Badgley Mischka

Sliding Shoulder Dress

$64 to buy
$475 retail
Stylist Notes

With a flutter sleeve and jewel embellishment shoulder, this Badgley Mischka dress is a chic solution for any evening affair. For maximum glamour, complete the look with the Alexis Bittar's Crystal Vine Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room for fuller bust sizes
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist with ruched detail, concealing midsection
HIPS: Fitted - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - curvy or tall women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'11".)

Product Details

Black matte jersey. Asymmetric neckline with split sleeve and beading detail at right shoulder. Draping with exposed shoulder at left sleeve. Side ruching. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 39'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
221 reviews
Fit
Large
(6)
True to Size
(196)
Small
(19)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
March 7, 2011

I wore this dress to a March wedding. Loved it! Very comfortable and fit perfectly! Got tons of compliments. One flaw was the lining shifted and needed readjusting. I ended up wearing the size 0.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 144lbs
March 14, 2011

Beautiful dress. Quite classy and elegant - perfect for any event where you want to look great without making TOO much of a splash! Extremely figure flattering and fit very true to size.

Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Body type: Athletic
March 23, 2011

This dress was so flattering and fit wonderfully! I got so many compliments while wearing it. The fabric not only looked great, but it felt great...just a terrific dress overall! Would definitely recommend this to others!

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 25, 2011

Very flattering dress! I rented for a possible fancy-dress date, but we had a casual one instead. It was such a great dress that I wore it anyway...I felt sexy enough that my date (my husband!) didn't mind me wearing a cocktail dress to the IMAX. Very fun to wear!

Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
June 2, 2011

Absolutely LOVED this dress. Just rented it for a friend's wedding and it was an absolute hit - so gorgeous I didn't want to take it off. Only trouble I had was with the zipper; getting it through the gathers at the waist was a bit of a bother, but totally worth it. I normally wear a size four, but I hedged on the side of caution (and too much junk food) and got the six as well. They arrived and, goodness knows how, the four fit like a glove. I'm renting EVERY party dress from RTR from now on... and telling everyone!

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140lbs
June 6, 2011

Loved this dress! It was part of my first RTR rental and I couldn't have been happier. I'm 5'4" 133lbs and ordered a 4 and a 6 and ended up wearing the 4. The 6 was way to big in the chest area, I'm a solid 34B. The zipper was a pain, but what hidden zipper isn't? I wore this to a friend's wedding and got lots of compliments all night long.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
June 17, 2011

I loved loved LOVED this dress! It fit wonderfully, and the draped shoulder made me feel sexy. I even got compliments from complete strangers! You can wear it with a convertible bra, just use the one shoulder strap option. I would definitely rent it again if I had another fancy even to go to!

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
June 24, 2011

My first rental, and I would definitely rent this dress again. I LOVE it! It is very flattering, comfortable, sexy, and attention-getting. I wore it to a wedding, and received many compliments on it from men/women, young/old, conservative/fashionista, friends/strangers. I felt like the hottest thing at the wedding (sorry, bride...but I was...in an understated way). I am 5'4", 118lbs, an hourglass shape, and the size 4 fit perfectly. The only issue issue I had with both the size 4 and backup size 6, was that I could not get the zipper down on either of them, prior to putting it on. The zipper gets stuck where there is a cluster of fabric at the waist of the dress, which makes it a bit challenging to get on and take off.

Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
June 26, 2011

I loved this dress!! I rented it for the miss usa pageant and got compliments from complete strangers. One of which as "stunning." This dress accented all my curves and made me look classy and sexy all at the same time. If I had more things I needed to dress up for, I would buy this dress! I more than suggest it!

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138lbs
July 19, 2011

This dress is AWESOME! I haven't felt this skinny in a long time. The length was very flattering and the ruching at the waist was great at covering those problem areas. I got a ton of compliments. You can tell this dress is popular because the beading on the shoulder is loose and some is missing. Other than that, great dress!

Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
July 26, 2011

I got a lot of compliments on this dress. It was flattering and forgiving in the stomach if your ate/drank too much! The probs I had is that I chose the 6 and 8 and I couldnt even try the 6 on because the zipper was stuck...the teeth were all misaligned. The 6 probably would have fit better but I had no choice but to go for the 8. Also the beading on the shouder was worn and you could tell the dress was old. I wore my hair to the side to cover it up. 5 stars if the beading wasnt messed.

RTR CustomerJuly 26, 2011
We are so sorry to hear the dress arrived in less than perfect condition. We are checking the zipper and beading on every unit to make sure this doesn't happen again. Thank you for sharing your experience.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
August 2, 2011

LOVED this dress! I am considered petite, but have a full bust. The dress fit perfectly (I wore it to an evening wedding), and I received many compliments! RTR was very user-friendly, and I couldn't be happier with the process. Will definitely use again! :)

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 190lbs
August 5, 2011

This dress looks amazing on, even if you don't have a perfect body. I ordered the 10R and 12R and wore the 12R. The ruching covered my problem areas and looked flawless with the aid of friendly undergarments. I felt beautiful! Thanks RTR!

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
August 6, 2011

I rented this dress for my high school reunion. The dress fit like a glove and looked amazing. The only small problem was a sticky side zipper.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Body type: Full Bust
August 7, 2011

This dress was amazing!!! I wore it to a wedding and received tons of compliments. Even though I originally didnt want to wear black- this dress turned out to be the perfect choice!

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
August 20, 2011

WOW!! The pictures don't even come close to doing this dress justice. It looks phenomenal on and fit me like a glove. This dress is perfect for hourglass shapes; it really accentuates a small waist yet drapes perfectly over fuller hips. My only complaint was that the size 4 that I ended up wearing was missing several beads from the shoulder detail, which would have been very pretty had it not been damaged. I wore my hair down to cover it up and it wasn't noticeable, but it would have been a nice detail.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
June 23, 2011
Totally gorgeous dress on! So many compliments

This dress fits PERFECTLY!! I ordered the 8 and it fits like a glove. I have a bit of a tummy and this dress hid it. No need for spanx. It's a bit longer than in the picture though, I am assuming this model is around 5'9 so she has longer legs. Looks Gorgeous on.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 159lbs
February 7, 2011

Beautiful dress. Stunning. Classy.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Body type: Athletic
May 9, 2011

Very pretty dress on. The ruching on the hip is very flattering and helps hide what having 2 children can do to the midsection.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
September 12, 2011

I LOVE this dress. It fit perfectly! I got the size 8 and a 10 for back up and wore the 10 because it gave me more room in the bust area but the 8 fit perfectly in the body. It fell a little below my knee versus the model pictured but that was OK with me! I would highly recommend this dress! M -

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
September 12, 2011

This was my first experience with rtr,and it was fantastic. I ordered the dress in a 4 and a 6. The 4 fit like a glove. I recieved so many compliments. If your looking for a nice dress for a wedding. this one is perfect. The staff at rtr is so nice and really care about your experience. Thanks rtr. will be renting from you very soon!!!

Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
September 28, 2011

I wasn't overly impressed with this dress. I did like the top - the shoulders and the embellishment were nice, and the material was solid and substantial. The bottom half of the dress, however, was not great. I got 2 sizes and on both of them, the bottom of the zipper bulged out, right at my hip, which is obviously not the most flattering look. Also, the length on me was much longer than it appears in the picture; it went down to my knees. Most everyone else raves about this dress, so maybe it was just me, but I didn't end up wearing this one.

Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 45
Body type: Petite
September 29, 2011

Loved, loved this dress! I ordered it for a wedding and got many compliments. It runs true to size. I am very petite and ordered a zero and two and the zero fit like a glove. The dress was perfect with no imperfections I can't wait to rent another dress.

Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
October 5, 2011

Loved this dress! It is sexy without being too over the top.I wore it to a 3:30 pm wedding. The 6 fit perfectly!!

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
October 13, 2011

I LOVED THIS DRESS!! would definitely buy it if it weren't $500! Wore it to a wedding and was super comfortable. Off the shoulder was stylish but long enough to be appropriate

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
October 13, 2011

This dress fit beautifully--the ruching on the side definitely accentuated my waist, and the split sleeve and arm-drape are great for those whose arms aren't as toned as they'd like (ahem, me). It fit true to size, was knee-length on me (5'2", wearing heels), and looked elegant. The shoulder beading detail is gorgeous in person and looks great with an updo and understated jewelry.

Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 44
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 21, 2011

This was my first experience with RTR and I loved this dress. I wore it do an evening wedding was very pleased with how amazing the quality was.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
October 24, 2011

Great dress, very elegant. Fits perfectly. Very comfortable.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
November 28, 2011
Simple and Sexy

I wore this dress on my honeymoon and loved how it managed to be form fitting yet forgiving at the same time!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
December 4, 2011
Beautiful and Elegant

I absolutely loved this dress, would have kept it if I could! I am small busted so I loved being able to wear an off the shoulder dress that fit perfect on the top (not too loose and no indecent exposure). The dress material has some give to it and hugs well to your body, very comfortable. I received compliments all night long. Can't wait til my next RTR dress!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
December 20, 2011
Great date!

I wanted to rent something for a fun date night out - we went to a fancy dinner and a musical. This dress was great - classy and sexy! I am usually a 4 - that size fit ok, but had extra material in the bust. The 2 was perfect for my smaller chest size.

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
December 20, 2011
Boyfriend wishes I owned it

Perfect dress! Great style that is flattering through the midsection, sophisticated enough for a company party but still fun and flirty. My boyfriend's comment at the end of the night was that he really wished I owned this dress. Loved it and would rent it again!

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
December 26, 2011
Without this rental I would have worn something I already wore to another function for the same company, and since I didn't have to made it great!

This dress was stunning on, I felt like everyone was looking my way. The zipper was a little difficult but other than that it is a great dress.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
January 4, 2012
My husband saw me and said "You look like a man-eater!"

I wore this dress for New Year's and received lots of compliments. It's super flattering and great to wear for a night of eating, drinking, and dancing. The off-the shoulder portion gives the dress a sexy, yet refined flare. I would definitely wear it again to an event.

UserJanuary 4, 2012
Would this be okay for a high school prom?
ChristinaJanuary 4, 2012
Absolutely!
CarrieJanuary 4, 2012
AshleyJanuary 4, 2012
You are about my height, were did the length hit you at? I am going to a black tie wedding
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 5, 2012
Loved it!

Perfect for a classic body (i.e., small waist, boobs/butt)! Very classy and sexy without being garish. Had a great experience with RtR!

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 119lbs
January 19, 2012
Good go to Black Dress

Very comfortable! Wore to a wedding and danced the night away and felt great. I usually wear between a 2 and 4 and the 4 fit better but was a little loose in the top. Was my first Rent the Runway experiance and will definitely do it again.

Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
January 23, 2012
Flattering fit

This was perfect for the wedding I attended this weekend: dressy enough to fit the formal reception, but not so formal that it felt weird to walk around Bourbon Street. I would definitely recommend Spanx to smooth anything underneath, but the fabric is pretty thick, so I think it could still be flattering on some body types without Spanx. The side ruching is also nice & camouflaging without looking like oddly bunchy fabric. I'm 5'4, and the skirt hit about 2 inches or so above my knees. And since the top isn't low cut at all, it should work with any bra size. A couple minor annoyances: the zipper is difficult to unzip, as several people have mentioned (zipping up was a little easier), and the very thin lining in the skirt doesn't stay in place. It kept twisting and riding up. I don't think you could tell from looking at it, though, given the thick fabric of the dress. I would definitely recommend looking over the beads on the shoulder when you get it. The center one was unsewn on one side when I got it. Easily fixed, just something to check. The hem in the front also had some threads coming loose. Overall, definitely worth renting again. Unless I can buy it, since my husband didn't want me to send it back.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Body type: Pear
Weight: 158lbs
January 27, 2012
RENT THIS DRESS!!!!!!

this was my back-up dress and I just fell in love with it! YOU MUST RENT THIS DRESS!!! I'm a bigger size (size 8) and i felt like a size 4. the dress is quality and you can feel how well the dress is constructed. I got complements all night long. This was my first time renting from RTR and this dress is the reason they now have a life long customer. One of my favorite things is that the dress hides the fatty part of the underarm area. I also really liked how it was sexy (the shoulder showing) without being skanky.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 59
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
January 27, 2012
Just fabulous

This dress looks great on and does wonders for your body. I felt like a movie star and that doesn't happen often enough at my age. The ruching cinches in the waist. It's comfy and glamorous at the same time. And yes, I am renting it again.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
February 25, 2012
My husband loved this dress!

I rented this dress for a wedding, and what a perfect dress to wear to such an event. It was comfortable and flattering. I will say the last dress I rented was actually was more comfortable (Nicole Miller's lace dress---loved this dress), but I really enjoyed this dress, as well. I also like that the top looked great even though I am extremely small busted---a problem in some dresses. I usually wear a 2, but since I've been losing weight I think I'm mostly ending up in 0 sized dresses. So, I do think the dress is "true to size" even though I wore the 0 dress size. I definitely recommend this one!

View photos (3)
See more reviews:
2 / 6

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×