Rent the Runway

Badgley Mischka

Sliding Shoulder Dress

$48 to buy
$475 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

With a flutter sleeve and jewel embellishment shoulder, this Badgley Mischka dress is a chic solution for any evening affair. For maximum glamour, complete the look with the Alexis Bittar's Crystal Vine Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room for fuller bust sizes
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist with ruched detail, concealing midsection
HIPS: Fitted - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - curvy or tall women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'11".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room for fuller bust sizes
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist with ruched detail, concealing midsection
HIPS: Fitted - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - curvy or tall women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'11".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black matte jersey. Asymmetric neckline with split sleeve and beading detail at right shoulder. Draping with exposed shoulder at left sleeve. Side ruching. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 39'' from shoulder to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

222 reviews

Fit
Small 18
True to Size 197
Large 6
Photos 74
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 22, 2012

Didn't wear it because of the material

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress, while pretty, offers no stretch at all and really doesn't hide many body flaws. You can see every line under the dress.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 1, 2012

This dress was stunning and I got compliments from everyone all night!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
True to fit, just be careful about the zipper. Since the fabric is bunched around it it can be difficult to zip on your own
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Oct 1, 2012

Stunning and chic LBD

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for a formal charity event and it was perfect. Subtle off-the-shoulder style, well-placed jeweled broach -- these little touches make it much more than a basic black dress. Runs a little small, so size up.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Oct 4, 2012

classic choice for a wedding

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit was just perfect, fitted but not too snug. I loved the way the one side draped off my shoulder. Came to a little above knee on me. Highly recommend if you are looking for a lbd
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 5, 2012

Adorable and comfortable!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress has been on my wishlist for a while. I was so glad to have the opportunity to wear it. The material is great, a little stretchy. I did not need spanx underneath. The length was also perfect for me. Another successful RTR!!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 149 lbs
Oct 12, 2012

Cute dress. I wish I ordered the right size.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I ended up returning this dress because it didn't fit. I gained 15 pounds this past year and have been wearing a size10 lately, but for some reason this dress didn't fit. Oh well, next time I'll get the next size up.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 18
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 17, 2012

Overall, a pretty and very comfortable dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress ran true to size. It was a little longer than I would have liked. Overall, a pretty and very comfortable dress!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Oct 22, 2012

This was my back-up dress. It was sophisticated, comfortable and true to size.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The side zip with the ruching is a little tricky and one of the beads arrived with loose threads and was hanging off (easily fixable though). The dress fit perfectly and was extremely comfortable with nice quality fabric. The beading at the shoulder was a nice detail. For me, I just liked my first choice better but this would be an excellent versatile formal or date dress.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110 lbs
Nov 2, 2012

NA

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fitted very nicely. Very classy. Nice detail. Loved this dress.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 49
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Nov 14, 2012

very comfortable! Lots of compliments

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This was my first RTR rental! Love it!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 47
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 3, 2012

Lovely

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Very simple dress. Wore this to the Christmas Pops in Boston. It was perfectly simple and fit the occasions. Very comfortable too.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 12, 2012

Gorgeous and flattering!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for a Carneval event in February. The fit was so flattering and the little jeweled detail at the top was just enough and not overly sparkly. The off the shoulder style required a strapless bra, but I wore spanx and it created perfect and clean lines. A great rental for a night on the town, NYE or even a wedding. I will definitely be renting this dress again :)
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136 lbs
Dec 20, 2012

party dress !

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Very nice dress. Thought too much material but has a nice flare to it. Fun and flirty
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 3, 2013

Nice LBD!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I liked this dress quite a lot. The fit was a bit more snug than I expected, but it was flattering overall.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Jan 15, 2013

Sexy, sleek.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress is as gorgeous in person as it is on the website. Worn with a pair of spanx, it fits like a glove- not too tight, not too loose.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Body type: Petite
Jan 16, 2013

Tried it on and never wore it. Found it to be extremely unflattering for a short girl.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress was too long and too tight in all of the wrong areas. If you are tall, I think it would look much better.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128 lbs
Jan 23, 2013

Loved it but it was missing stones and had a broken zipper

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The dress was great and looked amazing, which I was shocked that I liked it so much. Unfortunately, the dress was needing some repairs, and I wasn't able to wear it. Good thing it was just my back up dress, because the zipper was broken and the embellishments on the shoulder were missing several stones.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 29, 2013

Super Flattering Fit!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Really nice fabric & drape to this dress, which makes it ultra flattering on. It seems like it runs a little longer than it looks on the model. Gorgeous in person!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Feb 10, 2013

The dress fit well and accentuated the positive.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress. Received many compliments all night long.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123 lbs
Feb 27, 2013

Not just another little black dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
This dress rocks! It is very comfy, a little sexy but still classy. Very flattering fit with ruching on the side. Beaded detail on the shoulder is a nice accent without being gaudy. Plans changed & I didn't get to wear this, but I will be renting it another time!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 189 lbs
Mar 31, 2013

Fit like a glove

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
It was so amazing. I felt so comfy and I usually dred wearing anything that looks like it would hug. This dress was so forgiving I could have gone a size down and still been ok it was so much stretch. Perfect dress for the girl who still has a shape with a bit of bulge that wont go away. ;0 I normally go a size up but it was so awesome my self esteem was through the roof. Wish I took pics.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Apr 3, 2013

So nice I rented it TWICE!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
When the original dress I ordered had faint black stains on it (a yellow dress), there was no way I could wear it to the wedding as planned. As my flight landed in Miami I called RTR ASAP and they asked what dress I'd like instead... and this was the one. I'd rented it before for another wedding but didnt wear it but I knew it fit well and would be a safe bet. It arrived at my hotel the next morning with no issue. Well, one issue - the lining was torn and kept peeking from under the dress. I managed to use some dress tape to secure the lining but it annoyed me the entire evening.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 50
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Apr 12, 2013

*

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Dress was high-quality overall, but the zipper was really hard even on the hanger. When I put on the 8, it was quite short (but okay for the event) but the bustline was just too tight and kind of flattened me out. The 10 fit, but was oddly several inches longer and felt more like a MOB dress - a little dowdy. Bummed, but so happy with RTR customer service!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 24, 2013

Very Classy

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Felt like a million bucks in this one. RTR doesn't disappoint.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
May 2, 2013

This dress is amazing. It is the perfect little black dress.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is super flattering. If you have a little tummy, the draping of the dress totally hides it.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
May 7, 2013

I was very pleased with the comfort, style and look of the dress, but not with the quality.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was moderately pleased with the dress overall but only after I had to do some seamstress work myself. The rhinestones on the shoulder were loose and one was hanging by a thread, and the lining was coming undone at the hemline and was below the outer fabric. After some quick stitching I was able to fix the dress. Overall, while I think the dress was beautiful and I received complements on the dress all night, however, I don't think the quality of service was up to par. I shouldn't have to fix a dress before I wear it, even if I'm renting it.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
May 12, 2013

I received many compliments and I felt great wearing this dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I have no complaints about this dress. It was perfect!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
May 12, 2013

Cute dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Zipper was very difficult to get up or down - gets stuck in the gathered fabric. Thought I was not going to be able to wear it, but my husband finally got the zipper up. Very comfortable and flattering. Not a showstopper, but perfect in a a conservative setting.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138 lbs
May 23, 2013

Dinner Dress

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Nice fit, but nothing to write home about.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Body type: Hourglass
Jun 3, 2013

I rented to this dress as a backup to my first choice.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I did not wear this dress, as I rented it as a back up. It was pretty.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118 lbs
Jun 3, 2013

I got a lot of compliments on this dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I had to do a little adjusting/taping to make it fit correctly at the shoulder, but it was minor. Overall, I liked the drape and cut.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Jun 8, 2013

Liked it, but not for my body type.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Didn't like the way this dress fit me - the zero was too small, the 2 was too big. Ended up returning it without wearing it for the credit. Just not the right style for my body - which is short, small frame with wide hips, but not very busty.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175 lbs
Jun 19, 2013

BEAUTIFUL/PLAYFUL/SEXY little number

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a wedding and received so many compliments on it. It's very flattering and VERY fun and sexy. I would rent it again.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Jul 31, 2013

Great Dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
The dress fit very well and was flattering, only problem was it was very hard to zip up or down because of the fabric. Even on the hanger I couldnt get it unzipped. Overall great dress.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 139 lbs
Aug 3, 2013

Not my favorite, but definitely got the job done.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this & had it shipped last minute to Chicago for a formal affair in connection with a conference I attended in February. It was actually 2 weeks before I wore the Red Badgley Mischka dress (if you happen to have read my other reviews). I took a picture of myself in it, but it is so dark I don't think it will help anyone make a decision about renting it. It fit, it was sexy, it was appropriate, but I wouldn't say I felt like I turned a million heads in it. It was a black cocktail dress and you know how black cocktail dresses are, if they aren't mind blowing fabulous they are average. We wear them because we always look thin, we always know it is a safe choice. I picked this dress because I literally had it shipped 2 days before I wore it & not much else was available. I gain a little weight in the winter (i'm normally 139-142, I was probably 147-150) & I thought it ran small, but that could be because I packed on a few pounds over the winter & not because it was snug. Therefore I am rating it 'true to size'. Not a showstopper, but a nice dress. If you're looking for the ultimate black cocktail dress go with Jenn's Jaguar Dress.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 5, 2013

This dress was too small.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I ordered this dress as a back up for my sisters bachelorette party in Chicago. Although I usually wear a size 14 I read the reviews and ordered a 12 since that was the largest size. I couldn't zip it over my hips. It's a pretty dress.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Oct 2, 2013

Loved it. Very forgiving for chubby girls.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Zipper was difficult.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Oct 3, 2013

Gorgeous gown!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to a charity event. It was fitted, gorgeous, and I felt so sexy! Love this dress!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Oct 12, 2013

Great dress! Very comfortable!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Got lots of compliments! The dress was a little snug but the material and design are very forgiving!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 114 lbs
Oct 14, 2013

Elegantly bump friendly.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Normally I wear a size 4 but I was 6 months pregnant and this dress worked out wonderful. I received several compliments and was very comfortable in this dress.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×