Badgley Mischka

Sparkle in the Sky Dress

$30 – $40 rental
$540 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Have everyone in envy at the party when you walk in wearing this eye catching Badgley Mischka sequin sheath. Earrings like the Gerad Yosca's Crystal Clear Nouveau Drops and Lauren Merkin's Gold Eve Clutch is all you need to complete this celebrity chic look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust but may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Fitted - very fitted at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Cream lace with sequins. V neckline. Tie waist with embellishment. Back slit. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
225 reviews
Fit
Large
(1)
True to Size
(91)
Small
(123)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
December 17, 2014
The dress was the perfect amount of glam for the occasion, a company holiday party
The 2 fit well so I didn't even try on the 4. The lining of the dress does extend past the dress itself but I found that kept my legs from getting scratched up by sequins. My arms etc were fine though, and I got compliments all night!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
March 22, 2015
Very small
This dress is cut extremely small. I'm usually an 8 but after reading reviews I ordered a 10. It was still very snug and the zipper was broken upon arrival. Thank goodness I had ordered a back up that was wonderful. Also, the sash was very worn. Definitely not " new" looking.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
July 30, 2015
I couldn't stand this dress.
Way too small. Way too short. I would never be able to bend over. I went up two sizes and couldn't wear it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 46
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 175lbs
January 1, 2016
Loved the dress. Runs SMALL!
Chaffing underarm area...used vaseline to prevent as I read it in other reviews but still had chaffing. Beautiful dress. I am tall so it was short. One the beads came hanging off....needs sewed back on. You would think it would have been fixed before shipping back out to the next person.
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
November 24, 2014
Beautiful dress, was perfect for the fundraiser I attended, belt absolutely makes the dress.
The lining was longer than the dress it self as mentioned in other reviews so I had to tack it up for the night. Sequins were a little uncomfortable under the arms but is to be expected with such a dress. Was a little snug in the hips and bust so wore the 6 instead of the 4. Overall was a good dress for the occasion.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Age: 32
December 6, 2015
Nice dress for a Christmas cocktail party.
This is a pretty dress that definitely runs small. It had the perfect look for the cocktail party I attended. As previous reviewers mentioned, the slip under the dress hung down a good 4 inches below the outter part of the dress and looked very strange; I had to fasten it up with fabric tape. Other than that, it was beautiful.
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Formal Affair
June 28, 2016
Fit perfectly, complimented all night
Fitted throughout, tighter through chest but I have a bigger bust.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Date
Age: 33
February 14, 2017
Valentine's Date with my Hubby
I loved the dress and felt great in it. The slit in the back was a little much but everything else looked great.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
February 19, 2017
Na
This dress ran very very small. Suggest go up once size and back up should be the next size up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
April 5, 2017
Party is happening, just in another outfit!
def go two sizes up. It runs small everywhere! Cute dress though.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
December 7, 2012
the size 0 zipper came off the track .
these expensive designers and they can't put a good zipper in?? My daughter is 15 and tiny (sze 00) so it was not the size. It was disappointing as we had to wear the size 2 which was big. very disappointing
janetApril 22, 2013
Size 2 looks good and the hem line looks good, Skin tight is not a good look in a classy dress....
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36DDD/E
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
July 16, 2012
The ease of ordering & returning.
I rented this dress for a friend's wedding. I was glad to have sized up for my secondary size as the dress runs small. In fact there was very little difference between the sizes 8 and 10 that I had ordered. Overall, I was comfortable dancing the night away and am very happy with my selection.
MEKJuly 28, 2012
Girl! You have THE BEST smile!! Way to rock that dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
August 19, 2012
Rent the Runway was great! I got the dress on time and it was easy to return!
This dress was beautiful! I got compliments all night in it. The size ran a bit small especially around the hips/butt area so I wore a size up. The size up was OK however because I could tie the sash to make it fit nice and snug. I absolutely recommend this dress!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
August 20, 2012
This was the first dress I ordered from Rent The Runway. It was so easy and convenient, plus I got compliments about the dress all night!
The dress was beautiful but I thought ran pretty small. I usually wear a 6 or an 8 in dresses and wore a 10 in this one. I got a lot of compliments and was comfortable for the entire night. The only thing I didn't love was how the lining would sometimes come out at the bottom of the dress from under the sparkly overlay so I had to adjust that frequently.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
August 27, 2012
I love that you can order two sizes - it definitely came in handy this time!
I loved this dress! Typically I order a 2 and a 4 and end up in the 4. Something told me to order 4 and 6 this time, and I'm glad I did! It was loose in the waist, but there is no way it would have fit over my butt in a size 4. Everyone was asking where I got the dress - I must have told at least 5 new people about RTR - it's my new obsession, and this dress didn't disappoint.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
September 5, 2012
Love it!
This dress is beautiful and fit great. My fav rtr dress so far!
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Body type: Full Bust
September 10, 2012
pretty....
I really needed the 16 to fit my bust, but it wasn't available so I tried the 14 and it zipped but not the most flattering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
September 29, 2012
This dress was great!
I got a lot of compliments on this dress! I rented a 4 and a 6, but ended up wearing the 6 because the 4 was a little tight in the bust. The only thing that was a little tricky about this dress was the lace - it was a little worn when I received the dresses and I had to be very, very careful not to hook anything on it all night.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
September 30, 2012
Beautiful! Would have been a great dress for my event.
This dress is beautiful! I ordred it as my backup dress (was worried it might be too small since I'm a bit bigger on top) for my casual wedding ceremony. Sadly I had an accident after my rehearsal dinner and wound up in a wheel chair, so this dress ended up being too tight to sit in. I will definitely order it again when I'm up and about!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
October 1, 2012
Pretty dress, but not for me
I rented this dress for a wedding, along with another dress as a backup. I ended up wearing the other one. I typically wear a 0, so I ordered a 0 and a 2 as my second size. The 2 ended up fitting better. The lace kept getting caught on the sequins and the cut of the dress was not flattering on my body shape. I am petite, but have a full chest. The lace also did not sit well on the fabric underneath. It kept hanging out on the bottom. I think this dress would be better for someone really tall and thin (like the model pictured). It's a pretty dress, but did not work out for me.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 1, 2012
Beautiful dress - looked just like new!
This was a great dress. I rented it for my birthday dinner and got compliments all night! The gold shimmer was beautiful. I was looking for a dress that wasn't super short - and this was perfect - hit a inch or two above the knee (Im 5'8"). I usually wear a 4, sometimes a 2, and I ended up wearing a 6 in this dress, so I would definitely go one size up than your usual for a back-up size.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
October 2, 2012
Received TONS of compliments on the dress, everyone asked where it was from.
It's as gorgeous on, as it in on the model's pic. One of the beads on the belt was falling off, but nothing a little double sided tape couldn't fix.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
October 3, 2012
very sparkly
This dress is lovely and was in perfect condition. You never know if all the sequins are going to be in good condition after a lot of rentals. When on the hanger, it just looks beige-nude. However, when you put it on... the sparkles explode. I wore it to a birthday dinner at a small upscale restaurant where people can be dressed up or down. I felt very comfortable, but you could easily wear this in the larger cities at a bigger venue, as well. It's feminine and unique
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
October 10, 2012
Absolutely beautiful!
I rented this for a special night out with my boyfriend. We went to a very nice restaurant and the waitress actually came up to me and said "we don't usually do this, but all the girls want to know where you got your dress. It's fabulous!" I was so flattered! The color in the RTR photo is a little more pink that the actual color, whichis more of a nude, but this just makes it more sophisticated and less little-girly. I really loved this dress and will probably rent it again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 44
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 14, 2012
I felt like a movie star.
I didn't realize that the dress would be so tight fitting, ordered a 12 & 14, both were too tight. RTR came to the rescue and sent a 16, the morning of the wedding I was attending. Fit was perfect, material is very delicate, it kept getting caught with its own material. The lining was longer than the dress, I used double sided tape to hem it and it was perfect. No need for any accessories the dress had enough bling. I danced the night away, and received many compliments. I chose this dress because I wanted something other than the usual black I wear. It was a great decision, I will rent again, thank you RTR for making me feel beautiful for a special occasion.
JillianDecember 13, 2012
You look great! I am happy that it looks so pretty on someone with my body type!
AliciaDecember 13, 2012
Thank you!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
October 17, 2012
Beautiful Dress, Loved It!
I would've worn a size smaller (fit better everywhere but in the length), but being tall has its disadvantages when it comes to skirt length. I felt so beautiful, though! Compliments all night long! It was a great dress for my Homecoming!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 59
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
October 26, 2012
Very pretty dress, however, it runs WAY SMALL.
I usually wear a 4 or 6. Ordered 6 and 8 because reviews said it runs small. The 8 was still way too tight. Order up 2 sizes!
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 190lbs
October 29, 2012
Beautiful, flattering dress! Got compliments all night
This dress runs a bit small, I usually wear a 12 but the 14 fit perfectly. The color was great, the sash super flattering and perfect fit all around. The only thing that wasn't great was that I did experience a bit of rubbing under my armpits against the sequined fabric. But pain is beauty. Overall, a great rental for a special event.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
November 5, 2012
Great dress!
I rented this dress to wear for my rehearsal dinner and received a lot of compliments. I had one complaint with the dress - the lining on the bottom stuck out and from the picture, this was not supposed to happen. I was constantly pulling down the dress to try to cover up the lining, but it did not help. I'm not sure if the dress was supposed to fit like it did, but I typically wear a 0 and had to wear the 2 which still felt tight. Overall, I liked the dress and it worked great for my rehearsal dinner but was disappointment with the fit and the lining sticking out at the bottom.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 20, 2012
Beautiful dress! I wore it as a flapper costume for Halloween and received many compliments!
Lace overlay is a beautiful detail to this dress!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
November 21, 2012
My boyfriend who isn't a big fan of formal events and dressing up, loved the dress.
I am usually a size 2 or 4 in dresses. The 2 in this dress was very small, however I rented a second size and the 4 fit perfect. I was worried that this dress wouldn't be formal enough, but the dress was gorgeous on and the simplicity of it allowed it to be dressed up or dress down. The only problem I had with this dress with the lining under the dress did show, but overall I loved wearing the dress. I highly recommend it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
November 28, 2012
Everyone was complimenting my dress! I felt so classy and beautiful!
The dress is a little tight but it is not a bodycon dress so it is still very classy. The v dip is not extremely big and perfect for smaller bust ladies. The slip under the dress does show through at the bottom so my mom had to help me pin it up. I am sure the dress is super popular because my dress showed signs of wear. Otherwise it is a great dress for any occasion!
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
November 30, 2012
Not as pretty as the photo
Disappointing. The dress ran small, especially in the bust and chest area. Also, the belt came just under my bustline, not at my waist. The lace catches on the sequins creating some pulled fabric in multiple places. Definitely not as glamorous as the photo made it look.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 8, 2012
Looks great on any body type!
I'm so glad I read all of the reviews before picking my size. I am a regular size 6, athletic build, small chest, and rented an 8 and 10 after reading some reviews. I ended up wearing the 10 because the 8 was tight. This dress runs small so go up AT LEAST a size or even 2 like me! It looks beautiful in pictures, was comfortable all over, and was perfect for my husband's office Christmas party. Very classy! I got compliments all night and it was perfect without being too overboard. RENT THIS DRESS!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 54
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
December 8, 2012
Runs SMALL
The size 8 fit tight in the hips AND the lining hung 3-4 inches below the lace dress in an irregular fashion. I contacted customer service and received excellent assistance. I'm afraid the dress may have just been a lemon in this particular case. Will try again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
December 13, 2012
Stunning Dress!
This dress is a show stopper. I had a formal date night in NYC with my boyfriend and decided to rent this gorgeous dress. I'm so glad I did! I got so many compliments -- from total strangers -- and felt like a million bucks. This is such a fun and flirty dress. Only thing - it does run a bit small, so I'd advise ordering a size up to be safe. You won't be disappointed with this.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
December 13, 2012
Wore this outfit as an after dress for my wedding.
It runs small but was a fun dress to change in to after wearing a heavy wedding dress all night
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
December 16, 2012
Great Dress... But...
This dress is really cute, but it runs REALLY SMALL!!! ladies, go at least 1 size up for your back up size. Im usually a size 0-2 and i wore a size 4 on this dress. Great dress, but poorly constructed! I had to use stylist tape to fold up and secure the inside skirt, otherwise, it shows longer than the dress! It was a nightmare at first to have to remove the dress and tape it all across and to make sure the under skirt wasnt going to come undone, I brought more stylist tape in my purse. so, I was a little conscious about it all night... but apparently my "glueing" job worked! Not exactly the dress I would go out dancing and moving to much!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 17, 2012
Gorgeous and classy dress! Perfect for a glamorous night out.
I wore this dress to a 1920s themed event, and it definitely brought some old school glamour. This dress runs small and is extremely form fitting. The slip actually ended up being slighlty longer than the lace overlay, but I used fashion tape to even out the legnth. I got tons of compliments!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Body type: Hourglass
December 26, 2012
Sadly, not impressed
This dress was my first Rent the Runway experience. I need a formal dress for my husband's company holiday party, and after reading countless reviews and pouring over dozens of renter's photos, I decided on this one. I knew from the reviews that the dress ran a bit small (one size up was plenty, in my experience and opinion) and that the bottom hemline could be less than perfect and require some fashion tap assistance. When I received the dress, it was a pretty gown, but the most accurate word I can use to describe it is "tired." Both the 4 and the 6 were this way. The lace overlay was almost "fuzzy", like a delicate fabric looks when it's been stuck to velcro and quickly pulled off (if that makes sense). The slip hemline was SO much lower than the lace overlay (we're talking 5-6 inches) in both sizes, that even fashion-taping the heck out of it didn't solve the problem. It hid the slip, yes, but it also created a less-than-perfect fit and movement potential. Honestly, I would have been just as happy purchasing another simple LBD and paring it with some killer statement jewelry than renting a gown whose quality was less-than-impressive. I ended up wearing a BCBG dress I already owned and it worked great, thank goodness. And the customer service I received from RTR after calling and emailing them that day regarding the dress quality issues was OUTSTANDING. For this reason, I can see myself giving the service one more try in the future, but definitely on a dress whose make/fabric/embellishments would be less prone to so visably showing its wear.
See more reviews:
1 / 6

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×