Ruched Sweetheart Gown

$90 rental
$900 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This beautiful body-hugging gown will make scene-stealing statement. Bring this Badgley Mischka along to any black tie and you'll be the belle of the ball. Shown here with Dannijo's Cecile Earrings and Chamak by Priya Kakkar's Silver Glitz Bangle Set.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size, yet runs slightly short in length (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - built in bustier fits all cup sizes
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist - ruched matte jersey fabric flattering on any body type
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted at hips with flared skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length, gown runs slightly short - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular measures 58” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’3” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 60” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’5” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or strapless bra; dress has built-in bustier for support
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size, yet runs slightly short in length (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - built in bustier fits all cup sizes
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist - ruched matte jersey fabric flattering on any body type
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted at hips with flared skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length, gown runs slightly short - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular measures 58” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’3” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 60” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’5” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or strapless bra; dress has built-in bustier for support
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black matte jersey. Sweetheart neckline with beading detail. Built in bustier for support. Ruched bodice. Flared skirt. Hidden back zip. Model's height is 5'10". See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share
469 reviews
Fit
Large100
True to Size310
Small38
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
February 7, 2016
This wasn't my first choice, but had length issues with the other dress I ordered.
Overall the dress was pretty but I was a little disappointed with the corset/boneing on the inside around the bust area. It looked as though it has had a lot of wear and should be replaced. The length was okay - I am 5'5 and it was an inch or 2 off the floor with 3-4 inch heels. It definitely doesn't hide anything so I would suggest Spanx if you are a little self conscious of your midline area.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 122lbs
February 7, 2016
Beautiful dress but..
The fabric on the dress was great, very thick so you really didn't have to wear any undergarments. The rouching was extremely flattering. My only complaint is that the inner lining of the bra area of the dress, although great to have, was somehow morphed when I received it. The boning was sticking out and it looked a little funky. I still wore the dress but I don't believe it was supposed to be like that.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 20
February 5, 2016
Wore this dress for the Navy Ball
The dress was true to fit and very flattering. However the top was either very stretchy due to the fabric or it was stretched out from previous wears, but I had to hold it up the whole night (I'm 34C bust size).
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 27
February 3, 2016
I loved this dress! I received tons of compliments. It was very comfortable and elegant.
This dress fit perfectly!
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 35
February 1, 2016
Very nice dress
Good fit
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 24, 2016
Felt beautiful!
I ordered both the size 4 and 6 and ended up wearing the 4. Dress was of good, heavy material. Held u in nicely, no need for Spanx. Do not need a bra with dress but I used my "chicken cutlets" to give me more of a bust. I still had to hike it up a couple times throughout the evening but I am small chested. Could feel the boning in dress when sitting as other girls mentioned but it was bearable. The zipper was tough at first but became easier after a couple uses. Length was perfect for me. Did not cover my shoes but I wasn't tripping over it either. Dress came in a nice garment bag with easy return instructions. Received MANY compliments all night and I felt beautiful! Look forward to doing more business wth RTR in the future!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 19
January 13, 2016
Beautiful dress! Everyone loved it.
The dress fit true to size. Highly recommend
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
January 3, 2016
Beautiful dress, very flattering
This dress was a bit worn. The siding was poking through but beyond that the fit and style were perfect for the black tie affair I attended.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
December 22, 2015
Would've loved to wear!
This dress was my second size backup for a formal black tie Christmas party. I requested the 4L after reading lots of reviews about the length, and the 4L was unavailable to ship (damaged/late) when my party rolled around. I was hopeful the 4R would somehow still work, but it was WAY too short. I am 5'6" and you could see my ankles - without any shoes on! It's a shame because the dress was gorgeous and would've been perfect for the event. I'll definitely keep it in mind for the future, provided that a Long is available!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 16, 2015
Ok dress, form fitting
This was a bit short but definitely hugged my curves! I did not wear it due to its length. I am 5'7 and my toes showed without shoes on.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
December 8, 2015
too short for a shortie :/
This dress would've definitely work out for me if it had been a regular size, I am 5' 2" 130 lbs and this was 8P, the dress was so short, I hardly ever have that problem, I have a 34DD chest, there was plenty of room for my chest and even might of been a little too big, I probably would've fit in a 6reg, oh well my other dress worked out!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 22
December 4, 2015
Perfect formal dress!
This dress was great. It fit perfectly and was extremely flattering. Despite it being strapless, it didn't fall down throughout the night. My only complaint is that it was a little short with heels. I'm only 5'3", I wore a 4R, and the dress hit about 1 inch above the ground with 4" heels. So if you are planning on wearing tall heels with it or are taller than me, I would consider renting the long.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
November 15, 2015
The customer service at RTR is unbelievable.
I ordered a 0R with 2R as back up. The 0 wasn't available because the person before me returned it damaged. RTR offered me another dress as a back up (see Clemence gown - amazing!!). Unfortunately, this 2R was a little big - especially in the bust. I'm a 34B and had to fill my bra with padding and it STILL didn't stay up. I was tugging at the gown all night. The ribbing in the bust was crooked and bulged in weird spots. Otherwise, the dress is fantastic. Simple, elegant and perfect for black tie.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 30
November 15, 2015
The 0 I had ordered was stretched out, so I wore the 2, which was a little big.
The 0 needs to be retired from service. Someone wore that who was NOT a size 0. Needless to say, I could have fit two of myself in the top half of that dress. So I wore the 2. It was a little big and I was pulling it up all night. A proper fitting size 0 would've been much better. But overall, it was comfortable and very pretty.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 23
November 11, 2015
I wore this dress for a Marine Corps Ball this past weekend!
Ladies, if you have a small waist and a large bust, you can't find a better dress to rent for the price. I did kind of feel like my boobs were going to fall out the whole night (I wear a size 30H) so I did invest in a strapless bra; it made it a little better. The boning was in a strange spot, but the dress was beautiful and I got a lot of compliments on it. If you're curvy and short like me, the regular sizing will work fine--the ruching does make the dress sit up on your hips a little higher, so get a long as a backup if you're wearing heels and are worried about length. The Badgley Mischka website has dress guidelines that are very accurate if you need a reference for measuring. Great dress, highly versatile, highly recommend it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Weight: 130lbs
October 28, 2015
My Jessica Rabbit Dress
This was my first experience with Rent the Runway and it was a fantastic one. I received so many compliments on the dress and fit. I didn't need to wear a bra which was a huge bonus and it defied gravity all night. It hugged in all the right places and was overall a wonderful rent. My only issues were 1) while the boning in the dress kept my shape, sitting down it did poke awkwardly sometimes and 2) the length was a little shorter than I expected. I went with the suggestion the site offered for a 5'1" girl who planned on wearing 4in heels. You can't tell in the picture but the shoes peeped out a bit more than I would like. Over all though, amazing dress and felt like old Hollywood Glam.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 20, 2015
Great dress
I wore this to a formal wedding. It looks great and feels very comfortable. Hugs all the right places. Negative: it has wires in it that hold the dress in place- and those wires also dig into your ribs so much that it was painful at times.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 19, 2015
I only tried on the dress
I ordered two dresses for the same event and wore the other dress. I tried this dress on and found that it runs large. A size 6 was too big for me. It also runs short. At 5'7" with 4" heels, it was several inches off the ground.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 47
October 6, 2015
Beautiful formal dress
Comfy, flattering, material a bit heavy but very pretty
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 29
October 5, 2015
my best friend's wedding
It fit nicely and was slimming, my only complaint is that the jewels were a little scuffed up but didn't show in pictures
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 32
September 14, 2015
The dress was stunning!
The dress was beautiful. It did fit well. It had some snags at the bottom of the train for some reason and one of the wires on the dress kept poking me. I would order one size smaller in the future just to hold everything in very snug.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 39
September 14, 2015
Great for post baby event!
This dress was definitely flattering. I just had a baby 4 months ago and not quite back into my own dresses so this was perfect. Black with some nice stretch to cover any flaws. I am only 5'3 and without heels this dress wasn't dragging and with heels was actually just perfect. However for anyone over 5'3, I would suggest the Long dress otherwise it will hit you at the ankles with heels on. Also the boning in the right side chest is almost poking thru the material. I am guessing this is from repeated wear. Hurt a little as the night went on but nothing major. Great dress though!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
September 10, 2015
Wore this dress to a black tie wedding and the dress was the right fit!
The dress fit very nicely, definitely flattering. The only thing I wasn't a huge fan of were the stones on the top of the dress, they seemed a little worn and made it feel somewhat old. Other than that, I really enjoyed wearing the dress and the 4R fit me perfectly.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 8, 2015
amazing fit
runs big
Size worn:
0P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 22
August 9, 2015
Wore this dress to a black tie summer wedding.
Great dress for a very formal occasion! The material and shape is extremely flattering for almost any body type. The 0P was the perfect length for my height. I paired the dress with a 4inch heel, but even with no heels the length was great. I have a small bust, so I found the top of the dress to be a little large. This dress really is meant for women with fuller breasts. I ended up wearing both a silicone cutlet bra and a shaping strapless bra under the dress. The top was still a little big, but I was very comfortable and not worried about pulling the dress up the entire night. Leading me to my next point, this is a fantastic dress for drinking, dining, and dancing the night away! Recommend!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
August 5, 2015
The dress was flawless. They both came looking brand new. The service is amazing.
I wore to a cocktail attire party and it was perfect. The body in it made it hold its shape and I normally don't do strapless because I'm small in the chest but it holds up perfectly!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 38
August 4, 2015
Flattering fit for baby bump
I wore this dress 4.5 months pregnant with my 3rd baby. Plenty of stretch for the bump. I am normally a 4 or 6 but the 8 fit for the pregnancy. The zipper was very tough but it could have been just this particular dress. It is long -- I had on very high heels and was pulling it up to walk (I am 5'5"). It is a beautiful dress and appropriate for black tie wedding. Very flattering.
Size worn:
12L
Rented for:
Wedding
July 27, 2015
Loved the dress!!!!
Loved this dress! I am a 36DD, 5'9" and 165lbs and I was 4 months pregnant with my second son when I wore this dress! I ended up going with the 12L and it fit well but I still thought it could have been a tiny bit longer. In the picture I posted I have on 4in heels and I wished it was a tad bit longer. It could have been due to the fact that I have a belly bump so it pulled up some but I was not noticeably pregnant. The dress was a good think material so you didn't feel the need to wear spanks to smooth anything out and overall it was really comfy. There was some wiring on the side that poked me every now and then but not to the point of not wanting to wear the dress. Overall it was a great RTR experience!!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
July 27, 2015
I wore this to my friends' black-tie wedding. i wanted something classic.
I usually wear a 4 or 6, depending on the designer. I am busty, so I opted for the larger size. I am glad that I did, because although the rest of the dress fit great, i did have some difficulty getting the clasp in the back of the dress to close, solely because of my chest size. I received a lot of compliments on this dress, and it stayed up the entire night. I would defintiely recommend it.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
July 22, 2015
Could not wear this dress.
The size 8R would not zip up all the way and the size 10R fell off me it was so big. I think the size 10R was my size but it was so stretched out from over wear. I loved the style and it would have been perfect for the black tie wedding I was attending but the sizing was horrible. I had to return it and buy a new dress the morning of the wedding. So stressful!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36B
July 20, 2015
Recieved so much compliments . This dress is amazing. This dress was a hit. I will rent from RTR.
Well fitted,
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 141lbs
July 13, 2015
This dress runs very short. Even in the long size.
I rented this dress in a 6L and 8L but wasn't able to wear either because they were both so incredibly short. They both hit right at the top of my ankles.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
July 10, 2015
Fit like a glove. Didn't have to pull it up once.
So flattering! Really accentuates curves.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
July 6, 2015
To die for! Great boning in midsection. Fab support for "the girls", I was able to go braless
Fit has a significant amount of give, and the side ruching is very forgivable, you can eat a full dinner and not feel like you're popping out of the dress. The support in the chest plus the sticky tape on the back of the dress enabled me to go braless. Comfortable , so fun, hugs the curves, easy to wear.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
June 25, 2015
Fits wonderfully! Very flattering. I did have minor issues with sliding!
Love this dress. It fit great, looked great, got all kinds of compliments. Formal enough for a formal wedding. Did have slight issue with some sliding down but that is expected with a strapless dress!
Size worn:
0P
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 37
Body type: Petite
Weight: 91lbs
June 21, 2015
This dress is amazing!
I wore this dress to a formal wedding. I got so many compliments the entire night. If you are on the short side, you will definitely need to wear high heels. I am 5'0" and wore 4" heels and I still had to hold it up to walk and dance. But that didn't bother me at all. The boning in the bust area is very sturdy so I didn't have to wear a bra. But it did dig a little under my arms. It wasn't a deal breaker, though. My stylist, Evan B was also very helpful! This is my second dress from RTR and I will definitely rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
June 8, 2015
Beautiful dress, but loose, size down needed
I didn't end up wearing this though I thought it was beautiful on. I thought due to my larger chest and wider hips a 10 would fit just right. The material is stretchy and most definitely hides the imperfections of my stomach area, which was great, however was still loose in the back, hips and chest area, even with a strapless bra. I visited the Chicago store to exchange and found an even more perfect dress for the occasion. I am very happy with the choice I made, but would still love to rent this one in the future again, just a smaller size.
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
May 25, 2015
Perfect Dress for Prom
Rented this dress for my daughter for a prom. Fit perfectly. She has an hourglass shape , 5'4, and about 150 lbs. The cinched waist made her look like a supermodel . A tiny bit short with heels. Got the regular for her. Nothing to be worried about but if you are any taller consider the long.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 148lbs
May 19, 2015
Great dress. Fit me perfectly.
I am only 5'3, so I was very nervous the regular would be too long for me. It was a perfect length. So, if you are taller than 5'3 or 5'4 I would factor that in. My backup was a petite, and it would have been too short, even with a small shoe. The fit was perfect on me. You def. need to have a bit of a bust to fill this out, which I do (at a 34B). The wiring structure in the dress (chest area) helped, but was a tad uncomfortable by the end of the night. I received a ton of feedback that the dress looked great on me. I'd def. wear it again.
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
May 11, 2015
Fit perfectly!
Extremely comfy and stretchy. I wore this for my prom and it was absolutely perfect. It fit a little crookedly, but that was not very noticeable at all. It was a little heavy, but over all I loved the dress and the fit.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 12

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×