BCBGMAXAZRIA

Carbon Color Chaos Dress

$72 to buy
$288 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Speechless! Rent this BCBGMAXAZRIA color block shift. You'll be the talk of the party and the most fashionable lady there. Pair with Coralia Leets' Sapphire Druzy Ring and the Lilly Pulitzer's Golden Elephant Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS - L

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist with adjustable tie belt
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted on hips and backside - may be more fitted on full hips so consider sizing up in back-up size
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra and seamless underwear; dress has built-in slip
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Product Details

Multi color-block silk(100% polyester). Crew neckline. Short sleeves. Belted waist with tie back. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
73 reviews
Fit
Large
(19)
True to Size
(47)
Small
(7)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
September 19, 2012
super modern and different
i rented this for a wedding and never actually got to try it on as i loved my backup dress as soon as i tried it on. i was really cute but i probably wouldn't have ended up wearing it for a wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
September 29, 2012
This dress is very unique...got a lot of compliments.
I didn't like having to maneuver the belt the whole night. Whenever I moved my arms, I felt like I had to readjust.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
October 10, 2012
Great dress for an occasion for which I had NOTHING to wear!
I was between sizes S and M, and the dress was too tight around the hips to wear the small, and the fabric has no give to it at all. Thank goodness for the two size shipments! The sash was a little annoying, as it kept folding over itself and moving around even though I taped it. It's a fantastic look, especially with a good statement necklace like the model has in the photo. I wore it with high boots, but I'd probably go with ankle boots or pumps if I were to do this again.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 138lbs
October 12, 2012
Simple but stylish!
Good thing this dress has a sash- without it, it would be truly shapeless! It took me some time to get the sash just right so that the dress didn't hang funny or make me appear frumpy. I think the best thing about this dress were the two pops of bright color- making it more unique/current than a typical LBD. I wore this to a wedding and it was just perfect for such an occasion: dressy, but not over the top. This is such a versatile dress !
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 43
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
October 12, 2012
Not a flattering shape
This dress looks fabulous from the front. I love the color blocking. It's comfortable and easy. Unfortunately, from the side and back the shape was very unflattering on my body, and made me look rather dumpy. I tried both the medium and the large and vetoed both. It seems to have flattered the figures of other reviewers, so it may simply be a mismatch to my shape, which includes a very curvy rear. This was my back up dress and I did not wear it. I was thrilled with the dress I did wear, which was a different BCBG MaxAzria dress (Colorblock Perfection).
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
October 13, 2012
I rented this dress for a christening and it was comfortable and I received compliments!
The dress was true to size and fit very well, it was really comfortable. No cons of the dress and the belt was
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 138lbs
October 27, 2012
Comfy and put together
This was a very comfortable dress to wear. Since I ended up not having an event to go to, I wore this to work. It was very work appropriate and I got several compliments. I will say, as others mentioned, the lime colored belt is actually a sash and I had to keep adjusting it. Otherwise, a very nice dress. Everyone liked the color-block look.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 4, 2012
Perfect for a cocktail party or a night out.
The sash seemed too small, but luckily, it fit around my waist.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
November 4, 2012
Just perfect for a work function!
I absolutely love this dress and wish I could own it! It was so comfortable and looked great. I received a ton of compliments from everyone, from the partners at my firm to my friends. It worked perfectly to go from the office to cocktail party to dinner with friends. Absolutely great dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
November 12, 2012
Nice Dressy- Tricky Belt
Loved this dress overall. I got great compliments on it and it was the perfect dress for an engaement party (not too dressy, but just right) The only tif I had with the dress was the belt. The picture makes it look very flattering and "just right" however the belt was a very light silk material, wrinkled and because its not sown onto the fabric the belt doesnt stay in place. I had to use the complimentary fabric tape which worked wonders!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 121lbs
November 13, 2012
Received lots of compliments all day at work.
It was great for business or after 5.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
November 25, 2012
disappointed
because of the slip underneath fits more like a sheath dress around hips and thighs and even though it looks so rich on the model was worried that the fabric wouldn't translate to "dressed up" at the gala
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
December 17, 2012
The colors are fantastic!
This dress isn't fitted, but is cut very flattering. The belt really makes it. I picked this as a back-up dress for one party, but ended up wearing it for a different party the same weekend and LOVED it. So comfortable and fun to dance in. The only con is the pockets. They don't really make sense and the pocket is in the slip, but the exterior pocket isn't attached to the actual pocket.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
December 24, 2012
Cute Dress but Beware of Belt!
I rented this dress in two sizes for my work holiday party. The dress was cute (if a little snug through the hips) but BOTH dresses arrived without the belt! I saw other reviewers had had problems with their belts, so I planned to use one I already own, so that may be a problem if you are away from home. Otherwise, I received lots of compliments - make sure to pair it with a fun statement necklace and you are good to go.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
December 28, 2012
Really wanted to love this one...
I ordered a Large and Medium. The Large was a bit to big for me, even considering the dress is meant to be loose fitting (especially on top) anyway. The Medium would have been perfect except that my hips were too much for the bottom half of the dress to handle. The lining is great, but it was too tight to sit smoothly on me. A really cute dress otherwise, though the only structure is from the included yellow cloth belt. The dress itself is just a shift. I'm sure it would work on someone taller or a bit less hippy than me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
January 2, 2013
Fun idea, did not wear it though
I added this dress onto an existing order just in case my other dress did not fit. I did not end up wearing this dress or even trying it on because my other dress fit so well. Cute though!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
January 3, 2013
great dress
Overall very happy with the dress, but wish the sash stayed put a little more. I am a little short waisted, so if you have a longer torso may not be a problem
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
January 7, 2013
Unusual dress
I ordered the S and the M. The S fit on top but was snug at the hips. I opted to wear the M but the top felt a little sloppy. Loved that I could wear a regular bra and the dress has pockets (which is a plus). I had to steam the belt because it was very wrinkled. Also the dress is navy which doesn't come across in the photo. I thought it was black so I wore it with black tights and heels. I felt comfortable all night but I wasn't impressed enough to want to rent it again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
March 3, 2013
My RTR experience was pretty amazing!
I rented this dress for my husband's 30th birthday. The event was in another state so I was horrified to see that I forgot to pack the belt (sash) that came with the dress. I had to run out and buy a belt to wear and unfortunately I didn't do a very good job. The colors were too similar to look good together but oh well. I really wanted to find a thick lime green one but didn't have any luck. The dress fit great and was really comfortable. I'm extremely pleased with my RTR experience.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
August 13, 2011
I am with mixed emotions about this dress. I think the most appropriate body type is for straight & narrow or petite. The belt is not very long in the small size and doesn't tie properly as in the photo. Perhaps if I had no waist at all it would look better. I also ordered the medium and it looks too baggy. I like the colors as it is "different" but the quality of the material can be improved. I am noticing 3 of the 6 dresses I rented seem to be cheaper quality material. I have rented from rtr before and hope to continue but if the material is going to be the cheapest possible, I may have to reconsider future rentals.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 39
Body type: Straight & narrow
September 12, 2011
I ordered a small and x-small of this dress and wore the small (I typically wear a 2-4). I LOVED it. It was incredibly flattering and just the right length (I worried it might be too short since I am tall.) I got compliments on it throughout the night.
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Body type: Straight & narrow
September 22, 2011
I rented this dress because the length was short on the model. I figured it would be just at my knees given that I'm only 5'4", but boy was a wrong! The large fit below my knees. I had to improvise by gathering more fabric above the sash to bring the length up. By the way, the dress is actually a drapey shift dress that hangs like a paper sack. It becomes tucked at the waist when you wrap the sash around. Also, the dress is navy and black, not just black. The fabric is kind of static-y, but not so much to say it's cheap. I think the fabric was fine. On a good note, this dress was SUPER CUTE!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
September 27, 2011
I rented this great dress for a nice dinner and it was perfect. It's not form fitting but the belt adds a great compliment to any body type. DO IT!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 13, 2011
I rented this to wear to Jersey Boys, but ended up wearing the Studio 54 Halston to the show because our dressy dinner was immediately following the show without time to change. So I didn't get to wear this dress. But I did try it on. The XS fit perfectly. A bit longer than expected, but it was so cute on! I was crushed I didn't get to wear it. I'm looking for an excuse to rent it again so I can actually wear it! FYI it's not really black, it's more like 2 shades of navy. Very flattering. The sash really cinches in your waist and it is slimming. But for us short/average girls it does fall a bit longer or closer to the knees, depending on how much you blouse the top. Very striking dress and very comfortable also! Someone mentioned the quality of the material, but I thought the quality was very nice. Maybe I got a garment that had not been rented very often therefore had very little wear and tear. But I was happy with the quality, it was what I expected for a BCBG Runway garment.
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Body type: Petite
October 26, 2011
I actually never wore this dress as both the XS and SM were too big!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Body type: Pear
October 26, 2011
This was a really cute dress, but not sure it works as "bump friendly", as was recommended. I wanted to wear the belt above my bump, but it kept shifting around all night. Then, the blue color block on the front would show under the belt, which looked odd. Plus, the "belt loops" were in the wrong place for my bump, so I couldn't use them and they ended up flopping around all night, looking like loose strings. Would definitely recommend the dress, but not to my pregnant friends!
cap1282March 14, 2012
Hi Jenhart - how far along were you when you rented this dress?
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
December 8, 2011
Loved it!
It's cute, conservative, and stylish. I wore it to a holiday party. Looks great with tights. It might be worth finding a great necklace or earrings. I didn't do that and it seemed like something was lacking. Overall great, comfortable, and good quality. Loved it and wish it was permanently in my closet!! The belt comes totally off so sometimes it would slide around, just FYI.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 9, 2011
I absolutely loved this dress-- everyone told me how chic and unique my dress was!
I absolutely loved this dress...I wish I owned it! I rented it in two different sizes: XS and S. The XS was too tight around my hips/behind, and the shoulders were a bit snug. I'm normally a size small, but I chose to rent a smaller size just in case because the dress appeared to be a bit more flowy. NOTE: the green sash does not lay flat against the dress as shown in the picture...its is more like a belt.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
December 27, 2011
Cute dress but big
This is a really cute dress. I ordered for a casual company party, and it would have been perfect except the small was too big for me, and the XS was not available. The sash was great because you could cinch it up to show your waist even though the rest of the dress is loose and flowy. The liked the way the skirt was not flared. It laid nicely. Length and neckline are conservative.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
January 9, 2012
Sooooo Comfortable
I wore this dress for my little sister's birthday dinner. It was a little large on me but I was able to use the belt to tie it up a bit. I was happily surprised at how comfortable the dress was! I could have pigged out and would have still looked great in it.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
April 18, 2012
fun
as soon as i took the dress out the bag i thought wth!! it looked kind of like a potatoo sack. then after i tried it onn and added the accesories it all fit together. in the end it fit really nice and i was happy with how i looked. where the colors meet it kind of looks ripped and cheap and the sash is not flat like in the picture.just make sure to really i mean really zoom into the picture bfore renting.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
May 11, 2012
Baggy fit, unflattering on me.
I didn't end up wearing this dress. I'm glad that many smaller women loved the dress - maybe it just wasn't good for my body type? The dress just kind of hangs, and the belt didn't do enough to save it. It was long enough, which I was initially concerned about, given my height. I also agree with the other reviewer who wrote about it looking frayed - a fashion technique, perhaps, but not appealing to me. I'm glad I rented this as my second dress - my first was fantastic and I was going to wear this the second night - so I was only out the $25.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
August 17, 2012
Super cute but not for pears
I fell in love with the dress when I saw it on the website because it has a chic, arty vibe. And it does have that vibe in person. As previous users have mentioned, some of the seams are a bit (purposely) frayed, but I liked that. I am all over the board when it comes to sizing (usually a 10 but sometimes an 8 or a 12 depending on the cut of the garment) but I went with a medium because of the reviews here. The top fit fine, and maybe even was a little loose, but the bottom was tight across my hips/upper thighs. So much so that it looked like I was wearing two pieces - a blousy top and a too tight skirt. And maybe I could have gotten away with that if it was not for the pockets - the tightness in the hip area made them stretch open. I rated this as being true to size, but the top definitely ran big and the bottom was true to size or a bit smaller. I was bummed it didn't work out for me because it is a cute dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
August 20, 2012
Nice Colors, Snug Fit
The dress is lovely. The description is right - there is no give in the fabric of the dress. The fabric, while not stretchy, is comfortable and light. The sash needs a bit of fussing to sit right, but didn't move around easily for me once I got it situated.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
August 22, 2012
Birthday dress
I wore this for my birthday in March, and it looked really cute with black tights. It definitely needed the belt to make it a bit tighter and show off my waist.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
August 28, 2012
Casual Chic
Great BCBG dress though more on the casual side. It was perfect for the party I attended and very flattering due to the cut and the belt. I would rent this dress again. I typically wear a medium at BCBG though so I would recommend that if you are in between, go a size up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
September 9, 2012
So easy and great colors
This dress is such an easy wear, it is flattering and comfortable. I was sad to send this one back! The color is an off black/navy almost? But the colors all go so well together it looked great. Pair it with semi sheer black tights or even charcoal an it looks great. I love the look with tights and ankle boots.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 110lbs
March 19, 2013
Perfecet for a job interview!
I rented this dress for a job interview and it was perfect. I was a little bit nervous since on the model it looks more appropriate for a cocktail hour, but it was a lot more conservative in real life! Loved it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
April 19, 2013
Great Dress! Belt Sash was Eh...
Loved this dress! Wore it for a bachelorette party and was comfortable dancing the night away! However I wore a different belt than the one that came with the dress. What comes with the dress is actually a fabric sash and has little structure. If you have another bright belt that you can wear then definitely order this dress, if not then I would be cautious. Also the pockets on my dress weren't attached to the lining, so I kept putting items in what I thought were the pockets, only to have them come out the bottom of my dress, so be careful!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
May 8, 2013
great dress and comfortable :)
I got so many compliments everyone loved it. the belt bunches though i had to keep fixing it.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×