Badgley Mischka

Sliding Shoulder Dress

$48 to buy
$475 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

With a flutter sleeve and jewel embellishment shoulder, this Badgley Mischka dress is a chic solution for any evening affair. For maximum glamour, complete the look with the Alexis Bittar's Crystal Vine Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room for fuller bust sizes
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist with ruched detail, concealing midsection
HIPS: Fitted - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - curvy or tall women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'11".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room for fuller bust sizes
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist with ruched detail, concealing midsection
HIPS: Fitted - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - curvy or tall women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'11".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black matte jersey. Asymmetric neckline with split sleeve and beading detail at right shoulder. Draping with exposed shoulder at left sleeve. Side ruching. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 39'' from shoulder to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

219 reviews

Fit
Small 18
True to Size 194
Large 6
Photos 73
Kim
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Jun 23, 2011

Totally gorgeous dress on! So many compliments

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fits PERFECTLY!! I ordered the 8 and it fits like a glove. I have a bit of a tummy and this dress hid it. No need for spanx. It's a bit longer than in the picture though, I am assuming this model is around 5'9 so she has longer legs. Looks Gorgeous on.
Michelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138 lbs
Jul 20, 2012

Feeling great in my RTR dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I got so many compliments on this dress. It really is beautiful. Perfect for a wedding! I highly recommend.
CW
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Body type: Hourglass
Jul 21, 2012

Being my first wedding I ever attended, I felt very comfortable and dressed appropriately.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I'm normally a 10 and ordered the 12 as a backup, and ended up feeling more comfortable in the 12. This dress is so elegant and I was able to fun it up with pink shoes. Though the zipper did get stuck at times, I stilled loved every second of wearing it.
Keren
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 11, 2012

My first rtr dress was a huge success! loved it!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The zipper was a little hard to pull up but aside from that a fabulous dress. Hugs your body in all the right places and I love the sexy off the shoulder. Got so many compliments!
Terra
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 139 lbs
Aug 14, 2012

I wore this dress on a trip with my husband to celebrate our 1-year wedding anniversary in Toronto. It was perfect for a night on the town with my groom :)

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I really loved the design and fit of this dress! I especially liked the how the shoulder strap fell across your arm. The dress was also very comfortable and a great length. I ordered a six 6 and 8, and ended up wearing the 6 as it ran true to size. The zipper is very difficult to use (as some of the other reviewers had mentioned) as it gets caught on the material of the dress.
Tanya
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Aug 20, 2012

Putting the whole ensemble on and feeling beautiful.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I chose this dress for a close friend's wedding and received compliments all night. My boyfriend told me I looked stunning and took out his camera and started taking pictures. I was so sad to send it back! Will definitely continue to use RTR.
audra
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 2"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Aug 22, 2012

No the best pic, but showing ALL that leg was perfect!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Wore this dress to my High School reunion and it was certainly a stunner! I was a bit short for a tall girl like me, but why not show a little leg to my old High School buddies??!! Would rent again!
Mel
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 25, 2012

n/a

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress for my organization's fund raising event. I had nothing but compliments from my colleagues. I'm short, so the dress was lower on me than the picture. It still looked great.
Jennifer
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Apple
Weight: 167 lbs
Sep 4, 2012

The gems on the shoulder really stand out when paired with silver earrings. It made me not require a necklace :P

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
So I got this dress as a backup style to my first choice. Well worth it. I got it in a 10 and a 12, in case it was too big (ha ha). The 12 fit fine; it was roomy, but I didn't want a tight size 10 anyway (big midsection). It was really nice, and I enjoyed it! :) :) :)
Rachael
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 13, 2012

This dress hid the tummy area well with the way it draped. It was perfect in everyway.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It was a great dress for office Christmas party. The legnth wasnt too short. I dressed this up with some silver & rhinestone strappy heels. Got compliments all night. Would highly reccomend.
Michi
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 150 lbs
Sep 17, 2012

LOVED IT! <3

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The model is a few inches taller than me but I wanted the dress to fit closer to my knee line. It fit awesome! It was very comfortable and elegant. I felt great wearing it! I rented the 10 but also rented an 8 (for the extra $25) and the 8 was a perfect fit. This website is a blessing (especially in clutch situations!) THANKS! ;)
Lena
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 19, 2012

I felt like a million bucks. A basic black with some style.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I got a lot of compliments in this dress. The fabric feels exquisite. I did wear a girdle underneath, that went from the ribs to the thighs because even though there are gathers in the fabric, I felt more comfortable with it. I'm 5'6" and the length was just above my knees.
Melissa
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 24, 2012

So I glad I tried Rent The Runway......all Positive and so easy!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It was a very elegant dress I rented for a wedding. Got lots of compliments on dress and bracelet. Material was forgiving also. :)
Priscila
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 131 lbs
Sep 25, 2012

Dress fits well, but zipper is a problem

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Dress is comfortable and fits well, but zipper does not open all the way, and closing it is also a problem.
jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Sep 28, 2012

this dress was amazing.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
fit great and just fitted enough to be sexy while staying classy for a wedding.
sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 119 lbs
Oct 3, 2012

I loved knowing I had a great dress and didn't have to go to a bunch of stores to find it!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved the dress. Perfect for this occasion. I did think it was a little long for me (I'm 5'1") but worked out okay. Very convenient as we had to travel to Chicago for this wedding and there was a POBox right outside the hotel for the return!
Marlo
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Oct 26, 2012

I felt great and sexy especially for a mom of 2 under 2!!!! It was a great experience oveall! Yay!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The fit was great. I do think the shoulder area was a wee bit stretched, but it still looked and felt great. It was true to size and I felt sex-ay!!!!! Thanks RTC! I am now a fan and WILL use you again!
Darlene
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 28, 2012

Classic... and, sexy!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
Runs small - I sucked it in all night. Rent a size up, and then another size up - especially if you're sitting down to dinner as there's not much give. The size 0 arrived in pristine condition, not the 2. I was disappointed that there's a bead or two missing and the beads are discolored on the 2. The hem fell below the dress - that will need to be fixed. I'm also disappointed that I wasn't credited for that. Nevertheless, lots of compliments! An amazing dress.
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 11, 2012

Felt beautiful! Wore this dress for a bacherlorette party.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
No complaints. I probably could of gone a size down but the dress fit nicely overall. It was very comfortable especially since we were dancing a lot. Great dress if you have a slightly larger chest.
Jen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Dec 3, 2012

Great for a professional event!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Hi was feeling a little bloated and self conscious before I put on this dress, but once I had it on—I felt great! The fabric is very forgiving and feels good. It fits very true to size and the length is appropriate for professional events, even for someone taller.
Precious J.
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110 lbs
Dec 17, 2012

Fun, flirty and flattering!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The fit was absolutely perfect! It never felt awkward although the dress is designed very different than anything I've worn before. The fabric was elegant and the jeweled embellishment added a stunning touch. I have a large rear end and this dress hit in all the right places. My friend on the right is wearing the Adia Kibur pink necklace.
Stephanie
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Dec 23, 2012

This dress is gorgeous and comfortable! I received so many compliments throughout the night!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is the perfect combination of classy and sexy. The dress fell slightly above my knees and I was completely covered up, which was appropriate for the company holiday party I attended, but the exposed should and curve hugging sides brought out just the right amount of sexy. I'm large chested and the dress made the girls look amazing. Since I'm a little curvier, I was a little nervous about what size to order. The size 8 fit me just fine, but I went with the size 10 as it hid my belly a little better. Not only did the dress look good, but it was comfortable! I was front and center of a Gangnam Style flash mob and I had no trouble dancing at all.
Glenda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 17, 2013

Comfortable and sexy.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved, loved, loved this dress. I recently lost 20 pounds so wasn't sure what size to get. I was hoping to fit into a size 6, but got the size 8 to be more realistic. The size 8 fit perfect. I had a hard time with the zipper because it kept getting caught on the inside lining. I received so many compliments on the gown. This was the first time I ordered from RTR, although I've known they've existed for years. My experience has been outstanding. Being able to browse hundreds of gowns without having to go to several stores, and then getting my accessories too was a life saver. The return process was really easy as well. I've got several weddings this year and I will definitely be ordering from them again.
Stacy
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 25, 2013

LOVE THIS DRESS!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I love everything about this dress. It is the perfect little black dress! Very flattering!
Misty
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122 lbs
Mar 24, 2013

Exactly what I was looking for!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Love this dress. Very comfortable and super sexy.
Adrienne
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
May 5, 2013

Wore this cocktail dress to my brother's wedding. Fit well. Stunner! I was very happy with this!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this to my brother's wedding. It was beautiful Fit well. Perfect classy length. Elegant. The beading was a bit worn and so was the inside near zipper. BUT, I got a ton of compliments and it was exactly what the sister of the bride should have worn.
Giselle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
May 5, 2013

Elegant...

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved the dress...simple, comfortable, and very elegant. A little long (right above the knee) for a short girl like me, but didn't mind with super high heels..
Margaret
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 28, 2013

A Classy Summer Event

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was a true size 2 - it hugged my body pretty well. It had rouching to hide my problem spots, but it was comfortable, easy to move in, and a gorgeous dress.
Catherine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Jul 16, 2013

Elegant!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The Dress is very comfortable, looks put together and classy. I was truly happy because this was my backup dress, the only thing I did not like is that the side zipper bunched up, it did not lay flat creating a weird shape I had to work around that for my pictures but other then that it was beautiful.
Melissa
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 137 lbs
Sep 17, 2013

Felt sexy wearing this dress and it was comfortable which made it even better, very simple & elegant

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Felt a little snug around hips/belly but the next size was too loose, perfect length right above knee and I'm 5'1" so I thought it would run longer. You definitely need a second hand to zip the side zipper up, that would be my only complaint
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36AA
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 6, 2013

Good choice for a black tie optional wedding.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was very nice, but not my favorite. The beading is very pretty and adds a nice touch-makes it more appropriate for a formal affair without it being over the top. The ruching is also nice and forgiving. But the fit for me wasn't great. The dress would ride up on one side and the lining would show occasionally. I felt like I was pulling down and straightening the dress all night. The top was also just a little big for my small bust. The zipper was also pretty tough.
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160 lbs
Oct 27, 2013

Loved the dress, but beware the zipper!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is a great, very classy little black dress. I rented a 6 and 8, ended up wearing the 6, but even it was still a little roomy. I loved the length - at 5'10 it's not easy to find cocktail dresses that are long enough not to be inappropriate! I wore it for my 10 year high school reunion and got lots of compliments. I had some major issues with the zipper however, the side of the dress popped WIDE open in the middle of the night and it took 30 minutes and some heavy duty pliers to fix. The zipper would pop open even when it was fastened up top, so you had to unzip the dress completely in order to fix it and zip it back up.
mindy
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138 lbs
Mar 23, 2014

Loved the fit and look of the dress!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fit very nicely. The gathering in the mid section was very flattering. I was very comfortable except for a few times I had to adjust the lining of the dress but it really wasn't a problem. Bust area was slight;y big but the entire look of the dress was very nice. I would definitely recommend it to anyone who likes to show off their figure in a modest, classy way!
Sonja
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Jun 14, 2014

Great dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Great dress but zipper is difficult.. But I would rent again! Love RTR!
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Jun 14, 2014

Glamorous and comfortable

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I have never been so comfortable at a formal event! The event was for work, so I was worried about the dress being too short, but it was actually the perfect length for my height (I'm about 5' 8"). Because of the bronze accents on the shoulder, I was able to mix it up with some fun tan pumps.
tina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Jul 16, 2014

the perfect glamorous black dress for any formal occasion

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
seemed to get endless compliments from this dress, which fit like a glove. didn't even have to wear a bra. perfect!
Eva
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Oct 27, 2014

Flattering, comfortable, and lots of compliments!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The ruching on the side with the zipper makes the dress hard to zip up and down. It's ok if you go slow. The fabric had some stretch which makes it more comfy. I danced all night!
Erin
Age: 45
Dec 1, 2014

I had an amazing dress for a lot less than it would have cost to own it. I felt fantastic in it!

Size worn: 6
Rented for: Formal Affair
It was true to size and comfortable the whole night. Zipper was a little difficult. I loved this dress!
Shamika
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180 lbs
Dec 2, 2014

I Love, Love, Love this dress.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
As a first time renter of RTR, I'm impressed with the timely manner in which the dress was delivered. I was a little uneasy about whether or not the dress would fit especially receiving it on the day of the event. As you can see the dress fits true to size, so it's probably safe to say order a size bigger for your second dress. I definitely felt sexy and classy at the same time. The compliments kept pouring in all night and I felt like a celebrity. I highly recommend this dress.
Lyanne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 6, 2015

My 34th Birthday

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Went to dinner with my man and my bestie with her new hubby for my birthday. Casual but my birthday is at a fancy time of year (between Xmas and NYE) so I needed something that can be dressed up but not formal. This was perfect. I probably could have fit in the 8 but after a weddings, holidays, and NYE around the corner, I opted to size up for comforts sake. It was very comfortable and lady like. Perfect length if you don't like you butt hanging out under your short skirt. LOL! I would rent this again if I had another function for it. Thanks for the amazing Birthday Rental RTR!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×