when I received it because the sash was not with the dress, but I matched it with a wide navy belt and I received so many compliments throughout the night!
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Body type: Pear
April 25, 2013
Wore this for my outdoor graduation that was 90 degrees! This dress was perfect for the weather
Fit was good, a little loss up top for my pear shape. Didn't come with belt which I was aware of from the other reviews but it is definitely necessary. I didn't have a red belt so I used a thick red ribbon I had in the house and it worked perfectly.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
May 15, 2013
great dress for any age
I wore last week for my college commencement ceremony. I've ordered two sizes (XS and M), because I was not sure about my size. it fits true to size. However, in both dresses there were no belts included, So beware! Also there were small oily spots on chiffon upfront. I had to stay in graduation gown anyways so it did not bother me, but I could not wear it for my graduation party at the restaurant because of the spots, so I had to change. The dress itself is beautiful, flowy, but make sure you let the RTR know in advance about the missing belt.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
May 22, 2013
Unique and comfortable
This dress was amazing. I didn't get to wear it because the sash was not included in the box, and it really needs a sash or belt and I didn't have time to buy one. However RTR's customer service was amazing, and I will definitely be renting from them again. This dress is so comfortable and flattering, and it is made so that your size doesn't have to be dead on in order for it to look nice. Love it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 137lbs
July 18, 2013
Not as cute in person
This dress was just alright. I rented it for a work dinner and even though I wasn't in love with it, I wore it anyway because I didn't bring a back up and I still received some compliments on it. On my six months pregnant body, I didn't feel the dress was very flattering. Even though I found this dress in the bump friendly section, it was not particularly good at either hiding or highlighting my bump. That being said, the dress definitely runs true to size and it should be noted that the darker color is navy - not black! I probably won't be renting this dress again, but I always love RTR and will continue to be a devoted customer!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 118lbs
September 13, 2013
Very Flattering Shape
This is a really cute dress that was incredibly flattering for my figure, but I didn't end up wearing it. I didn't have any navy or pink shoes, and when I tried it with nude heels, it was just way too much tan color going on. If you have the right shoes, give it a shot!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
October 30, 2013
Fun to pair with bright red lipstick!
Perfect fit. Fun to dance in. Did not receive the red belt but the dress looked great without it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
November 7, 2013
Great dress for lots of events!
Very figure flattering and comfortable! I wore this to a dinner party for my husband's office. Got compliments from all the women! The length was perfect and appropriate for the event. Even though I'm 6 feet tall It still it at my knees :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 45
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Pear
November 8, 2013
Easy way to feel pulled together!
This was missing the belt. The dark color is NAVY-it looks black in the photo
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
April 16, 2014
Many compliments!
So many people came up to me and complimented me on this dress. It didn't come with the belt pictured though, so I ended up using a black leather belt. But this dress was beautiful and I would think about renting this for a wedding or bridal shower.
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
May 5, 2014
Nice dress but bad sash.
I ended up not wearing this dress at all due to the sash not matching and not having time to go buy one that matched. Be cautious, the sash that came with mine obviously was not meant to go with it. It was hot pink and the color on the shoulders is red.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
May 15, 2014
felt great in the dress!
This dress was PERFECT for my family event. I loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
May 29, 2014
loved the dress, buttttt
it didn't come with the belt! the dress didn't really work without it. i wish i didn't listen to the other reviews and i wish i was more handy to whip up something on my own. i am disappointed i didn't get to actually wear it out :( customer service was awesome (as usual!) and got me a back up dress asap! the dress fit like a glove and runs true to size. it was elegant but modern. if i could figure out a backup plan for the belt, i would absolutely rent this dress again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
May 30, 2014
Got a ton of compliments!
It's quite a drapey dress so the fit was easy and hid imperfections quite a bit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
June 3, 2014
Icing on my birthday cake
I rented this dress to wear for my birthday dinner. The colors were perfect for fall. I loved the asymmetrical hem and the pop of color with the sash.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 38
June 28, 2014
This dress is very forgiving and really comfortable. A lot of compliments!!
After reading other reviews I got the medium and it was perfect! I was nervous I wouldn't get the sash with it but I was relieved when it was in the box. I really think it makes the dress. I wore a strapless bra and started with spans but removed them after I realized I really didn't need them. I received a lot of compliments on how 'daring' it was (which I don't think it really is). It was very comfortable to dance the night away in. I never had to adjust or shift it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
August 31, 2014
So comfortable
The belt makes the dress. I loved the navy and nude combo. The neckline is high so no need for a necklace.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38DD
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 159lbs
September 14, 2014
So many compliments!! Very comfortable! Great for spring or early fall wedding!!
Fit we'll with strapless bra. Easy to dance it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Age: 35
September 25, 2014
I have rented two dresses so far and this is my favorite out of the two! Very comfortable!!
The fit is true to size and very comfortable. I know some reviews stated they did not receive the belt but I did and didn't have any issues. Received tons of compliments and the pink color really pops. Would definitely rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 190lbs
October 5, 2014
Great for tall women
This dress is nice and long for tall women, and a great fit for those with a pear shape. I got tons of compliments on this, and felt great! Love it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
October 8, 2014
Didn't wrinkle and the belt made it just right!
I had a world-wind day of work in DC in the morning and a rehearsal dinner in Massachusetts that night; I had to find something that would work all day and not wrinkle on the plane. This dress was perfect; I unfortunately didn't take any pictures cause of all the running around but I would highly recommend. I even got some of the wedding guests turned onto RTR! :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
January 8, 2015
Super cute!
Unfortunately I wasn't able to wear this dress because it was too small for me but I knew that it was a possibility going in. I rented an XS and a M since there were no smalls and the XS was a tad snug, but wearable, and the M was just too big. Had a S been available it would have been perfect! It was very comfortable and really unique; that's what I love about the BGBGMAXAZRIA dresses. I would definitely recommend this dress for any kind of event.
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 150lbs
January 22, 2015
I attended an amazing baby shower for one of my dearest friends.
I received tons of compliments! I loved that is was chic, unique and light weight.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
September 19, 2013
I loved the presentation of how the dresses come...I will be renting often!
The top (around the bust and arms) is a little bit bigger, but dress/modesty tape works well. Overall, I felt it fit true to BCBG size which is just a tad bigger than average.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
June 27, 2014
Perfect Event Dress!
Got both Large & Medium and I ended up wearing the Medium. It was a flattering fit and the Pink ribbon was a perfect accent. The light material made it perfect for a June wedding!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
January 8, 2012
Head-turner
Rent this dress if you want to be noticed (& complimented) all night. I loved this dress and wanted to rent it and so found an excuse to for a semi-formal night! The top puffed out a little on me (34C) when the belt was tied but not in an at all unattractive way. The dress is great quality and just really beautiful. The magenta is bright enough- I rocked bright red shoes with it and it worked. The dress is too noticeable to own (no one would forget it), but I would buy it!
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 44
Body type: Petite
February 19, 2012
Fantastic Dress!
I am petite at 5'0" and this dress still looked great because of the assymetric hemline. The color combo and patterns stood out and I received compliments all night!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 51
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
April 22, 2012
Great Dress!!
Loved this dress! I love the pop of pink on the sash and straps. The dress itself fit like a dream, but the lining was a tiny bit snug around my hips. Although my husband said it looked fine, I felt a self conscious and kept pulling it down. If you have narrow hips, this is the dress for you! I wore it with camel patent Louboutin pumps.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38DD
Body type: Pear
April 30, 2012
Classy and chic!
I rented this dress for a friend's wedding, and I thought that it would actually run pretty long since I am only 5'5, but the length was perfect. The bright pink sash adds a fun pop, and I received many compliments. I paired these with nude pumps. I would definitely rent this again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
August 8, 2012
Art deco fashion
I rented this for a business event - This was such a fun & easy dress to wear! I thought it was totally art deco. I think this would be flattering on many figures. I did secure the sash with a bit of fashion tape to keep it from riding too high/low (there are no beltloops). There is a slit on the leg, but it was very low & not obvious - fine for business. Note that the sash/shoulder straps are hot pink, not red. I had several people stop me & ask me where I got the dress - always good!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
August 13, 2012
Bcbg beautiful
I've had my eye on this dress for almost a whole year, went to Newport for a long weekend and decided I had to have something simple but chic for a dinner date. When the dress arrived it was missing the belt/sash that is supposed be attached and as soon as I made the phone call the staff at RTR was nothing but helpful and overnighted one for me. The dress is Navy and Nude not as dark (black) as the picture gives off and that's the only deceiving part, otherwise the dress is perfect.
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×