Badgley Mischka

Sparkle in the Sky Dress

$40 rental
$540 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Have everyone in envy at the party when you walk in wearing this eye catching Badgley Mischka sequin sheath. Earrings like the Gerad Yosca's Crystal Clear Nouveau Drops and Lauren Merkin's Gold Eve Clutch is all you need to complete this celebrity chic look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust but may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Fitted - very fitted at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Cream lace with sequins. V neckline. Tie waist with embellishment. Back slit. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
225 reviews
Fit
Large
(1)
True to Size
(91)
Small
(123)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 144lbs
December 14, 2012
Not for curvy or long torso
Got the 6 and the 8, both did not fit well. The upper layer of the dress was riding up over the "slip part." Not impressive and a disappointment. Did not wear at all.
RTR CustomerDecember 14, 2012
We're so sorry to hear that your dress did not fit perfectly! For your next rental please feel free to contact a stylist at 1.800.509.0842 and we will help you find the perfect fit for your event!
KimDecember 14, 2012
Totally understand. Wore the Herve that I rented instead which fits perfectly. This was not a good fit for a tall person.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
March 18, 2013
new years eve
wore this for new years and it was amazing! runs a bit small so i was glad that i opted for getting the next size up too.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 3, 2013
Beautiful dress! Runs a bit small though.
I wore this dress to a Great Gatsby Gala and received compliments all night. It was perfect for the event when paired with a few long strands of pearls. However, it did run a bit small. I'm usually a 4 and the 6 in this dress was a bit more snug than I expected. The tie cinched at the waist, creating a great shape. All in all, a great dress!
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 41
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
April 5, 2013
Perfect look for spring
Runs small the belt leaves no wiggle room
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117lbs
September 11, 2013
Pretty dress, but not very forgiving
This dress was very pretty and in good condition when it came (although the fabric belt had seen better days, it could have gotten by without anyone noticing) but both sizes were way too small in the chest. I think it would have been beautiful if there were a little stretch to it so that I could fit into the top part, but I wasn't able to for the event. I would say if you are busty, this might not be a good choice, but if you're not, then it is a really pretty and classy dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
February 19, 2014
Beautiful dress, but runs small, very short, and the liner was a major issue
I wanted to love this dress - it really is stunning, but it was unwearable for a number of reasons. It runs very small, I ordered a size up and it was still pretty tight. It was also way too short on me - I'm 5'10" though, so this probably wouldn't be an issue for the shorter ladies. The biggest problem is the liner. It sticks out several inches in the front, which looks really strange. I guess you could use fashion tape, as other ladies have suggested, but it still bunched up and looked odd on me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 112lbs
April 21, 2014
Not the dress
The dress was not what I expected. It was not flattering. Not as pretty in person.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
June 19, 2014
Too narrow
You need to be a bit narrow for this dress. Also, the hem has a tendency to curl. I AM happy to report that RTR allowed me to send it back, and they credited me! Thanks RTR!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
August 13, 2014
Glad I ordered a second size as the 4 was too small. It was perfect for my bachelorette party.
Smaller than expected.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
September 2, 2015
Couldn't wear it :(
I rented this for my bachelorette party, but wasn't able to wear it. The dress is SUPER fancy and didn't seem appropriate for the bars we were going to. The dress is covered in sequins and lace. Save it for a formal affair.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 31
December 29, 2015
I was going to wear this dress to my friend's New Year's Eve wedding but it was way too small
I ordered this dress for a New Year's Eve wedding, and when it arrived today and I tried it on, I could barely get it up over my hips, and there was no way I could have zipped it up my back fully. I'm generally a 14-16 in dresses, but this 16 was probably at least 2 sizes too small on me. It is also a different color than the one on the model - the actual dress is more of a nude/flesh tone, whereas the model's dress looks almost champaign and much more sparkly. This dress is definitely not for women with curvier hips.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
August 29, 2016
Gorgeous birthday rental!
Love the dress! One of my fave labels! It's a kind of sparkly nude, and it was very sexy. I thought it was a bit short, but not TOO short. As other people have mentioned, the lining is longer than the dress, and it's supposed to be. It's a very cute look. I'm bigger in the hips, and usually wear a 4-6, but I wore a 10 and it was snug. I maybe could have worn a lager size, but my date thought it looked good. Sorry I don't have any full-length pics, but I've shared one that shows the detail of the dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Age: 27
May 1, 2017
Dress was too tight
It fit small and was very tight
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
August 1, 2017
Pretty dress. Order a size up.
Like others mentioned, the slip was longer than the dress itself which was awkward. The dress is definitely tight fitting and glad I got the size 6. I couldn't even fit the size 4 over my head or step into it. I'm only 125lbs and a fairly small chest.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
June 18, 2012
This dress is even better in person! I fell in love when I received it and was so excited that everyone at my event felt the same way. So many people approached me to just tell me how great I looked and it made me feel amazing. It fits like a glove. I am 5"3 and it hit me at the knees and was fitted at the waist. You can also wear any type of bra with it. Online the color is described as cream, but I would say it is more of a nude.
This dress is even better in person! I fell in love when I received it and was so excited that everyone at my event felt the same way. So many people approached me to just tell me how great I looked and it made me feel amazing. It fits like a glove. I am 5"3 and it hit me at the knees and was fitted at the waist. You can also wear any type of bra with it. Online the color is described as cream, but I would say it is more of a nude.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
June 20, 2012
Beautiful Dress!
This dress is beautiful and sophisticated! It fit very true to size, but was very fitted throughout with little stretch so I would definitely size up for your backup size! I loved the lace and the gorgeous belt detail that really cinched my waist! This dress was super comfortable because I could wear a standard bra, and it hit me about 2 inches above my knee! I would definitely recommend this dress for a formal occasion!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
August 15, 2012
Love RTR! The dress I originally wanted ended up not being available and the stylist recommended this and I ended up loving it even more!
I wore it to my senior ball and got tons of compliments. The fit is great, but it's form fitting so it looks best with SPANX. Definitely recommend it!
SarahAugust 17, 2012
did this dress make your armpits itchy/sensitive? i have had that problem with sequin dresses in the past, but i love this dress, thought i would ask someone that has worn it for a night. Thanks!!! - Sarah
RTRAugust 29, 2012
Hi Sarah! I have also worn the dress and the sequins have not bothered me! You should be perfectly fine with this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
August 20, 2012
RTR was super speedy and made the night perfect!
I wore this for my bachelorette party and it was gorgeous! The dress was shimmering all night and looked super classy (rather than cheap - which was what I was somewhat afraid of with all the sequins). I would definitely rent this again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
August 26, 2012
Caught at a very serious moment!
This dress was pretty fantastic. It was so flattering with my complexion, hair, and etc. I wore it on the best day of my life :) I am in between a size 0 and 2, but I ordered a 2 and a size 4 as the back up size. I would recommend doing some measurements before you chose your size just to make sure you receive the fit that you desire. The size 2 was near perfect, I felt confident and comfortable in it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 155lbs
September 7, 2012
Love the easy process of RTR - this is my 4th rental and I love it!
Overall, this is a pretty dress and appropriate for attire [as a guest] for a formal-type wedding. Similar to other reviewers, I thought the lace under the armpit area was a little itchy, but overall, it was a pretty comfortable dress. The dress has some stretch to it, which is perfect for a night of dancing. I knocked it down a star just because I didn't think it was quite as flattering as I would have hoped - for someone who isn't a size 2! And I think you definitely need to have a bit of a tan to pull off the color.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
September 19, 2012
This dress was absolutely gorgeous.I wore this to a wedding and received many compliments all night.
At first, I was a little worried that the dress was too close to white, and I didn't want to wear white to a wedding. It's more closely to a beautiful champagne color. The material wasn't itchy at all, and the beading was very pretty. This is by far my MOST favorite dress that I've rented through RTR. My only complaint was that the lining underneath the sheer part of the dress was much longer and kept sticking out. I had to do a little damage control by using safety pins so that it wouldn't show throughout the night. All in all, this dress was totally worth it. My only wish is that I wish I could keep it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 132lbs
September 23, 2012
Your going to love this dress!
This dress is so cute, with a very flattering style. I received LOTS of compliments on the dress. I was very happy with this dress and the customer service. The original dress was not in stock yet, so RTR helped with picking another dress and shipping it to my hotel overnight! WOW! Couldn't be more grateful! I wore this to a black tie conference and it was perfect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
October 2, 2012
We both rented dresses for a fancy party. Party was a bust but GirlsNightOut Never looked so good!
Fantastic color- subtle but has a jaw dropping shimmer. Fit was true to size but was a little longer than I had expected. It was easy to move in and be comfortable yet elegant. No over the top accessories are needed- just gold heels and a clutch. Perfect for a wedding or a night out with your girls!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
October 10, 2012
PRETTY
I wore this to a rehersal dinner and recieved so many compliments. My only issue with the dress is that the lining on the bottom kept sneaking out so I found myself adjusting it all night. Overall great dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
October 16, 2012
Wish I could buy this!!! Loved it!!
I wore this for my rehearsal dinner and it couldn't have been more perfect! It like a glove, true to size. So comfortable. I got compliments all night!! I wish there was a rent to own option!!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
October 17, 2012
This dress was perfection.
It is hard for me to find dresses that compliment my petite frame and bigger chest at the same time...this dress did both! It was very flattering length wise and the v-neck hit perfectly as to not expose too much cleavage. The dress was very flattering and figure friendly, but was not restricting. The color and detailed beading were also stunning. I couldn't be more please in this rental! All in all a very sexy, yet classy versatile dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 139lbs
October 17, 2012
IMPOSSIBLE to look bad in this stunning dress ! It fit the occasion perfectly & I felt like a queen
Once more a dress that confirmed why Badgley Mischka are among my favorite designers. I was convinced to rent this dress for my birthday party at a somewhat formal club by pictures from RTR reviews showing that simply everyone looked good in it. It did not disappoint. It fit perfectly and comfortably, and while it is a simple cut, the sequins give it enough sparkle to make it look glamorous. My usual size 4 fit okay, but the larger back-up size was more comfortable and was less likely to hike up & wrinkle around the hips, the only slight problem with this dress, unless you have a narrow built. Still, I'd say it runs true to size, while many other dresses on RTR run large (I'm a size 6 in general). I'd definitely recommend the dress.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
October 17, 2012
Absolutely perfect! Would rent again!
I was scared the fit was going to be too small, after reading the reviews. But dress runs true to size. Ordered a 6, but I wish I would have gotten the 4 instead. You'll love it! I know I did!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
November 14, 2012
Didn't arrive in the best condition, lots of snags in the lace and the slip hung down 2 inches below
Fit was right on...I really wanted to wear it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148lbs
November 16, 2012
Great dress! The belt is to-die-for!!
This was a great dress for a summer wedding. Light and gorgeous! I couldn't have been happier with the choice. However, the skeleton of the dress kept twisting to the right -- maybe I had a size too small but it was a minor-minor thing compared to the complements I got. Also, the sequins was a little itchy and uncomfortable under the arm but nothing to write home about. It was a great "rent"! Glad I got it. Oh, and the belt is to die-for
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 64
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116lbs
November 17, 2012
Dress and earrings were spectacular ... and everyone wanted to know where I got the dress.
I am in my 50's - 5'2" - 116 pounds. The 4 fit perfectly and length hit just above my knees, not short like on the 5'10" model. This was a great length for me. Dress fits close to the body - would not recommend for someone with excess adipose tissue, as it would show thru... even with a body shaper.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 105lbs
November 18, 2012
Such a beautiful dress!
I wore this dress to my sororities formal and it was perfect! Super comfortable and easy to dance in. The only problem that I had was that the lining stuck out at the bottom so I used some double sided tape to tape it up. I got the 0 and the 2 and honestly I could have worn either one. I was pretty nervous that both sizes were going to be too small on my hips but the dress has a bit of stretch to it. Just for some extra information my measurements are B:31.5 in W:24 in H:36 in.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
November 19, 2012
The ease of the entire process and timely delivery made me a RTR customer for life.
This dress was gorgeous in person! The pictures online really doesn't do the dress any justice. For me, the fit was true to size. I am a size 2 and the dress hugged me in all the right places without being uncomfortable. If you have a larger bust, this dress might be a little tight in the chest area. I had a great experience renting from RTR and will definitely be renting again. Thank you RTR for helping me look fabulous at my bachelorette party!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
November 19, 2012
I put together the event and the dress was the perfect one for the occasion!
True to size, little fabric give, highlights the waist
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Age: 31
November 19, 2012
Compliments all night long!
I felt smoking hot in this dress, but still looked like a lady. I received compliments on it the whole day. It was extremely comfortable and no fuss. The best part was I could wear my favorite bra! The color is a true champagne and was absolutely wedding appropriate. I didn't have issues with the lining like others, but I did get a little scratched under my arms from the sequins by the end of the night. I minor complaint anyone with an affinity for sequins knows all too well. Ultimately, it was worth it. I just wished the 0 had been in stock I think it would've fit a little better.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 21
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 175lbs
November 24, 2012
The dress was perfect
The dress fit nicely and was true to it's size. It was easy to move around in, but not so much dance in. I loved the color and the belted accessory; it really made it pop and finished the whole look.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 25, 2012
Loved this dress!
I ordered this as my back up dress for a formal wedding. I ended up wearing my first pick instead but I would definitely order again. This dress is beautiful and the RTR picture doesn't do it justice. I ordered both the 2 and the 4, they both fit pretty similar.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
November 29, 2012
Delicate, Feminine and has the Wow! Factor
I am petite and hate being swallowed up by a cocktail dress, this dress fit perfectly. I went to an elegant rehearsal dinner for a wedding and it was perfect for the occasion. A wonderful balance of flirty femininity, and sophisticated sex appeal.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 126lbs
November 29, 2012
LOVED IT
I really loved this dress! I wore it to my high school's winter formal. It was very classy (which I loved) and I got A LOT of compliments!! I'm small chested, so I loved being able to wear a push up bra and not a strapless one. It had just the right amount of sparkle and shine without being gaudy. I'm tall, so the length was short enough to not seem to wedding-y for a high school dance. One complaint though, the top layer of lace tended to bunch up a little bit. Not a big deal but I just had to keep pulling it down during the dance. All in all, loved it! And I love Rent the Runway's system!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Body type: Petite
December 5, 2012
The owner asked to "see the ring" bc he thought it was my bachelorette party; nope, just turning 22.
The dress is just stunning. Tight in the right places yet also very conservative and classy. I originally ordered a 2 and 4 because of all the reviews I read; I normally wear a 0/2/xs. When I tried on the 2, it fit like a glove! The bottom hem did come out a little bit, but that was easily fixed by the complimentary fashion tape! I loved this dress. It definitely made my 22nd birthday memorable! The owner of the restaurant even came by to "see the ring" because he thought it was my bachelorette party. I highly recommend renting it!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
4 / 6

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×