Badgley Mischka

Sparkle in the Sky Dress

$40 rental
$540 retail
Stylist Notes

Have everyone in envy at the party when you walk in wearing this eye catching Badgley Mischka sequin sheath. Earrings like the Gerad Yosca's Crystal Clear Nouveau Drops and Lauren Merkin's Gold Eve Clutch is all you need to complete this celebrity chic look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust but may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Fitted - very fitted at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Cream lace with sequins. V neckline. Tie waist with embellishment. Back slit. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
224 reviews
Fit
Large
(1)
True to Size
(91)
Small
(122)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 164lbs
November 6, 2013
Dress fits like a glove!
This dress is stunning and classy. I loved it's understated elegance and the cut was clearly designer caliber. The dress was clearly worn, however, and had some serious pilling and some loose gems. The slip was also really annoying, but I was able to tape it up and it stayed for the majority of the evening. However, I would still rent this dress again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 8, 2013
Overall, a great dress to celebrate my first wedding anniversary!
The fit was right on, but the lining kept sticking out of the bottom which was pretty annoying! It looked great though, so hopefully people were looking at my smiling face and not my thighs! I wore this for my first wedding anniversary on New Year's Eve. It was a great night!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
November 22, 2013
I didn't end up wearing this dress - was too tight. It's gorgeous, though!
Runs small; tight fit; order a size up from your normal size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 24, 2013
I got a ton of compliments!
The dress definitely runs small. I have a large bust and I couldn't wear a bra with it at all. Luckily, it still looked alright. The sequins also made it a bit itchy. I'm not sure that I would rent the dress again, but it was very pretty.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
November 30, 2013
Gorgeous dress!
Absolutely loved the dress! The color is perfect for any skin tone and the dress's shine looks great in pictures. Definitely recommend it for any formal occasion!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
November 30, 2013
Didn't fit
I normally wear a size 6, but also got the 8 as a backup. Even the 8 was too small to zip over my bust which was a little surprising since I'm only a C cup. Definitely recommend ordering up. Even if it had fit, I would have been disappointed though because the sequins and detailing on the front of the dress looked worn/broken in.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
December 9, 2013
I LOVED this dress! I got so many compliments
The dress was a bit damaged when it came, and the slip underneath kept showing. Other than that it was a win!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
January 29, 2013
I received lots of compliments!
I don't remember the exact fit but it was true to size.
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 195lbs
April 21, 2013
This was my backup dress.
Fits tight around the hips.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
January 7, 2014
Glamorous yet simple.
I rented this exquisite dress for a NYE party. It was lovely, and fit like a glove. I received tons of compliments throughout the night on it, and I felt like it had some great sparkle - but nothing overwhelming. Definitely loved this dress!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 118lbs
January 8, 2014
Sparkly but ill fitting.
Pros: The fabric has a very sparkly sheen without being gaudy. The belt is gorgeous. Cons: Not good for a larger chest and the fabric wears under the armpits. Also, the liner of the dress is longer than the exterior layer, which looks bizarre. Unfortunately, the top fabric works poorly with fabric tape. The dress I received wasn't in great condition.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
January 29, 2014
Perfect dress for my wedding rehearsal!
Loved this dress once I got it to fit right. The dress arrived wrinkled and had some damage. I spent A LOT of time ironing and using double sided tape to fix it, but once I did that, I loved it! I give this dress 4 stars because of the work you have to put into it, but once on, its amazing and worth it! The dress was a bit short, so would not recommend it if you're over 5'9".
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 7, 2014
Just Disappointed with Both Sizes Tried
Pros: both dresses sent are in fantastic shape: beautiful beading work on the belt & sequin overlay; style is appropriate for a wedding, fundraiser dinner/dance or milestone anniversary evening out. Cons: both sizes 8/10 run small (the 8 even more so, I think I could work with the 10). However, I could not wear any undergarments (husband said he wouldn't mind!) & as other RTRs have noted, the sequin overlay rides up in the front to reveal the underslip...for me about 2 inches. The back lays fine & level with the slip. Even with using some fabric tape to tack it, I don't think I would have been comfortable wearing the dress. Nevertheless, RTR's stylists have come through & immediately worked with me to suggest & send new dresses which will hopefully work out. If not, that's ok & I will try again in the future just based on the fantastic customer service alone!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
February 10, 2014
The dress was perfect for my Gatsby themed homecoming & it fit perfectly!
Perfect fit! True to size!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
February 16, 2014
Gorgeous dress, form fitting and very flattering!
Beautiful dress I wore for a wedding. Got so many compliments! Runs a little small so I had to wear a size up. But the size up fit great and looked so good!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
March 4, 2014
Very pretty and classy dress that helped me stand out from the typical black at a work party!
The dress is elegant and has subtle glitter that is fun but not gaudy. The belt on the dress is very beautiful. The lining on the dress does peak out from the bottom ,but it is obvious this was the look the designer was trying to achieve. I don't think it made the dress look worse. Overall, I thought the dress was beautiful and I am very happy I wore it. Fit: I usually wear between a 6-8, and wore the 8. I think the 8 was most certainly a smaller 8. I have broad shoulders, so the dress was a little tight on them. I would definitely recommend sizing up. It's a good length too! Fun, but not too short for a work function, and I'm 5'7. Fabric: The dress is overall beautiful, and catches light wonderfully. The ribbon on the belt on the 8 had been creased in half, which was a little odd. However, when tied, it was not really a huge factor. The sparkles are slightly itchy on the underarms, but I think this is bc it was a little snug on my shoulders.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 64
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
March 6, 2014
I got so many compliments when I wore this dress! I felt like a million bucks!
Got this dress in a 6 and 8 after seeing other reviews that it ran tight. But the 6 fit perfect. As to others that wore this dress I found the lining to be longer then the dress, since I am a tailor and upholsterer I quickly tacked up the lining in no time. Other then that this is a great dress for any dressy occasion! I also rented a purse that looked great!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
March 11, 2014
Super Tight
I've worn Bagdley Mischka before in a size 4, but this dress was so tight, I didn't even try to zip it up! While it looks shimmery in the picture, the fabric is more like a crochet, kindof woven. It's not very sparkly.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
March 13, 2014
Sassy number for a wedding.
The dress is beautiful--the color, the details, the jeweled encrusted waistband. It'd be perfect for anyone 5'2 or shorter. I'm 5'3 and had to constantly pull the dress down because it got inappropriate. The delivery got a little shaken since the UPS guy left it with a neighbor of mine instead of inside the lobby. It became an inconvenience because I had a flight to catch and neighbor was at the movies. Had to reschedule my flight to leave the next day. That's all to say, that the UPS delivery folks should drop off at address and not require a signature.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 200lbs
March 28, 2014
I didn't end up wearing this dress and left town before I could get a replacement
The torso of the dress fit wonderfully, but the bust/sleeves fit oddly and pulled on my 36DDD bust. Also, it was so much shorter than I expected, the slit in the back went up to my panties!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
March 28, 2014
I didn't end up being able to wear it unfortunately
I rented this dress for NYE but due to a snowstorm it didn't arrive on time. But I did try it on and it was a beautiful. Would rent this style again
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
March 29, 2014
great dresses to choose from
The rent the runway team did an excellent job of sending me a new dress in a timely fashion since the sparkle in the sky dress ran SOOO small
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
April 9, 2014
this dress is amazing!!! I got so many compliments- felt like a movie star but it is very small
I usually wear a 10-12 and had to go up to 16 to have some room!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
April 16, 2014
Gorgeous dress, but couldn't wear it due to cut.
The dress is extremely pretty, it just did to fit my body type. It is extremely unforgiving and if you have a but it will be barely covered. I wish I could have been able to fit the dress.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 167lbs
April 22, 2014
I did not end up wearing the dress even though it was lovely.
The fit was much too constricting in the bust. I have a large chest but there was no wiggle room whatsoever. I normally wear a size 10 dress but go up to a 12 for my bust. The 12 was way too tight and this dress has no stretch.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
April 22, 2014
Perfect for a party. Loved the sparkle.
This dress runs small. The sequins and belt were gorgeous, and I got a lot of compliments. I was not pleased with the quality of the dress though.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
May 6, 2014
I didn't end up wearing this dress for my engagement party.
I usually wear a 2 or 4 in dresses, so I ordered each of these sizes. The 2 was a bit too snug on the hips/butt area, so I thought the 4 would fit perfectly. Wrong. The 4 was even smaller than the 2. I couldn't even get it on! So I was unable to wear this dress at all because of the odd sizing.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
May 12, 2014
I loved this dress but order a couple sizes larger as it runs small ion chest and arms
loved this dress, but should have ordered a couple sizes bigger for some room
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
May 13, 2014
wedding for a great friend
I didn't end up wearing - dress was kind of wrinkled.
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
June 6, 2014
Way too small and NOT for busty girls
I was so disappointed when this dress arrived. It is very beautiful, and fit me perfectly, until the zipper reached my bust. Not for girls with full busts like many of the reviews said.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 31
June 8, 2014
Compliments, compliments. Everyone loved the dress!
Glad I ordered up a size. Usually in 0-2 and had to wear the 4 because it was more comfortable and got perfectly! I used double sides tape to tack up the lining at the hemline, it really did look better that way.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
June 23, 2014
Super gorgeous
Only it was a little too short for my taste-- but very pretty
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Age: 28
Bust size: 36DD
Body type: Hourglass
July 7, 2014
I didn't wear the dress but it was a beautiful one!
I didn't wear the dress because it was skittle smaller that I expected and the slit in the dress under neath was longer the one over it so you would be pulling your dress down all night. But the dress was beautiful just not right for the occasion and just seemed like to much work to wear.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
July 16, 2014
Perfect bachelorette dress!
Wore this for my bachelorette party. I ordered the 6 and 8 based on user reviews. Ended up with the 8 because the 6 was just short enough to be inappropriate. The underlining does ride up a bit, and I wouldn't recommend wearing spanks - the full body one would go past the length of the dress and the panty spanx seam line would show through the fabric. The sparkles are understated enough if you don't want to go too flashy. I thought it looked more pale gold/nude then the pink shade it looks in the photo. Loved that you could wear a regular bra with it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
August 4, 2014
Bachlorette party
This was a beautiful dress but was a small 6 for me. I did not get to wear it that night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
September 3, 2014
This dress is gorgeous but the 12 definitely was more like a 10. Order up!
Very snug and the top layer tends to ride up, exposing a chunk of the slip underneath. But a beautiful dress nonetheless.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
September 16, 2014
Beautiful dress.
Okay, I wasn't crazy about how I looked in this RTR because I was OTR. ;) Lucky me on my wedding day! So I definitely had bloat going on and it depressed the heck out of me. I give it 5 stars because how I looked wasn't the dress's fault. The dress itself is gorgeous. There is a sheen to it in the picture with the model on this website, but it's a lace dress with sequins that sparkle and made the dress "shine" in the right lighting. The material itself isn't a shiny material. I walked out wearing it and, despite feeling the way I did in it, it was a head-turner. So many women genuinely seemed to love it and tell me how good I looked in it (then again, I was the bride and who is going to tell her she looks bloated and in need of sweat pants and a hug?). I would definitely rent this dress again, just at a different time of the month. :) I wore with gold heels.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 95lbs
April 24, 2013
The sheen on it is beautiful
Fit true to size; the extra layer of sheen is very delicate so be careful! But was a beautiful dress. Great when the light hits it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
June 21, 2013
Pretty, flattering dress. Lots of compliments :)
I would say this runs only slightly small., but definitely order up for your backup. I am usually a 4, sometimes a 6 and the 6 fit like a glove. I didn't even bother trying the 4 on. The color is on the spectrum between champagne and gold. Whoever had it before had taped up the hem of the lining so that fixed that problem. The lining would have hung below the fabric of the dress otherwise, which I don't think would have looked as nice. I added a flapper-style head piece and long pearls to wear this to a Gatsby-themed party.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
November 5, 2014
The bride wanted us to wear champagne colored dresses and I really loved the look of the dress!
It really does run small, I am typically a 2 and even the 4 I received was really too small. I didn't like the slip hanging out the bottom so I did pin that up, and the dress was a little shorter than I would have preferred. Especially since there is a slit in the back. I still loved the dress, and if i had ordered it earlier and been able to get a size 6 as a back up I think it would have been perfect.
View photos (2)
See more reviews:
4 / 6

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×