BCBGMAXAZRIA

Champagne Hypnotizer Dress

$50 rental
$470 retail
Stylist Notes

Perfect for that special anniversary, spring wedding, or cocktail party. This BCBGMAXAZRIA is the dress rental of the season! Add a little flare with Crislu's A Girl's Best Friend Bracelet.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for B cup sizes and bigger - bust runs slightly large
WAIST: Very fitted - dress runs narrow - ribbon detail conceals midsection
HIPS: Very fitted - curvy women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra - wear with SPANX to cinch in abdomen; dress has built-in structure in bodice
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9")

Product Details

Champagne silk. Strapless necklace. All over ribbon detail. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip.

Share
239 reviews
Fit
Large
(1)
True to Size
(55)
Small
(167)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 139lbs
July 4, 2014
When the reviews say RUNS SMALL take it very seriously...
The dress is beautiful but as many have indicated it runs extremely small. I would have gotten the 10, but it isn't available (I'm thinking they don't have it anymore because there was no 10 available no matter what dates I searched.) I thought the 12 would have been way to big, but after trying to try on the 8, I realize that I could have managed the 12. I can't even tell you if the bottom (hip area) runs big or small because the problem began with the uber tight corset top part, which I couldn't even get over my upper body. I have VERY small shoulders, especially for a girl my height, so this was most surprising. Dress was lovely, if you can get it on, you will no doubt be a knock out, but I recommend that you size up a few sizes.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
July 20, 2014
I wore this for a family wedding.
Every review I read said this dress runs small, so I requested the 6 and 8 even though I usually wear a 4. They both were too big, especially on top. The 6 would not stay on when I raised my arms. I am very lucky though because I called and RTR was able to overnight me a 4 (for no extra charge) and it arrived with enough time before my Saturday evening event. The 4 was snug, and still a bit too big in the chest, but it worked and I loved wearing the dress. I got many many compliments. Great dress!!! My only wish was that the top was a little tighter, or could have snapped into my bra.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
July 21, 2014
Gorgeous color and sheen!
I rented this dress for my boyfriend's sisters wedding. Her wedding was very formal (but not black tie). I typically wear a size 2 or 4 in dresses but followed previous rental suggestions and rented a 6. The 6 fit me overall but was large in the chest area for me so I was able to wear a strapless bra. Overall, I loved the color or this dress, it is form fitting but the length counteracts it being too revealing for a wedding. The cons to this dress as other renters mentioned is the top (see 2 picture) continued to roll down throughout the night and also the garment straps (there were 4) also continued to show throughout the night. This became pretty frustrating when taking pictures (as you can see).
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 116
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 106lbs
July 27, 2014
Got lots of compliments, and looks great in pictures. Sizing is funky.
Construction was a lot different than I expected from the pictures. It's more a black dress with champagne bands sewn onto it than loosely connected champagne bands with a black liner peeking through. (That doesn't seem like such a big deal until you have to figure out what color shoes to wear.) It definitely runs small. I'm a firm 2, and ordered a 4 as a back-up based on other reviews. I didn't even bother trying on the 2. The 4 fit just right once we got the zipper up. The dress was snug all over EXCEPT at the bust. I didn't quite have enough assets to fill out the cups and the wire at the top beneath the shoulders was rolling down on both sides. I did have to do a bit of tugging throughout the night. There was no risk of flashing anyone, but I was definitely showing far more liner than the designer probably intended. The dress material is pretty heavy, but if you have a belly at all, you may want to consider pulling on some shapewear. It's a flattering dress, but I'm gun-shy about the brand's sizing now. I'll probably avoid BCBG/Max Azria dresses in the future.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
July 29, 2014
Didn't like it for my body!
I didn't like this dress at all for my body type because I have curves and I love to show them off. Whereas with this dress it made my butt look flat and it flattened my boobs! I didn't even wear the dress I ended up wearing a totally different outfit, which was disappointing because I had my heart set on this one!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
August 6, 2014
Meeting new friends
The dress was perfect a little uncomfortable in the breast area. I fixed it by putting some double tape and it hold up better.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
August 21, 2014
runs waaay too small. very hard to move
I normally wear a 4. I ordered this in a 4 and a 6 and I could barely breathe or move in the 6. Order way up, or look for something else if comfort is important to you!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
August 27, 2014
I have never received so many compliments in one night in my life!
I truly loved this dress; however, it was extremely fitted which made it a little uncomfortable. I guess it's true when they say "it doesn't matter if it hurts as long as you look beautiful." The size 6 was super fitted and the size 8 was really loose on me so obviously I wore size 6. Overall I liked it, I felt beautiful, sexy and classy.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 137lbs
August 28, 2014
Sorry I only have this silly selfie but the dress was amazing!
I absolutely loved the fit of this dress. It did run small however it still was amazing and looked amazing. There is absolutely ZERO stretch in the fabric but once it is on it is surprisingly comfortable despite the lack of stretch. Also the color and design pattern is so flattering.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
September 9, 2014
Slimming dress even when you feel bloated
This was incredibly slimming. Wear spanx if you're a little "fluffy." The dress did slide a little throughout the night from dancing but wasn't too annoying. Overall, great dress!
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
September 11, 2014
GO BIGGER OR DON'T ORDER...SERIOUSLY.
I WAS NOT ABLE TO WEAR THIS DRESS UNFORTUNATELY AND I ORDERED A SIZE UP. I SHOULD HAVE ORDERED TWO SIZES UP AND MAYBE I WOULD HAVE GOTTEN INTO IT...BUT THAT STILL MAY HAVE BEEN TOUGH. I USUALLY WEAR A 4 IN BCBG BUT THIS DRESS WAS VERY DIFFERENT.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 43
September 15, 2014
Hard to put on but once it was on it was gorgeous.
I rented this dress for a Sunday afternoon wedding. I normally wear a size 2 but this dress ran small and the material does not stretch at all so I ended up wearing my backup size 4. Even with the 4 it was a little hard to get it over my butt and my husband had to help me with the zipper. However, once I was over the stress of trying to put it on it was quite comfortable and extremely flattering to the figure. I got a lot of compliments. It is a Beautiful dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
September 30, 2014
I received SOOO many compliments on this dress!
I ordered a 2 and 4 because the reviews said it runs very small. The first size 2 I received was completely stretched out in the stomach area and the 4 was huge!! After speaking to an amazing girl at RTR she sent me another size 2 and 2 additional back up dresses to choose from. The second size 2 was better but I disagree with the reviews that said it doesn't give. The dress had plenty of room in the stomach still... I will say this it is HARD to zip but once it's zipped up it fits like a glove. Already rented the and dress for another wedding!! You will not be disappointed in this one!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 1, 2014
Too small... could not wear.
Dress fit small. I am 5'8 135 lbs and could not even zip the dress up in the back. It is VERY clingy. It was a very pretty dress and if the larger size was available I probably could have made it work. Definitely size up if you are going to order... and maybe even size up again for your backup size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
October 4, 2014
I got so many compliments on this dress and I felt like a million bucks!
I ordered a 4 and a 6. I fit into both, but ended up wearing the 6 so I could breathe and sit down. :) The six was a tad big on the top, but the dress fits like a corset. Still, it has a "wow" factor that you just can't beat!
JenniferNovember 9, 2014
You look fabulous. I especially love the little hands in f the photo! ha ha! That's my life too!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
October 5, 2014
Runs super small!
I loved the looks of this dress and was so eager to wear it...unfortunately I couldn't zip it up and I had trouble getting it back off in the butt/thigh region. Not forgiving and had no give in the hip area!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
June 17, 2014
Compliments galore!!
The slip under the dress kept riding up and the top of the dress is hard to keep against your skin. Every 5 minutes I was hiking it up. Overall for pictures it was great!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112lbs
June 8, 2014
Loved this dress! Perfect for a cocktail party or formal event!
I ordered both a size 2 and 4 and I actually thought the size 2 felt roomier so I ended up wearing the 2. The dress is definitely tight everywhere but the way the piping / pattern lays on the dress it is very flattering. Having a small upper body, I appreciated how fitted it was on top. Have no complaints about the dress except I felt like I was pulling it up often during the night.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 3, 2014
Didn't fit
This dress was a major disappointment. The reviews that said the dress ran large proved not to be true for me. The dress was heavy and stiff.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
January 22, 2014
I received a lot of compliments and the dress looked great in pictures. I felt like a stuffed sausag
Ran very small! I usually where a 4 or a 6.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
December 5, 2013
I loved it! It was perfect for the occasion!!
The dress was fitted but not a stretchy material. It deff looks better In person and for those with a bigger bust it does fall down a little at the top.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
June 10, 2013
Beautiful dress. Runs very small, but overall was PERFECT!
I wore this to a charity gala and felt like amazing. It's such a beautiful and unique dress. It runs VERY small. I normally wear a size 4/6. I ended up wearing the 8, but wished I had the 10 believe it or not. I was very tight, and I could have used a little more room in the bust. Only other complaint was that the black hanger straps kept popping out from time to time. I loved this dress and would rent it again!
JenniferNovember 9, 2014
I love this look on you! Thanks for your comments. I am a six and may order the 8 and 10. Thank you!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 44
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
March 20, 2013
Stunning, and very flattering. The color and cut were gorgeous. My boyfriend was a BIG fan!
This was quite the dress. Very stunning....it was pretty heavy in weight, and tight. It holds everything in, but feels borderline like a corset. I had to remove my bra for it to be a bit more comfortable. Plan on eating dainty in it, but also turning heads!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
December 23, 2012
Showstopping, bodyhugging dress! I was so sad to mail it back the next day!
I loved, loved, loved this dress. It shows off your curves beautifully. I wore it to my ten-year high school reunion and was getting compliments all night. The fit and pattern is very flattering, and I never had to worry about the "girls" falling out. The color is gorgeous and really stands out in a sea of basic black. The only cons were that it ran pretty small. I normally wear a 6/8 and the 8 was a very snug fit. The dress also kept shifting during the night so I had to keep readjusting it. Despite the cons, I would definitely wear this dress again. It's my favorite RTR find!!!
JenniferNovember 9, 2014
This is so helpful! I am a 6/8 so I may order an 8 and 10. Thank you!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
November 10, 2014
Would rent this dress again, in size 8.
Beautiful dress! Just didn't fit. The 8 I ordered didn't come and the 6 was too tight in the bust.(wouldn't zip)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 17, 2014
I got so many compliments! I felt great in the dress!
The dress was different in a good way! It does run small so I ordered the 6 and 8 and wore the 8. I even fit into a four at times. I had to keep pulling the top up during the night but that happens with strapless. If I went the size down, I think the hip area would have been uncomfortable. People kept asking about the dress- people my age (30's) older, women, men. I will absolutely be renting again from Rent the Runway!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Apple
Weight: 125lbs
November 19, 2014
Went to Vegas with my friends and found this dress at the Rent The Runway shop in the Cosmo
The fit was spot on! It was snug, yet comfortable. The length was perfect, the slightly higher hem in the front made the dress classy, elegant, AND sexy. In the picture on the internet, the dress looks quite plain, and I don't think that I would have considered renting it. I was, however, in the shop at the Cosmopolitan in Vegas and the sales associate put the dress in my dressing room. The dress did not jump out at me when I saw it on the rack, but as soon as I put it on, I knew that it was the one! There was much more detail than I originally gave this dress credit for. I did not wear any jewelry, but I would have totally paired the dress with some chunky jeweled necklace or bracelet and I think it would be perfect for New Years!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 133lbs
May 5, 2013
Hot Dress!
This is a gorgeous dress! It's sexy, classy and sophisticated! I wore it to a dinner party in Miami at one of Miami's top restaurants and felt glamorous! I usually wear a 4 or a 6 but the material is fairly thick and it fits pretty tight! The thicker material compliments curves to create a really nice siloutte...Spanx not necessary. Since I wore the 8 the bust was a little deflated with my B cup size so I wore a strapless padded bra which complimented the fit. I would rent this again, loved it!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
December 9, 2014
The dress is STUNNING!!!
This dress is absolutely STUNNING! Unfortunately, I wasn't able to wear it. The size 4 didn't fit at all and the size 6 fit but the zipper laid funny and was still very tight in the bust. Too bad.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
December 26, 2014
It was a great dress. I loved the look and length.
I wore this dress to my company holiday party. I got lots of complements from people. Reviews said it runs small s so I ordered a 4 and 6. Ended up wearing the 4. It was a snug in the chest area so I ended up not wearing a bra. As with all strapless dresses I was pulling it up through out the night. I didn't like how the top edges of the dress rolled down. Sadly this curling over of the material was noticed in a few pictures during the night. Overall I really like the dress and felt great wearing it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 7, 2015
I didn't wear it
I could not wear this dress as the back bubbled out terribly at the arch of my back and there was a long crease down the front from it being folded and/or hung incorrectly. Pretty in person and potentially looked great on, aside from the crease and weird bubble.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
March 23, 2014
fundraiser for a great cause
This was my first RTR experience! I was so impressed and am hooked. Great service, quick shipping, cute branding! This dress was gorgeous! It fits like a glove! The 6 was definitely snug but the 8 was too loose in the bust so I went with a 6. I did wear spanx as it made the dress look more sleek. I have athletic, large calves and have a hard time finding shorter dresses that are flattering. This dress was perfect.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
March 29, 2015
This was a great back- up dress!
This came as a back-up dress when one of the sizes I ordered in another dress wasn't available. I didn't end up wearing this dress but LOVED IT and will definitely rent again. I ordered the 2 and 4, but would probably order the 0 next time as the chest and waist were a tiny bit too big. That said, I could have worn the 2 and it would have been fine. This is a stunning dress that makes a statement but is still very classy. It's also wedding-appropriate; it's not as white/cream as it looks in the picture. More of a champagne/black.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
March 31, 2015
Sexy Dress
This dress runs small. It is nicely made with thick material that holds you in nicely. I did not wind up wearing this dress however, due to my cleavage. I felt like most of my breasts were exposed and I didn't want to feel uncomfortable the entire night. Unfortunately, the picture I had of myself in it was accidentally erased.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 114lbs
March 31, 2015
Sadly , I didn't work out for me.
Unfortunately the dress was way too small. I am pretty petite so I was surprised that neither size fit. I would go a size up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113lbs
March 30, 2015
Gorgeous dress, wish it had fit!
This dress was a backup dress since one of the other ones I had ordered suddenly wasn't available. I love how the dress looks so much, but it runs WAY small! I can usually wear a 2 in most things, but I couldn't even get this one over my hips. I would totally rent this again in a bigger size, though... I might even go 2 sizes up from my usual, though.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 41
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107lbs
April 11, 2015
I couldn't fit in the dress.
I couldn't zip it up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Age: 34
April 19, 2015
The folks at the RTR DC store!!! So awesome. This dress showed off all my curves and was a hit!
There's no give in this dress, so order your true size. The dress kept rolling down in the front, so I kept having to pull it up all night. It's gorgeous material and design though
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
April 14, 2015
I got a lot of compliments on the dress
The dress runs extremely small, I first got a size 4 and 6 then I got an 8. I really needed a size 10 but the I was able to make the 8 work. It is a very beautiful dress, I would absolutely recommend it, just go up a few sizes, I'm normally a size 4-6 but needed a 10 for a perfect fit.
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 120lbs
May 11, 2015
I was unable to wear this dress.
This dress did not fit me at all. Both sizes were too small. This dress run small.
See more reviews:
4 / 6

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×