Rent 3 for 1 Valentine's Day weekend! Use code 3FOR1VDAY16. DETAILS

Valid on rentals only. You will pay the cost of the most expensive item. Adding a free backup size will count as 1 of the 3 items. Offer expires 2/13/16 at 11:59pm EST and delivery dates must be 2/5/16 through 2/13/16. Promo code cannot be used on existing orders or be combined with other offers or gift cards. Enter promo code at checkout.

Venetian Wine Gown

$105 to buy
$595 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Look classic in this wine colored Badgley Mischka off the shoulder gown. A beautiful choice for the gala or black tie affair. Go with accessories like the Dannijo's Marguerite Necklace, Kenneth Jay Lane's Sculpted Branch Cuff, and Erickson Beamon's Confetti Cocktail Ring.

Also available in black, navy, and black sequin.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching detail conceals abdomen and can be very forgiving
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 sizes (Regular THEN Long: Regular for heights 5'3" to 5'6" - Long for heights 5'6" and taller - (Regular measures 57.5" from the bodice to hem - Long measures 60" from the bodice to hem)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips; dress has built-in boning and structure.
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching detail conceals abdomen and can be very forgiving
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 sizes (Regular THEN Long: Regular for heights 5'3" to 5'6" - Long for heights 5'6" and taller - (Regular measures 57.5" from the bodice to hem - Long measures 60" from the bodice to hem)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips; dress has built-in boning and structure.
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Cranberry jersey. Off the shoulder neckline. 3/4 sleeves. Ruched bodice. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share
54 reviews
Fit
Large11
True to Size38
Small4
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 113lbs
February 29, 2012
How easy it was to rent! The dress was gorgeous. The dress arrived earlier than I expected (it stated before 8pm - mine arrived before noon). Great service! Highly recommend RTR!
I wore this to a friend's wedding. The color (in person) is stunning. The fit was great however I did notice it runs slightly large. I am a 32DD and usually wear a size 2 in dresses. I was going to order a size 2 and a size 4 (as a backup) however I am glad that I changed my backup size to a size 0 because the size 0 was the size I ended up wearing. Beautiful gown - wonderful and user friendly service by RTR! I already rented another dress for another ocassion and have referred this site to my family and friends. Highly recommend it!
LizApril 23, 2012
Hi Allegra, was wondering what color shoes you wore...the necklace I'm wearing has rhinestones & gold accents. I wanted to try & get away w/ a silver shoe... Thanks, Liz
RTRApril 23, 2012
Hi Liz, you can wear a black, nude, silver or gold heel with this style depending on your accessories!
LizMay 6, 2012
Thanks! Wore it w/ a lighter gold/silver shoe...looked great!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 56
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
February 25, 2012
Loved the dress!
Dress fit perfectly, spandex helped of course! Beautiful dress, I had strangers coming up to me all night saying "I love your dress!"
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 56
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
February 15, 2012
Attended the fourth annual Fraser First Valentine Fundraiser Dance . My husband was told I was the sexiest woman there. (sure felt like it)
I felt and looked like a million bucks!! I would normally wear an 8, but ordered a 6 & 4 knowing woman's designer clothing run large for the size.The 6 fit but the 4 fit much better. Don't be scared to order size smaller. I have recommended Rent the Runway to everyone I know and have plastered all over my Facebook wall. Will order again for any occasion.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
February 11, 2012
RTR was great as usual! I can't recommend them enough to everyone I know.
I rented this dress for the annual Viva! Gala hosted by The AIDS Foundation of Western Massachusetts, which I volunteer for. I was running the auction registration and checkout, so wanted to dress less sexy, and more classy and professional. This gown was perfect. I received compliments from trustees, other volunteers, and strangers! The fit was great -- Spanx were a necessity for me though considering how form-fitting it is. I wore the regular length and it was *almost* too long (I'm 5'2"). I wore 2" heels and had to lift the front of the dress at times.
RTR CustomerNovember 14, 2012
The dress looks amazing on you! I am considering it and am similarly sized. Which Spanx did you use? I've never used it...
View photos (3)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
January 25, 2012
So easy to order and return. 100% satisfied. I loved having the option of a back up size just in case.
This dress was very flattering and the quality amazing. I recieved many many compliments throught the night on how beautiful the dress was. You could tell it wasnt a common "off the rack" dress. I am 5 7" and wore 2" heels. If you want to wear taller heels you will need to order 4L.
SusanJuly 25, 2012
You look amazing in this dress. You've prompted me to order it, too! thanks!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 49
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
January 13, 2012
I wore my hair in a Veronica Lake style and I felt like a movie star all night!
I rented a 10 and an 8 in this dress - normally I wear a 10 but the 8 fit wonderfully! I added a pin to the size to give it a little sizzle but the dress is just beautiful on it's own. I received non stop compliments and danced all night with no problem. I highly recommend this dress if you have a little tummy that you are trying mask!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
January 12, 2012
The process was easy and they also sent fabric tape in case I needed it, but there was no need. They also handled to process without worry when my return date as on a holiday.
I am 5'8" and got a long size because I wanted to wear heels. I ordered the size two and 4, but the 4 was too big. I was slouching a little in my photo, but the length was perfect with 3 1/2" heels. The slight sweep train added the perfect elegance. I also loved the color of the gown (my picture makes it look darker. bad lighting, sorry). The built in courset helped the dress stay in place, so I had no problem with having to pull the dress up all night. I would recommend this dress to have the heads turning :)
View photos (2)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 54
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
January 6, 2012
Very helpful staff!
The dress was very pretty and everyone loved it! The fit specialist that I spoke with suggested that I choose a size 12 because of my bust size. I would have been more comfortable in a size 10 because the fabric is a jersey and stretches. I did have to pull it up quite a bit but I got lots of compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
January 5, 2012
Understated and classy
Rented this for a formal NYE party. I ended up wearing the 2nd dress I bought instead. It's very nice but very simple. The picture made it seem that the fabric had more of a sheen, it's completely matte. I really didn't have the jewelry needed to jazz this up. If you want something understated and conservative then this dress is for you. It's also very forgiving on the body.
LizApril 23, 2012
Hi, was wondering what color shoes you would've worn based on the true color of this dress. Thanks, Liz
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 57
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
December 22, 2011
Fabulous Dress!
I almost hesitated to order this gown because I thought it would show off every imperfection. Boy was I wrong! This is one truly forgiving dress! It hides every imperfection and accentuates everything positive! I loved it so much I'm considering buying it just to have in my closet for the next (who knows when) black tie event!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 147lbs
December 19, 2011
Simple and Elegant
I wore this for a military event and, since I'm the commander's wife, I wanted something elegant and understanted, yet still really sexy. My husband's jaw hit the floor when he saw me walk up. The gown hugs beautifully and drapes perfectly. I felt sleek and graceful wearing the gown, and I loved walking around the room.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
December 8, 2011
I have bought gowns in the past to wear to this black tie event. From now on I'm going with Rent the Runway. I received compliments on this gown all night long.
This dress was gorgeous and very flattering. The color is beautiful. I received many compliments. May I also say that as a 48 year old, the off shoulder design and carefully placed "arms" of the dress hid all that flabby underarm jiggle. My only complaint, and it's not a big one, is that you do not get the shirring( like in the picture) on the bust. I chose the smaller size out of the two, and even with the next size up I still didn't achieve the results in the picture. The model must be very flat chested to get that effect. I rented the "Cluster necklace and earrings" to go with it and they were perfect! The necklace was noticed by many. I attended a benefit gala for "Toys for Tots," with all those handsome Marines in dress uniform..it was a night to remember and I felt like a PRINCESS in your gown ! BTW, my girlfriend Meg, to the right of my husband is also wearing one of your gowns. She also received many compliments on her beautiful gown.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 49
Body type: Athletic
December 5, 2011
The dress looked Great!
I Rented this for a Christmas Party. I was skeptical about renting a dress. And this dress was not my first choice, but It actually looked really nice, and the fit was true to size. I got a lot of compliments!!
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 56
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
November 26, 2011
Princess Dress!
Perfect dress- beautiful! Loved the whole experience.
See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×