Ruffles in Red Gown

$97 to buy
$650 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

It is a well known fact that men love a woman in red. Let him swirl you round the floor in this sweetheart neck strapless gown by Badgley Mischka and be prepared to fall in love! Pair with elegant accessories like Badgley Mischka's Crystal Rose Vines Necklace and Ciner's Classic Clear Stone Bracelet.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size, yet runs slightly short in length (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - built-in boning provides structure in bust - fuller bust sizes should consider sizing up in back-up size
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout bodice with ruffles and ruching detail to help conceal midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - slightly fitted at hips then becomes loose - ruching detail in back helps to conceal backside
LENGTH: Floor length, gown runs slightly short - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular measures 56” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’1” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 59” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’4” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or no bra and seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9''.)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size, yet runs slightly short in length (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - built-in boning provides structure in bust - fuller bust sizes should consider sizing up in back-up size
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout bodice with ruffles and ruching detail to help conceal midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - slightly fitted at hips then becomes loose - ruching detail in back helps to conceal backside
LENGTH: Floor length, gown runs slightly short - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular measures 56” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’1” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 59” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’4” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or no bra and seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9''.)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Red silk chiffon. Strapless sweetheart neckline with ruffle detail. Ruched bodice. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. See Size and Fit Tab for Length.

Share
144 reviews
Fit
Large6
True to Size130
Small8
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
November 4, 2012
Felt like Jessica Rabbit
I ordered a 12 and a 10R in this dress and wound up wearing the 10, partially thanks to Hurricane Sandy. I am not sure how the 12 would have fit, since I did not receive it, but the 10 fit like a glove. I was a little self conscious at first since a red dress is out of my comfort zone, but on the night of the Marine Corps Ball I felt great! It was sexy, but not too revealing and flattering to a curvy figure. I am 5'6", wore 4" heels and the dress was the perfect length. By the end of the night I was receiving compliments from random marines and the cab driver that took us home. I think it was a success!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 1, 2012
Movie-star dress!
Absolutely beautiful dress! I wore this to a black-tie event and received so many compliments.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
October 26, 2012
Wore this to my husband's military ball. It was very flattering.
I loved this dress and so did my husband, but I'm only about 5 feet tall and it was a little long. I had to wear extra high heels and hold it when I stood up. I would recommend this dress because it was gorgeous and flattering, but if you are a short gal like me, I would say try something else.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 157lbs
October 22, 2012
This was my first time using RTR. The ease of delivery and return was GREAT!! Highly recommended!!
The dress was great!! I found it ideal for almost any body type. I tend to be thicker in the rib area, but it fit like a glove!The detail on the back makes it stand out. The quality superb! The only downside: a little wear and tear if you looked for it, but not noticeable at first glance. I didn't expect this to be a new dress, so overall I had a Great RTR experience and would do it again!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Body type: Petite
October 20, 2012
Fabulous red gown!
I work this to a Gala at my organization. Many people commented on what a fabulous, red gown it was. The fit was perfect and the red color was beautiful! You can't go wrong with this gorgeous gown!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150lbs
October 12, 2012
I did not take a picture with this dress - it was a backup dress I ordered to try on for size. :)
I thought I would review this dress even though I ended up wearing another RTR dress for the ball I attended. It's a little bit darker in color in person - and it's a bluish red, not a tomato red. It did fit well generally, but I'd say it runs slightly big/loose for me in the ribcage area. I think if I had worn it throughout the night it would have fallen down on me and I would need to keep pulling it up. It was BEAUTIFUL though and I loved that it was a simple but elegant red dress. I would not have been able to get away with wearing heels, MAYBE 1-1.5 inch kitten heels - it does run an inch or two short. Other than these two things it was an awesome dress and I'd recommend it. I'd say go a size down from your normal size and plan to wear low heels or flats. :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 122lbs
October 1, 2012
Easy processs, beautiful dress
My shipment came in time. The size 4R fit me to a T. I wore approx 3 inch heels. Im not sure if the dress was hemmed but i felt like it was a tiny bit shorter from the front than it was in the back. The dress was in good condition. I received many compliments through out the night. People were wowed by the dress. On a side note - the second size 6R dress that I received was not in good condition. It had a whole bunch of tiny holes on the back bottom of the dress. Im assuming from being stepped on by heels. Also one part of the corset was protruding from the inside lining. If the 4R hadnt fit me I would have had a problem. Overall, I was happy with the dress I did wear and would order from RTR again.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
September 24, 2012
SO many compliments!!
I wore this to my husband's Army Ball and not only did I receive tons and tons of compliments, but I felt absolutely gorgeous. Definitely a close second to how I felt on my wedding day! I rented a 2 and 6 (the 4s were all out). The 2 was a bit snug on me but I enlisted the help of my next door neighbor to zip me up. My only complaint was the wires dug into my boobs all night long because it was slightly too small in the chest area for me. After a few cocktails I barely noticed. And all the compliments definitely made up for it! The only bad part was there was someone else wearing the exact same dress from RTR at the ball! What are the chances...
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
September 24, 2012
Love the dress! True to size and beautiful color
I wore this dress to a Military Ball. I got lots of compliments and my husband loved it too! :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
September 21, 2012
Wore for a wedding
Great fit, TONS of complements on this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116lbs
September 20, 2012
Gorgeous red dress
I absolutely LOVED this dress. It was just a bit long on me even with 3 in heels but I made it work. Only rent it if you want to be noticed!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
September 19, 2012
Loved this dress
Fell in love the minute I put it on. Very flattering and fit great. Blue dress is also from RTR.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
September 17, 2012
For small chests!
It was a great dress, my bosom just did not fit in it! I measured and remeasured before placing order. The color was more of an orange red than the deep red it looked like.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
September 16, 2012
This dress was simply stunning... It was a little long though, so I used hem tape.
Wore this to the Emmy Awards Ball. I received compliment after compliment. The dress arrived in absolutely spotless condition. The packaging was so great too, it made it seem like you were opening a gift! This dress is a true deep red. Not orangy, not on the pink side, it is a blue based red. I wore 3 inch heels. I will rent from RTR over and over again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
September 15, 2012
beautiful dress
Did not wear
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 124lbs
September 13, 2012
I felt so confident!
I ordered this dress as a free backup when I joined renttherunway for the first time (such a good deal!) I wore the screen siren gown for an event the day before and then wore this for prom. The dress was so lightweight and moved well. It does run a tad large but short .I wore 4 1/2 inch heels because I always do with dresses :) and I am about 5'5" to 5' 6" so if you are any taller than that and want to wear high heels i would recommend getting a long, but it was perfect when i kicked off my shoes to dance because it didn't drag at all! The red is vibrant but not too bright. I felt like i belonged on the red carpet! The rouching conceals any insecurities you might have in your stomach area also which is a plus. :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
September 5, 2012
Great dress
This dress fits true to size which is why I wish I went a size smaller. The compliments came in all night. I would recommend this dress to anyone!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Body type: Hourglass
August 30, 2012
Love this dress!
Fit perfectly for my big night. Got so many compliments!
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 107lbs
August 20, 2012
cool dress... HORRIBLE service
the dress was beautiful when i tried it on in a store... wish i could of worn it... without telling me they sent me another dress, ugly one to say the least, the day before my senior prom... didnt answer the phone and i stayed on hold for at least an hour...
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
August 18, 2012
Stunning Dress
The dress is gorgeous and very elegant. I wore it to a formal event and i received tons of compliments. I so love that dress and i would definitely wear it again.
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
August 17, 2012
Love it!!
Works really beautifully on a curvey woman!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
August 16, 2012
Instant starlet
I actually rented this for a Halloween Costume Ball to be Jessica Rabbit. I never wanted to return it. Very comfortable, and the line was beautiful. I put my all steel boned corset underneath to cinch in the waist a bit more and push my breasts out to cartoon proportions (once I had that under it, I need the 6, the 4 worked beautifully with just a regular strapless bra). I wish they had some of the longer gowns in a petite length, I used fashion tape to get the skirt up high enough to dance in.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
August 16, 2012
I loved my dress!
I rented this dress for prom and i loved it! It fits like a glove and is the perfect color red! I got lots of compliments and I'm was very happy with my purchase!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
August 15, 2012
Classy yet Sultry
This dress was a hit! I felt appropriate for a black tie wedding (in church too!) yet when it came down to schmoozing and dancing, I definitely felt sexy and sultry. Everyone complimented me in the dress and i felt like an absolute bombshell. Thanks RTR!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
August 12, 2012
Lady in Red
I loved wearing this dress! It felt great to look and feel both sexy and sophisticated. So many compliments all evening. I loved the ruffles, the color and the ruching to accentuate the curves. Even my husband offered two thumbs up for this dress. Thanks RTR!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
August 9, 2012
Beautiful!
I wore this to my senior prom - it definitely wasn't the typical dress anyone could get at Macy's or whatnot. I was getting compliments all night and my pictures turned out great! It was the perfect-movie-ending-like prom night :) PS Avoid a wardrobe malfunction! The dress is strapless so if you're jumping around and dancing all night like I was, use double sided tape!! Also, I'm 5'5" and this dress was just floor length with about a 2-3 inch heel, so you might want to go for the long if you're taller than me or are wearing higher heels.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
July 13, 2012
Ultra Glamorous Gown
I LOVE this dress. I have curves but it gives the perfect hourglass silhouette. It's elegant and sexy at the same time and was an absolute hit at a summer black tie wedding.
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
June 30, 2012
I felt beautiful celebrating our first wedding anniversary in this gown!
This was my first dress to rent from RTR, and I couldn't have been more pleased. It is beautiful, and flattering for a full figured woman. Love it and would rent it again!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Pear
June 20, 2012
I've never had so many compliments in a dress, and haven't looked / felt as good since my wedding. It was a great way to "debut" myself after losing 65-ish pounds.
The dress fit very true to size. It was in great condition; other reviews had me worried about the boning sticking out. I've never had so many compliments in a dress, and haven't looked / felt as good since my wedding. Would absolutely rent again (and again, and again!) as events arise!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
June 3, 2012
RTR delivered the dress late. ON THE DAY OF PROM! But RTR did make up for it. Thanks so much!
This dress was simply stellar. Throughout the night I received compliment after compliment on how gorgeous I looked and I felt famous. The only slight issue I had was that it was a tad bit short. Other then that I was completely in love with this gown and and completely content with my date not being able to take his eyes off me
View photos (3)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
May 30, 2012
This simple process that gave me amazing results made this dress and my prom night unforgettable!
This dress was form fitting, classy, and came with no damage! The backup dress didn't come (despite their promise that it was available) but, I was lucky enough to have fit in my preferred size. They did, however, send another completely different dress as my backup! Overall I was impressed by the ease of returning, wearing, comfort, style, and color of this dress! It's a bright (but not too bright) red and it flatters all the right areas! I wore special tummy tucking shorts under the dress also which really made a difference in slimming the midsection! Overall a well delivered and constructed dress that I would definitely recommend!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126lbs
May 27, 2012
The gown look as if it was made just for her. She was positively STUNNING many many thanks RTR.
I rented this gown for my daughter she was invited to a prom. She looked absoultely GORGEOUS she was a knockout. Thank you so much RTR.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
May 20, 2012
People told me I looked like a movie star all night!
I absolutely loved this dress! I got it for my senior prom and I ordered the 4R and the 2R, and for some reason the 4R was shorter than the 2R. The dress fit me perfectly and it was the perfect length to wear with my 4 inch heels. The only problem I had was it was a bit worn. There was a piece of wire sticking through the top of the dress which irritated my skin throughout the night. The bottom was also a bit frayed, but overall the dress was amazing, and definitely worth it.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 133lbs
May 16, 2012
Beautiful gown
Very beautiful red, would look good on anyone. I am a 4, and it wasn't available so i ordered the 2. YIKES i BARELY fit into that sucker, so its true to size. Hips were fine, breasts were NOT :)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
May 13, 2012
very classy!
I felt amazing in this dress. I normally wear a 2 or a 4, so I got both, and the 2 even ended up being a little big, but not a big deal at all. It was wrinkly when it came out of the bag but we got it steamed so that wasn't an issue either. It was a good length for me, I wore two inch heels and it was perfect but may have been just a teeeensy bit long. but thats just me. I got compliments all night (junior prom) and I heard from moms that my dress was their favorite out of all of the ones they saw on facebook! not bad! I felt like a rose :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
May 12, 2012
I felt like I was going to a Red Carpet event in this dress I wore to Prom!
I rented this dress for Prom and went with a size 2 because the size 0 was already booked. I chose the long size because I wore 4-inch heels. With the heels, the dress had a perfect length, but when I took my shoes off to dance, I had to hold it up - it wasn't a big deal though. The dress hugged my body perfectly and was very comfortable; the ruffles were exquisite as well. My only complaint is that it hangs a little low in the bust, and seeing as I'm not very chesty anyway, I had to pull the dress up to keep it from slipping. Overall, this was a beautiful dress that made me feel like a celebrity on the red carpet, and I was sad to send it back!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
May 11, 2012
Perfect dress just as pictured
I love love loved this dress! It was a show stealer bombshell dress! I was worried about the fit of a designer dress on my short frame, but my normal size worked perfectly! If you have a doubt on whether to go a size up or a size down for the second dress, go down. I loved this system and would definitely do it again. It was worth every penny and more!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
May 1, 2012
Great dress! Really did look straight off the red carpet.
Rented this for prom and it was stunning! I got tons of compliments all night (although to be fair compliments were being handed out pretty freely). There were a surprising number of long red dresses at prom, but I've been told by several people that this one stood out as being incredibly glamourous and exceptionally well-made. As far as size went, everything fit well except the length--I had wanted to order a 6L, but it wasn't available on the date I needed it. The dress was probably an inch or two too short, so I opted out of my 5 inch heels and worked with it. Over all a stunning choice!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
April 30, 2012
I loved it!
This dress was awesome and it fit great.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 147lbs
April 25, 2012
Fabulous dress!
I rented this dress for a black tie optional event. The 4L fit perfectly and the dress looked gorgeous on. (Though, fair warning, the ruffled bodice that looks amazing in person looks great, but not fabulous, in photos. I think the chiffon just doesn't stand out quite as well in pictures.) It was extremely comfortable to wear and I received tons of compliments. It's a great rental choice!
See more reviews:
2 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×