Badgley Mischka

Yellow Peacock Chiffon Dress

$149 to buy
$422 retail
Stylist Notes

Work the dance floor in this vibrant yellow cocktail dress by Badgley Mischka. Perfect for the girl who can throw off her shoes and dance the night away with her girlfriends!

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust with structure and boning; fuller busted women should size up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at waist
HIPS: Fitted - lossely fitted throughout skirt
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or no bra due to built in support
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Yellow chiffon(100% Polyester). Strapless neckline. Ruffled bodice. Draped skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 37'' from shoulder the hem. Imported.

Share
419 reviews
Fit
Large
(24)
True to Size
(276)
Small
(81)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
June 24, 2015
I loved this dress!

I absolutely loved this dress! Typically in Rent the Runway dresses I wear a 6. The six on me was skin tight and the boning in the six was really pointy (because it was too small). The 8 was a tad big on top but because of the boning, that wasn't an issue. The boning in the 8 was not pokey and the dress was comfortable. I wore a blue Kendra Scott necklace with it. I also wore really cool blue nine west peep toe heels. I was worried my skin was too fair too look good in the dress, but that wasn't an issue either. I received compliments all night and felt very comfortable. I loved the dress and would highly recommend it.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
July 27, 2015
Did not wear.

I did not end up wearing this dress. The size 8 top fit a bit big/loose but would've stayed in place if need be. However, the bottom was too tight for my pear shaped lower half. I sent both sizes back and was overnighted a different dress which I ended up wearing and LOVED.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 173lbs
July 29, 2015
Wasn't for me!

I usually don't wear strapless dresses but was encouraged with the review from other Rent the Runway ladies. The dress is really a gorgeous color and I had rented it for a wedding in Mexico. Unfortunately, the fit just wasn't right for me and it wasn't comfortable. Too tight in the waist and I remembered why I don't wear strapless - just not flattering on me!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 31
October 6, 2015
Beautiful color and flowing design good for an outdoor wedding.

The boning in the corset was very uncomfortable, so I wore the larger size. Also, the front pleating when you turned to one side was a bit unflattering. It stayed up easily and I got many compliments, though.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
April 28, 2014
Color, shape, length

This is a beautiful high quality dress, and it was great for a summer outdoor wedding. However, I gave it 3 stars because the wire in the top kept poking me and I had to wear spankx because of the sheerness of the bottom half. I also had to go up a size because it was so fitted on the bottom half. The length was perfect and I even wore sandals. I would suggest this if you are very thin, and don't mind it being sheer.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
February 8, 2012
Really fun dress!

I rented a 2 and a 4 in this and it ran smaller than other Badgley Mischa dresses I've rented. I was so excited when I took it out of the box because the color and fabric are gorgeous and it was a great looking structure and shape. The ruffle goes over a structured dress with a nipped in waist. Unfortunately the fabric pulled a little too tight across my thighs and butt even in the 4. I wore it anyway, but it is less forgiving than it looks since the loose fabric covers the front and would conceal a tummy if i had one, but doesn't continue in the back. Would be a beautiful dress for a summer wedding for someone who is smaller on the bottom.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
August 20, 2012
I danced ALL night in this beautiful dress - the boning up top held it up without the need for me to tug at it. This was my first social outing after having my baby boy two months ago and I felt so special after all of the great compliments!

I have nothing but good things to say about this dress! It was sexy but forgiving in all the right places. It ran a little small for me but I had a baby a few months ago so it's hard to gauge - I would recommend going a size up for the back-up. The color is gorgeous and bright without being obnoxious.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
October 5, 2012
Gorgeous

i wore it with open toed gold pumps and added a rather loud necklace that worked perfectly.I got tons of compliments!!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 210lbs
May 6, 2013
SHOWSTOPPER! People couldn't stop talking about it and the compliments were endless!

I wore this for a charity gala I was working with the evening before the Kentucky Derby, and it was PERFECT for the event. Tons of compliments -- and even though bold colors are definitely worn by many, nobody was wearing anything like this! The boning is somewhat comfortable... you'll see other reviewers say that it's a little pokey/scratchy, and they're right. I wore high-waisted SPANX to combat this. That works... but BE WARNED: you CANNOT pull the SPANX down to use the bathroom once they're up and you're zipped into the dress! Make sure you have an 'exit strategy' on that one (or live with the boning poking you). The top stayed secure throughout a night of dancing -- though it was a little roomier than I expected (and I'm a 38D). Otherwise pretty comfortable, you don't feel like you need to pull it up and it will NOT move around. I am pretty large on the bottom (pear shaped) and while the fit was snug it wasn't awful. If you're a curvy woman considering this, I'd say go for it!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122lbs
August 11, 2014
Perfect Dress for a Destination Wedding!

I ordered this dress for a brunch, destination wedding in Puerto Rico and it was perfect. The color is nice and bright, its has a delicate material and the sweetheart neckline and boning make the dress really flattering. I was concern of only having one option in size 6, as I'm more of a 4, but the 6 fit really well. Highly recommended :) Pros: Brilliant color, different, flows with the wind and really feminine. Cons: N/A

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
August 26, 2014
Great dress for a summer wedding!

Beautiful dress, I loved it! However, it was a little too tight on the top and I couldn't wear it, the size 6 was not available for th date of my event. I am a 34C and the dress was super tight on top. I think the size 6 may have been too big on the bottom. I was disappointed this one didn't work out. I received a replacement dress the morning of the wedding wore the Shoshanna garden party dress, which I also loved!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
October 29, 2014
LOVED this dress!

The 4 fit on the top, but it was pretty clingy in the bum area, so I went up a size. Loved the dress - it was great to dance in, was comfortable and I received a bunch of compliments on it. Perfect for a late summer wedding. I was sad I had to return it :(

View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 168lbs
January 30, 2012
Home Run!

I wore this dress for my birthday dinner and all I can say is I made the right decision! The yellow color complimented my skin tone and the flowy-ness of the dress gave it a romantic feel. I received many compliments all night and took lots of pictures! There is a built in bodice which was good because I didn't have to wear a bra, but it was digging into my side so that was a little uncomfortable. Also I usually wear a size 8 but I ended up wearing the 10. I definitely recommend wearing spanx underneath this dress is see through! All in all loved the dress!

kavitaJanuary 30, 2012
So happy someone my size ordered this! I ordered this for a black tie optional wedding in NC. Do you think I could dress it up enough to make it work? I have another dress in case. How did you accessorize?
DeniseJanuary 30, 2012
I'm about 5'6" also and am just wondering how long the dress was on you?
RTRJanuary 30, 2012
Hi Denise, the dress measures 37'' from shoulder the hem so it will be similar to the model picture here!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
April 3, 2012
rented for a wedding

Loved this dress! I think it runs a little small....I usually wear a 4 and went with the 6. The color was very fun. Probably was the most comfortable strapless dress I've ever worn, the top barely budged all night. Got lots of compiments. Only negative I can come up with...it's very sheer and my underwear was visible no matter what I tried...ended up getting spanx that went from just under my bust to about mid thigh.

Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
September 21, 2012
.

Pretty dress, pretty color. But runs very small.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170lbs
October 15, 2012
Amazing color!

I wore this for a beach wedding in Aruba. The material was light and comfortable. The dress does run very small, but luckily I read other reviews and ordered the proper size. I received so many compliments, and would definitely recommend this dress!

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Body type: Pear
June 8, 2013
Perfect for a summer wedding and to hide any flaws

Loved the bright yellow color, forgiving fabric, and sweetheart neckline. I usually wear a size 6 so this was roomy at the bust but waist and hips were actually a good fit. Thank goodness for the quick advice from the stylist via IM who guided me to get 8 and 10. I was worried the delicate fabric would get caught in many places but that never happened. I received many compliments. Thanks RTR!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
June 17, 2013
Super pretty

I rented this dress as a backup for a wedding I went to, and I was really excited to try it on. It was actually too small in the bust for me (I usually wear a 36DD), so I couldn't wear it. It looked like it would have been really cute, though!

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 11, 2013
I loved the way this dress fell on my body. A flowing top was very flattering to the midsection.

Love it! Love the yellow. Wore it with turquoise accessories and a black blazer (just for outside)

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
May 27, 2014
Great Dress - Lots of Compliments - Painful Boning

First off - I received a ton of compliments on this dress. It was very flattering and the strapless stayed on well despite the fact that I have a rather large chest (34DDD). It does run small (no stretch). One negative is that the boning is rather painful, have minor scrapes and a bruise on my back from dancing in it. Would still recommend the dress because it looked good and stayed up well.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
June 9, 2014
Tight on bust

I loved this dress from the second i saw it. I am busty on top and have a wider back. I thought the 14 would be good based on the reviews, but once zipped, I could not breathe comfortably. If I had a 16 I would have 100% worn it. I hope to drop a few pounds and rent the dress again so I can actually wear it.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 29
July 31, 2014
Definitely not a good fit

Definitely not a good fit for a petite, short and narrow girl!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
September 1, 2014
Beautiful color/dress but a bit uncomfortable..

Such a beautiful dress and color but the corset inside is painful to wear for a long period of time. I received tons of compliments on this dress, tho!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 6, 2015
Bright and fun, but a little lackluster.

I rented this for a vacation in Costa Rica. It was bright and fun, but really tight. I usually fit very comfortably in a 4 and could barely zip this up. It was too uncomfortable to wear for the night.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
May 16, 2016
The color was great, fit is comfortable for curves. Simple and elegant.

The color stood out and was flattering. I tucked the top flutter layer in because it added too much volume and was not flattering on my body. But it worked and I was comfortable all night. After eating and sitting, the boning started to dig into my ribs, but it just reminded me to sit up straight! I wore a black, white, yellow and gold necklace, white lucite bangle and nude colored strappy sandals as accessories.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
May 19, 2016
The color was great, fit is comfortable for curves. Simple and elegant.

The color stood out and was flattering. I tucked the top flutter layer in because it added too much volume and was not flattering on my body. But it worked and I was comfortable all night. After eating and sitting, the boning started to dig into my ribs, but it just reminded me to sit up straight! I wore a black, white, yellow and gold necklace, white lucite bangle and nude colored strappy sandals as accessories.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
July 10, 2016
Wonderful dress!

Very flattering. Runs a bit small. Good thing I got the size up as back up. By the end of the night the wiring in the chest area was starting to take its toll on me. But overall it was worth it!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
December 11, 2016
stand out color!

perfect fit, flattering!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
March 21, 2012
I loved renting this dress from RTR. Bright colors are right on trend for spring, but if I purchased this dress, I would never wear it again. I received tons of compliments all night long.

I have always had great experiences with Badgley Mischka dresses and this one did not disappoint. I rented for a outdoor wedding and received tons of compliments all night long. The dress is extremely well made and the boning provides structure and support. This dress is lovely and form fitting in the waist but is still forgiving in the tummy area. The only hiccup I encountered with the dress was the bust. The dress barely zipped, but I made it work. I have this issues with all dresses so it was expected. I would definitely recommend and rent again.

KelseyMarch 21, 2012
Gorgeous!
ChristinaMarch 21, 2012
Gorgeous! The dress looks like a great length! It was almost to your knees?
RTRMarch 21, 2012
Hi Christina, this dress will be right above the knee if you are 5'4 or a bit below!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
April 5, 2012
Beautiful.

Dress was simple and gorgeous. Looks just like on the model. Great fabric to dance in. I got compliments all night.

Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
April 11, 2012
See through!

The bottom portion of this dress is completely see through. Unless you are wearing pantyhose and no underwear, I don't know how you could do it. I rented the dress for a rehearsal dinner the night before a wedding and since I did not want to offend people, decided not to wear it.

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 9, 2012
Get the dress and the necklace

I wore this dress and the necklace shown with the dress to a wedding and never had so many compliments!! Two things I wish is that I actually owned this outfit and that I had a picture to upload so viewers could see it. I matched it with a pair of blue suede strappy heals, and wore a short nude slip underneath because the fabric is a bit see through. Love, Love, Love!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
May 28, 2012
Beautiful color and dress

I got many compliments on this dress. It ran true to size for the most part but it was a little loose at the top. Also by the end of the night the boning wire in the bodice starting scratching my torso. I think this was due to previous wear. Also the zipper would get caught in the middle so I had to zip the dress all the way then pull it up. I attribute this to wear as well. If the bodice didn't scratch me this dress would have been a five. It had a great fit!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
June 14, 2012
Cute but didn't fit perfectly!

I am very proportionate - and this dress didn't fit quite right. The size 6 fit up top but was a little snug in the butt, and the size 8 was massive up top. I would recommend this for bustier gals who can't normally rock strapless dresses.

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
June 22, 2012
This dress stood out - in a good way!

I rented this dress for a summer wedding in Providence. I was a little nervous about the fit due to the mixed reviews here, but it was perfect! I have a small bust and the sweetheart neckline was super flattering. The color and fabric really stood out. I got a ton of compliments and felt so comfortable dancing all night.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
July 3, 2012
Worth it.

I rented this dress for a wedding this summer. I rented a 4 and a 6 based on the previous reviews about the fit. The 4 fit perfectly and the length hit me right at the knee. The color is gorgeous in person, and I didn't find it shear, either. People complimented on the dress all day and night! The only negative is that the boning was very restrictive while trying to dance. In the morning, I had 4 identical bruised scrapes on my back where the boning had been stabbing me all night...kind of feel like it's the price you pay for a dress like that. I'm ok with it.

Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
July 10, 2012
A good time with good friends.

Besides a few pulls that were in the fabric and being stabbed by the boning, this dress did not let me down. Got tons of compliments. It's a bright refreshing pop of color, yet elegant and flowy.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
July 13, 2012
When wedding photos ended up on facebook the love for this dress continued to pour in :)

I received more compliments on this dress.....the color, style, everything! Not to mention, it fit perfectly! I was able to sit, eat dinner, dance all night and it stayed up and in place looking flawless. I typically wear a 0 or 2 and have a 32D bust and the 0 was perfection (32D-24-35). Loved the length too!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 122lbs
July 16, 2012
Color is amazing!

I rented this dress for my best friends bridal shower. It was perfect for a day time formal event. Unfortunately, the dress that I received was stained right in the front :( But, it did fit perfectly and true to size, which is weird for Badgley Mischka as it normally runs big. Order a size up for backup size, and if you order a size 2, make sure to request that they check it for stains!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
July 18, 2012
Everyone asking me where I got my dress and how great I looked floored me.

LOVE LOVE LOVE this dress!!! It was so fun to accessorize with the bright yellow. I wore it to an outdoor summer wedding and I was amazed with the amount of compliments I got. It fit perfect and was super flattering! My only complaints are the boning in the back. It seems strange you'd need boning in the back of a dress anyway since it's pretty fitted in the top but the boning was coming through the material of the dress and jabbing me in the back all night. I covered it with bandaids once I started dancing, though, and everything was fine.

View photos (1)
See more reviews:
4 / 11

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×