Badgley Mischka

Sea Storm Siren Gown

$110 rental
$750 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This unstoppable elegant dress by Badgley Mischka is your most glamorous you: strapless, flowy and stunning. Channel your inner glamazon and sweep through that evening event seamlessly....Add a statement necklace like the Dannijo Ismene Bib Necklace.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - built in bustier and support great for all cup sizes; smaller busted women should consider sizing down in back-up size
WAIST: Fitted - ruched bodice is flattering on all body types
HIPS: Fitted - slightly fitted at hips; ruffle detail flattering on all body types
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 sizes (Regular, Long): Regular for heights 5'3" to 5'6" - Long for heights 5'6" and taller (Regular measures 56'' from shoulder to hem - Long measures 59'' from shoulder to hem)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or a strapless bra; dress has built in wiring and structure in bust
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - built in bustier and support great for all cup sizes; smaller busted women should consider sizing down in back-up size
WAIST: Fitted - ruched bodice is flattering on all body types
HIPS: Fitted - slightly fitted at hips; ruffle detail flattering on all body types
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 sizes (Regular, Long): Regular for heights 5'3" to 5'6" - Long for heights 5'6" and taller (Regular measures 56'' from shoulder to hem - Long measures 59'' from shoulder to hem)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or a strapless bra; dress has built in wiring and structure in bust
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Blue gray silk chiffon. Strapless sweetheart neckline. Ruched bodice. Tiered ruffle skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

77 reviews

Fit
Small 4
True to Size 69
Large 4
Photos 43
MissG
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
May 23, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This is a gorgeous dress that fits well. It is light and easy to dance in :)
Jodilyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180 lbs
May 27, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
It's a lovely dress and comfy. I would even say it runs a smidge large, so if you are picking a second size you might want to go for a smaller one.
Love2Shop
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
May 31, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Loved this dress and received a ton of compliments on the dress! It runs a little big but fits well overall. It was very comfortable and easy to move around and dance in. The dress looks better in person and on than it does in the picture.
xoxo
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 21
Body type: Petite
Jun 9, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I absolutely LOVED this dress. It fits perfectly and is sooooo gorgeous in person!! I was so sad to have to send it back. It's very easy to move around in and light. I got so many complements, and I felt comfortable in it. I would highly recommend this dress.
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Jun 16, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This gown is stunning! So glamorous and would look great on many body types. I have a smaller chest and normally wear a size 2 and could do the 2 or 0
Alyssa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122 lbs
Jun 30, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress was WONDERFUL! It's fitted at the bust and natural waist to create the perfect hourglass figure! The ruffles are extremely flattering!
Vilma
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Jul 6, 2011

Sooo many comments on how gorgeous my dress was

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress! I wore it to my cousin's wedding and had sooo many compliments. The picture does not do it justice whatsoever, I ordered it as my 3rd choice because the other ones I wanted were not available for the date. I am SOOO HAPPY I ended up with this one. It is NOT GRAY, it is NAVY BLUE. Regardless I wore it with Black pumps and looked gorgeous. Can't wait to use RTR again :)
eas
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Body type: Full Bust
Jul 8, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress is beautiful. I got lots of compliments. I am large busted, but it fit perfectly. Very long for 5ft1, but able to get around it, and had an awesome time dancing. actually looks great with a long necklace!
Elle
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Body type: Pear
Sep 2, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This was a beautiful dress. I usually wear an 8 but they only had a 6 and sent that. It did fit, despite my 34/36c bust size, but I spilled out over the sides a wee bit. If I had gotten it in an 8, I think it would have been perfect, and I would have been so happy to wear it. The dark blue color is beautiful, and the fabric feels wonderful. The construction is great, and it looks classy. If you can go sleeveless, you can't go wrong with this dress.
CT
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Sep 14, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I'm 5'8" 150lb with 36DD. I got the 10L and it fit PERFECTLY!! It looked gorgeous, got a ton of compliments and I'm even contemplating buying it if it's on sale. It was comfortable and I loved it!
abbyi
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 21, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
LOVED LOVED LOVED this dress. The 8L fit me perfectly. I'm 5'9.5 (wore 1.5in kitten heels) and am a 36D. I received so many compliments on this dress at a family wedding. I hated to sent it back!!!
Christy T,
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 92 lbs
Oct 2, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I absolutely loved this dress! It fit well, other than at the bust because I'm small chested. Other than that, it was amazing. This dress is very light weight, which surprised me. The length was perfect! I had to send this dress back, but I will be ordering it again. Another con was, I ordered the 0 AND 2 but I was only sent size 2 because they didn't have it in the warehouse. I hope to order this dress again, but with my proper size, 0. Loved it!
Jolene
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132 lbs
Jan 4, 2012

Amazing

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was amazing and made me look and feel fabulous! I had been given many compliments at prom about the dress and it fit me like a glove!!
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 11, 2012

Great dress - runs short

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered the 8R for a black tie wedding. I am only 5' 4" and even without any shoes on it was too short - could not have even worn flats. Only came to my ankles. Otherwise it's a beautiful gown and very flattering.
Elizabeth
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 19, 2012

Beautiful and comfortable

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was a dream to wear! The fit is wonderful and the ruffles are very forgiving to the lower body! If you have a large bust (by large, I mean DD and up) you should size up as the bodice is very fitted in that area. I'm 5'7" and 2.5" heels were perfect, so even my feet were comfy! Got compliments all night--it really is a beautiful dress, and not the usual thing one sees at formals.
Shannon
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 110 lbs
Apr 23, 2012

Lovely

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to my junior prom and got many compliments. The dress was simple but elegant and the sweet heart neckline plus the ruching on top gave an extra flair. Mind you, spinning with the ruffles is fun too. The only drawback was that it was slightly too big my rib cage. Other than that it was wonderful and I definitely recommend it.
Carole
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160 lbs
Jun 1, 2012

Didn't fit right, didn't wear

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am generally between a 10 and 12 -- 10 on top and 12 on the bottom, but I own a Badgely Mishka in a 10 and it fits me fine so I rented this as an alternative dress. The problem for me was the boning in the top -- maybe because I have smaller breasts, but the boning made me look like I had 1950s pointy boobs and it just didn't work right. It's a lovely dress but just didn't look good on me.
K
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Jun 12, 2012

Understated but lovely

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Wore this to a graduation ball and really liked it. I had to rent a size up since the 2 was taken so it was a little big, but my regular size would have been perfect. Dress was a touch long with 3.5" heels but looked beautiful and flowy. The color is a dark charcoal/midnight blue and isn't at all showy, but the style makes the dress stand out. The boning is metal and poked through the lining in a few places (check carefully before putting it on!), but the bodice offered enough support that bra was not needed, and likely would have shown anyway.
Carol
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165 lbs
Aug 17, 2012

This dress is ammaaazzzinnnggg

Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress!!!! I received so many compliments and I have to say it's pretty true to size...I wear size 10 regular clothes and 12 dresses so it was perfect. I will continue with rent the runway for every single event! i might never buy another dress again!
Heather
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 20, 2012

Goddess

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
This is a beautiful dress, almost goddess like. It fits true to size except if you are larger in the bust. It just fit for me. The dress was comfortable all night.
Courtney
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Aug 20, 2012

Perfect!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress. It fit well and I got a lot of compliments.
Brynn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Aug 20, 2012

Fun, flirty, and comfortable

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress in February for a Mardi Gras ball. It fit perfectly and was so comfortable yet elegant enough for the formal affair. I am tall so the long was the perfect length for me with 4 inch heels. I was originally a little hesitant about the layered ruffles but thankfully they did not stand out as much as they do in the picture for my style is more of a classic-preppy look. I would definitely rent this dress again.
Erika
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Sep 6, 2012

Great dress!

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Overall very happy with it and everyone loved it. The only issue was that the top kept flipping over showing the inside of the top. This may have been a fit issue. It looked great!
Barb
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 175 lbs
Sep 19, 2012

Sultry siren.

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is gorgeous-- so elegant but fun with the cascading ruffles and dramatic slate color. The fit was perfect, and I was comfortable all night.
Kiki
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Sep 24, 2012

Great dress but RTR need to send it to a tailor!

Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress for a black tie wedding. It was flattering and easy to move in, however, the bodice is very structured and some of the wires in it were poking out and stabbed me all night in my chest every time I moved. The left side of my chest has bright red dots and is tender two days later.
Jeanne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165 lbs
Oct 20, 2012

Showstopper

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress! I got a lot of compliments, and threw it in as a backup. It was darker than I thought, and kind of has a mild ombre to it. It fit like a true 6, but I was really disappointed that even with an "L" this dress ran a little short on me (I'm 5'10"). It wasn't terrible, but with heels my feet popped out from underneath. The cut on the bias on the bottom and ruffles helped make it look a little longer though. Badgley MIschka has a very specific boning and sweetheart cut that is flattering, but can be uncomfortable. The boning is kind of like a short corset, and the bust is a little severe if you're not busty. The points of the sweetheart cut actually cut into my skin at some points. Lots of compliments, nonetheless. It was perfect for a black tie event.
CPG
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 4, 2012

Makes your waist look tiny and ruffle hide any other flaws

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented two dresses for a black tie event, and went back and forth up until the final minutes, but ultimately wore the other dress. I did love this dress though, and it is amazingly flattering. Makes your waist look tiny and the ruffles hide any other flaws. I'm a 34C and there was still quite a bit of room at the bust, but it looked fine. The neckline is very flattering too. If you're 5'6" and up, you might want to consider the L length. I ordered an R and it would have worked fine, but my toes were peeking out a bit.
Marina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110 lbs
Nov 28, 2012

Beautiful

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was skeptical of the tapering on this dress in person, because I've seen some knock-off Adrianna Papell dresses in person and they look like Cinderella AFTER her wicked stepsisters tore all the fabric off her dress. However, this dress is GORGEOUS. I am so sad that it would not fit me. The top is structured and unforgiving, so if you have a chest, order up. In terms of height, I am 5' flat and this would have been perfect with 2" heels.
LM
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 16, 2012

lots of compliments

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
cons - the extra size ordered, a 4R seemed worn out. the bust's wiring was messed up. The size I wore was fine, but also seemed to be slightly misshapen.
militarywife
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 3, 2013

Very pretty color and drapes nicely.

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I usually wear a 4 or 6 and based on other reviews I wore the 6 in this dress because the boning (sp?) on this dress makes it run a little small. I was sitting at a formal dinner and it did get a little uncomfortable. Not uncomfortable enough that I wouldn't wear it again. I got a ton of compliments on this dress!
C
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 126 lbs
Jan 14, 2013

Great elegant, stylish dress.

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Great dress. Got a 6 and 4 and wore the 4. Felt more secure with tighter dress. Very comfortable and you don't have to worry about any wardrobe malfunctions!
k
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115 lbs
Mar 4, 2013

Perfection!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress! This was my first RTR experience. I was nervous about how it would go, particularly since I am really small on top but have proportionately larger hips and am barely 5'4". I ordered the 2R and it fit almost perfectly. The length was right-on with 4 inch heels; the dress does have a bit of a train in back, so I had to keep a hand free for walking around, but that was not a major issue. The dress did slide down on top a bit as the night wore on, and the boning was a bit twisted, making for a bit of unevenness in the bust area, but I think I was the only one who noticed. The empire-waist fit was extremely flattering. I felt beautiful in this dress and would rent it again in a heartbeat!
Sydney
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Apr 5, 2013

This dress was a hit at the ball that I wore it to -- a Mardi Gras Ball i n New Orleans :)

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am 5'2" and between 115 and 125 -- the 2R fit perfectly. Because I am a little more blessed in the bust region, I got the 4R as a backup, and it was way too big. I paired the dress with a bauble necklace, aptly named Pirate's Treasure, that I rented from RTR. Unfortunately, none of the pictures of the dress came out well as the venue was too dark, but trust me, I got a ton of compliments. What's not to love? It's silk, Badgley Mischka, a beautiful gray tone and moves like waves when you walk!
catherine
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145 lbs
May 2, 2013

A beautiful gown that made a spectacular evening perfect!

Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress is actually much "prettier" in person. The color is a rich slate gray,almost blue. I am definitely a curvy girl , a 36DDD, and this is the only strapless dress I have ever worn that manged to "stay put" for an entire evening. It is very tight through the bust, but I did not need to wear a bra and the "stays" helped keep it in place. The lingerie straps were a bit of a nuisance and there was a stay/rib that kept poking me under the arm, but not enough discomfort to deter form the overall comfort. I received more compliments than I can count.I wore it with my own "bubble" necklace and a big gold cuff bracelet. I am 5"9" and the 12L was perfect with 4" heels. I did lightly steam it, the crepe fabric was a bit wrinkled upon arrival, but I am super picky about those details. I recommend this dress highly and I look forward to renting it again.
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
May 14, 2013

So glamorous!

Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit was great. THe only thing that bothered me a little was the boning in the chest area was sort of bent, so it kind made me chest feel weird. It didn't actually look weird, though. I got lots of compliments on the dress. The color is so different, but really nice. The ruffles are awesome - they hide your tummy, if you have one! Overall, I really loved it and would wear it again.
Devin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170 lbs
May 19, 2013

This dress is beautiful on the hanger and off.

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I would first like to warn that this dress isn't as jet black as it appears in the photo, more bluish black. And the way that the wiring is makes the hips appear to be a little larger, would not recommend for a pear shaped body.
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Jul 15, 2013

Gorgeous style and flattering fit. Elegantly on-trend.

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was very flattering and comfortable to wear, save for the top hook that dug into my side a bit. I got lots of compliments, and the dress photographed really well. I'd definitely rent this one again or recommend it to others. It's perfect for black tie or more formal affairs, and something different from the usual "black."
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×