Sparkle in the Sky Dress

$40 rental
$540 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Have everyone in envy at the party when you walk in wearing this eye catching Badgley Mischka sequin sheath. Earrings like the Gerad Yosca's Crystal Clear Nouveau Drops and Lauren Merkin's Gold Eve Clutch is all you need to complete this celebrity chic look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust but may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Fitted - very fitted at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust but may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Fitted - very fitted at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Cream lace with sequins. V neckline. Tie waist with embellishment. Back slit. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
217 reviews
Fit
Large1
True to Size90
Small120
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
March 11, 2014
Super Tight
I've worn Bagdley Mischka before in a size 4, but this dress was so tight, I didn't even try to zip it up! While it looks shimmery in the picture, the fabric is more like a crochet, kindof woven. It's not very sparkly.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 62
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
March 6, 2014
I got so many compliments when I wore this dress! I felt like a million bucks!
Got this dress in a 6 and 8 after seeing other reviews that it ran tight. But the 6 fit perfect. As to others that wore this dress I found the lining to be longer then the dress, since I am a tailor and upholsterer I quickly tacked up the lining in no time. Other then that this is a great dress for any dressy occasion! I also rented a purse that looked great!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
March 4, 2014
Very pretty and classy dress that helped me stand out from the typical black at a work party!
The dress is elegant and has subtle glitter that is fun but not gaudy. The belt on the dress is very beautiful. The lining on the dress does peak out from the bottom ,but it is obvious this was the look the designer was trying to achieve. I don't think it made the dress look worse. Overall, I thought the dress was beautiful and I am very happy I wore it. Fit: I usually wear between a 6-8, and wore the 8. I think the 8 was most certainly a smaller 8. I have broad shoulders, so the dress was a little tight on them. I would definitely recommend sizing up. It's a good length too! Fun, but not too short for a work function, and I'm 5'7. Fabric: The dress is overall beautiful, and catches light wonderfully. The ribbon on the belt on the 8 had been creased in half, which was a little odd. However, when tied, it was not really a huge factor. The sparkles are slightly itchy on the underarms, but I think this is bc it was a little snug on my shoulders.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
March 3, 2014
Wore this for my engagement party! Perfect!
Fit was great. True to size. Very flattering. Great for large busts. CON: the sequins totally chaffed your arm pits and under arms by the end of the night
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
February 19, 2014
Beautiful dress, but runs small, very short, and the liner was a major issue
I wanted to love this dress - it really is stunning, but it was unwearable for a number of reasons. It runs very small, I ordered a size up and it was still pretty tight. It was also way too short on me - I'm 5'10" though, so this probably wouldn't be an issue for the shorter ladies. The biggest problem is the liner. It sticks out several inches in the front, which looks really strange. I guess you could use fashion tape, as other ladies have suggested, but it still bunched up and looked odd on me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
February 16, 2014
Gorgeous dress, form fitting and very flattering!
Beautiful dress I wore for a wedding. Got so many compliments! Runs a little small so I had to wear a size up. But the size up fit great and looked so good!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
February 10, 2014
The dress was perfect for my Gatsby themed homecoming & it fit perfectly!
Perfect fit! True to size!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 7, 2014
Just Disappointed with Both Sizes Tried
Pros: both dresses sent are in fantastic shape: beautiful beading work on the belt & sequin overlay; style is appropriate for a wedding, fundraiser dinner/dance or milestone anniversary evening out. Cons: both sizes 8/10 run small (the 8 even more so, I think I could work with the 10). However, I could not wear any undergarments (husband said he wouldn't mind!) & as other RTRs have noted, the sequin overlay rides up in the front to reveal the underslip...for me about 2 inches. The back lays fine & level with the slip. Even with using some fabric tape to tack it, I don't think I would have been comfortable wearing the dress. Nevertheless, RTR's stylists have come through & immediately worked with me to suggest & send new dresses which will hopefully work out. If not, that's ok & I will try again in the future just based on the fantastic customer service alone!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
January 29, 2014
Perfect dress for my wedding rehearsal!
Loved this dress once I got it to fit right. The dress arrived wrinkled and had some damage. I spent A LOT of time ironing and using double sided tape to fix it, but once I did that, I loved it! I give this dress 4 stars because of the work you have to put into it, but once on, its amazing and worth it! The dress was a bit short, so would not recommend it if you're over 5'9".
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
January 16, 2014
Beautiful detail!
I loved the color and detail of this dress! The dress itself kept shifting up showing the nude slip underneath though, which was a little annoy for a control freak like me! I got many compliments for the dress and would definitely recommend choosing this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 118lbs
January 8, 2014
Sparkly but ill fitting.
Pros: The fabric has a very sparkly sheen without being gaudy. The belt is gorgeous. Cons: Not good for a larger chest and the fabric wears under the armpits. Also, the liner of the dress is longer than the exterior layer, which looks bizarre. Unfortunately, the top fabric works poorly with fabric tape. The dress I received wasn't in great condition.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
January 7, 2014
Glamorous yet simple.
I rented this exquisite dress for a NYE party. It was lovely, and fit like a glove. I received tons of compliments throughout the night on it, and I felt like it had some great sparkle - but nothing overwhelming. Definitely loved this dress!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
December 9, 2013
I LOVED this dress! I got so many compliments
The dress was a bit damaged when it came, and the slip underneath kept showing. Other than that it was a win!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
November 30, 2013
Didn't fit
I normally wear a size 6, but also got the 8 as a backup. Even the 8 was too small to zip over my bust which was a little surprising since I'm only a C cup. Definitely recommend ordering up. Even if it had fit, I would have been disappointed though because the sequins and detailing on the front of the dress looked worn/broken in.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
November 30, 2013
Gorgeous dress!
Absolutely loved the dress! The color is perfect for any skin tone and the dress's shine looks great in pictures. Definitely recommend it for any formal occasion!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
November 24, 2013
I got a ton of compliments!
The dress definitely runs small. I have a large bust and I couldn't wear a bra with it at all. Luckily, it still looked alright. The sequins also made it a bit itchy. I'm not sure that I would rent the dress again, but it was very pretty.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
November 22, 2013
I didn't end up wearing this dress - was too tight. It's gorgeous, though!
Runs small; tight fit; order a size up from your normal size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 8, 2013
Overall, a great dress to celebrate my first wedding anniversary!
The fit was right on, but the lining kept sticking out of the bottom which was pretty annoying! It looked great though, so hopefully people were looking at my smiling face and not my thighs! I wore this for my first wedding anniversary on New Year's Eve. It was a great night!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 164lbs
November 6, 2013
Dress fits like a glove!
This dress is stunning and classy. I loved it's understated elegance and the cut was clearly designer caliber. The dress was clearly worn, however, and had some serious pilling and some loose gems. The slip was also really annoying, but I was able to tape it up and it stayed for the majority of the evening. However, I would still rent this dress again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 19
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 185lbs
October 24, 2013
great dress for plus size teens!!!! I loved the dress!!! totally unforgettable.
wore it to my schools homecoming. loved it and got tons of compliments. ladies with a big bust and who are plus size, this dress is a winner! lovely fit and very forgiving! lace was itchy but wasn't too big of a problem, slip underneath extended a bit from bottom but was easy to fix with fashion tape. all in all I had a good experience I would recommend it to someone who wouldn't mind using some fashion tape.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
October 23, 2013
Beautiful Dress!
Beautiful dress, loved the lace, sequins and beading however it looked a tad long without heels (I'm 5'3 maybe 5'4) and the belt did not come off. I didnt mind, thought it went perfectly with the dress.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
October 5, 2013
It looks even better in person, absolutely stunning!
The dress was absolutely gorgeous, I wore it for a school dance with nude heels and I got so many complements. Rent this dress for sure, no picture can truly do it justice. As soon as I got it in the mail, I fell in love with it. It's classy and sexy, I didn't want to send it back!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
October 3, 2013
Definitely not true to size
I ended up not wearing this gorgeous dress because I couldn't zip it up the back, I needed the 4 which wasn't available. It is very snug and I'm an athlete and I strength train so I bet the 4 would have been perfect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
October 2, 2013
My dad telling me I looked beautiful! I was his date to a Marine Corp event!
FIt like a glove! The lining came down a bit in the front, but i pinned it up and it was fine.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165lbs
September 30, 2013
I got like 1000 compliments, from my friends and from strangers
Fits kind of tight, would recommend Spanx! Also, the slip part kind of hangs down below the hem so I had to do some crafty work with fashion tape. Would rent again though! Definitely an beautiful dress, I never wanted to take it off.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
September 27, 2013
Didn't like this dress.
The shine was way too flashy for me and the sequins were way more apparent in real life. Online it looked like a nice shimmer, nothing too flashy, but for me it was a little over the top.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
September 26, 2013
I got this dress as a backup and loved it. I decided to go with the other dress but would rent again
Fits true to size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
September 22, 2013
Bridal shower beauty!!
I wore this for my shower. Thank goodness I got the 6 because even the six was tight. A bit worn out but still beautiful!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
September 17, 2013
The amazing customer service and dress quality
I absolutely LOVED this dress! I ordered the 8 & the 10 and I would definitely recommend going up a size if your boobs are large. It fit like a glove, was super comfortable and the amount of compliments I got on it was overwhelming. Love RTR!
LouiseSeptember 17, 2013
Did this dress seem too close to white to wear as a guest to a wedding?
JessSeptember 18, 2013
Not at all! It's actually darker in person. It was more of a dark nude color
NicoleOctober 2, 2013
There's no way you're a size 10! Anyways, you look stunning!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
September 12, 2013
runs very small
i rented this as my first choice but the 10 was not available. i rented the 8 but it was SO small. I suspected that it would be so i ordered a second style that fit very well. anyway, this dress is gorgeous but make sure to get your size and for sure the size up!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117lbs
September 11, 2013
Pretty dress, but not very forgiving
This dress was very pretty and in good condition when it came (although the fabric belt had seen better days, it could have gotten by without anyone noticing) but both sizes were way too small in the chest. I think it would have been beautiful if there were a little stretch to it so that I could fit into the top part, but I wasn't able to for the event. I would say if you are busty, this might not be a good choice, but if you're not, then it is a really pretty and classy dress.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 52
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
August 19, 2013
Loved every aspect of Rent the Runway! Great experience, would definitely rent again!
The fit was a little small. But, overall it felt great.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
August 17, 2013
I didn't end up wearing it.
The dress was beautiful. Longer than expected.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
August 5, 2013
sophisticated and sexy with a hint of retro glamour
Definitely a winner! I wore this to a black tie optional affair and I received compliments all evening. The slip being longer than the dress didn't bother me at all - it made it more interesting and unique. I was worried that the color wouldn't work with my pale skin, but it worked really nicely. Definitely size up. I am a 2 in brands like theory and shoshanna but the 4 in this dress fit me like a glove.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
July 29, 2013
Great for my bachelorette party!
This dress does run small, but it has stretch in it to make it fit nicely all over. I am usually a 2 or a 4, and I went with the 4 on this dress. As others have mentioned, the slip underneath is longer than the dress. The night before I wore mine, I put in temporary tailor tacking on the slip so it was shorter than the dress. Perfecto! The dress does show signs of wear, as the lace all over was a little "fuzzy" from being cleaned so many times. I wore no necklace, and gold jeweled earrings of my own that actually matched the jewels on the sash well, along with nude pumps. The vent in the back of the dress tends to flip open when you put it on, so a good steaming will help those flatten out on the back of the legs. received a lot of compliments in this dress. It was classy yet sexy enough to wear as a bachelorette.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
July 24, 2013
Didnt end up working for me....
Fit a little tight - the lace overlay didnt lay right
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
July 17, 2013
Lots of compliments, great dress!
We had a destination wedding and then another reception back home for those that couldn't make the wedding. I wore this to the reception and it was perfect for it! About the dress, it definitely runs small and fits tight throughout. It's sexy yet classy. Also as other women mentioned, the inside layer hangs out below the lace overlay and needs to be hemmed up with double sided tape. Lastly, you could tell this dress has been worn quite a bit as the material was very fuzzy from the sequins snagging (it wasn't as fuzzy on the back up size 2 that they sent me). You couldn't notice this from afar though. The other thing is that it was delivered to me a day late. Luckily this wasn't an issue as I ordered it two days in advance of my event. All in all it was a great experience with RTR and I would recommend this dress and the service!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 127lbs
July 8, 2013
Pretty dress, but a little worn from frequent use.
I really liked this dress online, but when I got it, it still like it but you could tell that it had been worn a lot. I ended up going with my second choice instead.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
July 8, 2013
Perfect for my Bachelorette Party
This dress was absolutely perfect for my night in the city Bachelorette party. A great combination of sparkles and crystals and the fit was to die for. The dress was comfortable to wear all night long and the golden color made me stand out as the bride. I loved this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
June 28, 2013
The dress was perfect for the occasion; it sparkled and looked great all night!
The fit was good, but it was a little long for me. Also, the 4 I received was damaged (bad zipper), but the 6 ended up being just fine, and the customer service rep was AMAZING and handled the problem perfectly! Overall, I still definitely recommend the dress, especially if you're taller than 5' 2"!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 6

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×