Badgley Mischka

Yellow Peacock Chiffon Dress

$149 to buy
$422 retail
Stylist Notes

Work the dance floor in this vibrant yellow cocktail dress by Badgley Mischka. Perfect for the girl who can throw off her shoes and dance the night away with her girlfriends!

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust with structure and boning; fuller busted women should size up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at waist
HIPS: Fitted - lossely fitted throughout skirt
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or no bra due to built in support
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Yellow chiffon(100% Polyester). Strapless neckline. Ruffled bodice. Draped skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 37'' from shoulder the hem. Imported.

Share
419 reviews
Fit
Large
(24)
True to Size
(275)
Small
(80)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
May 13, 2012
Delivered on-time as always!
The dress fit small, so I wore a size up, but the material was beautiful and I loved the color. It was perfect for a spring wedding.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
July 14, 2012
the dress
Loooooved this dress! would reccommend highly for anyone. great color, makes you standout. perfect length for formal affair. comfy
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
September 11, 2012
The yellow color is so much brighter in person - perfectly on trend for summer's bold colors
I wore this dress for a charity polo tournament. The color is gorgeous - much brighter yellow in person. I had tons of compliments and people asking where I got it all day long! The fit is slightly on the small side and there is boning in the bodice that can poke a bit when sitting, but over all I loved this dress and would purchase it in a heartbeat!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
September 12, 2012
The color really stood out! Completely different from any other dress in the wedding crowd!
I really liked this dress. I ordered both the 4 and the 6 - I am a pretty solid size 4, but I ended up wearing the 6. The 4 fit perfectly in the bust, but was wayyy too tight across the butt! The 6 fit okay in bust, but fit much better around the butt. Loved the color. Paired with the Kate Spade midnight statement earrings. Some people have complained about the boning in the dress - it was a little annoying at times, but not enough to prevent me from wearing. There were also a few small snags in the fabric, but overall it did not take away from the dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
September 19, 2012
Bright and Cheery!
This dress was great! Very bright and Fun! The dress came a little above the knee which I thought was very class...especially since the top has a little bit of a plunge. I would definitely recommend it for more of a summer wedding or vacay. Too Bright for Fall.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
September 19, 2012
Everyone saying that yellow was my color!
Fit great everywhere and pinched nowhere. Good length. Didn't feel like anything was out of place. best rental yet !
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
September 21, 2012
Perfect for a spring wedding
The yellow was gorgeous, got compliments all night. The ruffle on the bust is flattering and its roomey around the waist.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
September 23, 2012
Color of this dress was beautiful. I have an olive complexion and received compliments all night.
I am on the busty side, so the 12 fit me perfectly. It has plenty of built-in support, so I didn't have to mess with a strapless bra which was great. The color is bright and the dress is really comfortable. I would definitely recommend this dress if you are on the curvy side.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
September 24, 2012
Great dress, loved the color and fit!
I would say that this dress is a bit sheer, I wore nude spanks to hide panty lines. Also, the boning is sharp and was painful at timse when sitting down. Overall, loved the dress and got a lot of compliments at an outdoor summer wedding!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 116lbs
September 24, 2012
This dress was gorgeous. The material felt expensive and the boning made it easy to wear.
I usually wore a 0 and had to wear the 2. If I hadn't had the back up size, I probably could have worn the 0 if I had had someone to zip me into it. The 2 fit beautifully though and I didn't have to wear a bra because of the boning.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
September 24, 2012
Pretty color but I didn't wear it because it was small around my hips.
It was tight around my hips and butt, and the top ruffle hid my waist, which wasn't a good combination. Very pretty color though! And the dress was in great shape when it was sent to me. Customer service was fantastic, I wish every business had the customer service that RTR does!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
October 1, 2012
This dress was amazing! A must rent for any formal affair!
I rented this for my friend's wedding. The dress was so beautiful in person and the color is stunning. I received so many compliments all night. It was a little difficult to zip up because I have a fuller bust, but once I got it zipped, it fit like a glove. I would definitely reccomend this dress to everyone! This is my favorite dress I have rented so far!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 1, 2012
bright and summery
I wore this dress to a friends wedding and received compliments all night! I think the bride wished she had picked yellow as her color theme. The only downside was that the boning was a bit painful.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
October 1, 2012
Size up for chest area
I rented this dress to attend a Gala ballet performance. The dress itself is beautiful, color, cut and it is very well made with the internal corset. However it ran a little small on me on the chest area, I could zip it but it felt very restrictive, not good for sitting dancing and eating all night for me. Wish I could have worn it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
October 5, 2012
strange fit
I was not impressed by this dress. The extra fabric on top was a bit overwhelming, even in the size 0. I actually returned this dress and used the credit to get another. For taller girls, beware of the Big Bird look, might look better on those of you that are shorter than 5'9".
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
October 8, 2012
Flattering and Pretty
The dress was great, but I definitely had to go up a size. The particular dress I rented had the plastic boning poking through so that made it very uncomfortable. I added some tape over the pokey areas and it seemed to make it better. I got a lot of compliments on the dress, and it flatters just the right spots!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
October 16, 2012
Pretty Color
It was nice and bright at the wedding, never had to adjust the top which is why I almost never wear strapless dresses. Only thing was the he boning kept coming out and stabbing me in the hip. Kind of bothersome. Definitely needs a statement necklace!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
October 17, 2012
Beautiful dress, possibly too big.
Luckily, I choose 2 different dresses for a wedding. I didn't end up wearing this one because the molding in the top (bra area) was a little too much so there was a funny bump when I put the dress on. Maybe a size smaller would've been a better fit (I chose a size up as my second size) but I ended up wearing the second style. The 3 stars are because I did love the look of this dress but I couldn't give it 5 because I couldn't wear it.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
October 26, 2012
LOVE
I wore this dress for my bridal shower and it was a hit! I usually wear a 4 or 6 and the 6 fit perfect, the 4 was too tight.
MeredithMarch 14, 2013
where did your necklace? I love it, especially with this dress!
RTR CustomerMarch 14, 2013
Hi Meredith! This is our Kate Spade Swirl Triple Row Necklace! You can find it here: http://www.renttherunway.com/shop/designers/short_jewelry/swirltriplerownecklace
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
November 18, 2012
Yellow Rose of Texas
I wore this with boots for a Texas party. I normally wear a 2 or a 4 and the 4 fit better. The color and fabric are great! The boning in the dress is a bit uncomfortable and you will need sheer underwear or a nude slip as it is a little see-through in the back. Fun dress and I received lots of compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 100lbs
January 19, 2013
I didn't even want to wear my graduation robe!
I wore this for my Masters graduation. It was the perfect pretty spring dress for the occasion. I didn't want to wear my robe, but it was perfect for lunch afterwards, and dinner later on that night. I even wore for my sisters high school graduation in the same weekend! It fits true to size, and the boning inside made it great for me since I am small chested. Gorgeous color, but I would recommend a tan if you want to really shine.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 170lbs
January 21, 2013
Loved this dress, beautiful and fun!
This dress is beautifully made, with a rich color. I am a pear shape, so I bumped up a size just to ensure that the dress didn't pull in the butt area. It was perfect for my sorority formal, where I wanted a black tie dress that wasn't fussy.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
January 22, 2013
This dress was perfection. I loved the color for a summer wedding.
Comfortable for dancing.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
January 24, 2013
Great color!
I wore this to a summer wedding and received a ton of compliments on the color. The top fit well but the ruffle on the bottom can make for a puffy look. Overall, I was pleased with the dress.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
January 27, 2013
This was my first RTR rental. Very easy process and I will definetly rent again!
This dress had really great reviews and I agree. It is a fantastic dress, comfortable and easy to wear. I got a lot of compliments on it. I would definetly recommend renting this necklace too. It makes the dress. I paired with purple heels. I wore to an art museum fundraiser but there are so many possibilities with this dress
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
November 19, 2012
too small :( had to return
too small!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
March 19, 2013
Fun and Flirty, But Not Flattering
I wore this dress to the rehearsal dinner for my friend's wedding. It's gorgeous, but a bit shapeless, so you really need to be lean and tall to wear it and that is not exactly me! I structured it with a blazer and wore a bright necklace to draw the attention up. Overall, it was a fun dress, but I wouldn't rent it again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Apple
April 3, 2013
Gorgeous color, flattering on any skin tone, forgiving on all body types.
This was one of four dresses I rented for my bachelorotte party that was celebrated in vegas over three days. Absolutely gorgeous, loved the color and it fit pretty true to size. I felt really pretty in it and wanted to repeat it as a night dress and a day dress . This is one dress, I would definately want to purchase. You can accessorize the heck out of this dress without taking away from it. definately my favorite dress from RTR so far.
SaraApril 28, 2013
LOVE the necklace! Where is it from?
MahaMay 3, 2013
Thanks :) I just bought it on Ebay - just type turquoise bubble necklace. Etsy sells them too!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 5, 2013
Absolutely loved this dress! Such a fun color and a fabulous fit!!
I loved this dress and wish I owned it! The color was fun and the fit was perfect. I ordered both the 4 and the 6. The 4 was actually a better fit throughout but the 6 was easier to zip. I got so many compliments!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
April 15, 2013
Lovvvve this dress!
Fit perfectly- not small at all. The boning cut me when I sat down but you can fix that with some kind of band aid I'm sure.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
April 23, 2013
Fun and flirty!
The top felt so secure- great dress to dance the night away in without worrying about it falling down. Would prefer dress without top drape as it would look more streamlined. The color is vibrant and flattering, but order down unless you're super busty!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
April 24, 2013
Great dress, great color!
I loved the look of this dress - it definitely fit me well. A couple of drawbacks: Wearing this for more than a few hours might be a bit uncomfortable with the boning in the bodice. Also, you'll need a slip! Even nude underwear shows through the back.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
April 26, 2013
Perfect spring choice!
The dress fit perfect, which I was not expecting. Made for a very happy moment. The material was crinkle chiffon and look a little bridesmaid-ish, but with a black bolero, black wedges and some dangling earrings, it looked awesome! The built in corset was amazing and held everything in place. The sweetheart neckline gave great coverage but felt like cleavage! The only downfall was the dress was pretty see-through on the bottom. Enough so you could see my tattoo on my back! Yikes. Spanx fixed that (thank god) and overall it was a great decision! I will definitely rent from RTR again!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
May 15, 2013
Great dress, great color!
I wore this for a wedding and loved it! The back is a litlte see through and I have to wear a slip and ran a little bit small but I ordered a larger size due to the other reviews.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
May 24, 2013
I want to rent it again!! Seriously, I heart this dress.
This is by far my favorite dress I've rented from RTR. It is the best shade of yellow and the fit and flow of the dress is top notch. I got continual compliments all night from people of all ages - it was so much fun to wear! It has a built in corset that I wasn't prepared for but it added so much support and allowed for the rest of the dress to be light and breezy. The chiffon was perfect for the rehearsal dinner I went to.
MollyApril 16, 2014
I am around the same bust size and was wondering if you wore a bra with this dress?
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
May 26, 2013
loved the color!
wore this with the Kate Spade Crystal Kaleidoscope necklace (as shown on model). Loved the colors and got so many compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
May 28, 2013
bright bold color
Rented this dress for my boyfriends Law School Graduation. Loved it! Fit great and I received a lot of compliments on the bright color. Would rent again!
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
May 28, 2013
Worry-free rental process!
I ordered the size 10 with the size 12 as my backup. The 10 fit perfectly in the chest, but was a bit snug around my hips, which caused the fabric to ride up and bunch. The 12 fit better in the hip area, but was a good 6 inches too big in the chest. As a pear shape, this is not uncommon for me and I rather be comfortable the whole night than constantly pulling my dress back down. I went with the 12 and safety pinned the hell out of the top in between the boning. The top layer of fabric draped over it so the pins were not noticeable at all. Even with the fashion tape that was provided the top was still too big, but proper body movement and arm placement hid it well. Everyone loved the unexpected pop of yellow in the room, and the turquoise necklace gave it a little something extra. Overall I loved this dress was very pleased with RTR!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
May 28, 2013
Fun dress! Made me look and feel great!
I am so happy I went with this dress for a wedding. It was fun and a beautiful color, and I received so many compliments. The fit was great all over - not too tight or loose anywhere. Will be renting more Badgley Mischka in the future!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
May 30, 2013
LOVE!
Great for an outdoor summer wedding. Easy to wear. So many complements all night from all ages. Love the yellow! Definitely size up.
View photos (2)
See more reviews:
2 / 11

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×