Rent the Runway

Badgley Mischka

Ruffles in Red Gown

$97 to buy
$650 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

It is a well known fact that men love a woman in red. Let him swirl you round the floor in this sweetheart neck strapless gown by Badgley Mischka and be prepared to fall in love! Pair with elegant accessories like Badgley Mischka's Crystal Rose Vines Necklace and Ciner's Classic Clear Stone Bracelet.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size, yet runs slightly short in length (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - built-in boning provides structure in bust - fuller bust sizes should consider sizing up in back-up size
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout bodice with ruffles and ruching detail to help conceal midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - slightly fitted at hips then becomes loose - ruching detail in back helps to conceal backside
LENGTH: Floor length, gown runs slightly short - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular measures 56” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’1” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 59” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’4” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or no bra and seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9''.)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size, yet runs slightly short in length (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - built-in boning provides structure in bust - fuller bust sizes should consider sizing up in back-up size
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout bodice with ruffles and ruching detail to help conceal midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - slightly fitted at hips then becomes loose - ruching detail in back helps to conceal backside
LENGTH: Floor length, gown runs slightly short - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular measures 56” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’1” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 59” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’4” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or no bra and seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9''.)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Red silk chiffon. Strapless sweetheart neckline with ruffle detail. Ruched bodice. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. See Size and Fit Tab for Length.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

142 reviews

Fit
Small 8
True to Size 128
Large 6
Photos 102
alicia
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155 lbs
Nov 30, 2011

Pretty!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was everything I expected, other than the colour of the red is more pink and less scarlet, which was disappointing. It fit well and I was pleased.
Meagan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 13, 2011

VaVaVoom

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this to a winter ball and have never felt so glamorous. I fit a little tight in the middle but helped my 'apple' body type feel curvey in stead. It's a little darker red than the photo, which I loved. I got the 8R and with heels it was almost too short. So many complements! Loved it!
Me
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 52
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 29, 2011

FABULOUS!!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
There is no way to describe how wonderful this dress looks. The color and fit are great. My only negative is not with the dress itself but with the way RTR directs you to order - If you are 5'5" or taller and plan to wear anything but flats I would advise you to order the long. The models they show must be either petite, shoeless, or wearing the long length vs the regular. I made do with the regular but wish I had the extra length.
Cathryn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Jan 6, 2012

Beautiful Dress but I returned

Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is overall really beautiful. It is the perfect color red and the draping is gorgeous. I am very large chested (DD) and based on some of the other reviews I thought I would give it a try. I am usually a 14 but a few other reviews said it ran large especially in the bust area. The dress was way too tight in the chest area but fit fine everywhere else. I am 5'2" but rented the 12L because some review said curvier girls should get the long. It was good advice because it would have been a great length with heels but not stilettos. I was really disappointed because the dress is beautiful and just the right amount of sexy. The material and bodice boning really flatter curves. I would say if you are a size 36C this dress is perfect, if you are a 36D its worth a shot but have a back up plan.
Karen
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Jan 9, 2012

lovely dress

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Wore this dress to a formal party, and loved it. It was a ballroom dance party, so the long length got in the way a bit, but not too much. It emphasizes one's shape beautifully. As a strapless dress, consider using the supplied tape to keep things in place.
Vetteeboo
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 55
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 160 lbs
Jan 9, 2012

Beautiful and comfortable

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was my 2nd option but once I saw how beautiful and comfortable it was I knew it would be the one I wore. I received many compliments as the dress is stunning & flattering. Both dresses I rented were equally gorgeous but this dress was so easy to wear; i probably the most comfortable evening gown I've ever worn. However if you are 5' 10" and wear high heels the long length is right on the verge of being too short.
JCitta5
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 116 lbs
Jan 9, 2012

Loved this dress!!!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I'm 5'3" but wear very high heals and was so pleased that this was the perfect length! Depending on the brand, I can wear a 4 or 6, and the 4 was perfect. Its a beautiful dress. Got a lot of compliments on it. And it was so light weight and comfortable....easy to dance in!
Christina
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 112 lbs
Jan 25, 2012

Amazing dress, too large on me

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is amazing, as expected. Unfortunately I usually wear a size 4 and this was too large (I am 5'2", 112 pounds) and I had to wear a ton of fashion tape on this to keep it up. I would still use RTR again though for the great quality dress + customer service.
Kate
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 1, 2012

Beautiful and Comfortable!!!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was a gorgeous and flattering gown. It is very comfortable. The process of receiving it and sending it back was seamless. When I received it, there was a whiteish spot on the back of the dress behind my knee, but no one noticed. That is the only reason for 4 stars and not 5.
Elizabeth
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123 lbs
Feb 28, 2012

Amazing!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Rented this for a Mardi Gras ball. It fitted perfectly! I'm only 5'2" and I wore 3.5 inch heels. The dress reached the floor, so it probably runs a bit short. The fit was great and very flattering.
Nadege
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150 lbs
Feb 28, 2012

Just not long enough

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
When I rented this dress, there was no specific information about the length, so going off the model's height (not sure why that information is provided as it is somewhat unhelpful), I felt confident that it would be great. The Size 6L fit like a dream, except it was too short - without shoes on it was already off the floor. Oh well, you win some, you lose some . . .
Shawnee
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Body type: Athletic
Mar 10, 2012

black tie event

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Overall the dress was pretty but mine showed up very wrinkled snd looked a little worn. Make sure you have a steamer to get all of the wrinkles out.
pang
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 26, 2012

Truly magical!

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I felt like a princess. Loved the dress so much I did not want to return it. It is actually a little darker in person than the picture. I received so many compliments. The dress does not cling and hides all the flaws. I seriously would buy this dress. Thank you for making my night.
Ellen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Apr 21, 2012

This dress is HOT!

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress makes you look and feel like a million dollars! The lining keeps you sucked in place-almost like it's lined with spanx. The fit was loose enough in the legs to dance. Only setback was the fashion tape didn't really hold up all night so there was some tugging towards the end of the evening but overall a beautiful dress.
Cookie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 133 lbs
Apr 23, 2012

Just beautiful!!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I was a maid of honor at a wedding so I rented two dresses just to be safe, this one was my back up dress....ohhh my gosh as soon as I wore it...I just knew this was the one to wear...the fabric is perfect light and airy, it flows so well and the length was just right. Am 5"1" and wore 4inch heels and the fit was perrrrfffect. I got so many compliments on this dress, I wanted to keep it!
Leanne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Apr 23, 2012

Bust runs small.

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this as my backup dress. The dress overall was extremely figure flattering, accentuated all the right curves, and is the perfect shade of red. The neckline hit at just the right spot. However, the dress would not zip over my chest. (size 36D. well, it probably would have zipped, but i was afraid it would tear when I moved.) Another issue I found was the boning in the top of the dress. Not sure if it is a wear and tear problem or what, but the boning protruded from the front of the chest, right in the nipple area in a pointed shape. Even if the dress had fit perfectly, it still would have had these points front and center. (The reason I say it could be wear and tear is because I don't see these protrusions in any customer photos; so maybe the dress was folded or shipped back in some way to compromise the boning.) I did not find it to run short as the description says. At any rate, this was still a spectacular dress, and was ultimately very happy with the other dress I ended up wearing. Thank you RTR!
Robin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 147 lbs
Apr 25, 2012

Fabulous dress!

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for a black tie optional event. The 4L fit perfectly and the dress looked gorgeous on. (Though, fair warning, the ruffled bodice that looks amazing in person looks great, but not fabulous, in photos. I think the chiffon just doesn't stand out quite as well in pictures.) It was extremely comfortable to wear and I received tons of compliments. It's a great rental choice!
Kristen
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
May 13, 2012

very classy!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I felt amazing in this dress. I normally wear a 2 or a 4, so I got both, and the 2 even ended up being a little big, but not a big deal at all. It was wrinkly when it came out of the bag but we got it steamed so that wasn't an issue either. It was a good length for me, I wore two inch heels and it was perfect but may have been just a teeeensy bit long. but thats just me. I got compliments all night (junior prom) and I heard from moms that my dress was their favorite out of all of the ones they saw on facebook! not bad! I felt like a rose :)
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 133 lbs
May 16, 2012

Beautiful gown

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Very beautiful red, would look good on anyone. I am a 4, and it wasn't available so i ordered the 2. YIKES i BARELY fit into that sucker, so its true to size. Hips were fine, breasts were NOT :)
DB
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Jul 13, 2012

Ultra Glamorous Gown

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I LOVE this dress. I have curves but it gives the perfect hourglass silhouette. It's elegant and sexy at the same time and was an absolute hit at a summer black tie wedding.
Kat
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Aug 15, 2012

Classy yet Sultry

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was a hit! I felt appropriate for a black tie wedding (in church too!) yet when it came down to schmoozing and dancing, I definitely felt sexy and sultry. Everyone complimented me in the dress and i felt like an absolute bombshell. Thanks RTR!
Charity
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128 lbs
Aug 16, 2012

Instant starlet

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I actually rented this for a Halloween Costume Ball to be Jessica Rabbit. I never wanted to return it. Very comfortable, and the line was beautiful. I put my all steel boned corset underneath to cinch in the waist a bit more and push my breasts out to cartoon proportions (once I had that under it, I need the 6, the 4 worked beautifully with just a regular strapless bra). I wish they had some of the longer gowns in a petite length, I used fashion tape to get the skirt up high enough to dance in.
Martha
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155 lbs
Aug 17, 2012

Love it!!

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Works really beautifully on a curvey woman!!
Sidney
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145 lbs
Aug 18, 2012

Stunning Dress

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress is gorgeous and very elegant. I wore it to a formal event and i received tons of compliments. I so love that dress and i would definitely wear it again.
Nicole
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 107 lbs
Aug 20, 2012

cool dress... HORRIBLE service

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
the dress was beautiful when i tried it on in a store... wish i could of worn it... without telling me they sent me another dress, ugly one to say the least, the day before my senior prom... didnt answer the phone and i stayed on hold for at least an hour...
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 30, 2012

Love this dress!

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit perfectly for my big night. Got so many compliments!
Chloe
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Sep 5, 2012

Great dress

Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fits true to size which is why I wish I went a size smaller. The compliments came in all night. I would recommend this dress to anyone!
Eilon
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Sep 15, 2012

beautiful dress

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Did not wear
Hillary
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155 lbs
Sep 17, 2012

For small chests!

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
It was a great dress, my bosom just did not fit in it! I measured and remeasured before placing order. The color was more of an orange red than the deep red it looked like.
Velvet
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113 lbs
Sep 20, 2012

Gorgeous red dress

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I absolutely LOVED this dress. It was just a bit long on me even with 3 in heels but I made it work. Only rent it if you want to be noticed!
W
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Sep 21, 2012

Wore for a wedding

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Great fit, TONS of complements on this dress!
Chels
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150 lbs
Oct 12, 2012

I did not take a picture with this dress - it was a backup dress I ordered to try on for size. :)

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I thought I would review this dress even though I ended up wearing another RTR dress for the ball I attended. It's a little bit darker in color in person - and it's a bluish red, not a tomato red. It did fit well generally, but I'd say it runs slightly big/loose for me in the ribcage area. I think if I had worn it throughout the night it would have fallen down on me and I would need to keep pulling it up. It was BEAUTIFUL though and I loved that it was a simple but elegant red dress. I would not have been able to get away with wearing heels, MAYBE 1-1.5 inch kitten heels - it does run an inch or two short. Other than these two things it was an awesome dress and I'd recommend it. I'd say go a size down from your normal size and plan to wear low heels or flats. :)
Paula
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 1, 2012

Movie-star dress!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Absolutely beautiful dress! I wore this to a black-tie event and received so many compliments.
Tiffany
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Nov 9, 2012

Great dress, fit perfect, great color, eye catcher.

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved the dress. I went to the symphony in it and was getting complements from all the employees. Then went out dancing after and had all the girls going nuts over it! The only problem I had with it was between the ribbing and the ruffle in the back, when I moved it would sinch up and looked funny. I felt like I was constantly pulling it down. The long didn't reach the ground in heels like I like but it looked great despite this.
heather
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110 lbs
Nov 14, 2012

not my favorite fit

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I actually got this dress as my first pick and ended up using my backup instead. The dress didn't fit me like the picture shown. It just was not as flattering especially for a petite figure
Angelica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117 lbs
Dec 1, 2012

The most beautiful dress I've ever worn

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
If I could buy this dress, I would in a heartbeat. Stunning doesn't even begin to describe this dress; it's one of those dresses that instantly makes you feel like the most beautiful woman in the world. It's glamorous, comfortable, and the fit is perfection.
Emerald
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Dec 14, 2012

NYE 2012

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Initially the dress was available but I recieved a call that when atteptint to pull the dress it was no longer available so I was given the Navy Vera Wang dress instead. Although I was unable to wear this dress it was nice to have recieved great service and the offer to exchange for any available dress in it's place . Thanks RTR
Shannon
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 26, 2012

The color & the fabric is ridiculous! So beautiful & feminine!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I love their dresses, draped so well, it fit like it was made for me! The best dress I have ever rented from RTR!! I highly recommend it
Anastasia
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Jan 1, 2013

Quick and Easy site

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was my first RTR experience and it was great. I had a backup size but didn't need it, and it was so easy to send back. I was able to wear an amazing dress for the wedding which I would not have worn again. will def. use RTR again
elsa
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 2, 2013

Perfect!!

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It fit wonderful, color was beautiful and elegant. I would rent this designer again.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×