BCBGMAXAZRIA

Champagne Hypnotizer Dress

$50 – $80 rental
$470 retail
Stylist Notes

Perfect for that special anniversary, spring wedding, or cocktail party. This BCBGMAXAZRIA is the dress rental of the season! Add a little flare with Crislu's A Girl's Best Friend Bracelet.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for B cup sizes and bigger - bust runs slightly large
WAIST: Very fitted - dress runs narrow - ribbon detail conceals midsection
HIPS: Very fitted - curvy women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra - wear with SPANX to cinch in abdomen; dress has built-in structure in bodice
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9")

Product Details

Champagne silk. Strapless necklace. All over ribbon detail. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip.

Share
242 reviews
Fit
Large
(1)
True to Size
(55)
Small
(168)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
August 12, 2013
Pulling it up all night...
This dress is beautiful. However, if your body type is not "slim and slender" and you're under 5'5 this probably isn't the dress for you. I was pulling up the dress all night, and I think it was due to the fact that I just wasn't tall enough for this silhouette. The dress does keep everything in though, and no spanx are necessary (if you can even fit spanx underneath, this dress is TIGHT!). I received many compliments on the dress though, and did feel great in it! I had a great first RTR experience, but now I know what to look for in a dress. Good luck! :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
August 21, 2013
Never received so many compliments on a dress before!
Definitely runs small! I would say to size up one size. The size up wasn't available in my case, so I had to go up 2. It was just a little big. So many compliments!
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 40
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
September 7, 2013
My husband could not take his eyes off me!
I rented this dress for our Estes Park, Stanley Hotel Anniversary getaway. After reading the reviews I was a bit nervous as I usually wear a 10 but so many women went up 1 and even 2 sizes on this dress. The only size they had was the 12 so I rented that. It was pretty snug and walking up the stairs was "interesting" but the material is pretty heavy which holds everything in nicely. I received compliments literally within minutes of stepping out of our room and continued to get them all night. This is a classy but super sexy little dress and I would rent it again in a second.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
September 25, 2013
I was a very pretty dress, just didn't fit
I was very disappointed that I wasn't able to fit in the 8. In my opinion it runs way too small
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
October 4, 2013
Pretty but not too comfortable
I rented sizes 4 and 6 and 4 didn't even zip. Thankfully I read the reviews here (super helpful!) and went for 2 sizes bigger than my normal 2 size. The dress has no give and definitely shapes your body well, but for me it was a bit uncomfortable and I had to pull it up a few times throughout the night (I did dance a lot, though. So if you're not a dancer you might not have this problem). I got many compliments and would rent it again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 6, 2013
Show Stopper
Wow, what a beautiful dress! Runs Small. Ordered the two and the four. The two fit fine but was very fitted and I am not a fan of the squished boob look so I went with the four which was a little big in some areas but was overall more conformable for the long night I had ahead. I was very happy to have rented this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
October 7, 2013
LISTEN TO THE REVIEWS, ORDER NEXT SIZE UP!!!
Beautiful dress, RUNS small. I should of ordered the 4...will definitely order this dress again in the right size!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117lbs
October 11, 2013
Sexy, slinky, and comfy, actually!
I was worried I'd be pulling that baby up all night but it is snug as a bug in a rug. The 2 was way too tight so I wore the 4, which made it past my hips, but there was some gathering. I did have to pull it down after walking a bit. But with a chicken cutlet sticky bra and red kitten heels, I felt dramatic but not overdressed. In fact, I was the ONLY one who wore a dress (it was my bday, so I was okay with that), and I didn't feel silly. This dress is definitely hot.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
December 15, 2013
Gorgeous, classy gown
I usually wear a size 4, but I could not even get my legs into it. The 6 fit perfectly, but not with any room to spare. I suggest ordering a size up and your extra size in the next size up, especially if you are a C cup or larger. This was my first RTR and I felt amazing. I got a lot of compliments. My only complaint was the hanging straps. They kept coming out of the dress. I have no idea why they were even still attached to the dress. The straps kept creeping out and since i could barely stick my finger into the dress it was very hard and distracting to try and keep the straps in. Next time I rent I will definitely inquire about cutting these straps out!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
December 16, 2013
The top was a size too small..
Listen to the reviews here…this dress was too small for me. I usually wear a 2, and wanted to get both the 2 and 4 (as a back up ) but the 4 was not available. The 2 was too small up top. Good thing I rented a 2nd dress, but it's too bad because this dress was beautiful.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
February 29, 2012
A friend wanted to know all about Rent the Runway - especially whether I could buy this dress because she thought it was gorgeous on me!
I normally wear a 6 and was thankful I ordered this dress in both a 6 and 8 after reading other reviews. The 8 was even a little snug for my taste, but my husband loved the way the dress hugged my curves. It was a big hit!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
October 14, 2013
STUNNING
This dress is stunning!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 22, 2013
Loved the dress!!!
Runs small but a size up does the job really well. Enjoyed wearing this dress.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
December 22, 2013
The dress was gorgeous! I got tons of compliments!
This was a last minute switch up because my formal event was cancelled and was replaced with a holiday party which was semi-formal. RTR overnighted this option so quickly I had it in plenty of time. There was no 0 available so I went with the 2 especially since all the reviews say it runs small. The fit was tight in the bust and i needed help zipping it up yet it was falling down a lot during the night which was pretty annoying. Also, I have narrow hips so I felt it was a little big around the hip area but that was probably only noticeable to me. Overall it was really nice and the pics where my bra wasn't showing were good. Next time double sided tape to make sure it stays up!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 131lbs
December 30, 2013
Too small & tight
This dress was beautiful when I opened the package. Unfortunately, it was WAY too small and too tight for me. I normally wear a 4 or 6 and neither size fit. With this dress, I'm pretty sure an 8 or 10 would have fit. I didn't have a chance to find out as my event was the next day. Maybe I'll try renting this dress again down the road.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
December 30, 2013
Gorgeous fabric! Size up.
Based on other reviews, I figured I needed to size up one size. Unfortunately that was not available. I am usually a size 2, and that one would not even go past my hips. Two sizes up was a bit bunchy in the mid-section, but would have likely worked had this not been sleeveless. I am confident the 4 would have worked had it not been NYE and it had been in stock. Loved the fabric on this one! I can totally see why it photographed so well for others.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 53
Bust size: 40D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 190lbs
January 14, 2014
I found a picture of this dress online and wanted it for my 50th birthday party. It was a hit!
After reading reviews that the dress runs small, I lost 22 pounds hoping it would fit. It was snug, and took my mom and my 2 daughters to zip it up. It was the SECOND of two RTR dress that I wore at my party. The guests loved it. I was little concerned about the top as I am heavy chested, but it worked. I was able to dance the night away and have a wonderful time. THANK YOU RTR for making my 50th birthday so special and helping me look so fabulous!
RobinMarch 7, 2014
Where did you get the perfectly matching shoes?? BEAUTIFUL!!!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
January 20, 2014
Very happy with my first RTR experience!
This was my first RTR experience and I was really happy with the whole experience. I was sent a size 4 and size 6, along with the earrings and gold bangles. The order even came in a day earlier than expected. The size 6 fit like a glove- more snug on my behind, and a little looser on the top. If I could re-do my order, I would have liked to see how the size 8 fit, but overall, no complaints and I received many compliments throughout the night.
RachelleApril 22, 2014
which earrings did you rent for this dress
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133lbs
February 2, 2014
RTR is such a pleasure every time I rent a dress.
This is a GORGEOUS dress. The reviews said it ran small so I wanted to order an 8 and a 10 but the 10 wasn't available so I ordered an 8 and a 12. Unfortunately, the 8 was too small and the 12 was too big. The 10 would have been perfect. I will DEFINITELY order the 10 the next time I need a dress for a special occasion. It really is a gorgeous dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
February 2, 2014
Wore this for NYE. I absolutely loved the style of the dress. Everyone at the party loved it!
I read reviews before I rented and everyone said it runs small so I ordered an 8 and a 12 ( a 10, which I usually wear wasn't available.) I didn't bother trying on the 8, but the 12 was a good fit. It was tight on my hips and a little too big on top (a 10 probably would have been best), but it still looked really nice. I got compliments all night. It's a really easy dress to style and is beautifully constructed. I would definitely rent it again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 201lbs
February 8, 2014
Definitely had heads turning and felt beautiful.
It was a really hard dress to get on, and once it was on, it sucked in all the right places but i felt like it didn't make room for all the curves i had. Flattened out breasts a bit, but the fact that it sucks in the stomach made it ok.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
February 20, 2014
Beautiful dress but did not wear it.
Size up. It def runs 1-2 size small.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116lbs
February 21, 2014
I wore this to a holiday ball and I received compliments all night long.
I usually wear a 0 but read the reviews and ended up in a 4. The dress fit like a glove except in the butt but the fabric wasn't too loose.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
April 9, 2014
You need to see it to believe it!
No give whatsoever in the fabric - curvy girls size up - I'm 5'2" and it came to my knee which was a shocker since i thought it would be longer but boy was i pleasantly surprised!. This is a figure hugging gorgeous dress that will break necks all night!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 110lbs
April 20, 2014
Cute, but SIZE UP
I'm usually between a size 2 and 4, and got this dress in a size 2 with 4 as a backup size. I couldn't even get the 2 over my (fairly narrow) hips, and the 4 was difficult to zip up and still squeezed me like a sausage. The girls were also really strapped down and practically spilling over. Because of the fit, I didn't need shapewear, though I definitely had to limit food and drink intake for the night. A pretty dress, but be sure to size up, especially for the ladies with B+ cups!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123lbs
April 30, 2014
TOO SMALL
Weird fit. I normally wear a size 4...even the 6 fit small...maybe the 8 would have been better. Didnt wear.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
May 16, 2014
LOVED IT!
Loved this dress so much. Definitely agree with the comments that it is tight. Wore it to a wedding and got many compliments. I would rent this again!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
June 6, 2014
My event is Saturday evening so I am online again trying to find another option...
Beautiful dress, great quality but it has no give what so ever. I could not get the zipper up!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 134lbs
June 10, 2014
It was just ok. It looked great on me but it was super uncomfortable
The dress runs small and was super right. Also the busy part keeps flipping over and shows the inside black lining
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 143lbs
June 19, 2014
This dress is beautiful! Unlike anything else as far as the construction with the ribbons
This dress is TIGHT!!!!! I couldn't wear a bra with it, definitely size up if you are well endowed. I could fit my toosh and hips in the 4, but no chance to fit my chest--had to wear the 6, and I'm only a B cup! Overall beautiful dress, unique, tons of compliments, real standout at black tie optional wedding. One piece of advice, in my picture (after 3 hours of dancing) you can see the liner popping out on top. The best way to keep it down is to make sure to pull down from the inside the liner with the boning so it is closer to your waist, and pull the outer layer up. Nearly impossible to keep the hanger ribbons in, if I owned this dress I would've removed them. Beautiful dress! Worth the hassle!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
June 26, 2014
Didn't get to wear the dress but appreciate the customer service!
I rented this for a formal wedding.I'm a size 6 but I saw it runs small so I got an 8 as well. Neither fit. But, customer service stylists are extremely helpful and accommodating! They sent me a replacement size, no shipping charges and I returned the 1st two. Unfortunately, the 10 wasn't available so they sent the 12...which was too big. Bottom line: I'd go TWO sizes up in this dress but Customer Service is exceptional! I will now have a credit for a future dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 170lbs
June 30, 2014
Too small :(
Would not zip all the way up, but the dress was cute. I'm short petite and it stopped just at my knees, which was perfect for a date. I couldn't return it bc I waited too late to rent & try on. But I love RTR so I'll rent again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 131lbs
July 1, 2014
This dress was really beautiful! I was so excited to wear it. I got non stop compliments all night!
This dress does fit like a glove, but it hides any imperfections that you may have. I did use some fashion tape and taped the top part to my bra to keep the dress in place. It stayed all night without any needed adjustment. I wore brushed gold accessories and finally was able to find champagne heels to match. I loved it so much and have already reserved it for another wedding I am going to in August.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 139lbs
July 4, 2014
When the reviews say RUNS SMALL take it very seriously...
The dress is beautiful but as many have indicated it runs extremely small. I would have gotten the 10, but it isn't available (I'm thinking they don't have it anymore because there was no 10 available no matter what dates I searched.) I thought the 12 would have been way to big, but after trying to try on the 8, I realize that I could have managed the 12. I can't even tell you if the bottom (hip area) runs big or small because the problem began with the uber tight corset top part, which I couldn't even get over my upper body. I have VERY small shoulders, especially for a girl my height, so this was most surprising. Dress was lovely, if you can get it on, you will no doubt be a knock out, but I recommend that you size up a few sizes.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
July 20, 2014
I wore this for a family wedding.
Every review I read said this dress runs small, so I requested the 6 and 8 even though I usually wear a 4. They both were too big, especially on top. The 6 would not stay on when I raised my arms. I am very lucky though because I called and RTR was able to overnight me a 4 (for no extra charge) and it arrived with enough time before my Saturday evening event. The 4 was snug, and still a bit too big in the chest, but it worked and I loved wearing the dress. I got many many compliments. Great dress!!! My only wish was that the top was a little tighter, or could have snapped into my bra.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
July 21, 2014
Gorgeous color and sheen!
I rented this dress for my boyfriend's sisters wedding. Her wedding was very formal (but not black tie). I typically wear a size 2 or 4 in dresses but followed previous rental suggestions and rented a 6. The 6 fit me overall but was large in the chest area for me so I was able to wear a strapless bra. Overall, I loved the color or this dress, it is form fitting but the length counteracts it being too revealing for a wedding. The cons to this dress as other renters mentioned is the top (see 2 picture) continued to roll down throughout the night and also the garment straps (there were 4) also continued to show throughout the night. This became pretty frustrating when taking pictures (as you can see).
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 117
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 106lbs
July 27, 2014
Got lots of compliments, and looks great in pictures. Sizing is funky.
Construction was a lot different than I expected from the pictures. It's more a black dress with champagne bands sewn onto it than loosely connected champagne bands with a black liner peeking through. (That doesn't seem like such a big deal until you have to figure out what color shoes to wear.) It definitely runs small. I'm a firm 2, and ordered a 4 as a back-up based on other reviews. I didn't even bother trying on the 2. The 4 fit just right once we got the zipper up. The dress was snug all over EXCEPT at the bust. I didn't quite have enough assets to fill out the cups and the wire at the top beneath the shoulders was rolling down on both sides. I did have to do a bit of tugging throughout the night. There was no risk of flashing anyone, but I was definitely showing far more liner than the designer probably intended. The dress material is pretty heavy, but if you have a belly at all, you may want to consider pulling on some shapewear. It's a flattering dress, but I'm gun-shy about the brand's sizing now. I'll probably avoid BCBG/Max Azria dresses in the future.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
July 29, 2014
Didn't like it for my body!
I didn't like this dress at all for my body type because I have curves and I love to show them off. Whereas with this dress it made my butt look flat and it flattened my boobs! I didn't even wear the dress I ended up wearing a totally different outfit, which was disappointing because I had my heart set on this one!
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
August 21, 2014
runs waaay too small. very hard to move
I normally wear a 4. I ordered this in a 4 and a 6 and I could barely breathe or move in the 6. Order way up, or look for something else if comfort is important to you!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
August 27, 2014
I have never received so many compliments in one night in my life!
I truly loved this dress; however, it was extremely fitted which made it a little uncomfortable. I guess it's true when they say "it doesn't matter if it hurts as long as you look beautiful." The size 6 was super fitted and the size 8 was really loose on me so obviously I wore size 6. Overall I liked it, I felt beautiful, sexy and classy.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
3 / 7

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×